Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
Onย  May 29, minister of finance Chris Sinckler gave a keynote address to the Barbados Chamber of Commerce setting out the governmentโ€™s latest thinking on monetary policy to a distinguished audience, including the governor of the central bank. We are invited to consider the ministerโ€™s speech as the governmentโ€™s latest roadmap out of the chaotic economic circumstances in which the nationโ€™s economy is gridlocked, a definitive analysis of the situation and a cure for the financial anxieties of households and corporates.

It is a claim he made himself. After reminding us of his pride to be a Barbadian, in case he had forgotten, he went on to say: โ€œI am mindful, Mr President, that when I speak to this chamber, I not only speak to the people immediately before me, but because of modern communications technology, I am addressing a wider Barbadian audience and even an international audience.โ€ So, this message is for the wider world. After boldly accepting that the buck stops with him, he goes on to tell a half-truth by claiming the bulk of the problems with which he is now dealing predated the DLP administration.

To a large extent this is true in that the previous BLP government wasted most of its 14-year rule, but after five years in government the DLP is disingenuous in trying to pass off any of the blame for the sorry state of the economy on the previous government. But that is in passing. He talks about the political economy of managing a small state; he could also have mentioned the politics of economics and the economics of politics. Having reminded his audience that Barbados had a current account deficit of 7.8 per cent, he later stated: โ€œโ€ฆgovernment, private sector, labour movement and general population ..must stand up to the task of ensuring that that which is out of balance is brought into equilibrium. That which is performing below optimal level is restructuredโ€ฆ.to bring it to a higher level of efficiency and output and we must fix what is broken in a resolute way.โ€

Again the minister is being economical with the actualite. It is clear that government revenue and spending are out of sync and are badly in need of rebalancing; what is the government doing about its debt, which is now in reality about 90 per cent of GDP, and even higher, if we were to take in to consideration official tampering with the numbers. He also mentioned โ€œ..that which is performing below optimal levels..โ€ does he include the overall civil service in this assessment, over-manned and under-performing? Is this part of the urgent need for restructuring that he talks about? If so, this government prides itself on preserving public sector jobs at any cost. But the structural problems with the public sector in Barbados have been there since the 1950s, and made progressively worse every new government. Further, this is clearly a new awareness by the DLP administration since it does not take five years to tackle structural problems.

Global Growth:
The minister also talks about a โ€˜prolongedโ€™ global economic weakness without any apparent realisation that what we are witnessing is a fundamental shift in global economic power from the north to the south. So, while Anglo-Saxon economies are struggling, emerging economies are driving global growth. The minister does not seem to be aware of this. According to one major study, between 1980 and 2007, global financial assets (equity markets, corporate and sovereign bonds and loans grew from US$12 trillion to US$206 trillion; by 2012, the latest available figures, it had grown to $225 trillion, admittedly a slow down, but not a halt. When measured against global GDP, the figure grew from 120 per cent to 355 per cent, before falling back to 43 percentage points by the end of 2012. The minister also reminded his audience that the Barbados economy had grown annually by 2.5 per cent between 2002 and 2009, before stalling in 2008.

Admittedly this was mainly under the other regime, but the crude reality is that the Barbados economy underperformed the regional and global economies. Global growth between 1990 and 2007 was a spectacular 7.9 per cent, although it has now dropped to a measly 1.9 per cent. But that figure in itself can be deceptive. Between 1982 and 1987, OECD economies accounted for 69 per cent of global growth, while the emerging markets accounted for 31 per cent; between 1992 and 1997, OECD members accounted for 54 per cent, compared with 46 per cent by emerging nations. Between 2002 and 2007, the years of the great global boom, advanced nations accounted for 33 per cent of global trade and emerging nations 67 per cent. And, according to the Financial Times, between 2012 and 2017, developed nations will account for 26 per cent of world growth, compared with 74 per cent by emerging economies. These figures become even more stark when we look at the performance of individual economies.

