Posted on Facebook by Douglas Trotman
Al Barrack’s lawyer sounds the alarm

This is a secret….. I work for Barrack Construction Ltd. we are through with promises… Action coming … Shhhhhh we can’t afford to get caught by elections!! See the nation newspaper today? Promise, promise, promise. August, September, October, November ….all over just like the hurricane season!

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Check with the Barbados Labour Party, they created the mess!

2. YOU ARE SUCH AN ASS

IT IS SAD DAY WHEN WE REDUCE EVERYTHING TO BLP /DLP

IF IT CONTINUES IT IS GOING TO GET TO MORE THAN STOPPING A CBC FETE BECAUSE RED WAS THE PREFERRED COLOUR
    WITH SELF CETRED PEOPLE LIKE Carson C-a -dog -an who has a political begging hand long out for largesse, they dont care what happen–they dont care if the Cabin break down , as long as they get somewhere to lie down–so as long as Carson can get money and largesse , he dont are about a boy

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Barrack is not important right now.

Barrack does not appear to be a very sensible person. this Government reached out to Barrack before with a good proposal which he turned down flat. Had he taken it he would, by now, have been paid. But the moron that he is he allowed his advisers to mislead him, . hence his continuing predicament.

He is not a very bright fellow.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This Government never refused to pay Barrack.

5. The greatest irony, we would condemn Duguid’s behaviour in parliament as well we should BUT condone government’s flouting of a court order? Where is the logic?

6. i was just coming to post that David. it is really a shame to see the comments from CCC. comments from a person who appear to have the govt ear.

what sad event in this country’s 46th year of independence.

7. A child is a product of its environment/society …….if you plant yams you will reap yams not eddoes.
    I would put my neck to the block and bet that some who comment on here are parents and from reading the things that they write one should not be surprise of the type of society and children that has been cultivated and now reaping.
    If you plant potatoes you will reap potatoes, you not be looking for cassava!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Why is it a shame?

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The Knight of St Andrew has been bestowed on Chief Justice Marston Creighton Dacosta Gibson for his outstanding contribution to the legal profession in Barbados and at the international level, and to Professor Dr Frank Walton Alleyne, economist, for his outstanding contribution to education, especially at the tertiary level, and for his public service to the people of Barbados.”

Congrats!

10. The degenerative society ills did not started yesterday.When society becomes satiated in its fatness, responsibilities , all good teachings and morals are push aside for “what’s in it for me” or “what about me”……..a selfish self centered mentality, that is where Barbados is at today on the 46 year of independence. Stroking them along at a even faster rate to this dark abyss are the political hacks that vying for “representation of the people” whose conceited intentions are only self

11. @coffee

Is it not ironic the system is forced to confer a Knighthood on CJ Gibson who represents the head of the Justice system but on the other side of the equation the very government is unable to comply with a court order? Many believe the reason is political the harsh economic times notwithstanding.

No wonder the CJ offered ‘no comment’ when asked about his Knighthood.

12. Happy 46th Indepedendence fellow bloggers.

It pains me to see that in our 46 year of Independence a BLP gov’t who brought Al Barrack to his knees would now seek to hold office again.

1. Mr Barrack was given a contact by the NHC to build an office…..not low cost housing for Barbadians as its mandate stipulated !

2. Mr. Barrack was given the largest mobilisation fee in Barbados $ 10 million in 1998 (taxpayers money)…..$ 7 million of which went in the BLP coffers to fight the 1999 General Election (the money trail is there to prove it) !

3. George Payne was the Minister , Dale Marshall was the NHC Chairman , Gregory Nicholls was one of Mr. Barrack laywers…does anyone on this BU site recognised these names in 2012 ? Are any of these persons contesting a seat in the upcoming General Elections ? Have anyone ever heard any of the 3 persons raise their voices any where , any time and said pay Mr. Barrack ? WHY ?

4. The BLP government used Mr. Barrack to get the $ 7 million ….then terminated the Warrens Building contract !

5. The parties agreed to go to arbitration and the arbiter in Oct 2006 ruled that Mr. Barrack was wronged and should be paid $ 36 million for the breach plus daily interest at 10 % at the time…the BLP appealed and David Simmons had Justice Cornelius hear the case in late 2007 (on the eve of the 2008 general election). Justice Cornelius ruled that the arbiter was correct. No doubt by that time the bill had mounted up. So Owen call elections….and lost.

