Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
The intellectual argument that Barbados is in deep economic (and social) crisis has now been conceded by the deniers – those who talk nonsense about the nation punching above its weight and exaggerating the soft influence we have in the region and, the world. Of course, it is all self-praise, the unfortunate outcome of economic ignorance and wishful-thinking.

I have said before, and will repeat again, that: first, the narrative that we have had a period of prosperity in the first decade of the 21st century was a myth built on over-borrowing on both a household and government level, ignoring our inefficient productivity to such an extent that we even believed that life owed us a living.

The second point that needs stressing is one that is in danger of seeping in to the gilded story of our economic prosperity: again, let us concentrate it to the post-independence years, and that truth is that the official myth-making of our economic growth, generally given as three per cent annualised, is, to be polite, crap. Had Barbados had a three per cent growth rate over the last decade, compounded, our post-global recession story would have been totally different. As things stand, we are up to our necks in debt, tourism, the main driver of the economy, is in intensive care and the priest is standing by to perform the last rites, while, in the meantime, relatives are fighting over how to divide up the spoils even before the last breath leaves the body.

Vision:
Barbadian governments, of both colours, have failed to understand the basic lesson of public finance: that if your spending outstrips revenue then you will end up with a deficit. In this sense, it is no different to a normal household; arguments over whether a national budget needs to balance are theoretical. What determines the strategy, however, is reaching a consensus on the kind of society we want to produce. We can be a Brazil, US, China or India, with huge communities of hunger and poverty, while a small group of obscenely wealthy continue to live extravagant lifestyles behind their barricaded gates with their security guards and high-powered rifles.

If we need a fair and just society, something along the Nordic model, then we have to promote that above others; if the model we admire is the Anglo-Saxon one (the US and UK) then say so; or if it is the state-controlled capitalist model a la China, then let us be clear about that. The problem at present is that the DLP government is drifting along without any idea of where it is going and how it is going to get there. Senior governor macroeconomic advisers are known to be great admirers of Canada, but they do not seem to have any knowledge of recent Canadian economic history.

Under Pierre Trudeau Canadian federal taxes increased at an astronomical rate, which, along with high inflation, made Canada a basket case. However, under the Progressive Conservative Brian Mulroney, following Margaret Thatcher in Britain and Ronald Reagan in the US, the newly elected Canadian government embarked on a massive programme of privatisation. Air Canada (1988), PetroCanada (1991), Canadian National Railways (1995) – in all, over two dozens state bodies were privatised, including the air traffic control network. Why is the DLP so reluctant to hold on to a portfolio of corporations that have nothing to do with the core duties of government, apart from making ministers feel important?

Within two years of Paul Martin’s 1995 budget, spending fell by 10 per cent; the government cut defence spending, unemployment benefits, and aid to provincial governments, all once considered untouchable. Another outcome was that Canada experienced a fifteen-year boom which came to a halt only in 2009, when the economy fell in to recession. With these strategic cuts, federal spending as a share of GDP fell by five percentage points to 17 per cent in the five years to 2000. The cuts also allowed the Canadian government to balance its books during the first decade of the 21st century. For utilities and corporations providing socially important and economically strategic services, there can be a golden share giving the government the right to intervene in subsequent policy, including price increases. This is not an economic history of modern Canada, but it is a broad look at a much-admired growth model.

Reforming the Public Sector:
With an approximate 30000 people of working age on the public pay roll, it is obvious this top heavy situation cannot continue for much longer. At least a third of the public sector workforce must be offloaded on to the private sector, and this can only be done by rapidly expanding the private sector, especially the micro, small and medium enterprise sectors. By any analysis, after six years this government should have had a clearer idea of the kind of public sector reforms it would like to see.

First, and there is no way round this, whatever they do will entail a battle with the public sector trade unions; then again, this is a government that has unwritten a Bds$6m debt to the NUPW. What in the name of heaven is a government doing underwriting a debt for a trade union? Not even in the wild days of the Soviet Union was this nonsense done. However, if the government needs ideas to reform the public sector, they should take a brief look at the two obvious departments: the ministry of finance and the prime minister’s office. The ministry of finance has a budget of about Bds$50m, which could easily be reduced by 10 per cent without any impact on the quality of service received by the public. There are a director of finance and economic affairs, and a permanent secretary, both on salaries of $149928, one of those could go; there are five stenographer/typists, a position made redundant by personal computer and other forms of technology; those positions could go and the staff given an opportunity to retrain. There are a further eleven clerical officers, earning about $30000 each, five of those positions could go, saving $150000; there is an entertainment allowance of over $64000, which could be reduced by a system of reimbursements.

