Submitted by Douglas
Patricia Alfonso-Dass, President of the BHTA

Please check the statistics below that I got earlier today from the Caribbean Tourism Organisation.  For ease of scrutiny, Barbados is highlighted in green and St. Lucia is in red. Also look at the % market share and the decline in arrivals this year from the UK for both countries.

Actually, so far this year, our market share has increased, while St. Lucia’s has declined. These stats need no analysis, they are clear. Barbados is ahead of St. Lucia vis-à-vis all arrivals, including those from the UK.

So, I really do not know where Mia Mottley, Clyde Mascoll,  Mrs.Patricia Affonso-Dash from the BHTA, and Mr. Omniscience, aka Peter Wickham, got their figures. They have been telling Barbadians that we are slipping to St. Lucia, and that St. Lucia’s arrivals from the UK are growing by leaps and bounds.

In fact, Wickham stated emphatically the last two Mondays that he was on VOB’s Brass Tacks call-in programme, that all the other tourist destinations in the Eastern Caribbean were doing better than Barbados. We had reached our nadir. Well, check for yourself. Statistics don’t lie, political prostitutes do.

Stat Table (PDF format)

101 responses to “Mottley, Mascoll, Affonso-Dash, Wickham: Liar Liar Feet on Fire!”

1. It amuses me how some people living in a fantasy world smh

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Douglas,

You must be looking at another CTO website that the rest of us.

2013 – January – April – Long Stay Visitors

Barbados (all markets) 192,696 – DOWN 7.7 per cent*

St. Lucia (all markets) 115,150 – UP 2.1 per cent*

*when compared with 2012.

If you look purely at EUROPE (the CTO no longer separates the UK on their website –
    Barbados – 83, 968 UP 0.7 per cent* (587 people)
    St. Lucia – 34,935 DOWN 0.8 per cent* (279 people)

3. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

some people just don’t understand how to read numbers.

4. @Adrian

A careful read of the submission one gets the impression that the author contacted the CTO directly.

5. I am sure a statistician can do a far better job than me – but as I read the figures B’dos arrivals dropped c 16000 so far in 2013 as compared with 2012 whereas St Lucia arrivals have increased. Barbados is also down on specifically UK arrivals as compared with the drop in St Lucia arrivals from UK.

6. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

FOR THE RECORD –

Long Stay Visitors (all markets)

2012 Barbados down 5.5 per cent – St. Lucia down 1.8 per cent
    2011 Barbados up 6.7 per cent – St. Lucia up 2.1 per cent
    2010 Barbados up 2.6 per cent – St. Lucia 9.9 per cent
    2009 Barbados down 8.7 per cent – St. Lucia down 5.8 per cent
    2008 Barbados down 0.9 per cent – St. Lucia up 2.9 per cent

So for the 5 years (inclusive) of this administration

Barbados DOWN 5.8 per cent
    St. Lucia UP 7.3 per cent

If the CTO figures on their website are wrong, I am sure someone will correct them.

7. @Adrian

Barbados will always have more arrivals than St.Lucia, the point the authors seems to be trying to make is that of the UK arrivals Barbados has gotten the greater marketshare despite showing decline.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Douglas
    “Statistics don’t lie, political prostitutes do.”

Yes, we all know there are “Lies, damned lies and Statistics” and which can be expanded to include lying politicians on both sides of the biggest lie factory aka Parliament.

But the proof of the pudding is in the eating, right Douglas?

So let us see how your upbeat statistics can be massaged and manipulated to translate into higher foreign reserves (tourists’ spend) and more people employed in the sector instead of being laid off.
    Let us deal with the meat of the matter. The amount of revenue the country earns from this higher market share whether expressed as a raw number or as a percentage and the number of people taken on in the sector.

Can you confirm that the country’s forex and employment situations have received any boost from your upbeat countervailing statistics?

9. @Miller

Your concern about Barbados falling short of its tourist targets is valid but it seems the gist of the author’s submission is to debunk a position which is being given currency by key players in Barbados i.e. St. Lucia is leaving Barbados in the dust.

10. Well there you are then……..the expert (Adrian) has fleshed out the casual observation of the village idiot (me). Can we now say ‘the truth is as plain as the nose on your face’?

11. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, did the BHTA President, Peter Wickham, the Hon. Mia Motley specifically compare UK long stay visitor arrivals between St. Lucia and Barbados or was it numbers (market share) in general?
    I emailed the former BHTA President to try and get the latest Presidents address posted on the BHTA website, but no response yet.
    Of course, until St. Lucia overtakes us with room stock, the overall arrival numbers will always be lower.

12. @Adrian

We know too well that nobody wins the numbers game and it is why people like MAM, Mascoll, Alfonso-Dass, Wickham the statistician must ALWAYS seek to inform the public in an unambiguous way..

13. It occurs to me that if you look at the spirit rather than the letter, the post writer may be wrong and the others right. The others (as a matter of spirit) are saying ‘the picture is pretty bad for the tourist industry’ – something which Adrian and others have been drawing our attention to for centuries. The writer may be saying ‘things are not as bad as they seem’ – which may mean ‘they are bad but not very bad’.
    Mind, I suppose that given the froth in the post it’s all actually about Dems and B’s and so totally loses credibility as a serious something.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Robert, some of us are neither DLP or BLP and we are still capable of informed thought. My entire objective is to get our tourism industry working better.

15. Adrian

Of course, and I said as much.

16. old onion bags Avatar

Time people treat fellow blogger’s intelligence with respect Douglas, never profess to be what you are not…..We all understand, anyone can make a boo boo sometimes…..but you are in a classroom with some real regal eagles who when they step on some ozzie corns sometimes and bring out some real vocal demons….

17. old onion bags Avatar

Looks like I better go get my puddin n souse now…..oh dear oh dear

18. The truth is that tourism is down throughout the carribbean .JA a well know favourite spot is also singing the blues even with their political guru and tourism architect Butch Stewart..the bahammas anotherv well known favourite is down considerably .i mean all this back and forth by the political dictatorate says nothing.but another attempt to pump fear and confusion .also those in the BHTA going to stop at nothing until there are in full control of the financial resources and it not going to happen

19. Wtf is Douglas going on about? Barbados DOWN 7.7% and St.Lucia UP 2.2%. Furthermore Barbados’ arrivals from the UK declined more than St.Lucia’s–about 3 times in total numbers. Could it be as a result of taking some of our usual UK numbers?
    These stats were updated yesterday!!! Therefore the people you are accusing of telling lies were obviously referring to previous stats. Please provide the stats prior to yesterday June 14th. Thaaanks.

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Mottley, Mascoll, Affonso-Dash, Wickham:,,,
    Why cant they all sit down and look at the same info and agree or not one time , Its seems people love the up and down, and who doing the numbers?. They better check the numbers on their Deeds on their way to a CLEAR TITLE.
    The Numbers on paper or not,by the numbers by the time they get them are old, Real numbers is the bottom line and the cash made if any up or down , No ones numbers is ZERO, so all need to be happy . Numbers cant always go up to make people happy, Households in Barbados numbers are down because of fraud and no one cares, So who to care about how many fly here to well over price food and cloths.
    If you want a Bang for your Buck go to Suriname and Guyana Hotel room form 30 us a night and up ,A real plate of food for less than 5$ usd, No VAT at all , what you see is what you pay.
    Even PINE HILL milk is cheaper , oatmeal , cream of wheat , corn,
    Taxi from the airport most is 20 us or 4000GT $,
    All you need to bring is a Brita water filter and you good.
    Crooks in Guyana and Suriname dont wear a suit and tie with titles,
    The crooks look like crooks , so you can see when they are coming lolol.

21. Plantation……….I swear, someone else asked me to contribute and I said no, let me watch some people make fools of themselves on the blog so I can get a laugh………..but you just hit the nail right on the head, and I had to tell ya, some of those that consider themselves ‘professionals’ should go and rethink their comments.

22. But david and Adrian I am not sure about the analysis of the numbers being provided generally.

If I read the table provide here, for the 2012/2013 period UK arrivals to barbados are down 2.5%, while arrivals to st lucia are down 2.1%. Is that correct.

Overall arrivals to barbados are down 7.7% while st. lucia’s are up 2.1%. Is that correct?

If these are correct then to me part of the reconciliation comes from the fact that barbados is far more reliant in UK tourists than st. lucia. The table shows that barbados has 32.4% of the uk market share, compared to st. lucias 24.5%A 2.5% decline in UK arrivals has a far larger impact on overall numbers in barbados than a 2.1% UK decline for st. lucia.

The other explanation would be arrivals from non UK sources.