Between 1982 and 87, the US grew by 29.8 per cent, the UK by 4.2 percent, Japan by 10.3 per cent and China by 9.9 per cent. In the five years to 1997, the US grew by 29.8 per cent, the UK by 3.8 per cent, Japan by 3.8 per cent, and China by 18.9 per cent. Between 2002 and 2007, the US grew by 12.6 per cent, the UK by 2.2 per cent, Japan by 2.6 per cent and China by 23.6 per cent. And it is predicted that by 2017, the US will grow by 13.9 per cent, the UK will be out of the ten top economies, Japan will grow by 1.4 per cent and China by 33.6 per cent.
And the Financial Times concludes: โ€œThe future of world growth is increasingly dominated by China, soon to be the worldโ€™s largest economy.

โ€œOnly the US and India provide any rivalry and, so weak is prospective European growth, that the EU accounts for less than six per cent of the global total. Only Latin America and India are increasing their share.โ€ No where is there any recognition of this new reality in the ministerโ€™s speech. However, this is the irreversible drift of the global economic growth, certainly in the first half of the 21st century. However, the second half of the 21st century belongs to Africa, it is theirs to lose. One brilliant young Barbadian, Donna St Hill, is doing world-class work on Africa and the minister could do worse than inviting her in for a discussion. For reasons best known to Barbadian politicians, policymakers, academic economists and public intellectuals, this reality is not even recognised.

The minister also indulged in a bit of navel gazing when talking about the importance of tourism to the national economy and its decline since the global banking crisis. There is no analysis of the causes of the fall off in new tourist numbers, the need for new revenue streams, no proposal for diversification, nor, more importantly, no suggestion of the development of a tourism infrastructure. It is clear, from the ministerโ€™s address, that he – like the rest of the government and the tourism sector โ€“ is caught like a rabbit in oncoming traffic lights. Somehow they are not aware that tourists need more than sunshine, relatively lovely beaches and over-priced hotels masquerading as world-class. Even the simple question: what do tourists do when not in the sea, eating in ordinary hotel restaurants or driving through the Barbadian countryside?

Not since 1961, the birth of the Barbadian tourism industry by the Englishman Ronald Tree, have there been any real interest in creating an infrastructure that will encourage tourists to spend even more money on the island. Then he admitted: โ€œThe government sought to finance these (revenue โ€“ HA) shortfalls externally, through multilateral and bi-lateral borrowing, and domestically, by you, the private sector, the NIS and the central bank. โ€œWe were very conscious of the importance of balancing these financing options and sought to do so in a way that would increase the relative risks of our external exposure nor put unnecessary pressure on the available funds in the domestic market.โ€

In this poorly phrased section of his speech the minister explained everything that is seriously wrong with government fiscal policy. Having been excluded from the prohibitively high interest rates on the global markets due to its poor credit rating, the government retreated to borrowing from local financial institutions at relatively very high rates, from the NIS, totally ignoring the long-term nature of a national pension fund, and intruding in to central bank independence, even though he did not spell out the ways in which this was done. Noticeably absent from this explanation was any attempt to reduce public expenditure generally, and what the public sector calls annual management expenditure, which is traditionally considered to be untouchable. He goes on: โ€œAs a government, we are faced with two simultaneous challenges: the imperative to reign in (sic) the growing fiscal imbalances and a duty to provide a cushion for the most vulnerable during the circumstances. โ€œWe committed ourselves to maintaining employment in the civil service, while at the same time systematically adjusting our tax structure in a way that would not place undue burden on any one group.โ€

In fact, the policy of job preservation in the public sector made civil servants chosen people in the midst of an historic economic storm. But this is the core of the very restructuring that he has mentioned. In fact, government should have used the opportunity when it first came in to introduce a policy of labour market flexibility, weaken the bullying and unproductive trade unions and reform the sector by removing a culture of entitlement by time-servers and introducing a meritocratic system of employing the brightest and best of graduates and fast-tracking them to the top of the civil service. Government did not do this because it found itself a prisoner to administrative dinosaurs and a union mafia. He told the meeting that structural reforms would have to be made over the short, medium and long-term. But, after five years in power there is no sign yet of these reforms, beyond rhetoric. He told his audience โ€œโ€ฆ.a lot of the deficit spending you see in this economy is structural and locked deeply into the heart of this economy. It is not just about salaries and wages in the public service though much of this growth has not been matched by productivity gains and that in itself is a problem.โ€ This public confession may be good for the political soul, but not for taxpayersโ€™ pockets.

