Kaymar Jordan

The departure (dismissal) of Kaymar Jordan from the Nation newspaper broke on BU last night, Kaymar Jordan held the position of Editor in Chief at the Nation newspaper.

A scan of today’s Sunday Sun reveals that Kaymar Jordan’s name has been removed from its Masthead. What BU finds interesting is the silence which surrounds her departure. The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) carried the item last night.

A BU source has informed that Eric Smith is currently in charge – Nation staff has confirmed Jordan’s departure but they remain tight lip when asked to divulge the circumstances which caused her departure. Barbadians recall the recent Nation Talkback forum generated controversy when Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart was scathing in his attack about how the session was organized. Was Jordan set up?

BU will continue to follow this breaking development. Surely there is more in the mortar than the pestle?

177 responses to “Kaymar Jordan Booted”

1. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Yardfowls always react with the same childish rant “CBC does do it too”. CBC is used by whatever party is in power and those with not so short memories will remember the evening news being edited at BLP headquarters in Roebuck Street before being sent to the Pine.

The Nation newspaper which was once fearless and allowing both sides in Barbados to be heard is now being manipulated by one political faction to put party over country. We want a Nation newspaper that is truly fair and balanced with Albert Brandford , Clyde Mascoll, Pat Hoyos, Peter Symmonds, Ezra Alleyne, Sanka Price being balanced by those offering differing views.
    It is now very one sided and the one time the Nation newspaper allows a story with noted economists saying that Owen Arthur’s plans are nothing more than gimmicks and would create a financial mess to be published – what a coincidence- the editor is fired.

Barbadians must wake up and see that we have a serious threat of media victimisation being practised by a BLP leader who is acting more like a dictator and less like a statesman. Is this the kind of media victimisation we should vote for in the next election?

2. Against the return of Owen Arthur to the position of PM Avatar
    Against the return of Owen Arthur to the position of PM

WOW! Bee stings getting pull out……ouch

3. @David )not)

The fact that Kaymar is not working at the Nation is news. The reason why she is not is still more news.

4. “Barbadians must wake up and see that we have a serious threat of media victimisation being practised by a BLP leader who is acting more like a dictator and less like a statesman. Is this the kind of media victimisation we should vote for in the next election?”

but in true yardfowl style your party has done little to cub the problem. so does it not stand to reason that we have balance IF the nation is one (BLP) sided and CBC is the same (DLP).

now i for one second don’t believe the Nation is one sided because we have come to see how the DLP deals with anyone who has anything to say which does not say this is the best govt in the world.

but yet we see the BLP trying to buy time on CBC, SPENDING MONEY on a place that cash strap, and they can’t even get that but you have the gall to come here and preach about someone WILL be a dictator if elected? wake up and see the shite you are eating before you digest the whole plate, you joker.

but i will leave you with this one, NationBLPnewspaper. day in day out bajans buy the Nation. the same Nation you say is a political arm of the BLP but those same bajans are turn off the TV at 7.00pm daily. what does that tell you?

believe me when i tell you the story behind why she was “fired” will be in the top 3 stories of the year. be cool star, this can’t hide.

5. While others speculate as to why the lady lost her job, I hold fast to the position that the reason should make no difference.That she was kicked to the kerb so unceremoniously should be the bigger picture here not only for us who so desperately crave frank and fair reporting,but for the other journalists who permit their love of party to trump their loyalty to the profession.I will say it again.THERE IS A GOD.One after another they who seek to mislead his people shall fall.Ras Iley said “Dey Must Answer.” Like Jimmy Cliff,”Time Will Tell.”

6. @David (not BU)

Why the big secret?

Interesting to note with the exception of a brief announcement by the CBC last night all the news agencies in Barbados have been silent.

Is this the professional thing to do?

7. @nATION

TO BE DISMAYED BOTH POLITCAL PARTIES USE CBC, THE NATION NEWSPAPER OWES ITS READERS TO BE FAIR AND BALANCED AND BE OBJECTIVES.

i COULD RECALL WHEN MIA HAD ALL HER LACKIES AT CBC AND OWEN AND GLINE MURRAY USE TO DECIDE WHAT CBC CARRY AS NEWS..

