Submitted by George Brathwaite
Hon Ronald Jones, Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation

Good Gracious Mr. Jones, Helmets and Vests If I Protest? Barbadians were taken on an excursion that was quite unlike Mia Mottley’s in Swan Street or Harry Husbands at several private schools over the past fortnight.

MP Jones was judge, jury, and executioner. MP Jones classified, castigated, and determined who were interacting with criminal elements and the actions that were divisive, but he failed to speak out against social injustice. MP Jones preferred to inform Barbadians under a veiled threat that the resources of the military would be called upon as a matter of ‘necessity’ since law and order, defined by Jones’ Law would have to be restored. Jones demonstrated a desperation that characterises the despotic regimes that have done more harm to their people far worse than any external forces – listen to Minister Jones.

It was a vain attempt to cut down MP Mottley given her noticeable and appreciated performances thus far since returning to the helm of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). Since when did things deteriorate or would likely descend into chaos in a modern-day Barbados as to contemplate the dreaded call for the military and paramilitary forces in the restoration of law and order?

Read full article

276 responses to “Good Gracious Mr. Jones, Helmets and Vests If I Protest?”

1. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

I does get a big LAUGH reading the nonsense the DLP yardfowls on this blog does write. The BLP is de Opposition with members that were “ELECTED” and all of a sudden now when we put the views of those persons that elected us, OH we is a threat to democracy and we causing instability in Barbados. The DLP have been in power for 5+ yrs but getting on like the BLP got some sort of noose around their necks stopping them from running the country. Let we get REAL. If the DLP feeling de pressure, it ain’t only from the 14 Opposition members but from the thousands of Barbadians crying out waiting for the DLP’s next move. The DLP obviously feeling the heat because we getting GIGANTIC brain farts the latest one from good old Jonesy. Another pile of nonsense is the DLP defending Jonesy comments say they were interpreted “out of context”. WHAT FOOLISHNESS WANNA TELL WE!!!!!. What was Jonesy doing then, trying sing a double entredre calypso that we misinterpreted!!!!! it is Crop Over time so that must be what he was trying to do.

2. @ ac

Quoting ac: “BTW miller in the BLP 14 year rule when ciorrution and theft and backroom deals were the order of the day. . . . ”
    So are you saying that the DEMs in opposition were failures? If there was all that criminal activity why did the DEMs as the opposition not bring a no-confidence vote to the House or better yet get the DPP to investigate and bring them to court? Even so the people still had money in dem pocket if that was the case and everybody was content. But now is only certain folk can say they are content. LOL. Like u and Negroman and of course caDOGan and Jonesy and DEM! Ha, ha ha!! Ah lie!!!!!? But perhaps you are quite they WERE failures as an opposition and even worse failures as a government!

3. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac

Like hood says…..why can’t one express ones concerns..(if needs be) …thru a legal democratic means..(if called upon) ….and if so granted by the relevant authorities..without this forewarning and threats of pending violence and death?

Ya see you all dun know the pain planned to be unleashed on the people soon ( it gine mekk the bus pensioner’s dream a paradise)…but fa real ..I din think it was going to be this BADD ….Thanks doa.. from now on I keeping a extra tank diesel in D ole bertram just in case I need to sojourn in a neighboring rock….wanna is sunnin else boi..

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Wait a minute, who resurrect “de Hood”?

5. All this non-sense started when the BLP and the Leader of Opposition went up to Foundation School (which she was not by accident) and espoused the need for fresh General Elections in Barbados. In otherwords letting all in Barbados know that the BLP does not recognise the results of the elections in February.

At that same meeting the LOO brought out some clever mathematics to confuse the people of Barbados when she said ” The Government has a one seat majority in Parliament”

As the same meeting utter nonsense was also forthcoming from Kerry Symmonds (should not expect anything else) and tripod Anthony Wood. He could not even win a seat in Parliament and yet offering the DLP and the country advice, things really that bad in Barbados that advice is being sought from idiots?

6. No matter what Mia says, no matter what Mia does, no matter who Mia meets with, the there is always a right way to do things and wrong way. I firmly believe that the BLP is trying to encourage the people of Barbados into useless unrest and public demonstrations.

In some countries in the world, that is a crime…………………punishable by a term of imprisonment. The BLP was weighed in the scale by the people of Barbados and found wanting and therefore returned to the benches of Her Majesty’s loyal oppsition.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Oath of allegiance
    This challenge, Arthur added, could not be confronted by issuing public ultimatums for party members to swear oaths of allegiance.
    “The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said.”

