Thanks to traditional media for helping us to do a pulse check of the industrial climate in Barbados today (7 January 2013).

• The Barbados Workers Union (BWU) has threatened to shut down the country if LIME refuse to return to the negotiating table after sending home 97 workers last week.
  • Jeff Broomes has been reported to be on sick leave suffering from hypertension and did not report to his new posting today.
  • BSTU reports that the 18 teachers will report to headquarters until the ministry of education withdraw the transfer letters.

1. Man from de East Avatar
    Man from de East

We could get a poll on the AX issue?

2. This matter is bigger than you miller.it only takes a”turnip brain” to post such rubbish that you wrote.

3. Miller if you are so smart.i will give you the job iof being legal counsel to Broomes however to show how credible you are at representing the client i am giving you four options to present to broomes as reason for not doing as told by MOE 1. retire! 2. strike! 3 .incapacitated! 4. Quit. now as legal counsel to Broomes chose one thatwould best represent your client.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 8, 2013 at 2:00 PM |

What about the fifth option available only to the PAC?
    That is, advise the GG that Mr. Broomes is unfit to function in the public service and put him on force retirement. The PAC will be standing on sound constitutional grounds.

Why create so much confusion in the lives of other innocent people including the teachers and students of the PMS who now have to deal with (according to you, ac) a most horrible horrid uncouth unfit vicious lying person. That is the picture of a monster you have painted of Broomes on this blog. Now try denying that you have painted the man in that light, you amnesiac lying political yardfowl.

But then again you would not be against the transfer of the man to the PMS or even to the St George Secondary to be renamed the Harry Husband Porn College. There instead of pitching marbles with the boys he can gamble with some tonk and poker, smoke a few spliffs, swig some Mount Gay and coke before cussing out the teachers. And that is in your estimation of the demonized principal at his sobering best.

5. Miller after posting trash .now answer the question that is you as legal counsel to Broomes giving him advice in reference to showing up for work with the options as i layed them out

6. What is really bothering me is that politicians in Barbados have access to ballot results to see who individually DID or DID NOT vote for them. WHY IS THAT IMPORTANT TO THE POLITICIAN IF YOU HAVE GOOD INTENTIONS FOR THE VOTERS WHO ARE PAYING YOU, WHY IS THAT RELEVANT??? That’s the sleaziest thing I have heard in many years. Now we know why so many lives are ruined, when these low lives get power from the voters, the ones who were previously in power, all the people who had voted them in, automatically lose their jobs and new people are installed who voted for the present bunch of clowns. THIS IS REAL SICK, people been asking about this for years, now we know. THE POLITICIANS KNOW EXACTLY WHO VOTED FOR OR WHO DID NOT VOTE FOR THEM. Now we can sit back and see how long the bajan population allows these Neanderthals to get away with this travesty. That’s why each party have staunch supporters, cause if you are not a staunch supporter, you may not get to eat. SICKOS.

7. @ Well Well

You sure are busy.#jenkins

8. And will get busier. About to take a few days vacation, but not in Barbados. Concerned citizens have been asking questions for years, let’s hope Bajan taxpayers understand what is going on and that they call the shots or one day, you see those young people in bim?? they will deal with y’all asses.

9. What did I say. They know they cannot win with the PSC unless they go to court and therefore submitted sick leave certificates today.

10. Enuff, u can’t threaten me, you have no idea what you dealing with!! Trust me!! Am not angela cole. i know you know what i mean.

11. @Clone
    “They know they cannot win with the PSC unless they go to court”

I don’t think they have realised this yet. Can you give them a call and let them know?

Just Observing

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | January 8, 2013 at 2:52 PM |
    โ€œMiller after posting trash .now answer the question that is you as legal counsel to Broomes giving him advice in reference to showing up for work with the options as i layed them out.โ€

According to Renรฉ Artois in the sitcom โ€ฒAllo โ€ฒAllo!: โ€˜You stupid (and silly) womanโ€™!
    The miller has already advised Broomes since last week what action to take. Go on continuous sick leave using stress as his justification.

