CCJ Justices

During the recent sitting of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) in Barbados, BU has received information from a credible source that the CCJ justices met with Barbados’ judges and expressed to them their displeasure and dismay at the state of the Barbados courts. While the CCJ placed all the blame at the feet of the Barbados Judiciary, BU feels that the Registry must share this blame equally.

The source of the massive build-up of 3,500 cases that have remained unheard for years, or part-heard for years or on which judgements have been undelivered (reserved) for years stems from the time of the appointment of Sir David Simmons as chief justice, it can be revealed.

Prior to the appointment of Sir David Simmons, cases were motored through the courts by the lawyers themselves, who had to answer to their clients for delays or a failure to adequately prosecute matters.

However, Sir David changed the Civil Procedure Rules so that cases were assigned to judges, in actual fact and practice for the terms of the natural lives of each judge so assigned. This has created a situation where the Registry is able to blame the judges and the judges in their turn have a scapegoat in the Registry.

And both judges and Registry are playing this situation to the max to the detriment of litigants and taxpayers. Indeed, to the detriment of our off-shore investment industry which, as was recently noted by Opposition Leader Owen Arthur, has fallen off to crisis point. Although Mr Arthur stops short of laying the blame squarely where it belongs – on the shoulders of himself and his appointee as chief justice.

Several recent examples have come to light where judges clerks have telephoned counsel to advise that decisions will be given on a specific date at a specific time, counsel turns up in court only to be told that the judge is, variously, on holiday, out of the island, sick, not ready, etc.

Effectively, this means that counsel that have already juggled their schedules (usually on less than 24 hours notice from the judge’s chambers) have their time wasted and then have to bill their clients for their time which in good faith they had every reason to believe would be well spent, but in fact proves to be a complete waste of time and money attributable SOLELY to the judge in question.

In one standout case which has for the moment to remain nameless, delivery of a reserved judgement was scheduled with counsel turning up in court to receive the judgment (a judgement that had been by then reserved for over TWO YEARS) on a case that had been started almost 10 years ago. BUT, the call to receive judgement occurred not once, but several time……and this is the NORM! So if you have two counsel on each side, each of which is charging $500 per hour, litigants are being charged $4,000 for each occasion times the number of occasions.

Meanwhile, BU has ascertained from several counsel (some of them silks) that when they write to the Registrar, no response is even forthcoming – not even by e-mail. And the same thing from the judges.

But the favourite excuse of the judges for not providing judgements is that the Registry has not yet typed them up. This is the lamest of the lot. In other jurisdictions, judges read their judgements and orders that they have written by hand and copies of these handwritten judgements are then provided to counsel, pending the fully typed up version. These judgements bear witness to the crossed-out and initialled and re-drafted work of the judges – AND THEY ARE ENFORCEABLE so as to expedite the delivery of justice. But why should the Barbados court system try to expedite justice?

And all this rot set in solely during the tenure of Sir David Simmons who now, along with his political lobby, seems intent on trying to persuade a far from credulous Barbados public and NOT as the result of the total mess made by Sir David, but due to the failure of Chief Justice Gibson.

Unfortunately for Sir David, the very transparency of Chief Justice Gibson and Gibson CJ’s willingness to highlight the inherited problems he is facing and to discuss freely the solutions he would want to see put in place, have made Sir David’s tactics subject to universal condemnation. Likely out of most proper professional ethics, however, Gibson CJ does not mention the most effective solution which we all know is to fire 75% of the judges and the Registry, starting with the Registrar, all (or most) appointed by or on the advice of Sir David Simmons.

It is a sad circumstance that, Bajans having been raised from the cradle to respect judges and their support organisation, the Registry, now have no respect for them whatsoever, above all Barbados’ former chief justice.

Let those judges reflect that as they drive around Barbados with their official cars and police drivers and go into court with everyone bowing, the thought on every Bajan mind is that they are a bunch of freeloading parasites whose monumental egos and incompetence have ruined our justice system and our off-shore industry and who, rather than making any effort to support the efforts of the Chief Justice, are actively campaigning with the loser whom he replaced and exposing Barbados to international disdain, the ruin or our off-shore sector and the open and aggressive censure of the justices of the Caribbean Court of Justice. Almost every civil case that has come before the CCJ from Barbados has drawn uncomplimentary remarks on Barbados’ judicial system from the justices of the CCJ. One is hard-put to find any appeals from Barbados in the judgements of which the CCJ has not commented negatively on the length of time involved in the Barbados courts.

