Read about the concessions government has given to CPH Property Holdings (Barbados) Limited and Grande Cass Management (Barbados) Limited together known as SANDALS – Click image

I believe MoF does not have the authority to enter into individual corporate agreements.
MoF can however make policy on how, when and where specific rules are going to be applied to certain sectors ie: accommodations sector. This means that all entities within that sector are subject to the same rules and regulations and no one entity is shown any favoritism.
This is the same Bizzy who walked into Gline Clarke’s office and gave him a proposal concerning 3S and flyovers that Government could not refuse?
…then 3S turned out to be a sham office set up just the scam the people of Barbados.
This is “Red Jet” Bizzy?
….now um is the said Bizzy who talked government into buying an abandoned hotel for $100M+
Paying to knock um down
Building um back for $500M+
…and then GIVING um to his close friend of 30years to run… Along with tax concessions on every possible thing….?
Shiite man!
He Bizzy Enuff!
Bushtea;
Looks like Bizzy is positioning himself to be near the top of the heap, whatever happens, since his companies would be expected to benefit significantly from the spillovers from the sandals’ troughs.
These revelations suggest that the BU family really needs to recognize the coalitions that govern Barbados and its politicians. It should also be becoming clear even to you, that in terms of brassbowlery the current group of politicians are infinitely worse than the ones they took over from and in terms of corruption and rumours thereof they are also now probably way out front in those stakes as well.
Awaiting the BU scoop on the promised imminent announcement of who will get the Four Seasons prize and which of the usual tycoons will benefit from the spoils.
@Bushtea
And Bizzty proud tuh! Sees absolutely naffin wrong.
miller,
Sadly not. I assume that ongoing discussions are taking place with the BHTA and that the Directors are processing Sandals application for membership. Following approval, it would be logical to conclude that the BHTA will be removing the VAT element of annual membership for ALL members as Sandals are exempt.
Based on the Barbados Today video at:
Mr. Butch Stewart is a long time (over 30 years) very close friend of Bizzy Williams; who, after being approached by Mr. Maloney, contacted the MOF to smooth the way for Mr Stewart to establish a Sandals presence in Barbados.
BUT, rather than Stewart investing in Barbados, Mr Williams somehow managed to have Barbados invest in Sandals; by agreeing in an MOU to invest $500 million in a property for him to operate and manage.
So, as I understand it. neither Mr. Stewart, nor Mr. Williams, (nor Mr. Maloney has any money at risk at Heywwods
But, Is there something in this for Williams Industries or Preconco?
Is something corrupt here?
No way – just one old friend trying to help another old friend; and at the same time help the Barbados that Bizzy loves and is so concerned about.
Like U Bushtea all day and nite long got a whole lot of criticsm. so tell BU family members in your eighty years of living on the island how much have u invested in helping to create growth. u full of crticism. giovt do this govt should not do that you crticise foregn investment like butch and others who see the potential for grwth in barbados. a vision that you sorely lack seeing that u have been a failure in managing your liitle website but waste no time in contributing to others.
When we discuss the level of concessions which a government should give, what are/should be the considerations? It seems some of us are happy to go along with what politicians do with little effort at critique. Are they not mere humans?
If I were one to attribute improper motives or cast aspersions on others, I would be wondering who is getting the benefits from this deal and I am not talking about Sandals.
Bush Tea said:
“Shiite man!
He Bizzy Enuf”
U too WELL! WELL! question what have u contibuted to the economic growth outside meaningless comments and condemnation of those who have done more than uwould have in your sixty or so years on this earth. SHITE MAN.. i pass the topsy brass bowl on to you laden with all the SHITE you have emitted and for moral support u can share it with BUSH TEA.
Caswell Franklyn wrote “If I were one to attribute improper motives or cast aspersions on others, I would be wondering who is getting the benefits from this deal.”
It is obvious to all who understands the way deals are done in Barbados.
Some are suggesting these kinds of concessions are par for the course. How can we make this conclusion when earlier concessions have not been made public? What yardstick are we using to compare?
The yardstick being used compartively speaking is one that measures the “do nothing hoteliers to those like BUTCH who has a proven product and the abilty to move the product forward sucessfully. on the other hand when one look at the billions over the years that have been invested in the hoteliers with no real success one would have to be foolish in believing that giving more of the same to the same ole same ole would breed success.The govt has made the right decision weighing concesion to sucesss
Which sector do you think Barbados has had to rely in the last 30 years?
