132 responses to “Government's Concessions to SANDALS Barbados”

1. This confirms what I have been saying all along: this Government does not know what it is doing. Unless the other hotel and tourism properties are given similar concessions Sinckler would ensure their demise.

2. Apart from the giveaways, who drafted this clumsy letter? Geezus.

3. Put up or shut up. Avatar
    Put up or shut up.

Is this he first time that a particular hotel project is being given concessions?
    Did the giving of concessions on those previous occasions result in the demise of anything . You are such a know it all Caswell that you are wasting your talent by not finding suitable employment that can assist in building the country .

4. Put up or shut up, I would think before that question of your can be answered, one would have to know what kind tax holidays were given to others.

5. Of more recent it was Cost-u-Less…..but so far as Isgal can attest ..it COSTING US MORE…..Cheeson C….if this isn’t cap in hand..what is? Like you forget Paradise too EZ…this fellow known for looking out for self …and den some mo- self…beware
    !….we on the end of the spoon now…..!.

6. We need to learn the art of NEGOTIATING. I keep repeating it over and over again.No wonder the ‘we did it before so what’ is the defense being offered. It is not like Couples wasn’t operating Casuarina and other buyers interested in Heywoods.

7. Enuff | November 7, 2013 at 8:21 PM |

We need to learn the art of NEGOTIATING. +++++++++++++++++++++++++

The politicians throughout the Caribbean have been doing extremely well negotiating deals for themselves …… it isn’t that they don’t know how to negotiate, just that they don’t know who they should be negotiating for.

8. @ John
    That sounds plausible I must admit.

40 years during which 25 is taxed at 0% and the next 15 at 50% ? Wuh if Butch smart he would pull out before taxes kick in. I am still confused though is the hotel not being financed by government and if so it is the state and a few executives that getting concessions ent?

9. …..Is more like the great white Hope….air lift and brand tag come alongs ….keeping fingers and toes crossed…hopefully some ‘closed end’ contracts too….Kenny Rogers recall..know when to hold umfold um scenario this one, but who is the cards.. and.who is d gambler

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Sinckler is a dam crook , no crook can make any clean deals ,
    We also like to see the DEED for this hotel , lets see if it match what we have ,

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

John | November 7, 2013 at 8:30 PM | @
    Enuff | November 7, 2013 at 8:35 PM | @
    old onion bags | November 7, 2013 at 8:56 PM | @

with out clear title , there is no fair deal ,
    with out clear title there will never fix the problems
    Four Seasons , also have no clear title , they had to rob the accounts of the people to pay back the investors so they may leave Barbados with out a Big court Battle, The rest of the world deal with CLEAR TITLES of land ,
    Not Barbados fraud DLP/blp government , At last people inside Barbados will wake up and see the truth and not the lies ,of the scumbag Mof and his crook PM … Soon maybe the Nation will have new Balls and tell the truth , Unless truth is told , All will just be blogging with out looking to face the truth and fix what is needed ,,,,Audit of all land and title deeds , Then the banks can sell loans in the event that funds need to be raised ,
    Most bank loans can only be held by banks and credit unions in Barbados for they also is part of this massive Fraud with Clico , Barrack will need to be paid but not before Violet Beckles and her Heirs ,
    Any Questions?

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Can someone please tell me what is wrong with the concessions?

Barbados Labour Party members, supporters, and friends need not respond!

13. Carson it would be easier for you to tell us what’s right with it.

14. OH SHIRT!
    …so wunna telling Bushie that after:
    – Buying an abandoned hotel for over $ 100M
    – paying to knock it down
    – building it back for $ 500m
    – giving it to a man who previously PISSED all over paradise Beach

….these BBs will ALSO hand over the kitchen sink to a foreigner in exchange for RUNNING a damn little hotel?

…running a hotel?
    Cud Shiite man!
    Don’t we have a university? Don’t we have free education to tertiary level? Were we not in tourism for over 60 years?
    Is Almond not a BAJAN BRAND?
    We are going to dump almond and pay a billion dollars to be found in sandals, loitering at the front door of a man who already pissed on us when we went by his front door?

SOMEBODY SMOKING SOME SHIITE….

