Former Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Former Chairman CLICO Holdings B'dos Ltd rumoured to be local partners in Cost-U-Less
Late Prime Minister David Thompson (l) disgraced former Chairman of CLICO Holdings B’dos Ltd rumoured to be local partners in Cost-U-Less

We do not charge membership fees and believe we can offer low prices to Barbados shoppers, just as we have in our most recent store opening in the Cayman Islands, which was also a partnership with local business people

NorthWest Company trading as Cost-U-Less July 2008

It has been almost five years from the time of the announcement Cost U Less Maybe Coming To Barbados that it launched in Barbados. However, based on consumer feedback the wait has been in vain.  It has been two months since launch and Barbadians continue to wait for the low prices promised. Before the coming of Cost-U-Less the Trinidadians, who now have a vice grip on our food retail and distribution channels, had promised Barbadian consumers the same, that is, we would benefit from economies of scale created by a larger T&T market.

Barbados now finds itself in a situation where we have a new entrant to an already competitive retail food sector.  And it has not demonstrated any appreciable price differentiation in its offering. Sad to say the inevitable must follow.  We created 200 jobs with the coming of Cost-U-Less but SuperCentre and DacostaMannings, owned by the Trinidadians, continue to send home employees.

It is unfortunate that Barbadians have not been made aware of who the local business people are in partnership with North West Company (Cost-U-Less). BU believes that if Barbadians were to be apprised of the names it would only serve as another opportunity to expose the hypocrisy, greed and naked opportunism which exist among people we hold in high regard.

The word making the rounds is that Leroy Parris, The Estate of the late David Thompson, Hartley Henry and Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit represent the local interest. These names will cause many to ask many questions.

For example:

1. Why didn’t the BLP address this issue on the general election campaign just completed?
  2. Why is the estate of the late David Thompson taking forever to be probated?
  3. What were the considerations which motivated Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to approve such generous concessions to a forex taker in a depressed consumer market?
  4. If Skerrit is so friendly with decision makers in Barbados why have we not been able to establish a bilateral trade agreement with Dominica which was promised when the 2008 Thompson government was ‘inaugurated’?
  5. What can we say about the Kingmaker?

What low prices what!

367 responses to “Who Are the Local Partners in Cost-U-Less?”

1. Hants………………we been telling them that for years, until everybody got fed up of saying the same things over and over and over, ad nauseam……….the ones who could not take it anymore, bought a ticket and left………….it made life easier…….the government continually talk only about this will allowing more forex to take flight……………….it may not happen in our lifetime or theirs.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

On the night of 27th April, 1955, twenty-six persons met at “Glenhurst”, Lands End, St. Michael, Barbados. They represented varied backgrounds and outlooks. Some had already had considerable experience in Politics, because four of them were then members of the House of Assembly, and two of them had sat in that Chamber some years before. By the time the meeting ended, twenty-five people had started something that would change the course of Barbadian history.

Thus was the Democratic Labour Party born. At the “Glenhurst” meeting, the Constitution of the Party, which was to come into force on 1st May, 1955, was adopted by the following foundation members who formed the first Provisional General Council of the Party:

Mr. O. T. Allder
    Mr. E. W. Barrow
    Mr. J. Best
    Mr. O. Blackman
    Mr. J. M. Bonnett
    Mr. J. M. Brathwaite
    Mr. L. B. Brathwaite
    Mr. L. D. Burrowes
    Mr. H. Coulston
    Mr. D. Farrell
    Mr. C. A. Gill
    Mr. D. Holder
    Mr. A. E. S. Lewis
    Mr. A. H. Lewis

Today is the Anniversary of the birth of the DLP. What a wonderful day for the Island of Barbados.

The DLP has taken Barbados out of the dark ages.

Three cheers for the Democratic Labour Party.

Hip hip hooray, hip hip hooray, hip hip hooray!!!!!

3. Carson………………..these people are all dead, and we are very much alive and want to know about the pending austerity measures………..people will still need to eat in the next 5-6 months going forward………….can you explain to us why there will MAJOR REFORMS aka AUSTERITY MEASURES??

