Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
The Honourable Mr. Justice Randall Worrell

We are in full support of High Court Judge Randall Worrellโ€™s call to decriminalize marijuana for personal purposes. We are also in full support of his position that our court system is clogged up with old cases involving marijuana charges. We do not condone drug abuse in any form but we believe that if cigarettes can be legally sold, there should be sales of marijuana as well. At least we know that cigarettes destroy millions of lives annually and place tremendous pressure on health services.

We hope that a more progressive approach is used in assisting those afflicted with the addiction of marijuana. We strongly believe that prison should be used for the punishment and rehabilitation of hardened criminals and not those who for one reason or another find themselves addicts. We know that many kids today are addicted to their parentsโ€™ prescription drugs and there are those amongst us who are addicted to medication. Certainly a modern judicial system cannot continue to waste time, resources and prison space on what are unfortunate human maladies. Our kids today are under constant pressure and sometimes they fall victims to habits that cannot be cured by excessive floggings or imprisonment.

We are equally concerned about the use of alcohol by our very young citizens and find it very hypocritical, that we are content with turning a blind eye to the heavy intake of alcohol in our communities. Alcohol is also a drug and its addiction is widespread. We are also concerned about the role the heavy use of alcohol plays in instances of domestic abuse , the financial ruin of many families and non โ€“productivity in the work place. If we intend to seriously tackle addiction, we must be prepared to do so at all level.

Justice Worrell and others entrusted to hold up the law would also be aware that the small dealers and users who end up before the judges are mere pawns in the drug industry. While we do not encourage the so-called small man to engage in any form of illegal behaviour, we cannot deny that the big financiers and those in high up places seldom find themselves before the law courts. The simple truth about marijuana is that it was allowed to take root in the society, when it first surfaced in the late 60โ€™s.

However, we are not dreamers; we realize that legalization of marijuana will not find tremendous support, in a society that is known for ignoring reality. Therefore the decriminalizing of the use of the plant for personal/medical purposes may be more palatable than its full scale legalization. While we welcome the good judgeโ€™s position, we now call on those of similar ilk to be more forthcoming with other matters that disturb us and are boarding on, or are in themselves, criminal acts.

One that stands out is the persistent and consistent reports of the Auditor General, of what appears to be widespread disregard for our laws of governance regarding the proper financial accountability by several government or quasi-government departments. While we are chasing the drug pushers we seem to be condoning white collar crime. We remind Justice Worrell and others that stealing is also a very serious addiction especially when aided by political activity and office.

We hope that Justice Worrellโ€™s progressive stance will be a turning point for a judiciary that relishes in the tradition of keeping a stiff upper lip. As we have said before, the taxpayers do not pay judges to just put on robes or wigs and quote the law. We pay them to be the guardians of society and therefore hope that the brave example of Justice Worrell is emulated by his other distinguished and erudite colleagues.

155 responses to “Judge Randall Worrell Joins the Call to Decriminalize Marijuana”

1. cannabis has more dangerous chemicals in it than tobacco.
    it also can give you feelings that are not real.like alcohol.
    so driving under the influence is also dangerous.
    if they legalize weed in barbados everything done.
    crime will rise,stealing,rape,murder,it will be like a island full of pot heads wondering around stoned wondering what should i do now?
    working will get even slower. as it slows you down and eventually makes you forget what you are or were doing.
    do this just to get rid of the back up of court cases.may be a one time thing but to legalize it would turn barbados into a bigger slum than it is already.does Mr worrell a high court judge puff a bit .
    sounds like it.
    sounds like a brilliant idea .a bunch of high people on a tiny island good for reputation and business i am sure,
    now growing the kind of cannabis that can make paper and clothing would be a good idea but to be a druggy island.well lets just say i wouldent put nothing past the ignorance of BARBADOS run by a bunch of amateur jungle bunnies.

