The following is a press release from The Concerned Creative Citizens Group (CCCG)

John Roett, veteran musician leads the CCCG

The Concerned Creative Citizens Group (CCCG) wishes to inform the public that despite a very one sided debate, the current Cultural Industries Development Bill (CIDB) is of great concern to many of the creatives of this country. Our Group comprising of 1251 members, along with many experts (both here on island and overseas) plus lauded artists in Barbados feel that the Bill in its current form is not worthy of passage in our Parliament.

Despite repeated attempts to present ways in which to make the Bill better, numerous requests to the Ministry and Minister of Culture, Public Objections to this Bill in many of the Public Town Halls and Forums, we continue to be rebuffed and ignored. We have submitted documents to the Attorney General listing our objections with the bill, carefully and meticulously pointing out the ways in which it will fail to develop the Cultural Industries in any manner whatsoever, and in an effort to maintain absolute transparency, these documents have also been discussed with the Leader of the Opposition and the Shadow Minister of Culture

Our concerns are many and we list just some of them: lack of transparency, archaic guidelines for structuring of a board, the manner of designation of โ€˜Cultural Practitioner โ€˜status, the allowance for Government entities to apply for funding, excessive powers vested in the Minister, and that would be ANY Minister who may hold the position in the future.

There is also a glaring lack of synergy between other Ministries and Sectors of this Nation within the Bill, which only further highlights how ineffective this Bill will be, and how little serious thought appears to have been applied to its structure. In todayโ€™s world, we at the very least expect the Ministries of Education, Tourism, Foreign Affairs & Trade to be involved, as it should be blatantly obvious how essential such inclusion would be for the continued development, spread & support of the industry in order to reach and sustain an international standard.

We reject any notion that this Bill should be passed for reasons such as โ€œitโ€™s a startโ€ or that โ€œit can be amended laterโ€. This Bill is too important to be passed or rushed for any reason. Our objections did not start recently. This is a battle that we and many like us have been fighting for the last 15 + months. We invite the public and the press to view all of our objections and files sent onto Government at our Facebook Group Page. There is a โ€˜fileโ€™s section at top of the group page which has all suggested amendment papers worked on these last 15 months.

We urge you to make your voices heard, and to join us in our objection to the passage of this Bill.

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

maintain absolute transparency@ you better be super man
    There are other BILLs ahead of that , so now they look to be busy in the House ,, Please all they can do is sit back and wait for next election.Same old paint brush and the bucket is empty.
    F..O.I and I.L need to be first.

2. Seems there is much to be said re the cultural mood of the island. Even international consultants are not happy. And then there is the Cultural Industries Bill. A Bill that needs to be rolled in and started again. This time with more than just family members working on it? Perhaps the CCCG should be involved. It appears they know what they do.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/05/13/ncf-a-failure/

3. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Despite repeated attempts to present ways in which to make the Bill better, numerous requests to the Ministry and Minister of Culture, Public Objections to this Bill in many of the Public Town Halls and Forums, we continue to be rebuffed and ignored
    ——————————————-
    The Barbadian society is sick !!!
    This problem of not being heard is chronic

These little black boys who depend on the taxpayers of Barbados to make them somebody through politics or a job in Government show no empathy or concern for others and may only do so to the degree that they use you for their selfish purposes. They show no real concern for people. Is this a democracy ? Huh

Heads of Government Departments do not respond to letters; Heads of various Government agencies do not respect the opinions of others. These people are a law unto themselves. They do not even hear from their staff members because they hold no staff meetings. Is it a wonder that Public Sector Reform is not happening? The Barbadian Civil Servant/Government worker is one of the worst species in the world, in some respects. Mediocrity ? No ! That is too good a description.
    To add insult to injury, you are placing females in position of authority, a sure recipe for disaster. Women are far worst than men and are not fit to be leaders in anything. They need to take their place; they need to know their place actually.

The only way Barbados is going to make its way back is for the Government of Barbados to bring in a cadre of ex-pats from England to lift Barbados up. Barbados is failing in all areas from Sports to Education . Barbados winning the cricket title is a poor reflection on the general state of cricket in the region not on anything improvement in our cricket.

