William Duguid MP

The unfortunate comment uttered by William Duguid MP has rightfully upset right thinking Barbadians. We are upset because his comment is reflective of a free fall in values and morals afflicting our society. Yes it was an aside (although not whispered) in parliament  but the public heard so deal with it. It is ironic that Duguid’s tagline sposted on his website is Do Good and good shall attend you…

Days after the incident Duguid apologized. BU joined many Barbadians to applaud him for taking responsibility for his action. In his apology he revealed that he was taunted in a crass way by Minister Donville Inniss, if the grapevine is accurate, it has caused many to sympathize with Duguid while not condoning his behaviour. Minister Inniss will get a chance very soon to test if his political stock has been negatively affected by the episode which occurred last week.

The old people favour a saying that behind every dark cloud is a silver lining. Here was an opportunity for the government and opposition to expose the silver lining. If after this incident members of parliament from both sides of the House had joined hands – figuratively or literally – and condemned the behaviour with the assurance that better would be done. Imagine the potential for positive outcomes if such a scenario had played out on the population of Barbados. Talk about turning a negative into a positive!

Instead the opportunity has been lost because ugly partisan politics reared its head, again. This is what is missing from Barbados at this time, LEADERSHIP. Imagine on Tuesday or Wednesday night ALL the MPs standing in parliament yard, TOGETHER, to renounce the poorakey behaviour and pledging for it never to recur.

Clearly opposition leader Owen Arthur has opted to distance himself from the behaviour of Duguid. We are not surprised because the Duguid incident has served to reinforce Arthur’s declared position that the current parliament is of a poorakey calibre. However as leader of the opposition Arthur cannot avoid responsibility for the standard of behaviour exhibited on his side of the House, so too Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. Where there is a vacuum of leadership confusion is bound to flourish.

Today’s comment by Louis Farrakhan that we need to lead and provide opportunities for our youth or not they have the potential to go rogue and disrupt Caribbean societies should be a warning. Our members of parliament missed the boat last week and their behaviour is another crop of seed sowed predicted to yield a rotten harvest in years to come.

1. We are all window dressing this nefarious incident. The truth is that our parliamentarians are by and large nothing more than a collection of empty vessels . They have to behave in this manner because they have no philosophy, ideology or any worthwhile contribution to make to our island state. Arthur cannot “distance” himself from anything because he has used the same parliament to do as he pleases and we all know it! Societies do not deteriorate over night and what we are witnessing now is the result of looking the other way when it is convenient to do so. Duguid’s apology was weak in that he claimed he was provoked. In other words, in a very cunning way, he is seeking pity or some form of justification for his actions. So there we have it, in our Parliament forty, six years after independence: Guns brandishing, verbal assualts, cussing and the graduates of Harrisons College, who all passed the common entrance, behaving very common.

2. WHere is the eveidence that Duguid was provoked by Inniss. I keep hearing this comment but see no evidence. The BLP seems to be looking for an accuse for Duguid’s conduct.

Duguid should just apologixe and move on.

3. Couldnt agree with you more PB.
    Duguid is heard by school kids, priests, senior citizens and everybody in between cursing like a pirate on radio in Parliament but the Nation and BU David cast full blame on Donville Inniss. Like its he who swear down the place.

Listening to the tape only Duguid is heard shouting- yuh mudda c%#t- followed by supportive desk thumping from Cynthia Forde. I am at a loss why Donville is villified and stink mout Duguid is not. I heard nothing from Inniss on the recording. Duguid’s so called apology sought to cast blame away from himself a cowardly and reprehensible tactic.

As the Trinidadians who Owen Arthur sold Barbados to would say look where we reach.

4. Stay there and think donville innocent, he learned how to be cunning conniving and sneaky at the same harrison college.