2. @ Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group. I applaud Worrell J. and completely agree with him. He is RIGHT, RIGHT, RIGHT!!!!! I, and other highly responsible and articulate members of the BU family, have been saying the same thing for YEARS!!!!! Worrell Jโ€™s comment about use versus abuse is exactly the crux of the matter and he has hit it head on.

However, I differ with you when you say, โ€œWe hope that a more progressive approach is used in assisting those afflicted with the addiction of marijuana.โ€ Marijuana is not addictive. Tobacco is highly addictive and extremely harmful to the extent that any harm caused by marijuana pales into insignificance. Trust me, I know, I have had experience of BOTH!!! Personally!!!!

I also disagree with your blanket comment that alcohol is addictive. It is addictive only to some people, but they are a very small percentage. However, alcohol can cause a lot of antisocial conduct, as you say.

So I agree. Time to legalise the weed and release our RBPF from its obligations to search out those selling and buying the weed โ€“ mind you, you also end the RBPF individual members โ€œcottage industryโ€ of seizing the selling the weed themselves. But I am sure other โ€œsidelinesโ€ will present themselves.

Finally, I take extreme exception to your last sentence: โ€œWe pay them to be the guardians of society and therefore hope that the brave example of Justice Worrell is emulated by his other distinguished and erudite colleagues.โ€ All I know is that we pay “them” to do nothing at all. And โ€œdistinguishedโ€ and โ€œeruditeโ€????!!!! I suspect that when you wrote that, you were mellowed out by weed.

3. correcto How long were you a Chemical Engineer? Or you just spliting out what you heard or see on your idiot box and tell-lies-in-your-vision?

Decriminalize thee dam weed…its ready illegal to smoke in public.
    The system will never be ideal.. Free people and free to choose…

4. One advantage of legalising weed, for use in private ONLY, is to cut the cost of policing and instead bringing in valuable tax revenue.

Also, selling (unless personally grown) via pharmacies ONLY could be used to offset the cost of medical drugs by ensuring some form of offset re marijuana income vs cost of medical drugs, making medical drugs cheaper for the average Barbadian.

It will also allow real farmers to set a portion of their land for such production to offset costs against food supply agriculture, making their farms more viable.

They contribute more to the economy than someone growing and selling in the back of nowehere, for profits only.

5. well surely one should understand that as individuals our systems can react differently to any substance wether it be marijuana , alcohol.or tobacco . using one;s personnal experience is not sufficient to justify decriminalisation of marijuana. Surely the same examples were used to legalize alcohol and tobacco and as a society we are paying a heavy price today.

6. By the end of this week this would have all blown over.

Maybe Randall could bring up the Financing of Political Campaigns next. Now that should do some damage …. not …!

I got it … I got it … Maybe next week Randall could come to the public with Praedial larceny … now dah is a topic that could use a week in the lime light too ..!

7. Does anyone remember when the fine for gun possessing was increased to $100 thousand max there was the feeling of great hope that gun crime and illegal possession of guns would have been depressed? So Baffy you are right to be cynical.

8. @ac ”Surely the same examples were used to legalize alcohol and tobacco and as a society we are paying a heavy price today.”

And you dont think drugs are wrecking society? And places like Honduras, Mexico are break up, because of drugs.

Taking the drugs out of those who would shoot and killl and regulating them is the way to go.

Put the money instead in the hands of pharmacies, farms who are legitimate.

And tax revenue on alla a dem sales, that we dont get now!

At least Alcohol and tobacco put money in the Treasury..nuff too. Most of the price of a box of cigarettes is tax.

If one is stupid enough to smoke…well that is the consequence.

We would get enough in 6 months tax to pay back Barack.

9. The REAL reason it wont be decrimalised, is that it would take money earning away from certain people who make money, BECAUSE it is illegal.

BIG bucks.

Lol….isnt it funny…

10. What must be a real consideration is the fact both the AG and CoP seem to be helpless (clueless) about stemming the crime wave.

Is there a model we can use to critically assess the ups and the downs of the issue of decriminalisation?

11. David

I can even remember wha’ the topic was about seven days ago … somet’ng ’bout cash fa gold … Wah da is about again?

