Minister David Estwick responded to the privatization debate of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) on the weekend. There are many who believe he should be at the helm of the finance ministry. His blustery delivery on the weekend adds another view to that of Peter Wickham the pollster.

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

When are you going to get your sleuth-like viral hands on the speech given by the Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to the BCCI last year regarding the solution to the intractable burden of transfers and subsidies on the Treasury?
    Once we are in a position to analyze that speech we will then be in a position to evaluate the authenticity and political intrigue surrounding Dr. Estwick’s harangue.

2. It’s about time we be realistic about our polititricians. There are 6 of 1 and ½ dozen of the other.

3. @ millertheanunnaki,

you evah see how real Bajans behave at political mmmm ass meetings?

This is the dumasses season so form not substance counts.

4. ilistened to thatb speech and the more i listened i am cinvinced that Dr. Estwick is dam right. we must have other alternatives and sustainable solutions other than gimmicks and fix tricks to solving our problems . the BLP are a bunch of lazy thinkers who want to make things go away at others expense like employees who would be given the boot and have to become welfare dependants which in turn would make a bad fiscal problem worse and a solution which was intended to help hurting the most vulnerable in our society. Private companies does not have to take up the slack of govt if it is going to cost them a loss . right now if one take a lot at the unemployment in america most of the unemployed comes from the private sector adding to the high fiscal defecit because of govt having to provide a larger safety net meanwhile the private sector service continues to deliver poor service as they are unable to meet the needs of the customer at a faster and efficient wayand at times having one or two employees to carry the workload of six employees and don’t even mention the benefits all but gone.

5. This man can’t understand when he shouts at people in that racous way NO ONE LISTENS? Stupse …a whole lotta noise !!!

6. Bare hot air. What could be wrong with trying to get your population to invest in their own? Instead the DLP is employing the unsustainabe practice of borrowing every month to keep these entities afloat. Grandstanding about UWI and owe them $150m..he can’t be serious.
    These are also facts taken from the IADB Agreement:
    Improving control and quality of expenditure. The objective of this component is to support the GoB efforts to improve the quality and control of the allocation of resources to entities of the general government. The programme will support measures to control the growth of expenditure, which include: (i) containing transfers by rationalising the cost of personal emoluments; (ii) increasing the efficiency of the procurement system by strengthening the procurement framework and; (iii) reducing levels of spending on goods and services.

7. Enuff wrote “What could be wrong with trying to get your population to invest in their own?”

But according to the BLP Bajans suffering. Where will the suffering civil servants get the money to pay for their new jobs…uh mean new investments?

8. Touche’ Islandgirl, the audience was in fright. Now who ever said he was PM material ?

9. We all know how this privatization is going to work if it occurs.

Some rich Bajans with financing from rich foreigners will buy the businesses and offer a scheme like the Williams Industries profit sharing plan.

At the end of the day it won’t mean a whole lot to people making less than $1000 per week.

10. island galThis man can’t understand when he shouts at people in that racous way NO ONE LISTENS? Stupse …a whole lotta noise !!!

island gal isn’t it ironic that both you an estwick are loud mouths but according to you no one listen ‘ touche.

11. @ Hants
    I don’t recall OSA saying when he would start the ‘privatisation’. Were the airport and seaport always attractive investments?

12. St George's Dragon Avatar

Increased volume does not equate to increased knowledge. I hate people who shout.

13. Owen "Mitt Romney" Arthur Avatar
    Owen “Mitt Romney” Arthur

Hants | November 12, 2012 at 7:39 PM |

But according to the BLP Bajans suffering. Where will the suffering civil servants get the money to pay for their new jobs…uh mean new investments?

Bang on target Hants. Only one section will benefit from privatisation i.e the private sector i.e the small conspicuously rich business elite. Cow he bruds Bizzy, Tempro and Jada, Geoffrey Cave, Bernie weatherhead and coolie boy Pete Harris and them licking their chops at Arthur’s divestment plans. Blacks otoh will be poorer minus jobs or government security. Owen Mitt Romney Arthur’s economic plans belong where he belongs the dust bin of history.

14. @ ac
    island gal isn’t it ironic that both you an estwick are loud mouths but according to you no one listen ‘ touche
    Sweet!
    Ya got she good!

15. @ OMRA

Where will the government continue to get the $40m/month from to keep them afloat? Did OSA not say they will be restructured first? I am still waiting to hear if the airport and seaport were always attractive?

16. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

So who should we believe?

