Submitted by Douglas
Patricia Alfonso-Dass, President of the BHTA

Please check the statistics below that I got earlier today from the Caribbean Tourism Organisation.  For ease of scrutiny, Barbados is highlighted in green and St. Lucia is in red. Also look at the % market share and the decline in arrivals this year from the UK for both countries.

Actually, so far this year, our market share has increased, while St. Lucia’s has declined. These stats need no analysis, they are clear. Barbados is ahead of St. Lucia vis-à-vis all arrivals, including those from the UK.

So, I really do not know where Mia Mottley, Clyde Mascoll,  Mrs.Patricia Affonso-Dash from the BHTA, and Mr. Omniscience, aka Peter Wickham, got their figures. They have been telling Barbadians that we are slipping to St. Lucia, and that St. Lucia’s arrivals from the UK are growing by leaps and bounds.

In fact, Wickham stated emphatically the last two Mondays that he was on VOB’s Brass Tacks call-in programme, that all the other tourist destinations in the Eastern Caribbean were doing better than Barbados. We had reached our nadir. Well, check for yourself. Statistics don’t lie, political prostitutes do.

Stat Table (PDF format)

101 responses to “Mottley, Mascoll, Affonso-Dash, Wickham: Liar Liar Feet on Fire!”

1. well if part of the answer is new plant or upgrading of plant quality how do we get this done. David and others say government must lead, so how does it lead on new plant and/or plant upgrades?

2. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

The hoteliers of this island work on the belief that because they are in part providers of Foreign funds that the world must revolve around them and they are to have an open treasury for their access, these same hoteliers have been and continue to be the recipients of much help from govt but the time is right that they stop hoarding these funds for their personal use in overseas bank accounts.
    How can a govt be seen to be giving a hotelier a $ 1 mil dollars when the same hotelier has an offshore account of US $ 2.6 mil, there is something seriously wrong with this approach.

3. And to add insult to injury, they refuse to use any of the millions they make enjoy and boast about to even market the island or their hotels as they really should be marketed, like sandy lane, crane and a few other do…………bajans who do not live outside have no idea what some of them get up to, yet all they do is complain and expect taxpayers money to fund them for the next couple centuries………yall really need to get a life.

4. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Well well, we’ll said much like the Loveridge’s, Capaldi’s Dass’s Seale’s of this industry why is it the same hand to mouth few all always wanting govt money?
    Why do we never hear Mr Doyle at the Crane, Mr Wilkie at Sandy Lane, Mr Schofield at Royal Westmoreland the courtyard the Hilton running with hands outstretched begging for govt to give them money, does it have anything to do with the fact that all of the above mentioned operations spend their own time effort and money marketing their own properties with excellent success, it is only the lazy ass ones who have nothing better to do that to write a load of crap and not get up off their combined asses and get creative and market their properties, if they can’t be bothered to put in the effort step aside let the Mr Doyle’s the Mr Schofield’s the Mr Morphet’s get the job done positively and we’ll without a cent of taxpayers monies being paid to them to end up in overseas offshore bank accounts.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am against putting anymore taxpayers money into tourism.

Some of these Hoteliers want to use The Barbados Treasury as their private ATM.

They are Hotels in Barbados doing very well because of very good Management and staff.

The Crane, Accra Beach Hotel, Sandy Lane spring to mind readily. Extremely proactive Management.

The cap in hand fellas I cant take.

6. Give us a Break…………from what i know these complainers have ulterior motives, they can get funding for tourism projects and plant upgrades from entities outside of Bim who have billions at their disposal and willing to invest, all they need is a really good business plan and that is doable. North America and Europe are littered with venture capitalists. The leeches have been sucking the taxpayers on the island for so long they just do not want to stop, it is up to taxpayers and the government to let them continue to suck the island dry or let them find the funding that is available, you will see how quickly they find the money………at this time, enough is really and truly enough.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have made the point that certain people come on this blog to deliberately distort the truth about Tourism in Barbados and to pressure the Government so that they might the $500million Mia and Owen promised them.

In that way they can buy more Yachts to put in the Careenage, more BMW’s, send their children to finishing school in Switzerland, etc.

