Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
The Honourable Mr. Justice Randall Worrell

We are in full support of High Court Judge Randall Worrell’s call to decriminalize marijuana for personal purposes. We are also in full support of his position that our court system is clogged up with old cases involving marijuana charges. We do not condone drug abuse in any form but we believe that if cigarettes can be legally sold, there should be sales of marijuana as well. At least we know that cigarettes destroy millions of lives annually and place tremendous pressure on health services.

We hope that a more progressive approach is used in assisting those afflicted with the addiction of marijuana. We strongly believe that prison should be used for the punishment and rehabilitation of hardened criminals and not those who for one reason or another find themselves addicts. We know that many kids today are addicted to their parents’ prescription drugs and there are those amongst us who are addicted to medication. Certainly a modern judicial system cannot continue to waste time, resources and prison space on what are unfortunate human maladies. Our kids today are under constant pressure and sometimes they fall victims to habits that cannot be cured by excessive floggings or imprisonment.

We are equally concerned about the use of alcohol by our very young citizens and find it very hypocritical, that we are content with turning a blind eye to the heavy intake of alcohol in our communities. Alcohol is also a drug and its addiction is widespread. We are also concerned about the role the heavy use of alcohol plays in instances of domestic abuse , the financial ruin of many families and non –productivity in the work place. If we intend to seriously tackle addiction, we must be prepared to do so at all level.

Justice Worrell and others entrusted to hold up the law would also be aware that the small dealers and users who end up before the judges are mere pawns in the drug industry. While we do not encourage the so-called small man to engage in any form of illegal behaviour, we cannot deny that the big financiers and those in high up places seldom find themselves before the law courts. The simple truth about marijuana is that it was allowed to take root in the society, when it first surfaced in the late 60’s.

However, we are not dreamers; we realize that legalization of marijuana will not find tremendous support, in a society that is known for ignoring reality. Therefore the decriminalizing of the use of the plant for personal/medical purposes may be more palatable than its full scale legalization. While we welcome the good judge’s position, we now call on those of similar ilk to be more forthcoming with other matters that disturb us and are boarding on, or are in themselves, criminal acts.

One that stands out is the persistent and consistent reports of the Auditor General, of what appears to be widespread disregard for our laws of governance regarding the proper financial accountability by several government or quasi-government departments. While we are chasing the drug pushers we seem to be condoning white collar crime. We remind Justice Worrell and others that stealing is also a very serious addiction especially when aided by political activity and office.

We hope that Justice Worrell’s progressive stance will be a turning point for a judiciary that relishes in the tradition of keeping a stiff upper lip. As we have said before, the taxpayers do not pay judges to just put on robes or wigs and quote the law. We pay them to be the guardians of society and therefore hope that the brave example of Justice Worrell is emulated by his other distinguished and erudite colleagues.

155 responses to “Judge Randall Worrell Joins the Call to Decriminalize Marijuana”

1. Bush

You ever try male undies …? Wah dey smell like ..?

2. Just saying. Some of you should take a look at this study that suggests that marijuana may be a less potent and LETHAL! substitute for alcohol. http://www.dutch-passion.nl/en/news-and-development/study-legalizing-medical-pot-reduces-fatal-car-crashes-decline-in-alcohol-consumption/

3. @Bushie
    Try it, Boil it and try it and report back. Magic mushrooms. Live and learn. Sargeant knows what I am talking about. Check his link. I am not too well educated but I can read a little bit.

4. But Bust Tea ask any farmer if gangs are not involved in trafficking lettuce. As a part time farmer I can assure that there are criminals in this country who give farmers hell ol’ hell. Since criminals presently steal and traffic in lettuce, and cucumbers and tomatoes, and sweet peppers, why do we feel that will will not also steal and traffic in legally grown marijuana? Thieves are thieves. They don’t care what they steal as long as they can get some money without working for it..

If marijuana is decriminalized and I start growing marijuana in a 2 acre field that is 10 miles from my home, how do I protect my mature marijuana from thieves when at present I can’t protect my mature okra and cucumber crops?

And Bushie people steal cows as well, and pigs, and sheep, and sugar cane. They don’t steal yams, sweet potatoes, and cassava so much as those crops are difficult to remove form the field, and in order to remove them the thief would to exert a lotta effort and the and a lott sweat.

And thieve are not ’bout effort and sweat.