We have held onto to a lot of crap that the mother country taught us in the past. It stands to reason therefore, that the only way out of this nonsense is to have persons from the mother country to tell us “look we taught you x .y. and z but please , it is time that you jettison this or that. I posit that this will have an immediate attitudinal change nation wide

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

DR. THE HONOURABLE@Heads of Government Departments do not respond to letters; Heads of various Government agencies do not respect the opinions of others. These people are a law unto themselves. They do not even hear from their staff members because they hold no staff meetings. Is it a wonder that Public Sector Reform is not happening? The Barbadian Civil Servant/Government worker is one of the worst species in the world, in some respects. Mediocrity ? No ! That is too good a description.
    To add insult to injury, you are placing females in position of authority, a sure recipe for disaster. Women are far worst than men and are not fit to be leaders in anything. They need to take their place; they need to know their place actually.@ YOU GET 5 STARS FOR THIS ONE .

5. Dr. the Hononorable, it is really to early for sexism………….if you have exceedingly corrupt males who oversee an exceedingly corrupt system with absolutely no attempt at change, how can a few women with the same modus as the male affect change? Remember women who would prefer to institute change are never the ones chosen to represent any entity or body on the island. the ones who are representing are usually the wives and or mistresses, or female family members of the corrupt heads of organizations and leaders of the country…………are you telling me that women’s place are only admired by you when they are on the world stage degrading and demeaning their womanhood? tch, tch, tch!!

6. It is always the same. Instead of some comments that have soul, we have to have racist crap re skin colour and sex. It never ceases to amaze. I hope the CCCG manage to get heard at last because they are the only ones that seem to be serious. Everyone else must jump in with a whole lot of rhetoric and nonsense that does no one any good at all. No wonder we get nowhere on this island. And no wonder our government looks upon its people with disdain. We have no behaviour and they like it so. Shame.

7. The Concerned Creative Citizens have just put together, yet again, a Press Release about our concern for the Cultural Industries Development Bill.

The bill is unfinished.
    It needs amending
    And we worry that future generations will suffer from it if this is not done.

We also believe that the powers that be are trying to present it, again, to parliament in it unfinished state. We also believe that there is a $50 million in funding from overseas that may have a deadline and hence the rush to push the bill through.

The CCCG are trying to work with government in a civilized manner but have been fobbed off continuously, obviously in the hope that the group will get fed up, tired, and go away.
    They will not.
    Until the bill protects creatives and actually will help Barbados the group will not back down.

There have been meetings. Some of them farces of meetings with PIPS ( people in power) which we will use when we have a press conference if government do not this time pay the group the courtesy of sitting down formally and discussing proposed amendments.

Our main concerns are that it gives the Minister too much power. And that there bean NGO body to disburse funds as we do not wish either the NCF nor a government appointed body to do this as the funding hardly seems to trickle down to where it is meant to go.

The group is not attacking Stephen Lashley, Minister of Culture personally. they would be doing this no matter who was in power as the bill just needs amending in certain sections ( the letter outlines this to Minister Lashley).

This is the third serious paper produced with concerns. The group has spent 15 months working on this for no pay, and much passion because they feel strongly that this bill must protect creatives and must also do good for Barbados financially.

We delivered same letter to Mia Mottley, Leader of Opposition and also Adriel Brathwaite, Attorney General (who would be the person looking over the paper before it was presented to parliament) in the hopes that common sense will prevail.

All relevant papers such as original CIB, then the changed CIDB plus all our papers that we worked on can be found in the โ€˜FILES” section of the CCCG Facebook page. Link here. https://www.facebook.com/groups/Concernedcreativecitizens/

8. Corrie Scott says:
    “We also believe that the powers that be are trying to present it, again, to parliament in it unfinished state. We also believe that there is a $50 million in funding from overseas that may have a deadline and hence the rush to push the bill through.”

In all my simplicity, i am wondering just where and to whom this expected windfall has already been designated??

9. It seems rather strange that any government would want to pass a Bill that will make the people of Barbados be the laughing stock of the world and be detrimental to their future as creatives. If the CCCG have all the answers, and in reading up all they have done so far, it seems they do, then why not just listen, learn and change the Bill. It cannot be that difficult. Or is it? I guess I keep asking the same question. What is the Beef? Certainly and hopefully not the same one sold at Subway.

10. Again I ask
    Who got de biggest balls

Angelina Jolie is a strange woman
    Imagine cutting off those beautiful boobs simply because she has a certain gene.
    Couldn’t she wait for scientific work on the gene
    What a waste of bubbies (as the bajans call them )

11. Yagga………..prevention is still better than cure……………..her mom died at 56, her chances of getting cancer 87%, too much risk, she now has a new pair of breasts, risk free.

12. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Nothing is achieved without sacrifice

13. Yagga Rowe | May 14, 2013 at 3:48 PM |

“Again I ask
    Who got de biggest balls”

Yagga please go and get your prostrate checked before you go talking about women and their bubbies. You might get a BIG surprise!

