Prime Minister Stuart and President Obama about to face the electorate

Bajans can’t wait to wade into the election euphoria now in its Christmas season in the United States and elsewhere. Not all Bajans though, for there are some of us who, in fact about 50% of us, have consistently NOT voted for either one of the two dominate parties in what are generally called western democracies. But this factoid has never alarmed the protectors of these pernicious political duopolies. We are told that the un-voted don’t count. Moreover, with the possible exception of Australia and a few other countries, where there are civil fines for choosing not to exercise a so-called democratic right, most people everywhere have acted with their feet and the determination that elections are merely window dressing to obscure the operational requirements of fascism as the dominate and underlying system of governance.

The American election system from at least the Reconstruction period has been synonymous with high-tech fraud. It is American which gave us the lexicon for election fraud whether to illegally overthrow a government or to maintain a compliant regime – at home or abroad. They gave us words such as ‘gerrymandering’, ‘redistricting’ and ‘robocalling’. A documentarian has remarked that when the American fossil is dug up our descendants will be left to wonder why so many people were running around talking about democracy when in fact few people benefited from the actions of party political actors operating across epochs. Strictly speaking the United States of America is not even a democracy. But you can’t tell that to the masses of the people who are enthralled by the religiously emotional diatribes of leading Democrats and Republicans. The political science literature tends to consider the American political system as a poliocracy. But very few would be aware of this. And even if they were, would it make a difference? Yet, for over a century the marketing of ‘democracy’ (as a political system) has intentionally misled several generations to view the Anglo-American political constructions as worthy of emulation.

The pantomimes that are the RNC and DNC conventions represent the highest levels of mass disinformation. These directed to a population that already exhibits a staggering level of ignorance in several critical areas. The political operators, behind the scenes are reliably acting in the interest of big money men, have reached levels of excellence that evaded their intellectual forefather Joseph Goebbels. Enter Michelle Obama! With a representation of Barak Obama as a human being when in fact this is the man who saw Palestinian children dying for days under the bombardment of Israeli bombs, supplied by America, dozens of times in the past four years alone – this is now a continuing normalcy for this ‘kind’ father and husband. It is Obama who continues to engage in illegal and clandestine wars in Yemen, Syria, Iran, Pakistan, Somalia, DRC and elsewhere. To him these are smart wars where other people do the dying. It is the sweet smiling Obama who could be making after dinner speeches and telling jokes while at the same time having drones bomb innocent men, women and children in their beds as he prosecutes a so-called war on terror in a more perverse fashion that Bush, himself. Are these the fruits of a political democracy? Quite frankly, the presidency of the United States is by definition a criminal enterprise forcing anyone who finds himself in office must, of necessity, be prepared to commit more crimes than misdemeanors. If the American people can’t stop Obama from committing crimes in their names, what is the utility of democracy, elections or voting anywhere? The Mormon alternative will be no better. So what is this foolishness about, again? It is a corruption that could never be constructed to serve all the people.

In the Caribbean it is difficult to detect more than a modicum of progress as measured strictly by the actions of political actors. We contend that any progress made by Caribbean peoples is primarily a function of their historical struggles – not the efforts of politicians. Jamaica has settled into the new window dressing as a result of the changes made during the most recent political season. In Barbados the party goers can’t wait to attend the several nightly meetings of the two political tribes. Like religious devotees 50% of the Barbadian voting age population is eager to go to the polls. 25% of them may be thinking that some snake oil economic salesman will make a difference in their lives and let them into economic nirvana. The other 25% could be made to think that the incumbents are to be given another chance to better serve corporate interests. In a real democracy the silent majority (the non-voting 50%) should be asked to form the next government – ah lie? This maybe better than having minority rule forever – as is the case in Barbados. However, in all cases and whether the DLP or BLP wins, 3000 or 4000 votes will be the difference between the parties. Let the people who don’t vote form the first truly majoritarian government, everywhere (LOL).

