Hotel mogul Butch Stewart

The Barbados government recently announced that it has signed an MOU with Butch Stewart’s Sandals to manage the former Almond Beach Village property.  BU family member Due Diligence has submitted the following research to inform debate.

Neal and Massey buys control of BS&T in 2008, and by 2012 has acquired all the shares of BS&T; and in May 2012 had the shares BS&T delisted.

“Neal and Massy Holdings Ltd’s (N&M) request to have its Barbados Shipping & Trading Company Ltd (BS&T) delisted from the T&T Stock Exchange (TTSE) was made as a result of the T&T-based conglomerate acquiring all 100 per cent of its shares. So said Gervase Warner, chief executive officer, N&M Group. “Last September we made an offer to the BS&T shareholders for the rest of the outstanding shares, and now that BS&T is 100 per cent owned by Neal and Massy, it becomes a subsidiary of Neal and Massy. “Now that we acquired all of the outstanding shares of BS&T…there was no opportunity for anyone to trade shares anymore.” BS&T’s delisting means change, Warner said. “What you can expect is that Neal and Massy would be a little more prominent in Barbados than it has been in the past. We will continue to respect the fact that BS&T has a long history and heritage in Barbados. “It is 100 per cent-owned by Neal and Massy, the parent company, there are no organisational changes above and beyond what we have already done.”

On May 28, 2012, the TTSE issued a statement notifying the investing public that: “Pursuant to an Order of the Securities Exchange dated April 27, 2012, made under Section 45 of the Securities Industry Act, 1995, BS&T would be delisted from the stock exchange effective Monday, May 28, 2012.”

In the BS&T purchase N&M got stuck with the shares of Almond Resorts Inc. (ARI), which was in a business with which they were not familiar. After two years of owning and operating (and feeding) ARI, N&M decided they did not want to continue pouring money into the ARI sink hole.

In April 2012, Warner had told the regional media that Almond was buckling under more than US$51 million in accumulated debt. “The challenge we had after the financial crisis is (that) it started to lose a lot of money, precious little capital or cash was left for upgrading properties, and that lead to more significant cash flow losses from those hotels.” Warner explained the situation got so chronic, the parent company needed to inject capital into the business. “We’ve had to support them with cash injections from N&M. We’ve got to a point where we feel we need to pass them into ownership hands, where people would be able to put the kind of capital into it, to have the performance of these properties turned around,” he said. Warner said the Barbadian economy is contracting and has faced such challenges as downgrading of the economy.

Five hotels—Almond Resorts Incorporated—were included in the February 2008 acquisition of BS&T, but those properties suffered from the global financial meltdown. And the huge debts were racking up. In N&M’s 2011 annual report, chairman Arthur Lok Jack said: “Given the uncertainty of the world economic environment and the significant investments necessary to upgrade the hotels in Barbados and St Lucia, the Group took the decision to substantially dispose of its investments in Almond Resorts Incorporated and its associated hotels.”  The plan to sell-off Almond hotels was in the cards since 2011. In April 2012, Ralph Taylor, chief executive officer of Almond Resorts, said Almond Beach Village (Barbados) will close April 30 amidst “the deteriorating quality of the product.

First to go were the two St. Lucia properties; one was sold and the management contract for the second which ARI managed was terminated. Then to the Barbados properties.

In July 2012 they sold Almond Beach Club, to Fairweather Holding Co., which operates Elite Island Resorts  for $33 million, the proceeds of which was used to pay down bank debt that had been incurred to keep ARI afloat. Fairweather Holding Co., which operates Elite Island Resorts, has agreed to buy Almond Beach Club in St James for $33 million, but about $30 million of that sum is going to Scotiabank to reduce Almond’s outstanding debt to that institution. This was revealed in an information memorandum sent to shareholders of Almond Resorts Inc (ARI) yesterday, in which the board of directors urged shareholders to agree to the purchase.

What’s more, the remaining $3 million left from the purchase sum is going to be used to meet the severance obligations to the hotel’s 160 workers, who are expected to end their contract of employment with Almond. Fairweather Holding Co., a company incorporated in Nevis, has agreed to buy the hotel as a going concern and so the employees are expected to be rehired by it under new terms.

Do not know who owns Fairweather/Elite – maybe Bernie Weatherhead or Goddards? Anyway, Barbados problem number 1 is solved. Next up is the Casuarina.

Some time in 2012, N&M start negotiating with Jamaican hotel operator Couples to take over Casuarina. January 4, 2013, the Jamaica Gleaner reports the Couples is finalizing negotiations to purchase Casuarina.

