Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
The intellectual argument that Barbados is in deep economic (and social) crisis has now been conceded by the deniers – those who talk nonsense about the nation punching above its weight and exaggerating the soft influence we have in the region and, the world. Of course, it is all self-praise, the unfortunate outcome of economic ignorance and wishful-thinking.

I have said before, and will repeat again, that: first, the narrative that we have had a period of prosperity in the first decade of the 21st century was a myth built on over-borrowing on both a household and government level, ignoring our inefficient productivity to such an extent that we even believed that life owed us a living.

The second point that needs stressing is one that is in danger of seeping in to the gilded story of our economic prosperity: again, let us concentrate it to the post-independence years, and that truth is that the official myth-making of our economic growth, generally given as three per cent annualised, is, to be polite, crap. Had Barbados had a three per cent growth rate over the last decade, compounded, our post-global recession story would have been totally different. As things stand, we are up to our necks in debt, tourism, the main driver of the economy, is in intensive care and the priest is standing by to perform the last rites, while, in the meantime, relatives are fighting over how to divide up the spoils even before the last breath leaves the body.

Vision:
Barbadian governments, of both colours, have failed to understand the basic lesson of public finance: that if your spending outstrips revenue then you will end up with a deficit. In this sense, it is no different to a normal household; arguments over whether a national budget needs to balance are theoretical. What determines the strategy, however, is reaching a consensus on the kind of society we want to produce. We can be a Brazil, US, China or India, with huge communities of hunger and poverty, while a small group of obscenely wealthy continue to live extravagant lifestyles behind their barricaded gates with their security guards and high-powered rifles.

If we need a fair and just society, something along the Nordic model, then we have to promote that above others; if the model we admire is the Anglo-Saxon one (the US and UK) then say so; or if it is the state-controlled capitalist model a la China, then let us be clear about that. The problem at present is that the DLP government is drifting along without any idea of where it is going and how it is going to get there. Senior governor macroeconomic advisers are known to be great admirers of Canada, but they do not seem to have any knowledge of recent Canadian economic history.

Under Pierre Trudeau Canadian federal taxes increased at an astronomical rate, which, along with high inflation, made Canada a basket case. However, under the Progressive Conservative Brian Mulroney, following Margaret Thatcher in Britain and Ronald Reagan in the US, the newly elected Canadian government embarked on a massive programme of privatisation. Air Canada (1988), PetroCanada (1991), Canadian National Railways (1995) – in all, over two dozens state bodies were privatised, including the air traffic control network. Why is the DLP so reluctant to hold on to a portfolio of corporations that have nothing to do with the core duties of government, apart from making ministers feel important?

Within two years of Paul Martin’s 1995 budget, spending fell by 10 per cent; the government cut defence spending, unemployment benefits, and aid to provincial governments, all once considered untouchable. Another outcome was that Canada experienced a fifteen-year boom which came to a halt only in 2009, when the economy fell in to recession. With these strategic cuts, federal spending as a share of GDP fell by five percentage points to 17 per cent in the five years to 2000. The cuts also allowed the Canadian government to balance its books during the first decade of the 21st century. For utilities and corporations providing socially important and economically strategic services, there can be a golden share giving the government the right to intervene in subsequent policy, including price increases. This is not an economic history of modern Canada, but it is a broad look at a much-admired growth model.

Reforming the Public Sector:
With an approximate 30000 people of working age on the public pay roll, it is obvious this top heavy situation cannot continue for much longer. At least a third of the public sector workforce must be offloaded on to the private sector, and this can only be done by rapidly expanding the private sector, especially the micro, small and medium enterprise sectors. By any analysis, after six years this government should have had a clearer idea of the kind of public sector reforms it would like to see.

First, and there is no way round this, whatever they do will entail a battle with the public sector trade unions; then again, this is a government that has unwritten a Bds$6m debt to the NUPW. What in the name of heaven is a government doing underwriting a debt for a trade union? Not even in the wild days of the Soviet Union was this nonsense done. However, if the government needs ideas to reform the public sector, they should take a brief look at the two obvious departments: the ministry of finance and the prime minister’s office. The ministry of finance has a budget of about Bds$50m, which could easily be reduced by 10 per cent without any impact on the quality of service received by the public. There are a director of finance and economic affairs, and a permanent secretary, both on salaries of $149928, one of those could go; there are five stenographer/typists, a position made redundant by personal computer and other forms of technology; those positions could go and the staff given an opportunity to retrain. There are a further eleven clerical officers, earning about $30000 each, five of those positions could go, saving $150000; there is an entertainment allowance of over $64000, which could be reduced by a system of reimbursements.

