Submitted by Looking Glass
Always exploited, often brutalized, indentured servants were slaves without shackles. Liz Wiley, here, finds a moment of rest. Photo by Dave Doody - http://www.history.org/
Always exploited, often brutalized, indentured servants were slaves without shackles. Liz Wiley, here, finds a moment of rest. Photo by Dave Doody – http://www.history.org/

So England paid the Caribbean slave owners to release the African slaves they had “enslaved, brutalized and exploited. The freed slaves by comparison received nothing in comparison in recompense for their dehumanization, their cruel treatment, the abuse of their labour, and the plain injustice of their enslavement – BU April 14/2013

The Caribbean is a region with many countries many of whom had no relationship with England and or slavery. To write about Caribbean slavery without being specific as to the islands involved is to put it mildly is misleading.

In the case of Barbados the absence of history heightens our inability to think with clarity. The British discovered Barbados I believe in 1640. Indians were the only residents there. Some eventually migrated to British Guyana. The first English settlers the vast majority of whom were Jews wanted to grow coffee but England needed sugar. To this end they sent in some INDENTURES/white slaves, arranged for Blacks to be sent from Nigeria and paid them to work on the land. Unlike the USA they did not buy the African blacks.

The Whites not the Blacks developed the country and made it a democracy from about 1845. 18 year old George Washington first learned about democracy when he visited the island with his sick brother who came for treatment in 1895. He made America democratic I believe in 1950. That a sick American came to the country for treatment is an indication of the country’s development at the time. Among other things the Whites built the hospital, established social services and the business sector. Four Jewish indentures were instrumental in building the Bridgetown business sector. Their businesses are still in existence. A few Blacks set up their own business; one had a chain of six shops.

Elementary and the major secondary schools were established before 1900 to accommodate the kids/girls and boys the vast majority of who were and still are Black. This at a time when the Whites were not more than 20% of the population and 25% today. After school the White kids went to work in the family business, a few went abroad. The Black kids went to work in Bridgetown and the government; some became professionals others masons, carpenters etc. A few worked in their family stores but a many were unemployed. The economy as was structured then could not absorb them. Many migrated to the UK and North America to work and or to pursue higher education. Few Blacks went into big business. The same is not true today, but only a few can now migrate.

The Jews developed, built and governed Barbados until Blacks took over the government around 1925. They introduced and managed cricket and had three clubs, but only about 6 Whites ever played for Barbados. It is hard to believe that a racist group would devote so much time, energy and money in developing a country in which they were not more than 20% of the total population. It is unlikely that you would have done so had the situation been reversed. A few married black women and along with some others had Brown Skin children from black women. Like some Blacks not all recognized and supported their bastard kids.

They interacted and socialized with you at school, work and play, but did not generally entertain you in their homes. Could this be the reason why they are seen as racist? Black and White behaviour is similar in many ways. If so then Blacks are also guilty of what amounts ‘black class racism’ within the black community. Upper class Blacks do not normally entertain lower class souls at their homes. The same is true for the middle class. How you view and relate to the Brown Skin souls is another story.

Stop blaming the Whites some of whom were also indentures who like your fore parents worked on the land. They are only about 25% of the population. It is now your turn to develop to further develop the country. So far there is little to suggest that this is being done. As I said before our only natural resources are land, sea and sun. Use them to develop the country. Economically the country as currently structured cannot absorb the work-pool. Until you do the country will fall deeper in debt. And stop relying on foreign investment and Tourism to see you through. Despite what some think Tourism cannot save you. These days Blackie wants nothing to-do with the land that brought that brought their fore-parents to the island. Ultimately it remains their one salvation

1. Looking Glass;

Did you make this history up out of your own head or do you have a source?

2. BU is highly irresponsible to publish this kind of racist filth. In some parts of the world this kind of racism deemed likely to stir up racial hatred is an indictable offence.
    But I guess bajans are too docile to do anything about it
    We could do without such people in or midst.

Highly offended

3. @Looking Glass
    Serious inaccuracies written here.
    1 Bim discovered by Portugese who left pigs to roam wild for food at a later date. The word Barbados is Portugese for “bearded one” deduced from the bearded fig trees prevalent at the time.

2 English came in 1625 or 1627.

3 No “Indians” were here then

4 The original crops were indigo and tobacco NOT sugarcane

5 Bdos had its first Parliament in 1639.

I dont need to continue do I?

4. @blackpride

What is it you are objecting to? The fact that on BU we support freedom of expression?

5. @Moneybrain

Show blackpride how we do it on BU.