5. William Skinner

You being a Masiah Street High grad will be quick to criticize two Crumpton Street assholes, and frankly I could not agree with you more. But these guys know their target audience and the competition is being played at a level that you probably will never want to be associated with. This has nothing to do with your impressions my friend.. Sorry, shouldn’t have brought this up sincethis is something that you know already

6. Everyone on this blog knows that when I was involved in politics, I was one of the staunchest supporters of the BLP. What most of you would not know is that I defied Arthur and Mottley to propose Duguid as the candidate for Christ Church West. I therefore felt as though I had a vested interest in Duguid. You can’t imagine my disappointment when I heard the report that he had used foul language in the House of Assembly while the proceedings were being broadcast.

I do not care what Donville Inniss said to provoke him; Duguid is a doctor, who went to Harrison College and I understand that he was a Barbados Scholar, and with all of that education behind him, the best he could have done would have been to swear like a pirate on the floor of the House. He behaved like an uneducated lout.

His behaviour deserves the severest sanction available to the House. I agree that an apology was required but that did not and could not go far enough. He should not have survived as a member of the House. If a civil servant had done something similar he would have been charged with an offence and tried for his conduct. Duguid should man up and do the decent thing and resign from the House or be removed. I will never accept the excuse that he offered: it is like saying that the devil made me do it, not that I am calling Donville the devil.

7. Why are wunna getting hot under wunna skin fuh? Come on the low class pickings we have for politicians is evident on both sides. It doesn’t matter where they have gone to school nor what profession they hold. If you were not trained at home and at school about proper conduct this is what we will get. Look around us in Barbados and see how common people are behaving. These are the same people running for political office. As I have stated before, It should be mandatory to have debates on television and general knowledge quizzes or even a game of Jeopardy for these wannnabe politicians. That will help separate the sheep from the goats!

8. “I want to thank William Duguid for his decency and graciousness in doing the manly thing, and rescuing our Parliament from where it would have plunged to,” former Prime Minister Owen Arthur told the massive crowd at Villa Road before starting his speech.

9. @Hants

How does Arthur’s view on the Duguid matter reconcile with his view that parliament is poorakey? The silly season is definitely upon us.

10. David of BU,

You stated in a post on this thread that Dr. Duguid in his apology said he was provoked by Donville Inniss.

I did not recall him singling out anyone by name.

I heard him say he “was grievously provoked by a member on the opposite side of the House”

Can you reprint the apology again for verification.

Owen Arthur’s….applaud for Dr. Duguid is priceless !

11. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The BLP had one meeting last Sunday night. So far the Nation newspaper has Printed SIX , yes SIX stories from that 1 meeting : the whole of the back page on Monday, 3 pages on Tuesday, 4 photographs – all in colour , from 1 meeting.
    If the BLP had 2 meetings, wuhloss they would have printed a whole section or another paper but then again, the Nation is the BLP newspaper. Why would we expect any balance?

12. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Owen Arthur on Sunday talked about the “politics of fear” and Albert Brandford the same Sunday wrote a whole page in the NationBLPnewspaper on the same topic.
    Coincidence or could the BLP campaign actually be using the Nation newspaper columns to spread their propaganda?
    Maybe we can ask Clyde Mascoll.

13. @wuhloss

BU has no patience to be pedantic on this issue. That the political parties would play politics on this issue exposes the leadership vacuum.

14. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

@ Hants ..
    I was not so unfortunate to hear Arthur’s speech . Would you therefore confirm that he actually used the words ” DECENCY ” and ” GRACIOUSNESS ” in reference to that foul-mouth episode for which Duguid was responsible in our Parliament ? And are you saying that he actually ” thanked ” Duguid ? I await your reply ..

15. Recently when Romney said something dumb even the Republicans called him out on it. No such luck in Barbadians. We are setting a good example for the youth and have become the laughing stock of the Caribbean.

16. Do you know who your father is?

Are you sure?

Sure, sure?

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“Imagine on Tuesday or Wednesday night ALL the MPs standing in parliament yard, TOGETHER, to renounce the poorakey behaviour and pledging for it never to recur.”

The Barbados Labour Party needs to do that. Their stupid nasty mout’ member caused the problem.

You are trying to ease things for the Barbados Labour Party.

Not going to happen!