The MOF also spends over $233000 on temporary staff, why is this? It smacks of bad management; some of these people should be made permanent staff and the other positions got rid of. There is also a department called the Budget Administration, one of those departments they have simply because they have always done so. Staffed with a deputy permanent secretary on just over $121000 a year, a chief budget analyst on $98000, two senior budget analyst on a total of $$67000 and six budget analysts, grades one and two, each earning nearly $34000 a year. Ideally, the department should be closed, and at best the minister should get rid of the deputy permanent secretary, one of the senior budget analysts and three of the budget analysts. There is also a tax administration section, which comes under the minister, whose work could easily be transferred the Inland Revenue, saving a total of $285000.

In fact, the ministry of finance needs a thorough root and branch clean out, including the VAT depart. This department alone is typical of public sector inefficiency, costing more than they collect in revenue. With 103 staff, including a two principal auditors, ten senior auditors, 21 auditors, 17 tax officers, 15 clerical officers, one maid/messenger, one stenographer/typist and one telephone operator, along with a customs officer grade 0ne, and two customs officers grade two. The VAT department is out of control, and that has nothing to do with the mounting amount of uncollected taxes and the bogus $25000 its pays staff as a so-called plain clothes allowance.

Then, of course, there is the shadow department, the so-called Supervision of the Insurance Industry – whose duties have now been transferred to the Financial Services Commission. The $300000 the department costs should now be savings. If they have all been transferred already, then the FSC should have to explain how it has accommodated the positions of supervisor of insurance, a deputy, an assistant supervisor of pensions, and eight insurance officers, grades one and two. What do these officers do? Who do they supervise? How they supervise them? What are the outcomes?

Space restricts me from giving more details, but we can look at the Central Purchasing Department, General Management and Coordination Services, the Economic and Social Planning Unit, the Statistical Department, the Barbados Competitiveness Program, which costs taxpayers about $380000 a year; then there is the absurdly named Public Investment Unit, costing over $1m a year, whose work must be the most mysterious of all. Scrap it and save $1m a year.

Analysis and Conclusion:
We can also go through every civil service department with a fine tooth comb, if we want to talk about reforms and savings. But, first, there must be intent on making savings and improving efficiencies, in accepting the reality of a small island economy, with no natural resources, no dynamic economic sector, and a public payroll that is overloaded. The simple lesson for Barbados, instead of the arrogance of over-confidence, is that we have got to ready ourselves for a lowering of living standards. If we do not then we are in denial.

Although this message should be preached from every pulpit, every platform, every rum shop, the truth is that it is not as scary as it should be.
In Britain we have had to lower our standard of living, or, in the old terms, tighten our belts: eating out once a week instead of twice; buying own-brand gin instead of more expensive brands; travelling by public transport instead of taking a taxi on those special occasions. When this reality comes home to most Barbadians, including our politicians, then the nation will realise that at best we have about fifteen years to fix the economy, or three parliamentary sessions; failure means being relegated to the bottom tiers of global economies.

Prime Minister Stuart is like some religious denominations, happy preaching other worldliness, while avoiding having a social gospel to deal with the trials and tribulations of this world. He has an escape clause, when it comes to discussions about competence, all he says is that he delegates; but there is no excuse for the inability of the finance minister to devise a workable programme to rescue the economy.

In his formidable book, Aftermath: the Cultures of the Economic Crisis, Professor Castells tells us of new socio-economic formations which will emerge from the aftermath of the global crisis. There will be those business models based on the emerging technology, new cooperative and mutual business formations, a much reduced public sector and a highly organised services sector, mainly around finance and networks of micro-businesses. With some luck, this government will start looking at alternatives to a failed system, of putting young men and women in jobs, by suspending income tax and national insurance for a two-year period for tradespeople taking on apprentices or the private sector offering jobs to non-relatives or the children of close associates. It could do worse than setting the SJPP on a project of bringing some of our great houses back to life, including the Eyrie Great House, some of those abandoned in the Garrison, our Heritage heartland, Sam Lord’s Castle, and many more.

