Submitted by Douglas
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart delivered a wide ranging address at the Democratic Labour Party’s St. Philip North Branch meeting at the Hilda Skeene Primary School on Sunday, 13thOctober 2013.  In a packed room of branch members and party supporters, the DLP President and Prime Minister took the opportunity to thank the constituents of St. Philip North for their overwhelming support for Member of Parliament and Minister of Transport and Works, Michael Lashley in the February 2013 General Elections.

He then went on to reassure those gathered that life in Barbados is normal despite what they had been hearing from an Opposition which he described as, “a hastily put together coalition of the restless, reckless and the rejected.”  He dismantled all of the recent Opposition attempts to foment unrest in Barbados by explaining the country’s position as it relates to the management of the economic challenges by protecting the foreign exchange reserves through the deficit reduction programme introduced in the 2013 Budgetary Proposals.

His wide-ranging presentation dealt with the payment of UWI tuition fees by Barbadian students, the status of temporary employees in the public service, the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament, the Transport Board and the CCJ’s Judgement in the Shanique Myrie Case.

Since the February 2013 election, Prime Minister Stuart said the Opposition had used every attempt to stir up unrest in Barbados.  The Opposition, he said, was trying to make everyone in Barbados miserable because the people, whose money they took and promised that they could pay back because they were sure of the outcome of the election, were now breathing down their necks making their heads hot. However, he assured Barbadians that the DLP was not going to engage the opposition in fighting the 2013 election twice. We fought and won the election in February 2013 and now his Government was focused on governing.

The Prime Minister explained to the audience, which included members of the media, that after the elections the foreign reserves recorded an unusual dip. As a results measure had to be put in place to manage that situation.  He stated that Government has had challenges not unlike what other governments in other parts of the world have been having.  The August Budget called on the country at various levels to make sacrifices as the country faced head-on the worse economic recession which any administration in Barbados has had to deal with.  As a result of the decision by his government to keep people employed, while protecting the foreign reserves cover and maintaining social stability in Barbados, he reassured those gathered at the meeting that when Barbados comes out of this recession this DLP administration will he hailed as the best Government this country has ever had.

He informed those gathered at the meeting that he had met with the Guild of the University of the West Indies in the presence of their appointed mediator Sir Roy Trotman.  He was able to use that meeting to explain the decision taken by the Government to the guild members.  Similarly, he had received the requested report from Permanent Secretaries regarding savings requested in the public service.  He noted that these savings can be met without Government having to embark on a carnival of layoffs.  This has dismantled the attempts of the opposition to use these issues to provoke unrest in the country.

Prime Minister Stuart provided and in-depth recap of Barbados’ commitment to the regional integration process starting with the first meeting arranged by Errol Barrow with Forbes Burnham on Sunday July 4th, 1965 to discuss a Caribbean Free Trade Area; graduating to CARICOM and later moving to the establishment of the Caribbean Court of Justice, the CCJ, in 2004.

Speaking specifically to the Judgment made by the court with regards to the Shanique Myrie case, Prime Minister Stuart urged Barbadians to respect the decision of the CCJ.  He stated that Barbados is a country governed by the rule of law. Where a court makes a decision we have to abide by it. While stating that he generally does not understand what is meant by hassle-free travel, he noted that a country has a duty to protect its national security.  He stated that he would be very disappointed with boarder control official at the airport if they failed to carry out their duties by not questioning persons attempting to enter the country.  He stressed that the first, second, third, fourth and fifth priorities of the border control officials at our ports of entry are to protect the national security of Barbados.  He stated that they have the support of the Prime Minister and Minister of Immigration in carrying out their duties.  Noting that strengthening will be required of the inspectorate of the Immigration Department in order for them to comply with the order, he said that he had met with Immigration officials and steps will be taken to rectify the matter.

Prime Minister Stuart skilfully utilized his experience as a seasoned politician to explain the state of affairs of the country, as he dismantled all of the attempts which the Opposition have tried to utilize to stir up unrest.

84 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart: Life in Barbados Continues as Normal”

1. @ David

We await.. anything better than nothing….Kung Fur look real puppy doa last night….pomp n shine dropping off….bond issue was another “plops”…(Hammie favorite word)

2. Arson and AC you two are like the criminals who have been caught in the act and sentenced still pleading not guilty all the way to the electric chair. You two are a reflection of your leader and PM Frugabe.

