How to increase national productivity must be the topic of conversation.

Managing the finances of the BU household requires adherence to a simple rule which cannot be broken. Do not spend more that is earned! It is the only way individuals can create a financial security blanket (creating wealth) for the family before retirement. We live in a world which has become addicted to consumption. It has become a place where the value system is securely anchored in love for things at the expense of people or what is commonsense.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) next talkback forum has as its topic ‘Putting Money Back in your Pocket”. The topic should provoke all Barbadians to think about what kind of country we want. We understand that political parties are in the business of winning elections, and the opportunity to promise what is often impossible or illogical is par for course at this time. It explains why the period leading into a general election is labelled ‘the silly season’. However Barbadians must be able to rationalize and force the best decision based on what is before us.

Barbados is an economy where we import most of what we consume, we produce little. If we do nothing or follow the trend of expanding our consumption, it means we have to improve the inflow of foreign exchange. It is a simple equation to balance which has implications for being able to defend the parity of the Barbados Dollar and avoid the clutches of the International Monetary Fund (IMF). BU’s simple analysis is that Barbados can continue to live above its means; we have been doing so for the last 20 years, and suffer the fate of many countries across the Caribbean and the world – OR – we can make structural changes to our social and economic model to be able to sustain a wholesome and practical lifestyle for Barbadians in the present and generations to follow, while at the same time build out mitigating options to buffer the exogenous shocks which will affect us from time to time.

We have a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) which has realized four years into its term that it has the reins of government.  A scan of the Barbados Parliament website (BU assumes that it has been updated)reveals that several matters are before the House to be debated and even with an improved work rate by members of government, it is inconceivable that the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2010, Holidays with Pay Bill, 2012 as well as many Resolutions will be completed. Note that the Cultural Industries Bill and the Freedom of Information Bill have not made it to the short list. BU is mindful that at a time when businesses are being asked to keep the belt tight and maintain employee numbers, the country is being presided over by the largest Cabinet in our post-Independence period. Perhaps if it had shown the same energy for the duration of its term….

In Opposition we have the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) promising to stop the economic haemorrhaging by privatizing key state assets and delivering tax cuts to the middleclass supported by a rollback of VAT to 15% 2016. In Opposition without sight of the big picture a little salt in close proximity is recommended. When the parties make their Manifestos public literally days before the election, Barbadians will get a better grasp of how they propose to guide Barbados in economic conditions which are expected to persist for several more years.

Billions of dollars later pumped into educating Barbadians if BU had to guess what would be the topic consuming national debate leading into a general election – PRIVATIZATION or PRODUCTIVITY – we would be dumbstruck that privatization has trumped productivity. Instead of building on the foundation which the Adames and Barrow have left us, we are about to take the easy route by dumping key state agencies (GAIA and The Port Authority and others) for cash because of our inability to build out a system of meritocracy.

If there was a time when Barbadians should demonstrate that we are an educated people, that time is now. Country first must be the cry. Instead at a time of unprecedented crisis we have a country divided on the issues and unwilling to build consensus on the issues. The BLP has not help the cause by showing political naiveté by committing the biggest political blunder for the season. Time will tell if it proves to be fatal.

It is unfortunate the national discussion is not focussed on the systemic issues affecting the country. This week we learned that the Eurozone slipped into double-dip recession, there is the volatility of the Middle East.  Is it too much for Barbadians to be shocked into the reality about what is important? The decision whether to vote BLP or DLP, Arthur or Stuart is becoming less appealing by the day for a growing segment of the electorate but vote we must.

1. As the focus centers on the CBC I continue to make the claim that the OCM is a much bigger player in all that has gone on politically in Barbados for the last four years.The CBC goes the divestment route,is snapped up by the OCM and immediately we have a Rupert Murdoch like media in Barbados.Thats why he is called the Master Tactician.

