CCJ Justices

During the recent sitting of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) in Barbados, BU has received information from a credible source that the CCJ justices met with Barbados’ judges and expressed to them their displeasure and dismay at the state of the Barbados courts. While the CCJ placed all the blame at the feet of the Barbados Judiciary, BU feels that the Registry must share this blame equally.

The source of the massive build-up of 3,500 cases that have remained unheard for years, or part-heard for years or on which judgements have been undelivered (reserved) for years stems from the time of the appointment of Sir David Simmons as chief justice, it can be revealed.

Prior to the appointment of Sir David Simmons, cases were motored through the courts by the lawyers themselves, who had to answer to their clients for delays or a failure to adequately prosecute matters.

However, Sir David changed the Civil Procedure Rules so that cases were assigned to judges, in actual fact and practice for the terms of the natural lives of each judge so assigned. This has created a situation where the Registry is able to blame the judges and the judges in their turn have a scapegoat in the Registry.

And both judges and Registry are playing this situation to the max to the detriment of litigants and taxpayers. Indeed, to the detriment of our off-shore investment industry which, as was recently noted by Opposition Leader Owen Arthur, has fallen off to crisis point. Although Mr Arthur stops short of laying the blame squarely where it belongs – on the shoulders of himself and his appointee as chief justice.

Several recent examples have come to light where judges clerks have telephoned counsel to advise that decisions will be given on a specific date at a specific time, counsel turns up in court only to be told that the judge is, variously, on holiday, out of the island, sick, not ready, etc.

Effectively, this means that counsel that have already juggled their schedules (usually on less than 24 hours notice from the judge’s chambers) have their time wasted and then have to bill their clients for their time which in good faith they had every reason to believe would be well spent, but in fact proves to be a complete waste of time and money attributable SOLELY to the judge in question.

In one standout case which has for the moment to remain nameless, delivery of a reserved judgement was scheduled with counsel turning up in court to receive the judgment (a judgement that had been by then reserved for over TWO YEARS) on a case that had been started almost 10 years ago. BUT, the call to receive judgement occurred not once, but several time……and this is the NORM! So if you have two counsel on each side, each of which is charging $500 per hour, litigants are being charged $4,000 for each occasion times the number of occasions.

Meanwhile, BU has ascertained from several counsel (some of them silks) that when they write to the Registrar, no response is even forthcoming – not even by e-mail. And the same thing from the judges.

But the favourite excuse of the judges for not providing judgements is that the Registry has not yet typed them up. This is the lamest of the lot. In other jurisdictions, judges read their judgements and orders that they have written by hand and copies of these handwritten judgements are then provided to counsel, pending the fully typed up version. These judgements bear witness to the crossed-out and initialled and re-drafted work of the judges – AND THEY ARE ENFORCEABLE so as to expedite the delivery of justice. But why should the Barbados court system try to expedite justice?

And all this rot set in solely during the tenure of Sir David Simmons who now, along with his political lobby, seems intent on trying to persuade a far from credulous Barbados public and NOT as the result of the total mess made by Sir David, but due to the failure of Chief Justice Gibson.

Unfortunately for Sir David, the very transparency of Chief Justice Gibson and Gibson CJ’s willingness to highlight the inherited problems he is facing and to discuss freely the solutions he would want to see put in place, have made Sir David’s tactics subject to universal condemnation. Likely out of most proper professional ethics, however, Gibson CJ does not mention the most effective solution which we all know is to fire 75% of the judges and the Registry, starting with the Registrar, all (or most) appointed by or on the advice of Sir David Simmons.

It is a sad circumstance that, Bajans having been raised from the cradle to respect judges and their support organisation, the Registry, now have no respect for them whatsoever, above all Barbados’ former chief justice.

Let those judges reflect that as they drive around Barbados with their official cars and police drivers and go into court with everyone bowing, the thought on every Bajan mind is that they are a bunch of freeloading parasites whose monumental egos and incompetence have ruined our justice system and our off-shore industry and who, rather than making any effort to support the efforts of the Chief Justice, are actively campaigning with the loser whom he replaced and exposing Barbados to international disdain, the ruin or our off-shore sector and the open and aggressive censure of the justices of the Caribbean Court of Justice. Almost every civil case that has come before the CCJ from Barbados has drawn uncomplimentary remarks on Barbados’ judicial system from the justices of the CCJ. One is hard-put to find any appeals from Barbados in the judgements of which the CCJ has not commented negatively on the length of time involved in the Barbados courts.