All these are projects that we do not have to wait for Chinese handouts to get working on, employing qualified trades people and trainees across a range of trades, from plumbing and electricians, to designers, architects, and carpenters. As things stand, senior ministers and their advisers are sitting on their hands, doing nothing.
_____
PS: I have no interest in the commercial development of St Lawrence Gap, although I wish the entrepreneurs well. Wrong picture used by the Nation..

140 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Time for the Government to Get Moving”

1. YeS . woman are gods and eve prove that when she singlehandedly made Adam bow down to her, using the god given gift of sex something that men have found hard to resist and men world wide yearn for on a daily and continual basis forever bowing in earnest to women to get a taste of the luscious and once forbidden fruit,

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 6:58 AM |
    “When the BLP stop fooling people that the only quick fix solution are the ones they lay out on the table people would take them seriously….”

That is one of the most ironic paradoxical statements ever made on this blog!

Why don’t you stop beating a dead horse? The BLP is not the governing administration and it is their right to criticize until they are put back in the hot seat of government when they will have to act, not moan and groan and blame from Harry right to Henrietta wrong.

The people rightly or wrongly put back the DLP to find solutions, quick-fix or other wise, to the problems facing the country. The DLP told the people they had the solutions. “Dems Now, Dems Again!”

There will be no laying off of public sector workers, No privatization and No payment for university education.
    Aren’t these the solutions to the problems, ac? Why ask a BLP that can only put on the table proposals that are anathema to what the Dems have committed themselves to maintain?

Wouldn’t you reject them, again?
    Let’s see how smart you are, ac. Instead of cussing the miller and wanting to deport the poor soul why not put on the same table some proposals to deal with the fiscal and economic problems facing this DLP administration and by extension the country.

PS: It’s OK if you get your husband to write on your behalf.

3. dummy miller I already highlited in my above comment two of the problems needed to be tackled and the govt have already implemented measures on tackling those problems using measures that u have made fun of and choose to ignore, BTW the govt not expecting to get any real” and comprehensive advice from a bunch of whiners whose only goal is to lather in self pity and doom until the next election.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 8:30 AM |

We would assume it is you ac who is responding here and not your alter ego husband.

You have highlighted TWO PROBLEMS and you have Not Offered any proposals to form SOLUTIONS to the problems.

Let us repeat what you said:
    “tell me how OSA is going to tackle the high energy cost and the burdening import food bill, some blp yardfowls ignore these problems and believe that the magic solution is found in displacing workers and privatization; never mind that the energy cost and the food import bill would still be high”.

Isn’t the scenario outlined the same scenario the DLP and its yardfowls were highlighting prior to January 2008?
    Remember the COL, COL, COL being job No1, 2 &3?

What’s different now compared to then? Only OSA! The stupid old man whom you made fun off (I heard) when he asked you guys to do some back yard gardening to help with the high food import bill.

Now ac the inflated dummy, what proposals you have to help with the high energy costs and high food import bill that the DLP have failed to implement during the last 5 years? The WTE? The burning of bagasse from imaginary non-existent canes?
    Has the proposed legislation to amend the Electricity Act needed to facilitate the RE transmission and supply been passed in Parliament?

Have you taken OSA’s stupid advice and planted up your garden to grow food, ac?

BTW, ac, OSA is no longer the leader of the BLP Opposition and is a political dead duck. Direct your venom at MAM and her BLP colleagues and stop living in the past. This is 2013, not 2007!

PS: We are still waiting for at least one proposal from you to help achieve the $400 million expenditure cut. What about getting rid of those ML & MP vehicles assigned to public sector employees to help with the energy costs?

5. miller I am not one proposing any cuts so don’t expect me to give you any solutions in that area. my main concerns are the solutions ones which i totally agree with by govt regarding high energy cost and high food import cost needless to say solutions in regards to those problems do not interest you or the other yardflows However i leave the other problems for you and the BLP paling cocks to kick up and down the street with no end in sight,
    BTW when energy cost and fuel cost are tackled efficiently there would be a great reduction in the fiscal debt and not a soul would have lost their job .in the process more likely jobs would have been generated and people would have saved more money. these two burdening and out of control problems are a continuum which weighs heavily on the economy in creating unsustainable debt overall .