“Couples Resorts is finalising a deal to acquire a hotel in Barbados, making it the first Jamaican resort group to venture into that market. It’s also Couples’ first venture outside of its home market. Couples chief executive officer, Glenn Lawrence, confirmed plans on Wednesday to purchase the 280-room Almond Casuarina Beach (ACB) Club in the eastern Caribbean island.

“We are involved in firm negotiations,” said Lawrence, adding that the deal was expected to conclude on or before January 31, at which time more details would be forthcoming.

For whatever reason, Couples did not purchase the property; but January 29, 2013, announced it had agreed to manage Casuarina ( it turns out)under a lease.

Glen Lawrence, CEO at Couples Resorts announced earlier this week than recent plans to undertake the 280 room resort known as Almond Casuarina Beach Resort, were a success and are in effect from February 10th 2013. It’s a truly exciting time for everyone at Couples Resorts, we consistently strive to be the best in the business, and this new venture means that under our management Almond Casuarina will undergo a US$3 million dollar refurbishment program, bringing the resort to the well-known 5* standards of Couples Resorts Jamaica.

Barbados Problem # 2 resolved – temporarily. Finally they had to solve the biggest problem of them all, Barbados Problem # 3, Almond Beach Village.

After inviting proposals in 2012, a short list of 3 bidders was agreed, Sandals, Doyle and a third unidentified bidders speculated to Jada/Preconco/Bjerkhamn. By April 2013 none of them was able to come to an agreement to purchase the ABV property.

Business Monday: No buyer yet for Almond Beach Village –4/29/2013

SOME buyers keen on acquiring Almond Beach Village (ABV) are in the process of organising financing to make the purchase. That’s the view of Chairman of Almond Resorts Incorporated (ARI), Arthur Lok Jack, and Director, E. Gervase Warner, as they revealed additional losses of the hotel Group. Almond Beach Village was closed last year – April 30, 2012, to be exact. On August 2, 2012, Almond Beach Club, another hotel in the Group, was sold to the Fairweather Group.

So far no buyer has come forward to acquire the property, although several parties have shown an interest  – read full article

Having done their due diligence, the private sector investors, Sandals, Doyle et al, were not prepared to invest in the ABV property. So N&M turned to the buyer of last resort; the Barbados taxpayer. On September 11, 2013, it was announced that BTI (the taxpayer) had agreed to purchase the ABV property for $53 million.

The future of the Almond Beach Village property at Heywoods in St. Peter, as planned by Government, is starting to take shape.

Barbados TODAY has learnt that the Freundel Stuart Cabinet has determined it will purchase the property from Neal and Massy of Trinidad for US$53 million, with an initial cash payment of US$25 million and the balance of US$28 million being paid over three years at an interest rate that is still to be agreed between the two parties.

Additionally, after an initial Cabinet decision instructed the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. to work with Sandals Resort International “to have a Sandals Beaches Resort in Barbados within three to four weeks”, that body last week determined that Sandals be given the nod to operate and manage a rebuilt Almond under the Beaches brand, with an option to purchase the property at a future date.

So having done his due diligence and deciding he did not want to (or maybe did not have capital) buy the ABV property, Butch Stewart arranged for Freundel Stuart buy it, demolish the old plant and equipment and build a new facility for him, Sandals/Beaches, to operate for Freundel and company, with an option to purchase the property at a future date.

What further concessions of the type Stewart negotiated with Grenada have not been disclosed; but having gained the practice of negotiating with one insolvent country, it seems reasonable to assume that he would take no less from another insolvent country.

As a bonus or as a further incentive or to save face, the Stuart/Sealy/Sinckler team, apparently arranged for Mr. Stewart to take over the Casuarina property, which N&M had leased to Couples and was rebranded Couples only months before.

One MOU will result in government leasing the Almond Village to Sandals which will operate it under its international brand, Beaches while the other contract, provides for Sandals to buy over the former Almond Casaurina property, in Dover, Christ Church, now Couples.

DD has seen no details, price, terms etc. of the deal to buy over the Casuarina property, included on the N&M website, so the deal to buy over Casuarina may be pending; or may turn out to be simply Sandals taking over its operations from Couples. What a deal.  If, after running the new resort to be built by the taxpayer, Mr Stewart decides he wants to buy it he can.  If not, he can walk away.  Now that is really managing his risk.

