Submitted by Barbados Election Watch
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

One can now be left in no doubt that the Nation Newspaper has set itself the agenda of getting rid of Prime Minister Stuart at all cost. On more than one occasion, contributors to this blog have drawn attention to the unmistakably biased approach of that paper towards the Prime Minister of Barbados. It would seem thatย  whatever he does, or fails to do, no matter that he conducts himself with the highest level of decorum, and honesty he can be the subject of some form of ridicule . Very recently noted historian andย  veteran trade unionist Mr Robert Bobby Morris drew attention to the way the Prime Minister was depicted by the paper when it sought to comment in a front pageย  article on the results of the CADRES poll . Mr Stuart the tallest of the persons presented in a form of picture chart , was made to look like some puny midget in a straight-jacket while the others , of shorter stature , were much more favourably presented. Other persons have been commenting on the kinds of photos of Mr Stuart that the paper has been recently using in its efforts to ridicule him in some form or fashion .

Today however, the newspaper has done its worst. The BIG BOLD HEADLINES IN RED SCREAMED …” NOT A WORDโ€. BHTA head says PM has not responded to request for meeting “It was a story by a Gercine Carter in which the paper has outdone itself in its efforts atย  vilification . The Prime Minister was being ” rapped for failing to respond to a Barbados Hotel Association ( BHTA ) request for an urgent meeting to discuss theย  plight of the Island’s vital tourism industry “. It went further to state that “the Prime Minister’s priorities were yesterday called into question by the outgoing president of the BHTA, Colin Jordan, who pointed to Stuart’s promptness in meeting with Cuban ex-convict Raul Garcia at Dodds Prison recently, while a letter requesting the meeting more than two months ago had not been acknowledged to date “.

Those of us who were prepared to reason beyond the superficial immediately asked ourselves a few questions :

1. Is there not a Ministry of Tourism and a Minister of Tourism to whom this letter could have been addressed? Certainly it cannot be expected that every single request for Government intervention must be addressed to the Prime Minister. And is it not a fact that the Prime Minister’s intervention in the Garcia matter was triggered by the fact that he is the Minister of Defence and security?
  2. Is this not the same Colin Jordan who was a prospective BLP candidate for one of the constituencies who was being given a chance by a partisan and unprofessional rag and a partisan organisation of the BHTA who was once led by Colin Jordan’s present boss Peter Odle now the senior collector of funds for Owen Arthur second only to Hallam Nichollsย  and was it not only designed to score a political point?

But the charge became even more serious. “Jordan said that Presidents and past presidents of the association had come together and had written to the Prime Minister requesting anย  urgent meeting to discuss the plight of the hotel sector and tourism in general. After two and a half months we are still awaiting that requested urgent meeting with the Prime Minister”, Jordan said. “I believe that the situation where full service hotels are concerned is far more urgent than the situation with Mr Garcia “.ย  This story was certainly meant to depict the Prime Minister as a leader who had no idea of what the priorities in the decision making process should be; it was a rude censure.

However, lo and behold, the news on the sister medium VOB boomed out at 12 : 30 pm. ..The outgoing President of the BHTA Colin Jordan said he was misquoted by the Nation Newspaper; the Prime Minister DID IN FACT ACKNOWLEDGE THE LETTER .

We must therefore ask AGAIN: How could a newspaper reporter who represented herself as being present at that annual general meeting GET IT SO WRONG ? Or, was it a deliberateย  piece of mischief by the newspaper itself to wilfully avoid the facts as part of its crusade of vilification of Prime Minister Stuart? On this occasion it would have found a willing ally inย  Colin Jordan.

Whatever it is, we are here presented with another opportunity whereby we must say to the Nation Newspaper ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. We must not stand for anymore of this unseemly conduct from a newspaper which depends upon the support of the public for its survival .

THE NATION MUST BE CENSURED.

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“THE NATION MUST BE CENSURED.”
    By whom may I ask?
    Would you like to see the Nation newspaper โ€œcensuredโ€ by โ€œcensoringโ€ it?
    Are you suggesting that the Press should be censored?
    When Freundel Stuart admits that he made a huge blunder in unreservedly backing CLICO and its management in the Parliament of this Country we will be prepared to listen to the likes of you.
    At this moment, just remember that PM Stuart and the likes of you are our servants and not our masters. So back off, will you!