17. The bajan model of privatization is for the BARBADOS GOVERNMENT, on behalf of the people, to own, manage and protect the state assets on the people’s behalf.
    These assets have been acquired AT TAXPAYERS’ EXPENSE and therefore BELONG TO BAJANS.

The very thought of divesting these state assets can only reflect a state of national crisis comparable to the situation where one sells the family home because at the moment, it is more important to eat…..and there is no thought for next week.

The problem is that a bunch of incompetent, short sighted jokers, INCAPABLE OF MANAGING THESE ASSETS, managed to assume the role of government and connived to sell off these assets to their allies in exchange for personal kickbacks, SELLING OUT BAJANS in the process.

The very thought of selling state assets to ” Bajans ” is so much JOBBIE that Bushie cannot believe that we are even discussing it. THESE THINGS ALREADY BELONG TO US. only asses would buy their own things from themselves.

Even if we were foolish enough to scrape together what little money we have left after being RAPED by CLICO and buy our assets AGAIN, how will that address the piss poor management that got them in a mess to begin with? The same thieving politicians will still end up (on our behalf) putting their friends in charge….

…..talk about being screwed…….no wonder Peter Wickham is behind this …..

18. Swimming with the hopes of Estwick as PM is useless like a ole panty with a BIG HOLE (size of Bushy head)..in it..whalosss….Now you want to eat ya own( ISGAL)….but she deserving….LOL…just poppin in to laugh at nonsense unlimo

19. AC you should be the last to talk, just check back and see how your many times you have posted talking bare shoite and getting insulted by the BU members. Yuh mout does run like sick a person’s backside. Go back to yuh latrine do!

20. Bush Tea yuh dangerous stinking alligator traitor. Yuh want yuh backside slapping wid a bull pistle!

21. Any time that parents are forced to announce to the family that the family home must be sold so that they can afford food, such parents should concede failure and walk away for the good of the children.

Same with the politicians who have volunteered to be caretakers of our national assets.

22. BarbadosToday page 10 and 11.

Yuh tink Owen was givin Mia an Wickum a lectcha on more ality?

An wunna still tink duh ent nuh conflic uh interest?

23. @ Islandgal
    Why you don’t come up the Hill and slap Bushie wid de thing….. 🙂

24. but listen to MIA trying to simplify the problem as akin to a person with two cars and five houses and can’t pay fuh dem. what she doesn’t understand that one individual problem affects a few but in this case the fall out can affect thousands. fuh god sake this is more than an individual problem this is more complex and can affect the lives of thousands truly surprise at Mia analysis as one who deals with govt budgets and the affairs of running a country

25. Doan worry I gine send Leroy Parris to slap yuh wid he ting!

26. Bushie
    stop talkin shite now….if you got 3 cars and 4 houses ..and no cash to pay the light bill and buy food….what ya gine do….KEEP ALL ? You would have to sell at least a car and a house…to get some cash so as to eat…or you rather die and someday the bailiff (IMF) come fa all ?…GET REAL and stop confusing people like Esssie….we offering a chance for Bajan people to own something….either way we cant go on with the ole way…any you all know it ! Borrowing $40 million EACH MONTH TO PAY SALARIES AND EXPENSES….just can’t go on anymore…we will not sleep on it !

27. ac and Islandgal. wuh happen to senior women’s solidarity and respecting wunna age?
    Wunna gettin on like girls gone wild.

28. On the other side of the coin, it is completely IDIOTIC for a government to adopt a strategy of “keeping people employed” by using national savings to pay salaries to people who are doing nothing useful.

BOTH OPTIONS reflect a bankruptcy of leadership and a complete incompetence to lead.

Where is the hope for a sensible approach….?

29. islandgal246 | November 12, 2012 at 8:52 PM |

AC you should be the last to talk, just check back and see how your many times you have posted talking bare shoite and getting insulted by the BU members. Yuh mout does run like sick a person’s backside. Go back to yuh latrine do!

yuh see what i mean talking about boisterous and rumbustious and offensive! can’t even find room fuh classy ! anyway i will check back wid you at some latter time when yuh stick yuh foot in yuh mouth again.

30. “anyway i will check back wid you at some latter time when yuh stick yuh foot in yuh mouth again.”

AC i am surprised that you are able to speak with your foot permanently in your mouth. Remember you does suffer from foot in mouth disease!

31. Hants …yuh better keep outta dis one. Yuh know yuh like to set fire and den run.

32. island gall ugh ! ugh! what were you saying? NOT LISTENING! yuh talking too loud !