8. Not too long ago Kaymar was the toast of the town with BLP supporters for running with the story about the “Eager 11” now not a word of support from any of them in fact their silence has been deafening. “Lord help me to know my friends, my enemies……”

9. It seems 11 lawsuits were posted against the Nation (too much money paid out) under her brief tenure and this created a situation, plus senior staff were not impressed at her dictatorial stance in light of her seeming youth; they probably got squeezed – held it against her – and let her walk off the cliff without even a sneeze as a warning

10. The Barbadian electorate needs to know if her dismissal was political.

This could be a story for the International press.

11. @Son of Spam

If what you posit is true then there goes the free press!

One would have thought if the Nation has had to payout too much moulah their legal counsel should also come under scrutiny.

Assuming Kaymar passed the marginal stories to legal.

12. Freedom of the press is fundamental to democracy.

13. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

“day in day out bajans buy the Nation” – because the Nation built up a reputation over the years of going after the news story. We had balance – Ezra Alleyne would sing for his BLP supper every Friday while Hartley Henry would give the DLP view. Harold Hoyte, to his credit was a journalist first and a partisan second.The Nation was the place to go for the story. That will not be eroded overnight.

However, in recent years, we have seen the Nation newspaper(since Harold Hoyte’s departure) taken over by a bunch of political hacks putting party first and country second.More and more persons are questioning the credibility of the Nation newspaper and the integrity of its management than at any other time in the paper’s history. That is undisputed.

It is clear that Arthur has resumed his spiteful and vindictive ways – especially towards media practitioners. Every election when in opposition, the BLP promises to privatise CBC and then forgets about it when elected. The same game is being played now.Arthur wants to control every media house in Barbados and Harold Hoyte was the only one who had the balls to put him in his place. That is why he was attacked as a “negrocrat” on the floor of Parliament where he could not respond.
    The people of Barbados will ultimately decide if the dictatorial behaviour of Arthur towards innocent Barbadians is good for our country. The Barbados Association of Journalists is too silent or too afraid.

14. Isn’t the BAJ led by CBC’s Jewel Forde? Now what are realistic expectations here? She probably has a mortgage to pay.

15. OWEN ARTHUR is right for Barbados
    AMERICA removed Sadam Hussein from Iraq and nothing has improved. Sadam Hussein was right for Iraq. Barbados prospered under Owen: Barbados suffers under Freundel.
    Give me Owen. All of you who are looking for a Saint to run this country are not being realistic. No man is perfect ; If Owen cuss a few people in the way that a coach cuss his players, what is wrong with that ? What kind of soft ass people are we nuturing in Barbados. One time people were tough and strong. Our weakness is now even reflected in our cricket-Barbados cricket is now weak because of this–weakness

Havent you all never heard about ” the stiff upper lip” ??

JUST ASKING

Come on cheese balls, grow some real balls and be men and women. A little cussing like a little whipping never hurt anybody except the WEAK and thin skinned

16. For those who have not noticed, the BLP just upped gear and carried its campaign to another level. In addition to some hard hitting radio advertisements (north american style), the Bees are carrying their case once more nearer to the steps of Illaro Court, the official residence of the PM, with a town hall meeting this weekend. The mountain has been moved nearer Mohammed and unlike in the case of Horace’s epic, the Piped Piper may have to be called to quell these mice.

Only a blind man riding backwards on a deaf horse, would fail to see or hear the hype that is going on. It is as if the elections date has already declared and nominations day now a formality for the workers of red. Regardless of the almost nonchalant and demersal demeanor of others, the honey bees are as if on a missions, determined to bring on a close to a lackluster and surely lethargic last act…whether beast, elves or giants.

The call in programs have also ‘got on in things‘. Contributors from both sides, engage daily, with some more like begging than having anything of forth to say. The nation’s only TV station has not been left out. Every night like clock work those deemed relevant are paraded as if an employment fair. It is almost as if the other side is a non issue when it comes to prime time.

On and on, make no bones about it elections readiness is ‘abuzz’ in the air. Those who are caught napping had better keep in a state of readiness, for as Red Foxx used to say “this is the Big one Baby.”