It seems to me that arrivals from the UK are down across the board and barbados which is the most UK dependent tourist destination in caricom is by extension the worst affected. I agree with douglas that there is a politically motivated crowd using the numbers to try and state their case.

23. @Plantation deedsetc
    Guyana,love the place.
    Philfth personified.
    An explosion of the senses.
    In one evening I was pickpocketed ,,propositioned.within minutes.
    The Aberdene steak house in the middle of Georgetown,on the first floor restaurant.
    I was just about to tuck into my med rare and fries and I spied a very hot mulatto chick eyeing me.So I smile back.
    Next second she is at my side,well really at my front.Asking me if I am happy with the way she look.
    I say well .I ent complaining .So she lift her VERY tight ,body clinging top and show her very nice really UPFRONT Bubbies.
    How yuh Like dem?? She says
    En like we in the middle of de place.
    Man I nearly choke on my Med rare.
    Talk bout between the rock and the HARD place.
    But I wus real hungry,for food.
    So I buy her a beer and tell her to “hold the sides” till I done wid my main course”
    NEVER has that happen to me in BARBADHUS!!
    The pickpocketing!!
    When I come to pay somebody had stole my wallet.
    My side order SKEEDADDLED

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Observer,

I regret that I cannot confirm your UK numbers, because as I have pointed out, I get my information from the CTO website which shows EUROPE as a lump and does not show the UK specifically.
    HOWEVER, as I stated overall (across all markets) 2012 long stay visitors –
    Barbados DOWN 5.5 per cent
    St. Lucia DOWN 1.8 per cent

What I was trying to get across that DOUGLAS gave the impression that the various persons mentioned were talking specifically about the UK arrivals, which I do NOT think they were.

While St. Lucia arrivals have fallen, Barbados have fallen THREE times their level in 2012 and if you look over the last FIVE years then St. Lucia is UP by 7.3 per cent and Barbados is DOWN 5.8 per cent, a differential of over 13 per cent. I really don’t think anyone can dispute this fact.

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well Well@ thank you, for at times it hard to know who using their head. When i Barbados try to buy sweet bread and milk and half a chicken , salt bread and a small cheese and now BGI sugar look like it 2 times old price. I cant seem to find Maby bark for it all comes sweet and nasty in a bottle. , Some people now want to mix it in Milk.
    We dont think that the people really want to solve any thing, Most of the people get or make 60bds$ per day and bus to get to work and home is at 50$ a week.
    The well off or rich want to live richer and the poor to live poorer . Even my self ,keep it easy for i dont want their number to get higher.
    When in Barbados i stay home and when people come to the island i let them stay by me for free so they may enjoy the island.if not the prices will kill them , We cant be mad at people for being smart with their money.
    Less people are coming for they also getting smart , Ministers want more people to come , Fresh meat to rob them ,
    We say come to Barbados and leave your feet , head and hands away from the Office of lawyers and people selling land .
    It will be soon that you will know you getting rob and the police fraud squad , DPP will do nothing , Lawyers will run and hind as they fool you to come back to see about the case as it postpone 4 to 6 time and more money wasted , Bad news travel fast ,
    How do we know, ?
    L. Bolden and G. Marshall took my family for over 300,000$
    after selling 2 houses in Fld,
    Now they both back in the states with clear titles and no longer married . Welcome to Barbados. Case seem to end, for no refund, no BAR, no police , no court, crooks vs crooks, Must be one of the Backlogged cases in the courts 5 years and running.

26. Plantation………..if they are waiting for tourists to come and bring loads of money, i wish them all the luck in the world, from where i sit right now it is not going to happen for maybe a decade or longer, they better start using their brains to do something other than cussing and trying to belittle and demean each other.

27. Adrian my interpretation of the numbers is not really so much barbados versus st. lucia. As I read the numbers I see UK arrivals to caricom down generally and barbados as the most uk dependent is going to be the most affected.

The question that arise for me from the UK data is whether the superior st. lucia performance more about its lower level of reliance on the uk market and the marketing power of sandals, than barbados losing out to st. lucia as its being presented?

Is the solution more of a better UK strategy or aggressive attempts to diversify? I still feel that tourism players are the best to answer that question.

28. David Leroy Thompson Parris Avatar
    David Leroy Thompson Parris

I have more respect for a man who lets me know where he stands, even if he’s wrong. Than the one who comes up like an angel and is nothing but a devil.