Stuart, Sealy and Sinckler on one side of the “negotiating” table; and Stewart , his accountants and lawyers on the other side. Clearly, Barbados needed Butch more than Butch needed Barbados.

68 responses to “Sandals Almond Chronology”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

There are so many unanswered questions here, which include:

1) What is the actual Dollar investment that Sandals/Breaches is making in either property?

2) If the Government is actually buying ABV and then borrowing further monies from the Chinese who will re-build it, was is the time frame.

3) If the taxpayer is funding a resurrected ABV, why would you grant an operator (Beaches) a waiver of VAT on consumables?

4) When does the VAT waiver for consumables become effective with Sandals/Casuarina?

5) If this exemption is currently ONLY available to entities investing $500 million, then how does Sandals/Beaches qualify?

Unless other existing accommodation providers, who HAVE already made sizeable investments are given the same VAT concessions at the same time as Sandals, then they will be at a severe commercial disadvantage in the market place. Turtle Beach with its 161 rooms, next door to Casuarina is an example.

Again, unless exactly the same concessions are granted to ALL, at the same time, this is going to be a massive deterrent to persuade existing hotels to upgrade and new investors to even consider Barbados.

2. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Adrian

Why do I hear a quiver of fear in you? You have been calling for GOB to make greater investment in the tourism industry and in physical plant of Barbados, so why can’t you be happy and shut your ass for once in a while. Is there not some small village in England missing its fool?

3. @DD
    I will add that Bdos is asset rich but illiquid, others will be lining up to acquire these assets

4. ………Imagine that nah……from “punching above we weight ” to this…..
    ..lining up?….. did we not hear that one before……it was wid bonds wasnt it ?

5. Check out what really happened with a similar story at Whitehouse, Sandals operated property in Jamaica. Not sure, but believe that property was built with taxpayers money and caused a hurrah in its time. Butch Stewart from what I am told gets what he wants with as little money invested as possible i.e. pays very little to take over a property.

That him having gotten Almond in St. Peter is not a good thing, is left to be seen because Sandals is a brand that is well known worldwide and has its attraction. But at what cost today to the taxpayer? Remember that Sandals is an all inclusive and most of Sandals bookings are done outside of the island so how much money will be inside in the end? Hopefully this was negotiated well by the government. Sandals demands an amazing property and this would have to be built from scratch to their specifications it would appear. Whitehouse reportedly cost tons more than it was supposed to have cost because of this.

Couples are not pleased. Really not pleased. Now what will happen with the investment they have already put in? Saw the property myself and it appeared to be a lot, and I mean a lot. Couples are now offering to remove all their booked-in guests over to Jamaica because of this. From what I have read in the newspapers here in Jamaica, Couples are not happy and when Couples are not happy we all know how a divorce can end up in court for years before settling while those concerned, their families and friends have to suffer through it.

When a deal is made between a government and an entity, surely those who are the real shareholders of same said government (the people of Barbados) should know every detail of the deal. Every little detail. If I have shares in a company and they make a deal, am I not entitled to know every little bit of information of where and what my money is going to do for me? I forgot. It is government we are talking about here.

Something does not smell right and anyone who thinks it does, well, continue with that brand of positive thinking for it has gotten Barbados where it is today.

However, since I am not Barbadian, perhaps I should just congratulate the people of Barbados for having such an amazing team governing their lands and providing a result for a hotel property that was going the same way as Paradise, particularly at a time when that team appears to be losing the confidence of their people. Politics is a wonderful thing – when a situation is messy, bring on a bunch of freshly-picked roses whose beauty and delightful odour will make all smile and be comforted – until they die in putrid water and another bunch has to be purchased to keep up the feeling that all is well and will last forever.

The suggestion is to look carefully and keep the guard up. If all works out be happy – but – and there are always a lot of buts in the wonderful world of governments versus their people – keep those eyes open and those ears to the ground.

6. @Onions
    Privatizing, what do you think the Sandals move at Almonds is

7. Oh Mercy said:
    “When a deal is made between a government and an entity, surely those who are the real shareholders of same said government (the people of Barbados) should know every detail of the deal. Every little detail. If I have shares in a company and they make a deal, am I not entitled to know every little bit of information of where and what my money is going to do for me? I forgot. It is government we are talking about here.”

Mercy…………..Unfortunately the governments of Barbados never believe they owe the people (their bosses and taxpayers) any explanation…..it is always left to outside entities to inform the people of Barbados about what affects them, all the government ever does is invent LIES for the taxpayers on the island……..sad really.

