Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
The intellectual argument that Barbados is in deep economic (and social) crisis has now been conceded by the deniers – those who talk nonsense about the nation punching above its weight and exaggerating the soft influence we have in the region and, the world. Of course, it is all self-praise, the unfortunate outcome of economic ignorance and wishful-thinking.

I have said before, and will repeat again, that: first, the narrative that we have had a period of prosperity in the first decade of the 21st century was a myth built on over-borrowing on both a household and government level, ignoring our inefficient productivity to such an extent that we even believed that life owed us a living.

The second point that needs stressing is one that is in danger of seeping in to the gilded story of our economic prosperity: again, let us concentrate it to the post-independence years, and that truth is that the official myth-making of our economic growth, generally given as three per cent annualised, is, to be polite, crap. Had Barbados had a three per cent growth rate over the last decade, compounded, our post-global recession story would have been totally different. As things stand, we are up to our necks in debt, tourism, the main driver of the economy, is in intensive care and the priest is standing by to perform the last rites, while, in the meantime, relatives are fighting over how to divide up the spoils even before the last breath leaves the body.

Vision:
Barbadian governments, of both colours, have failed to understand the basic lesson of public finance: that if your spending outstrips revenue then you will end up with a deficit. In this sense, it is no different to a normal household; arguments over whether a national budget needs to balance are theoretical. What determines the strategy, however, is reaching a consensus on the kind of society we want to produce. We can be a Brazil, US, China or India, with huge communities of hunger and poverty, while a small group of obscenely wealthy continue to live extravagant lifestyles behind their barricaded gates with their security guards and high-powered rifles.

If we need a fair and just society, something along the Nordic model, then we have to promote that above others; if the model we admire is the Anglo-Saxon one (the US and UK) then say so; or if it is the state-controlled capitalist model a la China, then let us be clear about that. The problem at present is that the DLP government is drifting along without any idea of where it is going and how it is going to get there. Senior governor macroeconomic advisers are known to be great admirers of Canada, but they do not seem to have any knowledge of recent Canadian economic history.

Under Pierre Trudeau Canadian federal taxes increased at an astronomical rate, which, along with high inflation, made Canada a basket case. However, under the Progressive Conservative Brian Mulroney, following Margaret Thatcher in Britain and Ronald Reagan in the US, the newly elected Canadian government embarked on a massive programme of privatisation. Air Canada (1988), PetroCanada (1991), Canadian National Railways (1995) – in all, over two dozens state bodies were privatised, including the air traffic control network. Why is the DLP so reluctant to hold on to a portfolio of corporations that have nothing to do with the core duties of government, apart from making ministers feel important?

Within two years of Paul Martin’s 1995 budget, spending fell by 10 per cent; the government cut defence spending, unemployment benefits, and aid to provincial governments, all once considered untouchable. Another outcome was that Canada experienced a fifteen-year boom which came to a halt only in 2009, when the economy fell in to recession. With these strategic cuts, federal spending as a share of GDP fell by five percentage points to 17 per cent in the five years to 2000. The cuts also allowed the Canadian government to balance its books during the first decade of the 21st century. For utilities and corporations providing socially important and economically strategic services, there can be a golden share giving the government the right to intervene in subsequent policy, including price increases. This is not an economic history of modern Canada, but it is a broad look at a much-admired growth model.

Reforming the Public Sector:
With an approximate 30000 people of working age on the public pay roll, it is obvious this top heavy situation cannot continue for much longer. At least a third of the public sector workforce must be offloaded on to the private sector, and this can only be done by rapidly expanding the private sector, especially the micro, small and medium enterprise sectors. By any analysis, after six years this government should have had a clearer idea of the kind of public sector reforms it would like to see.

First, and there is no way round this, whatever they do will entail a battle with the public sector trade unions; then again, this is a government that has unwritten a Bds$6m debt to the NUPW. What in the name of heaven is a government doing underwriting a debt for a trade union? Not even in the wild days of the Soviet Union was this nonsense done. However, if the government needs ideas to reform the public sector, they should take a brief look at the two obvious departments: the ministry of finance and the prime minister’s office. The ministry of finance has a budget of about Bds$50m, which could easily be reduced by 10 per cent without any impact on the quality of service received by the public. There are a director of finance and economic affairs, and a permanent secretary, both on salaries of $149928, one of those could go; there are five stenographer/typists, a position made redundant by personal computer and other forms of technology; those positions could go and the staff given an opportunity to retrain. There are a further eleven clerical officers, earning about $30000 each, five of those positions could go, saving $150000; there is an entertainment allowance of over $64000, which could be reduced by a system of reimbursements.