This is shameful and unacceptable and it clearly high time government provided the back-up to the CJ to take extraordinary measures to dismiss the persons responsible, rather than have these parasitic incompetents spending their working lives doing nothing but drag Barbados down both reputationally and financially and then expensing the taxpayers for the remainder of their lives to pay pensions to them.

1. David; Wow!!!!!

Care to provide us with some supporting pre- and post- David Simmons stats for your conclusions above? If you can’t perhaps some of BU’s lawyer posters can.

2. @checkit-out

The stats are out there. For now the CCJ bevy of justices and their chiding bears no second guessing. Go to the CCJ website and read comments from justices about the length of time cases take in the Barbados jurisdiction. The current CJ is on record in his brief tenure addressing the matter as well.

The legal beavers on BU can compare now to the days of Sir Denys Williams.

3. There used to be a guy, “slow coach and Sharkie” I think they called him, who used to seriously delay traffic when he crossed the road, much to the amusement of those on foot in Broad Street and around, who would stop to watch him.
    It looks like he was the pace setter for most institutions in Barbados.

I won’t bore you with the hoops you have to go through to get a copy of a will which can and has take several months – same institutional process.

Technophobes need pens to write everything down, same as in colonial times when the word IT wasn’t invented.
    Definitely stuck in the distant past.

Slightly off topic, when I hear West Indians slagging of the WI Cricket team and the WICB I often ask them to take a look in the mirror and they’ll see what the problem is as they themselves do lacklustre and shoddy work whilst expecting high standards from fellow West Indians representing WI cricket.

4. Isn’t this a reflection of a society where people want money but are not prepared to work for it?

5. Sid Boyce; was it easy boy you were talking about?

6. Isn’t this a reflection of a society where people want money but are not prepared to work for it?

And also endemic in this society. This lethargic attitude seems to pervade all sections of Government service.
    Recently an associate , imported some goods from the UK, paid airfreight, which was almost as much as the cost of the goods themselves. The goods landed at GA two days after the order was placed, and for the next 30 + days they were held in Customs storage for no particular reasons.

7. 1. Sir DS “changed the civil procedure rules” when?

2. The present CJ went to Trinidad and came back with what proposal?

3. Is it the NORM for attorneys to charge clients $500.00 per hour for doing nothing save attending at the Supreme Court and sitting on their asses?

4. Other than talk, the present CJ has done what to retrench delays?

5. The Disciplinary Committee has how many cases outstanding over how many years?

6. What other Caribbean territories have changed their Civil Procedure Rules in recent years and why?

7. Do all attorneys in Barbados faithfully observe their Rules?

8. Who scrutinises your “credible source”?

8. @ Sid Boyce

The implication of your last paragraph (and the first for that matter) is very profound indeed. Thankyou.

9. @robert

Have a read of the document.

Your obviously a protégée of DS…lol.

Bottomline he was in office for how long? In contrast how long for MG?

You should not even go there.

http://www.lawcourts.gov.bb/Documents/Special_%20Sitting_Reforms%20_2.pdf

10. @ David

Remember the wise rule that you don’t ask a leading question unless you already know the answer.

But thankyou for posting that. It makes the case for Sir DS as a reforming, sensitive and wise judge far better than I could.

Perhaps you’ll now address the other questions. (lol)

11. @ David

Oh but one thing…I am NOT a protegee of Sir DS. But, yes, he has shown me kindness and I have enormous respect for him – as I’ve made clear on other occasions quite openly.

12. @robert

How so?

Do you deny a backlog of cases said to be 3000+

Do you deny that justice delayed is justice denied?

Do you deny the inordinately long time cases sit in the system unresolved?

What is the sense of reform if justice in our courts grinds to a halt?

13. @robert

and don’t bring the argument about quality of his judgements, tell it to those waiting, and waiting…

14. David…the problem with this post is that it’s unruly, part fact, part opinion, part grub street – and all based on what your “credible source” tells you. What is his agenda and have we heard it all before when Gibson CJ has been discussed? Or Simmons?