Yeah David but times have changed over those years they are plenty hoteliers who flew under the radar. like i say times have changed the market has become stagant and there is no longer a place for those who hide and did nothing to be accomodated or even welcome. the govt has recognised such failures and has strategically open up other avenues or ventures . Butch is not a cheap product all must be aware of this but afterall who among us can argue his success .His potential to deliver is arguabbly the best.
Sandals is bringing a lot to the table we need them Butch and Barbados benefits from Sandals coming here. Barbados in spite of the lies spread by Loveridge and the BLP is still the safest island in the Caribbean bar none. Tourists dare not leave their hotels in Jamaica . The stories coming out of St. Lucia , St. Kitts and Antigua on crime are quite scary. Barbadians have to understand safety of visitors is a comparative edge we have on rival destinations. Butch and his son constantly speak of Barbados’ unbelievable reputation for discipline. Its a reputation earned which serves us well. Sandals coming adds a fresh new dimension and brings the American market. Lets welcome them and work to make the relationship profit all.
Only fools and nay sayers and doomand gloom haters would not appreciate the value and benifits that sandals brings to barbados .let alone the marketing power which helps to strengthen a market in great need of stronger legs. the Adrein,s and people of his ilk can.t help but to push the economy into the ground with endless meanderings of purposeful diversion and ambush rhetoric . The govt has nothing to be ashmed of as they redefined and restructure a dying tourism industry
“This confirms what I have been saying all along: this Government does not know what it is doing.”
If this government does not know what it is doing then you know even less.
Remember you predicted on CBC TV for all of Barbados to hear and see that the DLP would only get one seat in the Feb. 2013 general elections?
You are wrong ten out of ten times.
Carson
You load of night soil. I said if the civil servants bought into the BLP manifesto Mara would lead the Opposition. You have your connections at CBC, go and review the tape.
ANYBODY who would take up $1billion (cause that is how it will end up…) and spend it as outlined to entice Butch Stewart to come to Barbados with his sandals brand of hotel…. as opposed to the multiple ALTERNATIVE options available – either has to be a complete jackass or to have a hidden agenda.
The joke is the the $1 B is not the Jackass’ money….it is OURS…the brass bowls….
This shiite got to stop though!
…think Bushie does pay ten cents in taxes…?
Watch this!
Even if the “Paradise pisser” follows through, what he will do is operate a FREE hotel in Barbados; Pay NO business taxes; pay no PERSONAl taxes; no land taxes ( Wuh um ain’t his) …..
NOT PAYING A SHIITE!
– buying the stuff for his place in MIAMI.
– collecting the hotel income in MIAMI
…..and just polluting Barbados with his tourists……
All this …so that the retarded looking MoT can say that X amount of tourist visited Barbados…..??!
The BLP were too crooked to keep…..but…
These are too damn stupid to be even crooked….they are downright IDIOTS…… It REALLY looks like ac does the thinking for the DLP…..
So Bushie you not factoring the US dollars the tourists will spend?
Why didn’t the government make a deal with Butch and the defunct Four seasons that was originally his and leave Almond for a local investor like Doyle who has a track record in Barbados?
Bushie if you think that your DLP government too stupid to be crooked then they have you completely fooled. You know what they say, better the crooks you know than the ones you don’t know. LOLL
On a serious note, does this government believe that the other hoteliers will take this gimmick they are doing with Scandals lightly? This is the beginning of the end for small hoteliers on this island. Butch screwed Barbados once and he is doing it again with permission. MOF better get nuff vasseline for the next session with Butch.
Due Diligence……….you are so right!!
ac……….unlike you, i have not been a parasitic yardfowl to Barbados’ economy nor it’s taxpayers……i need not say more than that…
@ Bush Tea 3.13 pm
Agree with most of what you said. However, you are so wrong if you think this bunch is too stupid to be crooked. Bushie , oh lawd…….if only you knew. They are worse than the BLP.
Considering all the monies that have been invested in the Tourism industry . when one look at the return from the outside it looks o impressive .however with the turn and the stagnation continues in the tourism govt can no longer hope and dream of short term solutions spending good money after failed and tries strategies .this move in briging on a heavy gun also takes some of the financial load off the small hoteliers who would benefit from the sandals brand through their explosive marketing
How much money is government spending to bring back the Almond Beach Village property into operation?
