Submitted by Politically Correct (to alert the President of the Guild of this vital information)
President of the Student's Guild, Damani Parris
President of the Student’s Guild, Damani Parris – photo credit:Nation newspaper

This letter is not to slander persons in the Ministry but merely to assist the Guild in fighting the sudden increase in fees for Barbadian students. I will explain how to address this legally below from paragraph 2. The Ministry of Education, Science Technology and Innovation is a puppet Ministry which is suffering at the hands of the International community because of Globalisation. This is a typical encroachment on our sovereignty as a Nation. Changing a name does not mean that you are in alignment with countries that truly have science, technology and innovation based research saving the country money, creating new jobs etc. Minister Ronald Jones is quoted in the advocate as saying “The State does not have money and that citizens must stop being selfish and depending on Government for the State has no money (ADVOCATE 13/9/2013)

Every country listed here in Canada, South Africa, Denmark, Finland and more. I draw to your attention the UWI HANDBOOK and REGULATIONS for each FACULTY, as the first set of evidence and the quality assurance agency in Barbados which promotes quality assurance in higher education for you to use in your arguments. We will now see the power of politics and the role it plays.

I am almost ashamed to say that no one from the Guild of Students has pointed this out to the Public or to other well known educational pundits and the Minister of Education. As a citizen of Barbados and a past student of the same University of the West Indies I feel obliged to share this information and tools with you.

According to the South Africa HIGHER EDUCATION ACT 101 OF 1997, Quality Assurance Agencies are to:

1) audit the quality assurance mechanisms of higher education institutions; and 2) accredit programmes/institutions of higher education;

The Quality Assurance Agency in Barbados also has a similar mandate. They are also the same entity who granted accreditation of the UWI Cave Hill campus in 2013. There information is found here at www.bac.gov.bb and the Act is found here http://www.bac.gov.bb/Downloads/BAC%20Act.pdf. As part of the accreditation procedure, all student handbooks under international best practice procedures are legal documents between the student and the educational provider.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

1) Please have a mature innovative law student interpret these documents.

2) DOWNLOAD AND MAKE COPIES OF ALL STUDENT HANDBOOKS SO THAT CURRENT STUDENT POPULATION IS COVERED!

3) Use the Complaints procedures which the Quality assurance agency would have endorsed during the accreditation procedures for the University. All institutions who have been accredited have a complaints procedure. Please have all enrolled students who have grievances utilize this process. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A VALID LEGAL CASE WITHOUT IT. If the University does not have a process it means that it is a loop hole on the Quality assurance Entity’s side.

4) Have enrolled parents and students call the Quality Assurance Agency to advise on how to find the Complaints procedures at the UWI Cave Hill Campus.

5) After you have submitted the written complaints to the University, utilize the complaints forms found here http://bac.gov.bb/Downloads.htm under Complaints.

A sample of the form reads “I would like to make a formal complaint to Barbados Accreditation Council about  ……………………………………………………… (name of education or training institution)  Address:

The information on page 2 under “Type of Complaint” will build your case

“Cost information or procedures relating to financial matters“ and

“Course information, publicity or advertising material.”

6) The supporting document to mention will be the STUDENT HANDBOOK for all students currently enrolled at the start of their programme these should include 2012-2013, 2011-2012, 2010-2011, and 2009 -2008. This is to ensure that all students who entered 3 years ago who are completing a 4 year degree are included. These students must all be undergraduate students.

The basis for this legal ground will only stand for existing students. The Government, the University and the Quality assurance Agency will have printed literature which state that the Barbadian Student’s cost will be met in a designated programme and period. Therefore, you have a legal standing. It is a right of every student currently enrolled to pursue the studies under the current status as “free”

In addition to this, all students who have re-entered programmes from 2013 can pay the current amenities fee for the 4 year programme, once the accounts/bursary section accepts the payment in advance they will have no choice but to let the student continue as per the contract between the student and the University.