This is shameful and unacceptable and it clearly high time government provided the back-up to the CJ to take extraordinary measures to dismiss the persons responsible, rather than have these parasitic incompetents spending their working lives doing nothing but drag Barbados down both reputationally and financially and then expensing the taxpayers for the remainder of their lives to pay pensions to them.

1. @Ckeck

i did no law courses at uwi during the two stints i had there, so stop fishing. I did do a law course, but externally. hope u are satisfied with the explanation.

to borrow from observer, peace my brother.

2. Blogger2012; What does restating a view that appears to be shared by a significant number of posters on BU (from earlier blogs) have to do with being a spoilt brat? Or is it that anyone who has an opposing view to yours and maintains it when you attack, is getting on like a spoilt brat?

You still have that door?

3. @ Robert Ross:

I have long made the same arguments that you are making now. When it comes to the inefficiency of the court system, BU David has always placed much of the blame at the feet of David Simmons. I have always found it unfair.

David said:

“However in the same way the former CJ is planning to document his response to not having his appointment as CJ extended he should have done the same as CJ by clearly articulating what the issues were which caused the Court System to almost collapse under his watch”

David, about a year ago I downloaded the transcript of a speech by David Simmons from this very website. The speech was dated October 5, 2009. In it, Sir David articulated the issues that were causing back log in the courts and what was being done to address those issues. In my view, his speech was pretty clear. So I do not think that he can be accused of not “clearly articulating the issues that caused the Court System to almost collapse”.

My understanding is that the implementation of many of his initiatives was delayed as a result of push back from members of the legal community. I do not know if it is true, but that is what I hear. I understand that many of these very initiatives are now being championed by both the new CJ and the Bar Association.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Wait blogger ….what’s wid ur retort. ?…Did I say B2012….behave n stop being a knave….u like u are one those Poter’s ummans…lol

5. !@david

thanks for the link to the point.

6. Blogger2012; Re. your 5.39 pm post. I didn’t see it before I wrote my latest post above. Sorry about referring to the door incident.

7. @non legal

a captain is respnsible for the success or defeat of his team.

8. @ Anonlegal

You have resurfaced? Good to see you about. It seems the lawyers have entered the debate in full voice. A pity Jeff is consumed by FSC matters.

The speech to which you refer supports the point, former CJ Simmons’ tenure straddled 2009 to 2010. The speech was delivered in 2009?

9. As an aside,

“Banks got $114B from governments during recession
    Support for banks ‘more substantial than Canadians were led to believe’: CCPA report”

We Bajan-Canadians and Canadians have a Freedom of Information Act and this is the first we hearing about this.

Only in Canada eh!

10. I have read the contributions on this blog and no one has mentioned the scenario with regards to innocent persons languishing at Dodds waiting for their day in court.

It is one thing to wait 5 or 10 years for an estate to be settled but what about those innocent people in Dodds?
    Their lives are being destroyed by arrogant egocentric ashlows who treat the Justice system as a profit centre.

Some Bajan Lawyers,QCs,Judges and politicians are complicit in this abuse.

Imagine if one of you was wrongfully charged for a crime and was remanded to Dodds and had to wait 2 years for a trial date.

11. Hants; I don’t think that anyone was particularly concerned with listing the numerous agreed ills of the justice system but only, either to attribute total blame to the former CJ or, suggest that such blame should more reasonably be apportioned between that CJ and the other “ashlows who treat the justice system as a profit centre”.

