Building a brighter future

After what has been described as one of the most bruising political campaigns in history of Barbados, the commonsense approach is for all Barbadians to quickly put our shoulders to the plough in the interest of country. There is no time for the traditional honeymoon period. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart needs to quickly get his human and other resources in position. The current state of the local economy is well documented and should not become loss in the euphoria of an election victory.ย  The prospect of a challenging winter season does not bode will for the country in the short term. Restructuring the economy will take time.

The dust has not settled after 2013 General Elections but the BU household continues to be concerned about the relatively low voter turnout. The data for the 2013 General Election are (not datum) still being crunched butย  according to CADRES we had about a 60% turnout in 2013. The question which Barbadians need to ask is whether this situation should continue to go unaddressed. It was interesting to listen to Mia Mottley in an interview after the general election result was known. Her focus on the need to address governance issues should align well with Prime Minister Stuart on this issue who is seen by many as a man of integrity.

Many Barbadians have chosen not to or fully participate in our democracy. Others who participate believe to place an X on a ballot paper at election day is their only requirement. BU hesitates to introduce the idea of compulsory voting in Barbados in order to promote the idea of the sanctity of the vote. Doesnโ€™t compulsory voting shoot down the position that we are free under our constitution to vote or not vote? If not compulsory voting what? What about those in the 40% group who governments cannot boast that they are enfranchised?ย  It is evident โ€“ whether under a BLP or DLP administration โ€“ the political directorate continues to get an F grade concerning their ability to inspire and motivate a significant chunk of Barbadians to perform their civic responsibility. Should this be an issue?

An example of the threat to our system of governance is the increasing reports in the last two general elections of vote buying. It has become so blatant a practice that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart felt compelled to devote a lot of time in his victory speech to the issue. In fact he stated that he saw it with his own eyes. He promisedย  before calling names to review the relevant laws which govern election practices. BU welcomes enforcement of the law but the concern must be the growing number of citizens who see nothing wrong in selling their votes. Some may go further to say the biggest concern of all is that those charged with implementing laws are guilty of breaking those laws without fear of challenge.

Those of us who have taken to social media to champion our views and causes must continue to be indefatigable in this pursuit. We all have a place at the table even though the traditional players may not agree. The narrow two seat victory given to the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) should serve as a reminder that many Barbadians are NOT happy about the current state of affairs in Barbados. Building a society mustย  sit solidly on a robust governance ideal which is successful in persuading every citizen to participate in all opportunities for decision making.

Congratulations to Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and team on your victory at the polls.

1. Hopefully going forward we will see more professionals (and not just lawyers and doctors) entering politics. Bajan voters are rightfully fed up with all the corruption attributed to lawyers who now make up the majority of politicians in Bim. Professionals from other disciplines entering the political arena would be a welcome relief for the weary taxpayers.

2. I also hope that the PM with integrity brings integrity legislation to parliament and the laws are enacted and vigorously pursued. In this I hope the taxpayers will be pleasantly surprised.

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Freedom of Information will let us all know who have integrity, and not the other way around.
    The C.U.P and the and the BFP have a plan to remove the taxes from the Bajans .
    We need truth not lies to fix what is wrong.
    We dont need no long talk

4. i am one who beleive that every able bodied Barbadain, eligible to vote should do so. I think there is a country that has compulsory voting, and persons not voting has to pay a fine. I will get some calck for this, but i dont care> It should be mandatory.

The state should set a side an amount fo fund elections, and any organisations wishing to make a contribution to that fund should be allowed to do so, and out of it, an amount given to each politcal party. the deposit or whatever u call it should be raised to avaid having nuisance candidates.

Civics should be taught as a subject and not loss in social studies,

5. If it can be demonstrated by actions, that there is a place for INTEGRITY in Barbados’ politics, perhaps young able people from many disciplines will enter the political fray. This will not only foster confidence in Barbados’ politics – which seems sadly lacking by the percentage of the population not exercising their right to vote – but will offer choice away from the Legal Fraternity which because of actions taken by a FEW, has lost the respect they should enjoy.

Of serious concern is the alleged buying of votes, this leads to a dangerous road of everything being for sale. When money can no longer be used as an inducement, an element of those who have been paid will most likely resort to coercion to enforce their will. As we have seen in other places this is dangerous territory and an area to be avoided.

On the plus side, it was nice to see all sections of the Barbados community, being able to enjoy the political meetings without hindrance and to be at ease doing so, that is something to treasure.