David (Bu) can attest to that, if you care to ask.

What more you want me to say, Option #3? Stop being the village idiot among the BU family.

13. LIME explains its absence from meeting

Tuesday, 08 January 2013 21:54

LIME has broken its silence on that threat by the Barbados Workers Union to shut down the country following its refusal to turn up at a meeting on Monday.

The Company is describing it as an irresponsible approach to a process which has been followed in full and has been on-going for the past six months.

General Secretary of the BWU, Senator Sir Roy Trotman says he will be seeking the go ahead from the executive council to institute a national strike if LIME fails to rescind recent dismissal letters and return to the bargaining table by Wednesday.

LIME adds that in the midst of a deep recession, a national strike is the last thing the country needs.

The statement, issued Tuesday by LIME, did not indicate if it plans to return to the bargaining table on Wednesday.

Further, LIME says it is disappointed with suggestions that the company’s management blatantly refused to attend a meeting with Minister of Labour, Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo and the BWU on Monday.

It says the meeting was at the request of the Minister and was set to discuss job evaluation and not recent redundancies as is being suggested.

The release further stated the Minister was informed by letter on Monday morning that LIME would not be represented at the meeting.

LIME pointed out the letter, which was copied to the BWU General Secretary, explained that the company was not in a position to deliver a report on job evaluation requested by the Minister and would therefore wish to establish a new date for the meetings to further discuss this matter.

LIME added that the company would not be flagrantly absent from a meeting without good reason.

14. AFAIK it is true that the ballot handed to each voter by the clerk has the voter’s ID number on it and therefore it is possible for anyone with significant access to the cast ballots to match ballots cast with ID numbers and so identify who any individual voted for. In addition, AFAIK, observant agents can identify who persons that they know voted for by observing the position of the X on the folded ballot when it is shown to them.

Every election season people protest this but the Governing parties of both stripes have never seen fit to change the situation. Instead they insist that the ballot boxes are sealed and stored in a secure location after the elections and can only be accessed through a court order.

The question is should we trust the Government (any Barbados Government) to treat this matter scrupulously? Is it possible that in this day and age of high tech computerization some subterfuge could be made to get access to the ballots to determine how a specific voter or how specific voters casted their ballots through a court order?

Grateful if Caswell and the Lawyers on BU could weigh in on this matter and, if possible, calm the fears of some of us that there is a distinct possibility that Big Brother could have hard evidence of who we voted for.

15. @Checkit-Out
    “Instead they insist that the ballot boxes are sealed and stored in a secure location after the elections and can only be accessed through a court order.”

This is true. You have no need to worry. They are indeed held in a secure location. No need to worry!

16. What happens tomorrow when LIME refuses to withdraw the letters?

Does the Duke of York think that he has that command of workers in 2013 that he could call a national strike and people would respond?

He can threaten all he wants, remember he threatened the Royal Shop and Sandy Lane and I wondered what happened?

Your Highness, this is not 1991/2 when you duped Barbadians and march them up and down Roebuck, Broad Street and Bay Street and then told us years later that you had no intention to bring down the government when all along the people were marching to bring down the government.

Why is the DLP the party of the worst governments we have had in this country???

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 8, 2013 at 6:29 PM |

The only secure location in Barbados is HM Prisons at Dodds. LOL!!!

Sorry but that is not entirely true. The other secure location is Freundel’s back pocket holding the date of the elections. It’s a pity it keeps sliding out ready to stillborn within its mandatory period.

18. miller @island gal whoever is advising Broomes is a bigger idiot than previously thought. Hope it is not a relative of ac.
    The man was advised by the miller to turn up for work, after a few hours or the next day complain about feeling unwell and then proceed on sick leave as a result of his โ€œexaggeratedโ€ elevated hypertension. Most adult Bajans can empathize with him. After all we wouldnโ€™t want the man to take in with a stroke brought on by Maryโ€™s nagging (Bushie might argue menopausal eruptions). Period!!
    Broomes man wha ya gone and do? Get rid of those legal swindlers.
    These lawyers have had too much of a feeding at the taxpayersโ€™ trough. Fumbleโ€™s legal friends are now the tax payersโ€™ parasites.

miller now i know you are a bigger jerk than i thought after reading that foolishness.

