Submitted by Charles Knighton

noise (1)Should those in authority ever tire of talking about the problems posed by noise pollution, smoke pollution from burning rubbish or garbage-strewn yards overgrown with bush, and actually decide to take action against the miscreants responsible (hopefully this will not resemble the recent “action” taken with the Belle squatters or those with supposedly illegal home additions), perhaps the city of Amsterdam offers a template.

Families that persistently behave badly and harass their neighbours are to be evicted from their homes and moved into trailer parks that have minimal services and are under constant police supervision. A city spokesman denied that the plan would create ghettos of uncontrollable troublemakers on the outskirts of Amsterdam.  He remarked the aim of this scheme is not to reward people with a brand-new, five-room home with south-facing garden.

Is this food for thought or just junk food?

34 responses to “Garbage and Pollution”

1. the amsterdam plan sounds like more garbage pile up on more garbage when one factors in the cost to the taxpayers who is going to have to foot the bill to implement this plan. additional cost for protection .etc.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 12, 2013 at 5:53 AM |

How is the clean up campaign by ac & friends coming on?
    Seems you might want some help so instead of the PM wanting to send back graduates who work in the public service to the cane fields he could arrange for them to join your dirty lazy band of cleaners. Let’s start with the 10,000 workers you and the DLP claim OSA would be sending home.

3. @Miller

Do you think Carl maybe persuaded to give the BU family an update on his fight against pollution in Barbados?

Have we made progress from that time he (Carl) took up the fight?

4. Miller do you really want to bring up the subject of ten thousand “WOULD BE UNEMPLOYED WORKERS”By OSA and to add insult to injury indicating that their services would be best suited to clean garbage. then you have the mitigated gall to scruntize PM stuart about his comment pertaining to the educated people who waste the tax payers money by their inablity to function in times of crisis.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 12, 2013 at 10:07 AM |
    “………PM stuart about his comment pertaining to the educated people who waste the tax payers money by their inablity to function in times of crisis.”

Those are the same lazy incompetent people the PM would like to send back to the cane fields but since those fields no longer exist as places of menial tedious backbreaking work he can send them to join your gangs of timewasters.

Who the hell you think you are fooling, ac, with that clean up campaign propaganda?
    You can’t even clean up your own domestic household far less your community. According to you the simplest of domestic duties are outsourced in your household, forget so quickly?
    Why not join the ‘Privatization Committee’ that must soon be established to oversee the transfer of that magical 10,000 to your clean-up gangs and to remaining cane fields.
    The PM is already preparing the ground by pushing entrepreneurship and small business enterprises. We all know the unions will never stand in his way.

6. @Miller

Why must you guys distill every problem under the sun through a political prism?

The PM’s comment was clear to those who want to understand delivered using a colloquial baseline.

Have we become so simple?

7. David, this is the kind of discourse I can join—where ad hominem insult is minimised, even from the anonymous.

The Society for a Quieter Barbados, just last month, observed—I can’t say celebrated—ten years trying to persuade Barbadians to turn down the volume a little and the political leadership to put serious legislation on the statute books and see to it that it is enforced.

We haven’t much to show so far: the little island has become noisier and our politicians more hearing-impaired. We never thought it was going to be easy, so we continue to press on.

Draft legislation on noise pollution—like the up-and-down fast bowler who runs up but does not deliver—has been on its way to Parliament since 1979 (see the National Report on Law and Order) and again as recently as 2007 when Prime Minister Arthur called an election and the draft bill disappeared.

Since Government is said to be a continuum, one would have thought that the succeeding administration would’ve taken up that 2007 draft bill, tweaked it if need be, and put it before Parliament.

Oh no, the Minister of Environment wants to re-invent his own wheel, and has been promising his own noise pollution bill for almost five years.

All the while, Barbadians continue to make ourselves and our guests uncomfortable with noise as well as other forms of pollution.

Sorry to be so long-winded.

Carl Moore

P.S. I recommend Mr. Kinghton’s excellent letter “Technology and teens” in yesterday’s Advocate—required reading for all; not only teenagers.

8. @Carl

Thanks for the update which accords with BU’s information. The problem here is that Bajans are not sufficiently sensitized to treating with matters of the environment. By extension this applies to politicians i.e. our policymakers. What we need is an MP or two to join your group in championing the cause. We need to go into the Primary Schools – have you entered the compound of a public school recently? It probably explains why we have a generation who is numb to noise and other pollution. A massive education campaign is required to force back an attitude which has taken root.