While doing some domestic tasks it occurred to me that the vigour and venom of the attacks on DS might be explainable as being a part of a grand conspiracy (I love conspiracy theories). The dream conspiracy, with little factual underpinnings, goes like this:

DS is appointed CJ. That sticks in the craw of DT but until he becomes PM he can do little about it. DS from early develops a patently comprehensive and wide ranging plan and strategy to create very significant improvements in the Judicature (David BU has posted that plan on his site) and sets about implementing it. (Perhaps that might have been the real reason he took the job in the first place) Some of the Lawyers, and perhaps a few judges as well, push back hard as the plan will make them actually do some work expeditiously and possibly reduce their earnings as well. DT becomes PM and actively fosters the resistance to the DS plans, going so far as to ensure that DS would not be in office for the customary year or two after retirement to complete and get credit for effecting great improvements in the justice system. After DT’s death the new CJ, MG, takes over the plan and pushes it, ostensibly garnering support from the BA as well as from some of the partisan lawyers who had been pushing back during DS’ tenure as CJ.

But, given the fact that the justice system is being treated as a profit centre and the new system will impact negatively on that profit centre. Could anyone be sanguine enough to predict that the new CJ will have that new, DS inspired system shotting in the next 2 years or so?

By the way, did clicking in the small name boxes that advance up the screen as you type in the BU blog solve your problem? If it did or didn’t say so as it might assist other bloggers who have the same problem.

12. I switched to Firefox and that solved the problem.

Thanks for the suggestion.

13. Anyone care to posit an opinion on the effect delayed justice has on the wrongfully accused?

Whether Simmons caused the problem or not is irrelevant to the wrongfully accused languishing in Dodds.

14. “The time has come to hold that office accountable as CJ Gibson will find out.”

David like he got he gun pointed already … Wah happen David man, you get rape and loss a’ appeal or wah ..? ha ha ha

15. @ Hants

Actually Hants…see the end of my blog April 30th 12.48am…and yes, this is of equal moment as I never stop saying when I get the chance – though normally no-one says anything.

16. @ Check-It

Well, there you have it. Blogger is Observer and is busily ‘peacing’. The latter did the London External and the over-weening Amused cannot help saying he knows him. They begin stroking each other as they usually do.. Meanwhile Amused now says he didn’t say what he said and thereby demonstrates that he is a paranoid shizophrenic intent on hiding his duplicity even from himself. David for his part suggests that RR is in the pay of DS but welcomes Anonlegal who corroborates everything that RR has been saying. David becomes helpful to Anon, who has referred to a speech of DS in which he scrutinises delays in the system though David has already posted a similar speech which does the same thing as anyone who can read would see – except David and the usual suspects. Meanwhile David admits that all the blame cannot be attributed to DS – the one thing he has consistently argued for and which the post champions.

You, for your part, are upfront and say you are not a lawyer and are willing to be persuaded. RR declares an interest and says he knows DS and respects him. It occurs to Hants that there are other serious matters in the sytem that require scrutiny as you, way way above, acknowledged RR had pinpointed.

What price INTEGRITY?

17. @ David

Of the 3000 + ‘backlog’ cases, how many are cases which have merely been filed and how many are actually ready for hearing?

18. @ Anonlegal

Hello. Thankyou.

19. @ Sid Boyce

IF you have continued to follow this, you will have seen again and again corroboration of what you said so wisely. David thinks he’s creating a ‘brave new world’ but doesn’t see that ‘it’s new to thee’. Indeed why should he…for this ‘family’ of his is still itself rooted, for the most part, in the old?

20. Actually RR. Having been a regular contributor to BU for little more than 2 years, I read the situation somewhat differently to you.

Blogger2012 and An Observer are different entities despite anything that Amused might hint. Amused has a serious personal problem with David Simmons. Practically anyone that suggests or could be tangentially considered to have suggested anything good about DS appears to be a target for Amused and deemed to be one of his supporters or even to be DS himself. I don’t know how I got away from his pen when I agreed with Caswell Franklyn that DS was a human being in another blog. Blogger2012 often contributes very insightful posts but sometimes gets cranky if people don’t appear to agree with him. An Observer generally posts insightful and educational stuff also but the tenor of his posts suggests to me that despite how he tries to hide it, they are generally partisan

David is the best blogmaster in the Caribbean. He may have some slight leanings towards one party but he usually doesn’t show it and is usually quite fair and balanced unless one of his bete noirs such as DS or FOIA comes up. But even then he cools down and sees reason.