14. kathy yearwood Avatar
    kathy yearwood

Are our politicians and civil servants literate? Anyone reading the Cultural Industries Bill must wonder.How in view of the accessibility of internet have they failed to do any research? They even seem to be unaware at the enormous benefits which will accrue from nurturing the creative.
    Tourism is our number one industry but the Board of Tourism seems to be happily unaware that cultural tourism is number one priority elsewhere. Education ,to give them credit, have set up an excellent programme at BCC but then leave our truly brilliant graduates to flounder without any support for their future development.
    We still lack a National Art Gallery . Queens Park has fallen into disrepair so we have lost not only a Gallery but a theatre at a time when, if we are serious about developing a film industry, we need to be training actors. It is no longer the time to drag your friends in front of a camera and pretend they can act.
    The proposed bill fails miserably to put in place a proper structure for development yet the politicians happily ignore any attempt to discuss. For 15 months the CCCG has been trying to enter into a serious dialogue. Ample time if the Government were truly serious to go back to the drawing board and give us a Bill which we can be proud of.

15. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Are our politicians and civil servants literate?
    ————————————————
    Women are in the majority at Cave Hill and other institutions . Women are taking the lead because of paper qualification . Many of them bombard and harass others mostly men to help them with their studies. Most of them are only interested in attaining material things. Women have been allowed to get -away (read lack of control) with a lot of help from others. A society is in trouble when it has women dominating in any sphere of activity except that for which they are biologically equipped and emotionally programmed .

I want to bet that a woman or -women were the lead in this effort or had some influence.
    If men were involved , they were manipulated by these women. Women are very keen blackmailers. Men are failing because they are allowing women to control their actions.

Can I get some support from you men
    I know what to expect from the women on this Blog so you women can just cool it. I know how you stand; YOU don’t go against other women in these sort of discussion. But I want to hear the men.

16. Re: Women-Can’t get enough of that funky stuff

17. Ir there is anyone out there, please help the idiots on this island.

18. Dr. The Honorable………………a word of advice to the wise, get some help, seek out a good therapist for whatever ails you mentally, don’t try to blame it on females, everyone can see right through you. Therapy will help.
    Not only Barbados, but world wide you can find females outnumbering males at least 20 to 1 in most universities and colleges, including ivy league level education………in the workforce females have broken through the glass ceiling and are now CEOs, COOs, CFOs etc, etc, the males have screwed up the world, and we are taking it back.

19. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Dr. The Honourable.
    First of all If you are “Black” you should hang your head in shame. I deduce from your blog that you are a man. You should be doubly ashamed.
    1. Your mother was a woman. You should thus respect all women.
    2. You should respect all black persons today.
    How dare you in this day and age, in this country speak in such derogatory terms. How dare you talk about your fellow Barbadians; politicians, civil servants and the man in the street in terms of “little black boys”. Are you mad? And then to add insult to injury you speak so disparaginly about females. I won’t even repeat your phrase but you need to reeducate yourself and rename yourself because there is nothing honourable in either your utterances or the stands you take. “Begone foul varlet, get thee hence”

20. Alvin……………….i did not want to rip into him and thought at some point a real man would…………..mental problems are easily recognizable and treatable if diagnosed early.

21. Why can’t some of you stay on the subject matter? The government is using an archaic model of bureaucracy to drive what is arguably the most important piece of legislation in recent years. Elombe Mottley trashed the CIB in his lecture on Friday. Understand where he is coming from but a well designed Bill is a prerequisite to manage assure all stakeholders. We have to think big.

It was mind boggling to listen to head of COSCAP speaking to the disinterest shown by local artistes to this aspect of the business. Do you know 80% of royalties for copyrighted material played on airwaves leave the country? What are we doing?

22. This minister promised that NAPSAC and the secondary school version would have been held. Were they to our satisfaction? Off point but speaks to credibility.

Another thing, when one listens to Elombe and to those who followed him at the NCF what is the impression gotten?

23. All of it is shameful. The Bill must be stopped and worked on again. Makes no sense even arguing about it. Truth is the Minister must see this for himself. He is a lawyer and just reading this piece of work must impress upon him the necessity to start again. Anyone reading this can see that it is immaturely done, without much thought and certainly very one-sided in benefits. The NCF is a no longer that has failed miserably. Another entity such as this with even more appointees by a government cannot be accepted by any Barbadian taxpayer. One only has to peruse the document and realize its absurdity. Elombe Mottley knows exactly what he is talking about. So do those who have laughed at this monster of a Bill. A simple meeting with members of the CCCG is obviously an answer. I am told they do not want kudos, are not looking for any special favours, not even payment for their work. They just want to see a just Bill for all. What is so wrong with that? Nothing.