29. @Observer

This is a question BU posed to Adrian a while ago. Do we have any Caribbean countries which have the same ‘mix’ of source countries for tourists. We have to be discerning in our analysis.

30. what was adrian’s repsonse

31. Quite frankly the argument about one caricom country’s numbers versus the other is spurious without an analysis of the visitor mix. Antigua, Bahamas and Barbados seem to have the worst overall figures on the CTO site. I have always understood Barbados and Antigua to be heavily UK? what are the bahamas issues?

I say we get Sandals into almond as a way to diversify and enhance marketing muscle? government should buy the property and we build it out via the hilton model.

St. Lucia has just introduced VAT and the rate is 8% for their hotels. I think ours is 8.5%. Are water and electricity for hotls subsidized in st. lucia

32. If you take out the politics, douglas has helped fine tune the analysis by drawing attention to the UK figures.

In light of that data, with all due respect I find some of the Barbados / st. lucia comparison nonsensical from a statistical view point. Barbados gets almost 2.5 times more arrivals from the Uk, than st. lucia,is it terribly surprising that st. lucia will grow faster than barbados in the uk market. barbados would have to attract so many more visitors than st. lucia just to have the same growth rate.

what explains our UK declines? I would like to hear more from our tourism experts.

33. Keeping them honest Avatar
    Keeping them honest

Observer | June 15, 2013 at 1:53 PM |
    what was adrian’s repsonse
    ————————

Adrian not responding that doesnt fit his paradigm. He alike Dass, Mascoll, bull-ee boy Wickham are keen on one common objective placing Barbados in the worst possible light. Mottley’s distortions are linked to power hunger.

CTO arrival figures at June 14- Barbados 193,000; St.lucia 115,000. Barbados received 80,000 more visitors than St.Lucia. St. Lucia is NOT GETTING more tourists than Barbados as the liars above in cooperation with the Nation newspaper would have the public believe. Case proved and closed.

Unemployment in BIM 11.9%. Unemplyoment in St. Lucia 28%

The trend shows Barbados arrival numbers should jump for Crop Over and again in Nov/Dec. Barbados should end the year as it always does way ahead of St. Lucia in arrivals. A visiting dignatary last month alluded to the impressive airlift into Barbados. He said no destination in the eastern Caribbean can match Barbados’ airlift.

The markets from which Barbados draws its tourists are in recession thats 99% of the reason arrivals to Barbados have fallen only idiots or political prostitutes would state otherwise.

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Observer,

YES! I think we should look at how we do business in the UK again. In fact I had already written about this hopefully in will be published in the Barbados Business Authority tomorrow.

I cannot see that it is helpful trying to compare the mix of source markets in any other Caribbean territory, at least in The Eastern Caribbean because the airlift is a critical factor. St. Lucia traditionally has had a higher proportion of US arrivals and that is why they can sustain 5 flights a week from Atlanta and three Sandals properties, while we cannot maintain one (flight or hotel).

We seem to be getting away from the original Douglas post, which was completely spurious.

35. @Adrian

Of course it makes a difference as far as resource allocation and impact on kPIs.

What the Douglas post highlights as it relates to the UK market is that Barbados continues to enjoy the greater marketshare declines notwithstanding. Therefore it is disingenuous for commentators to state that St. Lucia is licking our butts unless we can verify that we are losing business to St.Lucia as Observer suggested earlier.

36. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

OK, let me put it another way. Over the 5 years (inclusive) 2008-2012 Barbados experienced at an overall average fall of 1.1 per cent of US long stay visitors. During the identical period St. Lucia experienced an average growth of 25.7 per cent of US long stay visitors.

Comparing market share is totally irrelevant UNLESS you are comparing like-for-like. It would be the same if you were comparing Barbados arrivals with Montserrat.

What I am trying to get across is that Barbados is NOT doing as well as some of our competitors and if we are NOT losing visitors to St. Lucia, then where are they going?

37. old onion bags Avatar

“Oh what a tangled webb is weaved, sometimes with smokey puffs n wedgey screens”…obb.

Wait you all ent get no further on this one err yet? I would have thought that by now Dougie would have corrected the damm ting…simple

You ..this crack ead and bullets fa brawn ting really is nuff conversation piece all bout BIM ya…evabody talkin bout it….even in souse holes.