Of course there are delays; yes there may be 3000+ cases presently in the system (I don’t know); yes Registry is known to be incompetent; yes, some judges are slow (the best I know of is slow and the ‘slowness’ has been criticised but the judgments are absolutely first rate – and I don’t apologise for that); of course undue delay is unjust – think of Garcia. Nor am I out to attack the present CJ. Not at all. But I see no evidence of sainthood either – unlike the innuendos in the post.

But to blame all this on one man I utterly reject. Eg, where is the evidence that DS is laying any blame on anyone and for what – other than relating specifically to the circumstances of the non-continuation?

The post is utterly distorted and misleading. You say – no your source says – that delay started when DS changed the Civil Procedure Rules. Well, that was in 2008. Are you really saying – no, your source – that that’s when it all went wrong? And if it was all Simmons’ fault why did the delay arise long before that when the system was “motored through the courts by the lawyers”? That suggestion – “motoring” – is laughable.

And, as I asked you, what is the new CJ suggesting?

The paper you posted makes it abundantly clear that DS was aware of the delay issue, as one which affects ALL common law jurisdictions. Indeed the delay issue has been common for centuries – nothing new in it. The paper sets out how he intended to address it and what had been achieved – and makes a nonsense of much of the sniping.

In short David – and frankly – I think you’ve given us someone’s agenda. And I don’t trust it. It plays around with the evidence in a way which mosty ordinary people would be totally oblivious of. I’ve heard much the same when the Garcia case was discussed on CBC. The post has that kind of ring to it.

If delay is the issue, rather than attempting to rob one man of his reputation – as, for some reason, you persistently do – you have to look at ALL the causes of it…and that would extend to Dodds people not getting remand prisoners down to District A in good time, the police not getting their act together after many months, magistrates misusing the provisions of the Bail Act, too few judges, lawyers who don’t turn up to video conferences; ‘attitudes’ in all-and-sundry, attorneys not answering letters in a timely fashion, attorneys who sit on clients’ causes and then, after months, essentially telling them they won’t act, the absence of promised reports, judges who don’t do their homework, attorneys who don’t get the law right, clients who are nuisances and don’t pay, and so on and so on…many things But one man? Or one very small group of men and women with chauffeurs? Come off it..

15. Easy Boy, that’s the fellow.

16. @RR. So, you are David Simmons’ Hartley Henry, are you? Interesting.

As for your usual list of questions that you suppose are clever and unanswerable and, when answered you resort to most inexpert and childish invective, it is clear to me that you are taking lessons from the less competent members of the Bar.

Your sole defense of David Simmons seems to lie in what you view as being the excellence of the judgements. So, paying no attention whatever to nor having any sympathy for your oft-stated inferiority complex in regard to you size and lack of education (or is it brain), I address only this point, because the rest of your questions are, frankly, bovine excrement. (Thank you, CH, for that excellent phrase).

On June 15, 1215 (796 years, 10 months, 15 days as at today’s date – call it 800 years ago) at Runnymede in Surrey, England, King John signed into law Magna Carta. Section 40 of Magna Carta states: Nulli vendemus, nulli negabimus aut differemus rectum vel justiciam. Translated: To no one will we sell, to no one deny or delay right or justice.

This is confirmed by the Barbados Constitution (Article 18(8)) as has been referenced here on BU in a previous blog AND HAS BEEN POINTED OUT IN JUDGEMENTS (plural) OF THE CCJ SITTING IN RIGHT OF BARBADOS AS HAVING BEEN BREACHED! On MANY occasions.

The very basis of an appeal system is to ensure that justice is done. If justice is delayed, it cannot be seen to have been done, no matter how excellent the judgement. How can justice even be thought to have been served if two litigants vying against each other for a property or asset, because of the delay of the courts, end up seeing the value of that property or asset eroded or disappear in legal fees or for other causes just so an excellent judgement can eventually be produced? In all too many cases, matters are finally concluded 20 years after being commenced – by which time one or other of the litigants has died. This, indeed, happened in one case heard by the CCJ last year.

Then that begs the question as to the competence of a judge whose scholarship and knowledge of law is so deficient that he or she needs to take several years to formulate a judgement. WHY??? They have been hired because they are supposed to know what they are doing.