8. Is this how you Johns interpret privatization? …..I luv my rock and because of this I hope Butch got we interest at heart…..I just hope . Paradise was a real Fup……people in Black rock cud tell ya…

9. @old onion bags
    Love your rock all you like, the rock deserves it. But Butch Stewart love a rock, this rock? You are indeed hopeful. Butch Stewart loves Butch Stewart. He loves Butch Stewart so much he had a huge book published about himself as though it was written by someone else. An admiration of Himself. Even that is alright if one feel’s the need but one thing everyone knows is that Butch is for Butch, then his son, then his daughter, then his daughter, then his son but mostly Butch. So ponder on that for awhile.

10. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

@Plantations Deeds , all we want to see is a CLEAR TITLE, Many fraud titles backed up by the DLP/blp . Where are the DEEDS of the land?

VIOLET BECKELS AUG 23RD 2010 PM DAVID OCT 23RD 2010 R.I.P

11. Excellent research, Due diligence. Good work!

12. …..like granmudda used to say” once bitten twice shy”…..but i ent kno whey these J’s gine wid this…..how d ass we get in this mess? stuppesss

13. The hyocrisy in here .especially from people like Adrien who have alwys seen Sandals influence in generating tourism business in other islands as a worthwhile project. Now Adrian is the first one out the box with machette in hand chasing windmills another one of his “oneman” tirade of wanting to make govt look inept and clueless.i think about now he might be the one clueles as govt was able to close a deal without his knoweldge shutting out another one of his damming articles in effort to sabatoge.

14. What a thing nah … Earskin Sandiford told the private sector to start generating it own foreign exchange and forced BS&T to find ways to do so. He made things a little easier by gifting Heywoods to BS&T for a steal …

…and now this

15. BAFBFP

It certainly appears that Government has repurchased Heywoods and “re-gifted” it to Sandals

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I challenge ANYONE to point out anywhere that I have commented negatively about introducing Sandals or Beaches into Barbados. My concern is that we do not again create another un-level playing field like GEMS.
    The decision to proceed with GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Ltd) took place under a BLP administration and many of our private sector hotels are still trying to recover from this folly. If the Sandals/Beaches deal is largely being financed by taxpayers monies, then those existing or new private sector investors have an ABSOLUTE right to obtain the same concessions. I cannot think of any reasoned thought, that could argue against this.
    It is also important to point out that there is NO immediate increase in hotel room stock with this deal. COUPLES have already stated they were achieving high occupancy, so there will be NO dramatic increase in long stay visitor arrivals or airlift either. The much vaunted 800 ‘additional’ rooms and 130,000 ‘additional’ arrivals annually is way up-the-road, as and when the Government can negotiate the necessary finance, obtain planning permission and get these 800 ‘additional’ rooms built.
    So to even talk about 130,000 ‘additional’ visitors annually, 15,000 ‘additional’ jobs is at best premature and at worse, totally RECKLESS, where you bear in mind just how many of our non-taxpayer paid existing hotels are hanging on by the skin of their teeth. We have already LOST nearly 60,000 airline seats this year.

17. Please remind me wasn’t it Butch Stewart who wanted a private beach, if & when he ever invest in Barbados hotel industry? Remember Paradise Beach Resort In Sandiford time? Barbadians really have short memories!!!!

18. @Adrian

The MoT advised in his ministerial statement that all concessions given to Butch Stuart will be made available to local hoteliers.

19. Adrien u are being disingenuous in your respond .it not per se whether or not that you have made comments negatively. but it is very clear that your response hinges on an effort to sway public response in a negative form towards govt. hence ac sees you as being an overzealous salesman trying to convince an unsupecting buyer. what govt has done here is to open up another area for growth which will create jobs and the possiblty of Improving or image in international markets..so what,s so wrong with that?

20. @Just Asking

The MoT has advised that no approval for private beach is part of the deal.

Butch Stewart indicated a reason for the Paradise collapse were the blockers he encountered at the Town Planing department. Have these blockers been removed?

21. David

As Town Planning reports to the PM Stuart, I think it reasonable to expect that Town Planning approval for Butch Stewart’s Heywoods project (no that should be BTI’s project) will be smooth sailing.