I try to use logic when I see the hounds baying at individuals in what I think is an unfair manner and try to counter their arguments, but I also have my biases. I never liked David Thompson and I’ve said that up front on this blog when he was alive, on his sick bed and since then. I think David Simmons does not deserve the treatment he gets on this blog from a number of regular posters.

21. Blogger - Observer - Amused , Avatar
    Blogger – Observer – Amused ,

@ robert ross .
    I wonder if a posting coming from ME would satisfy your curiosity any greater ? You seem obsessed with bloggers ‘ identity . Why dont you reveal yours if identity matters so much more than the substance of ones post ? Peace etc ……

22. Blogger - Observer - Amused , Avatar

Would you accept postings from THIS blogger if only to placate robert ross ?

23. @Blogger – Observer – Amused

Yes, never a dull moment on the BU 🙂

24. Blogger - Observer - Amused , Avatar

@ David .
    Thank you most kindly David . LOL…

25. @ Check-it

No – you confirm everything I said about you .But I wonder how different is ‘different’…either way they play tweedledum to tweedledee, use the same kind of invective and are generally rather shabby. Someone raises a question of A…B chimes in ‘You haven’t got a clue…do some reasoning and then come back’…..as if from Olympus…in fact a pygmy from a molehill. One calls you a ‘spoit brat’ because you disagreed with him and YOU end up apologising to him! Well, you’re nicer than me I suppose. But then these people are known to be both arrogant and pedantic. I suspect they’ve been brats themselves on BU for far too long and the ‘superiority’ has never been seriously challenged until now.One of them at least has a personal beef against Simmons and I’ve alluded to it. And yes, sorry, I do find it irritating when David gets all cutchy when a certain lady walks in, then starts name dropping, and forgets the nonsense he levelled at me which he KNOWS is not accurate. That is NOT the conduct of the ‘best blog master…’ etc and I have to say I’m disappointed in him. But then tomorrow is another day – well, actually, it has been ‘tomorrow’ for far too long.

26. Oh one other thing. Like me, you say that you don’t know when you don’t. When these people are making a case and actually have no serious grounds for making it, though they pretend they do, their usual tactic is to push the burden on those who oppose them to justify their position. So instead of proving something is true, as they assert, they require you to prove what they say is untrue – thereby requiring you to prove a negative; whereas the cardinal rule is that ‘he who asserts must prove’. It’s a trick to avoid the weakness in their position. I fell for it once and will never do so again. And it’s what they tried on you.

27. Oh you boys are here are you….now Observer, that is YOU…if you were the unmentionable you’d already have sworn. But see….there IS no substance so what else can I do?

28. Blogger - bserver - Amused , Avatar
    Blogger – bserver – Amused ,

@ David .
    Where did you happen to find this self righteous man ? What really is his beef ? Haven’t you found out he is the ONLY NON PARTISAN person on this blog and is bitter with everyone else for being partisan ? I have now been made to find out , thanks to him , what it means to be unbiassed . THANK YOU MR ROSS. You have been busy all day ; you are obviously a retired lawyer ; do have a good rest . YOU NEED IT. Do you also wish a two-year extension ?

29. And do you want promotion? Sorry…guess you’ll have to wait. My beef? Simply with people like you….uncreative, narrow skinflints who will never see the horizon and who, meanwhile, parade their self-confessed virtues to the rest of us.

30. @Checkit-Out | April 30, 2012 at 5:08 PM | “He has an admirable way with words but he also seems to have a red flag going off whenever DS is mentioned. I wonder why?”

The mess the justice system is in, the mess it has created in the off-shore sector, the fact that these were mainly contributed to by a silk, attorney general, chief justice……I tend to take those things very personally indeed……..as all Bajans should. Maybe you should too.

@Blogger2012 (and new alias). Re: RR. I myself have taken, for the most part, to simply ignoring him as I would if someone farted at a party. Small man, small man syndrome. Poor, little RR pouter pigeon. Bless.

By the way, Blogger2012, I do NOT know who you are, nor you me. As you know, I was joking when I suggested that you were either related to or actually An Observer. I do not know who An Observer is, except I rate his opinions very highly, even when I don’t agree, as I do yours.