It is also flattering to see the minister has finally come round to my position, one bitterly criticised by a former governor of the central bank, that the fundamental macro-economic problems in Barbados are not cyclical, which could be passed off on the global crisis and decline in tourist numbers, but are deeply structural and no matter how the global, regional and national economies perform those crippling inefficiencies will remain. For a senior minister in a government to admit that generous salary increases are not matched by productivity gains is to confess his, and the governmentโ€™s, managerial incompetence. The high labour unit cost in Barbados, which is scandalous, is a direct result of the bullying nature of the overpowering public sector unions and the unwillingness of senior civil servants and politicians to take them on. This failure cannot be placed at the door of the previous regime, the global banking crisis, or the reluctance of the rest of the world to understand the Bajan way of doing things. At some point Sinckler and his colleagues must put their hands up and plead guilty as charged.

Analysis and Conclusion:
The ministerโ€™s use of the ideology of foreign reserves as a crutch to explain the over-surplus of reserves is inexcusable and totally irrelevant in the post-2008 global economic landscape. Even in simple housekeeping terms it is a nonsense: why should a householder stockpile a massive amount of cash in a bank account, for example, while continuing to build up high-interest debt on a credit card to purchase household durables?

A better strategy would be to put aside some of that money for a rainy day and use the other savings for important purchases, such as home repairs, or the childrenโ€™s education. The same with the national economy: government could use Bds$500m of the $1bn it has in reserves to fund a growth programme, including a balance sheet retail bank, public sector technological improvements and job creation for youth and young people โ€“ all of which would have delivered enormous productivity efficiencies, thus economic growth.

However, by now it is clear that the government has no economic credibility; it is at sea without a paddle: no vision of the kind of society it will like to see; no intellectual or historical understanding of the post-2007/8 global economic crisis;ย  and no programme for change. It is as if they are all burying their heads in the sand and hoping this is all a dream.
The over-emphasis on public sector job security is a straw man since very few people are talking about large-scale redundancies, if any, in the public sector.

What the minister and his advisers are not talking about is the much-neededย  structural reform of the civil service, rather than just tweaks, such as the introduction of service-wide technology, retraining those in job to use the modern technology has made redundant, such as stenographers, and as a short-term measure, making all entry-level jobs job-shares for 16-24 year olds, that important age group that poses a long-term threat to the nationโ€™s prosperity.

By structural reform we are talking about labour market flexibility, improvements in efficiency such as the collection of outstanding taxes and, just as important, constitutional reforms in the structure of parliament and the courts. Why, for example, should it take more than five working days to register a new company in Barbados? Part of these reforms must be a better and more informed public debate, not just rhetoric and personal abuse.

118 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Sinckler is Adrift in a Sea of Ignorance”

1. Apology extended to the Hal Austin fans for the late update.

2. Hal

You tend to overanalyse. The problem is simple: the Cabinet lacks the intellectual capacity to manage the economy. The Prime Minister’s expertise is in the classics, maybe he read every word written by Shakespeare and that ilk but he’s clearly out of his depth in economics. Not knowing what to do, he abandoned the economy to a buffoon who can barely do sums.

3. Job sharing !! What a wonderful idea.
    I want to be the one sharing with Frugabe.
    Then we would both be doing nothing.

4. @Caswell et al

Please be reminded that a Fruendel Stuart led DLP won the recent general election.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Please be reminded that the Freundel Stuart led DLP won the recent election by breaking every rule. They bought votes with cash and jobs. The evidence is there for all to see, the extent of the bribery at NHC was recently highlighted at the PAC meeting. I was careful not to call it an inquiry to avoid upsetting Jepter.

6. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell
    I was trying to punch in some Sponge Bob Square pants humor from U-tube but all are well aware that this present mix is “plenty enuff” ( even doh we lawyer friend from D Ivy gone). Blame Blame Blame thats all we hearing….When will it end?… Do they need to be reminded that this administration is now on its SECOND term and Mr. Blame ju8st spitting in the air with his frivolous and fraught-fulness .
    How much longer will this blame game go on? Damm it man. 5 years is enough…The DLP people and some help, have given you all a mandate, isn’t that clear enough? If you knew you can’t handle…why the mount? Just bare premature ejack-ful-lations musse…

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal Austin

Can you tell us how many people voted for you in the last general elections?

