Submitted by Politically Correct (to alert the President of the Guild of this vital information)
President of the Student's Guild, Damani Parris
President of the Student’s Guild, Damani Parris – photo credit:Nation newspaper

This letter is not to slander persons in the Ministry but merely to assist the Guild in fighting the sudden increase in fees for Barbadian students. I will explain how to address this legally below from paragraph 2. The Ministry of Education, Science Technology and Innovation is a puppet Ministry which is suffering at the hands of the International community because of Globalisation. This is a typical encroachment on our sovereignty as a Nation. Changing a name does not mean that you are in alignment with countries that truly have science, technology and innovation based research saving the country money, creating new jobs etc. Minister Ronald Jones is quoted in the advocate as saying “The State does not have money and that citizens must stop being selfish and depending on Government for the State has no money (ADVOCATE 13/9/2013)

Every country listed here in Canada, South Africa, Denmark, Finland and more. I draw to your attention the UWI HANDBOOK and REGULATIONS for each FACULTY, as the first set of evidence and the quality assurance agency in Barbados which promotes quality assurance in higher education for you to use in your arguments. We will now see the power of politics and the role it plays.

I am almost ashamed to say that no one from the Guild of Students has pointed this out to the Public or to other well known educational pundits and the Minister of Education. As a citizen of Barbados and a past student of the same University of the West Indies I feel obliged to share this information and tools with you.

According to the South Africa HIGHER EDUCATION ACT 101 OF 1997, Quality Assurance Agencies are to:

1) audit the quality assurance mechanisms of higher education institutions; and 2) accredit programmes/institutions of higher education;

The Quality Assurance Agency in Barbados also has a similar mandate. They are also the same entity who granted accreditation of the UWI Cave Hill campus in 2013. There information is found here at www.bac.gov.bb and the Act is found here http://www.bac.gov.bb/Downloads/BAC%20Act.pdf. As part of the accreditation procedure, all student handbooks under international best practice procedures are legal documents between the student and the educational provider.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

1) Please have a mature innovative law student interpret these documents.

2) DOWNLOAD AND MAKE COPIES OF ALL STUDENT HANDBOOKS SO THAT CURRENT STUDENT POPULATION IS COVERED!

3) Use the Complaints procedures which the Quality assurance agency would have endorsed during the accreditation procedures for the University. All institutions who have been accredited have a complaints procedure. Please have all enrolled students who have grievances utilize this process. YOU WILL NOT HAVE A VALID LEGAL CASE WITHOUT IT. If the University does not have a process it means that it is a loop hole on the Quality assurance Entity’s side.

4) Have enrolled parents and students call the Quality Assurance Agency to advise on how to find the Complaints procedures at the UWI Cave Hill Campus.

5) After you have submitted the written complaints to the University, utilize the complaints forms found here http://bac.gov.bb/Downloads.htm under Complaints.

A sample of the form reads “I would like to make a formal complaint to Barbados Accreditation Council about  ……………………………………………………… (name of education or training institution)  Address:

The information on page 2 under “Type of Complaint” will build your case

“Cost information or procedures relating to financial matters“ and

“Course information, publicity or advertising material.”

6) The supporting document to mention will be the STUDENT HANDBOOK for all students currently enrolled at the start of their programme these should include 2012-2013, 2011-2012, 2010-2011, and 2009 -2008. This is to ensure that all students who entered 3 years ago who are completing a 4 year degree are included. These students must all be undergraduate students.

The basis for this legal ground will only stand for existing students. The Government, the University and the Quality assurance Agency will have printed literature which state that the Barbadian Student’s cost will be met in a designated programme and period. Therefore, you have a legal standing. It is a right of every student currently enrolled to pursue the studies under the current status as “free”

In addition to this, all students who have re-entered programmes from 2013 can pay the current amenities fee for the 4 year programme, once the accounts/bursary section accepts the payment in advance they will have no choice but to let the student continue as per the contract between the student and the University.

The 2013 Regulations Handbook found here for students entering this year is, pages 35 of 192 and 59 of 192.

General REGULATIONS PAYMENT OF FEES STATE THIS ALL FEES AND OTHER CHARGES ARE PAYABLE IN ADVANCE ….. THE IDEA IS TO REMAIN IN GOOD STANDING…..

