Polling to select a new NUPW Executive is scheduled to take place on April 3, 2013. Meet Danny Gill, Walter Maloney who are contesting for the presidency along with Akanni Mcdowall 1st Vice President and Margo Banister and Volta Lowe for 2nd Vice President.

BU invites the other candidates to submit posters.

1. Caswell this blog is turing out to be more about you than the NUPW and its issues. Again, I remind you that you are better off employing another strategy.
    Maloney can be beaten at the polls and should be. However, in the event that he regains the Presidency the best place to have change is at the Annual Conference. Dont the memmbers know that the decisions made there carry more weight than anything else.

Please use this BU to raise the level of the debate. the BU can be used to stir the interest of the membership in getting things to run well a the NUPW. Even the ppl that boast that they dont read the BU do read it. Groundswells cause revolutions.

I agree that Clarke is way past his best but forcing him out now is not the sensible thing to do. Why? If he has overstepped the crease on his retirement then the members sit down and work out an exit plan for him. Dont not let a rushed and ungly situation tarnish the image of the organisation. All the NUPW and BWU need to tread carefully on how their Gen. Secretaries exit. I have been informed that Clarke and Trotman acting as thought the Unions cant go on without them. Joke!! They will continue.

If Maloney cant help but get into trouble with owing money to the bar, and credit cards call him to account. The members can vote to make him repay every cent. By doing that Maloney’s and the NUPW’s integrity will be regained. Its simple. Everybody wins. Just make sure that he does not get his hand on the credit card again, which is the real issue!!!!!

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Joseph Coat

I don’t worry when they attack me: it is usually the same set of persons who think that their nonsense can or would deter me. I am made of sterner stuff than they think, otherwise, I would blog using a pseudonym.

It is not going to be easy changing the culture of mediocrity at NUPW. The members don’t care enough about the union until they need something. They constantly blame Clarke and the Executive for the union’s failures but do not realise that they are the union, and that the failures can be attributed directly to their own negligence.

The membership allows a situation where the General Secretary stack the Council with his friends. When the members refuse to attend divisional meetings, whoever turns up constitute a quorum at the second meeting and elect each other to Council. In the last period only two members of a division turned up for a meeting and elected themselves to the Council.

At the first meeting of Council, the GS proposes a list of persons to serve as assistant secretaries, who then become members of Council. These assistant secretaries normally outnumber the other councillors and because the are usually the GS’s friends, he controls the decision making process. Most of the times, these assistant secretaries are not the sharpest knives in the drawer. I will cite one example: one of the persons who voted to fire me came to me and said that he was sorry since he had voted for the resolution. I was surprised that he of all people would vote against me as I had only recently saved his job. He explained that he thought that they were voting to give me more money and he thought that I deserved the money for helping him. He did not realise that the money they were talking about was my severance package. He and I get along well to this day, but amazingly, they were several councillors that did not understand that I was being fired.

3. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@ac | March 21, 2013 at 1:00 PM |
    “and does the same apply to your new head and chief of the BLP”

since u seem to know her preference, u have no need to worry since u are safe. she has no interest in sruffy, old dull ‘white’ hags. next time take a good look at those around her. i think u need to go run after another ‘wicka’ who is into u…leave the next PM of Barbados alone

4. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Look into the. Mirror Franklyn | March 22, 2013 at 9:01 PM |
    “…in a country that has on this day a Prime Minister, from a Working Class background, a Chief Justice from a Working Class background, a Governor General from a Working Class background, a Governor of The Central Bank from a Working Class”

stop writing crap, Caswell has much more class than u, and those gorillas u just mentioned…the difference is that Caswell is not afraid to tell what he knows and creatures such a urself loves burrowing down in sh.te to the amusement of ur cronies.

5. Has anyone noticed that Maloney is asking the members to vote team and he has been unable to assemble a team around himself. Only two persons are willing to be identified with Maloney. The Executive consists of six persons.

6. Well the annual conference is over. Issues that members do not have a clue about and only Cedric, Ma Money and Dennis Clarke know about are: Why was the NUPW Insurance Inc. set up; Why is the Union paying for a burnt out building which is supposed to house the “buying Club”; What does the bye laws for the Insurance Inc. really say; Who shall really benefit from this company; Why did the auditor really left.