24. David said:

“Do you know 80% of royalties for copyrighted material played on airwaves leave the country? What are we doing?”

Did the Americans not complain recently that the government refuses to pay the money owed for the copyrighted material, if they are not recognizing international debts, exactly what chance do you think the young people have of being recognized and suitably compensated to push them forward short of exposing and shaming this government??

25. The point made in the CCCG document about an over emphasis on film is maybe going out on a limb. This is where the money is at and surely the government can only forego revenue through concessions if there are deals on the table. It s called opportunity. Just last week the UK got a heavy chunk of revenue because STAR WARS selected that country to shoot. We have to understand we need revenue generation to complement the developmental aspect of cultural activities.

26. Who will be able to convince these governments that it is the country’s best interest to have these exposures??, when they do not listen to anyone cause they know it all………..

27. A film industry needs to be nurtured as do all the disciplines that come under the creatives of this island. To hand over huge funding to a new industry that works on “we is celebrities so we gine mekk a film” seems rather childish to me. We have seen the local movies. Bad acting at its worst. One is not an actor because one’s aunt or uncle or brother or cousin decides that they will be making a movie or that by putting a so-called celebrity who has walked one of our red carpets make him ready for an Oscar. More like a Percy. Directing that sucks is so obvious. Story lines or scripts that are produced in a week. In fact whole films produced in a week with ‘celebrities’ posing off in all areas of Barbados and then being placed to pompaset on Facebook. Editing that tells the lack of exposure. Film is not ready and cannot be ready until proper facilities are put in place to teach all the ins and outs of film making.

One of the most amusing parts of the Bill is that if a company such as Disney comes along and wants to film in Barbados, the Bill says they must partner with a Bajan and form a company together. What? Run that one by me again? Surely not. This is the biggest joke. No one would even begin to imagine that this will bring film makers running to our shores, and if they do not come then how will ours learn anything. Employing ours so that they can get off their directing high horse and learn how it is all done for real. Exposure is everything. Anyhow, if any big Bollywood or Hollywood impressarios need a Bajan partner I raise my hand. Can even organize a nice lawyer. For a fee of course. Does this idea ring a bell anyone?

28. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Dr. the Dis honourable,
    I had not intended communicating directly or indirectly with you, but I thought you should be interested in this article that was sent to me. It should educate you in the strengths of women and encourage you to femove some of your biases.