I GUARANTEE you that if marijuana growing is legalized we will have MORE rather that less crop thieving.

But nobody listens to this Simple Simon.

5. One more crop with which I can engage in predial larceny.

Oh joy!!!

6. @BAFBFP
    Good comeback, tek de ball away from Bushie he is a danger to the infielders.

7. Amazing how Peter Wickham is able to get public reaction to his controversial issues. After the legalisation of marijuana push, he will re-start debate on Gay marriages, then it would be the discontinuation of 11+. By then he would do a poll mid term and start his assessment.

I give it to him, he is a genius.

8. SO all this time we were just spending money and wasting money on the war against drugs read Marijuana.
    So all we had to do is legalize it and save some money on Law Enforcement Officers etc
    It is available anyhow and who want to smoke –smoking–who dont want to –aint
    It is smoked everyday in Barbadosbut a lot of people

9. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

simon weed easy to grow stop talking foolishness,u don’t follow de news? ,u does hear bout ah one tree or or 500 trees ,its ah plant that grows very easily and don’t need that much attention , its ah tree

10. @Simple Simon
    how do I protect my mature marijuana from thieves when at present I can’t protect my mature okra and cucumber crops?
    That’s simple just get some bears to guard it, there are a lot of black bears in the woods up here and I’m sure with a political connection you could import one or two. Yuh tink dem thieves gwine tangle wid bears no matter how tame they are supposed to be?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/wildlife/7954095/Wild-dopey-bears-used-to-guard-marijuana-crop-in-Canada.html

11. @Bush Tea
    Yuh Lie! THAT is illegal? lol

If you had said “Yuh lie man, or you meking sport” I would more appreciate that.

But on a serious note, mushrooms that grow on cow droppings contain a dangerous halucinating drug that can that can wreck a person’s pshche, rearranging their thoughts and judgement.

Can you imagine the youth on the island particpating in this activity without restriction? And yes in some states in the US and in the UK dried “magic” mushrooms are outlawed.

Now to Simple Simon’s point. Farmers planting ganga crops would have to hire bands of gunmen to watch the crops.

The Justice got to be smoking some good Columbian gold to be brave enough to bring up this topic,

12. Two former Bdos PM used marijuana when in high office

13. @ Sargeant
    What danger to what infielders what!??
    …that was a forward DEFENSIVE push from Baffy….what male underwear what? 🙂

@ simple Simon
    What a simple position!!!
    Do you think that the level of menace to society of the drug trade is in ANY way comparable to a Ras stealing some of your sour limes?
    All that is needed to address the crop theft is effective leadership in the police force.
    If ganja is selling at the same price as fat porks why would you need to guard your 2 acre field? (Why would you even plant 2 acres?…lettuce would be more valuable)

@ just wondering
    Not Bushie bozie! Ain’t trying nuttin so….unless Islandgal involved… 🙂
    Wunna going soon be looking to get a ban on bush tea too….. But the Bushman done got plans in place for that eventuality…. LOL

14. Barbados has 1 airport, 1 seaport and Barbados and a coastline of 97 km (60 mi) length.

How the helk can a Combined Police force, Defense force/Coast guard be unable to stop the smuggling of say 90% of marijuana into Barbados?

Legalise it if you will but don’t tell me it is the best solution.

A casual observation of “life” in Barbados is the construct that the poor, the boys on the block,paros and vagrants will always be with us.
    It is cheap to get drunk and now it will be cheap to get high. It will help more boys on the block to be in a state of constant intoxication.

So we have a new growth industry for us overseas Bajans.

I gine come back an grow dope on my 3 acres an GP gine come back to treat an counsel de addicts.As business improves I will build green houses to expand production.
    I will even bring back a “solar powered” delivery van with awesome graphics all over it that reads.
    BBG INC. BARBADOS BEST GANJA delivered to your door and your block.
    I will also buy a BMW x5 for special “stealth” deliveries to clients if they live in “GATED communities”.

See how easy it is to come up with a business plan ?
    Bushie?Miller?GP? how wunna like muh!!

15. @Hants

Apparantly Bajan Green is a sought after brand.

16. David I might change the graphic on the side to read “Premium Bajan Green from BBG inc.”

I gine have to put you on de board a directas along wide Bushie,GP an Milla.