5. One the first things PM Thompson did was sought to meet with Mr. Barrack and his lawyers (Johhny Cheltenham as lead attorney…what is his political DNA ?)

6. Mr. Barrack refused to accept a term payment….he said like the popular advert “it is my money and I want it NOW”. Unfortunately ,the country deep in the throes of the worst global recession could not find the money to pay at once.

7. Given the add – on interest set by the arbiter and agreed to by the Court the sum owing to Mr. Barrack is in the region of $ 77 – $ 80 million (excluding legal fees)…on this Independence Day 2012 .

A VALID QUESTION….why since the arbiters ruling , no body in Barbados ever heard Owen Arthur , George Payne , Dale Marshall and Gregory Nicholls called for Mr. Barrack to be paid ?

Even Owen Arthur’s recent 15 point plan did NOT include Mr. Barrack.

Wasn’t Owen Arthur’s 15 point plan designed….to put MONEY into people’s pockets !

I guess Mr. Barrack is pantless by now !

ANSWER : in this sticky situation while you wait on the rewards from your SPOILS….you do not DEMAND justice…..you WAIT on it !

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“2. Mr. Barrack was given the largest mobilisation fee in Barbados $ 10 million in 1998 (taxpayers money)…..$ 7 million of which went in the BLP coffers to fight the 1999 General Election (the money trail is there to prove it) !”

I didnt want to mention this.

We are on the threshold of another election and BLP is looking for funds. Hence this push now for dinero.

14. Ironic indeed…….a system blinded in self gratification of the elitist and the continual suffering of the working class and all that is calling for equal justice…….
    Is this really an independent nation?……tear off all the masks and hypocrisies, look around at the common man and asked the question…..are we really an independent nation? Has the free education and all the other social really really help to make Barbadians independent thinkers and progressive? OR are Barbadian still shackle to dependent thinking with the mindset that they must continue prostitute themselves to those they see as lord and master?

15. last comment @ David

16. @ David .
    How could you see the condemnation of Duguid’s coarse conduct as comparable to the Government’s inability to meet agreement with Barrack ? Very strange logic indeed !!!!

17. @Just Wondering

You missed the point!

It is the ease with which government supporters have dismissed a court order on the basis of political considerations.

18. And the saga continues anothersad Legacy of the OSA administratiion!

19. @ David
    Bushie agrees with Just Wondering….
    Given all you know about our court system and the kinds of decisions that have become routine, what is this overriding compulsion of yours that the court is so sacrosanct?
    Do you feel as strongly about the court’s decision with the innocent man currently in jail for “confessing” to rape?
    How about the decision about the ownership of Kensington Oval? Or the land deal in Enterprise?
    Stupesss…..man it must be obvious to a blind blogger typing on a old XT machine that something is fishy about that Barrack business…
    Politicians got together to steal our money – and most of the Judiciary are/were politicians…..and were included…

What court decision what!?
    Can we all see the facts of the case?

20. @David
    I have not missed any point ! The inability to settle with Barrack in accordance with the court order has been the result of Government’s inability to broker an agreement with Barrack who has said an emphatic ” no ” to every single proposal by Government for settlement . He has since fired his former lawyer Sir Richard Cheltenham for a fledgling in the profession . This is bound to lead to further delay . What is similar between this set of facts and the condemnation of Duguid’s coarse behaviour in Parliament ? I have not missed any point : I miss your LOGIC .

21. @Bush Tea

And your willingness to disregard the fact that we live in a society which has as a core strength ‘law and order’ is of concern. Because the system wants fixing it does not mean it should be flouted. If Barrack was awarded the contract based on political motivation that has nothing to do with the Court. If land registry records and related activity is flawed that has nothing to do with the Court. If the Police exacted a confession from someone that has nothing to do with the Court. If the Court Registry is inefficient that has nothing to do with the Court. If…

22. @Just Wondering

Are you suggesting that compliance to a Court Order is conditional on he who it was levied is based on the ability of the person to carry it out?

23. It is indeed sad when on the day of 46 years of symbolic independence, the eve of Christ’s supposed birthdate and an imminent general election…all of which are wrapped up in social decline, moral trepidation, economic woes, and a major deficiency of leaders and leadership, some of us can only argue along close minded, narrow partisan, unbelievably biased lines. Don’t get me wrong, to each is own, every voice contends and every opinion counts….but….for those who complain and advocate, much better will be needed if we are to see brighter….. whether it’s Bushie’s big and inevitable brighter or david’s local or more tangible. brighter. to whom much is given much is required.

