Submitted by Hamilton Hill
Minister Kellman and Noel Lynch, Bajan Politicians

As the hands of life’s time peace moves us closer to the end of yet another year on planet earth, we as a people are faced with the realization that it also moves us closer to the crossroad where the wrong turn takes the most stable nation in the region down the path that others bigger and more resourceful have followed, and are yet to see even a glimmer of hope that recovery is within their grasp.

The up-coming general elections may well be yet another watershed moment in the history of the land to which we all lay claims of love. If those claims are to be taken seriously then we must engage in the act of introspective soul searching with the intent of bringing Barbados back to the days of yore when party affiliation was secondary and surfaced only at election time.Today it predominates our every move.The group that speaks begrudgingly of “The Fatted Calf” are constantly reminded of the life they enjoyed while living “High On The Hog” and the unconnected lot wait patiently for the crumbs that fall from the Party Table.

What choice do they have at this point?

Even here at Barbados Underground simple debates are as educational as they are partisan, and can quickly depart from every tenet of civil discourse, only to be replaced by language reminiscent of that from a political meeting of the People’s Pressure Movement. What some may refuse to admit but cannot overlook is the fact that there are glaring traits of similarity that bind the two major parties in a way that only serve to breathe life into the growing movement of scepticism. Dennis Kellman is the government’s version of the opposition’s Noel Lynch. They both have fallen head over heels in love with the sound of their respective voices, to the point where some say that they both are plagued by that malady Bajans call “Short Man Syndrome” (see me and hear me at all times)

Lets go as far back as the murder of Victor Pele`Parris. Were we not told by one party that they would get to the bottom of that? From Atlantic Shores to Brooklyn stretched the trail of evidence and? Fast forward to Jonathan Danos and 3S steel. While working for a company called Mabey & Johnson Ltd Mr. Danos was sued for taking kickbacks on deals done in Jamaica, Panama and the Dominican Republic, yet  was in bed with the Arthur administration. Today’s government still does business with 3S. Planted in the centre of a ministry is a man painted in infamy by the then opposition.

As both sides remind us of their quest to guide us out of third world status, they find it easier to facilitate a chosen few who found over-night riches, than to find a way to replace the pit toilets that far too many still have to use in this modern day Barbados. Silly as it may sound, after this election we may be talking of the Barbados we used to know. My vote goes to the first party that gives some politician a taste of prison. Perhaps I will never vote again.

1. Whatever happened to the idea of the ‘third force’ in politics? The last two posts are suggestive that we simply cannot help dividing on traditional lines….indeed, that is what the posts invited us to do.

2. VOTE INDEPENDENT OR NOT AT ALL …!

3. Hamilton Hill …I thoroughly enjoyed reading this piece. You have stated exactly how many of us feel about the politics we are seeing in Barbados.
    “My vote goes to the first party that gives some politician a taste of prison.”
    My sentiments exactly!

Shortman syndrome?…Is that when a man’s nose is too near his pooch? And he walks around with his nose up in the air trying to avoid the stench from his rear?

4. My late grandfather used to say “an apple cannot fall far from its tree unless it is up a hill”

“We the people” we Bajans have truly lost our way insofar as it so evident that every five years “they” assemble a few apples” and a bariffle of “breadfruit swappers” and then, for five ensuing years, we cry out as if amazed over the incredulous, cretinous idiocy that “the majority of the majority” of either the BLP or the DLP subject us to.

It is as if the Bajan voting public go up to the Souse Factory (the pig good dey) and expect, in keeping with the miracle of the five loaves and the two fish, that you will be able to order Chefette at Mr. Went’s place!

We often remark about how “educated” we are as a nation, and we tout our international education standing/position but let us face it, as my Grandfather said “bring is NOT shining”

1. The Power of Recall. Since none of us is omniscient and cannot see into the heart of man, demand that they give us that power AND if perchance they bring us more “minister of sidewalks” mentalities, bring them back home to our constituencies.

2. Demand more of these political parties that feel we is ingrunt Bajans and that they can play 6.30, 6.30 for the campaign period at enough decibels to even frighten the late David out of his grave, and after “a good time was had by all” and we have savoured “the corn beef and biscuits”, or the “fatted calf” , seduce us to vote for “men of straw”. Cant say Women of straw cause there are only a few of them and i don’t want to get sue or get a nex judgment gainst me boah.