9. With so many “backburdensome issues” does anyone believe that “noise pollution” would be of any signifacant importance in a volitile economy one in which people interest is in their economical survival. . it would only be of importance to those it effects but to the everyday bajan struggling to make ends meet that issue is not one to make them think”how they are going to pay a bill.or afford the necessities of good living. neither it is an issue that carries/any “weight” at the ballot box.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 12, 2013 at 10:29 AM |

Because it’s the same prism the PM sees through when he attacks the BLP on groundless issues like planning to lock up BLP politicians for corruption despite his recent exoneration in Parliament. The same prism he looks through with no mention of serious national issues like the restart of the Four Seasons project or the Al Barrack shameful matter or the awful state of our legal and judicial system.

The same prism he looks through to protect his pal Leroy Parris and even has the gall to engage him as a consultant being paid from the public purse while looking through another lens and promising the CLICO policyholders something he knows is well-nigh impossible to pay.

It’s the same prism through which the likes of ac, CCC, “!”, TPP, Fractured BLP and BLPNationNewspaper contribute to this blog without any recognition of the positive contribution OSA and the BLP made to this country. Not even an appreciation of the accumulation of foreign reserves that is currently saving this country from a massive devaluation.

11. @ac

If you don’t understand the issues here why don’t you give it a pass? Do you know the neigbourhoods in Barbados where Karaoke is played until the hours of the morning? Who are those in traffic or travelling the highway when scrambler motorbikes with the mufflers removed bob and weave between the traffic? What about those aged souls trying to get rest but have their eardrums bombarded with home entertainment systems playing at decibels as if in a fete? Are you saying because we are challenged by the harsh economic times that a caring society should not put measures in place and behave in a way which shows it is sensitive to pollution? Pollution is pollution, why single one? It is your response which exposes how we are failing as a society.

12. @Miller

An election is on the horizon and the people will decide. Now focus on the topic at hand.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carl Moore | January 12, 2013 at 10:47 AM |

I want to support you here, Carl.
    Not only is legislation badly needed on noise pollution but also on the emission of noxious cacogenic black fumes from vehicles on the road.

But even if we succeed in getting very ‘tight’ legislation on the books we will still be faced with the insurmountable problem of “ENFORCEMENT”. Still a clear sign of an ‘indisciplined’ society.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 12, 2013 at 11:29 AM |

You do have a point with regard to the topic in hand but we will bear you retort in mind and see if you are even handed with regard to other bloggers.

15. @Miller

Why do you compare yourself to other bloggers? Unleash your intellect on the blog man, don’t allow others to deny the BU family what is your true potential…lol.

16. David what is it with your snobbis attitude and your apparant belief that because a persons point a view is different to which others hold one lacks understanding or is intelectually deficiant to understand the topic at hand. how intellucutally snobbish bodering on the line of” i know better “can you get . .now i know why bajns remained silent cause people like you guard the gate of inteluctal debate while seeing others point of view as contributors to”noise pollution” how arrogant!

17. @ac

Unlike you we never call commenters ‘names’. We prefer to be arrogant than ignorant.

18. David to respond to that tastless comment would not be of service to any thing having to do with the topic at hand and your holier than thou snide remarks in regard to others having a different point of view which all in all sums up your attitude.So what is topic at hand please ADVICE.

19. The PM’s comment was clear to those who want to understand delivered using a colloquial baseline.
    ………………………………………………………………….
    Like his previous reference to Pig tails?

20. Clean up campaign? A cleaned up spot in Barbados is like a vacant parking lot in Bridgetown. It becomes business as usual.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8344356320/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8343293655/

21. So what.s this talk all aboit noise pollution. david seem to have put an end singlehandly on this subject the silence emitting on this topic is defeaning. how dare i say that noise pollution would not be of interest to many bajans as it doesn.t carry the same political weight as economic issues only to feel the “warth” of the blog master. but given the response here is enough proof.

22. Speaking of sanitation. Islandgal please note.
    Obama meets Karzai. Obama being given the s***** end?
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8375267740/
    But………………….
    As in other Middle Eastern nations, the left hand is used for sanitary activities including the restroom, and the right hand is used for food and greeting; offering to shake with the left hand may be perceived as an insult, and eating with the left hand embarrassing. Iraqis are a particularly extroverted people, and their conversations will often be adorned with many hand gestures.

23. millertheanunnaki | January 12, 2013 at 11:30 AM |
    @ Carl Moore | January 12, 2013 at 10:47 AM |

I want to support you here, Carl.
    Not only is legislation badly needed on noise pollution but also on the emission of noxious cacogenic black fumes from vehicles on the road.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And included in any legislation must be the provision for competent persons,either employed my the Government, or appointed as such, to enter repair establishments which services and calibrate fuel injection equipment, to ensure that persons directly involved in such operations are properly trained and qualified, and that the test equipment used is fully serviceable.

24. Colonel that looks like a right hand shake doh. LOL. I ent shaking nuh man hand from now, all wunna gine get is a wave, a royal one at dat too!