7. @Lemuel

Why don’t members (candidates) who have concerns draft a document with bulleted concerns for circulation?

8. David:
    This is election season and members treat with suspicion any thing that highlighted by the candidates. As i understand it, even at the conference people seem to treat issues as campaigning.

9. DAVID and LEMUEL–The AUDITOR left because he has his professional reputation to protect and with the underhand dealings of MURRELL,MALONEY and DENIS CLARKE he has decided to walk away —-my understanding is that the issue of the Medicare came up and that MURRELL was caught lying to the conference ,they have formed a company that has no capital structure and has one DIRECTORS who members of the same EXECUTIVE ,didnot tell the COUNCILor General membershipand is expected to determined how much the directors will pay them selves

10. David -yes i am back and have bring my grand son with me will take him back after the holidays

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

NUPW members will never learn. They always entrust their destiny to crooks. Years ago, I was a member of the Medicare Committee. When we were looking for an insurance company to take over the plan, the CEO of one of the companies said to us that we should not quote him and went on to ask why we needed a broker. He explained that all the broker would do is to cause our premiums to increase since the insurance company would insist on a level of income for itself, and if we needed a broker the premiums would have to go up to accommodate our wishes. A certain member on the committee almost blew a fuse insisting that we needed a broker. The CEO relented and the members were saddled with paying 10% more than they had to for years.

The brokerage (IMPS) was formed and for a while only had one client, NUPW. The proposal to improve the scheme came from a woman called Norma Jackman. Her proposal to the NUPW was stolen and given to a lady who resigned her job at Caribbean Home and formed IMPS. Thereafter, NUPW Medicare members were paying more than they had to in order to guarantee an income for IMPS.

12. Volta Lowe’s poster has been added, she is contesting the 2nd Vice President spot.

13. Days before the April 3, 2013 election, Ma Money and his team are saying they know where their votes are. Who has guaranteed Ma Money that he will win come the election. Who is paying for the cars that will going to St. Lucy District Hospital and other places to ferry votes to the voting stations. Will the members sit around and don’t vote and allow these schemers to totally control the NUPW.

14. David
    Volta Lowe is running against the female in Ma Money’s team. Is she Margo telling her backers at BCC that they are voting for Ma Money to continue his nefarious designs. She got 61 votes from the BCC box last time; did she let her backers know what they were supporting.

15. @Lemuel

All the candidates should work to mobilise the membership to get out and vote. If Maloney does it better than the others all the power to him.

16. David:
    The last election results indicated that the membership wanted Ma MONEY Gone. But if Ma Money is mobilizing through the General Secretary that is an unfair advantage. This is what is hapenning so members need to return again to the polls to fix this incestuous behavior.

17. Sandra from D Union Avatar
    Sandra from D Union

But wait, does anybody notice that Lemuel, Caswell and Erice are all the same blogger? (Maybe even MillertheAnnunaki)

Caswell puts up questions and answers them himself like the true fraud he is.

Well Franklyn, do you intend to answer the questions i posed about your union? In your quest for recognition and significance you have gone from the ridiculous to the sublime.

What an insufferable LITTLE MAN!

18. What is attacking Caswell has to do with concerns being shown about NUPW Executive decision making? Deal with the issues!

19. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Interesting discussion
    I rather like this Caswell fellow
    Caswell seems to be a good man
    Usually people , wicked people do not like straight talking people who are honest and upright .

So persons such as Sandra above will attack Caswell
    But I say this to Caswell

Expose them Caswell
    Expose them

20. Sandra:
    You already indicated that you are a true true supporter of Ma Money. Why are upset when others are discussing issues. Issues that Ma Money and Dennis the menace created at the union. Ma Money shall lose to Danny Gill and that shall give you gripe. There is a cure gripe water from the NUPW financial well that cedric, Ma Money and Dennis the menace intend to drink all for themselves.

Members of the NUPW vote for Danny Gill and his team.

21. Well said Dr the Honorable
    Caswell’s intensions are honorable. His mouth is programmed to talk, and his goat milk levels are high……
    …a lotta people therefore dislike him. (Including Bushie, ’cause he would NOT launch the damn BUP)
    ….but Caswell don’t give a fart…. 🙂
    … a man after Bushie’s own heart….

If we could just get him on that National Supervisory Committee…..