33. @ Onions
    Why do you think that you are an unemployed political yard fowl while Bushie is flush with $$$$$?
    If Bushie had 3 cars and 4 houses and no cash to pay the light bill or buy food, BUSHIE WOULD
    HIRE OUT A CAR,
    RENT OUT A HOUSE,
    CONVERT A CAR TO A DELIVERY VEHICLE,
    EMPLOY A FELLOW TO DRIVE ONE AS A TAXI
    DELIVER PIZZAS
    DELIVER GROCERIES
    ….or any of a thousand other USEFUL work that adds to society and PRODUCES INCOME.

….do you now understand the difference between a successful man and a useless PARRO? …and why Bushie have so many houses and cars?….. 🙂

34. So wait Islandgal….. You got that kind of influence with LP that you could just send he ’bout so?
    …anyway, doan sen ‘e round Bushie if you know what good for you and he….
    If you are so influential you could try sending ac….

35. It is sad that the best plan Owen can conceptualise is to sell assets.

How about import substitution by growing food. It takes about 8 weeks to grow cucumbers,tomatoes and okras.
    Simplistic but doable.

This fixation on living like Amurcans is going to bankrupt wunna.

Bigger house,bigger car and bigger bellies and asses. That is Bajan ambition.

When will real nation builders emerg?

36. Speak for yourself Hants. All Bushie wants right now is to get Islandgal to come up the hill…….

37. PRIVITIZATION must and will happen. The DLP agrees with it. Owen has set a trap for them and the idiots are falling right into it. When Owen finsh with them , they arguments are going to be like powder–soft .

The DLP knows that it is the way forward
    They know it. Owen jump them and they are running helter skelter. Chris Sinckliar saying one thing . Loud mouth Pitbull Estwick saying something different and trying to drown out Owen’ s arguments with loud boisterous noise.

The DLP ALSO HAS PLANS TO PRIVITIZE and if by some chance they were to win the election, they will privitize. I trust Owen to do what he says he would do. I don not trust the DLP to do any thing that they say . The DLP have too many blasted Liars in their ranks. They said that they were going to bring they Cost of Living—–Hello , they raise the Cost of Living

LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS

38. @ Bushie
    HIRE OUT A CAR…… Don’t you need $$$$ to pay for permit?…daaa
    RENT OUT A HOUSE…..Don’t you need $$$ to advertise and fix up the place for rental?..daaaaa
    CONVERT A CAR TO DELIVERY…….$$$$$ needed again ..daaaa

POINT IS……to move from the point your DLP Govt is at today ( borrowing to meet expenses) will require drastic moves and sacrifices, til we can stand once more on our feet….No Bushie…we don’t deal in white rabbits running down holes in the garden….we deal in reality….you should too…who you callin a parro doa ?

39. Jobs gone wid Owen Mitt Romney Avatar
    Jobs gone wid Owen Mitt Romney

Last night the Pit Bull entered Owen Mitt Romney house tore up his fifteen point manifesto in tiny shreds and threw them in his face.

Tonight I delayed a dinner date to listen to Mia tie up she self talking bare shite about somebody owning cars. Is she gunning to lead our country for real?

After hearing genuine articulate politicians Fruendel and Estwick you realise how poorly thought out Owen Romney’s privatisation manifesto is.

Mia left me more in the dark than when she began her car analogy. What arrant rubbish from an overrated clown.

The main difference between USA Romney and Bdos Owen Romney in US Romney looks like a Hollywood starboy with the usual shallow fluff. Bdos Owen Romney look like a big head elf baying at the moon.

40. THEY SAID THEY WERE GOING TO BRING DOWN THE COST OF LIVING—-HELLO ! THEY RAISE THE COST OF LIVING
    LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS

THE DLP ARE FULL OF LIARS
    THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD NOT LIE STEAL OR CHEAT

LIARS LIARS LIARS

THEY SAID THEY WOULD FULFIL 100 PROMISES IN A 100 DAYS

LIARS LIARS LIARS

THINK ABOUT THE LIES THEY HAVE TOLD US .

ESTWICK SHOULD BE IN JAIL FOR BRANDISHING A GUN IN PARLIAMENT AND THREATENING A MAN—–AND THEN YOU ASK WHY PEOPLE IN NEW ORLEANS SHOOTING ??
    PEOPLE LIKE ESTWICK SET THE EXAMPLE. ESTWICK PLEDGE TO UPHOLD THE LAW. HE HAD NO INTENTIONS OF DOING SO ALL THE TIME
    HE IS A LIAR LIAR LIAR
    LIARS LIARS LIAR.