12. so what make you belive that once weed is legalise that the illict sale would not continue and crime would disappear , what about the sociological damages cause by the weed and mixture of other substances legal or otherwise in those who cannot handle its varying effects , society would not be better for all the money govt collects there will be a growing need and call from society to do more to help those who have become addicted placing a burden on govt and taxpayers. the only people to get rich would be big business.

13. ac; I agree with your 8.25 post totally. I was once convinced that legalizing marijuana was the way to go. But when that issue became one that personally affected my family and I saw firsthand what marijuana use could do to relatively young and apparently strong minds I changed mine. To control marijuana use effectively, rehabilitate users and relegate the scourge to minimal proportions by legalization would require the strategic deployment of significant resources that it is unlikely that we will ever have available, especially in these troublous times.

I vote against legalization.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 17, 2013 at 8:25 AM |
    “so what make you belive that once weed is legalise that the illict sale would not continue and crime would disappear”

You are contradicting yourself as it is your norm. An activity can’t be โ€œlegalโ€ and at the same time โ€œillicitโ€.
    What about a person growing a few โ€œherbโ€ trees in the garden not for smoking or inhaling but for infusing to brew herbal teas or even for food seasoning and enhancing other culinary delights similar to the purpose served by thyme, parsley, mint, tarragon and bay leaf?
    Should such a person of high moral standing and self-sufficiency helping to save forex and โ€œgreeningโ€ the economy be treated like a criminal who has physically harm another person? Or should he be treated not as a leper but certainly as a pal who stole millions from poor pensioners and life insured annuitants to help politician buy votes?

Get off your hypocritical bandwagon and leave your godโ€™s herbs and plants alone given for the healing of the nations in whichever form. Now ac and you other anti-herbalist bloggers you are not going to fly in the face of your god, are you now guys?
    And God said, โ€œBehold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food.โ€ Genesis 1:29
    Ezekiel 47:12 says:
    “Along the bank of the river, on this side and that, will grow all kinds of trees used for food; their leaves will not wither, and their fruit will not fail. They will bear fruit every month, because their water flows from the sanctuary. Their fruit will be for food, and their leaves for medicine.โ€

15. To repeat the point to avoid this debate speed wobbling out of control-what models are out there which Barbados can look to as we try to wrestle the scourge of drugs to the ground. We know we can’t look to Mexico!

16. This is a no- brainer.
    It should NEVER have been criminalized in the first place…..smoking marihuana is not CRIMINAL, it is just stupid and childish…..and the law is not meant to deal with stupid and childish (else ac would be in Dodds ๐Ÿ™‚ ) …..that is what EDUCATION is all about.
    If we attempt to make laws to protect people from themselves we will always be chasing our tails….
    Why do we use laws to try to protect those who may mess up their minds with ganja, but not those who mess us their bodies with obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure by THEIR bad habits?

These laws only benefit the traffickers who get premium prices because the AUTHORITIES ensure that supply is limited.

@ ac
    If it was not criminalized, any moron who so choose could grow their own tampie and it would cost about the same as lettuce…. Gangs don’t get interested in warring over lettuce…

Blatant idiocy.
    ….no wonder ac supports it ๐Ÿ™‚

17. @Bush tea

The issue here is to get the issue on the agenda and have meaning exchanges which is not wrapped in the stricture of how we have been socialized to think.

18. Here are the new rules for Connecticut’s marijuana rules 2012. The only thing I can say positive about this is that the cops seem to ease up on basic traffic violations (tail light out, or running a red light on amber) disguised as vehicle searches looking for a spliff since it gets them no where. Barbados wants to go this route? Interesting.

I do think to lock up a man for a spliff serves no purpose anywhere in the world. But 2000 lbs, in a boat, at night on the beach, with guns, looking to kill someone, for me 25 yeaars makes sense.

By the way the current govener’s son had a felony for a spliff before he became governer, hence an effort to clear his son’s name appeared to align with these new rules.