And why bother with a system of appeals at all, if you follow the proposition of RR that these (unjust, because of delays) judgements are so excellent? You go to the doctor and he gives you a diagnosis and you have the right to go to another doctor for a second opinion. But, apparently in law, according to RR and DS, this is unnecessary when dealing with such transcendent legal brains as Simmons and the crew he appointed to the Bench. NOT!

The whole concept of justice on the parts of members of the Bench seems to be completely wrong. Nearly 800 years ago, Magna Carta decreed that justice could not be sold or delayed. Yet, the arrogance of Simmons, has created a judicial culture of thought that each judge MUST, no matter what, take just as much time as he or she wants to ensure that their judgements are not overturned on appeal. No matter the injustice to the litigants. That is the tail wagging the dog. The court system, by which I mean Magistrates Court, High Court, Court of Appeal and CCJ, is a check and balance system to ensure that the best possible standard of justice is made available to the taxpayer. It is not a school exercise to be conducted by a bench with the mind-set of kindergarten up to (but certainly not including) university level. It is NOT a contest. It is NOT a “look at me….my judgement was upheld on appeal. Aren’t I clever” game.

In civil matters, one high court judge sits on his own. He is supposed to render his judgement within 90 days, or at the maximum 6 months in the case of a complex matter. Counsel examines his judgement and determines whether or not there are grounds for appeal. If it is decided that there are, then there is an appeal before 3 justice of appeal who are also required (but rarely do) to deliver their judgements within 90 days. This is so that the matter can be examined by three, rather than one, legal brain. Once they have rendered their decision, it is then decided by counsel whether or not the case can be referred to the CCJ, where it is examined by usually 5 legal experts. IT IS NOT A SCHOOLYARD GAME!!!!

Yet, RR, the mouthpiece of David Simmons, seems intent on trying to persuade us all that we are all back at school and that our Justice System is akin to a game of marbles. Worse, that Magna Carta, by which all common law countries conduct themselves, is not necessary in Barbados (contrary to its Constitution) because the tax-paying litigants are pawns in his game of one-upmanship so that he can persuade himself and others (he obviously need not try to persuade a little, uneducated man like RR) that the world has never known a legal brain to equal his, EVER!!!!!

The trouble with DS and RR is that DS, far from being a legend in his own time, is a legend in his own MIND! And for that he ought to seek professional help and STOP trying to interfere with the resurrection of the Justice System which he personally oversaw the extermination of!

17. Hi Robert,
    These days people often look for others to blame without engaging in any self scrutiny. Blame does not affect a cure for the ills of others or one’s self.
    I would like to see as an anthem, the song by Joan Armatrading – What have you done today to make you feel proud?
    Look inwards before looking outwards. Self-analysis and self-criticism are two essential tools to progress and always will be to the benefit of all.
    In life and career you have often to stop, see how far you have travelled and if you are heading in the right direction – with a willingness to take whatever remedial action is necessary to set you on the right road. It has to be a recursive process.
    Expect much from yourself then encourage others to follow you by example.

Going back to the cricketing metafor and a story of yesteryear …
    Apartheid in South Africa and their jibe that “Kaffirs are stupid”, so when sporting sanctions bit them hard they looked to organize rebel tours and asked themselves the easiest place to recruit “Stupid Kaffirs” – West Indies of course, make them “honorary whites” except they have to have a government minder to say they could sit in whites-only carriages and eat in whites-only restaurants and only as a chaperoned group.

Even now it engenders a deep sense of shame to think what those guys endured with total lack of pride and self-worth.The Indians and Pakistanis found it abhorrent and there was no price high enough to wash away the filth and stench of succumbing to Apartheid.
    As usual there were some beacons that stood out from the West Indies, Messrs Richards, Holding, LLoyd and some others for whom loss of self-esteem was not an option.

18. I did hear Gibson say that one case one Judge started under Simmonds and that was a course that he continue to steer. It is designed to correct a problem with adjournments.

Do lawyers really charge $400 an hour?

Wah is the difference between Hon and Rt Hon for judges …?