What US$ spend what?
Most of these tourist save up for three years and barely make the allinclusive rates….. Steupssss
The tourists who spend real money stay at Sandy Lane and Hilton etc.
This is purely a numbers game…
Anything For increased numbers for POLITICAL BRAGGING RIGHTS…..
If we were really smart we would upgrade the whole damn island to Sandy Lane grade and put a ban on poor tourists….. Let them go on to St Lucia and Grenada…. 🙂
Fed up
Wunna don’t REALLY know stealing til wunna get to understand what REALLY wend down….. 🙂
Could you have imagined a billion dollars knocking around just from a prison fire?
Wunna REALLY understand what happened with CLICO?
LOL smh
Sandals is apparently very successful in other locations and I hope it will be the same in Barbados but there is a harsh reality Bajans have to face.
Tourism is one cylinder in a 6 cylinder car and the other cylinders are not performing either.
The whole car need a overhaul plus some new performance parts.
Bush Tea wrote “If we were really smart we would upgrade the whole damn island to Sandy Lane grade and put a ban on poor tourists”
Bushie you sound like de fella who said Barbados don’t want nuh T shirt tourists.
Tell Muh do…tell muh where my money gone…tell muh And don’t come wid nah shiite bout Allibaba ent teif summa it……we all got dat already down pack….tell we bout dis BILLION that we hear from u knocking bout after D prison…tell we..we is all ears
Any of you have any suggestions as to how Barbados can generate meaningful sustainable employment for 30,000 people?
@ Bush Tea 4:38 pm
I think I know. If you think that these current clowns are not corrupt, you are either fooling yourself or you are also a “brass bowl””, as you like to refer to others.
Is it that you can’t admit that we are not at all better of with the DLP? That we were foolish enough in believing that they would be better for our country than the BLP? Idid, but now I know better.
I cannot believe every story in Barbados is turned into a negative. There must be transparency in government transactions and with the amount of people willing to leak documents now it is more transparent than in the BLP time. Only if they had leak the Gems documents, ABC highway and Prison documents at that time.
I agree with Hoad on Friday. It is my opinion that the BLP supporters on Brasstacks and BU have become a bunch of whiners.
Took this story off Yahoo news from Reuters
http://news.yahoo.com/maduro-government-occupies-venezuela-electronics-chain-134740018–sector.html
Maduro government ‘occupies’ Venezuela electronics chain
This is resource rich Venezuela but little struggling Barbados must create miracles to let people continue living a lie.
I saw an ad for a Nissan Nivara and it cost over $98000 and the company can’t get enough to satisfy the market.
Are we for real?
@ Due Diligence
But, Is there something in this for Williams Industries or Preconco?
Is something corrupt here?
No way – just one old friend trying to help another old friend; and at the same time help the Barbados that Bizzy loves and is so concerned about.
I’m assuming you have written this tongue-in-cheek.
Of course Williams Industries and Preconco will benefit. So will everyone in this government. Sir David Seale, not to be outdone by Bizzy, writes in Friday’s Nation that he welcomes Butch, although he doesn’t know. He is of course hoping that Sandals will now buy all of its sardines, ketchup and toilet paper from R.L. Seale.
The concessions have also created a “portal” through which a tsunami of duty-free, high end goods will pass into the hands of the DLP and its yardfowls. This time next year CCC will have his 60 inch LED TV,
along with his espresso machine.
Anyone with asmall modicum of investment knows that when a product is dead and outlived its uselfulness in order to bring or breathe new life there must be major overhaul which will cost lots of money as in the case of almond one can not put new wine in ole bottles and expect a fresh taste. the cost which the govt is pouring into almond would in the long run pay foritself many times when one factors in job creation plus a more prestigous and recognizable brand for attracting tourist.
@Clone
Your argument would have merit if this government was not spending at a rate that is higher than any other government in our history.
@ ac | November 9, 2013 at 4:25 PM |
“Considering all the monies that have been invested in the Tourism industry . when one look at the return from the outside it looks o impressive .however with the turn and the stagnation continues in the tourism govt can no longer hope and dream of short term solutions spending good money after failed and tries strategies .this move in briging on a heavy gun also takes some of the financial load off the small hoteliers who would benefit from the sandals brand through their explosive marketing.”