Bajans are crying out for men and women of integrity. Not empty Integrity Legislation!

This is no longer a DLP and BLP dog and pony show.

We, the average Bajan man and woman, HAVE suffered for years under both parties’ practices of bringing DJ so en so and de Pastor Fasts and have us vote for them.

It has, in the final analysis, worked against our collective good when we appoint a dufus who (i) either leaves us in a state where not a (new) red cent is added to our government’s coffers (ii) puts us at the doorstep of the IMF and devaluation or, (iii) and (i tread carefully here) there is such an uncanny decrease in our government’s coffers during the reign of the dufus that the Auditor General’s has a field day post their demit of office.

When they come to your house this time wid comedians, clowns and DJs, close your window in their face.

Mek dem up the stakes and find men and women with cojones (figuratively only)

5. It is amazing how after a few short years, hardcore DLP supporters have become so cynical after they have witnessed the systematic distruction of this country because of the incompetence and lack of vision of the DLP. How could a party who promised so much, could have delivered so little. Hence their supporters are totally disillusioned and we now get to see the frustration revealed in the above post that HH could go back to dig up the Pele case.

We have the CLICO issue right now, why no mention of CLICO in your post which is current and is affecting so many thousands of Barbadians who trustfully placed their monies in this company and greedy bastards including the late king of the DLP lick out the people’s money and are still living in style while the poor people are suffering.

Have no fear, hope is on the way. If there are ploliticians who have abused their priviledge of being an elected member of Parliament, be it Bee or Dee, I fully support that they be brought to justice. But we cannot go on saying we will not vote because politicians do wrong and are not punished. Who will rule the land if we all take such an attitude?

6. I seem to recall an earlier post by HH which followed essentially the same line and which was almost instantly disavowed by him as he remounted his partisan horse midstream during the responses to his article. I suspect HH is again up to the same trick. But it is an excellent piece. Prodigal; faint condemnation of CLICO was in the previous article.

7. old onion bags Avatar

“Accost …dear Minister accost…seeking what and knoweth all , beware the fall….No deceit so veiled as that concealed by courtesies for all..”
    Ole Bags a Onions (orig.)

8. old onion bags Avatar

That one was specially addressed to you “boy child”

9. How about uif ee start placing some of the blame on ourselves for surely we as an educated people can be more proactive by forming organisations which would be steadfast and diligent into looking into the backgrounds of those who run for office it is not after the fact we want to know those of whom we voted for because it is too late. we too must shoulder some of the responsibilty in seeing that promises are kept by those who we elect.

10. The DLP must not and will not win the next election
    There are too many liabilities in the Party: Doodling Freundel is the main one.

btw What has become of Dr. Estwick ?

11. Porter
    You mean the pitt bull or the poodle ?…if ya went to Laff it Off ..lol

12. Porter,

The joke making the rounds is that he is suffering from “Sealyitis”. It is being said that as soon as Freundel appointed Sealy to act as PM, Estwick’s blood pressure went sky high. Dont quote me, this what I heard!

13. It would be most expedient for the DLP to call the elections soon…regardless of the big maguffy talk…..the amount of problems that are “floating up” (Miller)…pro ports to handing over the baton…. as the school children (Marshall) ..used to say..”It hot, it hot , it burn off (name) bot bot..How apt ?..listen to the school children man.

14. Same old lament; same old wailing; same old river side. Ah well.

15. It seems like it is time to change the name of Bu to OOBU because evry time there is change in topic the few political blpa yardflows lead by OOB talks the same sh…t

16. old onion bags Avatar

Have you all ever thought why we so called “yard birds”..have so much to talk about ? Think about it then you equals will hopeful NOT be so quick to cast stones.THIS PLACE IS IN A MESS..!!!..Can anyone of you say otherwise and honestly mean it ? ..Don’t shoot at this messenger…Our problem is that you’ll bit off more than you could chew….and rather than spit it out…..you would rather CHOKE…..sad to say,it is the people who do the suffering.

17. Proud new Barbadian citizen Avatar
    Proud new Barbadian citizen

David of BU,
    Well today I stand as a proud citizen of Barbados (after the inaugural Citizen Induction Ceremony ) at LESC on 11th April , 2012.