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE ac | July 7, 2013 at 7:07 AM |
    YeS . woman are gods and eve prove that when she singlehandedly made Adam bow down to her, using the god given gift of sex something that men have found hard to resist and men world wide yearn for on a daily and continual basis forever bowing in earnest to women to get a taste of the luscious and once forbidden fruit,

AC, YOU EVER HEAR OF A LONELY 17 YEAR OLD BOY CALLED JOSEPH WHEN PRESENTED WITH THE SAME COMMODITY OF WHICH YOU BOAST?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 9:26 AM |
    “miller I am not one proposing any cuts so don’t expect me to give you any solutions in that area”

But it is NOT the miller but the PM who has announced the necessity of the cuts to stave off or defend this country’s currency against a highly probable devaluation in the coming months.

The man has been properly advised by the Governor and as a result he has duly asked for assistance; even from the much maligned private sector and the useless empty-ended BLP.

Help out your friend, nuh! Or are you calling the Governor a fraud or fake in telling the PM he must cut by $400 M or see a currency alignment correction of 3:1 instead of the current 2:1?

8. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

If persons understood the real purpose of sex , the continued lust would cease. Westerns Society ?
    Bah !

9. The problem here is that we need to make short term decisions given the current state of the economy. Both the alternative energy and other programs proposed by government are constructive but the benefit will not impact the economy for the next 3-5 years. The private sector can’t be sending home people and the public service kept intact, it is the private sector which produces. The other challenge for government is that the private sector has been holding strain for the last 5 years and it has sucked up most of its reserve. The other issue is the pressure of a growing deficit on the external position read forex and even the domestic position by holders of bonds/government securities. It is a messy situation, no easy solutions but decisions have to be taken, NOW.

10. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

a c is so myopic , it ain’t funny.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac and the other deniers like Hants and Observer of the real problems facing the country:

Read what David of BU wrote above @ David | July 7, 2013 at 9:40 AM

Digest and understand the gravamen of the situation.
    The alternative to self-inflicted cuts is an imposed haircut across the board to the tune of 50% .

Yes keep on cussing the miller and instead of heeding the warnings from all quarters, both local and foreign, continue to live in NATO (No Action, Talk Only) land.

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dr. The Honourable

I hate to have to correct you, the word is not “myopic”: rather, it is “idiotic”

13. Hmmm-We can make California good-time music in the back seat of my car
    Hmmm-Later I will tell you what it’s like to be a star.
    Now you know I’m not the first one
    And I cannot be the last
    To kiss your apple cheeks
    And run away into your past, but

We’ll have good-time music,
    Electric good-time music,
    California good-time music, hmmm, yeah

14. I do understand short term solutions are necessary but the ones that are being given are catastrophes not solutions and are not going to help but escalated social problems long term.t

15. @ac

There is no palatble solution, we are going to have to pick our poison.

16. Georgie Porgie . David said NO. think of the alternative if the King had found out ! in the meantime he kept both heads intact..

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 10:32 AM |
    “I do understand short term solutions are necessary but the ones that are being given are catastrophes not solutions and are not going to help but escalated social problems long term.t”

So what are these short-term solutions if not ‘the ones being given’?

Give us at least one short-term solution, ac, or be seen as befitting the title given to you by Caswell as the Idiot of BU.

Speak up, inflated dummy or go to the bench reserved for blasted idiots!

18. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Caswell Franklyn | July 7, 2013 at 10:04 AM |
    Dr. The Honourable

I hate to have to correct you, the word is not “myopic”: rather, it is “idiotic”
    ————————————-
    I stand corrected.

19. Dishounarable Doc since u siding withe that nincoompoop wunnabee celebretant also known as the village lawyer Caswelll why haven.t u come up with an original solutiin dumb ass…….

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 2:00 PM |
    “…why haven.t u come up with an original solutiin dumb ass…….”

A perfect case of the pot calling the kettle ‘black’!