19. @BAFBFP | April 30, 2012 at 4:48 AM | Yes, lawyers DO charge $400 per hour and some charge even more than that. If they appear before the CCJ out of Barbados, they generally charge an hourly fee plus a per diem (living expenses) of US$1,000 a day. If you consider the minimum allowed by the Law Society of England and Wales, which I believe is £125 per hour, then this is in keeping with international trends. However, lawyers are not bound by any minimums and, as everything else in life, you generally get what you pay for. Remember that the lawyers themselves see only a portion of this hourly billing. The bulk goes into their offices – things like secretaries, photocopiers, clerical staff, utilities etc. On top of the hourly billing fee, they also bill clients for the cost of filing (with the courts). Most bill on a per page basis for photocopying. In other countries, they bill everything involved in a case – photocopying, scanning, e-mails – everything. We are bound to get to that stage in Barbados as well. Therefore, even when costs are awarded, taxed and agreed, clients on both sides usually have to make up the shortfall between the costs from the court and the lawyers’ actual bills. So comfort from being awarded costs is tempered. The logical resolution to a lot of this expense does lie (as BU and now the CJ have indicated) in Alternative Dispute Resolution and I can point to at least one case CCJ where timely application of that would have saved the losing party from being completely out of pocket.

So now you see the absolute need for timely justice, because every time a client picks up the telephone to call their counsel to enquire what is happening with their case and when it will be heard, the lawyer has the right to bill them. Imagine over a 10 year period how these expenses build up. And the judiciary does nothing to help. Rather the judiciary and Registry INCREASE the expenses to the litigant GREATLY!

20. @robert

BU usually has not time for arguments which lean on the pedantic or esoteric. The issue here is simple, DS was in charge during a period where the Courts became a log jam as far as efficiently processing case files is concerned. The key measure (not the only measure) is for the office of CJ to oversea a Court which dispenses justice which is defined as justice delayed is justice denied The fact that cases which eventually were discharged by DS were done so with ‘quality’ i.e. not suffer appeal is commendable but there is more that was required.

In a year or two BU will apply the same measure to MG and the bullseye will be fully on his forehead as well.

21. “Although Mr Arthur stops short of laying the blame squarely where it belongs – on the shoulders of himself and his appointee as chief justice.”
    Your commentary seems to have been written with the poisoned pen of someone who wants to back the former chief justice into a corner but you cannot stop mr simmons from presenting his case to the public no matter the vilification.the commentary was standard DLP counter tactics.Mr simmons is a respected caribbean jurist and to launch that kind of attack onthe integrity and credibility of your ownformer chief justice for nothing else but political expediency is despicable and places our jurisprudence up to disdain in the eyes of our neighbours who have been full of praise for the way things are done here.another thing, you should stop drawing Mr Gibson into your obvious difficulties with Mr Simmons. It sends a misleading signal to the unsuspecting that Mr Simmons and Mr gibson might not be on good terms.

22. @balance

The problem with your argument is simple are there 3000+ cases waiting to be processed? Didn’t the former president of the T&T Law Society at a recent Bar dinner lament the case load in our system and the urgent need to get creative to do something about it? Why do Bajans suffer this bullshite which can easily be described as mediocrity? Poison pen what?!?

23. old onion bags Avatar

Now your slip is showing.How come all this stupor on the blog this morning.
    What has 3000 cases got to do with balance’s submission of calling for calm. He is right too. Why pull down ..all for a stupid unfortunate incident that brought the CCJ here in the first place. We here are above that.

Another.. CALL FOR CALM.

24. Just being objective Avatar
    Just being objective

@ David.
    I have just read the speech delivered by the former CJ which you have made available. It would have made the Attorney General or the Prime Minister proud ; it WAS THE SPEECH OF A POLITICIAN , NOT A JUDICIAL OFFICER . The problem of the former CJ seems to be that he never ceased being a politician who has very strong Narcissic qualities .

25. Forgive us (BU) but the thought of thousands of ordinary Bajans who are encouraged to turn to our Courts for justice and are sometimes persuaded to ‘think’ that there is a hopelessness in doing so causes many in the BU household to seeth this morning.

JUSTICE DELAYED IS JUSTICE DAMNWELL DENIED!

And yes we are angry this morning. But no ley us wait for ANARCHY to take root.

26. old onion bags Avatar

This new behavior is not that as a perceived Blog Master….go get a glass of water…lol

27. What defines a blogmaster,,,to be happy with the status quo?

To be happy at those who would defend a legacy while ordinary Bajans suffer for justice?

O no it wont be.