6. Looking Glass is Looking like a JACKASS!
    I really hope u or NOT White because this is plain stupid!
    Are you Guyanese or somebody just out to stir up unnecessary trouble?

BLACKPRIDE is right, this is pure TRIPE! The only reason for publishing this is as a TEST of some sort OR Looking Glass managed to highjack the system!

7. BU can sit and trash many of the submissions we receive because we know them to be ‘garbage’ but we have decided to post them, then the author’s credibility must withstand the scrutiny of BU commenters. And we all know how that goes.

8. Moneybrain………..were there not native Carib and Arawaks living on the island when others claimed they found the island, I am sure there was pottery found on the island that predated columbus or anyone else claiming to discover Barbados and the other islands in the Caribbean.

9. I am glad David allows such submissions to be published here on BU. It is important for us all to know what narratives others around us follow. Believe it or not but some in Barbados would agree with this narrative. Even some black bajans among us would agree with the slant of this submission. This is why I am against any form of censorship on BU. Let us not prevent the views of all and sundry from being expressed. Our own survival may depend on it.

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

In spite of the fact that Looking Glass appear to have obtained this bit of history from the back of a Match Box or bubble gum packet out of the southern red neck USA,and his figures are out of whack,nevertheless ,his last paragraph should not be ignored.

11. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Now we understand why Germany,in recent times , had to pass laws to prosecute those who are spreading the mis-information that
    the Holocaust never happened.
    Towards the end of the last war,when General Eisenhower saw what had occurred at Bergen -Belsen, he rounded up all of the people in the surrounding villages ,and showed them what has been happening under their noses,and as he so rightly put it……….” because someday some bastard is going to say that this never happened.” Today we have our very own bastards.

12. David

Thanks for the courage to publish this. The little historical inaccuracies are neither here nor there and the writer does not claim to be a historian. We have been fed on ‘Beckles on Barbados’ for so long it’s nice to read a different perspective. Isn’t he saying in essence what respected BU people have been saying for some time?

13. @WW
    The Arawaks lived on Bim historically speaking, as there is archaelogical evidence BUT NOT when Bim was discovered by Europeans.

14. For some it’s nice to have others to blame whilst they live in a historical limbo bereft of ideas to wake them up from their disfunctional slumber.

The thrust to form a political movement for the majority in Barbados as told to me by the late Jonathon Barnet (Barnet Gully) was that in 1898 a number of them thought there should be a political voice for the majority and met to discuss a way forward which formed the basis of today’s political parties on the island.

That resulted in progress although not being a meteoric rise was progress that led to the Grantley Adams government.

Things even under Adams became stagnant over a very long period with the next significant shift occurring under Errol Barrow where he took the people out of the plantation but sadly was not in charge long enough to take the plantation out of the people. He also expanded educational opportunities.

Without vast natural resources the island has one vast untapped resource and that is people.
    Either you use those people productively or you end up wasting a valuable resource.

Unfortunately the emigration bolt holes of UK and USA which should have helped, really didn’t to any great extent and the only tangible outcome is a Barbados that resembles an unkempt massive building site and very little by way of infrastructure – roads, etc.

There is little return on the investment in education which should have turned out people with ideas, productive people to grow an economy.

It would be a tragedy if the only straw to hang on to in the economic storms is a hope that slavery as suffered by our forefathers is a meal ticket to the future only if it’s shouted long enough.
    For one thing no one alive believes their are responsible for slavery and owe anyone anything.
    Flog a dead horse if you like, the scenery is moving and you are still on the same spot so you’ll starve if your dinner is not there.

15. Moneybrain…………..is there proof of that?

16. David
    So you see nothing wrong with publishing racist literature even if it could lead to racial unrest among the population.
    It is interesting to note that according to robert ross the” respected people of BU” are supporters of this kind of deliberate racist distortion of the truth. I sinceely hope you are not one of them and would seek to distance your self from Robert’s statement.
    Isnt it about time that the Government of Barbados follow the examples of places like Brazil , UK etc and stop the publication of racist literature including stuff printed on Blogs and social media . I am all for free speech but strongly opposed to giving publicity to some one who sounds like a card carrying member of the British National Front or English Defence League.There should no room in Barbados press for such blatant rascist views.

17. @blackpride

Don’t you think your time can be better spent on the blog by debunking what you see as racist and untruths? Wouldn’t that be more enlightening?

18. @Blackpride
    It is bad enough that it is racist BUT additionally it is obviously Historically total gibberish nonsense.

David my recommendation is to make it clear in BOLD type that this is a Fictionalised Account by an Insane Alien of unknown specie.