18. @ David…your post at 6:45am says exactly why Caswell Franklin ‘s at 12:20am is such a sobering contribution.Poorakey or otherwise this is the parliament of our country,and such behavior is reprehensible.What should we now expect of our children when we take lightly this most disgusting episode?Our parliament has now been reduced to the politician’s playground,and we seem to be receptive to this garbage.Perhaps when a child says the same to a teacher we would show a little compassion,for that child may well be making preparations to take it’s place in our playground,where being bilingual sure seems to be acceptable.

19. I would love for someone,anyone in the BLP camp to tell us where on their totem pole does love for one’s mother rank?Is it any different from,and is it higher or lower than the love we have for a spouse?Were any of them at that sitting when a member’s mother was insulted?Was there reason for provocation then?

20. Seriously, what is the problem here … why harp on this… ?

Yesterday Louis farrakhan on Bajan radio blamed the Government of the United States of America for the destruction of Sept 11 and it DID NOT MAKE NEWS… Now there is an issue here that needs to be recognised

21. also a message of empowerment which farrakhan spoke of and has been speaking of for years was dumbdowned by the nation and vob instead to replaced by pablum as news about rihanna. no wonder we are in such a state if inertia

22. @BABFP

Poorakey leadership in our parliament pisses off the BU household which means we will continue to harp on it. You are free to harp on the US bully which has been given good coverage on BU.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hamilton hill | November 27, 2012 at 8:30 AM |
    “… tell us where on their totem pole does love for one’s mother rank? Is it any different from, and is it higher or lower than the love we have for a spouse”.

“Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.”

Does that biblical injunction mean anything to you? If it does, therein lies your answer to where a man’s loyalties ought to be. You don’t need anyone from the BLP to tell you what is written in the book you accept as gospel and the truth.
    What would you do if a man called your wife a fornicator and your children bastards from another man’s loins?

24. It is amazing that a former prime minister who is seeking to become our prime minister again along with his deputy are in support of a colleague who cursed a fellow member of parliament about his mother’s private parts.Well,Well,well.
    There is nothing that Dr Wiliam Duguid or anybody else could say to justify his behavior.Nothing,nothing, nothing.
    Provocation could never be used as a reason for his childish retort to alleged comments about his family by another member of parliament.That is tantamount to the idea that any one of us could resort to any means necessary to defend ourselves if provoke by others. In that case the rule of law and the obedience of that law ought to be discarded.
    Therefore,if William Duguid behavior could be justified,all criminal acts could also be justified.Murder,theft,beatings,maiming and all other criminal activities have aspects of provocation attached to them.
    Murder usually occurred because of some degree of provocation either by one of the individuals involved or by some or all the parties involved.Theft also involved a degree of provocation.Hunger,deprivation or other issues such as a psychological problem are elements that are involved to provoke an individual to commit theft.
    It is reprehensible that our leaders and those who want to be our leaders would seek to justify the uncouth behavior of Dr William Duguid.
    This issue crosses political lines and in that regard all decent,right thinking Barbadians despite political persuasions should condemn Dr William Duguid behavior in the strongest possible terms.
    Dr William Duguid actions cannot be defended.
    Owen Arthur,Dale Marshall and members of the Barbados Labour Party have done a disservice to Barbados by defending and seeking justification for Dr William Duguid disgraceful behavior.

25. What would you do if a man called your wife a fornicator and your children bastards from another man’s loins?

I would have beat him–Simple answer
    However,
    It is a serious allegation that should be highly censured and Donville Inniss for provoking the man, be asked to apologize to Barbados and the rest of the Eastern Caribbean, the World and other places.

26. Donville Inniss must ALPOLIGIZE
    He must APOLOGIZE Now
    If he does not apologize
    He will forever be known as a Wimp
    Wimp Wimp Wimp

27. It appears th Speaker thought that Duguid’s apology delivered to the House today was not unconditional enough for his liking. He also chided Dale Marshall and the Nation newspaper page 6 report where Marshall is reported of lamenting that he has not received justice after a gun was brandished at him in the precinct of the House.