Mia is so good that she asked for “oath of allegiance” from her parliamentarians. One can always tell a “poop, poop ” leader from a REAL LEADER. FIRST TIME IN HISTORY OF THE BLP that was ever done. But the big thing is it didn’t work!!!!

She was unceremoniously removed from leadership of the BLP. IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE IT HAPPENS AGAIN. SO SHE IS ONLY SPINNING TOP IN MUD.

The Barbados Labour Party ought to thank the Hon. Ronald Jones for his timely words, it will prevent them from being led up the garden by someone who only has TEMPORARY TENURE. BLP, the Hon. Ronald Jones is on your side. Heed his advice!!! As the old Bajans say, a word to the wise is enough.

OWEN ARTHUR really knew what he was talking about when speaking about her.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Regardless to what you say about Owen, we must give him credit when he speaks about MAM.

9. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Carson C. Cadogan
    I have read a your comments. I believe that to each, his own. Hoever, it is clear that you do the DLP, Barbados, and humanity a disservice. Please see past B or D, Mia or Owen, and understand the logical implications of Mr. Jones’ statement. Can you?

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“There are persons who have no respect for democracy, they have a right to talk, but when they believe that right spreads to the creation of a groundswell to breed insurrection Mr. Speaker you will be calling on the military forces of Barbados, the Royal Barbados Police Force to bring back law and order,” he said.

“Who will be the Complaints Authority then? There will be thousands of complaints because by necessity in order to restore order you have to crack some heads, you have to shoot some people, let’s understand this reality. Nineteen thirty seven in this country many persons died, some that we can’t account for even now, so let them speak.

Jones said it seemed some individuals could not deal with the fact that Barbadians re-elected the Democratic Labour Party to govern and were trying to imbed “poisonous” words in the Bajan psyche to fulfill their ambitions.

His words of caution to those who “can’t wait for the wheels of democracy to turn so they can flash their insincere words before the public of Barbados” were: “if greedy wait, hot will cool”.

“Those who light the fire will be consumed by the flames, simple as that. It is all well and good to want to lead a nation, nothing wrong with that. If you are in this House there is nothing wrong in wanting to lead a nation, but there is a time and place for everything under the sun, your time too will come if it is God’s will, of course,” he said.

“Those who plant the seeds of destruction those seeds of destruction will come on them. All I am appealing to is good sense, good judgment.”

Jones also said that “after 19 years of avoiding the people, all of a sudden now there are persons in cane fields with Digicel umbrellas, all of a sudden there are persons walking Swan Street”.

“I want to say to this Honourable House there are criminal elements in Barbados, severe criminal elements, and there are people who know those criminal elements very well, they know them, they give them hidden help and support, they encourage them because they are planting them across Barbados as a means of securing their own ends because we are afraid to talk, we are afraid to speak,” the minister stated.

“So because we are afraid to talk the seepage continues and people who should know better are silent; one group is silent and the other group encourages. I hope, Mr. Speaker, that we respect in this country law and order. An educated nation is a nation that fosters that level of respect, but there are educated people who themselves are disrespectful of the system from which they came.

“Those who have ears to hear let them hear, they are quiet gentle people in Barbados who are watching. Guerilla warfare is not practised by conventional armies, that is not how they are trained to fight, but there are persons who know how to practise it very well.”

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Good day to you, George!

12. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Thanks Carson, you are even sillier than I have you credit for to reproduce the damning evidence which even more clearly demostrates the paucity of judgement of the Minister and the threat that can be inferred to all groups and classes of people once they are not seeing eye to eye with the re-elected government (even if it remains a slothful and incompetent administration). Keep well!

13. Dat bwoy Carson

–a piece of work
    -apologist ?
    -Ostrich ?

Jackasss !!!!!!!

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Hon. Ronald Jones is one of the most eloquent, passionate speakers in the house of Assembly.

There is no one the opposition side who can even come close to his oratory brilliance.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The piece is reproduced to show how foolish you BLP people are. You are cherry picking parts of his speech to mislead the public.

The entire speech shows the context in which the words were used.

Now all and sundry will see how foolish you BLP members and supporters are.

And I think someone said that you have a “Phd.”, It cant be in anything useful.