The 2013 Regulations Handbook found here for students entering this year is, pages 35 of 192 and 59 of 192.

General REGULATIONS PAYMENT OF FEES STATE THIS ALL FEES AND OTHER CHARGES ARE PAYABLE IN ADVANCE ….. THE IDEA IS TO REMAIN IN GOOD STANDING…..

I also copy statements from the 2009, Faculty Regulations that govern their year of entry – available on the Faculty website and the UNDERGRADUATE REGULATIONS AND FACULTY OF LAW LIBRARY REGULATIONS 2011 – 2012 “These regulations govern the programmes of study for all students entering in 2010/11. Students who started programmes in previous years are governed by the regulations in force in their year of entry which can be found online at www.cavehill.uwi.edu/law

Furthermore, The Government and the University Will Continue To Change Fees Annually. This Is Not In Accordance With Quality Assurance In Higher Education Internationally Or Locally. This Will Not Give Students Enough Time To Prepare Financially Every Year.

Do you know that the Tuition is always linked to inflation? We are copying the UK! THAT IS NOT INNOVATIVE….. LET the MINISTER know, that Bajans are not the ones who are squandering the money but they are! In the UK, the students paid tuition for new entries into the system and not the existing enrolled student. We are independent but are yet followers and it is shameful to see that the Minister and the committees established have advised of this in a Budget.

There are other ways to ensure Universalities are funded. I will contact you in a few weeks as I hope to see you have the media highlight this and USE WELL KNOWN LAWYERS THEY SHOULD provide to you a PROBONO SERVICE….. After all they too have benefitted!!!!!!!

TRUST ME WHEN I SAY this could all be done without lengthy meetings and marches, based on FACTS!!!!

If you don’t take your stand now, the Government will come to you and us in 2015 to say there will be an increase in the fees again. Any student entering the programme should be given a contract i.e. a handbook stating the fees for the length/duration of the programme for undergraduate studies, BASED ON INTERNATIONAL BEST PRACTICE QUALITY ASSURANCE GUIDELINES. The concept of a programme is 3 to 4 years. After that, students handbooks normally state they pay for any re-sits, failures, extra courses etc. We will not have any control over this but to ensure that it is written and that students are protected from the un-imaginative minds of this country who have benefited from free education prior to us.

117 responses to “UWI Fees Standing On Current Enrolled Barbadians Students”

1. “After reading Sir Hilary Beckles and what he said Errol Walton told him, I condemn this DLP Government to the pits of HELLL ”
    Poor Mr Barrow’s nose must be burning with all this sudden and hypocritical reference to what he said and did not say when he was alive. I doubt very much Mr Barrow told Mr Beckles anything and wonder why he had to invoke the memory of Mr Barrow to repudiate an otherwise important policy decision which should not by any to be enterprised, nor taken in hand ; unadvisedly , lightly or wantonly like brute beasts who have no understanding ; but reverently, discreetly, and in the fear of those who expect better decision making duly considering the wider benefits for which making university education accessible to all was ordained.things for soberly taken lightly and wantonly.

2. ‘Not even the majority of UWI students are against the paying of Tuition fees.

Out of a role of more than 7000 students they could only muster 50 to take part in the “march” against paying tuition fees.

Too much “gimmie gimmie”!!!!!!’

they came and found macro economic decision which enabled persons over 65 to access prescription drugs free and they stop that;
    they found university education free and they say Mr Barrow spoke to them from the great beyond and tell them to stop that too;

Too much gimme gimmee Carson who promoted the bread and fish policy of free summer camps and bus fares. Which party in the sixties told persons occupying government units not to pay any rent. Perhaps you are too young Carson but history will record that the culture of mendicancy was introduced to the political landscape at a higher level.

3. @Sid Boyce “A fellow Barbadian, a guy I grew up with, describes such professions as parasite professions …. As he puts it, the doctor feeds off illnesses”

Dear Sid: Clearly you and your Bajan friend are idiots who have never been sick.