CT Possession Laws (2012)
    Personal Use
    Less than 1/2 oz (first offense) civil penalty $ 150
    Less than 1/2 oz (subsequent offense) civil penalty $ 500
    1/2 – 4 oz (first offense) civil penalty 1 year $ 1,000
    1/2 – 4 oz (subsequent offense) civil penalty 5 years $ 3,000
    More than 4 oz (first offense) civil penalty 5 years $ 2,000
    More than 4 oz (subsequent offense) civil penalty 10 years $ 5,000
    Distribution or Cultivation Less than 1 kilogram (first offense) felony 7 years $ 25,000
    Less than 1 kilogram (subsequent offense)felony 15 years $ 100,000
    More than 1 kilogram (first offense)felony 5* – 20 years $ 25,000
    More than 1 kilogram (subsequent offense) felony10* – 20 years
    $ 100,000
    Within 1,500 feet of an elementary/middle school, public housing project, or daycare center is punishable by an additional 3 years imprisonment.
    By a person 18 years or older to a person under 18 is punishable by an additional 2 years imprisonment.

19. Here is a list of countries that have legalized marijuana (even in Jamaica it is illegal โ€œwink winkโ€).

I was all in favour of legalizing โ€œpotโ€™ before but now Iโ€™m somewhat conflicted. The prevailing attitude seems to be โ€œif you canโ€™t beat them join themโ€ and so it is with the legalisation of โ€œpotโ€. These so called soft drugs deliver hard results to many people.

I am gearing up for a BTA ad of the futureโ€™ โ€œCome to Barbados for a relaxing holiday and when we say relaxing we mean really relaxingโ€ with the sea and sand in the background and a blue haze of smoke behind a Rihannaesque beauty.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legality_of_cannabis_by_country

20. @Bushie..

You ARE a genius sir!!

Answer…decrimalise marijuana and crimalise the use of…..

LETTUCE!!!!!

Brilliant.

Bottom falls out of ganja use, abuse and market. And lettuce becomes the big fashion.

No fall out in drug abuse etc.

I wish I had thought of it first!!

21. Sounds great on paper. In reality here is what it would be. Headlines “Barbados Gone Mad: Weed Made Legal”.
    Are you guys for real? Can you imagine this. Students high in school, teachers high, firemen high, politicians high on the job, the priest high, the bus driver high (the minivan driver already high and we see waht happening there). This is a real crazy idea.

But I do agree with ASKQUITH. To lock up a man for a spliff makes no sense at all. But to allow weed to be smoked without ipenalty in public, around the children, close to schools? Senseless!!!!!

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ASKQUITH | March 17, 2013 at 9:17 AM |
    “I do think to lock up a man for a spliff serves no purpose anywhere in the world. But 2000 lbs, in a boat, at night on the beach, with guns, looking to kill someone, for me 25 yeaars makes sense.”

It is precisely because the trade is ‘criminalized” that people of that ilk with the ancillary criminal activities like gun running and killing are attracted and involved in it. Take the high profit out of it and you will see how many businessmen would disappear from the trade.

The selling of alcohol and tobacco is โ€œlegalโ€ but how many rum shops selling tobacco are opening? Instead they are closing down because there is no large profit in that โ€œlegalizedโ€ business.

The reason s why the government will keep the trade โ€œillegalโ€ is because current taxation methods are inapplicable and effective. The only way the government can earn revenue is through the imposition of huge fines on those who are caught or the seizure of assets to be put up for sale because these โ€œentrepreeursโ€ fail to pay the necessary โ€œprotection racketโ€ fees to those in control of the rules of the corruption game.

Such a large haul or catch only goes to show that there is a very LARGE market for the imported product.
    Why not go for a policy of import substitution and grow our own? At least it would go a long way towards a genuine โ€˜greeningโ€™ of the economy and put some of the plantation fields back into production instead of growing only cow itch and serving as dumping grounds for both industrial and domestic waste.