2. A little sparrow bird came to my window stall …..
    Ask me for a minute from the delectable bowl.
    Whistled to me…
    Tuesday all.. be ready, the Alexandra call
    But that’s not all….prepare
    On cometh the hairpin the ball…

I almost swallow a nigga pepper whole.

3. It is. Unfortunate the national debate is not focused on the systemic issues

Has it ever been? Now is the time for it to be but recently we have been woefully inexperienced and out of practice where “country first” debate and discussion is concerned.

The BLP’s pendulum will swing back soon. The DLP really aren’t the best at getting far less keeping momentum. If ever there was a time to start strategically going for the jugulars it is now. But, here comes the AX report, unfinished legislation and a massive “delayed” election. We’ll see.

Just observing.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | November 17, 2012 at 4:34 PM |

It seems what the mighty sparrow birdie told you is that the molasses man will eventually muster the courage to throw in the towel and announce the dissolution of Parliament before its constitutionally appointed due date. Such an announcement on Tuesday will result in a mid December date for a request for a new mandate.

You mean that the bumbling fumbling man can’t even keep a promise not even to a dead king?
    David T on his death bed finally managed to- after numerous requests to pay a final visit- extract a promise from the Molasses man to let his (David’s) government run for its full 5 year term.

Although a promise to a dead man is like pissing in the ocean and expect to cause a tsunami one has to be fully cognizant that when one makes a pact with the devil one is actually selling one’s soul.

Now what could have pressured Mr. Molasses into turning his back on the devil and taking his electoral chances before the statutory appointed date?
    The possibility of riding on the anti-privatization bogey?
    The possible distraction of shopping and seasonal preparations leading up to the Xmas?
    The fact that the Estimates for 2013/14 must be debated before Parliament is constitutionally dissolved on 12th February 2013 and any election date set in mid to late January 2013 would not facilitate such a timetable unless a March period under a new government is earmarked for the Estimates?

Maybe the dire outlook for the economy for the balance of the year along with the IMF’s demands that fiscal changes and a major restructuring of the public sector must commence from the new year and reflected in the revised 2013/14 Estimates are forcing the fumbler’s hand.
    The DLP government finds itself at the end of a fiscal cul-de-sac. Only a new mandate to do the necessary adjustments imposed from without and not within with serious weeping and gnashing of teeth along with an unforgettable and unforgivable letdown to its gullible supporters like ac is the only way ahead on the road to enforced privatization.

5. @ David
    A serious topic and Onions and Miller talking bout election date….
    Stupsssse!

This topic is to high for most Bloggers. Surely you know that!!
    What the hell interest would Bajans have in productivity? …..you mean like WORKING and actually DOING things….? Are you crazy?

Do you move around Barbados? The typical Bajan man is most comfortable sitting around in a crowd under a tree on an old bench, with cases of empty beer bottles around, a bowl of pudding and souse recently consumed and dominoes in progress.
    Typically some woman, often his mother, has sold her soul to the devil to pay the bills home, buy some groceries and send the children to school…

Can you see such a people interested in PRODUCTIVITY? …no wonder Arthur is pushing privatization….sell out and spend out…. let future generations be born with nothing….like our grandparents were..

Our attitude is-
    Bring the Guyanese and let them do the wuk
    Sell to the Trinis and Canadians, THEY have business minds…
    …let us sell out and eat out….

DOWN AND OUT…

6. @ Miller
    Like a wood dove came to woo you Miler…..cuz mine din tell me that much…..Is a good thing too…. But it is even better my visitor din a black bird like EGONomics…cuz I would know he was sent by Chrisy and heavens help ….knowing DEM is strangers to the truth….I might have kekk up D gutter-perk and lick out ee eye …and mek black bird SOUP for soldier man Dennis the dumplingo menace….whalosss

7. Bushie
    You doan get tired a talking Sh88t3 doah? I pass by S.Y Adam today and the indian man had a barrage a topsie utensils selling cheap….What productivity what sh88t3 you talkin?… bout hay?…wid this Horace administration…..Man Bushie “whey my cut” is like a standing order…wid the marshy willows BIM growing up as mighty men and you talkin pro-duc-who? bare laughs….awite den.