Well, if this idea is unacceptable what about letting a corporation be the President of the USA or Prime Minister of Barbados. In the USA all operators within the election system must bow down to the moneyed interests. A recent Supreme Court decision gave corporations and wealthy individuals the right to donate an unlimited amount of money to candidates and campaigns with zero transparency – no accountability. Therefore, we now have about seventeen billionaires donating billions of dollars in a fascist attempt to openly control their government. Yuh think these elitist criminals joking? Yes, it has long been their government! Of course this has been happening in Barbados for years, illegally. But now for the first time the pretense about democracy is being discarded for all to see. You say you like democracy and that you have a good argument for voting for these criminals and having elections. So why can’t we have the name of a corporation, being a separate legal entity, with its name entered on the ballot, be voted for and do all the other things a normal human being would do, if elected (selected)? The dying election system in Barbados is no less bought or paid for by local but petite corporate elites. They are also sponsoring their minions for the whole interregnum between elections. This must qualify as the worst form of political prostitution. We still have people like Peter Boos trying to shape the political landscape with money from a hidden hand. Why can’t this real hidden hand come forward and stop corrupting the political culture – as corrupt as it is already? Or why not let him or his company be Prime Minister of Barbados – no? No wonder no future government of Barbados will ever have real controls on election spending and transparency legislation. In the final analysis these undemocratic structures in Barbados are a function of a slavish obeisance to Empire.

30 responses to “The Uselessness of Elections for the 99 Percent Everywhere”

1. Please don’t put Freundal and Barack in the same sentence……please don’t do that…..please

2. @Pacha

Killing Palestinian children?

When the cause is just the Obamas, Camerons well say civilian casualties is acceptable collateral damage.

3. You were making sense until you descended into stupidity by suggesting that the non voters should form a government. We badly need an alternative to the system that operates now as it only serves to enrich a few at the expense of the masses. We don’t need “Lol”: we need enlightened discourse to bring about change.

4. @ Caswell Franklyn
    The slavish mentality that you have always displayed can only operate with the parameters given to you by your masters. For Caswell can only bite when has masters say bit and he can only bark with his masters’ permission. That you fail to see that any creative writer has the poetic license to inject banter, sarcasm, comedy any other devices into a serious discourse is symptomatic of the closeted mentalities of the quintessential bajan. That Bajan must die for us all to live.

5. When the cause is just the Obamas, Camerons well say civilian casualties is acceptable collateral damage.

Interesting that CNN’s international service, over the protests of their own staff, recently canned the airing of a documentary which exposed the human rights abuses and extreme violence (including torture, shooting at unarmed demonstrators etc.) practiced by Bahrain’s government against protesters and pro-democracy activists. Apparently some Bahrainis got a bit giddy headed and thought that the Arab Spring was for them too, and not just the Arab countries on the USA’s and Israel’s hit list.

Former Reporter Amber Lyon Exposes Massive Censorship at CNN

The Amber Lyon story is just the latest in a series of articles that expose the total Joseph Goebbels like censorship rampant in mainstream media today. The first one I posted several weeks ago exposed how the NY Times basically just regurgitates whatever government officials tell them, while the other showcased how an NPR reporter covering D.C. had to leave and do her own thing out of frustration. This is precisely why alternative media sites are taking off. They provide the only outlets left for genuine journalism.

So back to Amber. Back in March 2011, CNN sent a four person team to Bahrain to cover the Arab Spring. Once there, the crew was the subject of extreme intimidation amongst other things, but they were able to record some fantastic footage. As Glenn Greenwald of the UK’s Guardian writes in his blockbuster article from today:

In the segment, Lyon interviewed activists as they explicitly described their torture at the hands of government forces, while family members recounted their relatives’ abrupt disappearances. She spoke with government officials justifying the imprisonment of activists. And the segment featured harrowing video footage of regime forces shooting unarmed demonstrators, along with the mass arrests of peaceful protesters. In sum, the early 2011 CNN segment on Bahrain presented one of the starkest reports to date of the brutal repression embraced by the US-backed regime.

Despite these accolades, and despite the dangers their own journalists and their sources endured to produce it, CNN International (CNNi) never broadcast the documentary. Even in the face of numerous inquiries and complaints from their own employees inside CNN, it continued to refuse to broadcast the program or even provide any explanation for the decision. To date, this documentary has never aired on CNNi.

More at:
    http://blog.alexanderhiggins.com/2012/09/05/reporter-amber-lyon-exposes-massive-censorship-cnn-180081/

6. Pacha etc. “pernicious political duopolies.”

Dear Pacha etc. What is a pernicious political duopolies.