The MOF also spends over $233000 on temporary staff, why is this? It smacks of bad management; some of these people should be made permanent staff and the other positions got rid of. There is also a department called the Budget Administration, one of those departments they have simply because they have always done so. Staffed with a deputy permanent secretary on just over $121000 a year, a chief budget analyst on $98000, two senior budget analyst on a total of $$67000 and six budget analysts, grades one and two, each earning nearly $34000 a year. Ideally, the department should be closed, and at best the minister should get rid of the deputy permanent secretary, one of the senior budget analysts and three of the budget analysts. There is also a tax administration section, which comes under the minister, whose work could easily be transferred the Inland Revenue, saving a total of $285000.

In fact, the ministry of finance needs a thorough root and branch clean out, including the VAT depart. This department alone is typical of public sector inefficiency, costing more than they collect in revenue. With 103 staff, including a two principal auditors, ten senior auditors, 21 auditors, 17 tax officers, 15 clerical officers, one maid/messenger, one stenographer/typist and one telephone operator, along with a customs officer grade 0ne, and two customs officers grade two. The VAT department is out of control, and that has nothing to do with the mounting amount of uncollected taxes and the bogus $25000 its pays staff as a so-called plain clothes allowance.

Then, of course, there is the shadow department, the so-called Supervision of the Insurance Industry – whose duties have now been transferred to the Financial Services Commission. The $300000 the department costs should now be savings. If they have all been transferred already, then the FSC should have to explain how it has accommodated the positions of supervisor of insurance, a deputy, an assistant supervisor of pensions, and eight insurance officers, grades one and two. What do these officers do? Who do they supervise? How they supervise them? What are the outcomes?

Space restricts me from giving more details, but we can look at the Central Purchasing Department, General Management and Coordination Services, the Economic and Social Planning Unit, the Statistical Department, the Barbados Competitiveness Program, which costs taxpayers about $380000 a year; then there is the absurdly named Public Investment Unit, costing over $1m a year, whose work must be the most mysterious of all. Scrap it and save $1m a year.

Analysis and Conclusion:
We can also go through every civil service department with a fine tooth comb, if we want to talk about reforms and savings. But, first, there must be intent on making savings and improving efficiencies, in accepting the reality of a small island economy, with no natural resources, no dynamic economic sector, and a public payroll that is overloaded. The simple lesson for Barbados, instead of the arrogance of over-confidence, is that we have got to ready ourselves for a lowering of living standards. If we do not then we are in denial.

Although this message should be preached from every pulpit, every platform, every rum shop, the truth is that it is not as scary as it should be.
In Britain we have had to lower our standard of living, or, in the old terms, tighten our belts: eating out once a week instead of twice; buying own-brand gin instead of more expensive brands; travelling by public transport instead of taking a taxi on those special occasions. When this reality comes home to most Barbadians, including our politicians, then the nation will realise that at best we have about fifteen years to fix the economy, or three parliamentary sessions; failure means being relegated to the bottom tiers of global economies.

Prime Minister Stuart is like some religious denominations, happy preaching other worldliness, while avoiding having a social gospel to deal with the trials and tribulations of this world. He has an escape clause, when it comes to discussions about competence, all he says is that he delegates; but there is no excuse for the inability of the finance minister to devise a workable programme to rescue the economy.

In his formidable book, Aftermath: the Cultures of the Economic Crisis, Professor Castells tells us of new socio-economic formations which will emerge from the aftermath of the global crisis. There will be those business models based on the emerging technology, new cooperative and mutual business formations, a much reduced public sector and a highly organised services sector, mainly around finance and networks of micro-businesses. With some luck, this government will start looking at alternatives to a failed system, of putting young men and women in jobs, by suspending income tax and national insurance for a two-year period for tradespeople taking on apprentices or the private sector offering jobs to non-relatives or the children of close associates. It could do worse than setting the SJPP on a project of bringing some of our great houses back to life, including the Eyrie Great House, some of those abandoned in the Garrison, our Heritage heartland, Sam Lord’s Castle, and many more.