31. old onion bags Avatar

@Amused
    The mess the justice system is in, the mess it has created in the off-shore sector, the fact that these were mainly contributed to by a silk, attorney
    general, chief justice…
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    You keep repeating this like a broken record (!). While the tardiness of the judicial systems was one contributing factor (cutting thru red tape), it was not the overriding one.
    More importantly was this administrations’ lethargic work ethic in keeping abreast of chances to what other countries were offering to woo keep
    IBC’s and FSC’s . While not laying all the blame at your doorstep (lacking experience)….a good lot has to be.. You are aware plenty happens by contacts ? …again where Georgie fell thru. So you too could stop Jonesing now……doing the Ronnie dance.

32. old onion bags Avatar

corr :changes

33. Blogger - bserver - Amused , Avatar
    Blogger – bserver – Amused ,

@ robert ross .
    MY FINAL RESPONSE…..YOU MUST BE ONE OLD UNHAPPY MAN !!!! It is about time you let go of the word ” PEDANTIC ” ; go buy a book of synonyms . GOODBYE !!!!!!

34. old onion bags Avatar

@ Check-it
    David may have some slight leanings towards one party but he usually doesn’t show it
    Nawww…him ? nawwwwwwwwwwwwwww lol

35. RR; I apologized to Blogger2012 because, on reflection, I referred to an old incident which I should not have, but which I think reflected a characteristic of the person whom I think he is, that was relevant to the discussion.

36. @RR
    You must be a fairly decent lawyer, judging by the manner in which you have diverted a perfectly legitimate and relevant discussion into a meaningless street brawl about petty issues and personalities.
    Brilliant!!
    Perfectly in keeping with what has happened to Justice in our courts. The vital and critical need for JUSTICE has been side tracked by bullshit, into petty political and personal agendas with the result, as Hants so clearly puts it, that innocent persons DO find themselves in jail for YEARS for lack of a trial….
    How ANYONE in their right mind could fail to be upset with this reality in this century boggles the mind…. and ANYONE who undertakes that job MINUS the intention to address that POX on our society deserves our full volume of verbal abuse….as does anyone (such as DS) who, after a lifetime in the system as lawyer, politician, AG, CJ can leave us with a big new building – but with an even worse SYSTEM.

Bushie is ashamed that people here can be defensive of such a status quo.

If not the boss to be blamed then who…? the staff? the opposition? the litigants?….. or is it Bushie?

The same applies to the current CJ.
    Bottom line! What brains what??!!
    If you don’t have the balls for the job to be done….TAKE A PASS…

37. @ Ross
    Why do you keep on flogging dead horses?

38. @robert

BU’s position is simple, the buck stops with the CJ.

We can agree to disagree.

39. @ Bush
    You’ve had every opportunity to contribute – and I responded to your question. Now answer the ones addressed to you.

As for diversions – there was nothing to divert. It diverted itself once Amused began his verbal swank. The post was a ‘lie’ and if you scrutinise it all closely it MAY be self-evident to you that it is.

As for the substantive point you raise – persons in Dodds who are entitled to rely on the presumption of innocence – I agree with you entirely. I’ve said the same here and in every post where there has been opportunity. No-one – not you, not anyone – has EVER responded positively….or in fact at all.

40. Bush Tea; Just one thing you got wrong there. Everyone commenting on this topic agreed that the Justice system is abysmal. However, some, including you put the full blame for the system reaching this sorry pass on the Former Chief Justice. A few others pushed back on the apparent unfairness of that particular judgement.

David, himself, by posting the url to Simmon’s speech about the new initiatives he was implementing in the justice system, allowed all to read and hopefully understand that DS was aware of the escalating problems and doing something about them by providing a detailed blueprint of the way forward and getting resources for implementing the changes from soon after he took up the CJ position. But the CJ job is not that of a dictator, it requires support and buy-in from all its constituents to be successful. That support was evidently not there. and the lack of such support now seems to presage the lack of such support in the future when MG tries to run with what is evidently DS’ blueprint.

What we should be talking about is how the new CJ and all the legal officers can work together to comprehensively improve the system. You can’t go forward by ascribing unspecific total blame to a past player. You can honestly and in detail try to identify exactly how the system fell down and try to implement a system that removes the constraints arrived at and therefore can realistically move forward with real dispatch or even as Amused says “motors on.”

