Submitted by George Brathwaite
Hon Ronald Jones, Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation

Good Gracious Mr. Jones, Helmets and Vests If I Protest? Barbadians were taken on an excursion that was quite unlike Mia Mottley’s in Swan Street or Harry Husbands at several private schools over the past fortnight.

MP Jones was judge, jury, and executioner. MP Jones classified, castigated, and determined who were interacting with criminal elements and the actions that were divisive, but he failed to speak out against social injustice. MP Jones preferred to inform Barbadians under a veiled threat that the resources of the military would be called upon as a matter of ‘necessity’ since law and order, defined by Jones’ Law would have to be restored. Jones demonstrated a desperation that characterises the despotic regimes that have done more harm to their people far worse than any external forces – listen to Minister Jones.

It was a vain attempt to cut down MP Mottley given her noticeable and appreciated performances thus far since returning to the helm of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). Since when did things deteriorate or would likely descend into chaos in a modern-day Barbados as to contemplate the dreaded call for the military and paramilitary forces in the restoration of law and order?

Read full article

276 responses to “Good Gracious Mr. Jones, Helmets and Vests If I Protest?”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FROM FACEBOOK

WILFRED IN WONDERLAND

Is this the dude who was on Brasstacks yesterday? *BIG LONG SIGH* Other countries put their fossils in museums; but we in Barbados have our call-in radio shows…

Jones needs to apologise for what? Did Tom Adams have to apologise for spreading despondency and alarm when he said that there were subversive elements in Barbados planning a coup when he was PM? Did he apologise for waving a piece of paper (now known to have been blank) which he claimed contained details of this coup?

The ministers and other MPs in the government of Barbados are responsible for the security of Barbados, and it is their duty to quell any insurrections that may be planned or operationalised, so why ought Ronald Jones to apologise for promising to do just that? It is his bloody job!

2. Take Note… Freedom of speech and expression may soon be no more.

The recent inflammatory deputation by MP Jones may have signaled a new era in politics and the lives of ordinary Barbadians. The days of self expression and freedom of speech may never be the same again, after the Minister’s recent minatory glib. What is worse, none of his colleagues on that side of the fence to-date, have sought to distance themselves from the unfortunate comments, that have obviously sensitized the societal fabric, as expressed through present the avalanche of public outcry.

What does this new overture, filled with exhibitive perversion, say as to one’s Constitutional rights and freedoms now and in future? Must ALL be in agreement with all recommendations, all policies and all directives, all the time? If in divergence, can one no longer voice concerns without threats of victimization and subversion?

What about freedom of speech in the media and the future of public media and blogs like BU? Are the days numbered as to freedom of expression and penetrative discussion under anonymity ? Surely this is not what was envisaged by Barbadians as the way forward.

Really now, take note!

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 14, 2013 at 8:12 AM |

Of course it will be difficult if not impossible for you, young fool, who will never ‘aged’ with maturity far less with wisdom!

You can’t even figure out the language of subtle insult to your intellectual ignorance and moral disrespect for people that have done so much internationally for this little 2X3 speck of rock in the Atlantic ocean.

Now go figure (again) and if you have difficulty understanding again please ask Alvin Cummins for a bit of help. We are sure Alvin wouldn’t mind defending his fellow Combermerian Sir Wilfred.

Now take your miniscule place in the small scheme of smaller island things, stupid black boy!

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

Does this change the fact that Wilfred is an old fool?

5. old onion bags Avatar

Wait Carson
    You working on Duracell or Energiser batteries……I went sleep last night and left you in here….First ting this morning…YOU IN HAY…..wait you don’t got no more old pensioner’s light bill to F-UP?…. Man you like Signigga bottom, always runnning…..go n ask granny bout dat….

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 14, 2013 at 9:17 AM |

Let us see for once and all if you get the drift.
    The only difference between you and Sir Wilfred is a generation gap not of experience but of a pure natal incident of time.

Next minute you would go further and denigrate and disrespect your own self and display a total lack of sensitivity and intellectual emptiness by referring to the Bishop’s disability of being unable to see.