The MOF also spends over $233000 on temporary staff, why is this? It smacks of bad management; some of these people should be made permanent staff and the other positions got rid of. There is also a department called the Budget Administration, one of those departments they have simply because they have always done so. Staffed with a deputy permanent secretary on just over $121000 a year, a chief budget analyst on $98000, two senior budget analyst on a total of $$67000 and six budget analysts, grades one and two, each earning nearly $34000 a year. Ideally, the department should be closed, and at best the minister should get rid of the deputy permanent secretary, one of the senior budget analysts and three of the budget analysts. There is also a tax administration section, which comes under the minister, whose work could easily be transferred the Inland Revenue, saving a total of $285000.

In fact, the ministry of finance needs a thorough root and branch clean out, including the VAT depart. This department alone is typical of public sector inefficiency, costing more than they collect in revenue. With 103 staff, including a two principal auditors, ten senior auditors, 21 auditors, 17 tax officers, 15 clerical officers, one maid/messenger, one stenographer/typist and one telephone operator, along with a customs officer grade 0ne, and two customs officers grade two. The VAT department is out of control, and that has nothing to do with the mounting amount of uncollected taxes and the bogus $25000 its pays staff as a so-called plain clothes allowance.

Then, of course, there is the shadow department, the so-called Supervision of the Insurance Industry – whose duties have now been transferred to the Financial Services Commission. The $300000 the department costs should now be savings. If they have all been transferred already, then the FSC should have to explain how it has accommodated the positions of supervisor of insurance, a deputy, an assistant supervisor of pensions, and eight insurance officers, grades one and two. What do these officers do? Who do they supervise? How they supervise them? What are the outcomes?

Space restricts me from giving more details, but we can look at the Central Purchasing Department, General Management and Coordination Services, the Economic and Social Planning Unit, the Statistical Department, the Barbados Competitiveness Program, which costs taxpayers about $380000 a year; then there is the absurdly named Public Investment Unit, costing over $1m a year, whose work must be the most mysterious of all. Scrap it and save $1m a year.

Analysis and Conclusion:
We can also go through every civil service department with a fine tooth comb, if we want to talk about reforms and savings. But, first, there must be intent on making savings and improving efficiencies, in accepting the reality of a small island economy, with no natural resources, no dynamic economic sector, and a public payroll that is overloaded. The simple lesson for Barbados, instead of the arrogance of over-confidence, is that we have got to ready ourselves for a lowering of living standards. If we do not then we are in denial.

Although this message should be preached from every pulpit, every platform, every rum shop, the truth is that it is not as scary as it should be.
In Britain we have had to lower our standard of living, or, in the old terms, tighten our belts: eating out once a week instead of twice; buying own-brand gin instead of more expensive brands; travelling by public transport instead of taking a taxi on those special occasions. When this reality comes home to most Barbadians, including our politicians, then the nation will realise that at best we have about fifteen years to fix the economy, or three parliamentary sessions; failure means being relegated to the bottom tiers of global economies.

Prime Minister Stuart is like some religious denominations, happy preaching other worldliness, while avoiding having a social gospel to deal with the trials and tribulations of this world. He has an escape clause, when it comes to discussions about competence, all he says is that he delegates; but there is no excuse for the inability of the finance minister to devise a workable programme to rescue the economy.

In his formidable book, Aftermath: the Cultures of the Economic Crisis, Professor Castells tells us of new socio-economic formations which will emerge from the aftermath of the global crisis. There will be those business models based on the emerging technology, new cooperative and mutual business formations, a much reduced public sector and a highly organised services sector, mainly around finance and networks of micro-businesses. With some luck, this government will start looking at alternatives to a failed system, of putting young men and women in jobs, by suspending income tax and national insurance for a two-year period for tradespeople taking on apprentices or the private sector offering jobs to non-relatives or the children of close associates. It could do worse than setting the SJPP on a project of bringing some of our great houses back to life, including the Eyrie Great House, some of those abandoned in the Garrison, our Heritage heartland, Sam Lord’s Castle, and many more.