Clearly you have never got up in the morning feeling a little sick, been critically ill by evening, and after 3 days in the hospital been back to work, and paying nuff, nuff taxes by day 4.

My very good experience with doctors is that they fix you up when you are sick and get you back to work and paying taxes. I would never call doctors parasites..

4. @balance “Out of a role of more than 7000 students they could only muster 50 to take part in the “march” against paying tuition fees.”

Balance please tell the truth.

The police granted the students for only 50 people to march.

5. And the word is roll, NOT role.

6. Ronald Jones is a real real Cunt

Calling Errol Barrow’s vision flawed

Somebody, please relieve this man

7. Anyone who quotes a one on one conversation with someone who is now dead and, because they are dead, cannot either gainsay the quotation nor, based on the fact that it was a one on one, has a non-corroborable story is someone to be watched.

I give you Dr. Basil Springer and his memorable conversations with the late David Thompson coupled with the $2M that he was able to swindle David out of under this Change Management specialty that delivers nothing, but is supported by newspaper columns, EVERY DAY.

“Never in the history of a people can so many dimwits, trick so many citizens, of so much $$, so regularly, with such fluency” quoted from one of my conversations with Winston Churchill.

8. @ Well Well. | September 15, 2013 at 5:42 PM |

The use of the word that means a female dog for Cocky Locky is not appreciated nor merited.

Earlier in the day several female dogs, 49 to be exact, went down to the nation to protest this insult to their kind.

Fumble told me so himself during a conversation when only he and I were present.

I will be quoting conversations which I have had with dead people during the coming week in keeping with the recent upsurge of reported speech of dead people.

If asked why i used Fumble’s quotations I will reply to those questions that are sure to come re Fumble’s life status, “brain dead” also qualifies.

And for those ladies who i am sure may seek to utilise quoting conversations that they have had with “dead men” well, to be fair, impotency and lack of “presence” will be allowed under this recent free for all called “words from beyond the grave”

9. I am happy to be called an idiot or worse by you or anyone else, it’s not the first time and surely not the last.

First of all I have been in need of medical attention where a staff nurse said she had seen patients with a higher blood count that were dead. I survived because of the good work of a surgical team.

My friend fell off a ladder many years ago and sometimes cannot walk, other times he walks with a stick and has to attend hospital a number of times each week.

The context Oh wise one in which he framed his comment is this ….
    The contribution to the economy by doctors and lawyers is minimal in the sense of what they earn for the country compared to those who make products for export and those in industries such as tourism.

They don’t innovate or pioneer treatments that are beneficial to the world at large, if anything they are dependent on other researchers, doctors and chemists abroad to supply them with their tools, the drugs they prescribe and even the directions for prescribing drugs and treatments.

They make a healthy living from the local population they treat and not by being so skilled as to attract foreigners to Barbados for medical treatment nor are their skills of such a standing that many Barbadians do not have to travel abroad for certain treatments —- The resultant sum of the equation is $$$$$ outflow from Barbados and $0 in.

May be you’ll next tell me I don’t understand simple mathematics, if you do I’ll have heed and put away the high maths I am using to work out a design and start again with my times table.

10. Carson C. Cadogan | September 15, 2013 at 8:25 PM |

Well Well

I am not looking for any woman.

Carson……………i keep telling you that you are slow, Piece of the Rock just explained to you what i meant, let me spell it for you, if i told you that you are my b***h, it means you are the woman (sorry if i offended or insulted real females), now seeing that i have more balls than you will ever possess, which university did you attend again?

11. Miller……………don’t know if you came across this article today while reading the Daily Mail, but it would be interesting to hear your opinion on such a find……..