You would be surprised that the marijuana plant makes a very good input fibre material for the animal feeds. This can only result in well-fed, healthy happy animals especially the cows which seem to have a โ€˜specialโ€™ relish for the โ€œherbโ€ thereby producing loads of โ€œHighโ€ quality milk with little or no artificial hormonal causing side effects like severe lactose intolerance found especially among people of colour.

23. you people seem to be talking about yourselves but this includes society as a whole as with tobacco , and alcohol and drugs in general which leaves a devastating impact on families those involved and those who are not. as the need for experimenting of the mixtures of drugs continue and leaves society in a turn spin. we must not only look for the answer in money but look for the real answer of how as a society we find a balance between what is right for the good of all and not only for monetary gain and self pleasure .

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ RG | March 17, 2013 at 9:52 AM |
    “Can you imagine this. Students high in school, teachers high, firemen high, politicians high on the job, the priest high, the bus driver high (the minivan driver already high and we see waht happening there). This is a real crazy idea.”

Is it that crazy?
    What about a real crazier one?

Barbados brags about producing the best rum in the world and its sale and consumption is legit. What about its export to earn foreign exchange to pay for the same illegal weed and prescription medicines (legitimized chemical addiction)?

Can you imagine?
    โ€œStudents drunk in school, teachers drunk, firemen drunk, politicians always drunk on the job especially OSA, the priest high on the spirits, the bus driver permanently semi-drunk, (the minivan driver already had 3 shots of brandy and 6 guinness and stallions ready for the school girls) and we canโ€™t see what is already happening here?).

This is a real drunkardโ€™s country or is it just a figment of your already high imagination?

So what would you do if mary jane becomes a well recognized married lady instead of being the outside mistress of many men married to alcoholism? Would you divorce Mrs. aAlcohol and marry mary jane or would you be loyal to your spirit(s) of ESAF from Mount of Gay?

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ millertheanunnaki | March 17, 2013 at 9:55 AM |
    The reason s why the government will keep the trade โ€œillegalโ€ is because current taxation methods are inapplicable and effective.

Should be ineffective and not “effective”.

Let the farmers grow it in commercial quantities and tax the land if not the produce.

If marijuana is allowed to grow locally there will be less demand for the imported stuff therefore saving foreign exchange. In the same way we want to reduce our food import bill by growing more food locally why not adopt a similar policy towards marijuana?

It would also reduce our need to import so much ineffective fake medicines to deal with our NCDโ€™s. Very few users of marijuana are obese and consume fatty foods full of salt.

26. @ Crusoe
    You just hit Bushie for a big six over midon….
    …hope you wearing a helmet…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Some people just DON’T get it.

The ONLY reason that there are persons running around at night with big guns and boatloads of ganja is that The LAW has created a niche market by artificially limiting supply.

If the same was done for LETTUCE then there would be persons running around at night with boatloads of it, protected by big guns, because the ARTIFICIAL value of lettuce would be in the hundreds of thousands too…..
    LOL …and Bushie would have to pay about two grand for a Caesars Salad ๐Ÿ™‚

27. @Bushie and Crusoe

Let us leave it as is, St. Vincent and Jamaica’s underground economies will continue to benefit.

28. @David.
    I am going to join this dabate later because I am going to discuss it from a medical, personal (I had a stepson who got involved in smoking Marijuana) sociological, and economic aspect, and my contribution will therefore be lengthy.I will speak on the physical and mental effects and after effects from a medical aspect and will direct readers to the results of research into marijuana. I don’t understand how supposidely sensible persons can propose the legalization of such a dangerous drug, when all they have to do is stand any part of Broad Street any day and just observe the garbage cans and see for themselves the effects of this drug. Many of the vagrants who eat out of these garbage cans, or harass tourists and locals alike, were not this way when they were growing up. Are you now willingly and knowingly going to increase this number?
    Later

29. Marijuana can be found growing wild along the roadsides in India and is considered a pesky “weed” in gardens. We have several hallucinogens growing in our gardens a ornamental shrubs (Brugmansia aka Angel’s trumpet) and plants, and if someone want to get high, they don’t need marijuana to do so.
    Alcohol and Tobacco are legal drugs that have wrecked havoc with lives of many, however we cannot stop people from drinking and smoking. We are the ones to make the choice, whether it is available legally or illegally. There are those of us who can abstain or be social drinkers and smokers, then there are those among us who will become addictive. Sex and food have also wrecked havoc with the lives of many because they are addictive to some, will they become illegal as well?