If you would consider Harold Crichlow an old fool then you have every right to see Sir Wilfred in a similar light.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

Is this Dean Harold Critchlow? Former friend of the Barbados Labour Party until he asked Sen. Simmons to come back to the Senate with information about missing money during the rule of the Barbados Labour Party Government, as highlighted by the Auditor General?

Is this the Harold Critchlow you are referring to?

8. Now the BLP going to wrap themselves in the FLAG well positioned and fully inscribed with the words” FREE SPEECH” against a flaming back drop and a potentially dangerous and high level of threat to the national security of the country which would undoubetly lead to civl unrest and blood shed . How so convient…Nevertheless forgetting that the flames which are burning were all started by them and the effort by those to quell them is note worthy

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t be fooled.

When in government, Mottley was against Internet free speech.

“[Blogs] will marginalise our existence as parliaments and will cause disrespect, not just for the rule of law, but for the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe,”

MAM

She didn’t care about FREE SPPECH then.

This only started after they were booted out from Government!

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“In a stunning admission of an elitist intent to repress the rights of citizens to publicly communicate with each other, Barbados Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley is calling for regulation of internet blogs and call-in programmes.

As reported in The Nation News (link here), the Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados is calling for changes to our system of government – saying that call-in shows “will continue to predominate” and that internet blogs “marginalize…parliaments and cause disrespect (for the rule of law and institutions that keep our society safe,)”…

“For in the absence of that reform,” she said, “entities such as the call-in programmes – which have no accountability to anyone and no modalities to be able to ensure that there is transparency, or that there is indeed informed discussion – will continue to predominate.”

She spoke too, of “blogs” – online postings of individuals’ views and comments to which surfers of the Internet can respond – which, because of the technology, could not be regulated.

“[Blogs] will marginalise our existence as parliaments and will cause disrespect, not just for the rule of law, but for the institutions that are required to keep our societies safe,” she said.

How Dare Those Uppity Citizens Not Know Their Place!

The Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados says that fear of libel and defamatory legal action is not enough “accountability” for citizens. Nope, she wants changes to our system of government that would give parliamentarians some real legal teeth to deal with people who don’t conform to her definition of “informed criticism”.

Miss Mottley obviously wants to keep those darn free-speaking citizens cowering in their proper place. No free-speech on call-in shows or posting on the internet unless the content is pre-approved…”

Barbados Free Press

11. Adriel Brathwaite out Attorney General; he is reported to have endorsed the comments of the hysterical intellectually challenged Minister of EDUCATION!!!! JONES!!!???…..little wonder….HIS OWN COUSIN IS AN EX CONVICT……..CONVICTED IN U.K. …..GAOL TERM……FOR WHAT????
    I THINK HIS NAME IS LYALL BRATHWAITE………..AN WE HAVE A PORN KING AS A MINISTER……..LOOK AT THE OTHERS??

12. @CCC

Your last post (11:29) makes our case. Both the DLP and BLP are irrelevant to political transformation. Both parties have failed the Barbadian people, over decades. The people must speak with one voice to both parties and then take steps to remove these organisations from the polity

13. The Dummy @ Dumo | June 13, 2013 at 5:06 PM |
    …………………………..and the ………………………..IDIOT PRIZE……………………..goes to……………….Ragga Yowe

Thanks for the endorsement
    dumb one
    my day is made
    you gave the Yagga confidence
    —————————-
    attacking
    Wilfred is bad
    Carson is total b***o*p
    desperate
    DLP losing credibilty
    getting scared
    Libya
    Egypt
    people power
    Duke of York march them up and down/can do it again -Ronald Jones will not have it–Crack a head or two/shoot -pepper a bwoy -Ronald going both ways—
    is Ronald gay ?

14. It is alright for MR. wilfred to be an eternal pacifist. HOwever when the national security of a country is being threatened by way of violence through external or internal forces. the govt would be foolish to sit idly by and say or do nothing.A word of warning from the govt should be enough until those threats are put into action. or carried out.

15. Pachama go ahead keep pushing the envelope. this country is a democracy and has use democrtic free and open electios to remove govts.. i is your kind of “inflamatory rherotic” to whom JOnes was referencing. take heed . A word to the wise is suffcient.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

When they were in power, they were on the brink of censoring Bajans speech, don’t say anything unless it is first approved by us.