Barbadians are you all going to sit down and let that Municipal tax finish us out? There is no one to clarify how that tax is going to be applied and any examples of how it will be calculated. From my calculations it will be more than the land tax bill we are paying and that is extortion.

Donville you have disappointed me with you low down talk about the BLP try to destabilize this country. YOUR GOVERNMENT HAVE DONE JUST THAT WITH ITS INCOMPETENCE AND YOU KNOW THAT TOO! Are you just one of the leeches that are holding on for dear life just to get a pension? Why don’t you put Barbados first? Are you soo WEAK that you will allow two fools like the PM and the MOF lead the rest of you to death row? WHERE ARE YOUR BALLS? IS INTEGRITY NON-EXISTENT IN YOUR PARTY?

For the PM to say ” that Barbados is a country governed by the rule of law. Where a court makes a decision we have to abide by it.” Why haven’t they carried out the high court decision made the past five years regarding payment to Al Barrak. To this day he hasn’t received a dollar! If wunna people can’t spot a LIAR then wunna deaf and blind like shoite.

We are tired of the LIES LIES and more LIES coming form the mouths of these elected officials.

To say the health care wouldn’t be affected by the cuts who de rass yuh tink yuh fooling JOHN BOYCE! YOU THINK THAT WE ARE STUPID? When ventilators are not available for our babies do you think that is not a result of financial cuts? Are you prepared to sacrifice our babies for a few dollars? I heard that even basic pain medications are not available.

Has the CEO of the QEH been silenced? Remember he was always in the news whever there was bad PR about the hospital. Where is he hiding?

To the BLP stop making people feel that you can save Barbados. Come with the truth and how we can turn this island around. How we can rebuild. Make it a priority to pass integrity legislation! It will be a long hard journey and stop trying at every turn to win votes by lying to the people like the present government. To those fractions inside the BLP drop that shoite and put your country first or get to fcuk outta dat party.

3. …….but we were told…..”Don’t mind them, Junk bonds what…..we got nuff investors lining up…{ like they run off dennnn}

4. dont’t worry bi election in christ church soon
    de fed up doc soon going independent . and the man with the baritone voice is predicted to resign–can’t take it no more. -wa los can’t tek it no more.

5. @ Isgal
    Listen up here yaw……You think MAM eager to take up these reins affa these buffoons dun Fup the place..? Get real here… there aint nuttin in hay now for nabody. The plan was to leave a country in bankruptcy state for the BLP ..they did all and planned all….but it back fired. So nobody quixs to jump in their mine fields…..It is only because We MUST !

6. Been down by Four Seasons ghost village lately?…..Man the scrap metal people in dey like D’s recycle…..man dey even digging out the rebarrs I hear, some even finding time to cut rabbit meat for the sheep bfoe exiting stage right…(.murda)

7. onions man you could really go back to sleep – you drinking Old Brigand nowadays? One pimplar miller get tek out and you replace he – wait is tag team you and miller playing on us? The PM is right things are tough but life goes on as normal the horrendous traffic jams continue. Chefette packed .Where is the money coming from for all the car driving and fast food buying if as the BLP says everyone is penniless and destitute?. What about the mass lay offs Caswell and the bookkeeper Ryan Straughan says were imminent? Take your time before answering. Where is the starvation blp yardfowls say is stalking the land? Once the Dees get their implementation act together Barbados will emerge out of this crisis as it emerged out of all the previous and many economic crises.

8. Thanks island Gal……..

9. AC ….you are welcome!

10. Here’s another point of view on the underlying cause of increasingly shaky and unstable economies, not just hear in the Caribbean but around the world. You will be unlikely to hear this on CNN Fox News, or even the BBC but might like to consider it and its implications for us anyway in light of ongoing world events.

