Document supplied compliments of Plantation Deeds

It is not the norm for the general public to get sight of how our political candidates allocate financial resources to support an election campaign. Caswell Franklyn has already asked some probing questions regarding Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler’s election declaration – Sinckler’s Honest Election Return. Here is the Prime Minister’s declaration with the compliments of Plantation Deeds.

140 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel's Stuart's General Election Declaration”

1. BU continues to highlight issues which strike at the core of our governance system. We have the traditional media which is not inclined to delve too deeply for fear of what maybe discovered perhaps? We make it now so easy for traditional media if it wanted to pursue matters which the politicians and cohorts have for years been happy to manage behind a veil of secrecy.

Now that Corey Layne, Marsha Hinds-Layne and Netefari Caddle have been hailed as the second coming by VOB92.9, the BU family look forward to them treating with the real (hard) issues. Governance issues strike to the heart of how we manage our society, all other issues are derivatives.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS
  3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS
  4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

5. @ David
    would you be so kind as to state the purpose of advertising the returns of FJ Stuart QC ,MP for the last election ? What allegation is being made ? I notice that it is being displayed “with the compliments of Plantation Deeds”.
    Is this semi literate poster now being used to fashion opinion on your blog ? Will you be similarly advertising the returns of all other candidates in the last election?

6. Will you be similarly advertising the returns of all other candidates in the last election?
    a very good point – one for all and all for one, so decrees the musketeers

7. @…Curious..Exactly whaa wrong wid you? Semi literate based on what? Haven’t we learned yet that even the full and the ignorant have a story? We sure know that the bright and the brilliant does thief real bad! Read the Delotte report. Oh ah faget day it went missing.

8. @Curious

All have a voice on BU,,, ALL.

Perhaps a storyline we can discuss is why would our public servants put up such a fight to release this information which should be easily accessible. Bear in mind the DLP won its election platform with a message of implementing FOI and Integrity legislation. Because PM Stuart is the figurehead (some say more) of the DLP and government, it is fitting that information like what is exposed in this blog represents a talking point.

On 28 August 2013 09:57, Barbados Underground

9. @ David..These new moderators are like sweet music to the ears. How long will it be before the muzzles are demanded? Expect Nef to be the first to fall …or rather to be pushed on the sword,for just like her late father she seems not to be shy about disrobing those frauds that hide behind Christianity,and just like the politicians continue to rape this country.

10. David; According to Caswell and Deeds on other BU topics, not all the returns were copied. However, I would like to see BU publish Mia’s, Owen’s and Donville Inniss’ own. I suspect they are all works of fiction.

To me, What is amazing about the PM’s own is that, as a lawyer, he does not seem to be chary on declaring the costs related to posters. Another indication that the Caswell case against Sinckler might well be moot. Also that the costs practically all seem to be related to labour. Where are the material costs? eg. costs of meals, cost of production of posters, helper’s travelling costs, etc.

Suspect that returns by all the candidates, except perhaps the independent ones, will be similar.

hey, what about Deeds’ cost?

11. @Hamilton

Yes you are correct, we are observing with great interest. I can assure two out of the three monitor BU which makes it all the more interesting.

Let us see how far they are allowed to go. It will be hard fr them not to get sucked into the ‘canned’ way of doing things.

12. @Checkit-Out

Deeds has the info, he sent the PM’s and if he sends others we will post.

13. All very good choices for moderators. They have actually got me listening again. To be honest they are far less pretentious, (read a hell of a lot more relevant than the usual flapper mouth crew …)

14. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The 11th commandment at the Nation Newspaper-

“Thou shalt not attack the BLP or write anything negative about its members”.

The Nation newspaper – The BLP’S JOURNALISTIC PROSTITUTE .

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If what is shown above are the actual and only expenses that were declared by the Prime Minister, there are just as bogus as those of Sinckler. For example, he declared that he spent $1,800 putting up and taking down posters but did not include a cost of the same posters. What about the cost of setting up public meetings? What was in the envelopes, dod they cost anything?