THE EAGER 11 SHOULD BE IN JENKINS, THEY MAD TO KEEP FREUNDEL STUART LEADER OF THEM. FREUNDEL STUART was sleeping for four years. he is now Sleep Walking and talking shite with it

41. LIARS LIARS LIARS LIARS
    DLP ARE LIARS. DO NOT BELIEVE ANYTHING THE DLP TELLS YOU

42. Onions
    You are of course right. Simple minded people can only ever see the problems to successful business. CREATIVE minds can always see ways to overcome such obstacles as getting a permit or renting a house…..but you don’t strain yuhself…
    ??Parro…..? If the cap fits….

Tell Owen fuh Bushie that what Barbados needs is some creativity in finding ways to be more productive. Just creating a waste of time ‘Productivity Council’ or a retarded ‘Office of Public Sector Reform’ does not cut it…. Nor does selling the family silver.
    Any effective leader needs to find ways to balance the standard of living of Bajans with their Productive output…..
    Selling assets or spending down on savings are both PARRO type approaches that will inevitable lead to poverty….

43. It is me the giver of truth Avatar
    It is me the giver of truth

Don’t worry the DLP not going to make anyone pay for their schooling, or their health care, nor their bus rides to school nor will be part of any arrangement that allows people like Mottley to molest and trouble your daughters nor will the DLP rape the Treasury as Arthur has done in the past.

God Bless Mr Freundel Stuart and the DLP and save us from the nasty vice of Arthur and his cohorts in the Biggest Lying Party. The BLP

44. I use to have a lot of respect for the pollster but this party hopping thing is coming across like a politician. Those people I do not trust.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jobs gone wid Owen Mitt Romney | November 12, 2012 at 9:51

One can only hope that the DLP continue to cowardly frighten the electorate into returning them to power and let Poetic Justice be served by the god of privatization.

We will then see the many converts to that faith now parading as anti-privatization hypocrites while at the same time spinning the propaganda web of entrepreneurship and economic empowerment of the masses sitting on $ 8 billion to assist government in relieving its fiscally killing burden of debt.

46. “Hants | November 12, 2012 at 7:39 PM |
    But according to the BLP Bajans suffering. Where will the suffering civil servants get the money to pay for their new jobs…uh mean new investments?”

where did the workers of UCAL get the money to start to that business? i await your answer Mr. Hants.

47. It is me the giver of truth Avatar
    It is me the giver of truth

Oh and one more anyone knows who spread the story about Mottley biting the ladies private part out?

I can tell you that Doc Jerry Emptage saw the lady while being admitted to the QEH and between himself and Owen See Thru Arthur they made good capital and spread the news of Mottleys vicious biting attack (not unlike a Pitbull vicious biting attack) only difference this was a woman being viciously and vulgarly attacked by a female or supposedly a female..

48. David Eswick is making the same mistake that all of the other politicians are making, he is speaking to a house full of the converted. Personally would like to have seen an administration that lead by lead by example, but what got were a group of individuals who were content with traveling around the world with no return for the monies spent and maintaining the biggest cabinet in the history of government (inclusive of junior ministers and executive chairmen); all this yet trying to convince the population that times are tuff and the deficit is understandable. I hate Arthur as much as the next guy but surely these guys have tried extremely hard to dig a grave for themselves.

Anyhow, the issue is not privatization. Privatization is a smoke screen, a diversionary tactic so as to avoid the real issues of Freedom of information, land registration and transparency in governing/ I maintain that my friend Peter is guilty of fueling the fire.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 12, 2012 at 10:13 PM |

You speak with a forked tongue just like that serpent in the garden.
    From one side of your mouth you speak of the futility of it all that everything is already planned out and the seals imprinted by the BBE are broken just ready to witness the escape of the four horsemen of Apocalypse. A philosophy of manifest destiny- Nil Desperandum, Sans Dieu Rien.

From the other corner of your cracked mouth you espouse the need to find solutions to the problems engendered by the practicalities of living in a corrupt system.
    How can you expect bold imaginative ideas and proposals to be given birth and implemented by a corrupt materialistic political system or party? Are you not asking an ant to give birth to an elephant?

Which side of the fence are you standing, Bushie? Or are you like a coward or a wise owl sitting on it? Let us hear from you some workable proposals that an effective leader can adopt to get us out of this mess other than “paro” economics. Glib phrases like “more productivity and efficiency” will not suffice in a climate of stifling public sector ownership and control that would put 1950’s Soviet Union to shame.