16. Ha Ha
    is that the retort
    froth at the mouth
    mouth of the south
    Jones is
    Sexual preference/orientation of Jones = ?
    Bi
    hetero
    or
    homo

17. Read the lips
    Ronald Jones is not a
    homo
    He is not a homo
    Ronald Jones not a homo
    Jones is not a homo

18. Is Jones not a homo
    –a homo-Sa pi e ns

19. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

…………………………..and the ………………………..IDIOT PRIZE……………………..goes to……………….Ragga Yowe

20. Reading what my fellow DLP comrade Carson Cadogan reproduced as the speech made by the Hon.Ronald Jones my MP and friend,I believe it is a non issue that David of BU in his eagerness like MIa & the goons in Barbados Labour Party to create unnecessary mischief.
    In my talks with average Barbadians while visiting my regular rumshop yesterday and talking with my co-workers today, no one I corresponded with mentioned anything about the comment Ronald Jones made. The public of Barbados is not worry about the comment.I think Barbadians understand the context in which the comment was made by the brilliant,articulate and best MP Christ Church East Central ever had and as a result, they are not too worry about the comment.
    The people of Barbados understand and are supportive of Mr Jones and his effort to preserve democracy in Barbados.
    Mai Mottley and the goons in Barbados Labour Party are a threat to democracy.They are seeking to over throw a legitimate government by any means necessary.

21. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Negroman

Leave them let them be, they have not learnt anything from the last elections. Mia will grow tired of talking and talk and the BLP grow tired of her too, it happened once before. When she has grown tired and its stumpling in the forest, exhausted, The Prime Minister launch his opening salvo against the wary and tired Mötley crew.

22. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

She does not understand machevellian politics, its tactics and the use of the wisdom of the Art of War.

23. now here comes George brathwaite to tell people how foolish there are…… evidence trumps perception… u blow hard… time fuh u to crawl back under the rock……ac answer to your article will be Good gracious Mr brathwaite! Helmets ! and vests ! if you insist! knuckle head

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | June 13, 2013 at 5:15 PM |
    “Mia will grow tired of talking and talk and the BLP grow tired of her too, it happened once before.”

One must compliment you for taking on board a bit of advice to replace some of the air in your head with a sliver of knowledge and understanding about the human condition called the ‘game of politics’ especially in respect of your perspicacious references to Machiavelli and Sun Tzu. It shows you are not a total airhead of an ego overinflated dummy after all.

But let us play out a Princely political scenario in the form that our commonly admired Sun warrior would be appreciative of.

The scene is just after the1991 elections during which the people were assured the Barbados economy was firing on all cylinders and batting like Sobers. Now if you were the administration of the day would you have taken the steps that followed in 1992/93?

Now fast forward to 2013 and tell us if a similar administration that managed to convince the people that it would never under “God’s” sun ever embark on a programme of privatization or layoffs of even one public sector worker would make the same military blunder of political proportions as its predecessor of similar fighting colours did way back in 1992?

The political betting shop is well aware that the BLP has similar odds of winning the government to the DLP being returned to government for a third term unless MAM is in charge.
    It will be ‘even-stevens’, a mere 50:50 toss up between the BLP and DLP next time around if MAM is not around and in charge.

What my Machiavellian student colleague should be asked is: What do you think is going to make the odds move in favour of one party if not that of the quality of the leadership?

Piss poor Leadership is the underbelly of the DLP and is being attacked with continuous firepower. Hence MAM’s modus operandi.

Despite what you might say MAM has a greater national profile and more connect with the ordinary man and woman in these hard economic times than that lying hypocritical
    Sleeping-on-the-job idiot.

OSA has been put in the fridge that stores political cadavers and none in the BLP can attain the stature of MAM in connecting with the people on a national level and interact at all levels of the society. Can we say the same for Fumble?

The BLP has come to the Machiavellian practical understanding that its has no current leader other than Mia so they have no choice but to say ‘let us put aside our tribal differences and rally behind her in order to defeat the enemy and save the State called Barbados’.

25. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“I want to say to this Honourable House there are criminal elements in Barbados, severe criminal elements, and there are people who know those criminal elements very well, they know them, they give them hidden help and support, they encourage them because they are planting them across Barbados as a means of securing their own ends because we are afraid to talk, we are afraid to speak,” the minister stated.
    i find these comments most interesting. maybe Ronald Jones can ask Chris to tell the public who he paid a visit to in Dodds just before the election and why? and should Chris do like he always does and lie by saying he don’t know what he talking about, let him know the person is at Dodd in the maximum security section. That should jog his memory.

you guys are amazing. person are hurting all over this country and not a word or change in direction from the leadership of this country.