I also copy statements from the 2009, Faculty Regulations that govern their year of entry – available on the Faculty website and the UNDERGRADUATE REGULATIONS AND FACULTY OF LAW LIBRARY REGULATIONS 2011 – 2012 “These regulations govern the programmes of study for all students entering in 2010/11. Students who started programmes in previous years are governed by the regulations in force in their year of entry which can be found online at www.cavehill.uwi.edu/law

Furthermore, The Government and the University Will Continue To Change Fees Annually. This Is Not In Accordance With Quality Assurance In Higher Education Internationally Or Locally. This Will Not Give Students Enough Time To Prepare Financially Every Year.

Do you know that the Tuition is always linked to inflation? We are copying the UK! THAT IS NOT INNOVATIVE….. LET the MINISTER know, that Bajans are not the ones who are squandering the money but they are! In the UK, the students paid tuition for new entries into the system and not the existing enrolled student. We are independent but are yet followers and it is shameful to see that the Minister and the committees established have advised of this in a Budget.

There are other ways to ensure Universalities are funded. I will contact you in a few weeks as I hope to see you have the media highlight this and USE WELL KNOWN LAWYERS THEY SHOULD provide to you a PROBONO SERVICE….. After all they too have benefitted!!!!!!!

TRUST ME WHEN I SAY this could all be done without lengthy meetings and marches, based on FACTS!!!!

If you don’t take your stand now, the Government will come to you and us in 2015 to say there will be an increase in the fees again. Any student entering the programme should be given a contract i.e. a handbook stating the fees for the length/duration of the programme for undergraduate studies, BASED ON INTERNATIONAL BEST PRACTICE QUALITY ASSURANCE GUIDELINES. The concept of a programme is 3 to 4 years. After that, students handbooks normally state they pay for any re-sits, failures, extra courses etc. We will not have any control over this but to ensure that it is written and that students are protected from the un-imaginative minds of this country who have benefited from free education prior to us.

117 responses to “UWI Fees Standing On Current Enrolled Barbadians Students”

1. I have written on another thread that students who are currently enrolled have a case based on legitimate expectation and should take the matter to court. Instead these nincompoops are parading in the hot sun rather than use their brains.

2. I very well understand your reasoning Mr. Parris, but you need to understand too that UWI Cave Hill encouraged a lot of nonsense over the years too. For example, the quality of students going into Cave Hill is so low that students from Jamaica who are turned down at Mona end up being accepted at Cave Hill. Secondly, students who cannot get into the top sixth form schools in in this country after the publication of the annual CSEC examination results, namely Harrison College and Queen’s College, end up at Cave Hill. Now on Friday I heard Professor Cobley talking about the expected rise in GPA as of the 2014-2015 academic year.

Cave Hill was a free for all. Students jump from one Major to the next, from one faculty to the next. The “gravy train” will come to a halt now. The Bagan students will stop playing “the ass” now and try to mimic the foreign students who drink syrup and eat biscuit and sardine and rice for an extended period of time to complete their degrees. These “foreign” students cannot afford to fail because they have an obligation to the tax payers of their respective countries.

3. Then we are discussing a matriculation problem which differs with what we need to agree of the vision for education in Barbados.

4. @ Bag Juice
    You read what you just posted before posting?

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | September 15, 2013 at 7:51 AM |

Very good point Caswell. The students need to use their “intelligence” and the so-called Rule of Law instead of allowing themselves to be “used” by the Opposition.

Let the Opposition pick their own fights and fight their own battles in the HoA.
    And believe me there are many of them to fight with this incompetent administration. For example, exposing the big lies being pushed about this country’s ability to access billions of dollars to finance the many hundred million dollar projects in the propaganda pipeline.

The many lawyers who have benefited from “free’ UWI education can do the work pro bono for the students and file an injunction to stop its implementation for students currently enrolled at the UWI. This hiatus should give the government sufficient time to design a funding model in which students can access study loans from a much more highly recapitalized fund from a bond floatation called the Higher Education Investment Bond. Many Bajans rich and poor could buy these 7-10 year bonds instead of putting all their savings on their bank or credit union accounts.

6. “For example, the quality of students going into Cave Hill is so low that students from Jamaica who are turned down at Mona end up being accepted at Cave Hill. Secondly, students who cannot get into the top sixth form schools in in this country after the publication of the annual CSEC examination results, namely Harrison College and Queen’s College, end up at Cave Hill.”