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have to disagree with you: this level of incompetence cannot come from smoking anything, this idiocy is naturally occurring.

16. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;

I tip my hat to you!
    An extraordinary feat.

17. Sinckler like he tamed Brass tacks, David you next.lol

18. Let us agree that these concessions were approved by the Cabinet of Barbados.

19. Enuff said “We need to learn the art of negotiating”

Government is an expert at negotiating….this is for you and this is for me but show it as an operating expense.

20. Enuff | November 7, 2013 at 7:50 PM |

“Apart from the giveaways, who drafted this clumsy letter? Geezus”
    I WHOLEHEARTEDLY AGREE ENUFF. NO SENIOR CIVIL SERVANT WORTH HIS SALT COULD HAVE DRAFTED THAT LETTER. THE DRAFTER COULD AT LEAST HAVE LOOKED BACK ON THE OLD FILES AND COPIED LETTERS WRITTEN BY MAJOR DANIEL OR HARCOURT LEWIS OR CARLISLE BURTON. THEN AGAIN, THE CLUMSINESS MIGHT BE DELIBERATE SHOULD IT HAVE TO STAND UP TO SCRUTINY IN COURT.

21. Posted on Facebook:

Thomas Sankara
    Last post tonite. Why is the BWA the only utility unable to make a profit and when last has there been a material audit? Can the BWA confirm theft is of epidemic proportions and 7 pumps are missing and may have been sold by individuals for their personal gain at $25,000 a piece? is it true the main input to the high water extraction is electricity and why in the abundance of sunshine the BWA continues to be Light & Power biggest customer at a monthly cost of over $100,000US ? What percentage of the BWA debt is graft? Just asking hoping the rumors are false as the public has a right to know David King

Barbados Water Authority
    Barbados Water Authority Limited (BWA), a government statutory corporation, is the sole provider of water services. Water supplied by the BWA in Barbados is pumped from wells within natural coral aquifers. The geology of Barbados is mostly composed of karst limestone which acts as a filter medium wi…

22. Your politicians should dial the greed back a bit we have some up here who will work for crack.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David BU:

Are the concessions granted to Sandals as listed in the MoF’s letter also available to other hotels?
    We will not comment on the letter writing since not much other than incompetence and mediocrity is expected of the person under whose authority the letter was issued.
    What we would wish to ask, though, is if the letter is indeed signed by the MoF himself or is it the ‘calligraphic’ scribbles of BU playing a reverse zero sum game of O’s and X’s?

24. @Miller

The MOT is on record to say that the concessions are available to others IF the government can afford it.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 8, 2013 at 9:02 AM |

Isn’t the granting of concessions dependent on the size of the (new) investment? Is it not required the investment should be in the region of $400 million and up?
    Is the Sandals investment at the old Casuarina plant at that level of magnitude?
    Do you have a copy of the MoT’s declaration or can you direct us to it?

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Can some please point out what are the immediate benefits to Barbados with the re-branding of Casuarina/Almond/Couples by Sandals. Couples had already reported that they were experiencing high occupancy and presumably paying VAT on all their imputs.
    What actual Dollar investment is Sandals making in Casuarina prior to being granted any concessions?

The opening of Beaches is years up-the-road and prior to that, again what Dollar investment is Sandals making in that property?

Meanwhile, if Sandals are granted all the concessions listed from this week without applying them to existing investors/operators of all the other hotels on Barbados including the near 500 rooms operated by Elegant, a large proportion of which are all-inclusive, where does it place them?
    Clearly at a commercial disadvantage!

27. I Have ONE SIMPLE question, does the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs have the AUTHORITY to grant such financial exceptions without a VOTE in parliament ?

My understanding of the British Parliamentary system would suggest he does not.

28. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Wily Coyote; I’m almost certain the MoF does have full authority to do so, without limit.

29. Well Bizzy is claiming ownership along with Maloney for Sandals coming; at the same time Minister Sealy is bragging about his much promised Master Plan which supposedly lays out a comprehensive approach to the industry. Does the Sandals deal fit the TM? For example are the concessions offered in sync with the narrative of the TM?