2. If I am not mistaken the Min of Small Business said on the radio today that the BHTA was in constant communication with the Min of Tourism. The inference of course, is that Jordan is trying to publicly embarrass Min Sealy by claiming that the meetings required higher authority … Now this is something completely different and speaks to the transparency of Jordan and the effectiveness of Sealy. This is NOT good either way. Jordan parting action is inappropriate …!

3. @BAFBFP

What is interesting about this little eruption is the fact several past presidents felt constrained to sigh ‘the letter’. Did Jordan say 11?

Can’t agree with censure of the media at all. The call must be for professionalism!

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Colin Jordan is just a wimp. He was a “yes’ man and said nothing against the policies or actions of the BTA or Ministry of Tourism when he was the incumbent President. The likes of him go along with the crap and keep their mouths shut when reaping the sweet rewards that go with “position”. A true house “N”. When he was a pseudo top dog the Government was doing OK in helping the tourism industry. People of his ilk should be dismissed when they are relegated to just “one of us”.

Go take a long dose of Epsom salts Mr. Jordan, you are no longer relevant to the Industry.

5. Nor I David, but the desire to criticize lowly reporters when a cursory understanding of the newspaper business is enough to know that nothing reaches the streets without the intervention of an editor, I think is unhealthy …!

I think it should have been Jordan that should have been censored, the other presidents would be wary of this.

6. Of interest also is the fact Jordan would not have seen the need to mention that the PM’s Office acknowledged the request for a meeting. A careful response to avoid the appearance of being political would have seen the need to utter a more transparent statement.

7. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

Jordan was purely political.
    Just another “official” gathering where the lead speaker shoots off the cuff and embarrasses the government.

The Nation is doing what the Nation does. At least they are consistent in their bias and unprofessionalism.

the wagons have circles, the torches are being lit. It’s up to the government to either pull out the fire hoses or wait to see if (when) an advance will come. Time to man up.

8. @The Nation Critic,
    “Is this not the same Colin Jordan who was a prospective BLP candidate for one of the constituencies who was being given a chance by a partisan and unprofessional rag and a partisan organisation of the BHTA”………………….

You speak of what you do not know. Colin Jordan is a staunch Adeventist and would therefore not get involved in elective politics.

9. The Nation Critic is again being very wrong in accusing the Nation. Mr Jordan initially said that there was no response from the PM, he came back later and issued a clarifying statement, perhaps somebody got to him. But he did say that there was no response from the PM and there was much laughter when he mentioned Garcia.

The BHTA leans DLP, I dont know what you trying to imply.

10. I have been following this pulling down of DLP Prime Ministers by the Nation for a long time. They have done it to Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford and now Freundel Stuart.

This Guyanese editor has no respect for the Barbados Prime Minister. She even taunted him in an editorial where he had said that the Nation is his favorite newspaper. Donโ€™t tell me about no Caricom citizen because I am like Richard Hoad Barbados for Barbadians.

Barbadians have allowed people from other countries to reset our standards of decency.

Mr. Stetson Babb on todayโ€™s brass tacks said that no journalist decides to slant a story to suit any political party and he will defend them. He must be joking and insulting our intelligence. Well Mr. Babb you cannot be speaking of Kaymar.

The Prime Minister must recognize that he must go on the attack and stop letting people haul his Name all through the mud without defending himself.

Owen Arthur said it clearly Bajans like a leader who drive fear in people. No one on this this blog can dispute that. They take kindliness, honesty and decency as weaknesses.

11. old onion bags Avatar

So wait this is what it come to now…..wanna getting so much licks ..that you all got to resort to fear tactics ? Clone you losing it…what “drive” what fear what into people ?…. you is Adolf Hitler now ?This admin did a lousy job for we the people and you want everybody to give praise…Is this Poland ? You better get a grip Mr.Pinochet….we aint Peru…nor USSR…look outside again and see…Shame on you clone…shame on you.