All these are projects that we do not have to wait for Chinese handouts to get working on, employing qualified trades people and trainees across a range of trades, from plumbing and electricians, to designers, architects, and carpenters. As things stand, senior ministers and their advisers are sitting on their hands, doing nothing.
_____
PS: I have no interest in the commercial development of St Lawrence Gap, although I wish the entrepreneurs well. Wrong picture used by the Nation..

140 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Time for the Government to Get Moving”

1. Riots in the land…………can’t argue with your opinion on the above.

2. @Riots in de land!!!

This matter of creating a nexus to S.America has been discussed before. Food can be imported cheaper than from the traditional channels in Europe and N. America but we have this issue of packaging in Spanish/Portuguese which we have never shown the will to conquer.

3. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

We could start basic spanish in primary school, don’t know why we don’t after all we are surrounded by many spanish speaking states. We could also get agreements from the latin american manufacturers to put english labeling. After all it would be catering to a customer which means sales for them.

4. @Hal

Thanks for the recommendation of the book Aftermath:The Cultures of the Economic Crisis. Definitely recommended reading.

5. David “we have this issue of packaging in Spanish/Portuguese”.

South American countries export food to the USA and Canada.
    The same food with the “North American English and French” can be exported to Barbados.

But I still say grow your own.

6. @ David
    No problem. See the governor of the central bank and now the government are thinking along new lines.
    Better late than never.

7. @Hants

The issue is thst even if we wanted to access cheaper food in S.America the distribution (and retail) is controlled by the hegemonist Trinidad.

8. @Hal

There is nothing the a burgeoning deficit to bring a sober reality. Especially with declining forex and an awakening to the abuse of the NIS scheme.

9. @ David

But why has it taken the clever Barbadians, with their ‘excellent’ educational system six years to work out that the economy is in serious trouble and the nation in decline.
    And what about that sociologically illiterate speech by Byer-Suckoo? The people in St George rejected her and this joker of a prime minister brought her back to tell a nation of Christians that they are under-producing.
    Religion has nothing to do with it. What about Christians in the US and Germany and elsewhere?
    Barbadians are underproducing, which is a different matter. I cry for the poor quality of public debate in Barbados.

10. Apparently it is the modus of the DLP to choose the dumbest of females to represent their interests…………intelligent females with free independent thought will never be looked upon favorably by these bunch of sexist unintelligent fools. They continue to live in the 1950s, but to my delight that will continue to be their undoing.

11. @Hal

The answer to your question why so long to get on the same page can be found in the book you recommended on page 7, last paragraph.

“The crisis, its conflicts, and its treatment are always social processes. And these social processes, as all others, are enacted and shaped by the interest, values, beliefs, ans strategies of social actors. This is to say, when a system does not reproduce its logic automatically, there are attempts to restore it to its former state, as well as projects to reorganize a new system on the basis of a new set of interests and values. The ultimate outcome is often the result of conflicts and negotiations between standard-bearers of these different logics.”

12. @ Well Well
    …you would do well well to mind your own business and leave out Bushie’s women…. First it was Islandgal and now The good Doc….

“……intelligent females with free independent thought”
    LOL Ha Ha ….
    ……Is this what we can call a multiple oxymoron?

Wait!
    Did we not vote to ban Well Well from BU David…??!! 🙂
    Where is democracy when you need it…?
    …skippa, you like you is a dictator yuh…

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

CONSIDER Revelation Chapter 18

THE WORLD IS EXPERIENCING A FORETASTE OF THIS COMING EVENT.

Revelation Chapter 18: The Fall of Babylon

1 And after these things I saw another angel come down from heaven, having great power; and the earth was lightened with his glory.

2 And he cried mightily with a strong voice, saying, Babylon the great is fallen, is fallen, and is become the habitation of devils, and the hold of every foul spirit, and a cage of every unclean and hateful bird.

