Alex McDonald – LIME Official

In a Press release issued yesterday, LIME announced “all post-paid mobile customers completing data streaming, browsing, tethering and downloading of documents, games and any other transactions which go via the WAP (Wireless Access Protocol) and/or Internet Gateways on the LIME data network will be billed”.

Nation Newspaper – 4/5/2012

Barbados Underground agrees with the decision by LIME’s management to increase mobile rates effective July 1, 2012. Today many Barbadians have been demonstrating outrage via the various media channels at what they believe is the obtuse manner LIME has unleashed its new pricing plan.  BU would venture the opinion that LIME has made its decision full in the knowledge that Barbadians will ‘keep noise’ but continue to subscribe to their services. Truth be told BU can’t wait until the next increase.

LIME prides itself on being a good corporate citizen although BU recalls that it was one of the first companies in Barbados at the onset of the global recession to retrench staff. It should come as no surprise after the recent settlement of the collective bargaining agreement with the Barbados Workers Union that LIME would seek to find ways to boost its revenue position.  It now has three quarters to get the job done.

Seriously, has anyone looked around to see the love affair which Barbadians, young and old, seem to have with mobile devices? Come to think of it, is the ban still in place for school children against carrying mobile devices to school? If it is obviously the rule is not being enforced. Well no surprises there.

Those who will dare to mention FTC, do not even go there!

60 responses to “LIME Defines Corporate Greed”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Barbadians are the easiest people to rob and Lime knows this. Everything is a nine day wonder, people will grumble and thereafter do nothing which is as predictable as the sun rising in the morning.

You hear anybody complain about the points that Lime discontinued and did not redeem those outstanding. Those points had value and Lime just stole them. They know that Barbadian are weak and like a bully, they pick on the weak.

I am sorry if Barbadian don’t realise that they have a choice.

2. We have an impotent FTC.

3. I received my letter today from Mr. Alex MacDonald LIME and the frist thing i advised my wife to do was to look at another provider because I WILL NOT pay for LIME services at an increased rate and a blasted DECREASED service and product. We currently pay for 1 MB and at most we get half of that as ADSL, what a damn bunch o0f greedy people they are. Goodbye SLIME.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

All the regulatory, disciplinary and complaints bodies set up by the State are only used to pacify the people. They only appear to be working but do nothing. The four most useless are the Fair Trading Commission, Financial Services Commission, Ombudsman and Police Complaints Authority.

5. Let us not forget the political directorate, especially the Opposition, who can easily play a role advocating on behalf of the people.

6. Lack of competition allows LIME to maximise profit.

Interesting that Bushie has been blogging about making Barbados better by “right sizing” but Bajans upsizing to every device de firs wirl countries got..

7. I want LIME murder the foolish Bajans with higher rates. Wunna too foolish. Using a mobile phone and spending 100s of dollars and becoming phone or top-up parros.

I would charge 300 a month if you want to download things. Way to go LIME. 2 thimbs UP.

8. old onion bags Avatar

Where the heck is Fair Thiefing Commission……doing their jobs of course Nothing for consumers……. ALLLLLLLLLLLLLL for conglomerates.

9. Be fair, Digicel doesnt offer that either. BUt these Smartphones are mainly for business use
    too many Bajans wanna live too big and misplace their priorities

10. Read the following posted last year by CBC and weep!

Barbados leads in Blackberry usage

Thursday, 03 November 2011 21:01

Blackberry users in Barbados are among the biggest group in the world.

This is according to Angela Friar manager of carrier services for the Blackberry’s parent company Research In Motion.

Ms. Friar, who did not have specific statistics for Barbados, noted that the Caribbean has the highest penetration of Blackberry bbm messenger service worldwide about ninety percent.

She made the comment as the company in association with LIME launched a range of 4g phones at the Sheraton Centre.

The range includes the Torch 9810, 9850, the Bold 9900 and the Curve 9360.

She says the phones have improved performance, better graphics, and more applications compared to previous models.