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2422312/Teenagers-human-remains-African-woman-died-1-000-years-ago–doing-river-Gloucestershire.html

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well. | September 16, 2013 at 3:01 PM |

Black Africans -especially those who journeyed from the Sub-Sahara region to settle in Northern Africa- were migrating to Britain from the days of Roman conquest and settlement. The Africans probably accompanied the Roman armies as itinerant workers in many support capacities.

Some of the men were enlisted soldiers to do the hard work like road building, some as mercenaries. Women especially those in the sex trade would have followed the military settlements. Nothing new under the sun. Most likely the remains are those of an ‘exotic’ woman from the Sudan as it is called today or even Libya.
    The indigenous population referred to them as “Moors” even up to Tudor times.

13. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

The PM gone way………..where he gone now???

14. The student protest is like the elections all the pundits were sure the government would fall. With the students the pundits predicted a massive turnout that would bring the government to its knees.
    What a joke there were hundreds of students waiting to catch free transport to classes when the protestors went by and none joined. That’s game set and match right there.
    Its reported most of the 30 protestors were foreign students. The sprinkle of Bajans were made up of 3 BLP rabble rousers and 3 left wing radical misfits.
    STewpsss!

15. Miller…………….i suspected a Moorish descent seeing they ruled the continent’s trading in slave etc around that era.

16. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Observer

Politicians have NEVER been able to drive Bajans into the streets. Events and circumstances CAN and HAVE driven Bajans into the streets before but not for any and everything, the situation has been serious and dire and the governments reaction therein, reckless.

17. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

The BLP really expect to jetski their way in Government Headquarters?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observer | September 16, 2013 at 5:25 PM

What you are saying about the numbers might be true but again are you be intellectually dishonest and definitely partisan when you fail to factor in the fact the Police gave permission for only 50 people to take part in the march?

You would do your self some redeeming justice if you were to propose a funding model that would allow the same students who didn’t march to access funds from the student revolving loan fund to meet the pending flood of tuition fee applications.

Can you think of ways to recapitalize this fund to meet expected increases in applications without expecting central government to top it using transfers from the Consolidated Fund?
    Or are going to wait until 2014 and then start running around like a headless chicken or a blue ass fly looking for solutions although you have been amply warned about the loan financing demands since the government has agreed to stand guarantor for the payment of all Bajan students’ tuition fees?

19. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Miller

You clown. People didn’t turn out, that why only 30 or so marched. Bajans ain’t idiots so they won’t follow no foolishness and they certainly ain’t gine by the nonsense about police only allowing 50 to march and protest.

It was and is a FAILURE.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | September 16, 2013 at 6:05 PM |

OK Brother Clown, so it was an abject failure as it ought to be. They should have gone the legal route of preparing to file an injunction against the government to impose fees on students already in the system.

Now can you make suggestions regarding how the government is going to “manage” the student revolving loan fund to ensure students who can’t afford to pull their own pockets or their parents or guardian have access to finance to pay for the tuition fees W.E.F 2014?

Now show the BU readers you are far from a clown and come up with at least one suggestion. In other words be a man of vision and foresight not a clown with your eyes in your backside.

21. Dick Long brother of Eddie Long Avatar
    Dick Long brother of Eddie Long

Please someone ! I need some advice

I am feeling pangs of resentment towards the Government and what they are doing in Barbados. Is this a normal reaction ? Please advise me somebody. I need to be clear on this.

22. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Miller

You clown, no one can go to Court and ‘file’ and injunction against the Goverment. You can make an application for an injunction but you have to having standing and you have demonstrate you are entitled to the protection the injunction provides. Good luck with that but don’t mind me, listen to the Stove Pipe Lawyer, Caswell and let the students run to Court. There is always a lawyer looking to take on a fools case and bill him or her accordingly.

You clearly have no knowledge of the law and the Court system.

23. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Dick Long

Those pangs are real and painful. They stem from knowing you voted for the opposition, believing your vote would change the government and then waking the following to realize you ‘LOST’ and would have to wait another 5 years before voting for the colour red.