3 For all nations have drunk of the wine of the wrath of her fornication, and the kings of the earth have committed fornication with her, and the merchants of the earth are waxed rich through the abundance of her delicacies.

4 And I heard another voice from heaven, saying, Come out of her, my people, that ye be not partakers of her sins, and that ye receive not of her plagues.

5 For her sins have reached unto heaven, and God hath remembered her iniquities.

6 Reward her even as she rewarded you, and double unto her double according to her works: in the cup which she hath filled fill to her double.

7 How much she hath glorified herself, and lived deliciously, so much torment and sorrow give her: for she saith in her heart, I sit a queen, and am no widow, and shall see no sorrow.

8 Therefore shall her plagues come in one day, death, and mourning, and famine; and she shall be utterly burned with fire: for strong is the Lord God who judgeth her.

9 And the kings of the earth, who have committed fornication and lived deliciously with her, shall bewail her, and lament for her, when they shall see the smoke of her burning,

10 Standing afar off for the fear of her torment, saying, Alas, alas, that great city Babylon, that mighty city! for in one hour is thy judgment come.

11 And the merchants of the earth shall weep and mourn over her; for no man buyeth their merchandise any more:

12 The merchandise of gold, and silver, and precious stones, and of pearls, and fine linen, and purple, and silk, and scarlet, and all thyine wood, and all manner vessels of ivory, and all manner vessels of most precious wood, and of brass, and iron, and marble,

13 And cinnamon, and odours, and ointments, and frankincense, and wine, and oil, and fine flour, and wheat, and beasts, and sheep, and horses, and chariots, and slaves, and souls of men.

14 And the fruits that thy soul lusted after are departed from thee, and all things which were dainty and goodly are departed from thee, and thou shalt find them no more at all.

15 The merchants of these things, which were made rich by her, shall stand afar off for the fear of her torment, weeping and wailing,

16 And saying, Alas, alas, that great city, that was clothed in fine linen, and purple, and scarlet, and decked with gold, and precious stones, and pearls!

17 For in one hour so great riches is come to nought. And every shipmaster, and all the company in ships, and sailors, and as many as trade by sea, stood afar off,

18 And cried when they saw the smoke of her burning, saying, What city is like unto this great city!

19 And they cast dust on their heads, and cried, weeping and wailing, saying, Alas, alas, that great city, wherein were made rich all that had ships in the sea by reason of her costliness! for in one hour is she made desolate.

20 Rejoice over her, thou heaven, and ye holy apostles and prophets; for God hath avenged you on her.

21 And a mighty angel took up a stone like a great millstone, and cast it into the sea, saying, Thus with violence shall that great city Babylon be thrown down, and shall be found no more at all.

22 And the voice of harpers, and musicians, and of pipers, and trumpeters, shall be heard no more at all in thee; and no craftsman, of whatsoever craft he be, shall be found any more in thee; and the sound of a millstone shall be heard no more at all in thee;

23 And the light of a candle shall shine no more at all in thee; and the voice of the bridegroom and of the bride shall be heard no more at all in thee: for thy merchants were the great men of the earth; for by thy sorceries were all nations deceived.

24 And in her was found the blood of prophets, and of saints, and of all that were slain upon the earth.

14. @ GP
    Bushie did not wish to go into such grim detail for Well Well….but if you insists…..

15. Bush Tea……………..you really need to come out of the bush more often and look around you, it’s a brave new world obviously it has passed you by.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUSHIE
    As you know I believe the Bible, and sincerely believe that the events described in Revelation will occur some day.

I also believe Amos 3:7 which states ” Surely the Lord GOD will do nothing, but he revealeth his secret unto his servants the prophets.”

At no time in history has there been leading nearly every country simultaneously the conglomerate of betzpaenics that we see today. It is clear that this can easily lead to the chaos described in Rev 18 without intervention of God. But God is warning us even though we prefer not to heed.

The herd can .cuss me now, but this is what I believe. WINDOW DRESSING TALK WILLNOT DO

17. That bible is going to bury GP and Bush Tea too.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The truth of Amos 3:7 can be traced throughout the Bible, from Adam, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Jacob, Joseph and on and on. Men of faith who seek to follow God are told, or are able to discern what is happening about them. and what it means.