22. T & C Blockers? Removed? To where exactly? Nothing has changed at Town & Country Planning according to reports being received constantly by those trying to get approval for building. Every other house for sale and not just in St. James, construction dead but Town & Country Planning? Alive and well and not giving a hoot about their inability to get anything done on time. Perhaps Freundel will interfere personally in this matter giving the credibility of the government being on a fine line and there is Butch because when he decide to move for Butch it is on his pace or none at all. Brace yourselves. Butch soon come to get Barbados and its T&C and its workers in construction on its knees. Did I mention and its government?

23. Platinum Reward Avatar

Adrian

Where did you get 15,000 jobs from? The Minister of Finance and Tourism talked about 1,500 jobs, so stop misrepresenting the GOB.

24. Minister’s Math?

The MOT has been reported as saying the two resorts would bring an additional 800 rooms to the island’s hotel stock and, could result in 130,000 more visitors coming to the island; and will create 1,500 new jobs.

From what I have read Casuarina has 280 rooms, and the new facility they are going to build at Heywoods will be 426 rooms; for a total of 706 Sandals/Beaches rooms. That is a margin of error of 13% – not too bad.

BUT, the 280 Casuarina/Sandals rooms already exist.

So additional rooms, will be the 426 rooms at Beaches Heywoods.

The 800 rooms overstates the real number (426) by 47%.

130,000 more visitor?

Beaches/Heywoods, a family resort, will have 426 rooms, each of which it is said could accommodate up to 6 guests – Mom, Dad and four kids. All-inclusive visitors typically stay for one week (some maybe two, three, four weeks). Assuming 100% occupancy with each room occupied by six guests for a one week stays for 50 weeks (2 weeks down for maintenance), the total possible visitors is 127,800.

But that is not going to happen. Even Sandals/Beaches does not have 100% occupancy.

The more likely scenario would be an average of 4 guests per room – Mom, Dad and two kids, occupied 85% of the weeks = 72,420 guests; and that is not going to happen for 3-4 years.

Sandals/Casuarina, a couples only resort, is reported to have 280 rooms. Assuming 100% occupancy for 50 weeks, with two people to each room = 28,000 guests/visitors.

But that is not going to happen either.

The more likely scenario would be 2 guests per room kids, occupied 85% of the time = 23,800 guest/visitors.

But, given that it is reported that Couples had good bookings for winter 2014, many of the 23,800 guests (say 50%) have or would been guests at Couples. it could then be said less than 12,000 more guests/visitors could be attributed to the Sandals brand.

So 12,000 now and 72,000 sometime in the future – a long way fro 130,000 more visitors from the Sandals deal(s).

1,500 new jobs?

I recall reading that Butch said 1,000 jobs.

But, assuming that 1/3 of those jobs already exist at Couples/Casuarina that leaves less about 650 new jobs – not 1,500.

And that does not take into account the jobs that will be lost at competing hotels that will have to downsize or close because they cannot compete on an uneven playing field with the heavily subsidized/incentivized/ concessionized Sandals and its “marketing might”.

Is the large difference in the Ministers numbers and those that appear to be more reasonable due to his poor math, government spin, or outright LIES.

25. Why did the government rushed this deal and gave into to everything Butch Stewart wants? Oh, I forgot, they had to change the topic……….the government had to face a no confidence motion and an awful Central Bank report.

Can someone tell us on BU why the government had to give away all these concessions when the government is doing everything……buying the property, knocking it down, rebuilding it to Butch’s specifications and presumably furnishing it to Butch’s specifications. All Butch seemingly is doing is moving in. So why does Butch needs all these concessions for? So to save face the worst minister of tourism said……oh, by the way, these same concessions will be made available to other hoteliers. Oh really? I am waiting to hear from the BHTA.

This government is so cash strapped yet can give away millions in the hope of getting some some where down the road. I need my tax refunds so they better wise up!

26. Due Diligence:

Thanks for showing the government of Barbados that there are people in Barbados who can actually do math and get their figures right…….lol

27. Oh Mercy

DD has appreciated your input.

You said

“Couples are not pleased. Really not pleased. Now what will happen with the investment they have already put in? Saw the property myself and it appeared to be a lot, and I mean a lot. Couples are now offering to remove all their booked-in guests over to Jamaica because of this. From what I have read in the newspapers here in Jamaica, Couples are not happy and when Couples are not happy we all know how a divorce can end up in court for years before settling while those concerned, their families and friends have to suffer through it.”

DD posted this on another BU blog

This is from the Nation article Hotel Rage.

“The DAILY NATION learnt that the all-inclusive hotel chain is to be refunded $6 million it spent refurbishing the Dover, Christ Church property it has managed for just four months, and from which it will be forced to leave early next month.”