Does your comment apply to all students who have passed through the doors of the UWI and even so; that is not the issue. The issue is the hairbrained thief in the night way the Government went about the decision to make students pay for their university education with out giving them an opportunity to prepare themselves. What happened to the politically expedient slogan ‘the country is not only an economy but a society’ or some poop like that to prey upon the thoughtlessness of the mendicant – stop trying to defend the indefensible for it was the administration who gave the impression that everything was for free. They cannot now cry wolf, wolf and be allowed to escape without a censure. Not even in our darkest of hours in the 1990’s did Mr Sandiford to his credit ever entertained the thought of abandoning free tertiary education. Perhaps Mr Barrow never spoke to him from beyond as he seems to be doing now more than ever.

7. “I have written on another thread that students who are currently enrolled have a case based on legitimate expectation and should take the matter to court. Instead these nincompoops are parading in the hot sun rather than use their brains.”

There is much merit in your advice as usual Bro Franklyn and there is indeed precedent for successful litigation which I could discuss with you if so desire.

8. @Miller

Good point!

What does it say about the quality of education being delivered on the Hill?

Sir Hilary is in the news to today doing hir PR which has become stall nw. Nobody s listening.

9. Tuition fees have been deemed necessary in the UK because of the government’s huge deficit and the need for it to be reduced.

As a matter of fact it has not just been education that has suffered, it affects hospitals, households and about every aspect of life in the UK.

At the same time there is a serious lack of graduates with the skills needed for economic growth which means the gap has to be filled by recruiting skills from abroad at the same time that there is record unemployment and underemployment in the UK.

One possible way to maintain the status quo is to borrow even more and run up an even higher deficit, especially in the face of there being no alternative means to grow the economy as a way of reducing the deficit.

Quality Assurance compliance at the same time that an economy is under severe pressure is a folly.

Cost Benefit analysis never gets a mention but it has to be fundamental.

I have recently seen 2 pages in the Nation with the faces of students heading to University, almost all to study medicine and law.
    The cost is obvious but the benefit to the economy appears nil, so you are asking the shopkeeper, the farmer, the gardener and the day labourer to fund the education of an elite that will continue to be a lifetime drain on the economy.
    They don’t have any innovative skills nor the ability to contribute to economic growth.

A fellow Barbadian, a guy I grew up with, describes such professions as parasite professions …. As he puts it, the doctor feeds off illnesses and the lawyer feeds off intrapersonal disputes – misfortune feeds their good fortune.

Where is the return on investment they provide that justifies the vast sums spent on their education?

10. @Sid Boyce

To add to your point the decision of Cave Hill to establish a medical faculty still has to be adequately explained by the UWI. The folly of the dicision with the last batch of interns not being able to find places in Barbados rams it home. Bear in mind the economic cost for the medical program is the highest for government.

11. Wunna people who never had to balance a budget or make a hard decision in wunna life could really hush…. Wunna think money grows on trees?
    That UWI shiite should have been addressed LONG AGO…and not only for financial reasons… But because it is counter productive…as we can see from the lack of impressive products.
    ….damn idiots can’t even organize a march.

There was a strong case for free education back in 1960. That case ENDED IN 1990 after a number of generations of graduates should have established themselves to be self-sustaining.

This MENDICANCY is nothing less than embarrassing….and only possible from true brass bowls…
    …wunna ain’t even got no damn shame….talking bout high development index and begging for handouts to cover basic human needs like education….!!

Pride and Industry Bushie’s ass!

12. @Bush Tea

If we are talking about taking the government to Court then we are venturing into the realm of ENTITLEMENT.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This is a done deal there is nothing to change.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Cruises, new iPhones, new nails, new wigs, new cars every 3 years, new shoes every month, $1500.00 outfits for every event, new tablets, nuff herb, nuff beers and rum, flavoured coffees from the various outlets, new biker boys motorcycles, all items worthy of spending TONS and TONS of money on without any question.

But on EDUCATION, not willing to spend a SINGLE CENT!!!!!!!

What is this saying?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Not even the majority of UWI students are against the paying of Tuition fees.

Out of a role of more than 7000 students they could only muster 50 to take part in the “march” against paying tuition fees.

Too much “gimmie gimmie”!!!!!!

16. why waste time talking to these people . in comes the stan pipe lawyer to put another dent in the taxpayers pocket through litigation. it would be a historical feat worthy of being putting in the guinness book of world records if the stable door was closed before the horse bolted the door .