In contrast, the faithless and apostates, will scoff and mock. But they mocked Noah, and Lot, and the prophets too.

19. Barbadians take note. This is path on which are expected to trod. “Riots in de land”
    Two-edged sword
    Added by Barbados Today on July 5, 2013.
    Saved under Local News, News Local
    pmstuartanddelisleworrell

PM Freundel Stuart and Dr. Delisle Worrell.

A new strategy to fix the Barbados economy and spur growth is threatening Government’ pledge not to send home public servants.

But even if the Freundel Stuart Administration sticks to its guns and says no to civil service retrenchment, it “will have to” enforce $233.7 million in cuts in public sector pay, money spent on goods and services, and funding to state agencies and statutory bodies.

That’s central to the recommendations in the draft Barbados Growth and Development Strategy 2013-2020 discussed at the recent economic consolation and which is now generating debate in economics fraternity.

The 141-page document was prepared by the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs in collaboration with the Central Bank of Barbados, government ministries and select departments and in consultation with the Barbados Private Sector Association and labour representatives.

While Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is on record as agreeing with a recommendation from Central Bank of Barbados Governor Dr. DeLisle Worrell that there needs to be a $400 million adjustment in spending, the strategy document was more specific in its proposals, many of which would affect the public sector.

Measures which it said “will have” to be implemented first included a $87 million reduction in money now spent on goods and services, $80.6 million less spent on subsidies and transfers, and a $66.4 million cut in public sector personal emoluments.

“During the first year of the strategy the main adjustments will be on the expenditure side where it is estimated that a $295.3 million dollar reduction in spending will have to be made,” the new strategy recommended.

“To achieve this, the bulk of cuts will have to come from non interest recurrent expenditure to the tune of an estimated $233.7 million of which includes personal emoluments, goods and services, and subsidies and transfers.

“By front loading the expenditure adjustments, government as shown in 2014/2015 and onwards do not have to make any major amendment,” it added.

That was not all, however, since the strategy also advised government to focus on other expenditure cuts, including having ministries remove programmes “that are no longer needed or not seen as priority”, and “containing the growth in public sector employment”.

Other recommendations were: * Reduce the operation cost of ministries and statutory bodies by 30 to 50 per cent through the aggressive use of renewable energy for electricity generation, and through the infusion of appropriate technology.” * Seek to merge government departments and entities that are carrying out similar functions or serving the same interest. * Keep caps on the transfers to the statutory boards, statutory corporations and government owned companies, such as the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Transport Board, Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation and the University of the West Indies. * Reduce transfers to levels that will maintain the operations of state owned entities while yet forcing them to be more efficient and self financing. * Seek to reduce spending to the UWI and QEH through the use of special mechanisms that will helped these agency to be more self sufficient in terms of their financing. This would include special education and health funds to be financed by government and the private sector.

The experts suggested that given the serious fiscal hole Barbados was now in, government had little choice but to implement the recommended changes.

“To achieve these fiscal targets, there have to be significant corrections on the expenditure side given the current weaknesses in revenue performance and the not so positive outlook for growth in the short term. In this regard, cuts will have to be made to current expenditures, primarily wages and salaries, goods and services, and transfers and subsidies,” the document stated.

“It is estimated that to bring the deficit down to about 4.7 per cent of GDP, from its current position, current spending will have to be cut by over $290 million. Give our debt service obligations, this adjustment will have to be found in the other categories … to achieve this adjustment, serious policy and consideration has to be given to a number of structural issues.” (SC)

20. Yeah, yeah…….and when you find out one day hopefully before you leave the earth that black females are the true and living gods what are you going to do?

21. The above post was meant for the heathen Bush Tea and GP the misled.

22. @Well Well

It is too much to ask that we respect the faith of others and move on? Why the incessant need to start cock fights?