17. Should this week pass without as much as a sound…..Barbados political landscape shall move to another era…..a first……we not taking about conkies either

18. We do not want back Owen Arthur Avatar
    We do not want back Owen Arthur

The BLP can spend the millions of their financial masters in an effort to sway public opinion. It would be nice to know who is donating that money and what they were promised in return. Certainly the money being pumped into the BLP campaign cannot come from the average man in the street.
    The BLP can run ads on every page in the newspaper, have the radio filled with ads and flood the media with all their spin,PR and lies.

The bottom line is that there are thousands of Barbadians who are quietly going about their business with one common resolution:
    ” WE DO NOT WANT BACK OWEN “Mitt Romney” ARTHUR IN BAY STREET”

19. Those ADS cuttin wanna ASS…..DEM sweet sweet…..esp. 10,000 jobs one…”.If ADS be the food of wrath…PLAY ON..give DEM excess of it” ..LOL ! BEST PART UM IS D TRUTH……

20. We do not want back Owen Arthur Avatar

The BLP ads are filled with lies, lies and more lies.
    eg: the radio spot says talks about countries coming out of recession. They do not mention our neighbours – Grenada with 40% unemployment, St. Lucia with 25% unemployment, Jamaica, St. Ktts, St. Vincent all of whom are in IMF programmes, Trinidad with sluggish growth and Europe – the major market for our tourists who are in a double dip recession.
    The BLP lies will not sway independent voters .

The BLP like Mitt Romney will spend millions and lose because “We do not want back Owen Arthur”.
    The money will not buy our votes .

21. Onions,

The Bees sound just as optimistic as the Romney camp.

The Romney camp months,weeks and days before the elections declared :

We on the march to victory….!
    The Whitehouse will be ours….!

Well the whole live to see the shock on his face….when the true results came in on election night.

Owen Arthur and the BLP plight is even worse….Romney was never a President.

Owen Arthur want to return 4 years after Bajans kick him out of office for the shite he was doing.

He returns 4 years later promising the same SHITE…..in most cases even worse.

Bajans ain’t that gullible…..BLP scallywags.

The BEES can keep Owen Arthur.

22. @ Old Onion bags
    Are these advertisements in the press and on the radio in keeping with the Election Regulations ? They seem to be ELECTION ADVERTISING to me . Instead of making the boast you are making you should advise your party that they might be mashing the crease .

23. Carson
    I see ya got a new moniker (name)…[We do not want back Owen Arthur]

Try as ya might ….ya can’t hide the Balaam blood…nor the long bushy tail.,…HE HAW HE HAW….nor that erie bray….whalosss.

Look I flying out again…..BLP operatives ..GIVE DEM HELL…I will B soon back to loose my share….BE SURE OF THAT..

24. We do not want back Owen Arthur Avatar

Why doesn’t Arthur take some of that money he is spending and help the people in Six Mens or do something for the people in St, Peter or the people in Christ Church West who have been negelected and ignored despite their loyalty to the BLP.
    Spend the money Arthur – intelligent Bajans can see right through this. It certainly will not convince anyone to vote for the recycled arrogant BLP candidates like Sandra Husbands or Wilfred Abrahams-
    We do not want back Owen Arthur – spend now and weep on election night.

ohh by the way – Arthur needs to also run some ads explaining to the 7 000 temporary government workers and their families why they will lose their jobs if he gets his way.
    Sanitation, transport board, bnocl and many more – the 15 point plan – bare gimmicks

25. @ Just Wonder

Like you forget the SIGN BOARDS…last elections ……take a hint buster…THE BEST IS YET TO COME……good for the goose…good for the gander….ya faget

26. @ Carson
    You should be shame….ya forget deacons?….best parta..we hear annuda fella of the easterly kine…has promised to loose out $ 1.5 million as pocket change…..it already being treated as a “necessary expense”….WRITTEN OFF DEN !

27. @ old onion bags
    You have not responded to my question ..Is this mass advertising which you boast of within the election regulations ?