175 Years of Resistance: Gaiutra Bahadur on Indo-Caribbeans, Women Rights, and Resistance
    by ivetteromero
    In โ€œ175 Years of Resistanceโ€ (5 May 2013) Gaiutra Bahadur writes about Indians in the Caribbean, women rights in the face of violence, and resistance. This beautifully-written piece merits careful reading, but we can only choose a few excerpts; I highly recommend checking out the full text on the Coolie Woman blog.
    One hundred seventy-five years ago today, on May 5, 1838, the first group of Indians in the Caribbean landed in British Guiana. There were almost 400, assigned to plantations along the colonyโ€™s marshy coast. Since indenture was an experiment in slaveryโ€™s wake, feared to be a revival of slavery in all but name, we actually know a great deal about these first โ€œbound coolies,โ€ as indentured Indians were called. [. . .] We know that, during their crossing to a new world, a cholera outbreak aboard The Hesperus claimed the lives of ten emigrants, who died in feverish fits, their tongues blackened, lips desperately dry, bowels contorted. We know that their new world was blood-stained at its beginning with the rape of an eight-year old girl. We even know her name: Nunneedy. Much has been documented about the suffering of this first group: the 25 percent mortality rate; the floggings made worse by rubbing salty pork pickle into the wounds; the toes eaten away by chigoes, sand fleas that burrowed in their flesh.
    [. . .] In a way, their stories of exploitation and longing are not a revelation to Indians from the Caribbean or Indians in the Caribbean; their emotional texture is as familiar as our own skin. The sense of persecution, the thwarted desire for India, is as palpable to many of us as it was to those first โ€œcoolies.โ€ The theme embedded in their tale that intrigues me more, that strikes me as a richer one for determining our futures, is the theme of resistance. By the end of January 1843, there were no ships for India anywhere in sight, to send them home, as the planters had promised they would be, after their contracts were served. As a result, the indentured struck work. And as a group, the ones on Plantation Anna Regina refused their rations of rice and saltfish. They stopped eating for days. Then, when they could refuse no longer, they insisted on paying for food. Clearly, they feared that accepting rations would leave them in debt and further indentured to the planters. On an affadavit that they hand-delivered to Guiana Governor Henry Light, ten men marked X next to their names, to demand that: โ€œWe want to be sent immediately to our country, according to our agreement when we left home.โ€ Their resistance (ultimately successful) set a powerful example of protest โ€“ one that took various and sometimes unsettling forms through eight decades of indenture. There are some who argue that the hundreds of men and women who threw themselves into the dark waters, during the crossing from India, were resisting the colonial machinery that sought to estrange them from their country and kin.
    [. . .] The women, too, resisted when they could. They participated in strikes against illegally low wages. And they occasionally formed self-protective circles, to fend off the sexual assaults of overseers. The media reports have focused on their pluck, their novelty, but there appears to be precedent for their resistance, in the history of indenture. The written and oral records point to similar strategies by โ€œcoolieโ€ women more than a hundred years ago. In an interview in the 1980s, the indentured man Bharath recalled the punishment meted out to a driver (plantation foreman) who made sexual advances against a woman in Trinidad: โ€œhe want to do something/ โ€˜oman nuh like it/ so one day going five โ€˜oman/ beat eโ€ฆ / chap an ting.โ€
    [. . .] Oral histories with ex-indentured werenโ€™t conducted in Guyana, as they were in Trinidad and Fiji, which is probably why no stories of similar group resistance in colonial Guiana have emerged. I did, however, come across an archival reference to a woman who physically attacked an overseer who tried to rape her in 1914, on Plantation Wales. She inflicted two wounds with a cutlass. Her charge of rape was dismissed, and she was jailed for five years. Nonetheless, she did resist the advance, as did many other indentured women in British Guiana and elsewhere. And that, to me, is the most potent lesson offered by the indentured, in a story of private and political tyrannies โ€“ of exploitation by the colonial state and by men of all races that began 175 years ago but still continues, in governments and families inherited by their descendants.
    For full post, see http://cooliewoman.com/about/

29. The Bill should create a framework for ANY creative activity to sprout. Simple. Nobody knows what aspect of our cultural expression will spring forth. The thing about film is that professional outfits are always looking for jurisdictions to do their thing which is separate from local productions. The CCCG must understand that if there is money to be made by giving concessions to foreign outfits why not? Did we not give tax holidays to traditional businesses? Do not cap what s possible.

30. As the consultant Andrew Senior pointed out in his report, we are years behind in terms of where we should be, stifled by miles of red tape and conflicts of interest in all forms at all corners. As time has shown, our music and art disciplines have reached international standard on a larger scale than many of the other creative areas. Others are growing quickly, but need capital investment, professional input, and educational development. The talent is there and it is waiting to explode. The young creative practitioners who send me their works and ideas daily, fascinate me with the angles and slants they are coming from and their vision of where they would like to go. This Bill must address the needs of future generations or our future is doomed.

31. David, the concessions apparently come with stipulations, which basically negates any benefit.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Dr THE HONORABLE….. Do not knock the ladies. Up to the mid 60’s the entrepreneurial spirit was alive and well in Barbados , in the form of some very successful black businessmen-in Bridgetown,and further afield. But alas, as those pioneers were about to make their exit , they passed on their empires mostly to their sons,and like many other empires before ,they came crashing down. History will show that those businesses which were passed on to daughters, survived much longer. A latter day classic example is Montrose Supermarket in Christ Church.

33. John has been in the field long enough to recognize talent when he sees it…………

34. Well Well | May 14, 2013 at 9:28 PM |
    John has been in the field long enough to recognize talent when he sees itโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ
    —————————————————————————–
    Why you think so? Richard Stoute has been in the field longer with a proud and huge input into our entertainment culture. I prefer to hear what Stoute has to say. There is the assumption by a small minority who think they know everything and worse thinks that the majority of people are with them. Look although I have not read the bill when I hear certain people criticising a red flag goes up. I immediately think its likely a bill to help the majority of cultural practicioners thats why the predictable tiny group is critical. Does Elombe Mottley support any idea that is not his? A resounding NO!. I dont know who this Roett boy is but he sounding like Elombe. Frankly I dont trust Elombe, Roett types. I dont trust all politicians either but the Minister of Culture sounds honest and sincere as it pertains to the advancement of entertainers. Let me hear his views and draw my own conclusions. I will not be jumping on any CCCG bandwagon and I’m a musician.