Growth is Obsolete
    Society needs to realize growth does not equal prosperity
    By James H. Kunstler

snip

We are in the third act of the industrial melodrama now where the dire sub-plot of peak oil has taken stage. Despite the wishful thinking and happy-talk propaganda lighting up the media-space, we have arrived at the problematic point of the story: the end of cheap oil. This is poorly understood by the public and, apparently, by leaders in business, politics, and the media, too. They misunderstand because they insist on thinking that peak oil was simply about running out of oil. It’s not. It’s about running out of the ability to extract it from the earth in a way that makes economic sense — that is, at a price we can afford in terms of available capital and energy invested (and also ecological destruction). That dynamic is now exerting a powerful influence on modern civilizations. We ignore it — even at the highest levels of intellectual endeavor — because we have made no alternate plans for running the complex operations of everyday life, and because the early manifestations of the dynamic present themselves in the realm of finance, which is dominated by academic viziers and money-grubbing opportunists who benefit from obfuscating reality.

The sad, stark fact is that oil is now too expensive to permit further expansion of economies and populations. Expensive oil upsets the cost structure of virtually every system we need to run modern life: transportation, commerce, food production, governance, to name a few. In particular expensive oil destroys the cost structures of banking and finance because not enough new wealth can be generated to repay previously accumulated debt, and new credit cannot be extended without a reasonable expectation that more new wealth will be generated to repay it. Through the industrial age, our money has become an increasingly abstract and complex product of debt creation. As Chris Martenson has put it so succinctly in The Crash Course, money is loaned into existence. Thus, the growth of debt (allowing the growth of money) has played a crucial role at the heart of our banking operations, and the very word “growth” has become shorthand for this process in the lingo of current economic discourse.

It is quite clear that the banking system has been thrown into great disarray as the price of oil levitated from $11-a-barrel in 1999 to the great spike of $140 in 2008, and then settled into a range between $75 and $110 since 2010. Most of this disarray is a result of attempts to offset the failure to create new real wealth with fake wealth generated by accounting fraud, “innovative” swindling, insider chicanery, high frequency front-running, naked shorting of securities, and the construction of a vast untested network of derivative counterparty wagers that give every sign of being booby-trapped. All this private monkey business has been abetted by public mischief in central bank interventions and market manipulations, fiscal irresponsibility, political payoffs for favorable legislation, statistical misreporting, and the failure to apply the rule of law in cases of blatant misconduct (e.g., the MF Global confiscation of segregated client accounts; the Goldman Sachs “Timberwolf” CDO scam… the list is very long).

In short, a society with deeply impaired capital formation has turned to crime, corruption, fakery, and subterfuge in order to pretend that “growth” — i.e. expansion of capital — is still happening. The consequences are many and profound. The chief one is that the manufacture of fake wealth is such an alluring activity that some of the smartest people in society have devoted their waking hours to making a profit off it. It absorbs all their energies and they are simply not available for other work, such as figuring out a sane and practical way to run civilization in the absence of cheap energy. Added to this is the administrative effort and the work-arounds needed to support all this corruption and dishonesty, which occupy the hours of another class of smart people who work in government, academia, public relations, and the media. The sustenance of these parasitical cohorts more and more continues at the expense of everybody else in society, who cannot find work, or cannot make enough money to pay their living expenses, and who have become deeply discouraged, disappointed, demoralized, and disengaged in their losing struggle to thrive. Hence there is little public vigor to even mount a discussion of these vexing problems and the final result is the greater wholesale failure to construct a coherent consensus about what is happening to us and what we might do about it.

More at: http://www.peakprosperity.com/blog/83221/growth-obsolete

11. The biggest obstacle to the BLP propaganda machine is the belief that the public is ignorant of world events and its impact on world economies.. there message of DOOM and GLOOM rings hallow as the evidence and facts suggested that all econmies are connected and whatever impacts one invaribly impacts all. Until the BLP can remove such a real and undisputable reality they will wear themselves out unconvincently trying to convince the public otherwise.Having no alternatives the BLP fate would be sealed 2018

12. Gearing Up, Light the Fire Avatar
    Gearing Up, Light the Fire

The Leader of the Opposition is announcing at 11.30am today the oppositions intention to bring a motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister on Friday in Parliament.

It is widely rumoured the DLP does not have the number to fend off the motion given some members who will either absain or not be present.

13. Bring all she wants .this objective might be her only hope of unifying tbe BLP .the downside would be if she fails in her objective showing her weakness as a leader and causing more friction among her members

14. Heard Mia Mottley’s opening statement. Spot on! Something has to be done.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As usual she was very unimpressive.

16. Carson C. Cadogan | October 16, 2013 at 12:18 PM |
    As usual she was very unimpressive.

………………………………………………………………………….
    Statement of a loyalist.