So far not one commenter agrees that the MPs from both sides missed a golden opportunity to send the right message. Sad!

28. Harrison College has produced a lot of bigots and people who feel that they are more important than everybody else.
    Harrison College is the worst institution in Barbados
    A lot of bigotry and selfishness and snooty behaviour too ( same thing only different)

Up and On never sounded better
    Garrison Secondary never sweeter
    Ellerslie more so than ever
    Foundation moreover
    St. George Secondary forever
    St. Leonards is harder
    Coleridge the Happier Parrier
    and all else that matter

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman | November 27, 2012 at 11:48 AM |

Lookie here, niggaman, we know your type likes to cuss and shoot at your own kind. It’s called black on black gang violence. But let us reason here for a while. If you are faced with the two following situations which one might incur your immediate wrath or blood curdling fear?

Situation 1.
    A loudmouth nigga comes up to you like a pit bull and brandishes a Magnum .357 in your face threatening to blow your mother f**king brains out if you don’t shut your mouth in the precincts of our local talkshop.

Situation 2.
    Another nigga in the same precincts but with a loud speaker called you a “mother cunt” for the whole country to hear because you told him another man is f**king his wife and the lickle pickneys he is claiming as his are really the result of an illicit adulterous affair by his wife.

Now which one is the bigger sin? The cussing out or the threat to life and limb by a deadly weapon?
    You could ask the speaker-man with the juke box.

30. Carson C. Cadogan | November 27, 2012 at 7:37 AM |
    DAVID

“Imagine on Tuesday or Wednesday night ALL the MPs standing in parliament yard, TOGETHER, to renounce the poorakey behaviour and pledging for it never to recur.”

The Barbados Labour Party needs to do that. Their stupid nasty mout’ member caused the problem.

You are trying to ease things for the Barbados Labour Party.

Not going to happen
    =============================
    BE FAIR

DONVILLE INNISS CAUSED THE PROBLEM

I HATE UNFAIRNESS MAN !

DONVILLE HAD NO RIGHT TO TELL THE MAN THOSE SORDID THINGS
    I HAVE LOSS ALL RESPECT FOR DONVILLE INNISS
    I HEARD DONVILLE ON THE TAPE CALLING THE MAN A FAT SLOB in a way to suggest that he said the offending words. His mike might have been off , he was not on his feet—so much for procedure BUT Donville Inniss offended me as a man. How about an apology. We men aint worth nothing?
    It is because we men dont appreciate our worth

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Yagga Rowe | November 27, 2012 at 1:06 PM |
    “Harrison College has produced a lot of bigots and people who feel that they are more important than everybody else.”

That school needs an immediate re-branding and renaming.
    What about the Pornville Secondary School of Cuss Birds and Fagots, sorry, Bigots?
    Go for it, Minister Jonsesing not even idiot Todd would stand in your way!

32. Now it comes cdown to big sin and little sin.when in fact is is/all about respect and common decency something that even a child would understand. a woman is one of earth.s natural resources and a gift to a man and should be treated with the highest of reverance.a pity some men does not understand that .duguid commited cardinal sIn no#1and showed lack of class and respect of all woman something that can also be attributed to his leader in the way he spoke of MIA personnal life Publicly

33. Dr. Duguid is a typical BLP liar.

The truth is always way behind the lies they tell.

First it was the fat slob comment that Dr. Duguid alleges CAUSED him to use the potent expletive in Parliament.

Secondly, he now claims that the most gravest insult was hurled at his family and he was PROVOKED to respond in the despicable way he that he did.

Constantly shifting the goal post……while hiding the truth….that’s Dr. Duguid for you !

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 27, 2012 at 2:06 PM |
    What about Pornville Inniss referring to the man’s wife as a fornicator and adulterer? Isn’t she a woman too worthy of respect? What about the innocent children?

As far as the fat slob jibe is concerned that is just a matter of the cock-eyed pot calling the kettle black.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

MIA is in full flight in Parliament!
    Speech of the year!
    God bless you , child!