4. Carson………………enough with the dead people………………why will there be MAJOR REFORMS aka AUSTERITY MEASURES in Barbados????

5. David (not BU)

I read today’s paper and like you I was in shock. I cannot believe that some Bajans are still so stupid. I could not believe that in this day people could be boasting of spending $1500 to attend a weekend of Reggae fetes. I for one would never take up $1500 out of my monthly monies to spend on frivolous stuff. Maybe I am alone on this one but why would I buy new clothes to wear on the hill? To sit on the grass and then to go into a chemical toilet? Dont make sense to me but I would concede that no one can tell another how to spend their money. But I also concede that their spending will help the struggling merchants!

After the fun, where is the money going to come from for the Barbados Light and Power, the Barbados Water Authority, the National Gas Company and Lime or Digicel?

Bajans had better wake up to what lies ahead.

6. @Prodigal Son

You have portrayed your age. There is the lure of being captured on FB or Bajan Tube. To that segment is means the world to them.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

Don’t deny the young people their fun just because you are an old fuddy duddy!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

This is their time. You are renting space in their world. You have one foot in the grave and one foot out.

Leave the young people alone, don’t be angry because they didn’t vote for you.

9. Prodigal……………what are you worried about…………..Carson will feed them……………the administration has lots of money.

10. Of interest are the illegal substances which will be puffed in the wide open. Whether it should be decriminalised is another matter.

11. Did they not nearly take off Worrell’s head for suggesting decriminalization of mariujuana…………..i believe they like it just so……………..let the young people puff away, gives them something to talk about, remember, the boys on the blocks have to get their weekly drop off of stash…..who will keep the voters in line if they make it legal………………….ask Carson.

12. I been doing a little “sleuthing” this week gone.
    CUL, deader than a DODO,
    Supercenter very quiet,
    Shopsmart very quiet(and NOW takes NON Members),Like WHY I paid to JOIN??
    Cherish,closed one of its branches,
    TRIMART, firing old faithfull staff as they are “RESTRUCTURING”.
    The NEW CARLTON A1, like a mortuary(Well we should have know that as SEETHRO put his mark on that,or I should say his “Kiss of Death)
    What that man SEETHRO, ever get into that is a winner??

TOP MARKS GO TO::
    POPULAR DISCOUNT and SO-LO TRADING
    BLACKROCK.
    BOTH LOCAL OWNED AND RUN.
    “WHEN THE GOING GETS TOUGH,THE TOUGH GET GOING”

I was surprised the SO-LO place even gives back to the shoppers almost half of the profit given to it by the big bakers.

13. Dr. Love………….now we wait and see how the “major reforms” will make things better……………

14. @CCC you listed fourteen. C.A. Gill (now Professor alfie Gill) is still alive. Patsy Springer was also one of them and he is still very much alive.
    @ Well Well, there are many diffeent ways to make the money circulate and to keep the economy going it has to circulate. It may do so in a different manner from before or the way you like but the effect is the same, it circulates and everybody gets to eat.

15. David wrote “Of interest are the illegal substances which will be puffed in the wide open.”

If it is homegrown it will save Forex.lol

16. @well well,The Maple Leafs are expected to make the hockey playoffs. the tickest went on sale (sold out in less than an hour) and ranged in price from just under a hundred dollars to a little over a thousand dollars.at these sorts of prizes the cost of the Reggae show is good value for an all day and well into the night event.People like you and me will be long gone when the bills come dur. Relax

17. Alvin…………..you are right Patsy Springer is alive, saw him about 4 years ago……..Alfie Gill sounds really familiar, trying to place the face………….anyway, because of the seriousness of the current situation and as you can see from Dr. Love’s sleuthing……….there is still a long way to go and the reforms have not been introduced yet and will not be for some months……………Greece comes to mind, and it was not pretty………yes, people will eat, but there is really cause for concern because of the uncertainty prevailing everywhere…………..it’s not like the island can depend on any other countries at this time, everyone now has to look out for themselves.