35. Bottom line is this: why would the government want to force the CIB if a significant number of creatives are not happy? Des it not make sense to fully engage this group?

36. John

Not following your last comment. Several countries (developed countries) around thw world are successful in attracting this piece of business. Why should Barbados not build into the Bill the capacity to deal with all aspects of the cultural industries, of course we are at a nascent stage but the legislation must accomadate what is possible now and the future to be competitive now. Why allow Bahamas and St.Lucia et al to take advantage? Designing a Bill which is targeted at paying the bills of government from funding agencies is a cop out.

37. @David.

I ran a little check on the Star Wars thing in the UK. According to press reports, the Chancellor of the Exchequer actually interrupted a G7 meeting to make the announcement that his tax initiatives had been successful in bringing the Star Wars franchise to the UK. The projected budget of this movie is, I understand, ยฃ120 million. In order to trigger the tax concessions, the franchise must spend over 25% of their budget in the UK. In fact, it is projected that this movie will spend over half of its budget in the UK. In return for this, the UK is giving the franchise an 80% tax relief. This tax relief goes to the franchise, NOT the people who work for and are paid by the franchise. They remain taxable. So do the many corporate suppliers. If you are from overseas, then there is a withholding tax on money you work for in the UK. I am told that it is 30%. The main point is that this movie, which, I am told, could be shot anywhere, including Barbados, is going to bring about ยฃ60 million of in our $s 90 million + into the UK economy.

The Chancellor said that by 2016 he would have attracted ยฃ3 billion per year into the UK economy through the arts. Minister Lashley said that he would be attracting $800 million per annum into Barbados through the arts. The Chancellor is on target. Does anyone know how Mr Lashley is doing?

On the legal side, I note that Lucas Films, the producer, is NOT required to enter into any joint venture company with a UK company and the UK company owns the controlling interest. Clearly the UK does not disdain a Los Angeles company wholly owned and controlled by LA, coming into the UK and taking advantage of massive tax concessions, but bringing in ยฃ60 million to the economy. But we in Barbados are FAR more exclusive – so exclusive, in fact, that any movie produced under the CIB will NEVER be seen by the rabble of billions of people, but will be seen only by the select VERY few. Indeed, our productions are SO damned exclusive, they may never be seen at all. After all, we don’t want every Tom, Dick and Harry insulting us by coming to Barbados, bringing millions of dollars in foreign exchange revenue into our economy and exposing us to the gaze of billions. Unlike the crude and brash attitudes of the Brits towards having a robust and wealthy economy and lifestyle, we in Barbados prefer (and insist on) genteel poverty. That way, we feel virtuous and superior – like maiden aunts who insist on eating their bananas sideways.

My personal instinct is that both the Minister and the CCCG are both a complete waste of time and utterly out of their depth. They both excel at the same thing. A lot of talk and no action. They are both pulling in the same direction. The Minister wants the EU/UNESCO $50 million so that the Government can maybe pay off Al Barrak and Cow Williams (at least in part). The CCCG wants the money evenly distributed in the arts, from film (where the payback to the Barbados economy would be enormous) to flower arranging (where there is extremely limited pay back). There is an apparent lack of ability to prioritise on the parts of both Minister and CCCG. They also share the same objective….a desire for chicken feed, instead of the banquet that the UK is going after. As their objectives are modest and will maintain the status quo and any Bajan artist who desires to be a big fish in a big pond, instead of a minnow in the puddle that is Barbados, already knows that he/she will have to leave Barbados to attain their dreams, I say good luck to the Minister and the CCCG………may they have a lot of fun talking each other round in circles until the $50 million is won and spent and there is nothing to show for it.

38. @Amused. You are right on the count of the film production. The CCCG knows that film needs to be seen as a huge revenue earner and not as a partnership with a Bajan company because that will never happen. Right now the mediocre film and actually no, really bad films being made (you will have a chance to see one coming to God only knows which screen in London – Chrissy – please do not cry, I was told that people were in tears here over this riveting movie and its story line, I was in tears having to watch it) will go nowhere except to encourage a Barbados Film Awards with red carpet and people dressed to the hilt arriving in stretch limousines to the glory of a bunch of photographers who will have the usual 7 hours of show to shoot (with cameras, not with guns!) following in the footsteps of the Music Awards given to friends and family. A proper Bill would have seen this and attended to it first and foremost. ‘Directors’ and ‘Producers’ would have seen to this if they cared to look at the big picture and not just at their own ‘greatness’ in the field. So enthused and in love with themselves they settled for anything just to get piece of the monies that ‘might’ become available because ‘might’ is the only word people around here have come to know and expect when it comes to funding.