All these are projects that we do not have to wait for Chinese handouts to get working on, employing qualified trades people and trainees across a range of trades, from plumbing and electricians, to designers, architects, and carpenters. As things stand, senior ministers and their advisers are sitting on their hands, doing nothing.
_____
PS: I have no interest in the commercial development of St Lawrence Gap, although I wish the entrepreneurs well. Wrong picture used by the Nation..

140 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Time for the Government to Get Moving”

1. Very good article Hal. The IMF will help the government to implement the austerity measures which Stinkliar says will not happen today, tomorrow or in the future. Only a matter of time.

2. A quick fix solution for everyone is cut the public service to balance the budget. Like increasing VAT that move would not have the desired effect. You should remember that VAT receipts fell after the rate was increased.

When you send home these people, how will they survive? The private sector is reeling under the pressure imposed by an incompetent Cabinet. The first people on the breadline should be them. Governing has proven to be too much for them but they are prepared to hold on for the sake of a pension, after eight years, even if it means destroying the economy.

3. The first people on the breadline should be them. Governing has proven to be too much for them but they are prepared to hold on for the sake of a pension,
    TRUE….but..
    Do you have a list of replacements who are any better Caswell?
    Don’t you think that we may need to resign ourselves with working with brass bowls?
    Name three competent people who we will be able to interest in participating in the kind of politics that we have….

….Where the hell is BUP?

4. to Notes From a Native Son: Time for the Government to GO

Get Moving

5. BUP sounds like pupp-(shit)

Governing has proven to be too much for them but they are prepared to hold on for the sake of a pension, after eight years, even if it means destroying the economy.

They did not expect to get back in. They wanted to ness up things so that when the BEES came back to office they would have their hans

—–

6. The Central Revenue Authority is suppose to address the issue of more efficiently collecting government’s revenue. What is the status of this agency?

7. Recently, I attended school sports with one of the grand daughters.

During the tug of war she asked me why they had not chosen a specific child who was amply covered (a fat girl) to be their anchor and, when her team lost, she went on to reason why “Fattie” would have made her team a winner.

In explaining why her team lost i pointed out the obvious things that we as lookers on see, the fact that participants were not pulling in unison, how some were pulling perpendicular to the rope and not along the line of the rope, how some were mashing the person in front of them’s feet, how they were bundled together.

Finally, when I commented on “Fattie” I told her that she was in fact a differently challenged student. She paused for a while and replaced “fattie” with the girl’s real name and proceeded to say how well her team had done .
    We have similar teams running this country and consequently with successive administrations we continue to run into these problems but unlike the constraints that my grandaughter might have in choosing her tug-o-war teams’ members, we know them, and know the differently challenged ones (dimwits) well before they get on the ballot.

Please let us choose more competent team members and stop commenting from the sidelines.

For those of who who think that I have learnt anything from gran re name calling, i have learnt nothing and Fumble is still Fumble.

has

8. Many of our problems the solutions are anchored to our inability to execute implementation activities.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Does any one remember as a child going to ” three hours devotion” on Good Friday?
    Well the porcine faeces presented by porcine facies is a great reminder to me. He is worse than listening to Harold Critchlow at Ch Ch Parish Ch in those days.

Reminds me also of the passage from Macbeth……..”it is a tale told by an idiot”…………….”signifying nothing.”

10. Pearls before swine – Another time.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Can’t wait | July 4, 2013 at 10:02 PM |
    “The IMF will help the government to implement the austerity measures which Stinkliar says will not happen today, tomorrow or in the future. Only a matter of time.”

Now be careful with those forthright clairvoyant words of inevitability!
    You might just find yourself the target of attacks like the miller from a shooting gallery of DLP bodyguards and enforcers only too keen to crack your head and if necessary shoot you if you don’t STFU.

This administration, neither does the alternative one, has the political guts to bite the same hard bullet (to be used to kill their own black people) and save this country from its own delusional self destruction.
    This administration is just a bunch of jokey cowards just waiting for the IMF to arrive to blame them for the inevitable hardships and sacrifices that will soon be visited on this population of naïve gullible people living in a temporary fairy world of make believe.