17. In this instance i believe Donville is being mischievous in his statements, who in their right minds would want to destroy Barbados,particularly with the island this close to being declared bankrupt, what is it 4 months left?

I was sent an email that condolences are in order for the Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite who lost a teenage son yesterday, if this information is accurate and i have no reason to believe it is not, then condolences

18. Unimpressive…on the same level as the “Rubbing shoulders” campaigan.

19. I read The Advocate’s coverage today of the PM’s stern warning to those who may be looking to subvert the processes of the country to which Barbadians have been accustomed issued on Sunday to the DLP family in St. Phillip.

The post “Life in Barbados continues as Normal” in the DLP website at http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/pm-stuart-life-in-barbados-continues-as-normal/ says:

Prime Minister Stuart skilfully utilized his experience as a seasoned politician to explain the state of affairs of the country dismantling all of the attempts which the Opposition have tried to utilize to stir up unrest.

The PM may be be called a lot of things/names; but there can be no argument that he is an eloquent orator.

BTW, he used the same “hastily put together coalition of the restless, reckless and the rejected.” description of the Opposition (twice) in his speech to the party faithful at the DLP Barbados (Canada) fundraiser in Toronto on September 21, while on his recent “private” visit to Canada.

20. Another article in the Advocate today I found interesting is “Work to start soon on Empire theatre”.

It quotes Minister Lashley as saying “ very soon work will start on the Empire Theatre that will see the complete restoration of this iconic structure for the creative arts as well as for use as a craft brewery”

The words “will start soon” seem to find their way into many Ministers speeches.

Government cannot pay Barrack the millions he is owed, Rayside lays off 60 because they are out of funds because they were not paid millions for completed government work, BTA cannot pay its payables until they get a loan from IABD, QEH owes $20 million to drug suppliers and has no money for ventilators, employees are late being paid, NIS and income tax refund payments are outstanding two years or more; and Government says it “soon” will start work to restore a run down old theater? Where is that money coming from?.

A January 16, 2013 article in the Nation quoted Minister Lashley as saying:

“The long awaited restoration is expected to commence very soon, (there’s those words very soon again) but cost will not be borne by the Barbados Government. Instead, a consortium of investors, led by Mark Maloney of Preconco Limited, will finance the entire project from their own coffers.

Can we believe the cost will not be borne by the Barbados Government?

The same article says the theatre will be placed at the disposal of the Government to be managed and controlled by the Ministry of Family, Sports and Culture, which will lease the building for 25 years.

The 25 years of lease payments would be a back-door way to finance the project, with Maloney/Preconco using the lease to borrow the money (if any lender would consider a GOB lease as security for a loan.)

Why is Government restoring something which, if economically viable, should be be a private sector venture. Why not just sell the property to Maloney and Bizzy who could put a Burger King in the restored theatre and rename it the BK Theatre.

DEM needs to get dey priorities straight.

21. Due Diligence said:
    ““The long awaited restoration is expected to commence very soon, (there’s those words very soon again) but cost will not be borne by the Barbados Government. Instead, a consortium of investors, led by Mark Maloney of Preconco Limited, will finance the entire project from their own coffers.”

What a great way for bizzy, maloney and co to keep these black leaders in line, they agree to every fly by night scam, scheme or con dreamed up these shady characters.

22. Due Diligence,
    Do you know really owns the Empire Theatre? When did government acquire ownership of it? I thought it was privately owned.

23. Good point Prodigal

DD did not do proper due diligence and just assumed from all the government spin that it owns the property.

Government may simply be acting as a facilitator of the restoration project between the owners and a consortium of investors, led by Mark Maloney of Preconco Limited, who will finance the entire project from their own coffers.

In any event the 25 years of lease payments from Government would be a back-door way to finance the project, with Maloney/Preconco using the lease to borrow the money for the restoration costs.

Perhaps PLANTATION DEEDS can clarify who has title to the property.

Violet Beckles?

24. @Well Well
    What a great way for bizzy, maloney and co to keep these black leaders in line, they agree to every fly by night scam, scheme or con dreamed up these shady characters.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    What was it that the PM said about going back to the cane field?
    As a people we have not moved very far from under the evergreen tree at the plantation yard gap. We are for ever at the beck and call of the master in the great house.