6. Another worrying trend, the AG Brathwaite trying to chastise the people selling their votes but not the candidates and his colleagues who are buying the votes. Again, voters are weary of seeing the arrogance displayed within 24 hours of nearly being defeated, that politicians are somehow untouchable and cannot be arrested and held accountable for breaking the laws.

7. David; A thoughtful and timely article!

It is not going to be easy! Stuart has to completely change his ways almost immediately. I understand that he took possibly a record time to mark his own X on the ballot. That does not portend well for decision making in the future if his last minute decision problem extends into this new administration.

The next few weeks will be very instructive on how this new administration will go. The estimates will loom like an elephant in a small room in this period. Will the BLP stories of agreed cutbacks in expenditure of 150 million dollars for the coming fiscal year, allegedly agreed to by the last administration, be proven to be lies or will they be shown to be truth?
    Will the PM and his administration put some more emphasis on the Economy?
    Will there be money available to carry out their relatively few Manifesto promises? Will the entire cabinet be front benchers with a couple of senators taken from the losing ministers thrown in for good measure?
    Will the PM at last throw off the DT legacy, especially as related to Cabinet picks? Will the PM also do anything about seeking the maximum benefits for the CLICO sufferers by pursuing CLICO’s assets to the full extent of the law? Will he find a way to allow the UWI to at least maintain its services at current levels with no further expansion? Will he put a competent MInister of Finance in place? he has what appears to be one in the person of David Estwick?

Will he bring the people into his confidence to the extent feasible?

On another matter, Just imagine the possible ramifications of his statement about personnaly seeing money or other inducements passing during this last election cycle. I have been around for several election cycles as a listener at numerous political meetings and have never seen any instance of money being passed out or received. Indeed, the money passing stories seemed to have been concocted to condemn the other side (eat them out drink them out but vote them out) as there never appeared to have been any hard first-person evidence of such. The PM’s statement suggests that the very best person has now seen and presumably has evidence about such infelicities and presumably he has the power to bring it to an end. Can we hope that some action will be taken in the very near future to wrestle this escalating problem to the ground? Will that story just fizzle out especially in the face of the strong stories of very new businesses being involved in the alleged briberies and also the prevalance of the stories of ipods and ipads and other high tech toys being now used as the gifts of choice.

Despite what now appears to be the consensus on the wickham wobbling polls, something still seems strange to me. Suppose Wickham is true and correct in his statements about the polls. Might that suggest that something unprecedented went wrong in this elections? Might it have been bribery on an unprecedented scale skewing the results? Could there be also some other unprecedented factors that might have been involved?

Just some questions that can be asked on the FS money passing sighting;
    Is’nt FS very recognizable? Did he see the situation in person and in the flesh? Was it a video he saw? If he saw it in the flesh did he call the police? If he saw it in flesh did the person or people who were engaged in that activity not recognize him? Did they recognize him and thought that it was allright to still carry out the activity? Could his pronouncements be a message to his own people to clean up his act, given his vaunted and trumpeted integrity?

On the other side; Will the BLP parliamentarians settle their leadership problem within the next few days? Should Owen again pass on the mantle of leadership to Mia or Dale Marshall? Is Mia now the best person to work with the DLP for the overall good of Barbados? Does such a job put her in a perhaps unassailable situation to lead the country a few years from now?

I recall the Sandiford Administration winning the Elections after the death of Barrow and declaring at that time that the Economy was batting like sobers, yet a few months after winning reality hit home and that reality forced the premature end of that administration. The tea leaves seem to be lining up in the same way this time around.

I suspect we are in for an interesting few weeks ahead

8. TTP; I agree totally with your post above.

9. As usual the taxpayers will be the last to know, but know that they will find out eventually and act accordingly.

10. The electorate has given Barbados an excellent opportunity this time around. The elected Parliamentarians are now ‘forced’ to demonstrate their ‘love of country’ over their personal and/or partisan interest.
    If only, the best of both sides of Parliament are able to come together – not cross the floor – and construct a path for this wonderful island to follow. Can you imagine if the best minds work together for our economic progress? Do you realize the benefits that can be had if both sides reflect the interest in developing the society through meaningful programs?
    Don’t let this opportunity slip, Parliamentarians, Uh beg yuh.