22. Bushie:
    My friend Bushie; I saw you survived that beating thing and you were not lynched by Island and the others. When i saw your post I was afraid that Ma Money with the school tie had influenced you but alas Danny Gill is cawmere too. What a dilemma you have my friend.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sandra from D Union | March 25, 2013 at 9:06 AM |

Repeating Sandra why are you lowering your dignity by falsely accusing the miller?
    The miller is not getting in the monkey politics of aping the yellow DLP vs. the raging red bull BLP in destroying the union to the likings of the real politicians who will soon be giving many of you lot pink slips at the behest of the real IMF bosses as happened in 1992; this time only deeper.

The miller is only concerned about the decision of the External Auditor to terminate his services to the organization which is indeed a sure source of fees income as it also the personal piggy bank to Maloney, Clarke et al.
    Why has the Auditor “resigned”, Sandra from the union in bed with Maloney, Clarke & Co?

24. before one pick the mote out of another ‘s eye,one should pick the mote out of one own’s eye.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Stealing at NUPW did not start under Maloney: it just grew exponentially. To be fair to Maloney, he does not understand much and was allowed to get away with a few indiscretions like the phone bill, the credit cards and a few overseas trips while the real money is stolen right from under his duncy nose.

Medicare money has been used to build several homes and an apartment building in St. James near to where Fractured BLP lives.

26. then what is good for the goose is also good for the gander . the attacker would also be attacked by the atackee . isn;t that so!

27. @Caswell
    Donot misstep about who stealing, remember your friend OB

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

New Blood

What nonsense you asking me? If you have knowledge of anybody stealing from NUPW, speak up. Don’t give the impression that you know something: it is obvious that you don’t. I never had any friend called OB. If per chance you are referring to a former General Secretary, you are only attempting to mislead BU. That person left NUPW in September 1976: I joined the Public Service on January 2, 1980 and became a member of NUPW two weeks later.

29. Stealing at the NUPW did not start under Maloney…
    The logic is that stealing may have occured before but you are aware only of stealing after 1980
    OB the General Secretary was a good friend of yours, and a better friend of the late Tom Adams .

30. Where do you get your information from. I never met the man till after 1981 when I was transferred from Immigration. I heard that he had played a part and I went to confront him. He denied his role

31. What has my gall is the temerity of the DLP. Most of the ambassadors are from unions that the DLP controls. Dennis Clarke like Joe Goddard will be guaranteed “something” for his “good” services when he is put out to pasture quite soon. Yet, like the talk about buying votes, the Dems come here with stinking accusations knowing full well that they are the chief offenders. The february elections were bought and everybody in Barbados knows that. Whether the dems like it or not the union puppetry ends on April 4, 2013.

32. New Blood
    If there was stealing before and it was not addressed, are saying that the member should not mind now as a former GS who was BLP was stealing so 4 GS later who are all DLP have a right o steal . Should the membership vote on April 3, 2013 for a stealing mandate, giving Dennis and Ma Money free access to the 1.3 million dollars of the members money. Ask your friend where the 500,000 from medicare went and to whom in the planning and design of the medical center. Did Dennis benefit from any of those funds. By your behavior you will expose Dennis’ ass for a flaying. The DLP continues to have a bunch of asses in key positions running around this country forming the fool and you Dems think that is right because they are totally blue, even if dishonesty is spurting from their ears, eyes and nose.

33. @Lemuel
    The classic case of political unionism was in September 1976 when then NUPW General Secretary OB was made a senator and govt minister by the
    late Tom Adams. NUPW will sing for supper

34. New Blood
    Was the medicare company formed so that the membership can not ask about where the 500,000 went. Did Cedric know about it and how much did he know. What else is Ma Money and Dennis and Cedric trying to hide. New Blood are you these people friend or are a friend-a-me.What else monies have Cedric, Dennis and Ma Money taken out of the medicare scheme over the last eight years. You have the ordinary workers, not Dennis and Ma Money friends, not receiving any kind of representation by the NUPW and you andyour kind have the gall to come with the cost-u-more slogan “Dems now and Dems again. Doan get muh vex so early in the morning yuh.