8. gone are the days when barbadians were productive farmers tradesman builders and tailors and bankers our souls were sold to the devil for fortypieces of silver and along went our need to be self reliant in its places we became aircondition aristocrats taking orders and shuffling paper and we like it so,

9. @Bushie.
    Can you see such a people interested in PRODUCTIVITY? …no wonder Arthur is pushing privatization….sell out and spend out…. let future generations be born with nothing….like our grandparents were..
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    There is an alternative to privitisation that will yield an increase in productivity. Just take a leaf out of the plantocracy’s tried and tested book ,which they used over the last 300 years in the plantations, lumberyards ,bondhouses and stores in Bridgetown.(and even today in the many air-conditioned plantations)
    Recruit ,once more , some of the residents of St John, kit them out with a pair of shoes, a cork hat , a khaki suit, a horse or a ‘one-foot ‘ stool and watch every man-jack sweat, giving of his best , even after the bell ring to knock off.

10. The politicians from both sides of the fence have created a society of mendicants by giving able bodied people handouts, instead of providing opportunities for work. We have people in this country that feel its a politician’s job to find them a job. Failing that they will not work. But when you say that you have to be reminded that these people were promised jobs if they voted a particular way. They voted and now are waiting for the promise to be fulfilled. Unfortunately, now that the politicians have failed to honour their promise of jobs, they are saying to the people go and become entrepreneurs. In other words, go and find work for yourself.

Also, most of those who were given jobs were not given work, or believe that they are not expected to work because they were given a job by politicians. Many of those who were given jobs were placed at statutory corporations, like NHC, and MTW. They were not expected to be productive, for crying out loud some at NHC do not even have desk.

With all of that, please tell me how you are going to privatise an entity whose main function is to provide jobs so that politicians can dish out largesse. The other functions are ancillary to providing jobs.

11. Nothing destroys manhood like freeness.

For fifty years now our politics have been based on freeness.
    Obviously we have become a nation of PAROS. …..”give us $20 for this heirloom, we NEED to buy parts for the BMW….and Onions need a pudding an’ souse….”

12. Onions mekk he own ya dawg….

13. Colonel, You have no idea how right you are…..
    It is also exactly where we are headed.

…only difference the “residents” won’t be from St John, they will be from T&T and Canada, and will live in Mellenium Heights. They won’t ride horses and wear cork hats, but drive air conditioned Benzes and wear expensive suits.
    …for us, everything else will be just like the 1940’s….as soon as we ‘lick out’ the money realized from selling the family silver.

14. At the BLP forum Arthur delivered a feisty speech which rehashed many of his policies back when times were good. What was missing from his delivery is how will a BLP government expand forex earning capacity.

15. Onions, you got a lotta chat…
    Tek care Bushie don’t tell the men bout that time Charlie Pilgrim embarrass you at school…..

16. Clyde Mascoll made the point that the forex component of a car for example is relatively small and therefore would not harshly impact the international reserves. What he neglected to expand on is the aggregate impact i.e. the total forex of cars imported, parts, fuel etc and how he needs to correlate to forex earnings.

17. not everybajan look fuh handout from the govt wunna sound like romney about the 47% but there are well educated bajans who would not dare become entrepreneurs but would prefer to work for others and there are another set who would relish becoming self employed bit have been not been given the trust and financial backing of our financial institutions then there are those who for some reason or another might need govt help to make a way forward and there are some who could not care less and would live hand to mout but i believe those are in the minority and every bajan should not be categorised as the latter

18. @Bush Tea who wrote “The typical Bajan man is most comfortable sitting around in a crowd under a tree on an old bench, with cases of empty beer bottles around, a bowl of pudding and souse recently consumed and dominoes in progress.”