12. Onions
    In the interview in the Nation Mr. Arthur said that people must fear a leader and Dr. Estwick could not have tried that with him.

This is no short memory person as you feel all Barbadians are.

13. The Dems are desperate, expect any and all kinds of outbursts from them and for them to blame everybody, it is not their fault.

In the meanwhile, unto more important things, we would still like to know what Hal Gollop was doing in Canada with the PM? In what capacity was he there? Were his expenses covered by the taxpayers, if so, we should know!

14. It is clear that Mr Jordan was responding to the fact that the PM had not indicated when he would met the body. An acknowledgement of the letter was not enough for the Tourism President since he indicated how urgent and necessary it was for the PM and the group to meet. Your rag here is out of place and I would have expected you to recognise that Mr Stuart was a lot tardy in meeting the present and former presidents of the BHTA . You cant be wrong and yet right. Bearing in mind the strategic position of Tourism and the need to give the PM first hand in your face info then two months would be far too long . This is Barbados not any fly by night club. If you are going to meet then say so . Commom courtesy would demand it , Think on these things

15. Clone,
    Has it dawned on you that Dr Estwick knew that he could threaten to resign and that nothing would be done because the PM is perceived as weak, indecisive, incompetent, slow, has no control over his party and out of touch with the ordinary man?

16. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

as far as i am concerned, that article made the PM look like a sensible man, meaning that it highlighted the fact that yet another company wants to beg the government for money to prop them up and the PM answered with silence, which is good. just like Redject and it’s hidden agenda, i.e. to make govt and people of Barbados feel obligated to fund the airline but it did not work. good job for the PM

17. old onion bags Avatar

Ok Smooth Chocolate…..let’s assume the PM continues to disc all request for aid …and stands firm till the end..then one day ..elections bell ring ..what den ?……Good Job Mr. PM…and goodbye.

18. old onion bags Avatar

Don’t you think the No.1 Revenue Earner Past President deserves at least an ear….? When last you went down town ? Everybody is crying out…these IMF measures aint EZ……

19. Did Jordan indicate why he and the former BHTA presidents felt they should meet with the PM and NOT Minister Sealy?

20. It just don’ mek nah sense. Stuart is Min of security so the Cuban prisoner will form part of his direct responsibility … (also he become real high profile too yah, and PM luv spotlights)

21. The BHTA has a long history of telling governments how to run Barbados. Somewhere along the line BHTA presidents and their cohorts reckoned that because tourism is the leading earner of foreign exchange they dont have to face the electorate like politicians instead they just summon the media and order government what to do not only in tourism but every other sector.There is a Miniser of Tourism in the Cabinet he is the BHTA’s conduit to the PM. There is also the Social Partnership of which they are prominent members. My grouse with the BHTA is the negative fixation. I’ve never heard the BHTA once give a favourable or uplifting even feel good report. Their guiding philosophy is criticism. Never heard them report Barbados had a good season or year in tourism yet a glance around the region shows Barbados to be consistently a top performer. The BHTA is very political its a stretch to believe they are in the corner of the DLP.

22. Smooth Chocolate,
    It was the PM himself who said when he was in Washington that he was going to look favourably at the Redjet request. Not the BLP. Remember he made the comment about sore nipples. The PM gave the people false hopes and his word was not his bond which seems to be a common thread with the PM.

This whole Redjet fiasco has been mishandled from day one. From what I can see, the investors were misled by the Minister responsible who was wined, dined and used the man’s luxurious vehicle to explore Ireland, he made promises he could not keep and when the road got rough, the minister could not deliver.

For this the minister should be fired, ministers should not be using their offices to get private holidays from potential investors. They would be put in a position where their principles would have to be compromised.

ac, what say you on this, was this corruption or a compromise of principles!

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodi
    When the fire gets too hott…..ac does ease out the kitchen.

24. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Election Watch ” NOT A WORDโ€. BHTA head says PM has not responded to request for meeting โ€œIt was a story by a Gercine Carter in which the paper has outdone itself in its efforts at vilification . The Prime Minister was being โ€ rapped for failing to respond to a Barbados Hotel Association ( BHTA ) request for an urgent meeting to discuss the plight of the Islandโ€™s vital tourism industry โ€œ.