19. @ Check-it Out
    Bushie KNOWS that you have FAR more sense than to accept that nonsense response from prodigal Son.
    What locked in what secure location what?!
    IN BARBADOS?!?

Where? At the Defence Farce or guarded by the COP? LOL…perhaps the DPP keeps them…

Stupssss!!
    In ANY case, what the hell right does a court order have to review who exactly voted for who…? The COLLECTIVE VOTE is all that should count.

Check-it, think about it…
    …all they would need to do is have someone compile a database of the ballot slips while they are being counted or before they are “stored safely”.

The table would look like:
    NID. Vote
    999999-111 B
    999998-112. D

The political crooks then NEVER NEED to go back to the SAFELY STORED ballots, just refer to their table (which can be further refined to add names and employment etc in addition to NID)

It is SO easy to take advantage of Brass Bowls….

20. Bush Tea; You’ve got it right! Compiling a database of voters and their votes is a very simple task. One person with access to the ballots can do it with a good scanner and the necessary software.

Has such a database been done or is anyone contemplating doing it now or in the future? I don’t know. But even if it hasn’t been done or contemplated by the current or past keepers of the ballots, I think several of us on BU can visualize some situation in the future where persons with such access wouldn’t think twice about implementing such a database. Suppose eg. and only as a highly speculative fantasy, some political maguffy wanted to prove that Broomes switched allegiance to the BLP as a result of Owen’s politics of Inclusion. Armed with such a database he could show conclusively at which election Broomes had switched from the DLP and back again. Suppose (again only in fantasy) that Caswell is really a DLP hard seed and was only fooling the BLP over the years that he supported them. A simple search of the database could give someone some guidance in this regard.

But my main grouse about this matter is why is it even necessary to put peoples NID on the Ballots? There doesn’t seem to be any overarching good reason for this. If there are challenges to the votes which have to be resolved then imho a simple vote count will do.

The secret ballot should be kept secret especially in these high tech times.

Anyone knows who is the custodian of the ballots and how long they are kept in that secret location?

21. Bushtea; I forgot to add above that the initial flat database would be in the form that you have above but that that database could then be linked in a relational database to all kinds of data about the individual in existing tables like buying preferences, income tax returns, hobbies, financial status, land tax status, motor vehicle numbers, etc. etc.

Perhaps that is what Freundal was getting at re. his protest of the BLP’s voter list query (I haven’t seen it yet). Apparently the way it was first erroneously implemented allowed anyone to get any voter’s ID number. That has apparently been corrected.

In any case I think it is an important enough topic that the current Government should be asked to explain clearly why they consider it necessary to have individuals put their X-es on pre marked ballot sheets and lobbied to change it because of the dangers it can pose to the concept of the secrecy of the ballot.

22. Here is what a BU family member since us a few days ago, by the time we investigated some modification was made to the BLP website.

Happy new year David,
    Not sure if you are aware, but if you visit this section of the BLP’s website: http://blp.org.bb/find-out-if-youre-registered And if you enter in your first and last name (or anyone else’s for that matter) and if you/they are registered, the info returned will include the individual’s national id number.
    While I can appreciate and see the utility of this tool, is there not a privacy concern? Even if the data is classified as being a “public record” it could have been displayed another way. For example, ask the person to enter their national id number and let it run the check. Alternatively, put in a first and last name and return the info minus the national id number.

23. Fire ALL the teachers IMMEDIATELY, case closed.

NATIONAL STRIKE over Lime layoffs, JAIL the entire executive of the BWU, let them rot at Dodds for a few months.

Unions and in particular Barbados Unions are dinosaurs of the past, lets move into the 20th if not the 21st century.