17. Bush

You reading Sargeant wrong … Wah Sargeant meant was that you pelting the ball straight at the infielders and the batsman ain even got ta tek guard … HA HA HA HA

18. To be fair to Justice Randall we should read the interview in the Nation.

“Justice Worrell: Decriminalization does not mean legalization. That is something that we need to stress. The fact that you decriminalize does not mean it is legal to walk around with marijuana in your pocket or it is legal to smoke marijuana. With decriminalization, it would still be illegal to have the drug.”

We now have to raise the discussion to another level.

“Nationnews interview, “If you are caught with a small amount for personal use, it would be treated as a civil penalty as opposed to a criminal penalty. In some countries persons would have to go into counselling, do volunteer work or be fined, but no criminal record would be recorded against their name”

I am a cynical bastard by nature so I am inclined to think that decriminalizing will
    decrease the number of inmates at Dodds,clean parts of Barbados, and protect the children of middle and upper class Barbados from undue incarceration.

It is really important to read Justice Randall’s entire interview and then we can restart a serious discussion.

19. @ Baffy
    What Sarge what?!?
    He probably forgot all about cricket by now…. Ice hockey and baseball is his thing….. So you may be right 🙂

@ Hants
    Don’t be Simple Hants now….
    What business you coming to open…?
    You understand that 2 months after decriminalization the value of ganja would be in the order of that paid for dunks by the roundabouts? (And note that Dottin don’t seem to be able to stop that either…).

You mean a BMW x5 …or a BMX as in bicycle ???
    The only business you would be able to afford to start is a fishing business….fishing for sea cats and old wives to get a meal when the day come… THAT is the whole point. The only reason for the current attractive price is the ARTIFICIAL market created by the foolish law.

BTW, which Bajan you know would smoke cheap $1 ganja? LOL… The smokers mostly smoke it to show how well off they are …to afford to buy ganja…. Otherwise they would stick to bonavist vines like ac 🙂

Trust Bushie. Within two years, Ganja smoking would be a thing of the past…. Of course by then, the crooks of this world would have found some other means of separating the fools of this world from their money….

20. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie
    Like you too ent thinking…..Think Uncle Sam would allow Lil Caribe Rockcicles to punch a bid able hole just so inee BVD?…..Like you forget what Gadafi got for his talk about paying for oil wid gold….Things doan run so bout hay dawg !

21. Dear Sarge: As the important attorneys say down here “I will be guided” LOL!!!!!!!!

22. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

all now herb smoking in bim all now ,imagine if every piece that was sold vat and some other tax was paid ,so it will remain as is and govt will spend precious resources to chase 5 bags today

23. Observing(...) Avatar

@crusoe, bushie, baffy and others
    Thanks for the Sunday humor. This “serious” thread got me crying with laughter.

Worrell is making sense. I wonder if he wasn’t a judge if anyone would have listened.

Weed has to remain illegal for the real “king and queen pins” to keep control over money, dons, blocks and a sub culture that comes in handy for providing the highest (no pun intended) bidder with a puff of “power” and inside access when needed.

Widespread weed and weed use is here to stay. We reaally have to look at how much resources we want to (waste) throw at it to “pretend” that we are at war with and are controlling it. Image is everything.

Decriminalisation makes the world of sense. But, when last has anything that makes the world of sense been done in Bim?

Btw, I got a 5 bag of lettuce and need wrappers for some freshly grated Baje carrots I get from off d block.

Baffy you game???

Just observing

24. Obs

Game … me? You ain’ notice how the Bushman just lick up me and Sargeant … Ha ha ha. You should have a word with he, man … ’cause today I feel he trying somet’ing new, so you never know, he might drop some knowledge pun yah. Come tah t’ink ’bout it I missing some carrots from out my ground yah. It is which block you say you get dem carrots from again ..?

25. The Police Force is poorly managed

Legalizing marijuana or not would not solve any problems. In fact it will create more problems for the poorly managed Police.

Imagine Cruise Ships are in the Harbour and a Criminal can shoot two tourists on Hincks Street. I was in town and there were no visible Police nowhere in Bridgetown. It is ridiculous.

Even if they are undress they should be in sensitive areas like where the tourists walk to get to and from the ship.

Please send Mr. Dottin to a Desk Job and put one of the smart young cops in charge

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Just Wondering | March 17, 2013 at 1:21 PM |
    “But on a serious note, mushrooms that grow on cow droppings contain a dangerous halucinating drug that can that can wreck a person’s pshche, rearranging their thoughts and judgement.”