28. @ Amsued

Since it’s quite clear you don’t know the difference between a frog and a toad, still less the mens rea of murder, I don’t think you’re terribly reliable – and your pedantry is just boring. Continue to take the pills and look out for Hilda. Or are YOU the credible source? God help us.

29. @robert

Why don’t you address the crux of the issue. The labour pain which the judiciary has had for several years to delivery JUSTICE to Bajans and even those from afar!

30. old onion bags Avatar

Blog master…..impartial…restoring a sense of calm….forward thinking..remote enough to be respected…..avoiding branding…what else anybody ?

31. @onions

None of the above labels will phase BU’s blogmaster once the cause is just to which we subscribe.

32. old onion bags Avatar

Wonder why we did not see all this gusto with the CLICO issue ? So what you saying those aged pensioners..some awaiting their pension monies to have operations were not worthy or “just “enough a cause for you to “subscribe ?”

BAMM….lol..see what I mean….

33. @Onions

Do a search of BU using the word CLICO.

BU will not be drawn into your political nonsense.

BTW, there is no issue that BU has not tackled whether those who read agree that is there prerogative.

34. @ David

IF I say IF you want everyone to toe the line, why have a blog at all? A few weeks ago it was the lawyers under fire. Now it’s the judges. Whatever it’s always Simmons. But as a matter of interest, what was the backlog when he took over?

To insinuate both pedantry – which in this case is simply saying there’s another side – yes, since Amused has taken us to Runnymede, ‘Let right be done’ – and esoterica in those who contribute I wonder what you really want….what level of discussion you want, whether you really want to create or destroy. I mean does this debate REALLY have to be black/white, BLP/DLP – beause that is the precise effect you are achieving – and I actually thought you were bigger than that – bigger, that is, than the little Amused’s of this world.

35. @robert

No need to dress up this matter. Simmons has been given kudos by the establishment for his tenure. Months after he vacated office we hear about backlog of cases in cases and the apparent compromie of our justice system. That is the measure we should use and will continue to use to measure the performance of the CJ and others.

BU is interested in results. Is our system of justice delivering or NOT? BU says no. DS was the last CJ to whom the baton was entrusted therefore he attracts, as well he should, the attention i.e. his performance must be placed under the microscope. Fortunately the members of the BU household are not members of any fraternities or buddy networks are there are not encumbered by any obligations to anyone. BU will call it as we see it. Many a lawyer pro Simmons has come to BU and ran away because of the clarity and strident position we hold on this matter.

36. @ David
    Barbados is as it is because there are too many of us who cannot put RIGHT above self interest.

Let’s not count old onions, who has been consistently wrong in every position he has taken since coming here on the AX matter. But too many take positions that are dictated by political, financial and other personal motives.

Bushie likes DS as a person too – what’s not to like? But he” do bare sh@&3″ as CJ.
    Bushie is aware of the inefficiency of the system that he has created. Just look at the number of decisions coming out per month – given a backlog in the thousands….

Who in their right mind could defend a man that created such a mess? …. But we all know the state of onion’s mind…RR is just out of touch…

37. @ BAF

Oh so you’ve surfaced have you…and me been saying ‘come home’ ever since? But I still…..though I’ve got thinner. Mwah.

The post said $500 didn’t it? Ridiculous for doing nothing. Poor Joe Public starving while justice sleeps – and PAYING for it. Not a murmur from those who SHOULD be affronted. And yes, the Gibson thing – you are quite right. A few weeks ago it went by without a murmur – now it’s devil worship. The sheer hypocrisy of it all.

38. @robert

Why do you muddy the issue? Gibson is not getting a free pass, he is just being given a reasonable tome to perform. Be assured his day of reckoning will come. The issue here is the hypocrisy of not accepting what should be a fair measure of performance for a CJ. You have accepted the quality of his judgements which is good, BU however has given more weight to creating a system which produces timely judgements.

A backlog of 30000+ cases is not it! This is an ABC argument why are you not seeing it?

39. old onion bags re your 7:48 AM post;

What else? Taking up Amused’s fire-rage. The credible source.

40. Even this issue of confronting a judicial system in decline is not above being politicized it by educated citizens. Well God help us. Simmons is a likable person who blew the trumpet so his performance must get a pass is that right? Guess what it is not going to happen on BU.