24. @miller…..The other secure location is Freundelโ€™s back pocket holding the date of the elections. Itโ€™s a pity it keeps sliding out ready to stillborn within its mandatory period…………………

Freundel cannot surprise anyone now. The elections will call themselves. He has to go by February 12, no matter that Hal Gollop went out there trying to fly a kite.

Are they going to create a phony war to justify the 90 day extension period? Was the phony outrage on DLPTV on Sunday night about the BLP posting the voters’ list on line the start of a “war”? The PM play he was enraged! Fraud of a PM!

My postman said that the talk in the PO from the lackies on one of the Constituency Council is that the date is February 12th. Who cares at this time? The PM has outfoxed himself!

25. @Wily
    You have my 100% support.I have living experience that the BWU is possessed of dinosaurs long ago.That institution is still living in 1937.
    Dinosaurs indeed.
    I am told by a bstu member that Redman’s teaching skills are not up to scratch and the member suggests that’s the reason she is such a rabid union activist…to protect her monthly pay packet.That’s a form of dishonesty,not so?There is something else that needs to be understood.No union can supplant the authority of Government.As Grantley Adams once said’the only thing Parliament cannot do is make a man into a woman’.All who think unions can do as they like will soon find out the true situation and where the power resides in this country.I trust when the bell rings employees will know which god they are serving.

26. @David
    I don’t understand the fuss over the Electoral Register being on the web.I wanted the address of a former colleague in the UK and went on the web and was able to retrieve it from the counties’ electoral register.

27. Wily Coyote

Ya stupid White man … HA HA HA … MURDA

28. Gabriel Tackle

With the greatest of respect sir. If you had the opportunity or should you get the opportunity to interface with Mary Redman, you would have or you would quickly realize that she is an exceptional human being with the strongest desire to do the right thing. She to me, is the female comparison to David Commissiong, both of the same generation and very similar backgrounds. Unfortunately neither are Barbadian by lineage …. wah dah tell you …?

29. Prodigal Son

Maybe the man has outfoxed himself, bright he most certainly is NOT … but my God man, look at the alternative …!

30. BAFBFP;
    Although I haven’t met the lady. That is the impression I have also formed of her. A bit misguided perhaps but someone steady, faithful and ready to fight for her principles to the bitter end. BTW, I think FS was the person who misguided her the most and who is therefore partially responsible for the current debacle which the BSTU finds itself in.

I think Broomes was unfaired by the AX old scholars but I don’t blame her for the vigour, dedication and energy with which she did what she thought she had to do for her clients.

31. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Checkit-Out | January 8, 2013 at 6:22 PM |
    AFAIK it is true that the ballot handed to each voter by the clerk has the voterโ€™s ID number on it and therefore it is possible for anyone with significant access to the cast ballots to match ballots cast with ID numbers and so identify who any individual voted for.”

have u ever votedin Barbados? have u ever seen ur ID number on any ballot paper? do u think that others here who have voted are so utterly retarded to believe such when they too would have voted. I HAVE VOTED AND WORKED AT POLLING STATIONS AND HAVE NEVER SEEN ANY PERSON’S ID ON THE PIECE OF BALLOT PAPER.

the only thing anyone can identify from the ballot sheet with the ID numbers and names would be who voted and who did not, since the polling clerk draws a line thru the name as long as the person has turned up to cast his vote. the candidates do not know if u voted for them or not, they would know that u did or did not vote but not how u voted. u people need to get away from such silly notions. i cannot believe that u would have voted and could be so stupid as to suggest such a thing when u would have to look at the piece of paper given u….STUPES

32. @ Check-it Out
    Only a few Bajans will consider this to be a problem

Political,yardfowls won’t be interested… 60%
    Everyone and their dogs done know how the yardfowls will vote, and -if their party wins they KNOW that their picks are secure.
    -if their party loses they KNOW it will be 5 years of famine
    …..see why Prodigal don’t care…?

Of the 40% Non-yard fowls, The usual bajan sheep who probably could not even establish that sugar is sweet, won’t care ….30%
    …..so ac and Onions ain’t care ๐Ÿ™‚

Of the remaining 10%, we have the special groups who fund BOTH B and D….so heads they win and tails they win……6%
    …So COW, Bizzy and them boys ain’t care….