Mind altering drugs have been used for many centuries by many cultures. Do you think that the Cacique (Carib Chief) had only tobacco in his pipe?

30. What should be evident to even the village idiot is that we have to do something. Doing nothing will NOT cut it.

31. With respect to the argument that if ganja was not illegal, most Bajans would become addicts walking around like zombies….

If indeed that is the character of our people, then we will have the answer to the BIG question…

The situation is replicated in many families across the world. Does the parent impose rules and regulations to FORCE children to be ‘good and upright’ citizens? …or do they EDUCATE, GUIDE, COACH and set GOOD EXAMPLE to inspire the children to CHOOSE the good path to citizenship?

Many a parent set down strict laws and rules and penalties….only to realize that unless they get through to the CHARACTER of the child, they were guaranteed failure.

And the answer to the big question?
    Without CHARACTER, we have failed the test of living anyway… …even if we are FORCED to leave out the Ganga by our fear of the legal penalties….

32. @David

Sometime last year you ran a thread titled โ€œlegalise itโ€ about the same issue, time to highlight it again, in the meanwhile I need a new drug.

33. @ Islandgal
    Good points.
    …except – would you mind leaving out the sex bit from your examples? …next thing you know ac and Alvin will be proposing that there be a law against sex because of the serious medical and health effects that can result from becoming addicted….
    …things like aids and other STDs
    …broken families
    ..and big fights between Bushie and that IslandGuy fellow…. ๐Ÿ™‚

…..but the other points are bang on…

34. @millertheanunnaki

35. Thank you Bushie ..I forgot to add other natural drugs like Bois Bande, sea moss etc and now we have the man made ones called viagra, cialis etc. How come they never banned those natural ones?

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | March 17, 2013 at 10:31 AM |

And while you are at it preparing your presentation bring some intellectual balance and fairness by doing some research into the effects of alcohol and its impact on human beings (alcoholics) and their families and indeed the wider society like road deaths caused by the DIUโ€™s.

We are sure your personal family case of marijuana psychosis caused by the blending of foreign chemical substances with pure weed can be replicated 10 times over by those family victims stricken by the effects of addiction to alcohol by other loving and caring members from mummy and daddy to auntie and uncle to niece and nephew and even cousins. Why do you think there is a worldwide organization called AA (not the Automobile Association for drunk drivers)?
    Why not start a similar helpline for those with a similar addiction to mary jane? Instead of Whores Anonymous (WA) we can have Weed Anonymous with a doctor of your kindness consideration and personal experience on call 24/7.

Can you imagine all of those vagrants eating out of garbage cans in full view of the tourists while we claim to be a caring loving Christian country who ought to be our brothers’ keeper as demanded by your sweet lord and saviour Jesus?

Just imagine things are so bad at a time when the same marijuana is an โ€˜illegal and evilโ€™ plant but rum our major export product (since sugar is now dead) has pride of place in our pantheon of morality gods.

Yes indeed go ahead and blame all of Bimโ€™s moral shortcomings on a simple god-given plant.

37. @millertheanunnaki

Your comments sound good in theory but you are asking for trouble. It is the future generations I am worried about. Also, if the government really wants revenue they should collect taxes already owed on the books.

Also RG may have exaggerated his position to make his point but there is some basis to what he is saying.

Finally, you too make some good points but to do a 180 turn on the law without incremental steps is troublesome.

I still think to put a man especially with a family in prison for a spliff is in itself a crime. And I do agree with RG that to skin up the whole apple cart and do a 180 on the law hurts the next generation and not help it.