We now have absolute proof that two members of Government made false declarations. That means that neither of them should be allowed to sit in the House of Assembly. As a result, there should be new elections for those constituencies or the persons who came second should be declared the winners unless it can be shown that they cheated as well.

16. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Rubbing shoulders – a blatant, farcical partisan and political public relations exercise by the opposition which is given the highest level of media coverage by the Nation BLP Newspaper and the journalistic prostitute’s son Starcom network.
    These people then have the audacity to complain about CBC promoting the government when the Nation is much more partisan than CBC.

I cannot remember seeing daily attacks on the opposition on CBC such as the Nation BLP Newspaper does with the BLP operatives like Sanka Price, Pat Hoyos, Albert Branford, Mascoll, etc masquerading as independent columnists.

17. I still love Dennis Johnson,short fuse and all for there is seldom a time that he is not a teacher for the listening public.

18. Not only should the PM and all the ministers and opposition declare their tax returns etc, etc, but the taxpayers who pay their salaries also have a right to know how many properties they own in Bim and elsewhere along with all their bank accounts in Bim and elsewhere, AND they should also be told how they acquired all that property, money, etc, etc, Bim is a small island with a small population, most of their (politicians, permanent secretaries etc.) salaries cannot reflect or correlate with what they own.

19. LOL! it is obvious that that DLP is not hiding nothing ifnot such information would not have been easily accessible to the public unless it might have fallen off a truck. just leave it to the “stand pipe ” lawyer Caswell to pick fleas outdog fleas. jerk!

20. The BFP and KGB representatives did a great thing to have gone some weeks ago and to have got copies of the election returns (declaration of election campaign expenses) of many of the DLP/BLP candidates in the last general elections in this country, from out of the Registry that is located within the new Supreme Court of Judicature building on While Park Road, St. Michael.

They must be commended and congratulated for doing something unique in Barbados.

They are living up to their own ideals and values of making sure that there is greater transparency and accountability and freedom of information coming from the government concerning many aspects of the public’s business in this country.

They are also making sure that the results of those efforts are brought into the full view of many of members of the public of Barbados, for their own better understanding and knowledge.

Thus the representatives of the BFP and KGB have provided necessary leadership in those directions.

That is the stuff that leadership is and should made and composed of in this country.

To actually have seen the details of the copies of those returns would have been so eye opening very visualizing to the PDC as to allow us to have insights into the deep levels to which patron client politics has gone, and the sinister levels to which the self-centered partisan political agendas of some people of the country, and the connections of those agendas to the very corrupt and backward DLP and BLP have also gone.

No doubt, too, such behaviours of such people will help to harden a political culture of mistrust and divisiveness between different political operatives and some of the masses of constituents in the current political electoral order of Barbados.

21. Mr Hill

Be clear about one thing… pantomime is NOT substance…! If being mislead is your thing, I suggest you leave it in the bedroom. Johnson is entertainment value nothing more (there can be nothing less)

22. THe nation newspaper a newspaper that is known for its in bed relationship with the BLP. a paper that looks for scandal in every nook and cranny when its comes to the DLP.a paper that does not hid the fact that There preferance of leadership for barbados is OSA found it necessaryto reject Caswell malicious intent to slander the DLP With his submission made a right about turn about turn somewhat unusual for a paper that thrives on speculation.

23. @ Caswell Franklyn
    You say you have absolute proof that these two members made false declarations which is in breach of our laws. Why not go a step further now and set up your public platform so that these two and any others may be tried by the court of public opinion . If you fail to do this you will be regarded as nothing more than a coward who takes pot shots from a safe cover provided by the blogs. Show us how committed you are to the cause which you keep trumpeting on this medium .

24. Curious..

In a sense I agree with your thrust. Setting up a platform though … to appeal to whom? Since when is seeking for laws to be respected a mass audience campaign?