Ronald Jones’ comments were out of place and he should be fired for that alone but we have a spineless baster for a PM who could careless if Sunday come Monday.

i fail to see how Mia could share any blame in highlight the cries of the people of this country. here is a question to the AC and CarASSon, if you believe Mia is trying to incite civil unrest, would it not stand to reason that the government which you all support, should do what it can to ease the fears you claim Mia is sharing?

what is the government doing? simple question which i understand we would never get the answer to from you all.

Pages in JB shut down and the people gone home. Hanschell inniss sending home people and put other on week on week off but for you all the fear is not real. it a power grab by Mia. keep your heads in the sand but i hope your asses not in the air because you all will surely get a good fucking.

26. @ CCC et al
    We seem unable to understand why a DLP political anchorage is such that some can condone the promotion of state sanctioned violence against the people Barbados because they may want to change the way they are governed, in fundamental ways. Everybody in Barbados is family. It is not time for us to have a conversation without deep and irrational party loyalties? The irony is that the BLP itself was a product of the social movement of the 1930’s. And there was violence against the people then. Several people died. And now people who represent the DLP, which is a child of the BLP, want to inflict that violence again. The more things change, the more they remain the same. At that time Bajans knew, like they know now, that the political culture was irrelevant to they lives, in the main. There has to be an international court that the people of Barbados, ordinary people, should be able to bring Minister Jones up on the charges of threatening a hot war against his own people. Maybe, The Hague.

27. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

Boy the DLP yardfowls and goons on this really working overtime on this blog man!!! Led by General Yardfowl CCC and Lt AC. General Elections gone but DEM still feel that they must still spread untruths and brainless propoganda about the BLP. I hope wanna getting pay!! I mean, maintaining an illusion over Barbados for the next 5 yrs is going to take a LOT of WORK. Why wanna so doh? Wanna feeling de pressure!!!! Why Jonesy had to get on so man!! I mean yah got a MOF attacking an innocent woman calling her a bald-Pooch cat, yah got a MOE attacking Mia for some strange reason, why wanna doan attack de economy de same way too?!!!

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Mr. Jones what? Minister of loosing work. We dont like Mia nor the AG and now Jones Kissing ass , He might think MIA will take over soon when we all go back to the polls in less then a year , So he want a state of emergency so we can be under a police state that will leave them in power longer.
    Hon Ronald Jones, Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation@ Please all that long title for a real fool looking to Kiss ass to who ever over him that will not tell people the truth ,
    The DLP know to show their ass when they sweating the details of this On going Fraud on the people.
    Matter of time before DLP look to pick at free speech when no one will talk truth , Look for WAR to stay in power. Pitiful so call man , What he got to be mad about? he dont own nothing, We sure his dead not a clear title deed,
    We hope the people can see more clear what fools they voted for and some got paid to vote. Hope they got their money worth.
    Sit down Jones and shut up ,

29. @de hood

Yes an unfortunate use of language especially by a minister of education.

@Negroman

BU does not form positions based on whether it is a popular view.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | June 13, 2013 at 6:26 PM |

If Minister Jones has intimate knowledge of these “severe criminal elements” (and their known aiders and abettors) pervading Bim doesn’t he understand that to make such an unequivocal statement in the highest Court of the Land imposes tremendously inalienable responsibility on him to bring that inside knowledge to the actionable attention of the AG and the Minister responsible for National Security (both of whom, by the way, have publicly confessed to be witnesses to voter fraud and bribery) along the various law enforcement agencies constitutionally mandated to adhere and carry out the laws of the land?

But what else can we expect from a Jonesing minister living in a banana republic headed by a hypocrite and liar who doesn’t know his elbow from his arse?
    And in true Shakespearean Richard 111 of modern day Caligula fashion can only shout ‘a horse, a horse my prime minister saddle for horse! Or should it be ‘a fool, a fool my job for a fool’!

31. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@
    George Brathwaite. I still remember that photograph you posted on face book; during the election campaign? Remember the portrayal
    of the governor of the Central Bank and the PM/ I saved them. remember. @Islandgal and the other mousketeers, Remember I warned you that sometimes when you sow the wind you reap the whirlwind. Hope your house is strong enough. and I am a DLP supporter and not a yardfowl.

32. “I am a DLP supporter and not a yard fowl.” … Alvin who are you trying to fool you Fowl cock!