28. @ Fractured
    The dropsy like it went viral..I see…How dear waana hold on to the tail coats of an Obama Ride.??..Obama never was ASLEEP….nor a sleeping and fighting Biblical Beast…OH Sh88te…whaloss !
    FUNDY can’t even dream up a Obama shadow ..far less.. be in that calibre…DEMS WIN WHAT?…..26- 4 more lookin like Just Askin…Mona Lisa and Kellyman gine be the next opposition..

29. We do not want back Owen Arthur Avatar

Arthur is bare gimmicks –
    roll back vat – where the money gine come from?

Pay out poilcy holders – the policy holders are not that stupid – Where the money gine come from?

Give Back allowances- where the money gine come from?

Medical Tax credits – where the money gine come from?

500 million tourism fund- where the money gine come from?

Subsidise oil – where the money going come from?

How you gine do this and still pay governments biggest bill – the wage bill unless the BLP planning on send ing home 10 000 – 12000 civil servants.

Bajans are not stupid. It is becoming clearer every day that Owen Arthur and the BLP are doing a lot of criticising but have not put one practical solution on the table – Just gimmicks to try to win votes.

Bajans are not stupid Arthur- you are being exposed as an empty vessel day by day. Even Professor Michael Howard had to say enough of the gimmicks and lies Arthur.
    Spend your millions, Arthur – You will still lose. You had your 14 years – We do not want you back.

30. how are they “mashing the crease”? has the PM call the election?

31. We do not want back Owen Arthur Avatar

Stop the BLP lies Owen ” Mitt Romney” Arthur .
    You could not make the Transport Board profitable in 14 years as Prime Minister but now , all of a sudden if elected ,you will take a magic wand and make it profitable and send the poor workers to the bank and a “sensible” loans officer will lend out the banks money to put in the Transport Board.
    If you beleive that , as David Estwick said last night – Somebody call the psychiatric hospital. That is pure madness.

This is pure BLP lies and gimmicks, typical BLP style. Thank God Errol Barrow educated us so that we reject Arthur’s lies and gimmicks.
    Keep running the lying ads Arthur – the truth remains- We do not want back Owen “Mitt Romney” Arthur.

32. Owen 'Mitt' Romney Arthur Avatar
    Owen ‘Mitt’ Romney Arthur

Owen’ Mitt Romney’ Arthur| November 11, 2012 at 11:52 PM |

Dr. Estwick made the point if Owen sells or privatises transport, education, health etc to the workers (1) where are they getting the money to buy dont forget Owen said the middle class is broke(2) the statutory corporations are bankrupt they exist on government subsidies who buying broke companies (3) privatising transport,education by selling to locals brings zero foreign exchange so this is not a game changer unless he plans to sell down to the last Barbadian asset to foreign interests. We are backing into modern colonialsim.

Owen’s privatisation snake oil is a recipe for economic disaster which like economists Howard, Straughn etc warn shall create chaos because its unworkable gimmickry the end result- thousands of jobs disapppearing not to mention ten fold multiplying of the riches of entrenched business elites.
    The well thought out big infrastructural projects the DLP rolling out coupled with the alternative energy surge is the best way out of the recession. We have to be patient.

Owen’s Mitt Romney gimmicks, policies spell ruin, massive rise in the unemployed, hordes of idle young men on the blocks, crime, a few more rich elites and thousands upon thousands more poor desperate Barbadians. Owen NO! DLP YES!
    Owen’ Mitt Romney’ Arthur is perfect it resonated from day one. Thanks GOP and Mitt. Deal with Arthur new moniker onion when you talk to Joey and Jerome.

33. Carson
    Man you over bearable…STICK TO ONE NAME NAH !

Wait DLP dream up DEM is in the just pass US Elections?

PLEASEEEEE GET A GRIP ! That too is ALL OVER…LOL

34. @ Just Asking
    “No man is perfect ; If Owen cuss a few people in the way that a coach cuss his players, what is wrong with that ?”

What is wrong is that any elected politician is the servant of the people who voted for them, nay, ALL the people! Under those circumstances only the electorate have the place to cuss the politicians – not the other way round!