Have a good day all…drink someting…eat someting….talk some shoite and let’s hope we can genuinely aim for better in all areas….B, D, P or Z..

Walk good.

Observing

24. @ David.
    Compliance with a court order is indeed dependent on the ability of the person to carry it out . That is why in matters of debt a court will try to find out how best a debtor can comply with the order . Of course if he fails to comply AFTER giving a commitment he may then face contempt . Government is no different from the ordinary debtor ; IT MUST HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY THE DEBT DUE. How else can it be paid ? Would it not therefore be to the benefit of BOTH PARTIES if an arrangement for payment can be made ? And if every attempt to make an offer is met by the flat rejection of Barrack is settlement not made immeasurably more difficult? I note with approval that you have removed the ridiculous Duguid analogy from our exchamge .

25. @Just Wondering

Let us embrace you argument: how does it explain many mouthings from the government side that the Barrack matter would have been settled shortly? We have heard such from Ministers Sinckler and Lashley to name two. Whether government can pay becomes subjective given governments recourse to financial options, this is where the matter opens up to political posturing.

BTW, didn’t Peter Wickham on national radio a couple months ago confirm that his very good sources had advised that the matter would be settled in hours if not days? In fact to paraphrase him, he stated an announcement was imminent. Is he knowingly or unknowingly part of the propaganda swirling above the Barrack issue?

Interesting your description of Trotman as a fledgling.

26. Does this information not suggest that the goal posts are being continually shifted by Barrack ?

27. @ David
    On the other point.
    You mean that you are one of those people back a few years ago, who, when some court decided that blacks were indeed equivalent to chattel for sale would have conformed and defended that position?

Should the high court next week decide that all property owned by Bajans becomes the property of the state, you will willingly conform?

Intelligent and GROWN UP people are those who can operate like ADULTS and think rationally for themselves.
    THAT IS WHAT MATURITY is …. NOT STANDING FOR SHOITE.

CHILDREN obey rules and regulations….cause parent know better. But adults THINK for themselves.
    Now this is exactly why Bushie talks about our continued childlike celebration of our birth 46 years down the road. Why after age 21 are we recreating the “birth process” through colonial styled parades? Awards, and independence celebrations?

At this age, we should be building legacies of governance; Establishing global standards in science, art and sport etc that others would want to parrot;

At our age, we should be able to CRITICALLY assess a situation such as the BARRACK scam and recognize, as Bushie said LONGGGGG ago, that this is a simple case of governmental FRAUD and that someone(s) should be LOCKED UP.

…instead, you (and most Bajans) are happy to pretend ignorance and pay out $ 80 million that we DON’T have…..

…can you conceive of any way in which we could be more naive ..?

28. @Bush Tea

How do you explain the last government’s refusal to pay Barrack?

29. Most bajans can associate with the Professor Dr but many of us are in the dark when it comes to Mr Gibson’s supposed contribution to the buhbaydus legal profession and at the international level.Many of us know more about judge judy and eliot spitzer.I won’t hold my breath awaiting a more informed input from the sorry bunch who cannot see beyond their support for an insipid party.
    No comment seems good enough for me.The gentleman is at a loss for words himself.Do we have an amercun leading we justice system?

30. Owen Arthur is a drunk, dishonest and corrupt; this is TOTAL TRUTH. He, Owen is a national embarrassment but many in Barbados support him; this also is TOTAL TRUTH. A BLP win is possible. A DLP win is also possible. Mitt Romney and the Republican party (United States) were sure they could/would defeat Barack Obama and the Democratic Party. Romney: ‘It’s possible Obama could win but ‘not likely’. Romney had prepared ONLY a victory speech. He had prepared his inauguration and apparently in process of choosing a cabinet. Romney and the Republicans are now very embarrassed. [If] Owen does not win he will face like embarrassment. He, Owen sprouts a lot of mouth, too much.
    The DLP house is not clean. They, the DLP entertained friends but the wrong ones, Leroy Parris and Lawrence Dupre. The BLP house is also not clean. The BLP, though, with audacity barks at its DLP foe as though its house is clean or cleaner, it’s not. The light of Greed and corruption shines on both parties, the BLP and DLP but idiocy without doubt weighs more on the BLP side of the road. This is NOT DEBATABLE.