8. old onion bags Avatar

@ Carson
    Like you fill in for Kenny Jenny with a permanent beat. So what is your point Mr. Finest? At least you must try to make sense…others reading you know.

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Please be reminded that a Fruendel Stuart led DLP won the recent general election.@ leader of the vote buying ?
    We just love the way BU high light each crook one at time.
    MIA now Sink-man, Next it will be the PM….Sink man just want us all to be stupid to think all he say is true ,
    Maybe Sink man of a Nation need to look up money masters , This foool is a dreamer while still awake .

10. I have freinds in the business community,who tell me that the country is virtually at a standstill.
    A freind ,a lady,went ,she said, last Saturday to Cherish in town at around four and the place was closed early.Now that is really worrying.
    Cherish is a well run, people orienated business.They would not “just close” early for rhe sake of it.
    They have to be suffering.
    ” At the Brink” is a phrase that immediately comes to mind.
    Not to be Dramatic, needlessly.
    That is,the “early closing” a little like seeing the first symptoms in an Epidemic.
    It can be the first step in the ladder of a massive recession in Barbados.

Closures feed the collapse of the economy ,it a self fulfilling scenario.
    It is also a rapid reaction ,once the “food chain” breaks ,the dislocation shock waves take a lot of others down also.
    A business is made up of segments, one time segment works to pay salaries, another to pay Taxation,etc etc if when at the end of “dividing up the cake ,there is not a segment called profit,which after all is the prime objective of a business , it Goodbye.
    Nobody goes to work the whole week ,the whole year and works for nothing.
    A businessman/woman not only works and worries but invests previously earned tax paid income, a lot of the time also taking bank loans to grow.
    Entreprenuers,risk takers.Business cannot stay static,it has to grow or be overtaken and lose .
    A smart business person will not just keep “digging the hole deeper” they will see the writing on the wall, read the future from hard experience and call it a day ,while they are still in front.
    They may still have a profitable business but if the business /es they supply get into trouble ,what alternative is there for them.
    Its like if you are riding a ZR and the driver has a heart attack, a lot of innocent riders go with the driver.
    (mind you ,usually on the ZR its the driver giving the riders the Heart attack) but you know what I mean,..In business you can be the good guy and still get “taken out”
    From what I have witnessed ,Barbados has a culture of “passing the losses” and the last link in the chain is “Joe public”.
    But as the economy is at the moment we are in a “Lose Lose” situation.
    “Joe Public” is “in a corner” and has no disposable income left to absorb , what is being dropped by stages from above; onto his/her neck.
    So we have a problem.
    What has always worked ;always Saved the Day ,DOESENT work anymore as the the “Joe Public Golden Goose ” is dead.
    So the Business is LEFT holding the Final loss.
    Couple that to the TOTALLY INCOMPETANT running of the Country; has resulted also in massive deficts in all directions,like businesses owed millions by VAT.
    Like Customs arriving at ludicrous Duty% tages on the basis of “Mad Hatter “reasoning.
    IE 100% Fruit Juices are 20% plus VAT, BUT ” in Customs ” some smart body says “But hold on; fruit juice is partly water, so it CANNOT be 100% fruit juice.THEREFORE it is NOW subject to 100% duty plut VAT.
    Or 184% on imported meats of certain types.
    Jams 141% plus vat.
    RESULT is the Exchequer gets NOTHING as these goods are NOW not economically viable and do not get brought in.
    Let me explain, as it was explained to me, by an importer.
    The duty and the vat are COMPOUNDED on the cost of EVERYTHING that it has cost to land the goods Dockside Barbados.
    So if the importer has a US $ freight of 6,000.00 for his container ,that FREIGHT will also carry the DUTY and the VAT that the goods do as those items are part of the landed cost.
    So a container of say 70,000.00US$ would be plus a feight of say 6.000.00 Us$
    76000.us$ times 2.02875(rate of B$ for US$) =B$ 154185.00 x (for jam) 141%= 217,400.85 x 17.5% VAT =38,084 B$ =the original217,400.85 =255445.99 PLUS a 10,000$B penalty Grand total cost for the container B$265 445.99 .
    So the importer must pay 101,260.99 B$ to customs.
    the VAT of which is 38,084.00,which the Goverment is not at the moment repaying the importer. (another nail in the business coffin)
    It took me a little time to get my head round this as the man explained it .
    BUT its true we also PAY VAT in the DUTY as well as on the PRODUCT as well as on the FREIGHT!!!
    This is why the economy is crashing,because we ,YOU and ME “Joe Public” are being crushed by the Goverment,in its “pursuit of revenue to finance more crazyness.
    Which in turn (altho they appear to be DEAF DUMB BLIND and STUPID to the fact) is destroying the very “branch they all perch on” the Businesses of Barbados.