Please explain why it is vilification to say that the PM had not responded to a request for a meeting.

Even though of course the BHTA should be meeting with the Minister of Tourism.

Quoting Election Watch “Whatever it is, we are here presented with another opportunity whereby we must say to the Nation Newspaper ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. We must not stand for anymore of this unseemly conduct from a newspaper which depends upon the support of the public for its survival …
    THE NATION MUST BE CENSURED.”

Who is the “we” in the paragraph above?

Are you sure that “we” are on board with you and the PM?

What if we the public think that the Nation is essential for the survival of democracy in Barbados? What if we the public are happy to support the Nation, even if the Nation’s reporters sometime err?

What if we the public refuse to throw out the baby with the bathwater?

Just Asking, with sincere apologies to the real JUST ASKING.

25. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting millertheannunnaki “Just remember that PM Stuart and the likes of you are our servants and not our masters. So back off, will you!”

And just in case Owen and his boys think we don’t mean them, let’s remind them also “you are our servants and not our masters”

26. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Clone “Owen Arthur said it clearly Bajans like a leader who drive fear in people”

Dear Clone: Neither you or Owen Arthur can speak for me.

27. Someone on this blog raised the point about the PM meeting with the Cuban former and still prisoner and disclosed that the PM was the Minister responsible for security. Wasn’t a solution for the Gonsalves impasse announced several weeks ago? Didn’t the papers publish a picture of the secure facility where he would be housed? What is preventing the PM from implementing the solution?

It can’t be all that difficult to get the Cuban into the facility provided and get adequate guard resources to ensure as far as posible that he abides by whatever arrangements and agreements are made and keep adequate track of his movements. If he leaves the facility under his own steam and somehow reaches some other country it seems to me that the matter will be solved as far as Barbados is concerned. If he leaves and becomes involved in some lawbreaking situation in Barbados he could then be tried and if found guilty be remanded to prison again.

Altogether a win win situation for Barbados. So what’s the delay in getting him into the facility?

Another example of procrastination by the powers that be?

28. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Prodigal Son “This whole Redjet fiasco has been mishandled from day one. From what I can see, the investors were misled by the Minister responsible who was wined, dined and used the manโ€™s luxurious vehicle to explore Ireland, he made promises he could not keep and when the road got rough, the minister could not deliver.”

A promise is comfort to a fool.

29. Oops! I should have said Raul Garcia above not Gonsalves.

30. O.K So the Nation erred in saying the P.M did not respond, well his min responded acknowledging receipt of the letter, but did the P.M meet with the BHTA sfter they asked for an urgent meeting? Two or Three months for an urgent meeting at any time , but more so with the BHTA, who is a big part of the chief tourism product, shows little or no respect for the associatrion. Hotels are closing, many more are just keeping their doors open, tourists are coming but not spending, the P> M has no time to meet the BHTA but he had time to spend with the BSTU. Our P. M got it all wrong.

31. @onions quoting AFFTA “i.m just trying to gleam some light from the ignorant amongst us”

32. ac
    So at last you jump ship and is riding with the BLP

33. David, the only reason is the make up of the BHTA it reeks of politics the likes of Peter Odle now and always a bag man for Arthur.

The other item of value is not one of the past presidents are struggling financially personally and with every one of them with properties in London, Surrey, Iver London, to some with homes in Portugal and Toronto and Ottawa and one with a ski chalet in Austria their wealth is sprung far and wide but will live in Barbados and pretend to be paupers and try to fool people into government grants and free money giveaways, least we forget the Ward family at Silver Sands when the Tourism Industry Relief Fund was created to keep people working in the hotel and tourism sector, the Ward’s applied and were paid in excess of $ 750,000.00 and four months later they shut their hotel down.

These same ones who now are crying crocodile tears and seeking more government grants money to be used to buy more offshore homes for they themselves and family, should be told to use some of those foreign funds that siphoned off of their properties in the good times and repatriated some of the money taken out of their hotels and brought back to work and support their properties.

How can it be right for a chap like Peter Odle with two luxury homes in London and one in New York to expect the taxpayers to prop up his lifestyle and extravagance with more grant money?

