Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (l) Mia Mottley MP (r)

BU has to confess the politics on the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) side at the moment is puzzling. With just over a year to go to a constitutionally due general election the commonsense strategy for both parties is to agree to a competitive slate of candidates and settle any grievances between members – especially if they are prominent – have them resolved quickly.

The recent DLP general conference appears to have Jack and Jill lining up behind Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. If there was plan to hatch a Chris Sinckler plan it seems to have been placed on the backburner for the moment. What is shaping up to be intriguing is unravelling on the BLP side.

We all recall how Mia Mottley was taken out by the so-called gang of five. It came as a surprise if for no other reason it required George Payne to throw his hat behind Arthur. All kinds of reasons have been floated why Mia Mottley lost the support of parliamentary colleagues – the fear of Mottleyism, concerns about how party funds were being spent, the profile of persons she had following her which crowed out the ‘regulars’, her lifestyle, and the list is long.

After a quick bloodletting Mia Motley seems to have come to terms with the role she intends to play in the party. She will play the waiting game. With a couple 60 something old MPs in Owen and George her only potential  threat  to regain the leadership of the BLP  is from Dale Marshall, a no contest. All of her public statements have been delivered using a studied approach and her positions have taken a people-centric flavour, on some occasions at the expense of the party position.

What has muddied the issue in the past week is Arthur’s public cry that the BLP and Barbados need Clyde Mascoll. It will be interesting to observe how Arthur, who many still regard as a master tactician, will deliver Mascoll to the BLP and Barbados. If it were that simple!

During the last general election Arthur created tension in the party when he described Mascoll as a co-leader although he had previously endorsed Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley as his heir apparent. How will Mia, George and former schoolmate Dale Marshall cotton to the idea of Mascoll possibly entering the parliamentary group to bat at 2 or 3 in the batting order?

We know Duguid will not be standing for re-election and there is a question mark around the tired and sick looking  Rawle Eastmond. Whatever happens the dynamics of the BLP parliamentary group is about to change. Again BU asks, how will Arthur deliver Mascoll to the House of Assembly?

To add to the intrigue there seems to be an attempt from the BLP party machinery to flex its muscle by supporting Jerome Walcott for the Chairmanship of the BLP, sending a clear message to Mia Mottley who has indicated her interest to contest the position. Todays press quotes Mia Mottley as being surprised at seeing press ads which by accident or design describe Walcott as the incoming Chairman.

What is clear is that Arthur will have to cut a deal with Mia and soon. He cannot continue to alienate her with a general election looming.

1. @Observing

Will update the full text of Mottley’s letter shortly.

2. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

The BLP style lights, action, cameras the Razzmatazz the way the BLP like it.

I will tell you that Mottley is a spineless beast to be spitted on as she has by Arthur but still want to be holding on for the scraps from the table of power is very sickening and sad for a woman with the bite that she carries.

3. What has Mia Mottley done publicly to deserve what is being thrown at her? What is very clear is the myth that the BLP and DLP are democratic institutions. Is it any wonder that we cannot get any traction to strengthen our democracy and to include the people in this process!

4. Is MH by chance moving from VOB-Brasstacks to CBC-TalkYourTalk?

5. Good Riddance!

6. @Lemuel

It is sad, when dunce like you envy bright yardfowls like me. A yardfowl can outlass any bigbreed fowl like you.

Sorry I had to come down tou your level and the others who have a habit of referring to some of the bloggers as yard fowls.

When you ready to reach my level as brightness as you have ascribed to me, we can have a meaningful discussion, even thoufh that i have suspected that all you know is guttar behaviour as that is where you come from and you are not capable of atleast moving incrementally from there. Sorry , i cant join you there very often, Enjoy yourself among the debris in the guttar.

Had to respond to you.

Have a guttary day.

7. Arthur once questioned Mia’s morals, a man who had many daughters with other women while still married to Beverley – this is a bare joke… Mottley needs to create a NEW party, one which does not mind getting contributions from “A FEW WHITE BOYS”?

8. Things are not to be judged good or bad merely because the public think so, and I Tacitus say that this is the case.
    Bajans should never let a woman rule them, politics is about favours among real men. They do not have to be all black, but they must fight back against ambitious women and over enthusiastic young people. So it is not about whether Mia is right or that I am unjust (and everyone knew that since Thompson exposed me with the cheque). This is about power and Ilaro Court and the potential for making sure all of my daughters have healthy bank accounts. It is not about Bajans, but if Mia want to go and form her party, let her go, we do not need women at the top of the BLP. This is a man’s hunting ground. It is I Tacitus that say that! Men, large and in charge cause we aint want nuh women leading we.

9. If ever there was a homoerotic comment, it sounds like that bulling b*tch Jerona Wacott – such claptrap went out with Greek (bulling) city-states and Shakespeare’s all male acting Globe Theater (more bullers)

If you wanna bull go ahead, but don’t force it down my throat, Ppl can have lifestyles which do not enter in the fray as others have learned, let’s have progress even if it is funded by not only whites but Indians & Muslims of Barbados

Do we let Owen sell off every scrap of land? Wait for the next Parris cheque into Arthur’s personal coffers?