18. And now for something different.

Teach a boy to fish and one day he might have his own fishing show.

http://www.onthewaterwithcoopergallant.com/

19. Alvin……………you got that right, there really is not need to bother about much anymore…………………if when we are gone, someone else has to take care of the bill………….we won’t even be able to care.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

From inception the DLP was about deception. Even their History is a lie. One of the original members was Douglas Lynch but they did not want the masses know that the new party that was so critical of white people would have a white man as one of its founders, so they did not allow him to sign on the first day. The DEMS were in bed with the people that they considered the enemy from day one.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All of you are worrying about nothing at all.

Keep calm.

The Democratic Labour Party is in charge.

Twenty years from now, if some of you live so long, you will look back at this timeand lavish nothing but praise on the Democratic Labour Party for its handling of the country.

Do remember that you BLP people think in slow motion. You cant even see what is in front of your very eyes.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You have another five years to sing for your supper.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

How old will you be in the next five years?

Will you be able to handle the big job Seethru promised you for doing a hatchet job on the DLP?

or will you be too feeble to handle it?

Old onion Bags will be near eighty so his big job will be given to some one else as he will be suffering with full blown Alzheimers!!!

DAVID will be about seventy and wont be able to read a keyboard anymore, so no more Barbados Underground

This is the end of the road for a lot of you including PRODIGAL SON.

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Carson

Are you still interested in forming the third party? Or were you only interested when you thought that you would have to look for your supper elsewhere? They pay you a decent salary to sit at CBC and troll the blogs all day and you have the nerve to accuse someone of singing for their supper.

25. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Send any information which you have that may be critical of the DLP to the Nation newspaper and get it published. There will be no need for any signatures as the Nation will put out the lie and worry about the lawsuit later. I understand that they weigh the benefit of having a fast selling sensational story first and then worry about accuracy,truthfulness and journalistic standards later.
    A word to the wise.

26. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Albert Branford spends an entire Sunday article lambasting Hon. Denis Lowe, Sanka Price spends a Wednesday article lambasting Hon. Denis Lowe and then the BLP candidate Wilfred AbraHAMs has a letter lambasting Hon. Denis Lowe.
    Surprise Surprise – The Nation newspaper so called independent columnists are step in step and hand in hand with the BLP politicians on every single issue.
    The BLP has 14 members in the House Of Assembly and another 7 writing articles in the Nation newspaper. Fair and Balanced just like Fox News.

27. With all that talk back and forth about party this and party that………no one is answering the hard questions about all the lies, deception (CUL) and what the island will be like under “major reforms” austerity measures.

Carson……….you work at CBC? so you know if tomorrow the DLP is catspraddled because of a one seat difference, you will have no job…………..no wonder you cannot answer any of my questions, you are living on a wing without a prayer, you should be one of the most humble people in Bim.

28. Well Well

I hope that my comment didn’t give you the impression that Carson WORKS at CBC. He is on staff and gets paid there but I never said anything about work: there is a difference you know. There is nothing for him to do there but draw a salary. He and the big African looking lady used to fight over turf, she prevailed and left him with nothing to do but draw a salary. Therefore to occupy himself he is reduced to being the clown prince on BU, snatching the title from AC by a wide margin.

29. Caswelll……….is CBC not funded by the taxpayers? if so, Carson is just drawing free money and leeching? Does Rosemary A have shares in CBC or something, I always know CBC to be filled with incest and an unlimited amount of yardfowls from the ruling party of the day…..Ewwwwwwwwww!!, they really need to privatize that whorehouse.

30. Caswell……..why would Rosemary A be fighting over turf or anything else for that matter?, I was in Bim recently and saw her at supercentre warrens, she can hardly walk……..that crab like mindset is obviously so entrenched that they are on their way to meet their maker, but cannot rid themselves of the useless mentality…………with Carson it’s no big surprise, looks like she deballed Carson………..

31. eversince the elections it seems like the “village lawyer Caswell have nothing to do but talk about ac .BTW Caswell is being a “clownprince” the best dirt you can dig up on ac . Here is some dirt fuh u to check out. ac commands a hefty salary ! contributes to the economy ! employees a substantial amount of workers.! now compare that to your daily venom and selserving lifestyle that one of being the “gravedigger” on other people lives,

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

He had no balls in the first place. His ball sack is filled with hot air. If he had balls, he would not let Owen run him out of Barbados and that is by his own admission.