How do you tell a battalion in an army of occupation called the BDF that your services are no longer required because of affordability?

“Can’t wait”, please continue to shine the light along the path of truth even if you have to suffer verbal onslaughts from the likes of ac, CCC, BT, Fractured, tired of nonsense and the users of multiple yellow monikers seeking to keep the people in darkness.

The miller has earned his stripes and many war wounds in the process. Expect to suffer the same!

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 5, 2013 at 1:26 AM |
    “The Central Revenue Authority is suppose to address the issue of more efficiently collecting government’s revenue. What is the status of this agency?”

This agency was supposed to be up and running since April 01, 2013.
    How can 4 different revenue collection agencies be merged into one without the loss of positions, appointed and otherwise?

Where will the same complement of staff be housed? In the same buildings and they are now? If so, how and where would the overheads and other administrative cost savings be achieved to represent the efficiency gains?

Minister Sinckler does not posses the skills set, political or otherwise, to oversee on manage effectively the successful implementation of such radical change to save Bim from fiscal meltdown.
    Only the IMF can achieve this massive task before this beleaguered administration. BTW, the CRA project goes way back to the pre-2008 political administration.

13. Palgrave Court Avatar
    Palgrave Court

Miller
    Sinckler is busy looking for a headquarters building for Central revenue Authority. You know that the first thing need is a big able building cost 50 0r 100 million to house the staff.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Hal Austin @ Crooks will not tell on other crooks and crooks will not give back what was taken to save Barbados.
    Crooks will not charge other crooks with crimes , The long talk will just get longer as we get deeper.
    What these crooks do is for self and not country .
    VOTE THE bitches out ,

15. “…..Crooks will not charge other crooks with crimes , The long talk will just get longer as we get deeper.
    What these crooks do is for self and not country….”
    Absolutely true Plantation…….but then you said ….

“VOTE THE bitches out”
    ….and vote WHO in? …a new set of crooks who will then have a whole new five-year period to scam us?

We have a MUCH BIGGER problem than that….

16. One of BU’s proposals to the PM to take to the Caricom Conference was to get a position on LIAT. Good to hear some noise being made around this matter at the conference.

17. @ David
    Name any issue which was trashed out at such a conference AND WHICH RESULTED IN EFFECTIVE ACTION AS A RESULT.
    ….you keep on grabbing at straws….. 🙂

Did you see how the Egyptian people VOTED over the last week?
    Did you see how the “wuk up bosses” in Brazil voted over the last month?
    How about Australia…?

…..if you wait on politicians to hold “Conferences” to get action – as Plantation says, the only ones who will get screwed are the people….

Where Bushie disagrees with Plantation is his plan to “VOTE THE bitches out,”

Bushie says to seize their unexplained assets and ” Lock their Brass Bowls up”…. 🙂

18. @ Bushie
    We don’t what you feel about yourself but you got a way of putting complex and pertinent circumstances into the simplest and yet profound language even a fool should be able to understand

19. @millerthe……… ,
    I am following the situation in Jamaica as it relates to their IMF Stand By Agreement. The measures are harsh and if these were to be are to be implemented here in Bim, I do not know what is going to happen to our beloved country. I am kinda getting a feel of what the Guyanese and Jamaicans are going through when they come to Bim as illegal immigrants. Things are had right now. We await corrective measures as was done in 1991.

20. How do you tell a battalion in an army of occupation called the BDF that your services are no longer required because of affordability?

yuh don”t tell jackass . the security of a country and its people takes precedent over and above all else….. When hell comes knocking at our doors you miller too old to help defend an in times like these where the losers of the last election want to win by any means necessary it is of the utmost importance the keepers of the gate have a ever watchful eye on the happenings most importantly keeping their forces in tact by any means necessary.

21. True Pachamama. BT is in a class by himself. The only problem is that the implementation of his programme requires the overt intervention of his BBE in the very near future.