But you are wrong that the CCCG do not want to see big fish in a big pond. The CCCG are going after a Bill that seeks to encompass all the creatives of the island and not just a chosen few. They see the bigger picture and want the Bill to open up to this bigger picture.

Perhaps you are the one that requires open eyes and a better disposition to what the CCCG is trying to do. At least they have stuck to their guns and done all possible to work together with government and it would not have mattered which government either as there is not a partisan bone in any of the members of the CCCG. Bet that is different. Bet that does not ring a bell. A group that only cares to see an excellent Bill that will augur well for Barbados – both creatives and government – and will encourage the rest of the world to see this island as full of investment possibilities not just in one discipline of the creative arts but in all. Now that is a mouthful for anyone to understand…the words ‘not a partisan bone’ and ‘investment possibilities for all disciplines of the creative arts’.

Why would any government not want what the CCCG is offering? Which is simply nothing more but to make a Bill good for all. The Bill has some good parts but mostly it is flawed, so why not fix it? Showing the arrogance of not wanting to fix it to suit all is tantamount to showing there is a reason that is not being told, and that the promised transparency is once again not being adhered to.

@Guitarist when you say “Look although I have not read the bill when I hear certain people criticising a red flag goes up.”

Why does a red flag go up? You have not even read the Bill. This for instance smacks of what the biggest problem Barbados has. Not being informed but bellowing loudly. You say you do not even know the boy Roett but already know that someone else has more time in the industry. Yes. You are right. Stoute may have more time in the industry and yes Stoute is one of many creatives that are stalwarts in what they do. Does not mean because of this, his word is the only one? Elombe Mottley is another one who is so misunderstood. Because a man knows what he is talking about, does not mean it is all bout him. Mottley has been part of, seen and worked in culture for so long it is ingrained in his blood. Why should many not listen to him when he has Barbados in his heart. He lives in Jamaica because he married a Jamaica but he continues to hold Barbados up high in everything he does. His recent 15 books – Chronicles of 20th Century Barbados – a journey of discovery – recently launched here, speak for themselves and his selfless ways for as I understand it they are being given to Barbados, yes given.

John Roett is not THE CCCG. He is the spokesperson for the CCCG. Every group needs ONE not thousands because then they are called rabble. The CCCG is made up of many people – intelligent people and believe it or not intelligent creatives – OF ALL AGES – A GROUP that took the time to read, dissect, get information on, write findings to numerous bodies better informed worldwide (and yes Barbados is not the know all of everything) for assistance, read through other culture Bills, listened to many many who also had done all of the above – in fact did extensive work for 15 months in detail, for no remuneration whatsoever, fighting silently and respectfully with all the negatives that trying to do something good for this country comes with, and always having one goal in mind and that is to help whichever government come up with a Bill that will be respected by the rest of the world, one that seeks to help both government and all creatives. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Before putting foot on fast pedal Guitarist, try putting brain and mouth in gear. READ AND UNDERSTAND the Bill for starters.

One really has to love people who do not inform themselves but know it all. So unfortunately is how the majority of this island operate. One more thing Guitarist. Just a reminder for yourself and Amused. The real reason why Barbados gets nowhere fast? It is called Crabs in a Barrel Syndrome. One crab get to the top and got a good idea, study it all, understand it fully and then got something good to do for the country? Put he down instant because ‘we’ (meaning everyone in every rum shop and in every discipline across the board of anything that goes on in the country) does always know bettah even when ‘we’ ent really know what we talking ’bout as long as we can spout good, all is honky dory.

39. @LehWeSeeToo

In case some may read it wrongly. The words: John Roett is NOT the CCCG surely should have read NOT the only member of the CCCG. That has to be made categorically clear as some people enjoy jumping on what is not detailed and perfectly understood. John Roett is the Spokesperson and a member of the CCCG group, an important member as all the members of this group are. The CCCG is doing a good job and should be heard. No question.

40. Erica Smith said it best on FIREWORKS last week – the creative people are fragmented hence the manipulation by the jokers in suites.

41. I always love when political and racist remarks are shrouded in choice of words..lol. Guitarist, this Roett “Boy” is a Roett “Man”, who with no insinuation of ego has been a part of the international music scene at the highest level, and quite honestly, if you don’t know who I am and what I have always stood for, and you are from Barbados, you must live under a rock as regards entertainment, or just feel the need to defend through political affiliation. Matters nothing to me in the end.