11. old onion bags Avatar

@ Dr. Love

Only Cherish?…..my man Mannings Fontabelle just shut down! And not uno shoite happening to TRY to do something….all we hearin frm Blackie…the welfare office had all in place n readiness to aid the needy”…..man is a sad day indeed bout hay ….ya hear..Beautiful lil Babadoses listing!

12. @Caswell

heard that dennis kellman brother is to be promoted. check it ot.

13. Sinckler is Adrift in a Sea of Ignorance

THIS IS THE BEST TITLE THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN FROM Notes From a Native Son
    Should make interesting reading when I get the chance to read it

14. Before the Barbados Labour Party assume the reins of Government in 1994, Barbados was at a standstill. Businesses in town were closing down left right and centre. The darkest period in the history of Barbados was between 1988 and 1994. Everything was bleak bleak bleak. The BLP saved Barbados when they came to power in 1994 . They did extremely well. But alas ! the ignorant people in Barbados took the situation for granted and call for a change, Change from what to what , Owen Arthur asked them . 14 YEARS of prosperity after the pain and suffering of 1988-94 and back to foolishness under the DLP 2008- present. IMMEDIATELY — Pain and suffering.
    One set of people could be so ignorant though ?
    Bajans are Cunts

15. Man Carson stop making sport nuh . This is serious business . It is not the West Indies versus Pakistan. Come on man ! Get serious man. At least show that you have something between your ears
    Cheese on bread man !

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Newblood

Promoted to what? That man is already operating way beyond the peak of his intellect.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just Asking

“Carson stop making sport nuh . This is serious business . It is not the West Indies versus Pakistan. Come on man ! Get serious man.”

Apply this reasoning to your self. You of all people.

DLP = 0

BLP = 29

IND = 1

Your words, not mine!!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“JUST ASKING | February 21, 2013 at 10:31 PM |

BLP SEATS = 12 SO FAR
    PREDICTION
    I am calling it Now @ 10:30 pmโ€“ 22:30 hrs
    FINAL RESULT 22 โ€“ 8 IN FAVOUR OF THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY

19. The fact that this government has grown the public sector workers in the rich tradition of previous governments says it all. This is against a background that government is using social security money to support patrimony. Examples Drainage and NHC.

It is business as usual. Government in five years has not been able to significantly reduce public expenditure.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

JUST ASKING | February 21, 2013 at 9:34 PM |

SANDS GOT JONES BY HE ASS

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David | February 21, 2013 at 10:11 PM |

The VoB panel is over analyzing. There is an obvious movement away from the government.

22. The policy of the government has been one of stabilization. Given the protracted nature of the global downturn and the poor performance of the local economy it is clear the MTFS has served its purpose.

Based on the mouthings of the private sector there is a wary confidence in the MoF. This is not good when all should be singing from the same song sheet. Let us see what the national consultation on the 28 offers.

23. @onions
    Good Morning and its a beautiful day again in Barbados.
    The Sunrise over Consett bay this morning is nothing short of magnificent.
    Thank goodness for the things the politicians are unable to destroy.

Yes it was sad about Dacostas at Fontebelle and I didnt preclude it from my thinking.
    But it was a unit that was marked “man”from the start,simply by location and as part of a conglomerate..