36. Where is the big brainiac who always speaks of Wild boys?A funny ting day.

37. BU commends the decorum presently being exhibited in the House.

38. ASSHOLE !!
    From the beginning it was the remark about the man’s wife

The Fat Slob thing was referred to because that was heard on the mike

You didnt hear the remark about the man’s wife because it happened while he was speaking into his mike.

Cheez !
    Why some people so hard headed though ???

39. @Yagga Rowe

Correct.

40. So yagga dumbbell….if according to you no one heard the comment about the wife…how could you or anyone claim it was an ill comment made towards Dr. Duguid’s wife ?.

In your last post you said no one heard…..so how can you or anyone else infer what was actually said ?

Admit it Dr. Duguid was caught with egg all over his face and Owen Arthur….now tells him that fa lick ya….(Yuh playing yuh siding with Mia and eaveddroping on me and George Payne….to go back tell Mia ) tek that yuh ain’t getting no sympathy from this OWEN !

Another BLP soap opera !

41. @YaggaRowe
    What is your problem with Harrison College grads? This pull down mentality and petty jealousy of persons with they God given gift is no reason to condemn an institution. Every person on this earth have they own talent/talents and contribute in their small way to this society. Seek out your space or calling and leave my fellow Harrisonians in peace.
    “In Deo Fides”

42. The Board of Directors can action PWC and NOT the policy holders ….well well well … And all that PWC has to do is provide a note, a piece of paper, that would suggest the they advised the board in a different direction, and they would be in the clear … HA HA HA. In the US Arthur Anderson had to shut down because of Enron, and here in Bim PWC ain’ gotta do one shite other than produce a piece of paper…. Look you see who getting represent in the House of Parliament …?

43. Anyone read about the Sweet Potato Ethanol Plant announced by the CEO of BIDC? SMFH

44. Wait what does SMFH stand for …?

45. BAF
    I gotta speak in acronyms, don’t want the Puritans burn me at the stake.

46. @ac
    “lack of class and respect of all woman something that can also be attributed to his leader in the way he spoke of MIA personnal life Publicly

How many DLP members have one the same? On the floor of Parliament none the less?

“So far not one commenter agrees that the MPs from both sides missed a golden opportunity to send the right message. Sad!”

There is much that is sadder. btw, What did the speaker say in response to Duguid’s “in Parliament” apology?

Just Observing.

47. A Better Peter X Avatar

What abou the fat slobs who Doville Iniquitous insulted. Fat Slobs International is not happy about the situation. A law suit will follow.

48. For those who missed it here is the apology which Duguid read in the House this morning and was soundly criticized by the Speaker because he felt it was issued with a qualification:

Apology by Dr. William Dugiud, MP

The Parliament of Barbados, the third oldest in the commonwealth, has a rich and proud heritage. The Barbados Labour Party has steadfastly followed our parliament’s noble traditions and over the years we h
    ave distinguished ourselves by our exemplary conduct as Members of Parliament.

On Tuesday 20 November, I fell far short of those traditions and standards. During that sitting, I made an outburst which I instantly regretted, and for which I now humbly apologize to my constituents and to the wider Barbadian public.

That outburst was the result of the most grievous of provocations which came from the mouth of a Democratic Labour Party parliamentarian. It would be improper of me to repeat the insulting words used, but I will say that they constituted the gravest possible insult to my wife and to my children.

Notwithstanding that, I now humbly apologize to my constituents and to the wider Barbadian public. No matter the provocation, I am certain they must all be disappointed in me.

I intend to tender a similar apology to the Parliament on the occasion of its next sitting.

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You!!! I gine be honest wid wunna cuz i doan tell lies. Look when Duguid pelt down the muddah scunt thing i said this is what politics is all about. Now if Donaville had leh go a Gaw Blimah we would have ushered a new gine of class politics…called Cussnlicks. I was looking for Duguid to jump over they put some licks in he scunt.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Dr. William Duguid.

A Dentist with a dirty mouth.