Ac, would you agree the other hotels should be entitled, with immediate effect to the duties and taxes concessions granted to Sandals? This is especially so in the food and beverage area to make the entire sector as competitive as possible for the coming season and beyond vis-à-vis other Caribbean destinations
If the government has come to the position that the accommodation sector should not be seen primarily as a source of indirect taxes but as an earner of FX and a source of employment so be it.
What should be of concern is the uneven playing field that would be created thereby forcing others who have been through the hard times and stayed the course with government to leave the industry because of unfair discriminatory practice. Why should Sandals Casuarina get food alcoholic and beverages free of all import duties, excise taxes and VAT when Ocean 2 or some other South Coast hotel currently struggling to maintain employment levels and faced with cash flow problems be required to carry the tax burden to be passed on to its guests and customers?
You need to warn your MoF that discrimination in this sector will not be tolerated. What is good for the goose is also “good” for the gander. It is better to amend the various pieces of legislation to grant concessions to the entire sector than to give Sandals alone and not the others, either existing or future players. If there is blatant discrimination the government would be unnecessarily exposing itself to a slew of law suits, and justifiably so.
What do you think?
millertheanunnaki wrote “the other hotels should be entitled, with immediate effect to the duties and taxes concessions granted to Sandals.
I thought the existing hotels already got their “concessions” when they first opened.
@Clone
Here is another question if you care to answer because your style seem to be to release your nuggets f wisdom and run.
How many cars were sold in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012 and for 2013 so far? To assume dealerships are selling vehicles like hotcakes is to assume they are selling at prior year levels.
David wrote “spending at a rate that is higher than any other government in our history.”
Is this spending frivolous or an effort to stimulate the economy?
It would be helpful to point out where Government is wasting money.
Perhaps I should spend more time on BU and keep up to date.lol
U gotta be out of your mind miller talking about an unevenplaying field . as far as i am concerned the field is wide open all that is left is for those sluggish hoteliers to step up to the plate the days of free lunch Concessions they have had over the years. not it is time to prove themselves worthy in a competitive market and if it takes moving the goal post a little higher by introducing Sandals .so be it.they will have they reward through hard work.
islandgal246 | November 9, 2013 at 3:59 PM |
On a serious note, does this government believe that the other hoteliers will take this gimmick they are doing with Scandals lightly? This is the beginning of the end for small hoteliers on this island.
————————
The rubbish in your comment gal would swamp the Greenland land fill if it ever became operational. If Gems or JAWS as grasshopper Mascoll called it didn’t kill small hotels nothing can. Adrian ” Not Indigenous Enough” Loveridge don’t hesitate to interrupt with your comments on the JAWS.
The long neck accountant boy, Ryan Straughan, even discredited pollsters George Belle and Peter Wickham should do research on the concessions local hotels received since the tourist industry took root. I’m putting it to you it would make the incentives to Sandals look like child’s play. Sandals has to pay electricity, water, fuel, wages, those four alone should keep the treasury topped up.
The difference is Sandals brings a proven track record of attracting huge numbers of tourists and international attention even while doing its own massive marketing and not waiting on government to hold its hands like a child. Airlines switch flights to destinations where Sandals are. No airline except Fart Air would come to Barbados because of Peach and Quiet.
Any analysis of Sandals where its set up reveals huge success compared to the majority of the hotels in Barbados who like BWIA claim they never made a profit in their entire history. The only concession left for government to give local hoteliers is to pass a law bequeathing them all crown lands and the right to govern the entire country. Even so you can bet they will fcuk it up some say thief it up and go to the UN, US, whoever begging for help.
@ Hants | November 9, 2013 at 7:54 PM |
“I thought the existing hotels already got their “concessions” when they first opened.”
No Hants, only those granted under the Hotel Aid and Tourism Development Acts. Not free food, free alcohol and beverages. Existing hotels are not currently entitled to duty and tax-free food and drinks although they can claim both as expenses and VAT input tax. Do you understand what is at play here? Read the letter again and show your time at “Kollig” was not wasted.
Do you sincerely believe Sandals should be granted the concession to import or purchase locally food, alcoholic and other drinks free of duties and taxes while the others are not entitled to such?
I am not against granting concessions to Sandals but the same concessions should apply across the board especially for food, alcohol and beverages. Do you agree, Hants or can’t you see the principle of equality with respect to the laws of Barbados being relevant?