11. Regilow; I agree totally with your post above. Indeed, I recall posting something similar over a year ago. The only difference to the current situation was that I think I had called for a close vote with FS losing and the others working together.

12. It is a wonderful opportunity once you can get the parliamentarians to think above the love of their personal bank accounts, then the voters would have won the battle. To get these batch of politicians to see this as a golden opportunity handed to them by the taxpayers is very doubtful, seeing the crap that has already started flowing out of their mouths.

13. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

i believe the money and gifts factor on election day offset de whole thing,live cash and gifts does pass in the so called ghettos in the streets on election day ,i cant speak for no other areas, i live in ah so called bad man town ,but this time i never see it so yet ppl were given as much as 10 grand to share out in 100,200 and how they see fit and as ghetto ppl most of them handed out 5000 and keep back de other half for themselves then they brag and partied like rock stars,one side give out 100’s and de ppl that thought they were in trouble backraise it with brandy and started their bidding at 500,and and some ppl got as much as ah 1000,and u know when u handed out that kind of money in ah housing scheme it turns into ah frenzy and police had to be called in by some of de same ppl who was shearing money like food

14. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

@David. It is time to loudly renew the call for integrity legislation and not just talk about it. I believe we need a sticky at the top of the home page. If the AG is concerned about vote buying, which by the way was done by both sides, let him do something about it, now! The PM needs to be very active and assert his authority. Dr. Estwick should be Minister of finance. Lastly the BLP leadership have concerns about Mia’s acceptability to the general populace because of her personal lifestyle choices. This may be so but we have much larger reservations about OSA. If they elect Dale Marshall he needs to raise his national profile he is seen and heard much too little. My two cents worth.
    On a separate issue somethings needs to be done about the taxation level which is suffocating commerce in this country. Even large companies are struggling to weather the storm with revenues down between 15-40%. Lay offs and small business and even some large business closures are looming.

15. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

thing is it was easier to buy the young vote with the tablets ,ipads and phones and one point we had ah car down hey park handing them out along with ah free t-shirt ,flag and all other election gear ,and i said to my self look how these politicians think about us

16. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

@ Equal Rights and Justice. Very true statement i have seen it myself although not in this election. I also came from one of these communities and have seen politicians buying ounces of weed for people on the block with my own eyes.

17. Equal Rights and Justice, you are spot on with your analysis. I can clearly see a Tivoli Gardens and a ‘Dudus” emerging in Barbados. That was how the Jamaican “don” culture emerged and the country has not recovered from it all like now. This type of situation will not inspire private sector/investor confidence. Just like like Michael Manley in the 1970s in Jamaica trying to take from the rich to give to the poor through “freeness”, I am seeing this DLP government doing the same thing through the Constituency Councils. such. So sad, but capital flight will be the order of the day. Its only a matter of time.

18. Then Adriel Brathwaite got the nerve to act all high and mighty and untouched when he is will aware that the candidates who are his colleagues and are aware that voters are broke and struggling, are responsible for breaking the laws by buying votes. This is why the results ended like this, everyone is fully aware. They really expect anyone to have respect for them, when they enable voters to barter and see which candidate is willing to pay the most for votes, get paid by both parties and then ignore all the politicians come election day. It seems this election day, some candidates were demanding proof in the form of a photo of the ballot, that the voter did indeed vote for the party. This is a horrible turn of events.

19. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

Constituency councils need to go. what a waste of public resources and an easy path for even more corruption as though we need another.

20. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

very true @Long Knives ,and this is how it works the politician will come to ah shop and buy ah long neck brandy play he drinking some and talking, all this time he has the money and gifts in the person that bought him vehicle, very seldom his own; he will have ah few ppl with him one or two will be from the area,they are the ones who do the bidding ,u would then tell that person or the politician “man give me something and i gine support ya” the leaders on the block who control their base, and some have up to 10-20 young men and women calls the shot some would take money and ah boy or 2 would prefer weed and then sell it back in 5bags and 10 pieces that is how politicians does help young ppl in most housing areas every election and that is how they some of the votes ,cause de same young ppl would say “man so and so is ah good man ya got ta vote fa he he does set ya real good ” so buy the time the politician or the operative working on his behalf makes ah few more visits and ppl get their beaks wet they then feel it is ah good thing to vote for Mr x cause he is ah good man cause he does set ya good ,THEY NEVER VOTE ON THE ISSUES cause for them life is the same B or D THEY JUST DON’T CARE but some times those votes is what makes the difference in ah fellow wining ah seat

21. Enablers of corruption and drug dealing, while not doing anything to create jobs or encouraging local food production, also not encouraging young people become independent but encouraging the in activites to have criminal records and fill up the prison. That is the type of politician now slithering across Barbados.