I bet these Champagne and Caviar drinkers a eaters are smiling if they feel that they have pulled off a coup to fool this government, this Minister, and this Prime Minister.

34. The Minister of Home Affairs is responsible for the prisons,immigration etc;not Prime Minister Stuart.The PEPsi gent wrote the Prime Minister and that’s how he became involved and is still involved for going on 120 days.The PEPsi gent drove some fear in certain peoples’ heart by pushing the issue before the UNCHR top representative on a visit to Barbados,as though that body can dictate to a sovereign nation.His birth place Colombia don’t want him,the USA where he was brought up, don’t want him but Barbados where he brought an excessive amount of cocaine and was caught with it,must find a house and hearth for the criminal,to the exclusion of many poor Barbadians who live in substandard accomodation.High wind know where old house is.The Prime Minister has let himself become embroiled in a nonsense issue and is looking very bad as a result.It’s embarrassing to Barbadians to say the least.Unfortunately,this is one of many issues which remain unresolved.

35. Rational son you know of what you speak. Show me a hotel owner(not manager) who complains he is scrunting and poor and I will show you a humongous liar. Hotel owners are amomg the richest elite on this 166.

36. @Scout Hold dem horses scout buckle up it is PERCEPTION ! my boy just PERCEPTIION!

37. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Rational Son “were paid in excess of $ 750,000.00 and four months later they shut their hotel down.”

If anybody gave me $750,00 in cash I would fire de wuk’ too

38. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

There is an old Bajan saying about ” the higher the monkey climbs, the more we see his tail” and so it is with the 2012 Nation newspaper – the official public relations media of the BLP campaign.
    The Nation newspaper’s partisan agenda is clear and I do not think Barbadians understand the extent of the coordination of columns and stories between Kaymar Jordan, Sanka Price and Owen Arthur.
    Arthur and Sir Fred Gollop(Nation chairman and former BLP senator) collaborated to put Kaymar Jordan in place for that reason

The top brass of the BLP is in daily contact with nation editor Kaymar Jordan via cell phone to arrange their PR. Barbados needs to wake up to the reality that the BLP has fully infiltrated the Nation newspaper to the extent that you only get columnists writing for the Nation newspaper who are critical of the DLP government.
    In other words, any column you read in The Nation from Sunday to Sunday will be critical of the current government. That is not by choice, that is by design.
    A newspaper does not cause the news events but through its columnists it seeks to promote opinions.
    If the only opinions on the economy which the Nation newspaper promotes is Clyde Mascoll(BLP spokesman) and Pat Hoyos(whose brother and business partner helps to finance the BLP campaign) then clearly the Nation is trying to sway public opinion in a particular direction.
    clearly when you read the Nation you are getting a lot of spin.
    Kudos to blogs like BU where difference of opinion is respected and promoted. The Nation newspaper is now the journalistic prostitute of the BLP and have thrown good standards of journalism through the door for partisan reasons.

39. David (not BU) Avatar

ac girl, i glad to see you does recycle. you does take in all the ignorance and type it back out on the blog. keep it up.

how does one get to CENSURING the Nation Newspaper? do we then censure CBC? the call in programs? the people who say things YOU don’t like?

here is a stupid question, did Colin Jordon say at the meet that he got the letter back from the PM’s office? now if he did say that, the nation is dead wrong and should be drag over hot fire for the headline but if he did not, then the nation did nothing wrong.

VOB played the clip on the midday news and they did not report that he got a reply. i’m sure Barbados Today carried the story, did they say if he got a reply from the PM’s office?

i know this much, CBC did not carry the story, so my question to the writer would be, is CBC TV8 CENSURED or bais as you say the nation newspaper is?

the comment from Jordon only adds to the profile of the man we have as a PM. he is one lazy bitch. censure me, do. Colin Jordon is the head of BHTA, but 2 and half months to not even find out what the man want? and some of you don’t see this as a problem? so what if there is a Minister of Tourism? what if the meet was requested to deal with issues the BHTA had with the Sealy? would you Barbados Election Watch like to see it as a headline in the Nation Newspaper in red of what Colin Jordon would of like to discuss?

you people and are blasted well sicken.