Cherish in town,is a Prime Indicator of the state of the Barbados economy.
    A1 location for the “common” man ,well run, extremely competative,hugely popular,a “pulse point” from which the health of the economy can be ascertained.
    Another would be ,”Popular Discount” up at Spooners Hill and the Place in Blackrock ;
    “So-LO Trading ” all well run and extremely competative.(Altho this last place is White run).
    There are others of course but these three are the leaders.
    Very big discounters ,run as businesses of course, BUT seemingly with US ;”Joe public” in mind.
    Not Shopping clubs,where you have to pay to save, but direct sellers of hugely discounted top brands and Top quality goods.
    When these businesses are suffering ,then the whole Economy is in dire straights because their clients are the BASE of the “Social Pyramid”.
    The Goverment does nothing to ameliorate the load on these and all other businesses.
    As the Goverment knows full well it is KILLING these businesses,by strangling cash flow by non repayment of VAT it should look at lowering duties to conteract.
    But it does the opposite ,it manipulates duty rates to try , in its misguided totally ignorant of business, fashion ,to RAISE more revenue.
    Somebody should wake up the dear man who was elected to run our country and whisper gently in his ear.”YOU CANT GET BLOOD FROM OUT OF A STONE”
    This Goverment is KILLING BARBADOS.
    It is KILLING the BUSINESSES ,they are the life blood of Barbados.
    Stop instructing the Customs dept to use Draconian measures to “Raise Reveue”.
    We need Inovative, NonPartisan, Barbados FIRST, type thinking NOT the “done it this way evah since I did Come along” straight jacket type thinking displayed by those currently elected.
    Desperate times need exceptional measures and EXCEPTIONAL LEADERS.
    Personally I do not see any.!
    Fiddlers, and procrastinators and awful combination, our Country has NO leadership.
    Dont mistake those ELECTED to LEAD as LEADERS; being ELECTED does not mean being ABLE .

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

djfjfjgDavid | January 27, 2013 at 11:28 AM |
    @Miller

“With or without Henry the DLP would have won the last general election. It was Arthurโ€™s to lose and he did a good job. There was also a third term lethargy at play and a DLP leader who had national appeal.

This time around we have a government managing in a difficult economic ad austere period. Commonsense suggests that there will be the known predilection for some voters to move and stay away. What is happening is that the Bees have energized its base but we have not seen corresponding movement on the DLP side.

On election day it will come down to who the voter has the most confidence to manage at this time.”

I DONT HAVE TO ADD ANYTHING TO THIS

25. The government’s MTFS is predicated on fiscal indiscipline yet the current hearing of the PAC suggests/confirms that there is indiscipline in revenue collection. What has become of the Central Revenue Authority? Despite the Auditor General reports which spans both parties has anyone been censored?

26. @onions
    And I am sure you will be able to improve on what I say.
    I look on all society as a pyramid.
    Those at the top cannot exist with out those at the bottom.
    As clever and as educated as they may be at the Top ,the masses support them and not” vice versa”.
    Denegrating the masses is a little akin to the Bajun way of today of “not wanting to get ones hands dirty” (Farming NO THANKS)
    Its as tho the SOIL, the Earth is” dirty” rather than the soil is” from whence cometh all things”.
    So with the masses ,the “Base” of the pyramid the People ;they are the “SOIL of SOCIETY”.
    This Goverment pays them “NO MIND” This Goverment does not want to “GET ITS HANDS DIRTY”.
    It fries “Bigger Fish” at it PERIL .
    .Ignore the masses and instigate revolution.

Sandiford said it all” LIKE IT OR LUMP IT” and as the father so as the Son.
    The apple does not fall far from the tree.

27. Last year the Central Bank governor indicated that it was difficult to predict how the closure of Almond Hotel would impact the economy. BU et al at the time suggested the impact would be significant for obvious reasons, several hundred rooms gone. Yesterday we heard Chairman of the BTA admit that the loss of Almond room stock has been devastating to the industry.

Is Minister Sealy sick? Perhaps suffering from laryngitis?

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Here we go again, DOOM AND GLOOM!

Not a mention that BA holidays business is up by as much as 50% thanks largely to Barbados!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I must confess that I am happy that Barbados Underground and the crooked Barbados Labour Party is following the same policy of the last five years, that is to oppose everything that the DLP does.

It landed them back on the opposition benches and a similar result will be forth coming the next time around.

Keep up the bad work, guys!

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Maybe we should make DAVID our campaign Manager next time around.

We would do a clean sweep.

31. @ Dr Love
    To hear you tell it, one is led to think that the situation is one in which a wise, thrifty and productive people are being shafted by a pack of despots who have somehow assumed the reigns of power….
    Who would think that you are talking about a government comprised of brass bowls extracted DIRECTLY from the VERY SAME society?