That was ok with DAVID, GEORGE C BRATHWAITE, MILLER, and stupid WILFRED. No one on their side saw anything wrong with their speech.

17. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@George Brathwaite. Your contribution on facebook is there for everybody in the whole world to see. Minister Jonnes made his statements in Parliament during a debate.
    @ Just asking. Confusion twice sonfounded. sorry you are so frustrated but you brought it on yourself. The people have spoken. I will just call a few names and thay should set you thinking: Coard, Austin, Reagan, Thatcher, Adams, Charles Scoon Smith, Maloney, “Boots” 9Gabby’s).

18. Millertheannuaki
    The future leadership of this country does not involve Mia, it involved Owen A and David E. Pay attention.

19. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@George
    I already said “I don’t rice at anybody.” I am independent and don’t have to ;as you so “delicately” put it “kiss ass for my daily bread”. I am fearless in putting forward and voicing my opinions regardless of who agrees with me or not. My opinion is my opinion; right or wrong, and i will defend my right to voice it. My experience guides me. Often I have been attacked vehemently for my opinions that don’t gel with tose ofothere but I don’t mind I will voice them anyhow, and I am right quite often. Not always but often.

20. And BTW pachama don,t rely on David BU to be on the firing lines with as you roll up your gun boats along the sandy shores of barbados.

21. Ronald Jones has nothing to apologize for.His comments are being taken out of context.All the educated ones on this blog please read & re-read his comments and then in all fairness ask if the heat on Mr.Ronald Jones is justify.
    Mia Mottley & some members of the Barbados Labour Party ought to be charged with Treason & High Treason & also Sedition if she and her goons continue on their path of seeking an insurrection to bring down the legitimate government of Barbados.Mia Mottley and her goons are a threat to the stability & security of this country.Her continued actions and behavior will ultimately lead to heads being crack.
    Mr.Ronald Jones my friend,you have nothing to apologize,it is Mia Mottley and her goons in the Barbados Labour Party who should apologize for spreading fear,discord and initializing an insurrection against the legitimate Democratic Labour Party government.

22. We were never aware that Barbados was a ‘democracy’ as defined by the political science literature. We also believe that it is this present DLP government, and past BLP governments that have made the threats of state sanctioned violence against the people. We think for ourselves and are not anchored, intellectually to either the DLP or BLP. Every one should determined their own stance. David is the last man in this universe that could be expected to give aide and comfort to those who advocate violence, include your minister Jones. There is no need for violence from elsewhere to remove these peons. We have contended and will continue to contend that a social movement can employ a range of social weapons against the establishments in Barbados. In doing so the physical weapons of Jones, as a perceived strength, can be turned into a weakness.

23. And pachama how would u like spending the rest of ur life n odds for treason while the rest of the BU family get to blog about a “dumb maverick”

24. Treason! Last week when this topic was discussed we gave a non-violent approach to the violence of governments everywhere. It was the establishment in Barbados which elevated Bussa to a national hero, not us. That system celebrates the violence of WW11 etc, not us! Bussa use violence against a former Barbados ruling system. Is there a contradiction here?

25. bussa was a “freedom fighter who fought against a system that willingly suppress ands denied the people of this country basic Human rights wand the preservation of their dignity which had excluded them from the right to vote and own property. those rights which we are enjoying today as a result of bussa valiant effort has formed the basis which has established and form the framework upon which our constitution stands, a far and distant cry removed from what is being advocate today under the disguise of “free speech’

26. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The coverage of Mr. Jones remarks were predictable: The Nation newspaper and its Friday editor at large Sanka Price put the usual spin in its editorial.
    The Nation newspaper is now so obviously supporting the BLP that no one can seriously bring evidence to suggest otherwise. I do not believ that they are even trying to be balanced.The front page belongs to Mia Mottley whenever she picks up the phone and asks for it.

CBC and The Advocate are making a concerted effort to give the opposition more air time.Unfortunately, the Nation newspaper is suffering from Post Election Stress Syndrome (PESS) and rather than educate prefer to spend week after week being the mouthpiece for Mia Mottley’s media show.

