Submitted by William Skinner
Clyde Mascoll, BLP spokesman of economic matters deemed a liability
Clyde Mascoll, BLP spokesman on economic matters deemed a liability

Many years ago, during the turbulent years of political rivalry between Edward Saga and Michael Manley, in Jamaica, there was a very violent election and at the end it was dubbed: ”elections that people lose”. Sometimes, the only victors are the politicians and their lackeys. The victory of the Democratic Labour Party is a victory for Prime Minister Freundel Stuart. The jury will be out for sometime as to whether it was a victory for the people.

This election clearly demonstrated that the fed-up level, with both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour party is rising; the electorate, caught between a rock and a hard place, decided that the money offered “to be put back in their pockets’ by the Barbados Labour Party, was not enough to convince them that they should bring the Bees back into office. They worried about the transport being privatized and pensioners having to pay bus fares; they worried about the Sanitation Services being privatized and having to pay for garbage removal. A people under the heavy yoke of a recession, that is not going away, are very circumspect. So, Stuart went out there and reminded them about schools that the Democratic Labour Party built and told the voters that while money in their pockets is good, their character and understanding the value of a vote is more important. A less colourful but more effective message in the end.

On the other hand Owen Arthur did his best to convince the voters that he could revitalize the economy. Unfortunately for Arthur, he depended on a non-candidate, economist Clyde Mascoll, to be his real messenger. I have posited many times that Mascoll, his scholarship notwithstanding, is a political liability and that his credibility as a politician is a real issue. Having Mascoll headline platforms was a political blunder of monumental promotions, taking into consideration that Mia Mottley seemed to have been pushed aside. In all fairness to Arthur he tried but he was also leading very new candidates some of whom were selected during Mottley’s tenure as opposition leader.

In the final analysis, when stripped of all the talk about Wickham’s polls and the CLICO debacle, this election was basically free of any serious discourse. The failure of Arthur and Stuart to have a public debate was a grave and deliberate insult to the electorate. That showed that they were not taking the populace very seriously. We were subjected to some of the vilest and most embarrassing nonsense ever heard on political platforms from both parties. We learnt that the thirty candidates had not grasped anything about the new world economic order brought on by the crippling recession. We were treated to nothing more than entertainment. The parties, rather than seriously engage each other, opted for presentation and no content.

It was not a violent campaign and many will honestly conclude that the close margin was a victory for the people. I respectfully submit that thinking citizens are still waiting on a real debate about how to carry Barbados forward. The only thing that the close outcome proved is that the BLP/DLP is very close in every respect. I was told by one of our most influential politicians that the House of assembly is a “club”. And that is why I contend that we have a sophisticated one party state. Why not use this numerical closeness to form a government of national reconstruction?

However, unlike the election mentioned at the beginning, there were no acts of violence and while the wearing of yellow and red is starting to bother some; I opine that if we cannot put on a tee shirt of our party’s choice, we are really in a bad place. Quite frankly I prefer the tee shirts to the violence on my ears emanating from mouths quite unfamiliar with public speaking and equally unfamiliar with the real issues. From that point a view it was indeed an election that people lose.

1. All this CLEARLY shows, the people are starved for a SERIOUS third party to emerge

2. It was only 2 days past the 2013 general elections and Dale Marshall was telling the Barbadian electorate that the BLP is ready for the next general elections.

I thought Dale Marshall would have made more sense telling Barbadians who is the opposition leader since 21 February, 2013.
    The leader of the Opposition is a constitutional position…….the BLP was only recently griping about the cocnstitutionality of calling the 2013 general elections !!!!

The FRACTURE in the BLP continues !!

3. Observing(…) wrote “Since we’ve dissected and reassembled the “patronage for assumed vote” argument

I still want answers from one of our BU lawyers like Amused or Anonlegal.

As a born Bajan I am well aware of our tendency to answer questions on subjects we know very little about.