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 15, 2013 at 9:03 AM |

We couldn’t agree with you more. It’s a pity your “enlightened” comments were not debated in previous threads on the same subject prior to the recent budget.
    Why didn’t you feel the need to tell your PM and Sinliar to shut their bleeding traps when they pontificated that university education would always be free at the point of access to Bajan students under a DLP administration?

Maybe the people would have been more ‘sensitized’ to your early warnings instead of dismissing those coming from Bushie and the miller about all these free handouts to a people who like to boast of being highly educated and proud and more so well off materially than most people in the world.
    So Carson, since we are singing in the same choir why not broaden your attack on the dependency syndrome and give early warnings about the coming cessation of free bus rides, summer camps , football tournaments, free school meals and free school uniforms and text books(except for those in need)? Should we also scrap the constituency councils and let the local communities play a more active part in looking after their own briar patch and those residents needing help?

Are you going to be in the vanguard of change or are you going to wait until after the fact when these changes are imposed on the country by outside forces and jump on the bandwagon as you are doing here with the UWI thingy?

18. I see nothing wrong with making UWI students pay for their education. Perhaps those that will be attending will choose carefully their majors and consider how relevant their degree will be before they enter. UWI need to expand their degree programs to suit the needs of this country. We need more technical and creative programs that will give students the necessary skills to compete.

19. I do not think that Barbadians should worry too much that this policy of paying for their education will be implemented next year. The government will reconsider, otherwise known as “backpeddaling”, just the same way that temporary workers will not be separated from their jobs anymore and the postal workers who were dismissed have been recalled.. Laugh out loud), (Dead With Laugh)

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246 | September 15, 2013 at 9:30 AM

I give you five stars for that post.

21. Out of a role of more than 7000 students they could only muster 50 to take part in the “march” against paying tuition fees

This caught my attention Barbados Today said 30 out of 6,000 were in the march including leftists hangers on Prescod and Commissiong, didn’t see Denny he likely was drunk. There was Cynthia Forde and Sutherland the BLP scraping the barrel with them two. The Guild president where did they find him an uninspiring nerd looking guy. His squeeky voice oh lawd is pure laughter.

This protest is going nowhere the students obviously don’t support it. We wish Uwee remained free ,the economic hard times dictate otherwise.

22. Carson…………in all fairness to the electorate, the issue of paying for tuition should have been addressed by the DLP BEFORE the elections, misleading the public at that point has resulted in distrust now that they have to do something AFTER elections………….in saying that, something had to give somewhere and sacrifices have to be made if only because of the deficit.

23. The Cave Hill students didn’t help their cause when only 30 of them out of seemingly thousands affected by tuition fees could be bothered to march and protest, not to mention being associated with a BLP contingent and David Commissiong.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well. | September 15, 2013 at 10:56 AM

One of these days you will write something that will catch me by complete surprise.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anything that seeks to sow the seeds of discord in this country you will find the Barbados Labour Party supporting it one hundred percent. That is all they have to offer.

OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE.

They have not offered anything worthwhile in the last five and a half years.

26. After reading Sir Hilary Beckles and what he said Errol Walton told him, I condemn this DLP Government to the pits of HELLL !!!!!

For their assault on Education
    They should not have done it’
    Time to March

27. Micah | September 15, 2013 at 11:10 AM |

The Cave Hill students didn’t help their cause when only 30 of them out of seemingly thousands affected by tuition fees could be bothered to march and protest, not to me
    —————————————————
    THAT IS WHAT YOU THINK-
    I KNOW OTHERWISE

28. Cuthbert of England Avatar
    Cuthbert of England

A rag tag band of hooligans, misfits and political perverts. Them look shame and embarrassed that or 30 of them turned.

29. Why do we always pick at the fringe issues? Whether 30 people demonstrated does not negate that there is mounting concern about government’s policy. All it says is that we are not a society inclined to demonstrate in public. If memory serves is was the political scientist students who organized this demonstration.