The Nation newspaper is as balanced as Fox news.

27. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The DLP is as balanced as a listing ship

28. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Carson C. Cadogan | June 14, 2013 at 7:06 AM |
    Don’t pay Sir Wilfred any attention, he does not know what he saying.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    Sir Wilfred was involved in Bajan politics from a very young age,having had close connections to the Vestry and Parliament in this island.
    I am glad that when he returned to Barbados that he did not settle to be anyones’ yardfowl,like so many who have stayed here.
    The lady,in the news last week,who you and Steve Blackett took away her Electricity bill and promised to pay,but never did, is also listed in your books as an ‘Old Fool’. Is this how your party sees the aged?
    Thanks for the warning.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Old Bugger

That was really lame.

Cant you do better than that?

30. A story of interest.

Unpaid light bill shockBy Maria Bradshaw | Thu, May 30, 2013 – 12:07 AM
    An election gimmick.
    That is what a man is calling an offer of assistance to his elderly mother from the St Michael Central Constituency branch of the Democratic Labour Party.
    The man, who would only give his name as “Ikie”, told this newspaper, that six months after constituency representative Steve Blackett personally collected the bill from his 84-year-old mother and told her that he was going to look after the payment, a crew from the Barbados Light and Power turned up yesterday to disconnect her service for non-payment.
    The bill was over $300 in arrears.
    The angry man told the DAILY NATION that last November, while Blackett was campaigning in Waterhall Land, Bank Hall, St Michael, with another man named Carson Cadogan, they visited his mother, Muriel Haynes.
    “Mr Blackett asked my mother if she had any bills that she wanted help with and my mother said the only bill she had that wasn’t paid as yet was her light bill,” Ikie said.
    “He took it from her and told her that he would get the Welfare Department to pay her bill. ”
    Ikie said they did not see another light bill come to their house until April when a bill arrived with arrears of $381.
    Please read the full story in today’s DAILY NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

31. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Carson Cadogan has no answer to the above extract from the Nation

32. methinks obzocky Duguid’s swearing like a pirate in the House was worse than anything Jones stated. Duguid insulted the hallowed institution of Parliament. He showed gross disrespect for the people of Barbados especially the Christian community. Duguid’s vile words did more harm than whatever Jones uttered. BLP yardfowls miller, onions,island gal just asking along with Cynthia Forde and more applauded Duguid’s unprecedented disgracing of Parliament.

33. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Never Forget
    What Donville Inniss said to provoke Duguid should also be brought into the equation.

You people are so stupid and foolish
    It is no wonder we are experiencing what we are at this point

34. Dont be the ass you are Dr. Dishonourable the counter argument could be what did Owen’s first love MAM say or do to provoke Jones . I’m not making excuses fool. Duguid was out of order period. What Donville provoke what!

35. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Just amother biased imvidual. You see absolute no wrong

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DR. THE HONOURABLE | June 14, 2013 at 6:58 PM

I have absolutely no idea who The Nation newspaper is referring to in that article.

37. old onion bags Avatar

@ oh Shoite Carson..
    Snip …..

“The angry man told the DAILY NATION that last November, while Blackett was campaigning in Waterhall Land, Bank Hall, St Michael, with another man named Carson Cadogan, they visited his mother, Muriel Haynes”
    Carson is dat you?…..Oh shoite man ….and you got the audaciousness to come in here barkin like a blog tick…..talking as if you is somebody…..Shame, crying shame man…whalosss!

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I know that you are old and maybe your glasses are not as strong as they ought to be. So maybe you cant see what I wrote properly, as a result I will write it in block letters for you:-

I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHO THE NATION NEWSPAPER IS REFERRING TO IN THAT ARTICLE.

CAN YOU SEE IT NOW?

39. I said long time that Carson is the Deputy Chairman to a man who has difficulty understanding that 0.01 and 0.010000 are the same. What does that tell you about the intellectual capacity of Carson Cadogan?
    Seems like that extract posted by David has cut Carson’s tongue clean out of his mouth.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is not about Duguid: he is no longer in the House. This is about a silly man who had nothing worthwhile to say during a debate and resorted to being offensive to right-thinking Barbadian. I am sure that Jones finds nothing wrong with what he said but that can be explained in four little words: he is an idiot. What are the excuses of those who are seeking or have justified Jones’ idiotic remarks?