24. “You clown. People didn’t turn out, that why only 30 or so marched. Bajans ain’t idiots so they won’t follow no foolishness and they certainly ain’t gine by the nonsense about police only allowing 50 to march and protest.”

just because the protest did not attract massive student support does not negate the fact that it is grossly inhumane to inflict like a thief in the nite such a devastating financial burden on the backs of parents who are struggling to make ends meet as a result of the draconian tax measures already introduced is akin to the punishment endured by our forefathers in the days of slavery.

25. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

Balance

That’s a pretty big chip on your shoulder.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | September 16, 2013 at 6:59 PM |

So the legal route fails and the young unemployed students (not a codger like the miller who has four degrees and more under his useless belt) are back to square one requiring finance for their tuition fees.
    Could you do your self a big favour and suggest an alternative to the court process? Where would the government get the money from to lend those students whose parents are NOT in good standing with the bank or the credit unions?
    Would you recommend these students rob a bank, work the strip clubs or moonlight up Bush Hill or wherever prostitution takes places?

27. Why not state coherent arguments why you agree or disagree and leave out the silly comments?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cuthbert of England | September 16, 2013 at 7:30 PM |

Balance has raised a very good point. Why attack him with your ad hominem arrows instead of dealing with the concerns he has for poor parents with ‘bright’ students?
    It only shows up your paucity or total lack of intellectual substance.

Why not recommend a facility that would accommodate these students from not-too-well-off economic backgrounds?

29. @Miller

Surely we must balance those who have the capacity to pay against those who will need help.

30. oh. balance stop being overly dramatic and theatrical in your comments, instead suggest an alternative , what thief in the night…steupsel. u have been playing that hysterical card for a long yime . in this situation u ought to listen to uh gran ma advice when she said; Always save for a rainy day’ cause when that day comes neva know whether it be forty days or longer, balance the hysteria must give way to the reality, ,

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 16, 2013 at 7:54 PM |

And the more opportune plan we devise for the inevitable the less would be the emotional burden on these students.
    Why wait until the last moment and have these vulnerable students hanging in limbo?
    Why not devise a financing arrangement where the eligible students whose parents can’t afford the tuition fees are entitled to study loans sufficient to cover their tuition fees and study incidentals with a moratorium in place until after successful graduation and secured employment.
    The terms and conditions can be worked out but the sooner the facility is put in place the better for everybody.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 16, 2013 at 8:08 PM |
    “Always save for a rainy day’ cause when that day comes neva know whether it be forty days or longer, balance the hysteria must give way to the reality,”

Why don’t you give that same advice to the DLP administration who is up and down like a true “Paro” borrowing left ,right and centre from the IADB to the Chinese to the Japanese to the international loan sharks attracted to junk bonds like a vulture to carrion (Carson would know). Borrowing from Peter to pay Paul. Next stop the IMF.

Why not tell your boys to live within their means and follow Bushie’s advice.

33. what advice they are dealing the hand they were dealt leftover by a visionless bunch of nitwits calle BEYOND LIFES PERIL also know AS (BLP) who belive that good times would last for ever. after fourteen years never once thought about restructing the economy. now the DLP is saddled with outstanding debt having little wiggle room and trying to keep this time bomb from exploding,

34. Yuh Lie!
    The Barbados Labour Party has done a better job than the DLP from the 1970s till now
    People vote DLP because of Errol Barrow but the party is no good.
    Ignorant people in St.John keep voting DLP
    When Mara joins WPB, I want see what the iggrunt people in ST.JOHN going to do.
    I just heard a man from St. John cussing them and saying–them–St.John people ! them ain got nuh big lotta sense-that is why I have my car marked M

But yes
    The BLP has done a better Job than the DLP
    The DLP has done a better job at destroying Barbados

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | September 16, 2013 at 8:48 PM |

You stupid lying jenny! What debt what? The national debt was increased from less than $5 billion in 2008 to over $10 billion in 2013 and expected to rise by another $2 billion in 2 years if you are to believe the stupid ministers extolling the virtues of begging and borrowing from Tom, Wang, Takahashi, Cockly Locky, IADB and IMF.

