Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

First they came for the Communists, but I was not a Communist so I did not speak out. Then they came for the Socialists and the Trade Unionists, but I was neither, so I did not speak out. Then they came for the Jews, but I was not a Jew so I did not speak out. And when they came for me, there was no one left to speak out for me – Pastor Martin Niemoeller

They have come for Jeff Broomes, and as a trade unionist, I must speak out before they come for me. From the outset, let me state that I am not defending Broomes because I think that he is guiltless. In Barbados, everyone, even Jeff Broomes, is innocent until he pleads guilty or guilt is established after a duly constituted body makes that determination after hearing the evidence, and giving the accused the right to be heard. I am therefore concerned that the Public Service Commission (PSC) has taken steps against him, under the guise of a transfer, before it follows the rules in order to establish his guilt or innocence.

The Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) has achieved its goal of separating the Principal from Alexandra School; but they have nothing to rejoice about when you consider the way it was done. I hope that the membership of the union is sensible enough to condemn the method that was adopted by the PSC. BSTU should vociferously disassociate itself from the denial of due process to Mr. Broomes. Even murderers who kill in front of witnesses are given the right to be heard before sentence is pronounced. In essence, he has fewer rights than a murderer.

The PSC is supposed to be an independent body charged with the responsibility of making appointments and exercising disciplinary control over members of the Public Service. Its power and procedures are set out in the Constitution, the Public Service Act and regulations. It does not have the right to act on the recommendations of any body that is not authorized by those pieces of legislation. It certainly cannot hold a straight face and expect to convince the country that it acted independently of the recommendations of the Waterman Commission into the affairs of the Alexandra School. Mr. Waterman clearly stated that these matters should be investigated by the PSC. I do not pretend to be all knowing, but I am not aware of any investigation by the PSC that would have authorized it to act against Broomes and inflict collateral damage on other innocent public officers.

The PSC could not be so naïve as to believe that by transferring Broomes and a number of others that it has resolved anything. Its actions have only served to give the Government the opportunity to call the elections in a period of industrial peace because the teachers would not be on strike. However, if the BSTU is worth its salt, it would move with all deliberate speed to be seen to protect the rights of its shop steward, Mrs. Gail Streat-Jules. She was acting on behalf of the union and has been adversely affected in her employment as a consequence. At the very least, BSTU should report the PSC to the Police for breaching section 40A of the Trade Union Act. If the Police fails to act, the union should institute a private prosecution against the PSC. The immunities granted to service commissions by section 106 of the Constitution does not appear to extend to conduct that might appear to be criminal. And section 40A makes it an offence, punishable by a fine or imprisonment or both, for an employer to dismiss or adversely affect an employee for taking part in trade union activity.

That might only be the beginning of the legal troubles for the PSC. Remember it has acted against Jeff Broomes without giving him an opportunity to be heard. It would be completely out of character for him to meekly accept punishment by whatever name called for peace sake. He is now the victim, but this matter is bigger than him. Every right thinking person in this country should find the behaviour of the PSC to be offensive: it should not be seen to be trying to circumvent the rules. Luckily, Broomes has options, and he finds himself uniquely placed not only to defend his rights, but to establish standards and procedures which will serve as precedence to guide future service commissions.

I now find myself in the uncomfortable position of advising Jeff Broomes: I consider him to be the villain in the Alexandra matter, but even villains have rights that must be protected. My advice to him would be to institute proceedings in the High Court for a judicial review of the actions of the PSC. He has more than enough grounds for seeking relief, but I will only quote a few from the Administrative Justice Act, namely: breach of the principles of natural justice; acting on instructions from an unauthorized person; and failure to satisfy or observe conditions or procedures required by law.

The BSTU should not be happy to have achieved its goal of separating the Principal from the school at this cost. I cannot be so shortsighted to believe that removing Jeff Broomes by any means necessary is okay. What will be their position when something similar happens to one of their members that they consider to be innocent?

Finally, my advice to the Public Service Commission is simple, resign before you do further damage to the institution called the Public Service.

1. The following was lifted from Jeff Cumberbatch’s Sunday column:

And, according to unconfirmed news reports this weekend, as early as the second week in January we shall also witness what we hope will be the denouément of the Alexandra school saga when, on the first day of the Hilary term, the former principal of that institution and a score of the teachers will be involuntarily transferred and reassigned to other schools. This is a consequence of some of the recommendations Waterman Commission of Inquiry which, notably, have not been followed to the letter. I earlier said “hope” advisedly, simply because involuntary transfers, in my view, are not clearly beyond legal challenge, even though it must be conceded the burden of impugning the official decision is an onerous one for the claimant. Should learned counsel advise a legal challenge, this, too, should provide fascinating public theatre next year.