25. But to tell the truth, if all the nasty people in Barbados were relocated to one parish I wonder which parish dat gine be? Dem got one big enough? Or will it mean that there won’t be enough room left for the cleans ones? We need to name and shame them on national TV BUT that will NEVER happen on CBC TV.

26. islandgal246 | January 13, 2013 at 5:31 AM |
    But to tell the truth, if all the nasty people in Barbados were relocated to one parish I wonder which parish dat gine be? Dem got one big enough?
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    From what I understand , they will be like hogs in mud, if relocated to Barbados’s 12 th parish………..Noo York. Noo York.
    Seriously,many of those who dump, probably have spotless surroundings at home. The ethos of many is, ” not on my door steps’, but think nothing of bagging it off ,and dumping at somebody else’s.
    Perhaps we need to track down the dumpers, and neatly repack their garbage and have it delivered to their homes.
    No doubt the Sanitation Service will be foremost in the upcoming General Strike, as others like to use them to add mass and bulk.

27. How can individuals be so indifferent to how they pollute the environment? On wonders how they manage personal hygiene as an example.

28. barbados it self is pollution to this world ..

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Colonel Buggy | January 13, 2013 at 3:02 PM |
    “No doubt the Sanitation Service will be foremost in the upcoming General Strike, as others like to use them to add mass and bulk.”

The SSA is already on forced industrial action i.e. “GO Slow”. With approx. 18 of the 27 odd vehicles out of service the poor workers have no alternative but to “go slow”.

Only an incompetent and stupid Minister would allow this state of affairs to prevail in a country almost entirely dependent of tourism and international business for its survival.

The same way prospective employees are told first impression count when attending job interviews so too must this government be told that first impressions count to visitors to the Island. Garbage all over the place does indeed leave an indelible impression: “Bajans are nasty unhygienic people.
    It’s a pity that those ‘unlettered’ people who toiled in the cane fields never saw it fit to litter the streets or pollute the environment.

30. @ millertheanunnaki It’s a pity that those ‘unlettered’ people who toiled in the cane fields never saw it fit to litter the streets or pollute the environment.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    Only moments ago I was looking back at a photo taken in 1962,and in the background ,is a donkey cart . One of those that was employed by the then Highways and Transport to remove stuff from the sides of the road after it was weeded by the road teams. Today with all the technology, equipment and highly qualified people, we are not able to remove the weeded stuff from the sides of the road.
    But in actually the man who owned the donkey and cart was not employed by the Ministry . The donkey was the employee. Now you can understand why today’s Ministry of Transport and Works, and other associated ministries, are still in the mode of employing jackasses.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8378354345/

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | January 14, 2013 at 12:03 AM |
    “Today with all the technology, equipment and highly qualified people, we are not able to remove the weeded stuff from the sides of the road.”

Saw on Monday (Yesterday) one of the Lowe’s de-bushing and weeding gang piling up the bush and debris on the sidewalks along our local Fleet Street (Fontabelle) right in full view of both Print Media Houses.

We shall see how long this situation will remain without coming to the stark notice of the so-called Fourth Estate. 48 hours is the maximum time allowed for such unsightly scenes to inconvenience the pedestrians and avert the eyes of concerned drivers.

Mr. Minister, you can prove the old Colonel Buggy and the complaining Miller wrong by showing for once that your administration can do something efficiently.
    Ensure that the waste that is accumulated on the pavements and in the gutters is removed “tout de suite” so as not to trip up or force pedestrians to walk in the road thereby putting in danger the lives of the cruise ship passengers who like to explore this area and its surroundings. They have enough to put up with already around Bridgetown like the unsightly piles of garbage , rundown shanty areas and with the odours emanating from the Sewage Plant which locals have become inured.
    We are sure your friend “ac” who takes pleasure in wallowing in defence of such dirty situations will be proud of you.

The Minister wants to employ “Environmental Police’ officers in a drive to stop dirty Bajans from littering and despoiling their once clean country when common sense reigned and not paper qualifications.

But the problem with the Minister’s plan is that he would have to deal with the fact that the first people on the charge sheet would be his own burgeoning gang of workers only taken on to influence the electoral outcome and fortunes of the DLP.

32. We already have a force of Licensing Authority Traffic ‘Police’, which was instituted to bring some measure of discipline among the various Public Service Vehicles operators .After more than a decade and a half, the indiscipline among the PSV’s, including the Transport Board, has increased immensely.The inspectors are still there, seeking out easy targets like , checking the docs of other motorists.
    To set up an Environmental Police force may result in similar disregard and non-activity, but like the many who are now suddenly employed with in the Drainage Department, it will find jobs for some,and save a politician from dipping into his own pocket , to purchase a vote in the upcoming election.

33. […] Garbage and Pollution. […]