30. ANYONE REMEMBER GEMS GEMS OF BARBADOS

31. HYPOCRISY AT ITS BEST- SHORT MEMORIES ,DID WE HAVE FULL DISCLOSURE ON EASTRY HOUSE .

32. Adrian

You said in another recent blog:

“Over the last few weeks I have been viewing tourism from a different perspective. That of a potential first time investor into Barbados and sadly, if ‘we’ are honest and objective, there are many areas we are sadly lacking. Some may even say, deficient. Bearing in a mind, a non-national considering investment in Barbados, at least initially, may not be familiar with the various agencies and their names mandated to smooth the process.”

Well. Butch Stewart was a first-time (sort of) non-national considering investment in Barbados who obviously is familiar with the various agencies and their names mandated to smooth the process.

Based on the Barbados Today video at:

Mr. Stewart’s “smoother” was his long time (over 30 years) very close friend Bizzy who, after being approached by Mr. Maloney, contacted the MOF to smooth the way.

So,. using his knowledge he sure did manage to smooth the process, with a twist.

Rather than Butch investing in Barbados, Butch somehow managed to have Barbados invest in Sandals; by agreeing in an MOU to invest $500 million in a property for him to operate and manage.

Is there something in this for Williams Industries or Preconco?

Is something corrupt here?

No way – just trying to help an old friend; and the Barbados that Bizzy loves and is so concerned about.

33. @the lime

Yet we gine do the same thing over again? Man stfd!

34. @ENUFF
    JUST SAYING I DIDNT HEAR THIS LEVEL OF DISCUSSION ,ONLY MASCOLL WAS ON THE BAND WAGON THEN. NEW ENTRANTS TO THE MARKET ALWAYS GET CONCESSIONS . IT IS ALWAYS INTERESTING TO NOTE HOW THESE CONFIDENTIAL GOVERNMENT LETTERS AND CABINET PAPERS END UP IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN , HOW THINGS CHANGE . TOM ADAMS MUST BE SMILING TO SEE WHAT THE PUBLIC SERVICE HAS COME TO.

35. It is just hard for Bushie to come to grips with the fact that Bajan government ministers could be SUCH stupid brass bowl idiots…
    ..even in an environment of ongoing brassbowlery…..

Bushie just SHAME SHAME SHAME…..
    Imagine…
    ….buy an abandoned hotel for $100M+
    …pay to knock it down
    …pay to build it back – $ 500M+
    GIVE (G-I-V-E) it to a man that pissed on Barbados in the past….

….and then turn around and GIVE (G-I-V-E) him exemptions from ANY kind of taxes…..

What the hell! …does anyone think that the other hotel investors will be incentivised to commit extra efforts to this country?

What a choice we have as leaders….
    – a pack of thieves and phone buggers or..
    – a collection of jack asses
    Are we a Country? …..or a tree that produces she-rabbits?

The end must be near!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN

You can hush now.

You and your little INN cant fly in the face of BUTCH STEWART. What BUTCH has forgotten you have not even learned yet.

BUTCH STEWART has done more for the West Indies than you will ever do in five lifetimes.

Your little place cant hold a candle to anyone of BUTCH’s Hotels. You are redundant now as if you were ever of any importance except in your own eyes!!

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Butch Stewart’s Sandals could have been in Barbados since 1994 if not for the stupid Barbados Labour Party.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sandals coming to Barbados is wonderful news.

This news should have been conveyed to Bajans since 1994.

But as they say better late than never!!!

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPICCARICOM monitoring Dominican Republic citizenship issue

Published on November 8, 2013

By Marcia Braveboy
    Caribbean News Now Senior Correspondent
    marcia@caribbeannewsnow.com
    Twitter: @mbraveboy

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad — Caribbean Community (CARICOM) chair, Trinidad and Tobago prime minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, said she is monitoring the situation in the Dominican Republic following a controversial ruling by that country’s constitutional court and, further, will consult with CARICOM Secretary General Irwin LaRocque on the best way forward to seek a solution to the issue.

The prime minister’s statement was triggered by a petition that was delivered to her office by the Trinidad and Tobago-based mas and consciousness-raising organisation, Jouvay Ayiti, whose members, clad in jouvert costumes, led a demonstration in Port of Spain on Wednesday in support of some 200,000 Dominican-born individuals of Haitian descent, who have potentially been left stateless following a court ruling on September 23, 2013, that stripped them of their citizenship.