She says browsing speeds are also significantly enhanced with the new OS 7 software.

http://www.cbc.bb/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3079:barbados-leads-in-blackberry-usage&catid=39:business&Itemid=95

11. old onion bags Avatar

Barbados needs to write a new anthem …..called it Rip Rip Rip off…from Gasoline to water, Emera to LIME…..the chorus …Rip them to hell OFF !

12. @David

quite recently I was given a brochure whereby there is a group providing cloud technoly serviced from Trinidad and the prices look good.

13. Rat in the Kitchen Avatar
    Rat in the Kitchen

Leave Alex McDonald alone. Remember Malcolm Grant walk bout Barbados telling a medical story about Alex personal equipment and that man Alex wait for him. Then Alex help spring the trap up Malcolm and he wife and before long them was in Court charged with tieffing a big lot of money.

14. now why blame the people because of corporate greed this sh,,tt goes on all over the world especially in poor countries that let these one arm bandits hoodwinked the govt into believing they gonna help de people save money, stinkin corporations especially when deh the only king on the hill have no bounds .wunna ain’t see that the movement “occupy wall street ” took to the streets in many counties protesting corporate greed, now wunna want the people to live substandard lifestyle just because these attack dogs keep biting the sh..t out of dem pocket books. people ought to be sending emails loud and clear threatening to cancel or downsized their plans yuh know sometimes cutting yuh nose to spoil yuh face ain’t ugly. send them emails enough and flood the 800 number nonstop. yuh gone i might be the only call deh get knowing wunna.

15. What amazes me is the total disregard of the difficulties bajans are going through.

They impose blanket policy instead of adjusting packages to suit & bill those that are actually using the download bulk service they refer to.

It is clear they don’t care. The same way I don’t care about them. I have never forgotten and will never forgive them when their cell rates were near $4. A minute. This is the reason I remain with Digicel for without them I would be screwed.

They are digging their own grave.

16. Get Digicel to make an offer for C&W in Barbados Avatar
    Get Digicel to make an offer for C&W in Barbados

Digicel should make an offer to purchase C&W in Barbados – Barbadians love the nice, caring Digicel.

17. I too am disgusted with these companies that raise rates or cut staff, at the expense of society generally.

LIME’ service is already sub-par, in terms of internet speed and service quality and yet they make substantial profits, now want MORE.

Reminds me of a report in the 90’s, about the gouging on overseas calls by the phone provider in England.

Among other countries for the profit margins by the phone company made, the profit margin on calls to Israel at that time, was 86%!!!

How could that be justified?

This is also what has the US and world economy in a pickle.

As you know, technology and manufacturing outsourced to the cheapest provider, at the expense of US jobs.

That affected the US economy heavily and thus impacted us all too. Then, the numbers game made companies do all kinds of things with accounting etc, creating false riches and contributing to the fall of some big players.

It continues. So, have large corporations learnt anything?

No.

18. lol right now adsl wise lime cannot be beat

on one hand we got a helebarbados charging 169 for 1mband a landline that works up to 3:00 fairly good and cuts right out after.

then we have a digihell that wants to put u on dem 4g network (if available in your area) but cap your data and charge u if u go over (4gb a month is laffable) den you got a company name winet that offers shitty wireless as sell as shitty customer service. you’d be lucky if that dude returns your call.

19. Watching movies on the mobile is the way to go Avatar
    Watching movies on the mobile is the way to go

Why should someone pay for watching movies on a mobile phone? It is not as if doing that uses capacity that prevents other mobile users from accessing basic mobile services. Watching movies on the mobile is the way to go. Who wants to be stuck at home watching movies on the computer?

20. Guys, do not cheapen the message here by posting items of personal attacks. It is unnecessary, unbecoming and detracts from the message.

21. Lime recognizes that it has those persons hooked on those features and now it had decided to exploit them, as they are now addicted to such services, That how marketeers operate, extract as much as possible when there no compettion. This is similar to the banks, after they have introduced their ATM they found ways to charge for such services. I am happy to sate that since the introduction of the ATM, my bank has only made money from me once. It has never got a cent from me on my credit card,

Was this increase claeared by FTC or this area does not fall under their remit? Can you check with theFTC to enlighten your bloggers if this had happened or whether they have any legal authority over that area which lime plans to inflict the icreases on us.