40. Is there any manifestation of the fourth estate which is without bias of one sort or another or do we live in a perfect world?

41. @RATIONAL very scandulous indeed .another sect who lives off the backs of the taxpayers and to think that bajans would decry this govt for not bailing redjet out who was trying to screw the taxpayers out of 8million dollars and to hearOSAside with redjetis an eyeopener UNBELIEVABLE.here is a man who says he is/an economist and in these hard times want to give vultures 8million dollars of taxpayersOSA must think money grows on trees

42. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I have said it before: The job of the Nation newspaper is to present the current opposition BLP leader Owen Arthur in the most favourable light.
    You will see pigs fly in Barbados before you see Kaymar Jordan, Sanka Price, Albert Brandford or any Nation columnists be critical of Owen Arthur-
    It will not happen because Kaymar is there to ensure that it does not happen.The word has gone out to the compliant Nation columnists- Do not criticise Owen Arthur but lambaste Freundel Stuart at every turn

The current CEO at the Nation, a known BLP supporter has a background more in accounting and knows nothing about high journalistic standards. She is concerned about the advertising dollars.
    So the BLP has direct access to the Nation newsroom and while some workers and “flies on the wall” are astounded at how nakedly partisan and biased the paper is, they maintain their silence to secure their employment.

43. @ BAF

You’ve been around for a long time – err – please tell me who ‘Barbados Election Watch’ is if you have a moment.

44. Is there anyone who believes that the political biases of reporters/journalists do not leak into their writings? Like politicians is this another profession which operates above the realities of everyday life? The journalists for all their virtue can’t even form a vibrant professional body to adequately represent their interest. There is ABSOLUTELY nothing wrong with John Citizen asking questions of this important profession in the same way we do of the others. It must be said however that when an Opposition gets to government we always hear the same tune. We cannot forget the game of politics.

45. “I have been following this pulling down of DLP Prime Ministers by the Nation for a long time. They have done it to Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford and now Freundel Stuart”
    Mr stuart’s easygoing and nice boy approach has attracted much goodwill which he has not earned through performance but he pulling his own self down with his frequent fauxpas and constant about turns on important matters of interest to the nation he leads.

46. old onion bags Avatar

# balance
    Does goodwill include turning a blind eye to CLICO JM Report by Deloitte or is that negative goodwill to which you refer in error ?The accounting term negative goodwill refers to a costly intangible that plagues a company’s future and not the opposite.

47. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Mr. Jordan (and the BHTA board) must think there is a sufficient reason to meet with the Prime Minister that seemingly cannot be addressed by the Minister of Tourism. There is no doubt that our tourism industry is in crisis. I am told (sadly not by the BTA) that the much heralded Dallas/Forth Worth service will end in August. This after the loss of Atlanta (despite Delta still being on the BTA website). It is almost unbelievable that we cannot fill one tiny B737 or A319 once a week from both the worlds largest and world’s fourth largest airports.
    St. Lucia still manages to fill 5 Atlanta flights each week.
    Over 1,000 hotel jobs have already been lost due to hotel closures either permanently or those closed for extended periods for ‘refurbishment’.
    Clearly something is radically wrong and after 4 1/2 years the current Government has not restructured the BTA or put people in place that can do the job.
    The BTA Los Angeles office closure just at a time when you are launching a new 190 connecting city route out of Dallas simply does not make sense. Who had the responsibility to ensure the Dallas flights operated viabily within the BTA?
    Why on earth has the BTA retained the same Advertising Agency out of Kansas?
    The Government has dismally failed to appoint those most able with proven ability and knowledge of the industry.

48. old onion bags Avatar

Clearly something is radically wrong and after 4 1/2 years the current Government has not restructured the BTA or put people in place that can do the job.
    Foundation School Sunday, 10th June, 8.05 PM Oistins Hill
    “Have no fear..we can fix it “

49. @David notBU QuotingAFFTA”one of the seven deadly sins is the insatiable taste for Power” to censor or not to censor the purchasing power of the people can easily resolved that.when people stop buying that is where the impact of censorship begins.