Not a single soul defended the status quo in this discussion as far as I can see.

Uh dun wid dis. When David puts up a new blog that looks at how the Justice system can move forward, given the toxic environment in which it now operates, I would be happy to re-engage.

41. @checkit-out

Then he should have resigned.

42. @ Checkit-out
    You always have logical positions, so just one point before you opt out – if you please..
    You say that the issue is “Bushie putting all the blame on DS…”.
    Who do you say we should blame..?

The point is that unless we learn from the history of this mess, we shall condemn ourselves to repeat it…. Certainly if no one is to blame then we cannot expect any change…

Bushie’s position is simple.

The REASON for having a leader is to have someone with the POWER and the RESPONSIBILITY to do what has to be done.
    A leader therefor has to :
    1 – Understand the organization and people in it
    2 – Have a vision of where he wants to take the organization
    3 -Have a clear strategic plan of action – and to share it
    4- MAKE CHANGE HAPPEN

miss any one of these steps and you are a failure….especially step 4.

DS clearly had a vision – (from his speech). Should have had a good understanding of the system (from his experience in it) …. BUT DID HE GET THE REQUIRED RESULTS?

If you are saying that judges were ‘pushing back’ then you should note that he was the BOSS… not a begger. Bosses with balls do what have to be done in the interest of RIGHT. …. it takes BALLS.

If DT was the problem when he became PM, then DS should have dealt with his backside through the COURT or RESIGNED on principal and stated his case….. that is what a man with BALLS would do…..
    If you sit there like a wimp and say nothing and do nothing while your mission is being thwarted – is that not FAILURE?

The thing about being a LEADER is that you CAN’T BLAME others for lack of results….. as David said, The buck stops at YOU.

43. Bush Tea;

Thanks! Let me just opt in temporarily to make one more point. I would have agreed totally with your post above if it had come after an examination of the total system and a proper determination of the extent to which the various parts of the system had contributed to the malaise and that determination had categorically identified the leadership of the previous CJ as being at fault. But that was not the case. There was a headlong rush to judgement in ascribing all blame to the leader, DS. I really don’t think that was fair.

Do you think that the venality of practically all lawyers and their ability to charge heavily for not working is a contributory factor to the malaise?

Do you think that Justices who take 3 years to give judgements is another factor?

Do you think that the antedeluvian dependance on pen and paper contributed to the malaise?

Do you think that the registration system contributed?

Do you think that unadulterated phardball politics on both sides contributed?

Their contributions must have a value and should be factored into finding a lasting solution.

Of course leadership and getting things done matters and should even have a slightly higherm weighting than the others but the others matter, in toto, much more than leadership, imho.

What I’m suggesting is that let us restart the examination and try to objectively tease apart the various aspects of the system that have led to where we are now and if all roads leads to the past CJ then so be it. Curse him as much as you want and as he would deserve but don’t do it at this stage where the evidence does not yet seem to be all in.

Thats all.

44. @checkit-out

You just don’t get do you? A leader, in this case DS, will always have to work with stakeholders/partners to get the job done. Of course he must have gotten push back from many of those stakeholders. It is not our job as citizens to care about any examination of the total system as you suggest, it was the job of DS! Our job as citizens is to measure efficiency of the justice system by the years many spend on remand, or the length of time judges take to render judgements i.e. timely delivery of justice. This is not personal to DS he just happens to be the man who for the last 15 years has been in the lead to shape/influence the local judiciary.

45. Checkit
    The weakness of your position is this…
    Lawyers charge as they do because it suits THEIR personal purpose AND because the system allows them to get away with it
    ditto for judges taking years to decide cases
    ditto for staff using pen and paper
    ditto for the registration system etc

The COMMON factor is that the SYSTEM dictates what the various players are allowed to get away with…… ONLY THE BOSS has the power, authority and responsibility to address this….

…for example Judges are to give decisions in say 6 months. a judge takes 10 years. The BOSS DOES NOTHING! what do you think other judges will do…? The fault is with the BOSS who allows this…

There is no need for a commission of inquiry into such matters – IT IS ALWAYS THE BOSS …. that is where the buck stops….