8. Carson………..now all you have to do is convince the present administration and opposition that it has always been their intentions and they have been getting away with it for decades in Barbados.

9. Carson…………..as a matter of fact, i know the venture capital world pretty well, so don’t be one bit surprised if they have been getting money from venture capitalist in Europe or North America and still taking money from the taxpayers purse in Bim because the governments don’t do their homework or protect the taxpayers, that would certainly explain a lot of things and answer many questions that people have been asking for years.

10. @Carson

you are correct. they want to do like how the sugar planataion owners suck the agricltral credit bank and later the bnb. Ticks some of them are.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I recall when Errol Barrow used some of the funds from the Agricultural Credit Bank to help build the QEH hospital, they were livid, never forgave him for it.

12. Haha some here are too funny. The CTO says we are down in April by 12.1% whilst St.Lucia is up 1.4%, yet we hear people claim others are trying to distort the facts. Look piss in muh pocket do!! I would love to hear about visitor spend, because all this denial of the IMF will surely have to be proved shortly.

13. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

There are two types of hoteliers the Loveridge’s and the Doyle’s I leave the rest to common sense to work out who’s opinion to value and trust and who has a proven successful track record, we can only learn for someone who has has success to report about we can learn nothing from a failed effort other than to learn how to fail some more like the failure.

We have to get past the mind set that govt is there to pay these fellows good times and fun filled excursions of fancy, it is not corruption and theft as usual as was the case with Lynch and the BLP, we serious about Barbados and the well being of Barbadians and it cannot be all for some with hotel operations and none for many Watersports operators and none for vendors none for Bars and Restaurants or none for Attractions.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson, is against putting any more money in tourism but the hotel that employs/employed him is so well run they had to beg for taxpayers monies.
    TIRF Funds dispersed:

04. 06.2009 – $535,508.00
    18.11.2009 – $307,714.96

Our small hotel in 25 years has never accepted any Government subsidies.

What sort of new car did you buy Carson?

15. @Well Well

Do you understand what is a venture capitalist?

Do you understand how a venture capitalist makes money in a deal?

How would local hotels be able to borrow from foreign markets and not hide the fact?

16. David……..very easily, i deal with venture capitalist all the time…..here is a scenario from a friend of mine dealing with venture capitalists in North America, he did not even have status at the time, but because he had the business registered there and was in one of their databases, he also had an awesome business plan, he got money not only to do business in North America but also Barbados. Venture Capitalist only want to know they can get a return on their money and pull out anywhere between a 3-5 year period, it’s not rocket science. The only reason I know about it is because i was close to the situation……….how would someone in Bim know about it unless they were there?

17. @Well Well

Surely you are aware venture capitalists target startup companies? Secondly for local hotels to borrow in a foreign market they would have to seek central bank permission? Therefore as stated by you earlier how could they borrow unbeknown to government?

18. David………there are different venture capitalists for different levels of business…………the money you bring into the island you are allowed to take it back out using central banks permission, it’s nothing difficult if you are a business person, they encourage you, the banks are happy to oblige…….i have never known anyone to have problems getting money into Bim, it’s up to the government to do their homework, if they don’t do their homework, well the usual suspects will continue to do what they have been doing all along. I don’t see any difficulty in them getting money from different sources to fund their businesses, it might seem difficult to you, but how i know business is done in the real world, that would be a cakewalk.

19. Central Bank may allow permissions for investment but will definitely frown on borrowing in foreign markets. You may have the last word.

20. Central Bank cannot stop anyone from borrowing on the international market and will not have a clue when someone does……

21. On cue today the MoT is in the news revealing a plan for some Caribbean government through their High Commissioners to lobby the UK government on the removal APD.

22. The question which has not been asked is whether government’s policy has come about because it has no money or is this some strong strategy approach linked to some economic philosophy.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 15, 2013 at 5:10 PM |
    “I recall when Errol Barrow used some of the funds from the Agricultural Credit Bank to help build the QEH hospital, they were livid, never forgave him for it.”

For you to remember that you have to be an “old fool” in his late sixties or early 70’s.