22. Well Well | February 23, 2013 at 11:17 AM |
    Well Well for the love of Jesus H Christ stop posting for awhile . Take a break like onion before the elections catspraddle him. You are getting on everyone’s nerves. Please head to Jenkins or a polyclinic if you have a problem. You are fast becoming an oversize hum bug.

23. No wonder young people have become so disillusioned and have a don’t care attitude, the leaders who should be setting the positive examples are the ones encouraging negativity among the youth.

24. Like it is, seems like you are one of the culprits

25. Demons don’t like exposure – Like it is.

26. @Knight of the Long Knives

The DLP has five years to operationalize transparency legislation. No hurry at all.

27. Like it is – appears to me that the only ones got catspraddled in the elections were the two political parties. All their corrupt business continues to hit the streets. Now that is what I call catspraddle, it will pay them (as the taxpayers have to pay them monthly) to do the peoples business minus the corruption. I know that party faithfuls don’t care about corruption as long as they are getting something out of it.

28. Five years will be much too long for integrity legislation, given the economic environment, and the amount of enablers willing to sacrifice young people for their own greed and enrichment, we are not too far away from the Jamaica/Dudus Coke scenario.

29. Prime Minister Stuart should review all the names that he knew or heard of who sold/bought votes before he makes them public. I am sure that he would not want to be embarrassed.

30. Elections done. Now it is time to.

31. Let us “fill in the blanks” and thenhit this punch line.

“Hurry up an fix it”.

Here we go.

Tourism sufferin from poor advertisin.
    Hurry up an fix it.

tummuch forex spennin on luxury car.
    Hurry up an fix it.

I ain’t no Gabby so I gine left it to wunna to continyah

32. the bees had to loose. 1994 Mascoll was with the Dems. the dems lost. 1999 and 2004 the same thing. 2008 Mascoll then went to the Bees and they lost.What do they expect to happen in 2013? Mascoll with the bees, they must loose. Mascoll is a death bird.

33. The attorney general would prefer to make it look like the voters are the criminals and culprits for selling the votes, but not the candidates and his bosom colleagues for buying the votes.

34. Like it is – I am in a country right now that you will not be able to pronounce it’s name, and the likes of you would have your hands chopped off for corruption and stealing.

35. Campaign funding from business houses will continue until Government place a tax cap on these so-called gifts. How in God’s world should a business house write a cheque for millions of dollars to fund a particular party and not a man can trace the movement. Prudent accounting principle stipulates that you can only give away a million dollars if you have millions and if your company have directors, transparency should be in place.

36. @TMW

After every election we have this debate in the country.

This time around it will be which Corporate replaced the CLICO millions to fund the campaign.

37. @Well Well
    Never mind the taunt of Like it is.Continue your contribution,you are making a lot of sense to the well intentioned.The Dems have won a battle but time will tell they will lose the war within 5 years.They are an incompetent lot with few exceptions.I suggest Stuart take control of Finance and Estwick Tourism and Economic Development.

38. Mia Mottley is admired and loved by many Barbadians for her political tact, oratorical skills and intellectual proficiency. I think that the huge crowds that attended the BLP political meetings listened carefully for Owen Arthur to first apologise for his sudden and ruthless removal of Miss Mottley from leader of the opposition and then state publicly that she would either lead the party or be his deputy. I attended many BLP meetings and I think that the complexion of supporters intent changed when Mr Arthur stated that Dale Marshall was good to him in hard times and he will be his deputy. I have heard Dale Marshall and Miss Mottley speaking on many occasions and Dale is no match to Mia. He spoke in “a monotonic drawl” and while he was speaking the stalwarts and party members were eating and talking through his speech and gave a lukewarm applause at the end. When Miss Mottley spoke ,in fact even before she came on stage it was pandemonium, as if the leader had arrived, and then, she just said ” cease and settle” with an outstretched hand and the massive crowd was speechless and listened to her attentively, applauding appropriately.
    She is a born leader. At a time when the United Nations has outlined the rights of all, no one should be ostracized or disenfranchised from acquiring a position when they are qualified unless their actions interferes with their execution of the job. In Barbados, there have been countless horrific rumors about male politicians and they were never dispossessed or relieved of their duties. We need to stop the discrimmination.