Members of Jouvay Ayiti marched to the prime minister’s office in Port of Spain on Wednesday to deliver a petition, calling for her intervention in the citizenship matter.

In acknowledging receipt of the petition, Persad-Bissessar said she noted with great concern the issues raised in the document. She said she recognises the difficulty and uncertainty facing those persons in the Dominican Republic whose status and rights have been cast in doubt.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-CARICOM-monitoring-Dominican-Republic-citizenship-issue-18525.html

40. CCC you never answered me …what was in that banana drink that you made when you used to work for sandals

41. Carson said;
    “You are redundant now as if you were ever of any importance except in your own eyes!!”

Carson…….that word redundant has now become very popular in Barbados……..do you care to explain??

42. @Miller

He stated it on the floor of parliament, Hansard no doubt has it recorded.

On 8 November 2013 13:32, Barbados Underground

43. Really now,

Some people got a whole lotta balls doa ……Just passes the Four Seasons site with all its entrails…..green plywood popping up vines and bush behind fencing on the Highway….now nothing but a sunken $ 400 MILLION relic …. Previous home of Paradise hotel that once belonging to the Butch….Really now …I am very superstitious and can feel a blight like an itch….love vine even

Now to hear of Scandals ( and a revamp butch)….and people saying how it is the best thing since slice bread?….We stupid or what?….

44. Really now,

Some people got a whole lotta balls doa ……Just passed the Four Seasons site with all its entrails…..green plywood popping up vines and bush behind fencing on the Highway….now nothing but a sunken $ 400 MILLION relic …. Previous home of Paradise hotel that once belonged to the Butch….Really now …I am very superstitious and can feel a blight like an itch….love vine even

Now to hear of Scandals ( and a revamp butch)….and people saying how it is the best thing since slice bread?….We stupid or what?….

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 8, 2013 at 2:34 PM |

Carson you are the man who knows everything going on in the minds of the MoT and MoF regarding concessions granted to the hotel sector.

Could you tell us if the other hotels (like Sandals formerly Casaurina) will be entitled to get their supplies of food and alcohol and beverages free of all duties and taxes including VAT?
    Will Sandals be charging VAT to its customers?

Assuming the other hotels are entitled to such concessions on food and beverages in order to prevent the MoF being brought to Court under the Administrative Justice Act, how does the granting of such huge concessions fit in with the MoF’s recent budgetary policies and proposals to reduce the deficit by way of reduction in waivers on import duties and taxes?

We know these queries are embarrassingly irritating and possibly above your intellectual pay grade so we would welcome comments from those with a more intellectually sound leaning and less rabidly partisan with the infection of a yellow yard dog of your pedigree.

Adrian Loveridge, do you know what’s going on with this “free” food and drinks business with Sandals?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 8, 2013 at 6:30 PM |
    “He stated it on the floor of parliament, Hansard no doubt has it recorded.”

So the other hotels if not granted the same concessions, especially on food and beverages, can bring a case against the MoF for blatant discrimination and unfair trading practices?

47. @ the lime

“IT IS ALWAYS INTERESTING TO NOTE HOW THESE CONFIDENTIAL GOVERNMENT LETTERS AND CABINET PAPERS END UP IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN , HOW THINGS CHANGE . TOM ADAMS MUST BE SMILING TO SEE WHAT THE PUBLIC SERVICE HAS COME TO.”

It is called Transparency and something your former and current leader advocated/s.

48. Again I will ask as in a previous thread…..Why we seeing all the Foul ups Bleeps and Blunders? What is wrong here? Why all the questionable decisions?…..Could any help a fella here?….WHAT IS GOING ON IN THIS LAND?

49. @Onions

The answer is simple desite the partisan rants of Alvin. As a country we have never travelled this road before. We have been operating in an autere period for longer than we have done in the past. What has made it more bitter is the fact we have allowed political expediency to trump national interest. Our leaders, especially the political ones, have failed to to temperature checks and make relevant adjustments. Leaders must lead.

On 8 November 2013 23:42, Barbados Underground