36. The difficulty for the DLP is that during a long political campaign it never hinted that “free education” was to be placed on the chopping block. The suddenness of the proposed cut has created he kind of reaction we are having. Now like most issues it has gotten political.

37. the reaction being created is part and parcel of a BLP orchestration determined to cause mayhem and cofusion among the poulace, however the plight of the UWI has been talked about and discuss for many years, no surprise here that in order to keep its doors open revenue and cost had to be met , the BLP yardfowls continued to do what they do best or so they belive make nuff noise but have no solutions,

38. @av

You are wrong and again show your obvious biase. Up to February 2013 the issue of dismantling Barrow’s vision was never discussed by the DLP and government. In fact BU posted a Nation front page which exposed Stuart’s position. To not admit this is brazenly partisan and even Minister Jones on the weekend almost cried when he explained it is a very hard discussion the government has had to make. What makes it harder is hat it was never discussed in a serious way with the main stakeholder. All the while the government has allowed the debt owed to UWI to accumulate to 200 million which is more that their annual budget. It was a tactic in dishonesty and one which now seriously jeopardizes the running of UWi. If this was something on the radar for a while then it should not have come as a surprise to the principle stakeholder.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 17, 2013 at 6:00 AM |
    There is more in this UWI mortar than just the tuition fee payment pestle.

It is rather difficult to figure out how the GoB, given its fast deteriorating fiscal position and increasing debt service burden, can continue to honour its economic cost commitment to the UWI without a drastic reduction in Bajan student intake especially at the Cave Hill campus (CHC).

The CHC only has status a “full” university campus because of its Law Faculty which is under tremendous pressure to justify its existence as a government-funded learning institution. Given the massive fixed costs on the ground CHC might just find itself being “restructured” as part of the UWI future to survive in today’s teaching and learning environment.

I suspect there are plans afoot for the CHC that could see it being morphed into a Further Education type training and learning institution incorporating the BCC, SJPP and other tertiary education institutions into one University College of Barbados (UCB) thereby engendering huge savings in administrative and operational costs. It would represent a similar merger to that planned for the Central Revenue Authority, whenever that comes about.
    It’s a pity the ruling administration in its shortsightedness has gone on a futile political serendipity in extending the Sixth Forms at this time of much needed revamping and restructuring in the tertiary educational sector. Why not let the UCB take on that role of offering “A” level courses or whatever it is called in Barbados (CAPE??) but not in the traditional areas but certainly in the sciences?

40. So reality has intervened and REALITY has taken centre stage govt has endorsed it. However the need for the BLP and its yardfowls to highlit a Barrow proposal which was necessary to help build a country has not stopped neither has it failed. The govt would still be the backbone of those who could least afford with this in mind govt has also opened a window of opportunity in its pursuit to quell the finacial bleeding of THE UWI by acting has prevented closure guaranteeing acontinual education for all

41. ALL those in defiance if the GIOVT actions can seek recourse as the stan pile lawyer” Caswell has indictaed. However govt has a right to inplement policy or policies that would enchanced an benefit the country and economy as a whole. Bending over backwards for this long a operiod is where the failure occured continuing on a path one of which the BLP is using to score political points is suicidal and the BLP knows that..no matter well the intentions when reality steps in only a fool would stand in its way

42. @Miller

The reality of the CHC saga is the high number of small businesses who have had to suffer aging receivables as a result. The problem is not dissimilar to what the closing of Almond Beach has done on the ancillary business. When managing complex issues the solutions must be well thought out and not mired in political partisan bullshit.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 17, 2013 at 9:11 AM |
    “The reality of the CHC saga is the high number of small businesses who have had to suffer aging receivables as a result”

Do you see any solution to this serious cash flow crisis?
    One hopes the recent bond issue on the international money market succeeds and gives the government sufficient elbow room to allow the CBB to issue a large cheque to the CHC. Failing this the CHC would be on its last financial legs as its fails to meet its obligations to third party business players for the current semester.