4. David wrote ”
    Fearless You were warned because of your use of multiple monikers.”

@Fearless on this blog there is no need to use multiple monikers.

You can write anything you want as long as it is not libelous or obscene.

Keep on bloggin.

5. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@To the Point | February 24, 2013 at 2:49 PM |

grow up. it was not only the BLP who gave money for votes. u used words such as ‘nasty behaviour’ etc and associated it with Owen and Mia. why not ask those in other constituencies if they were offered money and by which party? i like u was informed by very reliable sources that they were witnessed to it but i will not name names, i was not there. the prime minister needs to understand that even tho he might attempt to be honest it does not translate to his MPs doing likewise. so he was speaking for himself when he talk about not buying votes etc, most of them did. the BLP and also the DLP and u know it too

6. I have not been checking the blogs as customary over the past day or so and I haven’t read the earlier comments in this blog. So forgive me if I am repeating anything said before.

I would like to present the explosion in the rumours of the money for votes issue and tie it into a possible development of drug lord influence in this area and the wickham poll results.

Rumours of money for votes in Barbados are nothing new. What is different today is that such rumours are coming from credible individuals who claim to have seen evidence of such transactions and that several people have been claiming that there has been a heightened incidence of the practice in these elections. Indeed, it seems as if both parties have been involved in the heightened practice.

To cash for votes must now be added the rumours of valuable gifts for votes.

My problem with the rumours in earlier years have been how could the candidate ensure or be sure that that a person who received such inducements actually vote for him/her. With modern technology and the example of Jamaica’s Garrison communities, a feasible model is emerging.

1) the cell phone gambit
    2) the minivan collector of voters gambit
    2) the drug lords, rumoured to be associated with certain politicians, have means to ensure that persons in their communities vote the way that they want and substantial payment, by way of drugs or cash is easily made by the politician’s agents to the drug lord for members of the incipient garrison community.
    3) the Cell phones and ipads and even small tablets could be multi use; strong inducements on their own but also tools to be used in documenting the transactions.

Now to the wickham wobble. Massive sale of votes for cash or valuable gifts could totally explain the inability of the polls to reflect the actual vote in many constituencies. It should be relatively easy for Wickham or others to identify communities in which serious funds have been passed and correlate those communities’ actual votes with the wobble away from poll predictions box by box (If polling was carried out earlier in those communities) But of course it would be a bold pollster who would venture into such areas to do a normal poll. A surreptitious poll for another purpose might however give some usable results.

It was instructive to note Chris Sinckler behind FS when he was having his say on the vote buying issue. That might well be an acid test of integrity. FS actually saw some transactions. Looking forward to seeing where it leads.

THis practice needs to be nipped in the bud and it will take relatively honest politicians on both sides to do it effectively. Failing this, Tivoli Gardens here we come.

7. @check it out
    “When persons do not need to hide to commit evil then the evil has won.”

This elections was a watershed in many ways. I reserve comment for another time and a number of reasons. We await for the response from the political class and our new leaders as they chart the way forward. The people have spoken and “won,” but the country is still in the balance.

Legal or not, there is an inherent moral/ethical/socio-political component to the exercise. It could be “right” but lead to all manner of “wrong.” The proliferation of and “expected default” nature of it is what worries the most.

@june boy
    “No one party can boast of victory in this elections,”
    You are pragmatically correct.

Just Observing

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TO THE POINT

Forgive the oversight, brother at arms!

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Word reaching us has it that “Seethru” is backing Kerry(miller) for leader of the opposition. This is not going well with Forde,

10. Obey
    ” The people have spoken and “won,”” NOw how you draw that conclusion. the LARGEST percentage of “The People” DID NOT VOTE. Now surely that is voice enough. .. a complete rejection of this foolishness (insanity: doing the same thing over and over in the hope of for once coming up with a different result) Stupse

“an inherent moral/ethical/socio-political component to the exercise” .. I thought that you were referring to the excessive (illegal) spending of advertising money (derived from Corporate even overseas interests) on individual candidates … ie the flagrant ignoring of electoral laws by BOTH political Parties.