33. Look who is talking about people . Caswell a man with an overblown ego. Cannot hold a job .Starts an organization about fifty or so years ago and only have 1or maybe two members. Man get a reallllllllll l Get a life!

34. oh, oh……………I did not know that PMs were allowed to run citizens out of a country……..

35. Caswell………how does a PM run a citizen out of a country that is a democracy?, that is the actions of a dictator, not a Prime Minister.

36. Well Well and Caswell
    Please, Rosemary has her political leanings but she is a good person. I know that from experience. It is very easy to take pot shots; she stands for her party and I admire that.

What baffles me though is AC; what does she stand for. Caswell I believe she wants to see you outside of BU.

37. AC
    Ask Caswell out on a date and stop blowing your fuse. We may have to add more medication to that prescription – for high blood pressure.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t know how a PM could run a citizen out of the country: you would to ask Carson, that is what he claimed.

39. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

i do not understand why Barbadians are wasting their time going there. if it is as expensive as claimed, shop at other supermarkets. i have not gone there yet and doubt i ever will. i am not one of those persons who have to put my signature on every store that opens here only because it made a claim to fame in the US or some other 1st world country..pathetic lot

40. Chocolate…………..Bajans are chronic consumers, they have to run to shop at every cat fight or dog fight that opens it’s doors, that is what they are trained to do.

41. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Well Well | April 27, 2013 at 9:49 AM |
    The only thing the black females on the island think about seriously and consistently is fake hair or remy bundles or whatever they are calling them now, fake nails, the latest cell phones…………it’s the only thing on their minds………it’s an embarrassment, “..i do not totally agree with that statement. i am black and indian, i do not and never will indulge with such carp. my daughter is 22 and focuses totally on her studies, her skill etc. she hates that false hair, would not be caught dead with the false nails. she never attends the bashment fetes etc but she does travel to london, paris europe etc with her dad who wanted her to understand that all kinds of people exists in the world. she has friends the same age that are also far removed from that bashment culture in Barbados, their only interest are their goals… my son is 21 and had 2 years of living in Europe, met many young people his age from many different cultures, now he is back home and ready to continue his studies. i thnk God that their dad loves travelling as i am not really into it but, it help shape our 2 kids… .,not every black Bajan is into that low class thinking Give those into that false hair some years of maturiing and u will see that they will realise, the error of making themselves poor while increasing the income of others. i think if they would really look in the mirror and love their natural beauty, those hair stores would be out of business

42. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Prodigal Son | April 27, 2013 at 3:28 PM |
    “I…cannot believe that some Bajans are still so stupid. I could not believe that in this day people could be boasting of spending $1500 to attend a weekend of Reggae fetes.”

don’t u know yet that it is the poor who brags about how much money they spent while the rich boasts about how much they saved? strange world

43. Chocolate……….that would be the majority of females, not every female in Barbados or around the world are that mindless in unconscious……..but you gotta admit way too many of them do………….

44. Dam and when them hair stores and beauty shops go out a business,, Who u think going have to support the unemployed workers .sumtimes people just talk sh..te ever thought that them fake hair stores and beauty shops contribute to the economy.