30. The type of economy we have and the one we can support makes what ones study as a first degree irrelevant except specialist areas like medicine, architecture, engineering and law!! In the US for example, the consultants in the biggest firms are recruited with degrees in English, History etc NOT only or primarily Business or related subjects. The KEY is the ability to analyse and think strategically. ONLY an idiot or one bereft of understanding of the history of Barbados would ask what are the benefits or free tertiary education and or training doctors and lawyers. Oh I forgot, God is a Bajan so that’s why we have one of the highest HDI in the Americas and, according to the Economist, are a generation ahead of Trinidad & Tobago. Whether one studies English, History, Politics or even Medicine is irrelevant, the issue is what COMPETENCIES the graduates are being equipped with to build the type of workforce required.

31. @enuff

Do we know what is the type of workforce we require?

32. Here is a view from Jeff Cumberbatch who is a Senior Lecturer at UWI.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=32402

33. If we don’t well we need divine intervention.

34. Enuff you know that there is currently no incentive to encourage study in disciplines which are aligned with country strategy to support global competitiveness.

35. David
    You too are missing the point!! What are the disciplines aligned with country strategy? What is the purpose of the National Development Scholarship?

36. Not missing ant point, simply asking questions to flush out info to bring those along who are following the debate.

37. Thankfully, most young persons and UWI students – are all NOT as myopic as Sir Hillary Beckles and his BLP minnions – on the issue of payment of UWI tuition fees from 2014/2015.

In the Saturday Sun of 14th September, 2013 (the Saturday girl) said she is not fazed by the need to pay UWI tuition fees from 2014/2015 – why is this so ? The young lady says she will save her money to pay for her tuition fees. That should be the intention of all others.

38. when free education was introduced it come with a cost to tax payers
    if it is being taken back (free education) it is only resonable that they should be a coresponding tax relief

39. @Paul Quiote

Not logical if you factor that the government is broke and has to manage a deficit.

40. LOL
    there IS a tax relief
    Relief form the increases that we would otherwise have to pay if um continue

41. Carson………..i always catch you by surprise why you cannot answer most of my questions, you are my personal b***h, considered yourself honored.

42. CCC
    You could really shut your trap up. You who came on BU bragging that you, your “wife” and child graduated from UWI.

You and the likes of you, Stinkliar, Crack head Jones, the Fumble and the rest of you liars reach the top of the ladder and now kick it down.

That’s good…keep the people foolish and on the DLP plantation.

Look at the other thread and see how much money this wicked incompetent government has been spending since 2008 and they have not been paying the UWI hence the position the UWI is in today.

The medical school was years in planning, Hillary did not get up one day and open a medical school. Yet I do agree that Hillary went building crazy but he said all these projects were privately funded!

43. Prodigal Son | September 15, 2013 at 3:54 PM |

CCC
    You could really shut your trap up. You who came on BU bragging that you, your “wife” and child graduated from UWI.

Carson………….ha, ha, ha…………did i not tell you that you are my personal b***h???

44. IT WAS ON THE NEWS THAT STUDENTS ALREADY ENROLLED AT THE UWI WILL NOT BE AFFECTED BY THE NEW FEES

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PAUL QUIXOTE

“if it is being taken back (free education) it is only resonable that they should be a coresponding tax relief”

Then are you willing to pay for education at all levels?

If so then that can be arranged!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have a good article for ADRIAN LOVERIDGE when he hits the road on Monday.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

I am not looking for any woman.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Smooth Chocolate | September 15, 2013 at 6:08 PM |

I do hope that you are not following in the footsteps of PRODIGAL SON and got that “news” from the VOB(lp) 12.30 news.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 15, 2013 at 8:14 PM |

We notice you have NOT responded regarding the suggestion that you start weaning the population off the other “freebies” like free bus rides, summer camps, free food, uniforms etc.
    But we know why. It’s a similar case to the one put to you by Observing (…) re the $66 million reduction in the payroll cost. You see how much confusion that undertaking has brought about?

Are you going to recommend to these people to take a hair cut by the local barber or wait for the foreign surgeon to remove the entire scalp?

Tell us Carson whom do you think “demanded’ the cessation of free UWI tuition to Bajan students and that “foreign” municipal tax that should really be on the household and not the property itself?
    Is this stupid intellectually confused administration going to increase NHC’s rent to ensure the tenants pay their fair share of the tax?
    Property owners have every moral right not to pay the municipal tax if the objective is to raise revenue to meet the cost of waste collection and management.

50. Jethro,
    Now that is a brilliant idea.Barbados Property Owners Association decides not one damn cent in Municipal Tax to be paid.Let the Government dare take the Property Owners to court.Skulls gine get crack yuh!It comin’