Everyone loses when those vested with greater intellect refuse to direct their attention to the fundamentals

11. @Baffy
    thanks for the correction. The people who voted have spoken. Irony is that many of these may be those who don’t normally vote… i.e. regular voters would have been turned off.

A sin is a sin is a sin. There were MANY blatant sins this election. I continue to pray and hope for better

Love the end quote though.

Just Observing.

12. @David,
    @Miller, Prodigal Son, David (not BU)

BU understands that Arthur vacated the office of leader of the opposition some weeks before the election because he was preparing to move into the PM’s office? IF this is true it speaks to a quantum level of arrogance…………………………….

My understanding is that it is a standard operating practice to clear your office before election day.

13. Observing(…) “Legal or not, there is an inherent moral/ethical/socio-political component to the exercise.”

We are talking about Barbados. If nobody can be locked up according to the law Vote buying/selling will continue.

I am waiting patiently for an answer, from Amused or Anonlegal, to my original questions.I already understand morals and ethics. to besides we have Bushie,GP and Zoe to expound on that.

Watch the parades at Cropover and see where the morals are.

The only way morality and ethics will return to Barbados is if the country adopts the Cuban system of government.

14. ……………………………..To cash for votes must now be added the rumours of valuable gifts for votes…………………………………

What about a company donating lumber to the Parliament???And during an election campaign! Isn’t that donation a quid pro quo for contracts? Is this not in the same class as vote buying?

I spoke to a man in St Andrew before the election and he told me he was selling his vote to the highest bidder. I spoke to a man in the Grazettes area who said the people in his area are “licorish” people who are selling their votes to the highest bidder.

The fact is the DLP supporters on this blog should really hush. Their side had the millions from the sale of BNB shares, Jada, Preconco, Cost u less and Innotech to blow. John Boyce paid out thousands in Scarborough, Dennis Lowe gave fellows money to buy joints, Rommel Marshall and the guy view were prevented from handing out in St Joseph, money flowed in St MNW, St MW and St MWC like water. Dont talk about what went on in St PN. So Dems, stop pretending that you all were not the biggest buyers of votes. It is not right on either side. How are we ever going to pull this back?

That is the only way you could defeat the BLP and damage the reputation of the CADRES poll. Counteract the poll by buying the simple minded people who cannot see pass a $100, $200, $500 or $1000 which I am sure was spent by the end of Thursday!

The Dems bought the election, now start governing!

15. Prodigal Son

At least the people that sell their vote will get something out of the election. The overwhelming majority of Barbadians, those who voted or otherwise, will get nothing… no matter the final result.

Obey

I full ah quotes. The reason is of course that I does invent them as I go along and fa’get them once they have been said. One my favourite ones which apparently was borrowed by someone a way bit older than me is “Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few” I should have taken out the copyright when I had the chance … Stupse

16. Trying to sell votes in Barbados is really a waste of time. Bajans will tek de money and laugh at yuh behind yuh back.

The bigger issue is how major contracts are awarded.

That is a problem that needs to be addressed.

17. Heard Minister Sealy at a celebratory service shown on CBC TV a while ago saying that persons of “means” were against them in this election, but they defied the odds to win the election. I would caution the DLP in their arrogance stance against corporate Barbados. They, the influential private sector can bring a government down. Just look at Jamaica, Michael Manley vs the private sector in the 1970s. It is well known that the DLP influenced the election in order to retain power. Private sector needs government, not the other way around.

18. BAFBFP,

And after that, what do they have? They may have won on election day but we the middle class are now going to feel the effects of their stupidity for the next five years!

19. Prodigal Son since you are middle class and I presume you are well educated I am sure you already have assets and the intelligence to survive the next few years.

You invest in an entrepreneur like BAFBFP and get a good return on your money.