Who is refunding the $6 million to Couples; Sandals, Almond/Neal and Massy or Government of Barbados to make Couples go away and make way for their new best friend Butch to set up shop?

You also said

“Remember that Sandals is an all inclusive and most of Sandals bookings are done outside of the island so how much money will be inside in the end?”

Good point. Sandals booking money will go to an account in New York or Miami. Barbados will see only enough to pay the local bills

DD thinks you might enjoy reading the following from:

http://marketplaceexcellence.com/2012/04/jamaicas-butch-stewart-picks-almond-barbados/

NEW YORK (April 12, 2012) – Caribbean tourism czar, Gordon “Butch” Stewart, is shining his suit of armor and readying his steed to ride in as the White Knight to rescue a resort in distress.

At risk is the luxury beach-side Almond Beach Village resort in Barbados facing imminent closure. Once spared, Stewart plans to clean up the property, pump in some money and launch a new resort on the island.

The Jamaican businessman and chairman of Sandals International is moving to acquire the Trinidad and Tobago-owned Almond resort – which closes at month-end – following a failed attempt many years ago to develop the old Paradise resort on the island, now the future home of a Four Seasons.

In an interview with the Nation newspaper in Barbados, Stewart indicated a number of technical experts have already visited the island and the evaluation process about the prospects of “Sandalizing the property” was in train. He tantalized reporters by hinting his family-oriented brand, Beaches, would be more suitable for Barbados.

“I think Barbados for us is a void, and I think Sandals would do a lot of good for Barbados. I think Barbados would (also) do a lot for Sandals,” said Stewart, adding “it is time to go back to Barbados and try to make the best of it.”

Well, the “White Knight” sure got something right. Barbados has certainly done a lot for Sandals.

Not only will he Sandalize the property, it appears that he has Sandalized the Government.

28. OOPS

On second thought, perhaps that last sentence should read:

Not only will he Sandalize the property, it appears that he has Scandalized the Government.

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Platinum Reward, Yes entirely my fault 1,500 ‘additional’ jobs.

As I read, ONLY to All-Inclusive hotels and what is the time frame for implementation. Same as the BTA restructuring, Tourism Master Plan, reduced VAT rate for DTS) Direct Tourism Services, Hotel fund for refurbishment, APD Voucher……. shall I go on?

30. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘It is also proposed to extend the concession to all other inclusive operators in Barbados as government’s finances permit’.

31. If government can find money to accommodate Butch Stewart’s fanciful wishes when he seems not to want to spend a cent of his in this set up…………..why cant they find money to pay off the debts the BTA has run up and is an embarrassment on Barbados’ good name. The BTA overseas offices cannot order a sweetie from any body. What a burning shame!

32. A large developer had tentatively bought a piece of land beside me to build condos, they approached myself and a neighbour to be partners in there venture. They would buy our property at market value today, and once they had 65% of the condos sold they would begin building once it was finished we would split 20% of the anticipated 6-7 million profit. Sounded good, but I don’t deal in maybes and could as. I told them I would take there low estimate of profit, less than fair market value for my building, would sign no leases for three years, till they sold there 65% of the condos, with no upfront money but if they decided to go ahead with the project I wanted all of my money when they broke ground rather than wait another two years till it was finished. They walked , they weren’t sure of there figures and what they were saying , and they didn’t want to have to put up any cash of there own sound familiar.

33. Another ongoing wasteful effort bn the BLP nincoompoos The many stories of BUTCH have been told over and over again but that has not stop him from being succesful ac give kudos to him for having the confidence of wanting to invest in as much as a penny in Barbados after all the negative press about our failing economy. Moreover this move on his part can bolster and peek investor confidence rewarding barbados. All the questions being asked has failed to look at the bigger picture.

34. i have read about payment for the almond is butch getting cuasirina for free, all renos done nice way to go butch

35. Lawson, please note that there is a difference between “their” and “there”. I’m not being pernickety here, it just doesn’t read right.

36. Prodigal Son | October 23, 2013 at 3:52 PM |

“If government can find money to accommodate Butch Stewart’s fanciful wishes when he seems not to want to spend a cent of his in this set up…………..why cant they find money to pay off the debts the BTA has run up and is an embarrassment on Barbados’ good name. The BTA overseas offices cannot order a sweetie from any body. What a burning shame!”

That, no doubt, explains why there have been no Air Canada or Westjet ads promoting Barbados properties in Toronto newspapers for months. They have not been paid for their earlier Barbados promotions.