Who would imagine that you are talking about a government which, if you were to use your best judgement and handpick ANY thirty of your choice, WOULD be equally incompetent…..since you would be choosing from a pool of brass bowls….

Who would think that you are referring to “masses” who have become the single most unproductive bunch of brass bowls assembled in any one location in history…
    …not only physically unproductive, but creatively, socially, spiritually and even sexually.

..lot of damn foolish talk and no ACTION….anywhere.

READ BUSHIEs words slowly….
    A people ALWAYS get the government, and therefore the RESULTS that they DESERVE.

…..now will you kindly desist from cursing that idiot Sinckler and the retarded Freundy and direct your ire correctly to the BBBs who have brought ourselves to the point where we DESERVE these jokers?

32. This question has been asked by the BU posse many times – has the government been mitigating currency risk by diversifying international reserves in gold and silver for example?

33. The news that the DLP has appointed losing candidate Holder as a consultant speaks to the same old same old. The issue of a government appointing consultants was a big argument for the DLP in 2007. The reason why the government is having a challenge getting the stakeholders like the BCCI, BHTA, ICAB and others to follow is because it is following the same path as the BLP (see Auditor General reports).

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson,

‘BA Holidays business up at much as 50 per cent’

That helps explain why April long stay visitors were down by 12 per cent and I would expect that BA will be announcing the increased number of flights soon?

35. With all these private sector companies beginning to send home workers and the public sector too, is the unemployment number still just under 12%? What will be the impact of government’s resources (severance, unemployment funds etc. Unless there is growth in the economy and or a cut in public expenditure we will continue to have this conversation. Moody’s is on record stating that the debt heavy islands of the Caribbean >70% do not have the capacity to shed debt quickly.

36. Getting back to the Central Revenue Authority. During the PAC Hearing this week the accountant at the Inland Revenue stated that it is owed about $400 million. We have heard similar big numbers owed to the NIS and the VAT office. The question which the public deserves to have answered is what % of government’s receivables is collectable.

37. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Have we heard what Government owes businesses in yet to be paid VAT refunds, NIS Severance refunds. Income Tax etc.?

38. old onion bags Avatar

@ Dr.Love
    Like it or Lump it……I couldn’t agree more….but like Sandi beware. Sheeple will follow for so long. Bushie apt puts the icing to the cake….. All those new DLP ” recently put ons” will soon get what they deserve….All DEM drainage workers hold wanna ask for sum licks… compliments your politician godfadder n fiend. Shame is not a word in their vocabulary.

39. @Adrian

The issue continues to be that we (public) never get the full picture. The vacuum created as a result gives great opportunity for members of the yardfowl brigade to bray.

40. @Anyone

What is the status of the NIS financials?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Carson,

โ€˜BA Holidays business up at much as 50 per centโ€™

That helps explain why April long stay visitors were down by 12 per cent and I would expect that BA will be announcing the increased number of flights soon?

What took you so long?

Only ADRIAN LOVERIDGE with his little INN knows how to run Tourism affairs in this country!

We should be kissing the bottom of your feet for having you around here.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TRUTH

The only thing that people don’t believe!

43. old onion bags Avatar

If not for Carson, what would we on BU do……Carson wait have you all done anything yet to get the poor 83 yrs old woman electricity back on yet? Man you and Blackette should be shame..ya ent know. ..walking bout tekk people electric bill and making all sorta promise for a vote…..dat woman shudda pelt D poe @ wanna…when it full too…..jokers lol

44. old onion bags Avatar

Carson joke……he take over from Ossie Moore……wait D cat got ya tongue?…..speak up!

45. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson,

Multi-award winning Inn.
    Including 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.
    Shame your hotel, even with all those Government hand-outs and subsidies couldn’t make it into the TEN TOP.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

I can always depend on you to rush in and do your utmost to nullify any good news that comes Barbados’ way.

You and PRODIGAL SON are licking your chops hoping that Barbados will crash.

But it not going to happen under the Democratic Labour Party.

47. old onion bags Avatar

………Carson got a hotel ?…….you mean shed -roof right?…..TYPO TYPO….lol

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No High Commissioner post for you anytime soon. By the time of the next election you will be about 75, no good to anyone then.

49. old onion bags Avatar

I want to hear bout D Old lady…..you worry bout dat…