As they sometimes used to say, “Film at eleven”.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=28451

2. I foresee Jeff Broomes and the Union for School Principles immediately have a court injunction (on good grounds) to freeze any action by the PSC. The soap opera continues.
    The window of opportunity has passed a year ago when Ronald Jones cowered and failed to act. Anything from here on is always going to be very messy

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Reblogged this on Caswell Franklyn’s Weblog.

4. @caswell
    The question to be asked here are
    A) are transfers in the secondary system the purvue of the PSC and/or Ministry
    B) do reasons need to be given for the instituion of such transfers
    C) are transfers “punitive” or “procedural”

I’ll await feedback before moving on.

Observing

5. As i have said a year ago, Mr. Broomes cannot be transferred without his consent as he appointed to the school and I bet u that that will be one of the lines of the argument of his attorney. Just like i had said, contrary to Caswell, the outcome could not have been forced retirement..

Mary Redman, u wanted separation at all cost. What have you got?

What the psc would have to answer to the courts is if had carried out its own investiagation according to the 2007 Pulblic Services Act or whether it was influenced by the Waterman Commission. I am quite aware that some of the teachers were appointed to the service and could be transferred, but were these transfers punative to satisfy the commision?

This wil be fodder for those schooled in administrative law and will be an education for some.

6. This level of confusion was inevitable. It is a trade mark associated with brass bowls.
    This government has now successfully taken an issue which was essentially the normal post menstrural idiocy associated with women who realize that they are getting old and remain unfulfilled, and amplified it into a major catastrophe upon the already stressed and inefficient education system of Barbados.
    What a bunch of asses.

Anyone with ANY KIND of common sense can see that the transfers now needed in this issue are:
    – Ronald Jones to head a primary girls school somewhere in the country
    – Mary Redman to be his senior teacher
    – The WHOLE Ministry of Education to NCC
    – The Whole PSC thanked for their service and dismissed by the GG
    – The PM to pay back the $600,000 by deduction of $5000 per month from his salary.

How ANYONE can see this RIDICULOUS decision to move around teachers in JANUARY as anything but a disaster now being INFLICTED on the WHOLE SCHOOL SYSTEM is totally beyond Bushie.
    Surely this is the most asinine thing that could POSSIBLY have been done at this time. How many OTHER SCHOOLS / STUDENTS/ WORK SYSTEMS/ TEACHING RELATIONSHIPS are now being disrupted…?

It gets worse and worse….

If Fruendel and Jones were men of honour, they would SERIOUSLY consider jumping from the top floor of the city center car park.

7. caswell seems to me you have gone off the deep end end in this subsimssion. no need for all the gobbly gook longwinded legalistic talk. if broomes feels he has been wronged he has everyright to pursue justice legally . However to say that Broomes was not given the right to speak on his behalf is misleading . the govt did set up a COI for Broomes to do so. now the question of wether he spoke directly to the PSC is a red herring interjected for conjucture or your part. no court of law would hear the case on such claim..

8. one thing i have learned that bajans are confrontational, they hate finality, they would continue to shred and tear the bones off a skelton even when there is nothing left, now the dreaded Bushman has suggested the PM commits suicide. What more can we look forward to in 2013, then there are those who call ac “insensitive” and “provocative”lord hav merci

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well, we are getting some proper action at Alexandra School, The inquiry was worth every penny.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can point out so many Barbados Labour Party commissions that were just a waste of time.

Just to name two, winston Hall inquiry, St. Joseph Hospital costing way more and just sitting on shelves somewhere collecting dust.

11. AC

If I were you, I would try to read and understand first before committing anything to writing. Please check for yourself, in his report, Mr. Waterman clearly pointed out that these matters are for the investigation of the Public Service Commission. Such buffoonish comments have now become your hallmark.

12. “Such buffoonish comments have now become your hallmark” maybe i am in good company as such comments you have said about the the PM. your article is intentional to aggravate the matter.

13. @Bush Tea at 7:21 a.m. “If Fruendel and Jones were men of honour, they would SERIOUSLY consider jumping from the top floor of the city center car park.”

Wha’ kinda joker you is? U expect dem men to ded and leave those nice pensions???

Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

14. @Bush Tea ” the normal post menstrural idiocy associated with women who realize that they are getting old”

So Mrs. Bush Tea and your mother are normal elderly post menstrual idiots too?

15. @Caswell

Some issues we need to clarify for some. The PSC is the only authority vested to act in this matter. The wider mandate of COI to recommend changes to the Education Act should NOT be confused with the recommendations it made to discipline teachers principal.

The question – and we have addressed this already – what stopped the government from acting on the King Report ie.transferring personnel as they have done now?

16. @ Simple Simon
    “So Mrs. Bush Tea and your mother are normal elderly post menstrual idiots too?”
    …..nowhere near yours or ac’s level of idiocy of course, but definitely.

Fortunately they had/have a bushman to lean on as needed and required.
    In the same way, that men experience their mid life crisis – but fortunately, Bushie had someone to lean on….

…maybe why Bushie don’t have any Ex’s….. 🙂

17. Also do we know if the PSC is involved in overseeing this matter as Observing has been asking or were these moves treated as routine under the authority of the MoE?

Is it normal to expect the Chair of the PSC to speak:issue any clarification statements? Christ $600K of tax dollars were spent!

18. @Caswell Franklyn “Jeff Broomes: I consider him to be the villain in the Alexandra matter, but even villains have rights that must be protected. … What will be [BSTU’s] position when something similar happens to one of their members that they consider to be innocent?”

Maybe at that time the member will be an innocent villians.

WE THE TAXPAYERS ARE SICK AND TIRED OF SUPPORTING THE RIGHTS OF VILLIANS.

They can EITHER stop their villiany or they can be dismissed.

DO THE TAXPAYERS OF THIS COUNTRY HAVE ANY RIGHTS AT ALL?

WE ARE SICK AND TIRED OF BEING SCREWED BY CIVIL SERVANTS, POLITICIANS, AND TRADE UNIONISTS. ALL OF WHOM LIVE HIGH ON THE HOG OFFA OUR MONEY, And many of whom could not even hold down an assembly line job outside of Barbados.

19. @ David
    what stopped the government from acting on the King Report ie.transferring personnel as they have done now?
    Perhaps the FACT that for every teacher that you PUNISH with a transfer to another school, you are PUNISHING another INNOCENT teacher who also has to be transferred to facilitate that action…?

If movement from Ax to HC is “punishment”, what would you call what is being done to the teacher being moved from HC to AX?….a teacher who has probably been working above and beyond the call of duty and who would have developed a long term relationship in their post and broken NO rules?

Bushie calls it Brass Bowl foolishness.

20. Dear Bush Tea:

What’s a midlife crisis?

21. Common sense dictates…
    NEVER PUNISH THE INNOCENT JUST LIKE THE GUILTY. YOU MAY END UP WITH EVERYONE CHOOSING TO BECOME JUST LIKE THE GUILTY.

22. Dear Simple Simon
    A mid life crisis is like when all your Ex men left you for younger women who do not make their …. miserable.

23. Oh. I ain’t get they yet.

Left loser exmen way, way back in my youth.

Not regretful.

Not miserable.

Are they happy?

Don’t know.

Don’t care.

It is none of my business.

Amen.

24. Don’t dig nothing Simple. It is THEIR crisis not yours….
    Yours is the menopausal thingie….coming to a man near you soon then…. 🙂

25. How can Jones continue to be the minister after the King Report was not acted on under his watch? If we are staying true to a system of meritocracy what message does it send? Bear in mind Jones heads the HOUR portfolio!

26. Bushman the idocy of all idocies is in your stupid comment suggesting the PM jump off a building” and for what?.

27. St George's Dragon Avatar

If you are talking about the public service I think you mean “mediocrity” not “meritocracy”.

28. @St.George’s Dragon

The national conversation needs to zone on this issue. It obviously has implication for how productive and competitive we become as a nation. We need to learn and grow from the experiences of now. Our children are watching.

29. @CCC
    while i agree that a lot of money was wasted on the st joseeph hospital inquiry, over one and a half million dollars, what i am concerned about is whether the public service act and the contents therein were used in arriving at the decision as regards mr. broomes.

30. Constructive dismissal?

31. Bushman;

As I often do. I agree almost totally with you in your posts above. The single exception being that I would not want FS and RJ to jump off the Car Park top floor, that would be too messy and likely to create some undeserved sympathy. I would like them to be around when their actions bear the fruit that they deserve and a thinking electorate thoroughly rejects them as individual candidates. But that is probably asking too much.