At least EWB saw the wisdom in continuing projects started under a BLP administration. You should likewise advise the current crop of DLP lying misfits to do likewise and stop the useless complaining about the Prisons and other socially necessary and economy capacity building infrastructural projects like the ABC highway.

The longer you live, Carson, the older and wiser a fool you become. Right or wrong?

24. It is not rocket science to understand why the tourists are going to St. Lucia. Barbados Hotels and connected services have been ripping off tourists for years by their high ridiculous prices. The tourists are going where it is cheaper for their hard earned money

In St Lucia the tourists get natural fruit juices not Jubilee juice syrup like here in the hotels.
    The tourists learn how to take ZRs and not pay dishonest taxi drivers overinflated prices. Then they complain they are not getting any jobs. The tourists are warned from home about them.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TAKEN FROM FACEBOOK

“Tonight I saw some arguments there(BU) which remind me of the phrase ‘Lies, damned lies and statistics”. The Caribbean Tourism Organization publised a document showing Barbados doing worse than St. Lucia in terms of growth in arrivals for the the first quarter of 2013. Do you know that the same contributors refused to mention that St. Lucia with 115,000 stiop-over arrivals did 3.3 % better than the Dominican Republic ,growthwise, with almost 2 millions stop-over arrivals? . Furthermore, do you know that according to statistics, Belize with 116,000 stop over arrivals did 10.6 % better growthwise, than Cuba with 946,000 stop over arrivals? Yes, I would like to see an increase in Barbados numbers but we depend so heavily on the UK market that we might have to wait a little longer till things improve in UK and Europe. There are reports of British children going hungry in the British press http://www.bnp.org.uk/news/national/british-children-going-hungry-mr-cameron. Do the Barbados Underground bloggers, Mia Mottley and company read international newspapers?”

http://www.bnp.org.uk/news/national/british-children-going-hungry-mr-cameron

I am sure that you are aware of this ADRIAN LOVERIDGE but skillfully avoid speaking of it.

I am sure matters will only get worse in England as they get embroiled in the Civil war in Syria.

26. I have come to the realization that Loveridge is an activist /lobbyist for the BHTA and his only interest is getting their voices heard through social media.. one would never read or hear Adrien contributions to the financial decay by hoteliers and the many default and govt back loans which have fallen into the laps of the taxpayers .. His main focus would and always be to force and humiliate govts of Barbados to heavily finance an industry who for over the years has benefitted financially and which has worked and only to have been squander by most… it is a significant factor in the way he wheels and deals his influence around in the disguise and disquiet of not being politically motivated…. but the evidence is clear on his actions to focus and portray negative publicity on govts a tactic have worked over the years in favour for the BHTA and as a lobbyist that his is job and mission to fulfill.

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson,
    sadly more misinformation. The British outgoing holiday market is predicted to grown by 5 per cent this year according to Rolf Freitag, the President/CEO of IPK International, the tourism consulting group.

ac,
    again you could not be more wrong. We are not currently members of the BHTA . It was a choice of getting our outstanding 3 year 8 months VAT refunds or paying the BHTA annual subscriptions.

28. For Observer and whoever else is interested:

An Analysis of the Tourism Sector in Barbados

http://www.centralbank.org.bb/Publications/March2011ER/7-An%20Analysis%20of%20the%20Tourism%20Sector%20in%20Barbados.pdf

29. @Adrian

Keep doing what you do, it is something passive Bajans don’t do or do well. When you were doing the same thing pre-2008 the DLP brigade had no issues.

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ Brutus
    Central Bank figs?……..must we go there ?

31. Adrien I might be wrong on your membership as you stated ,, but being an activist lobbyist. membership does not warrant it to be such. just your views and opinions presented shows a bias and an anti approach towards govts past and present in dealing with the tourism issue. . your views when factor in are on the same level as a lobbyist /activist. it does not necessarily have to included membership..anyhow in a democracy you are entitled….

32. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac,
    ‘anti approach towards govts past and present in dealing with the tourism issue’

So you want me to agree with them if they are wrong?
    I have worked in tourism for 50 years, so I think that gives me some room to be able to form an opinion. And as you so rightly say, its my democratic right.

33. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

ACTUALLY the real problem with this clown is that because of his own perceived superiority with his UK upbringing he has and will continue to have this feeling that we Barbadians are inferior and incapable of thinking, the man suffers from a complex that prevents him from working alongside black Barbadians without him trying to appear the most knowledgeable.

Again I ask based on performance alone you have a choice who do you want to take advice from would it be someone like Mr Doyle’s from the Crane Beach Hotel who I never hear whining and telling Bajans that everything is wrong but it can be put right if you give me some cash in my hands to send off to my offshore bank account, or do we take advice from a convicted failure one who ‘s only claim to fame is writing on the blogs 24/7.?

My natural inclination would be to seek guidance from some who has a successful track record not a joker with a keyboard there is much to be said about getting the job done with little fuss and confusion but Loveridge loves strife and confusion it is his DNA.. And even more funny he has no respect from among his peers he is viewed as a Lone Ranger and not a team player.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Give us a break | June 16, 2013 at 11:40 AM
    “ACTUALLY the real problem with this clown is that because of his own perceived superiority with his UK upbringing he has and will continue to have this feeling that we Barbadians are inferior and incapable of thinking, the man suffers from a complex that prevents him from working alongside black Barbadians without him trying to appear the most knowledgeable.”

But you prove it to yourselves everyday! You demonstrate and accept inferiority and mediocrity as part as part of your daily living!

That is why you engage the expensive irrelevant services of consultants to advise and recommend solutions to the many problems and challenges facing the country.

From the sugar industry to education, health, commerce and tourism you rely on foreigners to guide you as to what to do.

Just look at the management of the major financial and commercial institutions in the country and tell us who are deciding what.
    Even the so-called fete mentality Trinidadians and “illiterate” Jamaicans are telling you lot what to do, when and where.

You are just a bunch of ‘mis-educated’ book learnt glorified servants in your own land. You own and control very little, except the house mortgages and car loans.
    Just hold onto the fast disappearing political authority that would soon be replaced by the directives from the IMF acting as the ‘administrators’ for foreign lenders.

35. Begs the question……why is all that taxpayers money being put in education just so foreign people can call all the shots on the island, makes no sense to me, does that make any sense.

36. adrien your opinions are not balanced ,they are one sided and only benefits those to whom they served…your continual comparison of the St .lucia and Barbados tourism numbers are disingenuous and only serves to fuel the fire of disengagement and disharmony between govt and the tourism sector analytical speaking.not good.

37. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I wonder if all the personal attacks against the messenger rather than the message by the political blinked hacks are because they are suffering from the feelings of near failure at the last General Election. Rather than being re-elected with a meaningful majority, they barely made it back into office, with almost 40 per cent of the eligible electorate choosing NOT to vote at all and all the implied and witnessed vote buying, maybe they were not re-elected fairly at all. The constant attacks against independent thought will further alienate any remaining impartial voters and speed a replacement Government that is willing to listen to the peoples concerns and act in THEIR interest.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

………Do you know that the same contributors refused to mention that St. Lucia with 115,000 stop-over arrivals did 3.3 % better than the Dominican Republic, growthwise, with almost 2 millions stop-over arrivals?………….”

Adrian, so according to you and Patricia Alfonso-Dass, St. Lucia is doing better than the Dominican Republic?

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

Don’t be daft!

Everyone on this blog, with some notable exceptions me included, were rubbing their hands in anticipation of a white wash for the DLP.

You were one of the biggest cheer leaders. Now you have so much egg on your face that you are finding it difficult to accept your third defeat at the hands of the Democratic Labour Party. So you are going out of your way to undermine the Government.

The members and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party can feel justifiably proud that the wise Bajan voting public got in the way of the Barbados Labour Party and returned them to the opposition benches where they belong much to your chargrin. I said all along that was going to happen.

We have nothing to be ashamed of.

Pre general elections:-

CASWELL FRANKLYN
    BLP 29
    DLP 1

JUST ASKING
    BLP 29
    DLP 0
    IND 1

OLD ONION BAGS
    BLP 30
    DLP 0

DAVID
    BLP 25
    DLP 5

DUGUID
    BLP 22
    DLP 8

PETER WICKHAM
    BLP 20
    DLP 10
    …..AND THE LIST GOES ON AND ON.