Now if this Alien had argued that Black Bajans had a tendency to classify all White Bajans as priveledged OR former slave owners or racist and seldom mentioned the plight of the Indentured ones then that would be arguable. If the writer had based his point on Historically accurate info that at least, would have been worthy of discussion.

19. George Washington came to Barbados in 1895? Since he died in 1789 that must have been quite an achievement – but it pales in comparison to his having introduced democracy in the USA in 1950!

20. Bahamred………..i would advise you to ignore many of the wannabes on this blog, they are trying to rewrite history, much of it is illiterate gibberish that they themselves do not understand. They do not know if the person who visited Bim was indeed Washington, nor where he stayed, they just use that fable to try to get tourist to the island. They are however, people on the blog who genuinely would like to educate the majority of Bajans with the truth, unfortunately you do have those who prefer things to remain as they are for monetary gain, cause they are the descendants of the lazy.

21. After reading the third paragraph of this hogwash, I QUIT. Not worth my time. He is no Bajan and was not educated in Bim. He knows nothing of our history. I will, however, now look at his posts with a different slant.

22. David is this a late April fool’s joke?

23. @well why u telling bahamred to ignore some comments. u get here all day long and night butt kissing and talking the same ole sh..t like a cockroach on “speed and nobody tell u what to do with your daily boring sam ole shiit .btw do u ever take time out to sh.t isuggest that u seriously consider doing so……….WELL WELL.

24. AC………….i suggest you get your husband to write for you continually, at least we can understand what he writes.

25. So funny even have time to readmu comments…..HA! HA ! take u eyes off my husband he can!t take too much of a woman who runs their mouth lie a “.runaway freight train”……..BLAH ! BLAH! WELL! WELL!

26. AC……………….stop showing your jealous, i bet your husband reads a lot of what i write and he understands.

27. This post contains so many factual inaccuracies it boggles the mind.Veracity challenged posts like this one are simply not to be taken seriously. White population 20% is laughable to say the least!

28. Sorry – I don’t understand why this ‘article’ has been published.

Amerindians used to inhabit Barbados. They are not Indians. English settlers arrived with black slaves in the 1620s. The slaves were brought in from several countries, not just Nigeria. They were not paid and were not free to go, that’s why they were called slaves.

Indentured servants were not ‘white slaves’. These servants worked for a fixed term in return for land. They had some rights. Slaves had no rights.

There were slave laws/codes and rebellions as a matter of public record. There are records showing the chattels owned by landowners. These included cattle, horses, sheep, china, silverware, furniture and people. How could that be if there were no slaves?

The wealth of the island was as a result of the sugar production. Most of the white population (small holders) left the island having sold out to the large sugar plantation owners. The plantation owners wanted large numbers of unpaid workers – i.e. slaves – to produce sugar on an industrial scale. The slaves produced the sugar and their graft made the plantation owners and the colony wealthy.

George Washington died in the 1700s, so unless he was Zombified I doubt very much he was walking around Barbados, or anywhere else in the 1800s or 1950 for that matter. (I don’t believe in Zombies by the way – in case my sarcasm needs spelling out.)

Where are all these people ‘blaming whites’ all the time? I’ve not met any. Also the Jewish commentary seems over emphasised to me. Maybe the author of the ‘article’ should have stuck to their thoughts about the economy without the Blackie, bastard and other offensive comments.

What’s the purpose of this? To turn black and white Bajans against each other and also against Jewish people? I hope not. Was this even written by a black or a white person?

As for freedom of expression – well there are limits. A few nuggets of truth doesn’t make up for a barrel of bile.

29. HM………………the lowlifes are trying to rewrite history cause they know they are some bajans who will accept it. I asked one Moneybrain if he had proof that Amerindians were not in Barbados when the europeans claimed they discovered the island…………..he has not gotten back to me yet, cause i have proof there were natives on the island………..they always try to get away with crap, they never stop.

30. 8 year old George Washington first learned about democracy when he visited the island with his sick brother who came for treatment in 1895

Dear Looking Glass. George Washington died December 14, 1799. So did he visit Barbados when he was a duppy then?

I gine leave the other people here on BU to fix you proper!!!!!

I always say to my teacher friends that if we teach nothing else in our schools we schools teach English, Mathematics and HISTORY.

31. African people and their descendants were enslaved in Barbados from 1627 to 1938. There is nothing alledged about it.

It was real slavery, and white English people and their descendants were the enslavers.

These white English people some of whom became white Bajans and their descendants profited enormously from slavery.

This is the TRUTH.