38. You have to be in the top 10 to survive the now very competitive destinations that are making the grade.

http://www.caribjournal.com/2013/02/07/the-beach-list-the-caribbeans-best-beaches-for-2013/

39. @Adrian

Help us to understand. What is the airlift capacity out of the US and UK markets for Barbados and St. Lucia as a % of overall business? Finally if the US market represents a bigger % for St. Lucia tourist arrivals how does it correlate to marketing spend compared to Barbados?

40. Rules for Successful
    Tourism Marketing
    Summary of Presentation by Roger Brooks*
    Tourism is an important economic activity because it
    brings in dollars from outside the community. It continues
    to be a fast growing sector and is typically included among
    the top three industries in the country. In addition, tourism
    provides a “front-door” to non-tourism economic
    development efforts such as business recruitment.
    Roger Brooks, a nationally recognized expert in tourism
    development spoke about rules for success at the 2004
    Wisconsin Governor’s Conference on Tourism in Green
    Bay. Many of his rules apply to the tourism marketing
    efforts of small city downtowns and business districts.
    Presented below is a summary of his keynote address
    titled 15 Immutable Rules of Successful Tourism.
    1. Success Begins With a Good Plan
    Creating a Tourism Development & Marketing Plan is the
    first rule for successful tourism. The plan should include
    several details like product development, upgrades and
    improvements, repositioning and/or branding, attractions
    and events, visitor amenities and services, marketing and
    public relations, public/private partnerships, recruitment,
    funding and budgets, and organizational responsibilities.
    The plan should integrate existing comprehensive plans
    and economic development and Main Street efforts.
    2. Importance of Front-line Sales
    Your front-line employees can be your most valuable sales
    team. This is because they establish the first contact with
    the customer. The front-line employees should be
    knowledgeable about your community and should promote
    other stores, attractions and amenities to visitors to keep
    them in the area longer.
    3. Critical Mass
    In order to attract and keep visitors in your community,
    there must be several retail and dining establishments
    within walking distance. Shopping and dining in a
    pedestrian setting is one of the top activities for visitors.
    An average rule of thumb for rural communities is to have
    nine retail stores and four dining/treats establishments
    within two or three blocks.
    4. Turn Negatives Into Positives
    Almost every community and attraction has its challenges.
    Think creatively on how to convert these negatives into
    positives. You can then attract people to your area using
    clever promotional tactics. For example, when an article in
    the Washington Post labeled Battle Mountain, Nevada the
    “Armpit of America”, the town took a positive spin on that
    title by having an annual event sponsored by Old Spice
    drawing thousands of visitors.
    5. Be Unique
    In order to be successful, you must be worth the trip. A
    visitor must be able to differentiate you from the
    competition and you must strive to be creative and set
    yourself apart from others. Being unique will make a
    visitor travel the extra distance.
    6. Telling Stories
    Museums and interpretive centers should always tell
    stories, not just display artifacts. Stories can keep visitors
    in the area longer, which means additional spending.
    Visitors also remember stories, and captivating stories are
    told and passed on to others. More people pick
    destinations by word of mouth than any other method.Center For Community Economic Development, University of Wisconsin-Extension
    610 Langdon Street, Madison, WI 53703-1104
    PH: (608)265-8136; FAX: (608)263-4999; TTY: (800)947-3529; http://WWW.UWEX.EDU/CES/CCED
    An EEO/Affirmative Action Employer, UW-Extension provides equal opportunities in employment and programming, including Title IX and ADA requirements.
    7. Four-Times Rule
    People are willing to travel a distance if you offer
    something that appeals to them. There should be enough
    for visitors to see and do in your area. In general, you
    should be able to keep visitors busy four times longer than
    it took them to get there.
    8. Marketing vs. Product Development
    Before you market your community, make sure it is
    appealing to customers. If your product is not of great
    quality, then your marketing efforts are wasted. Product
    development should always be a top priority, and it never
    ends. Having a good mix of product development and
    marketing is also important.
    9. Selling the Experience
    Always sell the experience associated with an activity and
    not the place. If you are using pictures in your marketing
    campaign, avoid using scenic images. Scenery lasts in the
    mind for only a few moments. Instead, use images of
    people laughing and having fun. Viewers are more likely
    to remember images that include people’s emotions.
    10. Branding
    Even at the community level, branding is critical for
    success in tourism. Branding is much more than just a
    logo; it is what sets you apart from your competition, it is
    your image and your value. Do not try to be “all things to
    all people.”
    11. WOW Photography
    Nothing sells tourism like great photography.
    Photographs used for tourism purposes should have a
    “wow” appeal in the viewer and should make the viewer
    want to go to the place depicted. As mentioned earlier,
    you are trying to sell an experience and your photos
    should evoke emotion in the viewer. Photography should
    be the key element in brochures, public relation efforts,
    and especially on the web.
    12. Close the Sale
    Most communities and attractions spend a significant
    amount of money on advertising. The primary “call to
    action” in advertising is to get the potential customer to call
    and get a brochure, or for them to visit your web site. If this
    is the case, the brochure and web site should be good
    enough to close the sale. Otherwise, your advertising
    effort is largely wasted.
    Pay attention to certain small details while advertising. For
    example, for brochures, the best colors to use are red and
    yellow as these colors get the viewers attention. In
    addition, most brochures end up in racks along with scores
    of other brochures and the top three inches is all that is
    visible to the potential customer. Keep this in mind when
    designing brochures.
    13. Public Relations
    Even though you need both, publicity is much more
    important than advertising. Implementing a professional
    public relations campaign can have several benefits: it will
    build brand, improve your image, increase credibility and
    will provide a greater return on investment than advertising
    alone. Public relation is how you build your brand and
    advertising is how you maintain your position. Studies
    show that for every $1 invested into a public relations
    campaign, you get a $3 return.
    14. Effective Web Sites
    According to a Nielsen/Netratings study, nearly 75% of the
    U.S. population has access to the Internet from home. In
    addition, 94% of Internet users make travel arrangements
    using the Web. The Internet is by far the number one
    resource for planning travel and vacations.
    If you have a tourism related web site, can your potential
    customers find you easily on the Web? How does your
    web site compare with the competition? Make the online
    experience interactive for the customer and remember to
    promote attractions, not just the place or your organization.
    Several thousands of dollars spent on web site
    development and maintenance is not a waste of money.
    You can even make sure your web site is displayed at the
    top of a Web search by paying a fee.
    15. Frequency in Advertising
    Frequency is more important than variety in placing
    advertising. People viewing your advertisement should
    develop Top of Mind Awareness (TOMA). For example,
    when the words “fast food” are mentioned, most people
    think of McDonalds because they make a good use of
    frequency in advertising.
    Source: Wisconsin Governor’s Conference on Tourism. March 14-16th
    Green Bay, Wisconsin. Presentation based on book, The 25 Immutable
    Rules of Successful Tourism, written by Roger Brooks and Dr. Maury
    Forman.
    *Roger Brooks, CEO, Destination Development, Inc., Evergreen Plaza,
    Suite 504, 711 Capitol Way South, Olympia,