39. G.tackle – the sad part is most of the culprits would prefer to carry on their corrupt ways indefinitely and at the continued expense of the taxpayers. now they have all found themselves in a situation whereby they will be greatly challenged. They had the majority and were severely challenged, what will happen now that both parties have been forced to enter unfamiliar territory???

40. Next week will be the longest week in the Prime Minister life. Choosing between Sinckler and Estwick for F. Minister; Paul or Estwick for Agriculture Minister; Jones should be replaced in Education since the teacher’s problem is still eminent. Although Inniss was aggressive with the health transformation, it will be better to bring in someone like Boyce who should be knowledgeable within the health circle. Tourism should be given to Stephen Lashley since the hospitality industry is all about food and fete and he is the only minister with a solid family base and has retained his size from 2008. (LOL) . Regardless if the last housing minister was able to place a high-rised building on someone’s front garden, I am of the opinion that an economic figure head like Chris, David or Ronald should be used to ensure a proper inventory of our housing stock is workable without wasting money in building more houses.
    That leave us to deal with a deputy who must be essential, statesman-like and should be an immediate replacement if another eager 1 or 11 comes out of the wood work. Any one can play except, David – too aggressively violent with words, I will give it to Sealy or even Stephen Lashley. Wonder who will be given Drainage Ministry? BTW. Will all these houses be occupied since elections finish and houses will have to be distributed to party faithfuls.

41. Even though there may be X amount of people eligible to vote, they are many persons that do not participate due to their religion. Maybe a survey could be done to decipher how large a number these persons are.

42. Where were you guys when the politicians was buying peoples votes with corn beef,biscuits and rum. Can anyone tell me what’s the difference. Let’s say it was the above instead of the money and the electronics. Would you guys be still complainin. If it’s wrong now it should have been wrong back then. Are they still buying rum, corn beef and biscuits today? If they I i am hoping those practices are condemned by those same people who are complaining now.

43. Because of the purchasing of votes with corned beef, biscuits and rum in the 60s and coming forward by the likes of deighton Mottley and grantley Adams; we have this situation today that has graduated and escalated to what is going on now, purchasing votes with money, house, land and drugs is a direct result of the corned beef and biscuit mentality that has been encouraged and practiced for decades.

44. Erskine Miller Bajans have very short memories. They forget about the constant begging that politicians deal with.

Anyone remember Sleepy Smith talking about having to help people with “light bills” etc?

Time to put a cap on election contributions
    and time to set up a Freedom of Information system.

The Canadians will to help.

so stop all de long talk bout deproblem in Babadus.

โ€œHurry up an fix itโ€.

45. Sleepy Smith can’t even talk, at his age he is still always trying to get something for free.

46. Hants | February 23, 2013 at 12:20 PM |

Elections done. Now it is time to..
    ——————
    That appears to be Buju sining, not the fat lady. Gotta wait till after fat lady sings.
    Lol.

47. All of you who had seen politicians buying votes should have taken photos of them and post them here on BU. It is no point talking about it with no evidence.

48. Rendered Assistance Avatar
    Rendered Assistance

In regards to Dr. Estwick, the Prime Minister would be well advised to consider carefully before deciding against making him, the much promised and well deserved position of Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs.

This fragile DLP government will only last as long as Dr. Estwick is kept happy. The powers that be would be well advised to remember that Dr. Estwick, Clyde Mascoll and Owen Arthur are all good friends.

I suspect Dr. Estwick fully expected to be snubbed by DT but if he is snubbed again at the hands of Fruendel Stuart, then that’s going to something he’ll not accept. Especially given the effort he put into this campaign and the knowledge that his revenge would end the DLP administration and everyone would be in the political wilderness for 15 years, again.

49. During the campaign Stuart has been protrayed by those who supported him as a man having INTEGRITY.this/should not go unnoticed by Stuart. The fact is the Integrity gauntlet has been placed firmly and squarely at his feet and is imperative that he sees this piece of legislation enacted as quickly as possibe. NO “IF,s or BUTS about it .Those of us who supporting him are watching with roving eyes.

50. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

I am now looking at the DLP manifesto for the first time and it appears that the DLP passed Integrity legislation in the past five years, can anyone enlighten me on when this happened and if the legislation has any teeth.