22. Or a total failure of the current administration and the one succeeding it leading to drastic action by the BBE through the people. I suspect the critical mass necessary to ignite the solution awaits most of Barbados actually having the scars of suffering directly attributable to BT’s Brass bowls. That suffering is absolutely necessary. Perhaps Fumble intuitively understands that while his minions are building up treasures for transport to other regions. Those who have eyes to see ……

23. Caswell, did you hear incoherent Dennis Clarke on VOB,s 4:30pm, 5:30pm and 6:pm Williams news-makers this afternoon? The chickens are coming home to roost now. Cutting the civil service is imminent. He admitted that there was indeed a meeting at the Ministry of Finance with the various unions on May 8th 2013, (I no Unity was not there). When you Caswell came on brasstacks and alert public servants of such meeting, you were called a street character by Christopher Stinkliar and the other DLP yardfowls. Who is the liar now?

Read Barbados Today, (the online paper)
    Serious threat
    Added by Barbados Today on July 4, 2013.
    Saved under Local News, News Local

dr.delisle worrell gestures Barbados’ foreign exchange problems are so bad that unless urgent action is taken the island will have reserves equivalent to less than four months of imports by year-end.

After raising the alarm in a presentation at last week’s National Consultation On The Economy, the Central Bank of Barbados today publicised what its Governor, Dr. DeLisle Worrell told Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and other officials during the day long discussions, including that the island was on course to lose $450 million in international reserves this year.

Although asserting in the 28-page presentation that “the Barbadian economy is well placed to meet the economic challenges the country faces”, the financial institution said the major problem was foreign exchange.

It is predicting foreign exchange inflows of $5.2 billion this year, but noted this would be negated by the $5.7 billion expected to go out of the country, meaning there will be a projected international reserves loss of $450 million this year.

This therefore mandated a $370 million fiscal adjustment to “maintain adequate foreign exchange reserves and protect the exchange rate”.

“Given the current trajectory, foreign exchange reserves are expected to be equivalent to around 13.8 weeks of imports at end-2013,” the bank said.

“A fiscal adjustment of $370 million is required to reduce imports and preserve the reserve import cover of at least 17.4 weeks.”

The bank added that “in order to grow the economy, we must increase the availability of foreign exchange, because a growing economy will need additional foreign exchange to supply the goods that will be purchased with the extra income”, and that “growth will therefore be led by the sectors that earn and save foreign exchange”.

It attributed a major portion of the challenges to the fact that “the fiscal position has deteriorated since financial year 2011/12, as a shrinking tax base and reduced revenue performance were exacerbated by a slower pace of expenditure adjustment than was originally projected”.

Like Worrell did in a Barbados TODAY interview following the consultation, his presentation to the meeting also emphasised the important of successfully maintaining the current exchange rate, noting that it “lends credibility to economic policy”.

The bank said the advantage of such a policy included protecting the real value of national savings, providing “a strong incentive for investment, and currency fluctuations discourage long term investment”.

It also said a stable currency, protected by adequate foreign exchange reserves, “is evidence of Government’s commitment to necessary fiscal consolidation”.

Central Bank economists said there would also be opportunities to grow the economy and that this would be led by the foreign exchange earning sectors of tourism, international business and financial services, agriculture and agro-processing, and alternative energy production.

The banks formula for economic growth included projects and investment sufficient to attain a targeted of $2.3 billion in investment between now and 2018 period, the near $400 million deficit reduction equivalent to about 4.4 per cent GDP), $1.1 billion in projects and infrastructure over five years, and support services to provide adequate incentives for the private sector.

It also saw a need to improve the availability of equity and long term financing, and the intensification of programmes “to improve work ethic earn Barbados an excellent rating for service”.

To achieve this, however, the island would have to overcome some big stumbling blocks to doing business in Barbados, such as inefficient Government bureaucracy, access to financing, poor work ethic in national labour force, insufficient capacity to innovate, tax rates, and inflation. (SC)

24. It is interesting the fact that although Trinidad has the best performing economy in the Caribbean given its commodity base thoudands felt driven to march against the government today.

Also general secretary of the NUPW, the union which controls the membership in the public sector, has issued a warning that it will not take layoffs sitting down. The rubber is beginning to hit the road it seems.

Why is the government waiting until August to rollout measures? What is the significance of August?

25. Esther Byer-Suckoo,
    You cannot be serious about increased productivity among the Barbadian workers. When people like you and others deliberately interfere in the running of the various government ministries, putting in unqualified party people, sacking individuals who would have been working in a post for more than 5 years, transferring workers when they refuse to bow to political pressure and you expect morale to be very high? You really living on Mars. I don/t know why these Christian school organizers invite you to be the featured speaker to go there and talk crap.