3.5% of the remaining 4% are civil servants, judges, etc who will get their salaries win, lose or draw…. They do not care
    ….if the DEMS don’t give them the Knighthood, the Bees will…

Most of the other 0.5% are the politicians and lawyers themselves – who manipulate the whole system (we got nuff of those…)

…that leaves You, Bushie and (perhaps) David to worry about this ridiculous scam. The records will show that Bushie has been condemning this nastiness from its inception….

What Stuart said about the BLP database may not make sense to most of us, but it makes a LOT OF SENSE to someone who is FULLY aware of how the system is manipulated to put citizens in a position to be BRIBED or VICTIMIZED for their voting preferences.
    Not even CASTRO did this…..

What a NASTY banana-republic-like scam…. ๐Ÿ™

33. Smooth chocolate
    -The ballots contain a reference number.
    -The other half that is torn off has the SAME reference number plus your NID number

In today’s world, 1+1 =11

34. @ Baffy
    It tells me ‘send them back from whence they came so they can make their trouble among their patriots’.Not here in buhbaydus.Both Redman and Commissiong can get the hell outa here as far as I am concerned.Further,all who agree with them can get on the same transport and get outa buhbaydus.Humbugs!!And btw carry along Garcia..

35. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@islandgal246 | January 8, 2013 at 6:45 AM |
    The PM was accusing the BLP for publishing the names of the Barbados electorate on their website. He sounded very concerned that people now have information on voters on the island including their national registration number. Can anyone expand on this?”

what the prime minister said was only part truth. since 2007 there was a site, NOT CREATED BY THE BLP but by the ELECTORAL department on the government portal, which made it easier for persons, rather than going to the electoral department, to access this site to see if they were on the voters list etc. why would the PM choose to bring it up now when it was there all the time? if anyone googles it they will see that it was there since 2007. the danger will be that if someone knows ur ID number, they can steal ur ID. however another danger about the voters list which is displayed publicly at various locations from time to time, is that ALL ur info is there, maiden name, etc etc. therefore if anyone wants to steal ur ID, the electoral department basically has made it much easier for them. that is what the PM should have been concerned about when he came on television and spoke such lies. the BLP has just copied the link, they are not the ones who put it up, check the ELECTORAL DEPT FOR THAT. a relative of mine had discussed that very issued with me a while back when they were shocked to see ALL their personal info in the open. i had promised to write the electoral dept on the issue but neglected to to so. the PM was just trying election deceit tactics

36. The clown should have called elections soon after the events in 2010
    The Clown should have run in St. John at said elections
    A whole Term-5 years- and no deputy announced –
    The longest term for a Government in the history of Barbados-(We must be at war then ! )
    First time elections will be called during Lent.
    First time a Government (in Barbados ) will lose elections – the following way:

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

yuh think this is a joke ?

JUST ASKING

37. tHE PIECE OF PAPER THEY GIVE YOU TO VOTE WITH HAS A NUMBER
    WHEN THEY CHECK OFF YOUR NAME THAT NUMBER CAN BE RETAIN AND MATCHED AGAINST YOUR NAME.

Anyone with access can do the matching and presto, they know who you vote for. It dont bother me though cause I aint care and by now you should know who JUST ASKING voting for in the next election

38. Smooth Chocolate; See “Bush tea” and “Just asking” explanations above. They’re right. You’re not. Yuh certain you was an election clerk?

The NID is on the stub of the ballot and the ballot and stub also have identical matching Ballot numbers. Therefore it is possible for anyone so disposed and who has the authority and time to do so, to do so.

39. Gabbie

The Rt Excel. Bussa came from some where else too …! Uhum

40. Sorry Gabbie I should have mentioned Clemont as well,.. TWO NATIONAL HEROES in ten (ac that is 20% a’ight …) That should say something about Barbadians indigenous ability to do the right thing ….

Wah you say …?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

Dont you ever tire of telling lies?