7. @Pacha etc. “mentalities of the quintessential bajan. That Bajan must die for us all to live”

Dear Pacha: No this Bajan will not die so that you can live. Because this Bajan does not care whether you live or not. If you juck your hand in this Bajan’s face, this Bajan will brek’ it off.

Good.

8. It seems after 3-days of the Democrat Convention Obama is being seen as the frontrunner to repeat.
    Perhaps some should wait until Romney begins to spend all the campaign monies he has collected first.

9. Obama/osama/all puppets.feudel ape with a suit on.
    who cares.
    if Ron Paul does not win America and barbados done.
    barbados done any way as tourist don’t want ,remarks,lewd,dirty ,people bothering them at every level.and that is what barbados is.
    Ron Paul is the only hope for USA but has been blocked by the top banks
    as banks rule the world.ALL are a slave for life to the banks.
    it is where you borrow from and it is where you keep your money
    witch indirectly actually is not yours really BUT A SYSTEM TO KEEP YOU ENSLAVED.

10. Pacha and Green Monkey … my favorite people … 🙂

11. Reggae music is the only solution

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@BAFBFP | September 7, 2012 at 11:53 AM |
    We were of the view that Dennis J was also a main man.
    But after today when he set you up to be “unveiled’ by the other Dennis the Menace ideas Kill(er) man he would probably be off your Xmas list with Peter Wickham in his place. (LOL!!!)

Do you think that the Dennis the one who boasts to be a jack of all trades knowing the difference between a tiger shark and a blue peter shark as a result of the way each bites at the bait on the hook should also know that the most important man in selling goods, manufactured items or financial services like insurance in a niche market as opposed to a mass market is the SALESPERSON in spite of all the marketing and merchandising. Salespersons are by nature merchandisers.
    Mr. Herbert, what do you have to say, BAF?

13. Miller;

I hear the man on the program today too … man he think just like me fah trut’ … But how could Kellman get pun the program and’ try to expose the man … Stupse. Now that has got to be a threat (“I know who you is, so tek note …!”). Miller the value of the seller/agent/foot soldier in introducing new products and exploring new markets is paramount. And what Kellman and others would NOT say is that the process of reserving key Government positions (particularly flagship operations like the BIDC, BTA, Invest Barbados and the NCF) as reward for patronage is f*ckin’ this country up BIG time …! Dennis J’s nickname is Teflon …

🙂

14. Uncounted: The New Math of American Elections (Full Version)

This controversial feature length film by Emmy award-winning director David Earnhardt examines in factual, logical, and yet startling terms how easy it is to change election outcomes and undermine election integrity across the U.S. Noted computer programmers, statisticians, journalists, and experienced election officials provide the irrefutable proof.

UNCOUNTED shares well documented stories about the spine-chilling disregard for the right to vote in America. In Florida, computer programmer Clint Curtis is directed by his boss to create software that will “flip” votes from one candidate to another. In Utah, County Clerk Bruce Funk is locked out of his office for raising questions about security flaws in electronic voting machines. Californian Steve Heller gets convicted of a felony after he leaks secret documents detailing illegal activities committed by a major voting machine company. And Tennessee entrepreneur, Athan Gibbs, finds verifiable voting a hard sell in America and dies before his dream of honest elections can be realized.

View documentary on line at:
    http://undergrounddocumentaries.com/uncounted-the-new-math-of-american-elections-full-version/

15. USA is the land of litigation, why no serious challenge to the result?

16. David
    After posting those videos in a vacuum could we expect a follow up commentary?
    You can start by reading the attached

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_strategy

17. @Sargeant

Received the vid in the mail and posted it to get a fact check. You are correct it should have been introduced.

18. David

History continues to evolve, the Republican Party used to be the Party of choice for Blacks in America but if Lincoln came back today he wouldn’t recognize his Party. He would learn another word, in his day the derogatory term was “Carpetbagger” , today he would find that his Party is infested with another kind of “bagger” i.e. “Teabagger” and he would wonder what happened as those were the very people he fought against in the US Civil War ( he would likely say the War between the States).