45. An interesting article on the subject.
    FIRING LINE: It’s not costing us less  By Shantal Munro Knight | Sun, April 28, 2013 – 12:00 AM
    I was quite interested a couple of weeks ago to see reported in the press a story quoting a representative from Cost-U-Less, suggesting that it could take at least two years for Barbadians to see lower prices.
    Two years!!! Within two years, a whole lot could happen but essentially consumers are to sit with bated breath waiting until 2015 to see if we will get a dollar or more off food items.
    I am admittedly growing older by the minute so at times my recall is not always as sharp as it should be. However, I do have a vague recollection of the context in which Cost-U-Less was introduced into Barbados.
    If I recall, and please correct me if I am wrong, the coming of Cost-U-Less was supposed to be a critical part of the attempt by Government to break up monopoly control of the distributive sector and reduce high prices for consumer goods.
    To therefore hear the representative suggest that while they are in the business of offering low prices they will not be lowering them just for the sake of lowering them was puzzling to say the least.
    I am completely confused. When you add to this the suggestion that Government had all but given the kitchen skin to the business in concessions confusion gives way to amazement.
    There are perhaps a couple of critical lessons. Just with the very limited outside view of the situation, I think concessions clearly do not work in the present environment.
    The granting of numerous concessions to businesses to establish in the Caribbean is part of an economic legacy which was contextualized in the early post-independence history of the region as we struggled to transform our economies.
    Its success or lack thereof has always been contested and Governments even today are only now unlocking some of the baggage associated with the scheme. 
    In today’s economic environment, there are several factors impacting on prices and business success. Clearly, at least from this example, a kitchen sink full of concessions appears now to have little impact at least for consumers.
    It leads me wonder: if I give you concessions to make it cheaper and easier for you to business here and still your prices remain high, what about the other businesses which would have had to establish with little or no concessions?
    I believe the Cost-U-Less scenario is worthy of some serious study. My intention is not to pick on them per se but there is a story here about the cost of doing business in Barbados. If we can get to the bottom of this story, then perhaps we can begin to develop effective solutions.
    I believe that we do have a few unscrupulous people who intend to maintain 150 per cent profits on their goods and it is also true that prices have been artificially high for a long time due to the nature of our tourism and standard of living at some levels.
    However, it is also true that we have honest and shrewd businessmen who understand the consumer market and know that it does not make sense to keep unnecessarily high prices if goods are not moving. So there are other factors.
    My take on it that the cost of living and particularly food prices will not come down by the introduction of oversees retail and other outlets, granting concessions and other quick fixes.
    The problem is complex and requires a nuanced solution. Of course, the politicians will not tell us that. It is easier to jump up and down pretending to have the solution and attempt to gobsmack the public. Oftentimes, however, we are astute enough to see through the smoke and mirrors.
    I think that politicians believe that we only want quick solutions and therefore are impatient to take the time to explain the complexities involved and the need for patience. They continue to misjudge, as always, the discerning nature of the public they lead.  
    Government first has to decide if it wants to continue to continue collecting high import duties to bolster revenue or broker a compromise with the private sector to reduce taxes if they pass on the savings to consumers.
    Further, we have to tackle high energy prices and that will require a long term investment and putting effective stimulus into alternative energy projects not as feel good strategy but as critical economic tool.
    I could go on but you get the picture: complex problem – complex solution.
    Shantal Munro Knight is a development specialist and executive coordinator at the Caribbean Policy Development Centre.
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/firing-line-its-not-costing-us-less/

46. I noticed Shantal Monro Knight in today’s Sun has a similar opinion on CUL as many have hereon BU.

We are going to have to look at duties and taxes imposed at the Port if we are ever going to begin to get prices under control in Barbados. The government seems to depend heavily on these taxes and duties.So government will not lower these duties. The BWU has a stranglehold on the Port and a lot of labour practices are very costly adding to the cost of landed goods.

But we have to have the will to break the stranglehold at the Port.

47. David,
    I did not see your post above until after I posted. A good article with food for thought!

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

You can’t help being silly, can you?

49. @Caswell
    What are you talking about with regard to Douglas Lynch? A.E.S.Lewis was T>T> Lewis a “white” man who led the “Cash Boy’s revolt. He was hounded persistently by Grantley until he left the BLP and became a founding member of the DLP.There was no doubt that he was a “white person”.

50. can’t help but wonder the small mindedness of a person who would like to see a business cease to exist because they believe that the people who patronise such a business has no self worth or think very little of their self. so them that is a good enough reason for the business to close its doors. not to mention the few people that would become unemployed and most likely going on govt programs for survival. imagine when u think u hear it all there is something else new to ponder about. BTW whose business is it of anyone what people choose to do with there money in a democratic society isn’t that what free enterprise and democracy, is all about,people need to mind there own f ing business and stop being so full of self- righteous indignation.

as fuh u poor soul Caswell. i got a job fuh u i think i will upgrade u .how about printing a “SmUT and DIRT magazine, makes fuh good reading uh could called it ‘Above Ground”