25. To be honest Curios it might very well turn out that when polled that majority of the electorate may not see Caswell’s point as an issue to concern themselves with, as they may very well be convinced of the futility of such acampaign. Caswell is right, your request is out of place … sorry

26. Wunna people is something else fuh trute!

Wunna really believe that if the law says; $10 dollars per registered voter, politrickians gine declare dat duh spend more than that.
    I know some of them ain’t wurf wuh Paddy shot at, but dem ain’t become politrickians overnight.

Dem study all de tricks of the trade and dem dun know dat as long as dem fix de right people, grease de wheels of justice and feed de fowls every now and den; everything gine be awrite.

Bob Marley seh so and $10 000+ a month confirms it.

Four hundred smackaroos fuh driving….. I gotta get me one of dem picks for de next buy-election.

27. @BAFP
    it would serve at least two purposes . ! . expose all fraudulent declarations ; 2 . Establish what credibility can be attributed to Caswell Franklyn and co. It would seem that the Nation for which he is a columnist at least has cause to question his credibility hence their refusal to publish the Sinckler story.

28. Curious..
    Maybe you should see the The Nation as the Pot … They really are in no position to be calling anyone black

29. Is it not amazing that information has been brought to light by conscientious Barbadians but instead we prefer to shoot the messengers? No wonder the politicians from both sides continue to rub crap in our faces. Ac should be ashamed, an unabashed yardfowl.

Here is another example:

Facebook has reported that the government of Barbados in early 2013 asked for information regarding THREE users. Bear in mnd this is the same government who ran a political platform on rolling out FOI and Integrity Legislation. The same government is accessing similar disclosure from the UsA to request information from Facebook. Can we guess these three Facebook users? Is one of these BU?

How we miss the late David Thompson who we know not read BU but posted a comment or two. Maybe one of these days we will highlight a few of his comments.

30. Hope they have realized that facebook did not and will not keep secrets for the Barbados government.

31. Ac commented on article which BU sees an relevant to exposing unethical practices and misdeeds albeit to the Present govt. Therefore it begs the questions if these are high crimes /and unethical practices by the DLP during the election which by Caswell ascertion can be proven .Why of all the newspapers would the Nation resist the temptation to expose them. Now ac is willing to go out on a limb and say this is another attempt by Caswell and BLP yardfowls to redo the election nothing more nothing less.

32. David; The perilous nature of our times ensure that we will face more of such attempts to stifle discussion on topics that Government is either uncomfortable with or suspects it will in the future be uncomfortable with.

Please highlight what David Thompson said. Not that it will be true or reflect anything of truth as he was on the lower limits of the bell curve of typical politician truthfulness, honesty and love for country, but it may be useful in other ways.

Re. election returns, Plantation should publish all of them so that the BU family can see, in the full glare of daylight, the respect, or lack thereof, the genus of politicians have for the underlying spirit of the laws of the land.

A cleaning of the Augean stables appears to be necessary.

33. While I welcome the campaign finance declarations, I am of the opinion that under the current system it is almost impossible to accurately check such declarations. Both parties receive considerable contributions from their financiers in terms of printing the manifesto etc. It is pure folly to believe that returns of candidates under the present system gives any indication of what the PARTIES spent in the campaign. This can only be done via campaign finance reform. For example :a candidate from either side can declare that he spent 50,000 but within the constituency real money circulated on his or her behalf cannot be traced. If a minister quietly gives away a house or two built by the taxpayers we cannot trace that either. If several hundreds jobs are given out prior to an election-we will not find them in campaign declarations etc.

34. The timing of the request is significant. Early 2013. What happened then? What were the flashpoint discussions on BU and the wider community? Who on BU (and also on Facebook) was leading the charge?

35. @ac

Because the Nation has not covered this matter should not be seen as a consolation position by you and cohorts, in fact the opposite. It is because of the corporatization of the media which has given rise to Social Media and BU. Can you for be second stop being a political lackey?

@William

The journey always begin with a first step. The advocacy must continue.