32. Correction: 1627 to 1838.

33. @ Well Well. Yes, there is a lot of rewriting going on around here. I always look for the angle/agenda. The ‘article’ would be ridiculous if it wasn’t so offensive. No slaves indeed! In other words they were paid interlopers who chose to stay and their descendants have no more right to Barbados than any other Tom, Dick or Harry.

As for the comment about Indians going to British Guyana – again – is this person trying to imply that their descendants are the true Barbadians, above those whose families have lived here for 300+ years? Barbados is their ‘homeland’ not ours? Farcical.

For a start any Amerindians (not Indians) going to the mainland would most likely have headed to Venezuela, not Guyana.

If the white people built everything then what did they need the slaves for? Barbados has been built from the blood, sweat and tears of Black people. The propaganda won’t work.

34. The BU ‘family’ response of some is not unlike the reported response when Galileo suggested the earth went round the sun, or when John Robinson suggested that God was not an old man up in the sky, or when someone suggested that Beckles’ history was flawed. The last really did cause trouble. It can surely never be anathema to have our cherished beliefs questioned. It helps to ensure we don’t sleep walk through life.

35. Wunna really feel that Looking Glass din up to something …? Glass I wid you … HA HA HA. Rile them up man

36. Looking Glass please crawl back under the rock where you have been living for the last 350 years and please stay there. Your looking glass is very cloudy and you cannot see the IDIOT you are.

37. BAFBFP;
    I agree with you. There is an agenda but what is it? The mistakes are too obvious. Looking Glass isn’t one of my favourite bloggers but he is usually better than this. Perhaps a stolen identity for someone to test the BU regulars?

38. HM………..There have been several idiots on the blog pushing an agenda particularly when someone alludes to reparations for black enslavement, the sense of entitlement of these soulless devils has survived any DNA transformation over the last 4 centuries, most of them are just as evil minded now as their slave owning ancestors were evil minded back then, it’s part of their DNA makeup., from time to time they need to be slapped down and kept in their place, we cannot allow their demonic spirits full freedom.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Simple Simon | May 26, 2013 at 11:18 PM |
    “African people and their descendants were enslaved in Barbados from 1627 to 1938. (rightly corrected to 1838) There is nothing alleged about it.”

Both you and HM in, tandem with Moneybrain, are doing the same thing as the author Looking Glass by distorting historical facts albeit not deliberately or on the same scale of erroneous interpretation of the history about the European early arrival and settlement of Los Barbados.
    It is not historically accurate or true to say that the early European settlers came with black African slaves in 1627.
    The people who were, let us say forced into hard labour, in the early days of tobacco, coffee and cotton cultivation were the indigenous people and subsequently white indentured labour from Britain mainly convicts, poverty stricken debtors and rebels captured in the many civil and political disobedience uprisings of the time.

When sugar was introduced to Barbados from Brazil by the Jewish merchants on a commercial scale in the 1640’s or thereabout the strenuous physically debilitating hard labour involved in its cultivation and reaping along with diseases proved too much for the fast disappearing indigenous people and the imported sickly sun-averse white skin labour.
    Black skin labour most suited to working in the sun were “bought and brought” from the belly of West Africa by Jewish traders to replace the disease plagued undernourished insipid whites and to provide an easy and ready source of very cheap for the massively expanding sugar production for the British market.

If you want to blame somebody for slavery in Bim then start with the Jewish businessmen and marine merchant class and the main consumers of sugar and rum the English aristocrats and Navy.
    The same way we are prepared to buy “cheap goods” made in China, Bangladesh and other places in the Far East because of an abundance of cheap labour almost close to a modern-day form of slavery the Europeans especially the English were indeed just as keen to turn a blind eye (especially the Church) to such blatant economic exploitation and social atrocities.
    Nothing new under the Sun as the compass of technology points in different directions with the effluxion of time.

@ Moneybrain: Yes, Moneybrain, there were thriving “colonies” of natives when the white man- both Portuguese and English- accidentally discovered Little England. Where ever there were watery springs in limestone Barbados there were “healthy” settlements of Amerindians.
    Who do you think save the sorry asses of the European when they “stumbled” on the little island called “Los Barbados”?

Who provided them with fresh spring water and food to quench their salty thirst, full their empty bellies and satiate their sexual longings with an eyeful of naked ‘bevvies’ serving them?

40. Miller……………Moneybrain is a fraud, he sold himself out with that lying piece of information about the native Amerindians in Barbados, i was waiting for him but he knew better than to continue his charade of lies.