I am definitely a typical Bajan man because I am most comfortable sitting with a crowd under a tree by the beach with bottles of rum and scotch, and boiled and roasted pot fish.
    Unfortunately I only got to do that a few weeks a year.

So the fellas you write about are doing what some of us wish we could do but work keeps getting in the way.

19. An observation of BLP’s The PEOPLE’s Forum this evening. The speakers absorbed too much of the time. Those who asked questions, Tyrone Barker, Brian Francis, Hudson Griffith, Malcom Gibbs-Taitt, Sandra Husbands etc are all known BLP supporters. It must be said however that Malcom Gibbs-Taitt’s idea to have a Prices Commission which would have access to a database of prices at origination is a good one.

20. @ David
    If Arthur was smart he would have retired and pretended to be a wise old guru. All he will manage to do is completely destroy any legacy that he may have been due.

The FACT is that the generally accepted economic theories upon which the whole study of Economics is based, have collapsed. THEY HAVE FAILED THE TEST OF THE realities of the 21st Century. The study of Economics was always nonsense, reserved for those not bright enough to do serious areas of study such as medicine, Business, Management, Engineering etc.

The theories, such as the Keynesian one, worked only in limited situations and ONLY during the postwar period between 1960 to 1990 or so. this business of Arthur and Mascoll (who was an attention seeking joker from school days) claiming some kind of special ability to guide any economy is therefore total JUNK.

…..Is Mascoll personally rich?
    ….was Arthur not dirt poor before he got his hands on the Barbados Treasury?
    Wuh Bushie ain’t no Economist and the Bushman can rub a few dollars together (not like BREK Onions 🙂 )

How come people who can’t manage THEIR OWN finances want to promote themselves to manage the NATIONAL TREASURY? …And talking bout selling out assets.,., Wunna think Bushie just come town….?

21. @Bush Tea

Anyone who has worked in the US,UK, Canada and Barbados can easily speak to productivity. In Barbados we have to get with the program. Caswell will not agree but the Unions need to shift gears as well if they want to survive.

22. Oh Canada, eh!

“OTTAWA — Federal departments are girded to lose more than 10,000 jobs over the next three years before they swallow the $5.2-billion spending reductions announced in the federal budget that will wipe out another 19,200 jobs in the same period.”

23. @ Hants
    Most men are most comfortable locked in a room with Islandgal too, but common sense would suggest that death would follow shortly… 🙂
    The point is that REALITY sets in with normal people and they GO TO WORK AND PRODUCE,

…..but not Bajans! We expect to sit in a rumshop day after day talking shoite politics, drinking rum and playing dominoes while politicians figure out ways for us to afford BMWs and expensive homes.

Man what Caswell what?!?!
    HERE is the man to save Bajans’ behinds and he still with this Union foolishness. So Caswell don’t know a dead horse when he see one?
    What Unity what!?!?

Tell Franklyn to form the damn BUP!! Bushie already laid out the plan for the COUP.

– Select a Senate (supervisory committee) of 24 leaders from Credit Unions, Churches, Unions, BARP, and sport and social organizations.
    – Hand pick 30 candidates
    – Each one signs a letter of resignation with just the date to be inserted
    – Enter a candidate in each constituency
    – EASILY WIN A MAJORITY OF SEATS AGAINST THE MONKEYS CURRENTLY RUNNING.
    – appoint a business manager as PM and appoint ministers with set specific objectives to achieve.
    – Date and accept the letters of resignation from any found by the Supervisory Committee to be crooked, incompetent or delinquent.
    ….and wunna done know who BORN to chair that supervisory committee…. 🙂
    QED

24. @ Hants
    What would you want to bet that some of those Canadians laid off in Ottawa end up working for Emera Barbados, replacing Bajans in the process….?
    Is this not good planning on the part of Canadians? What will be the fall back position for Bajans?…..sell more assets? …Sand perhaps…?