Don’t fear ADRIAN in spite of your best efforts to sabotage this Government, we will succeed in our efforts to keep keep this country safe and sound.

The Democratic Labour Party created modern Barbados.

40. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Well finally the ex pat joker Loveridge could no longer withhold his political desires I knew at some stage this idiot would show his true colours, Loveridge your voice is not one of seriousness or integrity nor is it one that CAN BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY OR TAKEN AS ONE WITH ANY GRASP OF THE INDUSTRY that you dabble with, seek guidance from other like Paul Doyle who has run a massively successful hotel and not a 10 room establishment also ran as you have molested, he would be a much more reliable sounding board and by the way nor does he go cap in hand to the gov’t for cash handouts for anything so to Mr John Morphet of Royal Westmoreland these are people who have creditability in the area of operating hotels you don’t.

However I must say that I am finally pleased to see your red flag being flown and that you have been driven to expose your political leaning I wish you well in your support of the Opposition you and them deserve each other no question about it.

41. old onion bags Avatar

You see is people like- Give Us a Break who gives the concept of only the Big Fish about here important meaning….so wait whats wrong wid being small? As a matter of fact far more REPEAT tourist prefer small establishments like Adrian’s that Doyle’s….But why am i on wid this frivolous frito lay …..we dun know how you so believe everything for the Parris’s and the like… and the who well connected…… Go join the myopic Alvin Brigade..

42. old onion bags Avatar

Carson
    You and Blackette fix up the Old pension lady light bill yet?….Oh i forget, wanna ent know nuttin bout it…typical… people need I say more?

43. @Onions

You should leave this topic alone, the BLP allowed this sector to deteriorate and now it has t be restructured at a time there is no money.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Must you always be so partisan?…Tourism reached its zenith during our reign….can you dispute that? No..I can safely answer for you….(i gine back to the newly posted thread by Adrian.. come meet me there)

45. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Foul Onions the largest revenue earned in tourism was not during your time in office you had the largest number of arrivals due to the fiasco you made of it CWC, however the year following when you were evicted from office saw Barbados earn the largest inflow of Foreign funds from tourism ever for the island, you did oversee a period when the going was good a number of hotels closed their doors

46. old onion bags Avatar

Give a break
    Man like you is a retard or what?…So wait your ever hear about FLOW…. money in the pipe line den? Think all the money made in revenue this year will be collected this year ?…..So is like you wanna play semantic wid d ole onions or wat…cuz I know you not that stupid-y…giving even you Carson the benefit of the doubt

47. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Adrian Loveridge
    Stick to the merits of the tourism argument and forget the political attacks. It will not enhance your position or credibility when you descend into partisan warfare and repeat everything the political shots thrown by the BHTA elite who are now being exposed daily as political operatives and prospective BLP political candidates.

48. Went to St. Lucia couple weeks ago. Customer service at hotel was exceptional. I was taken aback with the level of service received. Smiles all around. Prices are cheaper there than here, however, I wonder how long it will last. I went into a duty free shop, got a St. Lucia tea cup and cup and the price was 65EC. I only got the mug. My friend bought a mug, cup and bag 110EC A tourist behind me had about 10 trinkets (bracelets) and it was 10EC for 1. She refused to purchase any. The hotel plant in St. Lucia is also very newer and more appealing. On another note, I spoke with 2 husband and wife couples who wanted to go to Barbados but they said it was too expensive so instead they came to St. Lucia. I still believe Barbados still has a great tourism product. But we have to realize that tourist are becoming more price conscious and not spending as freely as before.

49. Those that cannot apply for this kind of card or that would prefer a different solution could
    consider a prepaid card that comes with a credit building element as an alternative.
    There are many web designers who charge huge amount of money
    to do this job for you. The specific combination of reps,
    sets, exercises, and weight depends upon the desires of the body builder.

50. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Onions

You could put in a good word fuhe wid Cocky Locky Cadogan and Blackette so dat when dem paying de old woman light bill dat dem cud pay dis ole man light and water bill too?

I ent in CCC good books and I doan know why.