BU wrote with passion about the immigration matter. We write with passion about food security. We write with passion about morality in politics. We write with passion about a deficiant Fourth Estate but we get those with agendas (political and other wise) who come here and spout nonsense. Sorry but it will not get by on BU!

41. @ David

Perhaps they ran away because they got tired of staring at a wall…and simply became disenchanted with the process; because they got tired of the level of debate;. because they found the whole thing a negative experience; because they heard too little that was actually constructive – only the standard posturing, the sheer nastiness and hypocrisy of some, the wittering trivia of others; because they found some of the posts incoherent to the point of absurdity – and then realised that things were no better here than the world to which they really did want to contribute and to which BU itself says it dedicates itself. David – you have given us the world – it’s here on BU.

None of which is to say that there are not delays and that they should not be scrutinised. The BA is trying to do it; Gibson is amenable to it; Simmons tried to address it. I have acknowledged the delays but said it goes beyond the easy target.

I ask again, what was the backlog when Simmons took over?

42. @checkit-out

Submitted on 2012/04/30 at 8:31 AM

old onion bags re your 7:48 AM post;

What else? Taking up Amused’s fire-rage. The credible source.

Surprised at your last comment. Here is the deal, attack BU’s position with your best logic and common sense, we are prepared to defend what we write. It is what we have done for the last 5-years. Those reading will decide for themselves where the agendas lie.

Amazing a judicial system in decline for the last 10 to 15 years which underpins a stable society would be trumped by peripheral issues.

43. @robert

Rest assured BU will not get tired trumpeting the cause of wanting efficient justice system. It is a cause we have been carrying from inception, no Johnny come lately cause Sir!

I ask again, what was the backlog when Simmons took over?

No time to be pedantic with you Robert.

44. @ Bush Tea

What is your evidence for saying Simmons ‘created’ the mess? By doing what? By not doing what?

45. David

You very acid today … wah happen man …?

Ross you and Amused better kiss and make up, wunna getting out ah hand too … ha ha ha

46. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie
    Who in their right mind could defend a man that created such a mess? …. But we all know the state of onion’s mind…RR is just out of touch…
    Onions mind..miles ahead of mayans….”in time to come” song penned by John King. but even given …according to ac ..”the man many likes to hate”(.morning gf)..light years to come.

47. @ David

And it’s right we should scrutinise justice. So I ask the third time – what was the backlog when Simmons took over?

48. David; I agree with you wholeheartedly, based on the information I’ve seen on this blog (BU that is, not just this discussion only), that our Justice system seems to be in decline especially in relation to the aspect of Justice delayed. However the case that you and Amused have made that seems to attribute total blame for the malaise to former CJ Simmons seems to be totally unfair and lacking in statistical support in the essay you have written above.

It appears to me that Robert Ross is saying “wait, hold on a minute. there are other factors, besides Simmons, that must be considered as substantial contributors to the agreed malaise”.

I see nothing wrong with that approach or anything in it that deserves the implicit attacks made on him for having the temerity to put forward the other side.

However, I may well accept your proposition if you could find corroborating data that shows that;

There was a distinct and significant jump in the backlog right after the Former CJ changed the Civil Procedure rules and that that change was directly responsible for the increase;

That the former CJ intentionally set up the new system as some sort of benefit system for the Justices;

That the new system is a brainchild of the former CJ alone and that it has no parallels in Jurisprudence in the Caribbean or elsewhere in the Commonwealth;

That any legal person would have known from the time of its introduction, that it would spell the subsequent increase in backlog here;

That Lawyers, at anytime over the last 50 years or so, have been motoring along in facilitating the expeditious hearing of their cases. (In fact, the admission of all the lawyers on this blog and their implied acceptance of the fact and that thee appear to see nothing wrong with Lawyers charging 500 dollars per hour or more for relaxing while attending court when the case is not tried, suggests to me that the lawyers have a very significant incentive for themselves delaying cases and that this may in fact be the single most causative factor in the delays (Can the Judges charge per hour?))

The introductory essay to this discussion, imho, is therefore lacking balance, and that balance should properly be restored by the legal persons such as RR and the others that come onto the blog from time to time.

49. @ BAF

I tried that. It doesn’t work.

50. old onion bags Avatar

@ Check-it
    Eloquence to which I concur….David slipped..too much Reggae on the Hill..
    sometimes we all fall from grace..