Good to see “amused” commenting as well. How are you? We would truly like to believe that we are not a waste of time, and we in the CCCG are also not in a battle for any chicken feed in the form of any monetary rewards via grants that may be floating around. All we ask for is a fair balanced Bill that will benefit the creative people of our country, and our country itself.

David, I’m in full agreement with the film aspect, its just the regulations that need to change. It is a bit presumptuous to tell an international film company who can go anywhere, to come to us as a location to shoot their film, and stipulate how their financial and business split is to be determined. To say that we MUST be involved, I agree absolutely, as we will gain in may many ways, but these are things that can be negotiated. as the real benefit to the country would come through our association with the film as a location, and the myriad of spinoffs that will reach all our ancillary services and the incredible benefit of gained knowledge and experience to the local practitioners within the film sector itself.

I, like you, would really appreciate if comments could remain intelligently focused on the Bill itself, and that commentators refrain from personal disparaging remarks. They truly serve no purpose other than to expose bias or political stance, both of which are pointless when considered in the context of us all trying to achieve what is best for our country.

So for the last time we state, this is NOT an attack on the Minister, the Government or anyone. From my perspective, those of us involved in this exercise have given our lives to our creative gifts, and understandably we are very concerned when a situation such as this arises and our professional expertise is for whatever reason being shrugged aside. I would never even consider telling a lawyer or doctor what to do in his field, or even dream of drafting a Bill that would affect his life without full inclusion of his recommendations when balanced against all legal and business ramifications. I expect the same courtesy be extended to the creatives of my country. It is as simple as that.

42. David can you please delete the discriminatory off topic nonsense that is being posted here? People are trying to debate and find a way forward here.

43. @Ezra

BU is a reflection of society. Jus scroll pass those who you don’t agree. Censorship is not the answer.

44. This isnt a hunt for talent this is a witch hunt for revenue. That is what this Bill is about. I fail to see how you can brag about concession but cultural projects for concessions need to be approved by a Minister. Which part of that is sincere? When someone decides to buy a keyboard, drumset or camera for their son or daughter at 7 will the minister entertain that as a cultural project? There seems to be no room for either formal or informal Education in this Bill. What this bill seeks to acquire is the already low hanging fruit. So after all the investment from 7 – 17 in the child then he or she is invited to register as a cultural practitioner. Makes no sense. Why should they. That is as silly as the Rihanna should pay taxes in Barbados argument. Horse already bolted.

On the matter of the fiasco of inter school sports I believe that the minister has been over worked. He held 5 portfolios in the last administration and I believe he has 3 now. I have long said that creative industries and sports should be separated because they are two lucrative areas and should have a dedicated minister. At the very least given the situation in the lower house they should have ministers of state in those two areas. I fail to see how you can want a Creative industry off the ground and one man has his hands in so many things. Meanwhile we continue the death march of failure on to Rio 2016 where we will probably have a support staff which is 4 times the size of the number of athletes. Anyhow, while wanna doin wanna shoppin please bring back ah berimbau for mah.

45. Agree with a lot of what you wrote Ezra. This government must be given credit for moving this matter forward but where it continues to fall down is that the same old bureaucratic thinking is a drag. Yes Elombe is right that we need more programs and initiatives which lend to a learning of who we are and give ALL stakeholders a comfort level as to what culture can do, at the moment this public awareness by general public and corporate is lacking. We have to build this thing in parallel. We need to talk more, people who are passionate need to step up who have been silent up to know. We must hold hands on this issue.

46. Totally agree with Ezra and with you David. This is a group undertaking. A much larger group undertaking than just the CCCG. It is an undertaking that as many Barbadians who can should study, learn, get involved in. We must certainly hold hands all the way on the important issues so that we as a country can grow and not fall by the wayside as has been happening of recent.

47. Guitarist…………….I know both Richard and John, it is not about us against them, there is room for everyone to put their heads together and arrive at the solution that will best propel the creatives in Barbados forward. Richard has many years of experience as a promoter and can also see raw talent, as a musician, younger than Richard, John also has that ability to see talent from a different perspective. that is why everything keeps going around and around in Bim, you have to be objective and open minded.

48. @ Guitarist

If I was John Roett, a man whose baldness, and gray facial hair, denotes his years, I would be happy to be called a boy. But not if it was meant in a derogatory fashion for John Roett is a man who has contributed enormously to the music industry of the island. Not knowing who he is denotes who Guitarist must be. And I certainly mean no disrespect to one with such a name because I can only assume that it means the person (man or woman) plays the guitar more than well, hence the title.