Meanwhile, there are full or half-page joint Tourism St. Lucia/Air Canada and Westjet ads at least weekly, some time twice weekly. Today in Toronto Star Business section there is a half page St. Lucia/Air Canada Vacations ad promoting 8 St. Lucia properties, including THREE Sandals properties.

I am anxiously awaiting the delivery of tomorrow’s papers to see the first Sandals Barbados (Casuarina) ad.

37. Peltdownman You are absolutely right…. I am sorry….the doctor had just told me there was no hope for my 93 year old mother, and I was filling in time while her palliative care cocktail was being readied by the pharmacy wasn’t really thinking of proofreading, just trying to think of something else but felt strongly enough to write in, nobody says not sandals, harlequin whoever what everyone says is don’t dig a bigger hole for yourself, be sure it is going to amount to something short and long term.Be transparent

38. With all the critique coming from the BLP yardfowls not one of wunna can add anything of real value to the barbados economy .not so much as hire i single individual ,However wunna get up here onBU thinking wunna so intelligent as to direct the govt on what path it should take.,. as a matter of fact, ask adrein how many local or international hotels he ever owned in comparison to BUTCh and again how many of his are up and running when compared to BUTCH ,

39. WELCOME SANDALS RESORTS INC Avatar
    WELCOME SANDALS RESORTS INC

A Barbadian Working The Regional Tourism Circuit

Fellow Barbadians and Adrian Loveridge:
    Barbados should have ensured that the Sandals Resorts International brand was on this Rock decades ago. Having lived and or worked in the vast majority of Caribbean countries where Mr Stewart has made an investment, he will make a positive contribution in three area:
    1) Marketing;
    2) Human Resources or Talent Development
    3) Community Tourism that has been talked about by policy makers and other for years will be realized.
    The authors of may contribution need to become aware of the benefits the Sandals brand.
    I can attest to the QUALITY this investor will bring to the existing product. In addition the existing Hoteliers who assess themselves as top of their game will have no choice but to do a close look at their product ( plant and
    people). SRI will contribute positively to the Barbados landscape. WELCOME Mr. Stewart and Team from a Bajan who understand the significant contribution you continue to make in the Caribbean region. Walk Good!

40. ac…….do you really read some of the above comments AND understand where the posters are coming from? some of them like myself don’t live in Barbados and could give a rat’s ass about the two petty political parties on the island and the crab politics they and their dumbass yardfowls practice, they are just voicing genuine concern for the island and not yardfowl pretense to get a stroke or pat on the back or a label of being a foot-soldier…….for once try to see the comments as not jaundiced or politically oriented, there is another way to view management of the island or in this case, the lack thereof.

41. Thank U WECOME SANDALS RESORTS and WElcome to BU…

42. @ welll Welll
    Don’t worry about If i read any of the comments and what are the intent,, just like any of them i can relate my comment as seen fit,,,,don;t worry yuh sweet head about nutting i say ………sleep WELL

43. I have no doubt that Sandals is a great input to Barbados, let us not get sidetracked.

What I do want to know is, why did guv’ment bail out the former owner of Almond, when the tax payer cannot afford it????

THAT IS THE QUESTION!!!!!!!!

44. ust asking | October 23, 2013 at 12:48 PM |

Please remind me wasn’t it Butch Stewart who wanted a private beach, if & when he ever invest in Barbados hotel industry? Remember Paradise Beach Resort In Sandiford time? Barbadians really have short memories!!!!

THE PRECEDING POST IS NOT MINE.
    THIS IS NOT ME : I AM THE REAL
    JUST ASKING
    I would respectfully ask the person using the name to refrain from doing so. It is mine,
    I have not posted a comment for a while but I am reading the comments
    I am just tired of AC and CC who defend the indefensible from their party the DLP –a very sick approach.
    So please stop using my handle whoever you are