33. Look man! You see stinking me !!
    I done with this phucking kunt blogging thing

The DLPites like Carson and AC got me so Phucking vex AND DISSAPOINTED then I will stop blogging

How the phuck them could Justify Ronald phucking Jones in the shite that the man TALKING ???–

I warned wunna to stop playing that game. I am fed up with the people in BARBADOS FOR HAVING VOTED DLP —-Terrible mistake.. I fed up with people like Carson and AC–I done with this blogging shite because of ac and Carson. The only left for me to so is to CRACK SOME PHUCKING HEADS.

AC AND CARSON RUN
    Two people cant be this biased
    Tell the man he wrong and cut the crap Ac and Carson
    Fed up with you two
    This is not a phucking game

34. Yes! Just asking. You seem to really need to take some time off.

35. Good riddance Just Asking to borrow the words of David BU your contribution will be written in invisible ink. Its the way BU describe George Hats Payne contribution to Parliament . The rest of Barbados said aye!.

Just Asking on your way to Gregg Farm beg Mia to keep her clothes on as she goes around trying to create mischief. Jesus H Christ the picture of her with the jet ski man is horrifying. Santia otoh slim like an anorexic model. The BLP leader making herself into a poppit.

36. Just asking …calm down don’t let those DLP crack heads get you vex. Time longer than twine and soon from now the fallout from what was said in Parliament will be seen.

37. Cuntry Boi go long back to Cuntry girl!

38. I say,,,,,,,,,,,,,,lets have three beauty shows a week,,,,,,five talent contest every four days,,,,,,weekly shows of foreign Jamaican artists selling at Bds$150.00 per show,,,,FUCK everything else,,and weell be A O.K.

39. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Alvin Cummins
    I really thought better of you. I really did. Now please tell me that I am wrong. Please tell me that you are NOT comparing my placing of anything on a facebook page, that is an account taken out in my name with that of a Minister of the Crown, a representative of the people in the Parliament of Barbados and who is paid out of the public purse using incendiary language which promotes violence and conflict. Maybe we can all see why Barbadians on the whole are fed up with people from the Hill, people that should know better, people who must kiss ass just to ensure their daily bread. I am glad that I suffer in silence. I am glad that I keep my voice for agitation and protest when necessary. I am glad that no certificate or degree has made me forget from whence I came. Long live those who struggle for a cause; long live the struggle for social justice and people empowerment; long live Barbados.

40. Sir Wilfred Jones calls for Ronald Jones’ apology…

http://www.nationnews.com/mobile/view/sir-wilfred-jones-should-apologize/

41. @Just Asking
    Could we be related??

42. How many of us lost a loved one?
    The feelings of compassion ,love ,regret and helplessness .
    The same as I feel now for my home,Barbados.
    Dieing from Corruption ,Greed and Incompetance.
    Incurable.
    All we can do is stand by and watch the demise.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t pay Sir Wilfred any attention, he does not know what he saying.

I guess he would prefer chaos and confusion in Barbados. There is no fool like an old fool!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 14, 2013 at 7:06 AM

So a highly respected Barbadian who carried the flag of decency, fight for justice and achievement in socially challenging times in the UK is now an old fool?

What a pity that a young fool like you will always remain a fool but never learn from aging.
    You need to hear from Sir Frederick about this “old fool” business.

One wonders if Alvin Cummins would agree with you about Sir Wilfred.

We would not be awfully surprised if you also see Nelson Mandella as an old fool that should have been eliminated years ago by the white South African regime with the mindset of that black Ronald Jones.

No wonder Bim is in such bad shape when you can so describe such an illustrious son of the soil. You could be disrespectful as much as you like to Sir Wilfred but neither you nor any other foolish Bajan who share your mindset will never have any thing in London, street or place, named after them. Except, of course, for Sir Garfield or Rihanna who certainly- because of their international successes- cannot not share your mindset.

But you are right, Barbados is full of old fools with a queue waiting to join starting at the top of this political administration.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

It difficult understanding your rambling statement!

46. De Higher De Monkey Climb Avatar
    De Higher De Monkey Climb

@Just asking. Don’t stop blogging your views. That is what is intended – to silence commentary by frustrating others…..Don’t fall into the trap.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

I guess in your case the truth is stranger than fiction.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

JUST ASKING, just like the blog owner, was wrong so many times I think that SHAME is now getting the better of him.

It not easy being wrong 99.9999% of the time.

49. I previously thought that CCC was merely acting like a total idiot in his various posts but his comments about Sir Wilfred now concretizes the fact that he IS a total idiot.