25. @Miller

Please clarify if BNOC is no making clean profit or if it is still being used to offset P&L losses

26. To my mind, any politician who advocates selling state assets has clearly shown that he is not equipped for the job. They sold BNB minus the burdensome agricultural debt that was carrying it down and it became profitable. They sold ICB that was always profitable to foreign interest in order to get their hands on foreign exchange and for no other reason.

When they say that they will put these loss making entities in a position that they can be sold simple means that Government would absorb the debt and sell the patrimony of Barbados.

27. Unknown to many….my old man was a rocket scientist sojourning at NASA. While living in Los Angles, the family having to up and move like nomads (money matters) I learn’t how our americano brothers of the peace n love generation sought solace in Jimi Hendricks, Billy Preston and a pot pipe…Talk about leisure…. Now that I am back on this rock having seen the world thru the eyes of Marco Polo..I butt up on a Bushie telling me how I will find work in a coffin…Yo Bro Peace n Love……my days of productivity long gone…..the only multiplying I want to see is from my children and even gran children if spared….while we at it tell Stuart to make CLICO release my money so that I can buy a new Bertram and more case of The black….As to Islandgirl ….I don’t know bout that Bushie….like you a ‘coffin’ salesman stud…. take care….whalosss.

28. …..but not Bajans! We expect to sit in a rumshop day after day talking shoite politics, drinking rum and playing dominoes while politicians figure out ways for us to afford BMWs and expensive homes.

bushie dem the kind yuh hangout wid fuh yuh sure seems to known them type well. how about the other 99% you don’t hang wid nun a them. i think the BWU have about 75thousands or more a them and caswell union got a few more and the NUPW you dont seem to know any them yet yuh got all this expertise long term plan about caswell forming some kind of committe i wunda where he going get these productive people from cause the way you put it bajans just like to drink and talk nuff shoite and live off govt and drink plenty rum.

29. i think miller plan for productivity was to grow hemp and export it. but wid he mind on selling state assests that might have been thrown over board in the careenage in bales

30. David BNOC has NOT yet recovered the money owed to it from Arthur’s election gimmick of subsiding fuel cost to Barbadians, I will try to do some searching to see how many more months it is expected to be before the subsidy funding is cleared also you should be aware that in addition to the actual subsidy the cost also incurred BNB Interest charges to carry that subsidy for as long as it was being carried forward qne those interest charges have to be factored into the final cost to BNOC.

31. Privatization a retrograde step

11/18/2012

Anyone who can think of privatizing all of these state agencies at this time of our history cannot have Barbadians at heart. That address that was made to the C.O.C. by the leader of the opposition was the policy statement of the BLP. Privatization is the route they will take if Barbadians elect them to office.

This is a policy straight from the IMF. Search the net and you will see. Notice that they are pushing it in Africa, Asia and South America, in all the poor developing countries It is not what he says that is so bothersome, but what he did not say.

Barbadians in the lower income bracket must understand that privatization will cause an increase in the cost of living. For example, if water is privatized the cost of water will go up. Most of us can live without a telephone, without electricity, without a television and many of the things that we have grown accustomed to. However, nobody can live without water for a very long time. The rich people will not be affected very much, but the poor people are the ones who will suffer most. The old age pensioner and all of us who are among those workers in the lower income bracket.

To attempt to privatize water is to strike at the nerve center of the nation.

I have seen women fight like dogs over water. In years gone by, when the village pipe was off, many of us had to walk long distances for a bucket of water. Maybe the Opposition Leader and his privileged few know nothing about those days. Many of the older Bajans will know what I mean.

The Late right Excellency Errol Walton Barrow and this D.L.P. promised this nation that it was their objective to place running water in every Barbadian home. I do not believe that there are 50 houses in Barbados that do not have running water today. To come in 2012 and tell us that they will privatise water just to reduce the balance of payments is not only a retrograde step, but it shows a fundamental lack of sensitivity for the majority of poor people.