20. Prodical

I know you holding a side so you are to be forgiven … But thing about the middle class in B’bados, who the hell do you think they turn to when they need to draw an income …? You know of course know that you are defending a group of individuals who have traditionally engaged in an incestuous relationship with their own so as to extract a living and of course flaunt their accomplishments by pandering to their own taste for imported goods and the spending the kind of money (real international money) that they do NOT of course work for. And you are looking for my sympathy …. hmmm

21. Hants

Thnx

22. Observing; You said yesterday at 6.07 pm “When persons do not need to hide to commit evil then the evil has won.” . I shudder at the implications of that beautiful summary of all that has been said of the money for vote issue.

It suggests that there is no hope that this problem can be nipped in the bud; It implies that the Parties (both of them) will do nothing substantive, but talk only, to wrestle this beast to the ground.

Freundal’s vaunted integrity is key to a solution of this issue. He has to work for a solution that targets several members of his party as well as of the BLP. Can we expect that he will cast away his former mould and do the right thing expeditiously ?

23. Truly an Elections to lose…….Not even worthy contesting the St. Philip ” late box”..fa wha? …too much ‘interference’. Wickham’s poll could not predict such…… Question is where do we go from here….In Trinidad ever seen a water buffalo bedding down in a stinky mud hole? But has this Elections change anything? Now that it is 16- 14….even more standstill for those of us who live here and not like…. just able to washout their mouths from abroad…..Let’s all watch….what next comin on the horizon….How will it be handled ?..Same ole Same ole….. A New Old Guvernment…..Give thanks indeed!

24. @Old Onion Bags

Nothing happened at SPS except that the reporters got it wrong. There was always one box to be counted. Bear in mind the boxes are count four at a time.

25. Onion you are back every manjack was asking for you some even opined you were under suicide watch. Heres hoping youve learned your lesson there is many a slip btween cup and lip. You were beaten fair and square by Fruendel the man you demonised with glee. Fruendel has the last laugh at your expense. Now you are back hating dont hate onion congratulate. Late box my foot Tannis got more reasons to complain than you or any other BLP yardfowl. Try to be gracious in defeat we know you seeing red because things dread, for the BLP. The taste of victory is sweet you must try it sometime.

26. hi rotten onions dis yuh girlfriend ac enjoying the sweet thrill of victory. so glad i didn.t take yuh advice and cross over. Butwhat yuh think bout molasses man as wunna BLP yardflows call PM Stuart. i heard he set a trap wid the molasses on the ground fuhh wunna to slip and fall in.How about them egss you keep counting! How about sharing some with Wickham fuh next election cause dem addle.HEE! HEE!

27. Was talking to a friend of mine from T&T, he told me they are ashame at the low morals that was displayed in the last elections. He told me money was handing out like flyers on election evev and on election day. One party had a SANTA CLAUS, outfit and all, handing out monery goodies, while two mini buses were working in a particular constituency loading up and instead of the passengers paying, they were this time receiving. We told me we had made a mockery of elections and have the whole region disappointed. As he said, once they used to look up to Barbados for decent standards, now we have fallen to an all time low.. I felt ashame by these comments

28. Ras Shortie I once had a calyso which went like this
    Watch out my children, Watch out my children
    They have a fella name Lucifer, wid a bag of WHITE POWDA
    But he don’t want to powda ya face, but to bring shame and disgrace to the human race.
    When we link this to the remark from the P.M
    If ya want money in ya pocket, ya should go the the DRUG LORD/S.
    The question then is; WHO IS MR “WHITE POWDA IN BARBADOS. Enough said

29. @ BAF
    We were unaware that corn beef and biscuit politics were still in vogue (smile)

30. Old Onion Bag
    Truly an Elections to lose…….Not even worthy contesting
    Spoken like a true loser, you were singing a different tune prior to the Election. Aesop has an excellent fable which sums up your statement it is called “The Fox and the Grapes”