21. @ ac | July 7, 2013 at 2:00 PM |
    “…why haven.t u come up with an original solutiin dumb ass…….”

u know miller I do not have to come up with anything . I am not a consultant nor am I on any payroll that would effect my livelihood. . the fact is that your plan and the BLP plans SPELL DISASTER and better left unsaid. a plan for just having a plan is nonsensical and serves no purpose,
    However if I had a business plan that would serve my purpose in these hard economical times when the inflow of money is scarce, I would cut back on expenditure in areas like inventory look for the cheapest contractors to do the infrastructure or repair . maybe shorter workdays , which would save on payroll and also energy, and paid holidays only allowed to employees who have been there for five years or more. of course hiring freeze and a possibility of wages until the economy readjust.
    however for govt . there have a wider net to cast and more individuals to protect. but the govt can start with those overblown subsidies . and collecting the exorbitant amount of taxes due to them by individuals and business. .

22. @ac

You still don’t get it. Picking a fight with the private sector will not do it. The majority of the private sector has no money to pay government any significant cash. If anything the government may have to forgive much of what is owed. At the moment the private sector has little confidence in government anyway. What this protracted crisis has done is to place governments in a very difficult position ie. face the wrath of John Citizen while having to negotiate with the private sector who must be persuaded to take risk in the guava season.

23. david that is the problem everybody feels sorry for those who can make do., but the poor man must always have to pay through the nose . As it is the vat can’t do it alone and it affects those who most likely can’t afford it. let those in the private sector sell off a yacht or two and cut down on their European vacation and start paying what overdue taxes they owe govt. . I beg u that with all their complaining they still going to drive their mercedes and pay for it and continue to live over the top lifestyles living in their palatial mansions a dime would go to repay the govt debt., tell them try that in America. no tears shed here from ac.
    I guess when it comes to confidence it goes both ways and the govt should be prepared to do whatever they have to do . even if it means joining with china as a last resort to get us over the hump. cause the private sector cannot dictate and rule Barbados. holding the country and people hostage because a need of financial control when in times of plenty they wasted as evident now.

24. The private sector is a key stakeholder in the mix economy system we have. It is what it is. Confidence is key and the government has to nurture it, it is what defines leadership.

25. NO! david it takes two to tango and it is crystal clear that”some in the private sector” after years of being giving the red carpet has made a conscientious decision. not to help or give solutions to this govt. the purchase of Almond is one bright spot and a clear message to the private sector that they are not waiting around pussy footing waiting for help. “IF” indeed their are willing to work alongside govt without an “up in your face attitude” the govt would be willing to go that extra mile to please as needs arise, but the bullying from some in the private industry like that of adrians only complicates and destruct and obstruct and helps to erode confidence on both sides.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 6:26 PM |
    “.. the purchase of Almond is one bright spot and a clear message to the private sector that they are not waiting around pussy footing waiting for help.”

Wasn’t the Four Seasons restart with the NIS and IDB leading the financial way to be the fillip to the rekindling of the Barbados economy? Has that happened yet?

Ac, does the government have that kind of money knocking around to not only purchase Almond but to get it up and running to attract visitors?
    If this government can’t even find the money when the month come to pay salaries where would it get money from to bring back Almond to life fit enough to entice UK visitors?

Should have asked Simpson the funeral agency man to take over Almond instead of buying Exxon in the E C.

The distribution and retailing sections in the downstream sector of the oil business is no longer profitable and has no long-term sustainability in the East Caribbean. The risks are too great. That is why all the major players from Mobil to Shell to Texaco and now Exxon have exited the market.
    One major accident and everything done for SOL. That is why the insurance cover, if indeed SOL is fully insured, will be astronomical and significantly inflates the costs of storage, distribution and retailing.
    Expect gasoline and diesel prices to climb in the coming months.

27. see people like u miller political animals and modern day anarchist cannot see any bright spot. whatever the govt does will nevaaaaaaaaaaaevaaaaaaaa plus wunna. so really at about now I don’t believe the govt cares what u like or don’t like. go talk to calamity jane mia. she converse around the same thinking and doom and gloom mentality as u and the other blp yardfowls. or better yet take bush tea advice and leave town. before the titanic sink wunna miserable as asss…hole. good grief….