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

well well

i have long discovered that black females are DEFINITELY NOT the true and living gods

24. GP………..that is because you do not know what you do not know, you are going by the dictates of a white person written bible of fairy tales and fables handed to you and you have no proof of it’s origins or the truth behind the scam, it is sad when black males are so blind that they will never be able to see and out of all the races are the most brainwashed to the truth………….i know you are more comfortable with someone old white guy with flowing robes as your god, but forget it, the truth is coming out and cannot be stopped………..as i said i sincerely hope before you and the sexist bush tea leaves this earth that your eyes will be opened and you can eat those words, there is so much information out there about the truth, information age remember, yet black males continue to keep themselves and their race ignorant to what is happening. Sad state of affairs.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHATEVER YOU SAY WELL WELL
    i have long discovered that black females are DEFINITELY NOT the true and living gods

26. GP……….you discovered but can’t prove, not much of a discoverer are you, you will be buried still ignorant.

27. @well well

Last warning.

28. David warning about what? I am not here to cuddle and look for friends.

29. @ DLP (formerly CBC) TV | July 5, 2013 at 9:58 PM |

Excellent analysis, my friend. I would add that the economy was made worse when it was on auto pilot during the many months of David Thompson’s illness. The DLP cabinet knew that DT was not coming back but this loser we now have for a PM who was put in charge declared that he was only keeping house. Plus all you heard from DT before his illness was “we will wait and see what happens”. So in reality any corrective measures that HAD to be taken were never taken.

30. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

When are we going to see this 141 page document?

31. David warning Well Well
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    Not good for David
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    David related to Dennis Johnny
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

32. @Hal et al
    Here is another quote from the book:

The collective problems of American [Barbadian] society are far too numerous and interlocking to be solved through individual efforts. Yet there is no trust in collective effort, when all institutions are perceived as corrupt, ineffectual, or both. The perceived inability to create institutions that could be trusted was a cause of the economic crisis. The crisis has reinforced this lack of trust, not as an aftermath but as a transformation of an economic crisis into crisis of democracy.

33. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@david
    How do we regain trust in collective effort?

@the dummy
    The question isn’t when we will see it. The question is when/if action will be taken based on it.

Trinidad had their march. Let’s see where this is going

Just observing

34. Back to my thesis that the only socially responsible option for the DLP government in seeking to reduce expenditure drastically (and mainly from the pockets of public servants) is to effect an across the board cut of salaries and wages of the necessary percentage (ie. 8, 10 or 15% ? or whatever).

Such cuts do not now appear to be possible, given the legislation passed by the BLP government to make cuts in public sector emoluments unconstitutional.

The question then becomes how can the Government legally make such cuts. The easy answer is to pass another law that allows exemptions in the Act. But of course that is impossible in a 16-14 house. They need 21 or so votes to pass such a resolution. So back to the drawing board. But could enough BLP parliamentarians be shamed or at least be coerced into backing such a constitutional resolution? You say hardly likely?

But suppose the Government held a referendum of public servants and asked them all which they would prefer; for 6000 public servants to be sent home? or for all public servants to suffer a temporary reduction in their emoluments? It would also be pointed out that all random members of all grades would be equally subject to job cuts if most public servants agreed to the job cuts rather than salary cuts. A massive PR campaign would be conducted, where all the various aspects of the problems and possible solutions would be presented to the people along with the likely effects of each option.

Might it not be possible that the referendum might result in a majority opting for an across the board salary cut? If so, it would be a bold BLP parliamentarian that would vote for job cuts and so go against the wishes of the majority of public servants and the general public.

If the majority chooses job cuts then too bad for them and us. IMF and imminent devaluation would be staring us in the face along with a downwardly spiraling economy.

The dread disclosures in that consultation report would not have seen the light of day if things were not much worse than the governor let on. Trust me.

Jus Dreamin.

35. Simplistic logic suggest that laying off civil servants in Barbados is not a good idea. They buy goods and services and pay tax thereby helping the economy.

Unemployed people have very little to contribute to the economy and deplete their savings and anyone who helps support them while they are jobless.

36. @Observer(…)

According to the author:

History cannot continue a social progress without collective efforts. Are we doomed to see history transformed into a network of mutually reinforcing crises? The need to understand the pattern of history is much stronger than a opinion or mood. It forms the basis for a sense of predictability in life. This conservative instinct, in the pre-political sense, which is necessary for survival and adaptability in a world of loss and change.