35. On the matter of ‘mashing a crease’………some belfry dingers….come this week should it pass without…..lookin to lose a 1 run…do the maths

36. DLP = DREAMS LIKE PHARAOHS ( fight beast too) …..that is the next moniker you guys will be remembers as…

37. Fellow citizens, don’t let Goebbels Onions distract you from the primary mission of this thread which is to discover why Kaymar was separated from the Nation. There are many other opportunities for Onions to practice his craft (the restoration of the BLP to power and the subsequent lining of his pockets)

38. Wuh ads cutting ass ha! ha! the BLP first got to cut that PRIVATISATION 12foot rope they tie around them neck . PLEASE,

39. And onions this latest debacle wid Kaymar doesn.t make OSA look good as the perception points to him having mischievous behaviour in this matter onions i got news for you when it comes down to voters choice it is going to come down to TRUST and the leader of the BLP fails miserably in that catergory so all of the four theatrics and drama being heaped on the DLP by the BLP is going to backfire

40. Like wanna DLP Hacks doan want me to catch my plane. I doan believe wanna? Sarge….you ent shame ? To think the firing of an Editor could cause so much dance and prance….Now how poor OSA get in this now?..Musse like how ac ….went behind my back to associate onions wid an article (Are you ready ?) by one gentleman called Amit…..she knew I was away but tried using her guile to dupe the BU family into believing a photo of the goodly gentleman was I…a most shameful act for a lady…..but all this comes wid desperation..Kaymar will find her own level…she is no fool…but you hack are just down right DESPERADOS…..Of more importance is WHY FUNDY FEARS TO RING THE BELL…..that is a real attention grabber don’t you all think ?

41. Onions
    You was away? I thought that you had overdosed on pudding ‘n souse and I was reduced to laughing at my own jokes. Now you are back comedy hour in full swing.

42. Wuh plane ! liar and i still believe that phony picture of Amit was a distractiion cause the article had onions verbose written all over it a tactic the BLP is well known for the same as trying to insinuate that the DLP budget had a hidden agenda of PRIVATISATION .

43. @onions
    i though by now u have recoznized that Mr. Stuart will ring the bell when he thinks fit. So move on and talk about current issues, such as the firing of Kaymar and whether it something to do with her allowing the stories which show owen plans are artificial and connot be sustained.

44. Joke that..
    The longer the time elapsed…the easier the predictability Christmas is 5 weeks away, Estimates must be debated and passed …..this week is crucial ..we await….We are focused on what you would like us to not to be ….time will soon run out….the bell is in hand…so cut the crap…..dreaming time ova

45. @Ac
    owen is accustomed to such behaviour. When Reudon was at the advocate he ensured that he got fired, in fact he used to call the man on the phone and cuss he when an article that was written was not in favour of the government. In fact he told him that he was going to ensure that he did not fine a job in barbados. hope he does no do the same thing to kaymar.

46. equal rights and justice Avatar
    equal rights and justice

what is the difference
    between Owen and sinkler??

47. owen is short and small, sinclker is tall and huge

48. Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance Avatar
    Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance

Two quick points the FIRING of Kaymar Jordan it could not have happened to a more deserving person, we’ll done for her, maybe now Arthur can find a job for her maybe he will replace Mr Mottley with a real woman and not a man in a woman’s body.

Secondly I wonder if any of you know that the BLP are running afoul of the laws of this island by the placement of these advertisements at this time outside of an election period?

49. Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance Avatar
    Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance

Arthur was a liability going into the last election and he is an even bigger liability going into the next election, he was spoken about the last time as a corrupt tiefing leader now there is no doubt that he was corrupt the evidence is presented as the owner of Portico if in exchange for his Town and Country Planning Permissions if he was not told by Arthur that he had to pay to Hallam Nicholls $ 1, 000,000.00 yes $1 Million dollars to he Arthur before his TCP would be issued!

He was met at the Bush Bar and instructed by Arthur that this was the fee he needed to be paid to get his TCP permission approved, a sick case of a corrupt poltician at work in his own interest.

And if Kerrie Symmonds is anything to listen to he has said in the past that the DLP blames Arthur for all the corruption but we ought to blame Mottley that he believes that Mottley stole just as much from taxpayers as Arthur did.

50. Mr. Caring
    what you are saying about arthur, it is true?