It’s easy to string a bunch of clips of events to try and make a persuasive case for Black people to support the Republican Party but this narrative stopped sometime in the 60’s. He didn’t mention how Democrat Truman integrated the Armed Services and Democrat Kennedy introduced Civil rights legislation. He didn’t mention the Southern Strategy that the Republicans adopted under Nixon which still remains advantageous for the Republicans today. He didn’t mention that until John McClain every Republican candidate made a pilgrimage to Bob Jones University in South Carolina (google Bob Jones U and see where it stood re Segregation). It’s not healthy for Black people to throw their support behind one Party but who would join a club where they are not wanted?

In 2004 John Kerry selected an obscure politician with an exotic name to deliver the keynote address at the Democratic National Convention and the rest is history. The fact that he was Black didn’t make any difference as the Democrats had the majority of Black votes locked up, and as his star rose the Republicans started a “dog whistle” campaign against him which has continued up to this day. Do you know that in a recent poll 27% of Ohioans (hope I got that right) believe that the President wasn’t born in the USA) perhaps that percentage reflects the thinking across the board for the Republicans as a whole. Do you know that Mitt announced his intention to run before Barack was even sworn in? Why would Romney joke about his birth certificate if he didn’t think that it would resonate with a certain block of voters? John Sununu a former Governor and US senator and who was GW Bush’s Chief of Staff recently said “I wish this President would learn how to be an American”. The Kansas State Objectors Board led by the State Attorney General (Republican) was considering a request from a constituent to remove Obama from the ballot in that State on the grounds that Barack was not born in the USA( the petition was withdrawn yesterday).

Lastly, MLK was a Republican did anyone ever tell Evan Mecham that?
    And the beat goes on, but the worm is slowly turning.

19. in the past white republicans and white democrats were racist against blacks

20. Despite a dithering Romney based on recent polls the race between Obama and Romney is a statistical dead heat. What does it say you ask?

21. David
    Statistical dead heat? Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades. Obama is still leading in the so called “swing states” which will decide the election as Texas will vote Republican no matter what Romney says just like New York will vote Democrat.

The Republican Establishment has long thought that Romney was a bad candidate (former Governor of Massachusetts) one of the most liberal States in the US so they had doubts about his Conservative credentials. They thought that he would be unable to carry the fight against Health Care which is similar to the legislation he implemented in Mass. He had a head start against a weak field and was able to raise a considerable amount of money from rich donors who were enthralled with his perceived economic prowess but even on that front Obama is catching up with him (according to the Polls)

Is the Romney campaign in panic mode? Wait for the inevitable books after the election, just goes to show you may be rich but political smarts can’t be bought.

About Romney’s penchant for putting his foot in his mouth? I am reminded of former Gov of Texas Anne Richard’s remarks about George HW Bush at the Democratic Convention in 1988. She said ” Poor George he can’t help it, he was born with a silver foot in his mouth” .

Willard has both feet in.

22. @Sargeant

The polls have a 5% margin of error which means with a 5% lead it is possibly no lead to someone in the world of stats.

23. David

Beyond the numbers look at the trends, Obama is trending up while Romney is trending down. The latest poll was taken before Romney’s recent comments , next week’s results should be interesting.

The NBC/WSJ poll shows the lead among likely voters to be 5% and the margin of error is 3.6% plus or minus not sure where your 5% came from.

http://firstread.nbcnews.com/_news/2012/09/18/13944838-nbcwsj-poll-obama-leads-romney-nationally-by-5-points?lite

24. @David
    I said this week’s poll will be interesting and the numbers are in, Obama’s lead in some of the “swing” States where the Election will be won or lost is beyond the margin of error. The pundits are still saying Romney can turn this around (the pundits have newspapers to sell and TV shows that they want people to tune into) but short of Obama making some tremendous blunder in the Debates or Michelle turning up with a black eye, Romney is toast.

Stick a fork in him, he’s done

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-250_162-57520341/poll-obama-opens-substantial-leads-in-key-swing-states/

25. @Sargeant

Things seem to be trending nicely for Obama at the moment but…

26. At least Sarge there seems to be someone else who is willing to view the Democratic party in balanced and unblinkered eyes and expose its fraudulent activity against the very same Afro-American community upon whose vote they rely.