41. old onion bags Avatar

Answer me this then….are you the real true Carson Cadogan or are you just using his name?..Sly old fox you….man to save face ..if i were you I would have paid the $381, and nip this scandal in the bud…..your integrity is on the line young boy….Man wha a hearin lol.

42. St. Michael Central Council Members
    The Constituency Council of St. Michael Central comprises of the following persons:

Mr. Ryvan Humphrey (Chairman)
    Mr. Carson C. Cadogan (Deputy Chairman)
    Mr. Tyrone Trotman
    Ms. Felicia Went
    Ms. Paulette Drakes
    Mr. Cephus Sealey
    Mr. Sherwin Boyce
    Ms. Cynthia M. Saunders
    Mr. Timothy Small
    Ms. Esther N. Marshall
    Mr. Clyde H. Chase
    Ms. Sherphine Howell
    Mr. Wyatt A. Roach
    Ms. Patricia Stuart

Fellow BU community members you be the judge!

43. old onion bags Avatar

Unpaid light bill shock

By Maria Bradshaw | Thu, May 30, 2013 – 12:07 AM

An election gimmick.

That is what a man is calling an offer of assistance to his elderly mother from the St Michael Central Constituency branch of the Democratic Labour Party.

The man, who would only give his name as “Ikie”, told this newspaper, that six months after constituency representative Steve Blackett personally collected the bill from his 84-year-old mother and told her that he was going to look after the payment, a crew from the Barbados Light and Power turned up yesterday to disconnect her service for non-payment.

The bill was over $300 in arrears.

The angry man told the DAILY NATION that last November, while Blackett was campaigning in Waterhall Land, Bank Hall, St Michael, with another man named Carson Cadogan, they visited his mother, Muriel Haynes.

“Mr Blackett asked my mother if she had any bills that she wanted help with and my mother said the only bill she had that wasn’t paid as yet was her light bill,” Ikie said.

“He took it from her and told her that he would get the Welfare Department to pay her bill. ”

Ikie said they did not see another light bill come to their house until April when a bill arrived with arrears of $381.

Please read the full story in today’s DAILY NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

44. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

@ Just Asking doan let de DLP yardfowls on this blog fustrate ya. You ain’t realise DEM working overtime on this trying to maintain an illusion??!!!. First Mia can’t run the BLP, then the BLP divided and now Jonesy saying that we inciting resurrection in Barbados. Don’t pay them no mind, it is all part of the DLP smoke and mirrors tactics, you can guarantee that more ignorance gine come from them over the next 5 yrs . They are deflecting attention from themselves so that people can’t focus on their obvious incompetence in running Barbados. Yard fowls does free range so DEM all up and down this blog

@NationBLPnewpaper obviously you does come on this blog for comedic relief. You obviously don’t watch DLPCBC TV or listen to Talk yuh Talk which might be a good thing. Visitors to Barbados listening to CBC does ask if Barbados is a one party state. CBC so bi-ass the executives of FOX news does take pointers from them.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No wonder you all are still on the opposition benches . You all love to believe lies.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

LET ME REPRINT THIS FOR YOU ONE LAST TIME:

I know that you are old and maybe your glasses are not as strong as they ought to be. So maybe you cant see what I wrote properly, as a result I will write it in block letters for you:-

I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHO THE NATION NEWSPAPER IS REFERRING TO IN THAT ARTICLE.

CAN YOU SEE IT NOW?

47. old onion bags Avatar

Elucidate for us then Carson…..Is the NATION NEWS telling lies?….I don’t understand ….If so why you ent pursue to matter as libel?…Ya got me and others at loss C….

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

You now showing some common sense.

49. old onion bags Avatar

So have you done something about it? If so what…man usually you duz be a man of MANY WORDS…..now this….got me pullin teeth..Man i am not a dentist son…let it out !

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

You and many on BU know very well that often the Nation newspaper gets it very, very wrong.

A look at the many retractions printed in The Nation is testimony to flawed Journalism at that institution.