This means that there will be less money to buy groceries and other necessities. Workers will demand more money and employers will layoff people. This will lead to industrial and socal unrest. Is this what you want? Certainly not.

Now let us look at transportation. This is another vital service that poor people need. If bus drivers want to get themselves in debt, and risk losing their homes, that is a matter for them. The thought of selling it to some foreign millionaire is worse. However you look at it, they will have to raise the bus fares to make a profit. After successive governments have built up the Transport Board over the years to what it is, now they want to sell it off? They know quite well the hardship it will cause to thousands of poor working people and schoolchildren, who cannot afford a car.

They know very well that this administration has done an excellent job. They have seen the situation in America, Britain, Italy, Portugal, Spain and Greece. They understand that Barbados has an open economy and the mess that they left. They are just grandstanding.

It is my humble opinion that this has nothing to do with the economy at all. It is just a desperate grab for power. Nothing more, nothing less. What do they care about the old lady in Martins Bay who cannot get a bus, or the old man in Pie Corner who got his tap turned off? The gentleman said that he wants to retire wealthy, for his grand and great grand children.

I hope that Barbadians will see through this façade, and do just like the Americans did on Tuesday November sixth. Give this administration a second term. They deserve it.

M. Savory

32. @ Rational Son
    Like Hell…dog bite ya……like hell……humble opinion sh88t3….man you run like hell and leff me and Miller holding a ice cream bar ( IBC revenues)..and now come in hay asking bout humble….You like you is ona DEM snake oil salesmen, Enuff did warn we bout….a sweet mout….looking to hold we to D last tether……what D rasta..come clean come clean Mr. politician.

33. Rational Son

It is a cruel dishonest joke that has been perpetuated on the people of Barbados by both BLP and DLP. There was never any money owed to BNOC. If you sell a commodity cheaper than you should, the purchasers don’t suddenly owe you anything because you are going broke. This so called subsidy is really a tax in disguise.

Could you point me to the document that created the indebtedness to BNOC?

34. Franklyn I seldom read ingest or digest anything coming from a one man Union and quite honestly had you made a sensible contribution I may have been inclined to respond but you reply above sums up the reason you are a one man union.

I will leave you and your simplistic mind to yourself, if you do not understand the need to recover the subsidy if the BNOC is to survive and carry out the purpose it was set up to carry out it is pointless to try to educated at this late stage of life.

35. Wait Caswie
    How did that fella….fa real? …he sound real intolerant…one way talk..all down….Dat is why we like Sen.Irene and Ms.Sandra… real BU family.True ladies dat doan wanna snob ya just so…..affa all this is we Parliament and David duz call D shots in hay bredds….so go n cool off…

36. Rational Son

If I were bothered by insults, I would be using a pseudonym. I will ask again: could you point me to the document that created the debt in favour of BNOC. When the price of fuel was subsidised there was never any intention to recover the subsidy. It was never in the contemplation of the decision makers. Recovering the subsidy is a hoax that politicians created when they ran out of ideas to raise money. Unfortunately, the present administration was short of viable ideas from the start and carried on with this lie and you are promoting it. Think for yourself man!!!

37. Bags of Salt, don’t get caught up, the one man union official has no serious standing, this is a man that has been fired from every job he has ever had, including being fired and taken to court and charged by Mottley for fraud, can he be taken seriously to give advice or to state a case that someone can trust or take seriously?

The true DNA of all BLP politicians crooked, corrupt and dishonest as hell.

38. Lord help all were we to let you think for us, I think for myself that maybe why unlike you I have never had to face the Courts of anywhere charged with theft my dear fellow.

Continue to live in your fantasy island but trust me everything has a cost attached you should know that what was the cost of the court case to you?

39. Rational Son like a DLP supporter Caswell Franklyn as you a question and for a person who love to bring “facts” all you do is attack the man.

i wonder why?