Blame and shame for CLICO belongs to both the BLP and DLP. Both Arthur and Thompson both took CLICO money, Arthur just took a lot less than Thompson. The supervisor in 2006 issued a Cease and Decease Order against CLICO. The BLP government in 2006 had authority to intervene and didn’t. Arthur, perhaps was into folly with Julie Price, had hit upon one of those drinking binges and or was asleep. Mitt Romney in the United States could not hide the truth about his Bain Capital Company. Arthur, likewise, cannot hide the truth about CLICO. Arthur stepped down in CLICO mud as did Thompson.

Owen Arthur and the BLP gave birth to AL Barrack, can’t hide or deny it. Al Barrack has in his possession a COURT ORDERED JUDGMENT, Bajans must pay. Three (3) S&P downgrades, massive land theft, those deaths at Arch Cot, Britton Hill all occurred during the BLP government with Arthur at the helm. Wait! Here is more, more BLP embarrassment, the 75,000 campaign cheque and that damn Nigerian Water heater project. Barbados relies on too few things to survive, mainly tourism, should consider additional cash crops – makes more sense than that Nigerian Water Heater Project – a lost of 2.4 million dollars. The VECO Corporation, can’t omit The VECO Corporation. Really, VECO is the height of delight. Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall awarded VECO a government contract without tender. VECO built the prison at Dodds in St. Philip but had no record of building prisons and the prison project, low and behold extended millions over budget. They (Arthur, Mottley and Marshall) maybe now are slapping each other in the face like the goofy Three Stooges.

The recent S&P downgrade was made MAJOR NEWS due to Arthur and the BLP. Arthur and the BLP surely had not forgotten that Richard Francis, an S&P associate in 2005. . . . stated that [Barbados] deficit of ten percent was too high and the debt level between 43 and 50 percent of GDP Although less than half of Jamaica’s and even smaller than St. Kitts-Nevis was unacceptable. Barbados before 2008 was not financially stable. Three (3) S&P downgrades proves this.

Really, that Arthur the BLP group is thrilling and suspenseful. Film producer, Michael Bay should consider them for movie making. Arthur in 2006 invested 2.4 million dollars in a Nigerian Water Heater project. No water heaters were produced and the 2.4 million dollars that belonged to taxpayers were lost and or unaccounted for. Also, Arthur during a budget debate could not remember that he actually chaired the meetings of cabinet to discuss VECO. He said he wished he was there. But when told by Minister Sinckler and the Prime Minister – ‘no Owen, you were there,’ he then said that he said something else. When pressed again, he again said something completely different and also said that he never said what he said on the two previous occasions the entire country heard him say it. Either, he was drunk, suffers from Alzheimer’s Disease, forgot taking his medication, or both.

That’s all folks

31. @Fractured

“1. Mr Barrack was given a contact by the NHC to build an office…..not low cost housing for Barbadians as its mandate stipulated !”

Only antiquated thinking would encourage a party to make this an argument. Simply put it is called CROSS-SUBSIDISATION.

5. The parties agreed to go to arbitration and the arbiter in Oct 2006 ruled that Mr. Barrack was wronged and should be paid $ 36 million for the breach plus daily interest at 10 % at the time…the BLP appealed and David Simmons had Justice Cornelius hear the case in late 2007 (on the eve of the 2008 general election). Justice Cornelius ruled that the arbiter was correct. No doubt by that time the bill had mounted up. So Owen call elections….and lost.

Few weeks ago when I said the final decision on this matter was made after the election I was called a liar.

32. @ Fractured

I forgot to ask. How did the recently knighted CJ become eligible for that post?

33. @enuff

Are you aware of any Barbados CJ who was NOT conferred the Knighthood?

34. I aint arguing with Sir Gibson’s knighthood. Read again.

35. @David
    How do you explain the last government’s refusal to pay Barrack?
    Most comments on this blog are to be taken with a grain of salt but there seems to be intransigence on both sides. First the BLP appealed the arbitration ruling (why go to arbitration if you can appeal if you don’t like the arbiter’s ruling?) and Barrack for refusing to settle with the incoming Gov’t on a term/percentage basis.

Many parties in multi- million dollar awards agree to settlements which are below the amount mandated by the courts. It is senseless to stand on a legal principle when the only people who are enriched are the legal representatives. There is an old saying “a fast nickel is better than a slow dime” sadly many people fail to understand this both in business and in legal matters.