25. Colonel……….oh if the black leaders in the Caribbean could grow some balls, backbone and guts like Obama, he is showing them how to stand their ground and don’t bend to pressure from minorities who populate the earth…..the Republicans are still trying to pick their asses up off the floor when Obama took them to the wire, bit off more than they could chew and then could not swallow. that is what black men should be trying to copy and stop letting the likes of bizzy, maloney and all the other self-serving conmen dictate their people’s future. Obama stood his ground, wonder if the leaders in Barbados understands the significance.

26. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Well well

What balls what!? Raising the debt ceiling so he can borrow more money and put america more in debt, adding to the trillions, read; TRILLIONS they already are? Pass a universal medical care scam that will kill the middle class of america yet they unemployed or underemployed? That is what you respect? Employers already putting people on part time status just because of Obamacare. Stupess!! When America fall of that cliff they going bring the rest of the world with them or they will pull some trick bout debt forgiveness of those trillions of dollars. If that happens then Barbados could also get some forgiveness too? What about Greece, them people suffering over there!?

Or are the balls you refer to in that like a kindegarten hissy fit he held his breath longer and turned purple? If you are part of the electorate then no wonder we have the tyrants that rule us in office all over the world. I black but I would never vote for someone because they are black, they would have to utterly convince me they are patriotic, put country first and at least have managed a business successfully. Even selling dunks by the side of the road!

Obama has passed so many anti-constitutional laws, sanctioned assassinations of American citizens, lied and bactracked like all normal politicians do, cause the list goes on.

People need to wake up and realise there is a power which stretches around the globe and controls all these fucking rats we call politicians and senior officials in private and public positions. It rules in secret from the shadows. Most countries elected officials are chosen by them voting and democracy is just to make us feel we matter. Most prime ministers and presidents are figure-heads/puppets.

27. Please note the debt ceiling is to approve money already spent by government.

28. Riots……….we knew this was going to happen from the 90’s it’s no surprise, re trillion dollar debt, debt ceiling, etc…..the republicans deliberately left a trillion dollar debt during their warmongering reign, we all know it will never be paid…………do some more research and you will find out the real reason the republicans shut down the government and thought Obama was a weak black man who would just fold……..you will be shocked.

29. Riots said:

“People need to wake up and realise there is a power which stretches around the globe and controls all these fucking rats we call politicians and senior officials in private and public positions. It rules in secret from the shadows. Most countries elected officials are chosen by them voting and democracy is just to make us feel we matter. Most prime ministers and presidents are figure-heads/puppets.”

The truth and nothing but, that cabal has been running and ruining the financial world for many centuries causing every one on the earth today to be born into debt……….but hear this, you really need to be concerned about what is very likely to happen in the Caribbean very soon……..you see in the bigger countries, the taxpayers/electorate will fight to death for what they believe in and destroy said same puppet politicians if they must , in the Caribbean there is still a problem with people being complacent and living happily in the comfort zone of sheephood.

30. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

@ well well
    “in the Caribbean there is still a problem with people being complacent and living happily in the comfort zone of sheephood.”

This is why persons like us should at least try to tell others of what we know about this secret empire, using all avenues not just BU to get this message across. People must realise that most political leaders are not their own masters. Those that are were ALLOWED to get there because they spoke or did the “right” thing to tow the policy line of the Global Financiers (influence from afar).

Then people must unite as they do in all revolutions and prepare to die for freedom in the struggle against this secret empire. Until then yes Caribben people are doomed, Bajans are doomed.

31. BU is just one medium that is used.

32. Riots……….as David says, BU is one medium, plenty people put out information on blogs around the world, i however believe that not enough information is getting to Caribbean people about the really important things that you are alluding to, most won’t understand by themselves the process used to choose leaders who are easily brainwashed and/or manipulated to serve and suit the purposes of the manipulators……some may even have been chosen because their ancestors were just as easily manipulated..it’s an ongoing battle.

33. DIVERSIONS PEOPLE OF BDOS. Awake!!!!, what about the problematic $ 400 mil that was dire and needed to be adddressed, Awake !
    While ROME IS BURNING, while we fall for Chris rabbit game

34. Here is what the IMF said yesterday “Barbados 2013, international reserves have fallen this year to US$468 million at end-October”. Wow.