41. old onion bags Avatar

What D rasta-fari….

42. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I think I am going to give in on this one gracefully. my point was all along that St. Lucia is performing better than Barbados consistently over the last 5 years. Airlift, market source and available room stock come second. My Tourism MATTERS column 17th June 2013 covers ‘our’ performance in the US over the last years and the best use of spending limited resources within the markets that you can influence.

43. what in your opinion was different between barbados and st lucia in he last five yeras?

44. what was different that may explain the difference in performance?

45. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Observer,

Quality of plant (lots of new properties) and superior marketing.

46. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

This exchange and numerous posting by Loveridge may very well answer why he is not doing well at his place he obviously has more time time to be writing a load of swhite on here than paying any real and. serious attention to the operation of his hotel, why does he not try to eliminate the rats from his guest rooms rather than try to appear as the fountain of knowledge that can only be imparted by someone of his upbringing and that we locals are incapable of?

47. ok that makes sense.

where is the financing for the plant coming from? our new plant here is a largely villas. how well are villa numbers captured in our tourism numbers?

48. CO Williams has made an appeal for Apes Hill funding? Should government or NIS invest the 20ml he is asking for? New palnt is clearly desirable?

Should government fast track the 150 ml NIS Hotel Refurbishment Fund mentioned in the last budget?

49. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Loveridge do you or others in the hotel industry take ANY RESPONSIBILITY at all for your lack Lustre performance? Or do you all wait and want more govt hand outs for many of you to direct govt funds to your bank accounts overseas like Portugal and the Jersey Islands and then come again for more?

50. Government needs to let these players like apes hill owners fund their own shows, they make the bulk of the money from these enterprises, they make many millions of dollars why should the taxpayers be saddled with these costs?