BTW, have you heard the most recent ministerial pronouncements regarding RE and the BL&P?

44. @Miller

If you mean that government will not implement RE to the detriment of BL&P. In theory a noble position to espouse but he needed to say more given the strategic priority of the RE sector. This was highlighted on the VOB Sunday program.

45. The assault on Education is surprising though !

46. some random thoughts:

Can anyone explain the “logic” (other than an attempt to reduce the likely number of recipients) behind the new regulations governing the award of B’dos scholarships and exhibitions? The more baffling change is the one that states although the study of 3 subjects is required for qualification of a scholarship, should a student opt to attempt more subjects then all subjects must be passed at the requisite grades and not just the three best subjects.

Does the Finance Ministry realise that pensioners will now be subject to tax of their properties? Is It reasonable that open lots which already pay a much higher land tax and from which no solid waste comes must now pay the same rate of municipal solid waste tax. The parcel of land with a set of apartments will pay the same amount as a similar (i.e in size and location) parcel of land that is open or has a single family home.

Does the Government realise that one of the main obstacles to the installation of alternative energy infrastructure is the shortage of trained persons in the field? This deficit in appropriate skills also bedevils other prospective areas of economic activity.

The BLP is appears to be lapsing with little or no scrutiny, analysis or explicit alternative to the Government policies.

47. Could the development of online delivery of courses help to reduce the cost of a UWI degree? A family member just this summer was able to study and sit the accompanying exams for two courses done at a Canadian university from home in Barbados. The irony is that the exams were taken and invigilated at Cave Hill!

48. Formerly Middle Class Avatar
    Formerly Middle Class

So lets see student who cant afford to pay tuition fees are supposed to go to the Student Revolving Loan Fund (SRLF) to get a loan to pay these fees…..

Pont one: Where will the SRLF get the money from to lend to this mass of students who will apply? The SRLF is not revolving as the name implies and thus does not have these additional funds to lend. So is government going to advance these funds to them? Where will govt get these funds from? Will they borrow the money, will they just up the transfer of funds to the SRLF???

Does it make sense to transfer or borrow money to give to SRLF, to lend to a student, to pay it to UWI or to give it straight to UWI?? hmmmn

Point two: So now lets say the money is there to lend, the student needs a guarantor. What does a poor student who does not have someone willing to stand as guarantor do??? The Minister of Education said the govt will be the universal guarantor. So now the student gets the loan, completes his/her program of study and the grace period passes and the student does not find a job. No job means no loan payment so usually the SRLF goes after the guarantor……so the SRLF says to the govt “hey u have to pay back this money” (which you may have borrowed to give me in the first place). So either govt pays the money back and then seeks to get it back at some later stage from the student or it does not pay it back. If it does not pay back the money then debt to the SRLF rises.

Does it make sense to transfer or borrow money to give to SRLF, to lend to a student, to pay it to UWI and then have to pay the money back to SRLF for a student who cannot pay back because of no employment???? hmmmm

Does it make sense to transfer or borrow money to give to SRLF, to lend to a student, to pay it to UWI and do not pay back the SRLF therefore causing its debt level to rise and then it can no longer lend to the next sets of students.

Why not juts give the money straight to UWI AFTER having restructured the UWI funding and student process?????hmmmn

49. @Ping Pong

The tax measures is what is termed a “money grab”. It is not premised on a strategy or any such heady approach. What is so difficult to understand about it Sir?

50. @Formerly Middle Class

Good question about the SRLF. There then must be a concomitant tactic to bond graduates, issue credit rating, create a system of enforcement if you get the drift.