32. @Caswell

On another note we see that Julian Hunte is gone from the BWU?

33. @David ” If we are staying true to a system of meritocracy”

But David Barbados is not a meritocracy. Barbados is a democracy.

Big, big difference.

34. Ronald Jones should not be allowed around any school age children, particulary little boys. Though i will not reveal my experience with this joke which took place at an extremely higher leve, this is no joke. This guy has the personality of a very disturbed creep.

35. @The Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) has achieved its goal of separating the Principal from Alexandra School;”

i am surprised at the writer’s defense of mr. broomes and not his defense of those menopausal women who have been transferred, since all thru the inquiry he was in total defense of the them and totally against broomes,

those menopausal teachers who pushed for Mr. Broomes’ removal also expected that theyhave remained while he went but they too have been transferred thank God. look at the real picture.,,i.e. that Broomes as well as the instigators have ALL been transferred. many people seem to be expecting mr broomes to kick up a fuss, his character has never been to be so immature from what i have heard of him .The instigators are the ones who will try to protest their departure, which is more of a shock to them, especially that disgraceful teacher amanda greaves, since many taught there and no where else. they are the ones whose psyche has been bruised not broomes. this article should not be about the Mr. Broomes departure so much as about those who expected to remain but where transferred, they got a kick in the face ans ass because while they were saying ‘separation from the school’ for mr, broomes, little did they realized that they were saying it for themselves too….i am very happy that the PSC has broken up this disgusting group of people, who seemed to have forgotten that they were there to teach not formed cliques. it should have happened long ago. good riddance to bad rubbish.. Good job PSV

36. @TTP
    a judge would have to decide whether the “letter of appointment” supercedes other terms, conditions and legislation. They would also have to decide whether a person can be appointed to a post AND a location in the public service.

@bushie
    “This level of confusion was inevitable”

Yip. they could have hired us as online consultants and done.

“or every teacher that you PUNISH with a transfer to another school”

But is a transfer actually a “punishment?”

“what stopped the government from acting on the King Report”

balls. lol

“as Observing has been asking”

man thanks man. nobody like them don’t want to answer my basic questions.

“How can Jones continue to be the minister after the King Report was not acted on”

An election is coming. 🙂

@caswell
    “BSTU should vociferously disassociate itself from the denial of due process to Mr. Broomes.”

Let me start with only one question this time boh. Is “due process” needed for transfers in the public service as long as you retain the same title?

@smooth chocolate
    Stick a pin! I too waiting to hear Caswell’s explanation since he was calling for Broomes to be “retired” using the Pension Act from the time this thing start. No mention of “due process” then. lol.

Just Observing

37. @ ac
    Is there ANYTHING that you can get right?
    Bushie’s did not suggest that the PM jump off any building. What Bushie said was
    ” IF THEY If were men of honour, they would SERIOUSLY consider jumping from the top floor of the city center car park”
    Now ac the first qualification was that they be men of honour…..OBVIOUSLY YOUR MAN IS SAFE….

Secondly, the bushman said they should CONSIDER jumping…. It takes bravery to do something like that…. Safe again….

Thirdly, even if Jones had honour and bravery and jumped into the street, you must remember that Frundy is a lawyer…… Even if he reached the stage of jumping you can bet he would just jump from the third floor to the second step on the stairs down….and probably land on come poor Bajan’s corn too boot….

….don’t worry ac, your man safe…..

Um is the man that gone, or planning to go, to Arizona that you need to worry ’bout…. 🙂

38. Wht yoi bush tea should consider that not only grown up reads the blog but children of impressionable age and what might seem “cute” to some could influence the thinking of others ,and in my opion your comment was tasteless .

39. Bushman and Observing;

imho, all else pales into insignificance as compared with the stupidity of removing 22 experienced and obviously reasonably effective teachers from the AX school in one fell swoop at a critical time in the school calendar and replacing them with probably disruntled ones who did not ask to be transferred there. That must be close to two fifths of the AX teaching staff. The likely effects on several children, parents and others there has to be traumatic and should have been forseen by the persons who effected the decision and the implementation of the stupidity.

I think we need to ask if it is reasonable that the technical professionals in the MOE would do such a thing unless directed to do it by their political boss or someone higher than him.

We need to also ask if the MOE minister, a well qualified and experienced teacher in his own right would come up with such a plan and if he did or sanctioned it, we would have to suspect his motives.