“My postman said that the talk in the PO from the lackies on one of the Constituency Council is that the date is February 12th.”

You read that foolish talk here on BU from the Blog owner. You, Miller, and the blog owner have been predicting the elections date for a while now, and you all have always been wrong.

Your postman didnt tell you one thing, LIAR.

Go and spend some of that Barclays money.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | January 9, 2013 at 8:52 AM |

The miller was giving your boss man free sound advice. Like the arrogant people involve din the Ax affair, he stupidly dismissed it.
    But it turned out to be a blessing in disguise for the people of Barbados.
    The higher the monkey climbed the more he exposed his tail. We now get to see the nature of the beast that has to be wrestled to the electoral ground.
    By procrastinating and vacillating with the need to get his own mandate he has saved the people of Barbados an additional 5 years of utter confusion, dismay and economic turmoil.

Maybe you Carson should do yourself a favour and become a university graduate if you are to be considered to be of any value in the eyes of your haughty boss man.
    Working as an office boy in a white man owned and managed tourist plant does not make you any better than your mother who headed cane with the dung basket.

43. Baffy,80% is an A grade;20% is a F-and counting grade.QED

44. @ Bush Tea,
    “Political,yardfowls wonโ€™t be interestedโ€ฆ 60%
    Everyone and their dogs done know how the yardfowls will vote, and -if their party wins they KNOW that their picks are secure.
    -if their party loses they KNOW it will be 5 years of famine
    โ€ฆ..see why Prodigal donโ€™t careโ€ฆ?”……………………..

Excuse you, Bush Tea, you got the wrong person. I am not nor will ever be a yardfowl who depend on the BLP to be in office to get anything.

I support the BLP because I think they have always been and will be in 2013 the better party to run the affairs of this country.

All want of and from the BLP if they win the election is to govern this country in such a way that…………..
    1. The economy is well managed so that its people can have good jobs to be able to provide for their families

2. The roads are well paved and well lit

3. That the people can have access to good education and health care

4. That its people are well protected by a good police force

So Bush Tea, not me, I am my own person dependant on no government!!

Comprende??

45. @CCC,
    You read that foolish talk here on BU from the Blog owner. You, Miller, and the blog owner have been predicting the elections date for a while now, and you all have always been wrong.

Your postman didnt tell you one thing, LIAR……………

It is so great that you are always with me that you could know who speak with me.

Dont you realise how ignorant you sound. Continue to enjoy feating on the fatted calf, it soon will be done.

46. I DON’T CARE WHAT THAT LITTLE YARDFOWL, WHO CLAIM HE/SHE WORKS AT POLLING STATIONS SAY, THE POLITICIANS KNOW EXACTLY WHO VOTE FOR THEM. YARDFOWLS AT POLLING STATIONS ARE THE LEAST TO BE TRUSTED. One always has to wonder how people get jobs in Bim, given that the merit system is consistently NOT practiced. ENUFF-when I return, I will deal with you for stalking me on the internet.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Is TODAY, still the deadline for LIME to rescind those 97 ‘termination’ letters before the Grand Old Duke of York begins to march his troops up government Hill?

Poor Trottie, a shadow of his once iron duke self now turned to eggshells!
    Trottie you know you have received a call from Stuartie telling you to back off this country shut down nonsense as it is to close to the bell ringing and in the middle of the Cinderella Tourism season.

But Trottie, who you are going to shut down? The businesses owned by the Trinidadians, the Canadian banks or the Port? What about the hotel and tourism sector and the IB sector?
    Oh Yes, the BL&P, now primarily owned and controlled by the Canadians. Shut the electricity off, Comrade Trotman!

48. Listening to the talk show today and many are surprised that none of the 97 employees retrenched took up the offer to run the LIME stores. True?

If the BWU pulls out its workers it would be the saddest thing. LIME the moster was fed by BWU in the boom years.

49. miller,
    Poor Duke, it has not yet dawned on him that he is no longer Grand Old Duke. I asked the same questions earlier who will the Duke bring out on strike. We wait and see!