26. David; August might = Cropover over = Budget = Increasing private sector layoffs

27. old onion bags Avatar

From STABLE ….to CRISIS …..in 4 months?……Thunderball, a new James Bond movie……No…Dr.No sounds better

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Can’t wait

I did not hear Dennis “Goat Parts” Clarke: I will wait for the CBC news before I comment.

29. @Can’t Wait

BU has been painting the picture for some time but the yardfowl brigade refuse to see the reality. The economy is sick, the government has a serious cashflow problem and forex reserves is running low.

30. Those who are interested in listening to Jack Warner’s constituency meeting click here:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/jackwarner

31. BU has been painting the picture for some time but the yardfowl brigade refuse to see the reality.

32. The reality is that Bajans are always in denial about the economy.

Barbados cannot sustain a “consumer lifestyle” without continuous economic growth.

Wunna need to stop looking for hi falutin economic solutions and get back to basics.

Start with food import substitution.Grow all you eat.

Tell the BTA to hit de road and promote Barbados. Kiosks in Shopping malls are a good place to start.

33. Caswell,
    You cannot depend on CBC TV to carry such exert. The VOB 9:30 news later tonight might repeat it again.

34. BU,
    Reality will soon hit the yard-fowls just now. Leave them.

35. old onion bags Avatar

If things get that bad….Jonesing boi…..I think we now reading you

36. Some reality just hit me. Imani. Nice song on page 25 of Barbados. Today.
    What a beautiful face.

Back to the real reality.

When the Central bank governor says there is a problem with forex you know Barbados is in trouble.

37. reality just hit me …….thank god it’s Friday ………PARTYY…………

38. My apologies onion bags, for now getting back to you on the ‘Couples’ matter the answer to your question is yes
    The thing is Almond ex staff are highly train people. Mr Ralph Taylor brought in Trainers from all over the World and Barbados Community College to train Almond workers every year

39. old onion bags Avatar

Sorry Mary you lost me…..

40. @ Pachamama…who said to BT
    “……..you got a way of putting complex and pertinent circumstances into the simplest and yet profound language even a fool should be able to understand”
    Thanks Pacha. Most of these issues are indeed VERY simple….If we really understand them.
    But your comment cannot be 100% correct otherwise how do you explain why ac is unable to understand…? 🙂 LOL Ha Ha

@ ac
    …hello ac …yuh sweet little thing yuh!
    You like you got yuh chops set on a BDF man yuh. Yuh very defensive of that organization…

@ Check-it
    Man your précis of Bushie’s program is even more woeful than Miller’s. LOL…
    Our basic problem is that we seriously OVER ESTIMATE the importance of the whims and fancies of us human beings in the overall scheme of things….
    We actually think that the temporary little games that we play here on earth are of cosmic significance…. LOL Ha Ha …
    THEY ARE NOT!
    Unless we come to understand the REAL purpose for the existence of this experience we call life on earth, we will continue to waver and be confounded by the complex, but comparatively irrelevant intricacies of modern day life.

The role of the original designer, engineer and builder of the whole life experience MUST SURELY be a key factor in coming to such an understanding. That entity – the BIG BOSS ENGINEERS (BBE) surely holds the key to unlocking what life is all about….
    …..don’t mind Miller yuh….!

41. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@Hal, we dealing with a gov’t that, from their actions alone, has lost all grasp of economic reality that i really wondering if dey got economic advisors. This gov’t also has a novice PM that struggles to take decisive action in ANYTHING and a novice MOF that ain’t got a clue . The slide started with the first budget in 2008,after the election, where certain taxes and licenses were increased in one fell swoop. This, added to the rising global oil prices ,started to increase the cost of business hence the beginning of the strangulation of this economy. Then in 2010 deep in the throws of the global economic recession this gov’t saw it wise to increase VAT to 17.5%. Now tell me what right thinking gov’t would increase a broad tax like VAT in a recession. The Bdos economy already shrinking you are going to further shrink it just to try to increase revenue in the short term. But you know what, increasing VAT actually reduced the revenues expected to come from it. Now in 2013 the DLP finds itself in a LOSE-LOSE position. On the one hand, they might keep their unrealistic election promise to keep the public sector as it is to further damage this economy or break their election promise and reduce the public sector for the greater economic good but be perceived as liars who knew the state of the economy all along but decided to play politics and HIDE information from the people