Miller wrote “the same concessions should apply across the board especially for food, alcohol and beverages.”
Agreed.
“Airlines switch flights to destinations where Sandals are.”
Please provide the evidence.
“Anyone with asmall modicum of investment….”
Your writing and thinking are the same–redundant!!
Enuff | November 9, 2013 at 10:30 PM |
“Airlines switch flights to destinations where Sandals are.”
Please provide the evidence.
Following the grand opening of Sandals Emerald Bay, Great Exuma, Bahamas, three airline carries have added flights to Exuma International Airport (GGT) in Great Exuma, Bahamas from major gateways in the US and Canada.
In addition to existing daily flights on American Airlines, Continental Airlines and Bahamas Air, new flights to Great Exuma include:
Air Canada: Launched March 7, 2010 with weekly non-stop service from Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ)
AC 1764; YYZ to GGT, Sundays 7:20am – 10:45am
AC 1765; GGT to YYZ, Sundays, 11:45am – 3:15pm
American Airlines: Starting June 11, 2010 with one additional flight, twice a week from Miami International Airport (MIA)
AA 4901; MIA to GGT, Fridays & Saturdays, 7:00pm – 8:29pm
AA 4902; GGT to MIA, Saturdays & Sundays, 7:30am – 8:58am
Delta Airlines: Beginning June 13, 2010 with flights twice a week from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL)
DL 5607; ATL to GGT, Wednesdays & Sundays, 10:55am – 1:17pm
DL 5606; GGT to ATL, Wednesdays & Sundays, 2:00pm – 4:34pm
Sandals Emerald Bay, a 500-acre beachfront resort set on Great Exuma, one of the Bahamas’ most beautiful Out Islands, is the fourteenth Sandals Resort and, expanding on the company’s Luxury Included concept, the first to offer a championship, Greg Norman-designed golf course, world-class marina and professionally-trained butlers in all 183 plush rooms and suites. The new Sandals Emerald Bay also features gourmet dining in a choice of five à la carte restaurants, premium brand wine and spirits, land and watersports, including scuba diving for certified divers, gratuities and airport transfers. Additionally, the resort boasts an exclusive Red Lane Spa, featuring 17 treatment rooms, offering premier services that embrace the best of the Caribbean region.
Sandals Resort International (SRI) hotel group chain has invited the Perry Christie government in The Bahamas to assist with solutions to high costs faced by its Emerald Bay hotel in Exuma, to prevent the closure of the unprofitable resort.
On Friday, Sandals issued a statement which indicated that 600 jobs might be lost unless the government took action.
“It is a fact that the hotel is facing severe difficulty in continuing operations at Emerald Bay because of the multitude of high costs associated with operating from the family islands of The Bahamas. Some of these costs could never have been anticipated and make the Emerald Bay resort unlike any other we operate,” the release said.
“The cost to operate the facility is proving to be unsustainable with the highest utility costs we face as a hotel chain, limited airlifts to the island, the continuing need to subsidise airlifts, high fuel and transportation costs, added to a series of costs associated with overcoming the limited pool of trained professionals on the island…,” said SRI.
Top local employer
The statement also highlighted Sandals’ status as a top local employer.
Sandals Resorts, which is owned by Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart, operates hotels in six Caribbean countries.
The chain, which has been around for 30 years, picked up deals during the recession, including the purchase of the former Four Seasons hotel at Emerald Bay in Exuma.
Sandals acquired the hotel for US$26.5 million and then spent another US$18 million on upgrades.
SRI Chief Executive Officer Adam Stewart said on Tuesday that Sandals has invested a total of US$85 million in refurbishment, marketing and airlift subsidies. Sandals Emerald Isle became operational in 2010.
“We have made an enormous investment in developing Sandals Emerald Bay into a Five Star Plus hotel which sits on 500 acres of land and includes a Greg Norman-designed Championship Golf Course,” said Sandals.
“However, the unusual level of input costs make doing business there almost impossible, especially during a time of economic downturn.”
Sandals Group, since the economic downturn of 2008, has kept all but two of its properties on the market – Sandals Dunn’s River and Beaches Sandy Bay which were operated under lease. Two new properties were added in the period – the Exuma resort and Beaches Turks & Caicos.
Stewart said Sandals no longer manages properties under lease.