Although the author does not frontally answer your question one senses his position is that through quantitative data we (collectively) have to see a pattern to assure a level of predictability which is comfortable for individuals and allows us to avoid crises. Hey, it is another view.

37. Job cut or salary cut …
    … or Devaluation …!
    Who voting for wha
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

38. From the time the DLP came to power, I knew that here is where we would end up –in dep shit. Recession or no recession the DLP does this all the time. It is written. It is also written that the BLP always rescues Barbados.What Barbados needs is creative intelligence

The only person that can pull us out of this situation is OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR
    With able assistance from CLYDE MASCOLL and DR. ESTWICK )who was due to join to BLP in 2008) , we can do better.

If the majority of members of the house support Mr. Arthur as the Prime Minister, the government can change without an election. Arthur could then create his own Cabinet that could include some DLP PARLIAMENTARIANS—The idea of the Politics of Inclusion would now be complete and a real Government of National Unity would now be realized

Owen Seymour Arthur is one of the most creative economist/politician/Prime Minister/Finance Minister in the history of Barbados. This DLP government is the worst government in the history of Governments –by the way—

39. Sandy raise he salary by eight percent …
    Frundal ain’ raise he one yet
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | July 6, 2013 at 7:07 PM
    ” Simplistic logic suggest that laying off civil servants in Barbados is not a good idea.”

Simplistic logic also demands that a government cannot continue to pay civil servants by a pyramidal technique of borrowing buttons from Peter to pay Paul in cash.

Was it a good idea to layoff workers in the private sector who are the productive bees in the economic hive?
    Do you really feel if the productive workers- either those in the beehive or in the cane fields- are decimated do you think the drones or Queen or the factory workers will survive once the pollen or the honey or even the cane sucrose runs out?
    Think, man!

41. Of course after several cycles there is destruction.

42. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    LAY OFF PROFITS …!
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 6, 2013 at 7:38 PM |
    “Of course after several cycles there is destruction.”

That’s heavy, real heavy stuff! Too philosophically heavy for the likes of even a Bushman or even a Zoe or GP. Just think of the precession of the ages.

Maybe a Hindu on the blog can shed some Light about the role of Shiva singing his ‘bhajans’.

44. Barbados needs you Owen
    Dont despair because of the result of the last BUY-ELECTION …
    We need some one in the mould of Tom Adams, Errol Barrow and Owen Seymour Arthur/
    Freundel Suart is not it . Barbadian Society demands a Prime Minister who is hands on and amenable, meeting the press and slinging it out with them etc. The dowdy aloof and low public profile style of Stuart is not suited for this Society. That is the stark reality rather you want to accept it or not. The public out there who suffering dont care nothing about the ignorant talk from a nondescript prime minister Stuart, they want to see progress.

45. Lay off the price of Eclipse White Rum ..!
    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

46. Miller;
    My readings of the Bushman and his BBE suggests that he knows all about cycles of precession, destruction and recovery from destruction and even of Shiva singing his bhajans. Zoe and GP give no hint of such knowledge in their copious writings. The God of Israel might not have revealed such to them except as extrapolated from the writings on the dreams in Revelation.

47. Woman are like Gods and can be bitches

48. Of interest – and we have discussed before on BU – is the reason given for the crisis we find ourselves.

There was a form of capitalism that was ‘dynamic as it was unsustainable because of the mismatch between its exponential capacity to create fictitious value and its institutional ability to manage its relentless expansion’.

Of course we know to whose benefit.

49. Barbados needs Owen……………………tell me how OSA is going to tackle the high energy cost and the burdening import food bill, some blp yardfowls ignore these problems and believe that the magic solution is found in displacing workers and privatization; never mind that the energy cost and the food import bill would still be high and people would still be belly aching about those problems plus another thousand or more unemployed seeking govt assistance increasing the fiscal debts thousand fold. When the BLP stop fooling people that the only quick fix solution are the ones they lay out on the table people would take them seriously as of now most economists would tell you that the carribbean islands need to take a hard look at how they manage their debt and one of the many drags on their fiscal debt is food cost and high fuel cost, until the BLP are honest enough and forthright on how they would tackle these issues they are just a bunch of whiners with a horse and pony show with no real meaningful solution to solving the economic problems.