Another question I would like answered is if this the norm in other jurisdictions? The time has come for Lime to feel it where it matters most the bottom line. We will complain about the constant increass in the cost of living, but we are not prepares to revolt against lime which is exploited us like when it had the monoply and charged us excessive rates on our cell phone.

I must admit that i have a smart phone and the only reasons for doing so was the fact my employer gives me an allowance for telephone service. I dont use any of the features lime is going to bill smart phone useres for, but I shall continue my discussions with the new group using cloud technolgy to provide internet and bb sercvice out of Trinidad. to determine if i should switch, my internet, land line and bb service from lime.

22. @LIME’s ADSL cannot be beat???? Bout that time of evening that a couple of drinks would have worn in I guess…..

The ADSL I have is erratic as heck. It is piss poor.

23. And I would not take it out on Mr.Macdonald, reality is that he is taking orders from the Cable & Wireless holding company guys in UK, that is how it works. With these large corporations, I know how they work, he is an operations manager, that is all.

Remember this is CABLE AND WIRELESS, a little name change to keep them ‘clean’ is irrelevant as to reality.

24. @crusoe compared to the others lime is a god send, trust me on this. the reason y lime gets away with murder is becuz dem ain got a viable alternative in barbados. digicel- less value for money
    telebarbados. less value for money and shitty service
    winet- poor service, shittier customer service and slow as hell

best of the worse still is slime

25. Cable and Wireless still make the reaming profits that they used to, but no longer sponsor cricket, like they used to.

Go figure.

26. see dat is wha happen when yuh king of the hill yuh take them big mugafee boots and twist and turn them up the backsides of people butt. but until people understand that without dem the companies can’t survive and that they have the financial power to beat them at their own game dat kinda sh…t would continue. threaten de sh..t out dem first and if dat don’t work take action cut down there profit margin by reducing their services for a year or so make dem sweat. these big corporation like the buggy man only understand one thing and that is action and plenty of it the FTC can’t help because the corporations and the economy is tied via employment.

27. David,

You will get more hits internationally if you change the title to (Cable & Wireless Defines Corporate Greed).

After all, title still refers to the entity known as LIME (imagine this could have meant Less Inclined to Meet Expectations), no?

28. Pay thy debts Avatar

What you must also be very aware of is the political involvement of this same Alex McDonald he single handedly bought the nomination of his friend and partner Winnie Abrahams for him.
    He said to someone at the fete he the same one had at CropOver last year of course he is buying votes for the BLP as his management at Lime will become easier should the BLP win an election.
    I interpreted that to mean that he will exert more control of those in the BLP than he can with those in the DLP that in itself is a very sad statement of what to expect from Lime should his money buy an election results that gives him control of govt.

This is the same Mc Donald that is refusing to sign an interconnectivity agreement with the recently launched Internet provider Karib Cable who has vowed to deliver a faster more reliable and better service of Internet. TV and telephone service as they do for $ 147.00 for all three services but he is stalling the agreement thereby slowing the ability of Barbadians to avail themselves of a cost savings measure.
    All the while he continues to gouge Barbadians unmercyfully Andis living and waiting to see his Winnie and Arthur installed so he can dominate the telecommunications market again while Barbadians are burdened with his excessive and unreasonable cost.

29. During the BLP’s administration, FTC chairman Mr Justice King , Minister Ronald Toppin and the top management all left the Commission without telling the public why they did so.Is there anyone who might throw some light on the rationale for their sudden departure?

30. Pay thy debts Avatar

Richard you may want to ask Toppin that now that he is talking again

31. The lost one.... Avatar
    The lost one….

LIME had good men like Michael Barrow and his team at Caribbean Cellular. Then Donald Austin came and being jealous of Mr. Barrow got rid of him and his original team slowly. Then LIME mobile went down hill fast, fast.
    Felll from being number one to a pile of pig excrement. Now being led by a team of clowns. The original team can bring them back from the dead.

32. FIRE LIME! CLOSE WUNNA ACCOUNTS Go to DIGICEL: maybe yuh might suffer for a while but lime would suffer more! Stick it to lime where the sun don’t shine.