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 7, 2013 at 7:31 PM |

The question is still before you, ac.
    Where will this administration- which has lost the confidence of the private sector and (with a junk status label) the international credit and lending agencies- get the money from to buy and refurbish Almond even if not Four Seasons?

Why should we trust this administration after the Four Seasons fiasco?

Why not compulsory acquire the property (or is compulsory acquisition only applicable to small man in Bim?) and immediately turn it over to Doyle or some other private sector interest to refurbish it and turn it into their own image whether it be Crane or Sandals or event the miller’s palace of hedonism and gay abandon.
    Oh praise Dionysius with total bacchanalian abandon!

BTW, ac, you felt this spirited pro-government way when OSA and the BLP were running things?

29. Epic failure –THIS DLP GOVERNMENT
    I and others have warned Barbados about this DLP Government . Partisan politics blinded some people into not accepting the truth. This government is and will always be a failure because some of the worst people in Barbados belong to the DLP . Barrow said of these people in the DLP that they were vicious ,clannish, tribalistic , cannibalistic and dangerous. Read Errol Barrow ‘s address to them in 1986 just before he made the Mirror Image speech.

Some of the most clannish and tribalistic people populate the DLP and that is why they support wrong doings of the party because they aint going against the party .–why because they wicked and tell a lot of lies. One of the biggest lies ever told by any Prime Minister in Barbados is when Sandiford stand up at Eastmond Corner in 1991 and said that the economy was batting better than Garfield Sobers. I heard the liar myself. I was there. I was also in the house of Assembly when he made the Like it or Lump it remark. I could not believe it !!!

There is nothing on earth that I dislike more than I dislike that party. Their lies have turned my mind completely from them.

30. The government has a massive PR/communication job to do around this Almond purchase. All of Facebook and social media is questioning the sense in it.

31. Anyone suggesting what they SHOULD do David?
    Don’t you suspect that the problem is that they feel pressured to do SOMETHING…and fast?

The Government people clearly don’t have a clue…..but neither does Miller and his gang,….nor Baffy …..nor ac …and certainly not onions…..(he is best at “pretend fishing”…)

Shiite David, not even Observing has the answers ….why you think he gone so quiet?

Obviously the DEMS feel guilty about being cussed and accused of doing nothing and have decided to DO Almond……simple as that…..!

…..they could always rename some more schools…

32. Bushie wrote “The Government people clearly don’t have a clue”

Wrong for the first time Bushie.

The Government is well aware that there is no industry that can generate forex in the short term better than Tourism.
    That is why they subsidize the industry.

The world is not waiting for Barbados to invent and produce new products or services and it takes a lot of money to start new industries.

Buying Almond and leasing it to an International Branded Resort management company is viable.

33. For all our sake Bushie hopes that you are right about Bushie being wrong… 🙂
    …but unfortunately you are wrong….they have no idea what is going on… And even less about what they can do about it.

Forex Bushie’s behind….. When did that become job number 1?

When out tourist markets are on their way to total chaos what leads you to see increasing tourism plant as a logical use of scarce resources? …are we even near pressed for more space as it is now?

Hants, this is a time to circle the wagons and plan for survival and basics….not to seek to extract more milk from a sick cow…

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

Lets for argument sake let us agree that buying Almond is a good idea. What are they going to use to purchase it? NIS funds? They are not unlimited. Lord knows, no one in their right mind is going to lend them any money at reasonable rates. Of course, you know that it can’t be purchased with Delisle’s new improved notes. We need foreign exchange for that and then we will only have foreign exchange to cover 6 1/2 days of imports.

Hants, would you please stop trying to make his administration look good. If you put lipstick on a pig, it still won’t be pretty.

35. I put lipstick on
    my dog
    it looked pretty
    Freundel Stuart
    needs lip stick
    will it work on him
    yaaaaaaaaaaaagga !

36. David,

After for years, this remains good quality advice for nothing to this government. They can credit BU.

37. @Hal

We will have to keep plugging away at it.

38. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David&Hal

Both parties are too set in their ways with business as usual to listen to meaningfull advice.

Hopefully over the next ten years the new parties who have imbibed the meaningfull advice,will have matured and give the duoply a run for there money….literally.

39. Still a good analysis.

40. Still worth discussing