35. New Blod
    That was not the classic case; the classic case was workers sitting down in this country and allowing the BWU to be run and totally controlled by the DLP, with even Trotman and Walcott and others running for office under the banner of the DLP. Do you know that Trotman is GS for life. When I found out I thought I was living in Haiti under Pa Pa Doc. Do you know that the BWU shall always have succession problems because of political inbreeding which only produces children with arrested development.

36. Lemuel ya vex from Feb with a good cutting from FT and will be blue vex come April 3,2013 when dem boys wash in licks, ya love blows

37. it is amazing that we are politicizing the up coming nupw elections. Lets us look at what is happening in the union and how the condidates can tranform that insitution. I am supporting Danny Gill. He is a trained and straightforward and honest administrator.

38. Sandra -YOUNG BLOOD and all others let me put it this way I it dont matters to me who win the ELECTIONS –but as an ORGANISATION that has been in the leadership under JOSEPH GODDARD and others before him -it is now a SHAME to the INTERNATIONAL bodies what has been happening yet persons at and around the nupw can still be shoulting for WALTER MALONEY –BY THE WAY it is the first time in the history of this organisation that we see a line item loan to EXECUTIVE MEMBERS -and who is that member -WALTER MALONEY -but he had the heart to tell persons that he had payback the money he stoled —the 6000dollars CELL PHONE BILL,the CREDIT CARD BILL and yes there were more cell phone bill during the last two years yet

39. continued –yet we see him daily in the PRESS –attacking others on morals -yes morals yet two years ago he had to run back to Barbados from new york -ask him why -I give you a clue (kennedy) he knows what the means –Incest relations ,but he now has people like Balance surporting him ,yes balance the Mahogany man -so we see all the crookes must band together –the issue of the Medicare needs to be fully discuss for what has CEDRIC MURRELL has to hide ,before Cedric came to this executive he told me at the AIRPORT that it was a wasteof FUNDS

40. CEDRIC MURRELL can you tell us what is the purpose of the Government Subvention -is it for the porpose of training and reteaining Workers or it is for the payment of wages and salaries ,trave and entertainment allowances and rent for CTUSABEXECUTIVE MEMBERS —connect the dotts Murrell president CTUSAB BURKE treasurerof CTUSAB and former Deputy of NUPW ,CHARLES SKEETE and GRACE HALL auditors (nupw employees )Denis Clarke,WalterMaloney and Pam Humphrey represents Nupw there –do the maths

41. David
    This election shall be decided on the ground not on professional campaign gimmicks. One has to be very careful how one gets one’s message out. For Margo that video did not enhance; it disappointed. The young man did a little bit better, although one strains to see the maturity that should come from training at the masters degree level.

The DLP has made their resources and expertise available to Ma Money’s team, but how do you sell a pig in a bag and get people to believe it is a sweet smelling rose.

42. David
    I am no part of any strategy; I hope Ma Money’s opposition read your advice, but BU is where I put my point not on face book.

43. DAVID –I hope that the AUDITOR GENERAL will Audit both the books of NUPW and CTUSAB –UNION leaders are involve in all sorts of stealing and saying to Govermment that they should not be declearing their assets

44. How is the AG able to audit private entities?

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 26, 2013 at 7:13 AM |

As long as an entity is in receipt of a subvention from the Treasury the AG is entitled to investigate if the funds have been expended for the purposes and objectives there were intended as agreed on the application for the subvention.

46. New Blood
    I heard that Ma Money putting his posters over opponents flyers. Also heard that the DLP did airbrushed photos for Ma Money’s team.

47. David-The Auditor General can do that because Government funds were given to these Organisation-hence he can audit these funds

48. Good bajan politics,your proganda will not defeat Maloney and team,their have better political strategy. Lemuel & Caswell step up the game for Gill and Lowe, or call Jimmy Serrao !

49. Caswell Franklyn on March 25, 2013 at 9:12 PM
    Stealing at NUPW did not start under Maloney: it just grew exponentially. To be fair to Maloney, he does not understand much and was allowed to get away with a few indiscretions like the phone bill, the credit cards and a few overseas trips while the real money is stolen right from under his duncy nose.

Medicare money has been used to build several homes and an apartment building in St. James near to where Fractured BLP lives.
    ——————-
    Caswell you would know a lot about that apartment building. Because you stole plenty construction materials to have it erected.

David of BU seems to have some knowledge of your nefarious acts as well.