36. @enuff

An amendment was made to the Judicature Act in the dead of the night.

37. @Sargeant

This is one matter many are waiting with bated breath to be debated in parliament.

38. @David
    An amendment was made to the Judicature Act in the dead of the night.
    It seems some people delight in flogging a dead horse, a Gov’t can always amend the amendment retroactively to disqualify Marston from the position.
    In the real world which some of us inhabit the Gov’t of Great Britain just appointed a Canadian (Mark Carney) to Head the Bank of England. Horror of horrors he is not even a British citizen but has been Governor of the Bank of Canada for the past four years. I understand that the British Gov’t is going to fast track his path to citizenship but there is no requirement that he has to a British citizen.

Imagine the fooforah if the B’dos Gov’t appointed a non Bajan to head the Central Bank, judging from the reaction of some Bajans to the appointment of a non resident Bajan to the position of Chief Justice it would be “cat piss and pepper”, righteous indignation and defeat at the polls but Bajans don’t live in the real world.

39. Hi Enuff,
    Sir Marston got his knighthood because he is a Bajan.

It is true other Bajans were worthy of such award – as is the case each year.

Unfortunately, many are called….but few are chosen.

Arise Sir Marston !

40. Buggs Bunny | November 30, 2012 at 2:20

BUGGS BUNNY !!!

That contribution was total shoite. After pontificating on matters and wasting time and energy, you have said abosolutely nuttin.

At the end of the day it is a choice between two parties. All the shoite that you write should be now flushed

You are looking for perfection from human beings. This kind of expectation is silly . childish and immature. Crawl back up in your hole and dont show your shoite around here again –please !!

41. @ Fractured

You totally missed/ignored my point. Po fella.

42. Too many useless titles.

43. Too many useless titles, keeping the brainwashing alive and well.

44. Mark Carney is a graduate of Harvard and did his post grad masters at St Peter’s College Oxford and his D Phil at Nuffield College,Oxford in the UK.His wife is a Brit and also a grad of Oxford in econ.Carney,by his marriage alone will easily qualify for his British passport,not to mention that he also worked for Goldman Sachs for 13 years in London,Tokyo and Toronto.Carney is therefore not a good example to jump to conclusions about appointing non barbadians to to the Governorship of the Central Bank.On the other hand I can picture a Caribbean citizen spending a some years at Cave Hill,and armed with the correct qualifications,work experience and attitude, married to a local girl,having a good chance at being appointed to that position.

45. JUST ASKING – November 30, 2012 @4:30PM

Don’t forget, Arthur and the BLP gave birth to Al Barrack. Al Barrack in 2008 became Thompson’s problem but was FIRST Arthur’s problem. Don’t forget that Oopposition spokesperson Mia Mottley on 06/27/2012 outlined a 2012 – 2013 a new BLP would IMMEDIATELY put in place. Interesting, Al Barrack was not put into that budget outline. The 2012 – 2013 budget, additionally will hold all persons responsible for CLICO; Arthur is one of those responsible. Laugh. Those BLP folks know how to put on a good show and get good laughs. Go ahead and laugh. Laugh, laugh, laugh.

That’s all folks.

46. I know Carney is well qualified there are some Brits who are just as qualified albeit lacking his experience. The Brits ignored over 300 hundred years of tradition however all things are possible so your scenario vis-à-vis a Caribbean man is possible but highly unlikely

47. Well well,
    damned straight… SEVENTY FIVE percent of the many knighthoods bestowed on Bajans were lawyers. Now how the f#ck does someone contribute to the legal profession … How is this measured? Do these people improve the delivery or price of the service? Lawyers are deservingly the most despised of all practitioners and they operate in an environment that is archaic and non-responsive. And are they not paid (handsomely) for what ever it is that they do?

John like Rupee before him, travels the world to make a living. He produces. He earns FX and advertises Barbados where ever he goes. He is only afforded a service star. John should tell them to shove up their Royal asses ….!

48. wuh yuh tink if rupee was in any them communist dictatorships that you speak so highly of ruppe would be awarded anything for his service to community.

49. ac

Yep. Why not go to Cuba and experience the life for yourself and then come back and speak with the confidence that experience gives … And take Moneybrain with you … seriously ..!

50. BREAKING NEWS

I am watching CBC TV this minute “Dancing with the Stars”

Donville Inniss is dancing….guess who is his partner ?

Yep….William Duguid !

Let’s hope they dance and don’t fight !