To me, the clues point squarely at someone else with the necessary power being the person conceiving the ill thought out plan and pushing it through. Anyone heard that Cabinet was involved this time around or were the fine modalities of the stupidity left up to creatures of a minister? I however suspect that Cabinet has more thoughtful and sensible persons there who would not have sanctioned the stupidity, especially at this time vis a vis elections.

I suspect we will hear a lot more of this in the weeks to come.

40. The fact that Broomes was given an open forun to denied any charges/leveled against him has become questionable and reason for resolution is now been seen as politically. how can one forget that Broomes at times never bothered to attend hearings opting out to spend time with family. makes one wonder if in a closed forum under PSC if he would have attended.

41. So wait ac, don’t you find it offensive that impressionable children reading your posts get to realize that big women could be so foolish….

If you can’t understand what you read say so …and get some help…. Don’t go talking bout no children. Any child over 8 can understand simple bush blogging… 🙂

42. All the long talk Bout the money spent and Broomes”rights”. maybe such wouldn,t have come about because during Broomes tenure at AX Broomes believed he had all the RIGHT and he was the Law. now as we come to a close of a burning and long drawn out saga the instigators are trying to reinvent the wheel

43. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

Wunna lucky my Prime Minister is a compassionate man. Both Broomsie and de teachers, well except one, still got a job come 2013. Dem best try and don’t play de ass nuh more cause next time dem backside gine be out in de pasture stake out like sheeps wrap up in dey own rope. Wunna can’t say Freundel aint give dem one last chance. Awright, leh dem keep on wid dem foolishness. My PM is gentleman but he aint no sweetbread. Who want tuh drink rum and cry, drink rum and cry. Who want tuh run court, run court. I dun talk.

44. @Checkit-out

We should know more soon. All eyes are on Broomes and his legal team now. Does it get messy from here? Bets are on!

45. @ Carson. The commission of inquiry was a total waste of money and time. What was done with these transfers didn’t need $600,00.00 to be spent to be done. It just needed someone to take a firm decision and do it. I was wondering if we would have seen a inquiry in the disappearance of over $100,000.00 in food stuff from the accra store room but I guess Jon Jon got rid of some peoplewithout an inquiry

46. @Smooth chocolate “menopausal women”

What’s this foolishness talking about the menopause in a negative way. Half of the people in the world eventually become menopausal. And the other half “suffer from mid-life crises”

Ask Bushie if you doubt me.

So since the playing field is even, can we please present REASONABLE arguments on this blog?

47. Dear Smooth Chocolate:

Don’t think that because somebody’s husband is currently fooling you that he wants you and not his menopausal wife, don’t think that that will prevent you from becoming menopausal too.

And that when you are 50 there will be hundreds of millions of sexy, beautiful, young women in the world, and a good few of them in this Barbados.

If you doubt me ask Silvio Berlusconi’s elderly and middle aged ex-wives.

48. There will ALWAYS be younger, more beautiful and sexier women (and men) in the world.

More intelligent too.

49. @check-it-out
    “imho, all else pales into insignificance”

depends on who you ask. 11 years of confusion, $600,000, political fallout, ministerial embarassment and a looming election predicated on “promises” of a resolution may have made it immensely significant for “some.” The decision may be right, but not “right.”

I agree that there will be major dislocation, a fair amount of disruption and a degree of operational discomfort. the (new) principals at the respective schools will have to rise to a whole new level of leadership to head of the inevitable. Honestly it is tantamount to madness and should have come with other actions to help make the transfer smoother.

Regarding the “who” of the decision. The letters may simply say “the GG under the advice of …. is pleased to appoint you to…..”

the real decision maker(s) will never be revealed! What’s left to be seen now is if any external resource persons will be assigned to AX to assist with the transition.

Just Observing

50. The Alexandra School problems have been handled correctly.
    Teachers are trained to teach and so there should no problems getting student’s SBAs ready for April.
    I observed the names and the positions of the persons transferred and there are all moving into areas of their specialties.

Mrs. Greaves cannot go to HC and chill out because the parents there are like sharks on their children’s progress.
    To me it is like a punishment because she is under immense pressure to show her true worth with students who all want to be island scholars.

The Prime Minister proved he is a Master at timing. A lot of the mystique of the going ons at Alexandra was exposed by the enquiry. Uncle Jeff was exposed something that was not done since 2004.
    The public is now satisfied that it was a fair solution.
    Alternative would to be Like Owen Arthur fire four managers pay out millions of dollars in settlement or David Thompson fire NHC manager pay out over $900000
    Freundel you are a boss. I got to vote for you again