There is another drug that has similar or even greater effects on the human psyche. It’s called religion which according to Karl Marx is the opiate of the masses.
    Just join the Catholic Church or any of its subsidiaries or major rivals like Islam or Judaism and you would see real mind altering at work.

27. In the Bahamas, Miami, Condado Strip in Puerto Rico where tourist frequent police on bikes and segways are everywhere.

28. @Clone “Criminal can shoot two tourists on Hincks Street.”

when did this happen?

29. imagine the very ones to example and uphold the law are the very ones asking to have permission to break the law. never know if on any given day this judge Worrell don’t be stone high as a kite out of mind while passing judgement.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 17, 2013 at 7:53 PM |

Around 2 PM this Sunday afternoon. And as usual when cruise ships are in town not a police officer patrolling the place.
    I have witnessed many a case of visitors being accosted in the most frightening manner and complained bitterly about this stark lack of police presence when cruise ships are in port but to no avail.

The chickens are coming home to roost. Take 1 tonne off the streets and this is the start of things to come to pay for the sudden spike in the price of weed and to settle the bill of the overseas suppliers.

31. Hants | March 17, 2013 at 7:53 PM |
    @Clone “Criminal can shoot two tourists on Hincks Street.”
    when did this happen?

Today at 2pm heard it on the news. RBPF do a good job my beef is they are too laid back they could prevent more crimes by proactivity. Cosign on clone post i was in town around 2 passed Hincks St. lots of tourists walking no cops or police vehicles about.
    When caught I hope the scum cretin get hefty imprisonment these despicable criminals placing Barbados only method of earning foreign exchange in peril.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 17, 2013 at 8:08 PM |
    “imagine the very ones to example and uphold the law are the very ones asking to have permission to break the law.”

What law what? The laws on marijuana are idiotic and irrelevant for today. It is only there to protect the interests of the rum producers and the distributors of alcohol.
    Can you imagine if no one had spoken out against the laws governing slavery persons like you would still be in chains? You might have been able to break free from your physical bondage because of outspoken people like Justice Worrell but unfortunately still mentally in chains of stupidity.

33. To repeat: something has got to give. The police force is losing control.

34. @Hants
    Was just speaking to someone in Bim and they apprised me of the news, this is what happens when the Police fail to take care of the scofflaws who break the law in public e.g. smoking grass, they can’t decide which laws to enforce or which to ignore as the minor infractions grow into ginormous ones and before you know it the prime FX earner is down the drain.

35. To repeat: the Royal Barbados Police Force is being outflanked by the criminal element in Barbados. The writing has been on the wall for a few years now but we are at the tipping point now.

36. something has got to “give” not anarchy and mayhem and parents crying in the street because of laws that will let society run amok and further destabilise the family .fuh heavens sake trace u minds back to the night when those innocent young people were killed in the campus trendz fires only god knows what mixtures of drugs where involved in the horrific disaster. what if there is a loss of control does that mean we through out the baby with the bathtub because there is no water ?

37. @David

The first thing that should give is Dottin’s retirement, after his comments about the fiasco that was the rape investigation, after his news conferences when he said that crime was down, after it is confirmed that he can’t get his officers to enforce the law he must go and the sooner the better.

The buck has to stop somewhere.

38. @Sarge

Maybe so, maybe so but there is a view the problem is bigger than anyone man at the moment. It will call for some kind of strategic intervention to stun the momentum which criminality is gaining. It has gone passed enforcement.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | March 17, 2013 at 8:43 PM |

The man has already submitted his retirement papers. They won’t get the chance to “fire” him.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 17, 2013 at 8:46 PM |
    “It will call for some kind of strategic intervention to stun the momentum which criminality is gaining.”

Let the leaders of the society lead by example in upholding the law.

The recent Auditor General’s report is a classic case of law breaking with stark impunity. Blatant downright stealing of public funds posing as white collar crime

41. @David
    Maybe so, maybe so but there is a view the problem is bigger than anyone man at the moment
    Perhaps it’s time for the Gov’t to get all the players at the table to implement some sort of national strategy to fight crime. Use the existing laws to punish people who commit crimes, no namby pamby sentencing if you commit the crime you must do the time. Let’s have some innovative sentencing for minor crimes by assigning community duties as part of their jail time at the State owned hotel (Dodds). The City needs cleaning up? Get them to pick up litter off the street, some Crown land is overrun by bush? Let them clear the bush, if a private homeowner refuses to clean up his overgrown lot we will assign some well-fed prisoners to clean it up and add the bill to the homeowner’s taxes.