Black people are still not aware that the fraudulent europeans masquerading themselves worldwide as jews, are nothing but the descendants of slave masters, Barbados was riddled with the scumbags, if you go to Corporate Affairs and research certain business titles from that era in Bridgetown, you will see the properties they owned.

41. @WW
    U asked a question and now I have had the time to catch up on this thread so just relax I HAVE A LIFE and it is not my fault that U may NOT. LOL. My wife demands attention in various ways and I am the MAN with a SLOW Hand! ( and tongue)
    I was merely relating my understanding of Bim’s history as relayed by the authors of the text book used at HC in the 1970s. However, if U were present I will concede to your eye witness account. LOL

U do appreciate that your comment “they always try to get away with crap” appears to be pointed at me and since U have recently learned that I am white it comes across very racial and very unjustifiably so in my case.

42. Moneybrain…………..so say you in the manhood department, my opinion might differ.
    The crap that was taught at Harrison College, a school known for it’s roots in racism, in the 1970’s is crap and you know it…………….I was present back then in spirit since some of my ancestors are direct descendants of both tribes of Amerindians who were present on the island BEFORE the thiefing ass europeans pretended to find islands………….and yes, i alluded to you too directly when i said you always try to get away with crap. suck up your racism accusations, some of my immediate family and ancestors are also white, you idiot.

43. So moneybrain…………what are you going to do now? i am part white, part amerindian and part black……………how does that fit into your little rewriting of history?

44. @WW
    U are making totally unjustifiable accusations in my case. Plain and simple.I dont give a Rodents Rectum whether you are PURE White or the most wonderful combination of races on Earth!
    I dont know that the authors of the History Text written by Mr Augier et al is crap! So your rant is also inaccurate. If there is evidence that they were Amerindians on Bim in 1627 then that is so, I dont see how it matters or what U think I was trying to imply BUT I do know U are WRONG about my motivation!

45. We can safely say the bajan white is arguably the most unschooled and foolish produced from the line of European whites, little wonder that they are not thought of in any significant way as being part of the great white way, neither in North America or Europe The above example is ample proof of what resides in Barbados.

46. @WW
    U are a champion about getting your knickers in a twist about absolutely NOTHING! I am not in slightest bit afraid of U or anyone else pun this MB! I was the only white boy in the village and the only one pun several sports teams, I can handle myself very well… EXCEPTIONAL ABILITY and EXPERIENCE trumps all comers to say nothing about top 2% IQ!

47. @WW
    When i went to HC in the 1970s the stupid whites won the lions share of the Bdos Scholarships check the record in 1974 and 1975, JACKASS!
    The Roach that worked with Von Braun at NASA was white! At least try to to be accurate. Thanks to people of lower brain power like U, I have had it easier than most so THANKS WW!

48. Moneybrain……………….you can bray all you want, you are still the most foolish and unschooled coming from the bloodline of the European white……I have relatives who got Barbados Scholarships, cause they lived there and they came from both races, black and white. The scholarship winners are all black now with a sprinkle of white………..in the 70’s there were not that many scholarships given out anyway, and today it is still education by rote. And today you particulary, is still very unschooled and very foolish. So you are telling me you are one of the disgusting looking bajan white Roach………NASA is made up of people from everywhere of all complexion, plenty are from the Caribbean, it is nothing phenomenal, the world is filled with people with all types of abilities, unfortunately you are one of the Roach with the ability to remain unschooled and foolish.

49. @WW
    No where have I said I was a Roach, LEARN TO READ FOOL!
    WE stupid European Whites are still the ones that DOMINATED the WORLD therefore what does that say about other races??? U are INCREDIBLY RACISTS! Sorry I forgot ONLY pure whites can be RACISTS, peeps of Colour can NOT be racists they are poor lil dominated peeps that can say and do what they please right??? MORON!!!

STUDY yourself carefully it will be a long, long, long time before people like U could dominate people like ME! BRING your best BS and I will stuff it back down your throat like SHAQ at the Basket.

I have been around people of colour all my life and had no problem mixing in and seeing how the World really works so U better plan for a LONGASS BATTLE!

50. Moneybrain……………now do you see how easy it was for me to expose you for the fraud that you really are? and yes, you are a Roach, also a cockroach……….when people are inherently stupid, they cannot help but expose themselves and how they really think and feel about others, you love to boast and brag so much you exposed your own identity, unfortunately for you, no one gives a damn about you or your backward way of thinking……….i am glad that others now see you for what you really are, though some suspected you are no good, and they are right. Anyway, you have a great and blessed day, you hear. I do have something to do downtown Toronto, so we will catch up later.