36. Are you “CURIOUS” or are you frighten for the truth in election declaration. Both parties are knowledgeable about manipulating returns. Although a politician might go in a shop and buy dozens of brandy, eat nuff food with nuff of his/her followers and give special people nuff Grantleys during elections, you tink he/she gonna submit those expenses, even though it might cost him/her thousands of dollars. You really tink dese modern day politicians stupid. You like you feel something might have fallen off the truck. Relax, my friend. Caswell surely have more effective balls that most people on BU. Remember having balls don’t always make you a man. Opps.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

William

It would have been good if you read the relevant statutes before you commented. All those donations and the names of the donors are required to be declared. If none are declared, the politicians are really saying that they did not receive any, not even from the party.

38. Should David Thompson decide to post pun BU again lemma tellya, I dun wid dat … Fah good!

39. the logic of ‘Curious”
    is curiously curious
    Question is
    who got the biggest balls
    ———————————-
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaagga -Pon Top

40. The time the government took ( and i am sure it was at the expense of taxpayers) to access information fb on those whom they believe will out their dirty secrets, all in an attempt to retaliate, that time would have been better spent trying to come up with ways to stop the country from sliding into the abyss in which they now find themselves, a really, really DEEP ABYSS, the people whose information they accessed on facebook are not answerable to the taxpayers. Earlier this year the government was in 7th heaven, given all the crap they were spewing, what has happened between then and now is apparently a delusional mystery, who can they blame since they were in the driver’s seat for what like 5-6 years, now they got the car crash. Some people contacted me this morning and said they could not believe this is the same government that so gleefully mislead the taxpayers. Well, when you play you have to pay and pay and pay………..HA!!!! Someone else said they have absolutely no sympathy for the big hole the politicians have dug for themselves.

41. @ Caswell. That is exactly my point. Laws written and not enforced are essentially useless. Proper campaign finance reform will monitor all those things. It is useless to ask the politicians to monitor themselves.. .

42. un-married man
    holding high Office
    dangers/advantages
    fornicator / buller
    sex less/sexy
    freaky/dorky
    ……….problematique
    —————————————
    Yaaaaaaaaaagga -again !!!!

43. Curious wants to call out Caswell welI l gun call out David.

Mr. BU I challenge you to make the following video a topic for discussion

http://www.ted.com/talks/eric_x_li_a_tale_of_two_political_systems.html

(I prepared to bet my bank account that it ain’ gun happen …!) HA

44. DAVID

I am really enjoying this.
    The Barbados Labour Party’s old men DOG AND PONY SHOW is in full swing

Wonderful!

CASWELL FRANKLYN is fighting hard to get rid of the Government so that the Barbados Labour Party can give him the big job which they promised him, as you know time is running out for him. So he wants his job before he kicks the bucket.

Carry on old Barbados Labour Party dudes trying to prove to your selves that you are still relevant!!!

45. @Baf

Have it on the radar, be patient.

46. Agreed
    the land mark of Errol Barrow
    is Free Education”
    —caller on Brass Tacks
    Serious ting !
    We should not mess about it
    in danger of
    retarding progress
    –a rethink is in order
    after throwing MOF under the truck
    PM will rescind decision
    –result –Free Education is back
    —–no more tuition fee
    —yipppe –I get to go UWI free

yippeee
    or is it
    —————————————————
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaagga -again+again

yip

47. well said Mr Skinner but that does not negate the fact that what they declare ought to be be truthful.

48. @ balance
    Your desire for ‘balance’ clouds your judgement and suspends common sense. Skinner is rightly assuming that everything politicians say or do, is a lie or a trick. We share that enlightened view for it is the only point of departure we are now left with.

49. One only has to accept that Barbadians have been promised transparency legislation since Tom Adams time.

50. @ David

You know there a popular notion that some perception of an irrational ‘balance’ is always a useful thing. Even when there is an overwhelming and perponderous of experience that the reverse is true. These people have a stellar history of lies and tricks and then some would want to pretend that we should be neutral about current lies and tricks. No, we must assume politicians are liar and thieves until proven otherwise, without apology.