In comparison with the AX matter, the REAL problem is that while Broomes seem bent on changing an obviously bad system HE IS NOT THE BOSS!! …he has to refer matters to the Ministry, the Public Service Commission, the union and lord knows who else….

No such problem with the CJ….
    🙂 let the man take his licks…. If Gibson don’t start shaking up some things soon he will get even more lashes in his behind… just now.

46. Wait David
    …you like you is a bushman yuh 🙂

47. @ David

“agree to disagree”

Yes we can do that. But it depends upon what precisely we are disagreeing about. We do not disagree about the need for scrutiny as an ongoing process. We do not disagree about the need to scrutinise the judges – nor even DS. We do not disagree inevitably about the idea of the ‘captain taking responsibility’…sometimes that’s right, sometimes not. We don’t disagree about the quantum of the backlog. Where we part company is the extent you can blame one man for that. Which brings me back to the backlog. I asked you above how many cases had merely been filed and how many were ready for hearing. Probably you don’t know the answer to that any more than I do. But it prompts me to say that you simply can’t blame DS for the former. That’s down to the lawyers. You might, consistently with your position, blame him for the latter. The result is that our disagreement is actually about a contingent hypothetical – and to that extent is meaningless.

48. @robert

As citizens we have to hold somebody accountable and BU has decided that person is the Chief Justice. It is up to the CJ, whoever occupies the office to get the job done or step aside.

49. Just being objective Avatar
    Just being objective

@ David .
    The problem at the heart of this debate is that those persons like ross and Caswell Franklyn cannot accept that the former Chief Justice is other than super-human , an impression which he himself , in no small measure tried vigorously to convey . On my return to Barbados from an overseas trip in early 2002 , a friend made available to me a supplement put out by THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE of SUNDAY , DECEMBER 9 , 2001.entitled TRIBUTE TO SIR DAVID . An Inspiring Life , a Meritorious Career ….Sir David Anthony Cathcart Simmons K.A, B.C.H., QC.. Husband , Father, Attorney-at-Law , Parliamentarian , Attorney-General , Chief Justice Designate . The supplement was put out after Sir David was appointed Chief Justice . It was a 31 page document that highlighted everything the goodly gentleman ever accomplished from the cradle and beyond and was littered with congratulatory messages from EVERY SINGLE COMMERCIAL BUSINESS Of NOTE IN BARBADOS . I firmly believed then that there would be a backlash from this UNUSUAL publication . Never before had the appointment of a Chief Justice been given such ” acclaim”.
    Some of the accolades which Caswell and ross sound off about feature prominently in that publication ; First Barbadian to acquire an LLM degree ; quickest to achieve the rank of Queen’s Counsel and others ..fastest runner apart from Agostini in Trinidad etc , etc etc. To these have been recently added the distinction of never having had a judgment of his appealed against or overturned . In other words , Simmons , with the help of some of his obvious admirers had been set up as a SUPER BEING ; a new JUDICIAL MESSIAH . When in future years his stewardship is being subjected to public scrutiny , it is only natural ; HE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ONE CLOTHED IN THE GARB OF INFALLIBILITY , NOT AN ORDINARY MORTAL BEING LIKE MOST OF HIS CONTEMPORARIES .
    If it is now considered by many that he has failed in his stewardship as CJ , it is natural that he will be more harshly judged than ANY OF HIS PREDECESSORS . Anyone who takes a read of that ADVOCATE SUPPLEMENT WILL UNDERSTAND WHY .

50. Bushtea and David; You raise a number of good points that force me to respond. However I will be out for most of today and will do so tonight or this afternoon. Essentially, I think you are taking an apparently reasonable solution “The boss is always responsible” and shoehorned it into this specific situation where it has not been proven that the boss is totally at fault, given what the boss in a real world situation in Barbados in 2010 can actually do and the limits by which he was constrained.

Could DS actually fire all the judges who were tardy in their judgements? Could he get the Lawyers to work expeditiously on their cases? Did he take steps to try to improve the system in several ways? etc. etc.

I’ll try to respond fully tonight.