33. To be honest given what Digicel has done in Jamaica there was great expectation that it would have been able to do the same in Barbados. An honest assessment is that after the initial impact of entering the market, a business as usual culture seems to be operating now. Which ever way you look at it the customers are screwed – who don’t seem to mind by the way. Of course both LIME and Digicel are heavy advertisers at Starcom and the Nation and therefore don’t expect an effort to bring this matter to heal a la CLICO for example.

34. @Crusoe

The search engines sniff the tags mainly. Current C&W is listed and will mind your suggestion by updating Cable & Wireless.

35. My understanding is that Digi started charging for the same WAP services since last month. Also the LIME rate change is not limited to Barbados, users across the region got the same notice.

36. Yes Digi is charging for streaming as well. It appears because consumers have to pay land line, ADSL etc to LIME, its charges seems to provoke a bigger outcry compared to Digi.

It is time consumers cryout, shout out. When LIME moved the call centre to St. Lucia we were promised better service, we are still waiting.

37. Okay David. I have to say, I am just a little disturbed by everyone (fairly) calling it LIME, LIME, LIME. It IS Cable & Wireless.

Was this renaming more intentional of deflecting attention from the parent company, or was it, as some would argue ‘cool marketing’.

To me, it is Cable & Wireless. L et us not forget that. And the holding company is who calls the shots.

38. @Crusoe

Some time ago we figure it for a demerger:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/10/27/cable-wireless-lime-and-demerger/

39. digicel will follow when the noise dies down

protest with self discipline and your wallet, not placards.

price gougers are sometimes iliterate but definately not inumerate.

boycot the service and remember you did not allways have these conveniences and noone died from their absence.

maybe a full 1 week cellphone black out would send a message. or if not possibble to impliment ( lack of self discipline) then just the BB features
    ( there goes the christmas bonus and new Benz).

40. These guys are corning dollars but asking people to consider voluntary redundancy packages.:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0605/digicel-profits-over-1-billion-for-the-first-time.html

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Caswell is damn right! Barbadians sit back,get shafted ,grumble a bit, then turn the other cheek. We have got to get up off our backsides and picket these establishments that view us as cash cows. If we decide to wait on Fair Trading, or Malcolm Taitt to fight our battles, we have a long, long wait.

42. The best way to bring down prices is to reduce consumption since Barbados is too small a market to rely on “competition” or government intervention.

Bajans must actively cut back on the use of cell phones and make a concerted effort to reduce wasting energy.

43. @haunts

not just reduce but dry up their revenue and criple the cash flow.
    that is worse than an ingrowing toenail

a one week boycot of all cell services or one month (a month is an accounting sub period that management reviews the figures) would bring them to their knees or make them try to bluff the public.

money is the corporate testicles

44. @tedd

It will NEVER happen, Barbadians are hooked. Using mobile devices is bound up in a lifestyle. It has become an addiction.

45. The increase is also on ADSL connection via landline, not just cell phones, just under $10.00 and for what? Why should we have to pay more for such a terrible service. Half the time it’s stuck…… I think all people living in Barbados need to get together and do something about it. We have the power if only we would use it……

46. The lost one.... Avatar
    The lost one….

Boycott LIME or Cable Wireless wha ever ya want to call um. They robbing we and sending home staff…. wuhloss.
    We need to send them a message.. get their act together or all customers will ease consumption of airtime. We can’t tek it no more. They killing staff by work overload and robbing we and sending money to England….

47. Well well, with all his mouth and bravado, one would never expect Alex McD to have any sort of equipment shortcoming. You live and you learn.

48. Just heard that Alex McDs junk is called piano because it is too small to be called an organ.

49. LIME couldn’t wait until the year to turn it seems, 97 sent home.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/01/02/lime-workers-sent-home/

50. “we were unable to open our retail space in Warrens for two days due to a combination of leave . . . and illness being reported”
    That happens when you have incompetent management. So now they lay off 97 people to further reduce service to customers.

As a customer I don’t give a flying (rhymes with puck) who sick or who on leave.You take my money and I expect service to be available during the posted working hours at your retail space.

Lime sour.