@Hal you want DLP gov’t to get moving but the exact opposite is going to happen i.e. do not one DAMN thing. I mean there was supposed to be an ” national economic consulation meeting” that really was the ” national nuff talk ’bout economics” meeting. I ain’t hear Chris Sinckler say anything about his MTFS (or was the $400m problem a BIG implied statement on it that it FAILED)

42. old onion bags Avatar

How many of you know there is a very thin line between madness and genius…..doan say wanna ent know what I talking about…E=Mc2

43. So if we have an economy that is seeing annual income of $3.1 billion and annual expenses of $3.7 billion what is wrong with implementing measures to dampen expenditures? …especially when we clearly have NO INTEREST in increasing productivity?

What exactly is it that gives Barbadians the expectation that they can enjoy sweet life while also taking extended sick leave, overtime pay, bonus payments ….and REDUCED PRODUCTIVITY?

We don’t need politicians , wunna like wunna want magicians yuh.

The only difference between BLP and DLP is in which set of yard fowls take which side of any issue, but the FACT is that unless we find a way to INCREASE our income or REDUCE our expenses our new owners will sometime soon be directing our return to serfdom….

44. BU, Stinkliar picture at the top of the page is irritating me. Please remove him.

45. I have grown to actually like politicians … they are among the most pragmatic of people anywhere … but what you see on the surface is quite the opposite. Before any of you decide to take up politics you must learn to embrace the one signature, indisputable rule of the trade … “Brek fa yaself”

46. There is a true saying, you can hide and buy land but would find it increasingly difficult to hide and work it…………the DLP and their yardfowls who incessantly continue to live in the land of unreality will see very shortly what the word FINANCIAL SHOCK really means.

Politician true to popular belief have dedicated themselves to their laws of attraction of lying continually to taxpayers, we know although their are 22 lawyers and various other ‘professionals’ in the existing parliament, they are all as dumb as a bag of weave (hair)…………have absolutely no clue of what is transpiring in the world and are truly unaware of what is ahead, doubt me? ask the tenth planet………..

47. News flash for Well Well….
    Wunna down there in de US of A will feel it even worse…..

48. News Flash for Bush Tea…………..I am not currently in the US, but guess what, they have passed the worse since the recession has been ongoing since 2001 when yall were still pretending to be world class and first class. The people in the US have already adapted and assimilated………..yall have not even started yet since most people have not even acknowledged that there is a problem on the island…..HAH!

49. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

@Well Well

“yet since most people have not even acknowledged that there is a problem on the island…..HAH!”

By most people you must mean political parties and certain public workers.
    No Bajans realize since late 2008 that we up the creek. But many had hope things would improve. Only reason I see that the DLP got voted back in was they have their party faithful who are placed on constituency councils and in government jobs. Also they campaigned using fear and frightened the public sector into believing voting for BLP would result in alot of them being sent home. Also buying votes and the mysterious missing balot box reported on a transport board bus heading away from a polling station.

I don’t know, but what would happen if public servants salaries were cut. I’m not calling for anyone to be sent home (unless they are real nuisances) that would make things worse. Salaries should be cut, along with allowances, starting with ministers. These are not normal times and operating as such will be suicide, to support this pomp and largess. Cutting their working week could also be an option which the private sector has been using for a while. Certain fat cats need to be made to hunt, work for their dinner. Politicians and permanent secretaries could also be paid based on performance.

At the same time money should be invested in acquiring alternate energy
    self sufficiency using solar ,wind and tidal force from the windward currents.
    Duty and tax should be removed from import of such items.

As much as we like to dismiss agriculture as not being viable for Barbados, I feel we should set aside 1 quarter of the island for agriculture not for export but for local consumption. 166 square miles is 16600 hectares a quarter of which would be 4150 hectares. Bajans don’t like farming so it should be highly mechanized and foreign workers acquired to do the work.
    Oddly enough bajans rush to work on Canadian farms, higher pay I guess.

Bajan businesses need to expand outside of Barbados, and we need to start making outside acquistions and connections in South America, Africa and Asia.

All the above can happen but Bajans need to adopt a different mindset especially the heads charged to run the peoples affairs. A lean, determined, can do mindset.