40. Rational Son

Who is the fraud and liar? I have never been charged with fraud in my life. You are an incorrigible liar: I sued them and won one, the other is still pending. Check your facts, but then again don’t bother, you merely parrot what has been told to you or you descend into abuse. Since that is all you can do ‘buse away.

41. me thinks Caswell has touch a nerve…

42. LOL no worries I have been charged in the LAW Courts and you cannot say the same thing nor have I ever purported to lead a Union who’s membership is the sole person of he himself and he, I wonder if the fear of people having their union dues used for purposes to satisfy the one man union himself maybe the reason he has never received a member outside of himself.

But comes talking a load of his styled nonsense as an authority on every matter under the sun but yet devoid of any substance or reality to the real world.

I say again I do not know what the inside of the law courts look like because unlike you no one has ever charged me for theft and taken me there willingly or unwillingly.

43. Caswell for a man who does not know a lot and talk of shite, you clearly have Rational Son on the run.

44. This summer of laziness started wen people were told to go out and find a job as opposed to creating ur own like our hard working foreparents. Then there was advise of a car in every driveway as opposed to a garden in every backward, more bad advise. Then the polititians think its cute to see people as votes, using the same taxpayers money to garner more votes, voters don’t understand the phenomena of being paid with their own money to vote. Least am glad people are finally understanding where bim is headed, now wat will they do about it except talk.

45. It took the BLP 14 years to incur a DEBT of $4 Billion ..AND WE HAVE MANY ASSETS to show….Kensington, Dodds, 9 schools, ABC Highway,and plenty more infrastructure….while IT ONLY TOOK DLP…. 5 years to increase it by $2 Billion in 1 TERM WITH A SCHOOL and a half done Sin John POLYCLINIC and Four seasons foundation PUSHIN UP BUSH n VINES..TO SHOW…..TELL ME…WHO WOULD WANT TO GO BACK ?

2007…….$4.7 Billion
    after
    2011…….$6.8 Billion

46. bushie now that you have lambasted the male population as drunkards by the way the inheritor to throne of BBE love to sit and drink wine and be among the common people most of whom still respect and revered his teaching and another point of interest in regards to the rum bibbers of today wine isn’t it interesting that wine is the official holy sacrament that is served in the holy of holiest religious organisations, but let me also not to forget to you remind you that you have also demeaned and castigated woman as well so so much for productivity unless you would be content to see women’s role subjected to the kitchen and producers of babies preferably males,

47. It would be good to get some good feedback on this issue espaecially with the politicos in attendance instead of the same rhetoric. Whether we like it or not it is the politicos et al who control our lives.

@Onions

The problem with your last comment is though projects are good none that you listed show great forex generating opportunity which is really the lifeblood of the economy. We can quibble about who accumulated the most debt but it is not the issue here. We have built out an economy built on consumption and debt accumulation can only go exponential from here. A slow down in the world economy has only exposed our vulnerability.

It was interesting to listen to Mascoll yesterday speaking about the USA not experiencing a recession. It was an unrealistic observation when one understands the lack of consumer confidence which still lingers in that market. To use his lingo it is like comparing nominal with real.

48. It was interesting to listen to Mascoll yesterday speaking about the USA not experiencing a recession. It was an unrealistic observation when one understands the lack of consumer confidence which still lingers in that market. To use his lingo it is like comparing nominal with real.

when i heard that asinine statement coming from the mouth of a “socalled learned economist ” i was flabbergasted as the USA fed Reserve bank about a couple days ago told 30 of the largest bank that they should perform a test to see if their institutions can withstand a severe recession going into 2013 which would include higher unemployment and a decline in gross domestic production and a weakening housing market. the BLP effort to downplay the global economic recession in world economies is the same gimmick used to sell Privatisation to the bajan public i guess mascoll think that the only news bajans get is from the nation and his political mouthings as commentary

49. David (Not BU)

I am not worried about Rational Son, he is devoid of substance and elevates himself to abuse to make the points that people are giving him to present. He feels that would scare me off, well good luck to him on that score. But I still need an answer.