Good comments millertheanunnaki and I like your pun eluding to RG being high. I doubt he/she was high at the time. LOL

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ASKQUITH | March 17, 2013 at 10:51 AM |

“@millertheanunnaki”

Yes?
    Present, Sir or Mam!

39. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@bush tea u are spot on ,why not ban KFC and all de fast food OUTLETS ,and all the foods that contain GMO’S ,and make anything that is likely to cause NCD illegal , the question is who made the plant illegal and why ,does capitalism ring ah bell,

40. @EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

Did someone say CAPITALISM? Ask a billionaire who should know what Capitalism is doing to the world which is poor:

Billionaire Bill Gates blasts capitalism saying that it’s the reason why research for ‘male baldness gets more funding than malaria’

41. IG246
    Sex and food have also wrecked havoc with the lives of many because they are addictive to some, will they become illegal as well?
    Wuhloss hallucinogenic drugs in the same class as needs like food and sex., We need food and sex (hope you do also) but we certainly donโ€™t need some kinds of drugs. BTW Cialis and Viagra enhance the ability for many to experience and enjoy sex and they are prescription drugs

42. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

yes @David when big tobacco gets on board and lobby Washington we will have no choice but to accept ,its all about profit and control

43. Here is a point no one mentioned. In the US mushrooms that grow on cow droppings is illegal/outlawed. A major criminal offence to sell or purchase. If you boil mushrooms from cow droppings until the water turns purple and drink it you are asking for trouble. Real trouble. There are similarities to LSD,
    I do not think mushrooms from cow droppings are illegal in Barbados and i do not think we have a mushroom problem with folk getting high on mushrooms. Just food for thought in this conversation.

44. Nationnews reported “He said his call for the drug laws to be reviewed to decriminalize marijuana for personal use ”

This could create a new growth industry in farming.
    You can’t EXPORT marijuana FROM other Caribbean countries unless they change their laws as well…..get my drift?

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ASKQUITH | March 17, 2013 at 11:04 AM |
    “It is the future generations I am worried about. Also, if the government really wants revenue they should collect taxes already owed on the books. ”

So why do you think the government- should we say refuses instead of unable- to collect taxes owned, especially VAT which is not a tax on business but on final consumers?

Where do you think all the money given to political parties to finance electioneering campaigns comes from? The pockets of the owners or managers of businesses? Ask BAF and he will tell you!
    Just watch out and see how much of these so-called tax arrears are written off in the coming months as a pretext for keeping businesses afloat to keep people in employment.

As far as your concern for future generations is concerned it is indicative of your loss of confidence in those institutions primarily responsible for the enlightened education of our young ones; namely the family, school and religious organizations.
    Are you suggesting that the moral dilemma (including the widespread and indiscriminate littering and despoiling our country) in which we find ourselves today is a direct result of the failure of these institutions to imbue, or even โ€˜imbibeโ€™, sound moral principles? Or is it because of the sale of alcohol and cigarettes at every corner of society?

46. @ Just wondering
    “In the US mushrooms that grow on cow droppings is illegal/outlawed.”
    Yuh Lie! THAT is illegal? lol

The Americans CAN’T be so foolish….
    Bushie used to use that cow down thing to show how ridiculous the idea of banning the use of normal everyday plants would be….

Oh shiite!!! The next thing they gun ban is the paint that the teenage freaks does sniff….
    LOL…and if they find out about BAFFY’s fetish for sniffing used women’s undergarments….. Panties banned too…. ๐Ÿ™‚

47. @David,.Bush Tea

Alvin Cummins ( March 17, 2013 at 10:31 AM) plans to return later today with a “lengthy contribution” … MY GAD! … David you feel wordpress gun got space ta accommodate he …? You plan to notify wordpress in advance ..?

48. Bushie

I believe that โ€œjust wonderingโ€ is referring to โ€œmagic mushroomsโ€

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psilocybin_mushroom

49. David. Man that Bill Gates. Maybe he is a communist. Or a socialist at best. Bet he voted for Obama.