45. CHECK THIS OUT ALL YOU NON SMOKERS AND NO SMOKING IN BARS EVEN OPEN AIR.
    YA STILL GETTING POISON.who cares about more empty rooms for tax purposes and money laundering.
    Air pollution nine-times deadlier than car crashes, UBC study finds
    Monday, October 21, 2013
    VANCOUVER – Chronic exposure to air pollution causes nearly nine times as many premature deaths in Canada as traffic crashes, University of B.C. researchers say in an article published Monday in the Canadian Medical Association Journal.
    About 21,000 Canadians die prematurely from the ill effects of air pollution each year, compared to 2,400 from traffic crashes.
    The article is timely, coming as it does on the heels of last week’s declaration by the World Health Organization that air pollution is a carcinogen. Diesel fumes were previously deemed cancer-causing, but this is the first time air pollution as a whole has been classified as carcinogenic.
    In their provocative commentary in CMAJ, Michael Bauer and co-researchers Conor Reynolds and Perry Hystad said there’s an accumulating body of evidence showing negative health effects from traffic-related air pollution. They suggest various actions that may be taken, including copying European cities that levy fees on cars in congested areas to reduce traffic.
    Brauer, a professor in UBC’s school of population and public health, has spent years doing research on traffic-related air pollution and its effect on human health; much of it supported by grants from Health Canada.
    Air pollution is mainly associated with asthma, other lung conditions and cardiovascular diseases. Exhaust fumes from diesel, a known carcinogen, are tied to lung cancer. A 2008 federal report estimated that on an annual basis, there are 306 premature deaths, 1,158 hospital admissions, and 8,763 emergency department visits related to air pollution in B.C.
    Nearly a third of the country’s population lives within 500 metres of a highway or 100 metres from a major urban road, exposing them to toxic fumes from more than 15,000 cars per day, according to the CMAJ report. Such air pollution triggers “inflammation, oxidative stress and imbalance in the autonomic nervous system” which includes heart rhythm disturbances.
    The commentary highlights various options to help reduce the ill effects of traffic-related air pollution:
    • Reduce emissions by reducing traffic congestion and expanding infrastructure for electric cars.
    • Limit truck traffic to specific routes and separate cycling or walking routes from busy roads.
    • Improve land-use planning and traffic management by placing schools, daycares and retirement homes at least 150 metres from busy streets.
    Cities across Europe are leading the way when it comes to improving air quality and reducing vehicle emissions. London was the first major city in the world to introduce a congestion zone fee of 10 to 12 pounds for vehicles entering the city centre on weekdays. The fee has reportedly resulted in “an estimated gain of 183 years of life per 100,000 residents within the zone over a 10-year period,” Brauer said.
    Those who fail to pay the fee face a fine of 130 pounds.
    In Rome, the establishment of low emission zones has been estimated to have resulted in an even greater benefit: 921 years of life gained per 100,000 residents living near major roads over ten years. Brauer said Vancouver’s downtown area isn’t as congested as many large cities around the world but there are streets such as West Georgia, Knight and Kingsway that have plenty of congestion affecting air quality.
    “Situations like that are certainly of no benefit to anyone, whether we’re talking about drivers or residents,” he said in an interview.
    Asked to comment on the CMAJ article, Mayor Gregor Robertson agreed that reducing car congestion to improve air quality is an important goal.
    “Building a rapid transit line along Broadway is the key to reducing vehicle congestion and improving air quality in Vancouver. There are over 150,000 daily car trips along central Broadway and it is the busiest bus corridor in North America,” Robertson said in an email.
    “With a million more people moving to the Metro region in the coming decades, we simply can’t accommodate future growth by adding new cars and roads.”
    Dr. Menn Biagtan, program manager for the B.C. Lung Association, said in a previous interview: “We breathe 20,000 times a day, that’s 10,000 litres of air passing through our lungs – much of it a toxic soup of pollutants.”
    The WHO’s cancer agency, International Agency for Research on Cancer – said in 2010, there were more than 220,000 lung cancer deaths associated with air pollution around the world. The most polluted cities are in China and India where people often wear masks for protection.
    Sun Health Issues Reporter
    pfayerman@vancouversun.com

46. barbados is pollution.check it.
    bring in more cars .thanks simp sin.

47. Flying Cars are coming
    do not despair
    Iabingy to the Fingy

eating dollar ringees
    while smoking
    bingees
    lick pipe
    blow a chalice
    in the palace
    coup /defacto PM/devaluation on the horizon

48. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Will the Barbadian taxpayer be told the OTHER concessions granted to Sandals/Beaches that the Minister of Tourism did NOT disclose either publicly or in Parliament (verbally) and will he or the MOF disclose the actual DOLLAR investment Sandals/Beaches are making?

49. Adrian

I am guessing the answers are NO and NONE

50. Adrian
    i noticed in one of your recent pieces your #1 recommendation for the Minister of Tourism was to create the product marketing board of the bta, you recall?

Do youcare to advise whether this is in your own self interest given that when you were fired/appointment revoked (political speak for fired) from the bta board you were promised a little pick on the product marketing board?