Let’s take away any incentive of trying to escape from one of these outings by doubling the sentence of anyone who tries that tactic.

If Singapore is a goal to which we aspire let start with fighting crime, this DLP Gov’t better make crime and order one of its priorities this term.

42. Well as I does see it the DPP Charles Leacock makes Murderers Not Murderers,fellas that does chop woman to death as “provoked”
    Get Indian woman who dont pay he rent on time finger raped by de boys in blue.
    So mekin spliffs available and “Cost U Less” ent nah big deal.

43. CRIME always rise under the DLP
    because the spirit of the DLP is given to criminal minds and behaviour
    Remember Mark Stokes ?
    Carmen Bailey
    Policeman Jordan -Barbarees Hill
    Davie Thompson’s personal driver
    Michael Lashley’s cousin Bounty.
    cash for gold
    cash for votes

44. @enuff

are you a ball pooch cat walking in the footsteps of diguid.

45. How old is Worrell the judge he resembles Andrew Pilgrim in age and looks. Pilgrim’s behaviour and comments are out of left field to say the least. If Worrell is like him one should not be surprised at his marijuana stance. I absoultely disagree with Judge Worrell, he should be more careful in his statement especially on the subject of illegal drugs.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | March 17, 2013 at 9:23 PM |
    ” if a private homeowner refuses to clean up his overgrown lot we will assign some well-fed prisoners to clean it up and add the bill to the homeowner’s taxes.”

That easy, nuh!
    First you would have to get the over 36,000 property owners owing nearly $180 million in tax arrears to cough up.
    What about those thousands of vehicles owners who don’t pay road tax or insurance.
    You like you playing you don’t know what is going on around here and with the giant back to sleep just you wait and see the amount of cat piss and pepper that will happen around here very soon, according to big mouth Bajan Babsie in Canada.

47. I ain’t saying nothing in Babylon trap

48. @Miller
    According to my arithmetic that an average of $5000 per home owner, how many years’ arrears is that? And add thousands who haven’t paid road tax or vehicle insurance that is not a country that is anarchy.

I hope you are guilty of hyperbole, anyway I have it on good authority that the sleeping giant is awake and ready to take on all the Jacks running around the beanstalk.

49. The subject misled me significantly. After reading “Judge Randall Worrell Joins the Call to Decriminalize Marijuana,” I expected something from Judge Worrell. No offense Mahogany Coconut Think Tank. & Watchdog Group. However, BU- can you provide the entire interview or major passages therefrom, if that is not too presumptuous? The article speaks to the subject, but there is more than the issue of decriminalization, there is the notion of marijuana addiction, substance abuse, distribution, and non-enforcement of legislation, and I am unsure what Mr. Worrell has indicated. The comments are, nevertheless, humorous and entertaining, and speak more of perfectly satiated individuals after a great Bajan Sunday lunch under Bajan skies, or otherwise. Still, decriminalization of marijuana for personal (or medical) usage is something to be discussed. What current empirical studies are there in Barbados to substantiate the notion that use of marijuana socially leads to addiction, substance abuse or substance addiction? Are there current studies done in Barbados on the extent to which prescribed medication such as valiums, libriums, etc. to females may have contributed to addiction? What is the prevalence, and incidence, of marijuana use among secondary and tertiary level students in Barbados? Are there any epidemiological (or other) studies done in Barbados that may have guided Worrell’s call. for decrimininalization? Still, what ever empirical evidence may teach us, we must all remember that marijuana is tied to the economy of many nations. It would not be in a community if it were not inadvertently permitted by those with power. So, what is the financial bottom line? Who earns the money and who suffers ultimately? If a nation’s health is contingent upon the health of its people, then we have to ask, how healthy is Barbados and its people? Will they be healthier and emotionally more secure if marijuana is decriminalized? Will decriminalizing it make it less entising? Will doing that make the Drug Lords and Ladies. happy? I DONE and I GONE. TO THINE OWN SELF BE TRUE!!.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | March 17, 2013 at 10:50 PM |

Hyperbole my ass!
    The land tax figures are quoted in the Auditor General’s report. I have just rounded up or down for easy reference.