Thankfully, this wonderful action by the Dear Loving Party, now places me and hundreds more in a wonderful position to cast our votes for the great Democratic Labour Party under the astute leadership of Freundel Jerome Stuart.

Hip Hip Hip…..Hooraaaay !!!!

I wish I had an Old Onion Bag….to store my joy in !

18. @ proud new

And free medicine so the recently bragged about savings gine be shortlived…lmao

19. Proud new Barbadian citizen Avatar

Enuff | April 12, 2012 at 4:31 PM |
    @ proud new

And free medicine so the recently bragged about savings gine be shortlived…lmao

I still remain extremely proud and grateful……at least Barbados has a wonderful healthcare programme for years….that the GREAT USA now trying to institute in the year 2012

ENUFF….of this BLP ungratefulness !!!

20. Your response says it all; you are no more a recent citizen than I am. Just another one of your many pseudonyms.

21. old onion bags Avatar

Juxtapose Sandi’s real purpose here is for a mission (GG), and the Citizen Inauguration was but a smoke screen …..include to that, the PM off to Washington…to deliver lectures, and while the Sherrif will be in town , he pay visits to heads of IMF,World Bank and the IADB…….I will not attempt any more “hyper-packing” but to say……..ON GAURD !

22. @ Prodigal Son…Where I stand in relation to the CLICO fiasco is well documented.The point I sought to make is that both parties have told us at one time or another what they thought we wanted to hear.What is also troublesome is the fact that you Prodigal,and some others seem to think that the transgressions exposed in the CLICO fiasco some how exonerate Owen Arthur and his band of merry men.They do not……Again I say tiefing is tiefing,B or D.

23. @ Checkit-Out…. I am not sure of the piece to which you refer.All I can say is that you might have interpreted my response as a disavowal but such was not intended,for my every piece comes straight from the heart.As they say any six is a half dozen,but I still love my six a little more than I love Prodigal’s hence the need to defend.

24. @ Islandgal 246……to your question the answer is yes….now answer mine.You soak dem hands in epsom salts yet?Dem must be swell big enough from all a dem vicious blows you pelt recently.Bonny P teach you real good it seems.

25. David (not BU) Avatar

i don’t think persons should make sport at Dr. Estwick as he maybe very ill.

26. Well Done to the DLP government for bringing some semblance of order and rules to the chaotic immigration situation created by the BLP and Owen Arthur.
    The BLP left the immigration department demoralised and with all sorts of scams and shams in effect.People now understand that there is a clear and legal way to citizenship and that Barbados cannot have an anything goes and comes immigration policy.
    One more reason to reject this piss poor field of BLP “candidates” in the next election.

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hamilton Hill
    You ain’t see licks yet…..you hold ya back…. WAIT TILL ELECTIONS.

Man ya learning well from the master…nice digression….
    {old onion bags | April 12, 2012 at 7:30 PM |}…lol

28. old onion bags Avatar

@ ! | April 12, 2012 at 8:50 PM |
    Stupessssssssssss

29. old onion bags Avatar

Thompson & Associates to Close | April 12, 2012 at 8:48 PM |
    SIGNS:
    Take heed …..the bell coming out !

30. @Hamilton Hill….my hands are great after all that blows and can share more if they have to. Bonny taught me well and I miss her sooo much.She was my partner in crime and I would have liked to see her cat spradle OOB. She would have diced him up and fed him to the ducks. Thanks for showing your concern.

BONNY GIRL WE MISS YUH COME BACK TAH WEE NUH?

31. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting David Weekes at 8:37 a.m. “Bajans are crying out for men and women of integrity. Not empty Integrity Legislation!”

I agree with you 100%

32. Wunna can’t see that a certain person (OOB) who recently joined the BU family talks in his sleep? He ent giving other people a chance bout hey. I wonder if he is able to shut his mouth for at least a few seconds? I guess not . He really likes flapping his gums and must have caught nuff flies in the process. I am sure he doan sleep whe de nite come cause he too busy peeping on BU to see who talking bout he. LOLL He even mumbling in Latin. Bon nuit mes amis et beaux reves. Bien dormi!

33. OOB; re. your Thompson & Associates to Close above. Looks like they can’t contest the Forensic audit preliminary findings. Question is; Can the Gov’t find a credible defence when it gets around to it? Hiding their collective heads for the next 12 months in the sand is not a credible option, lots of things can happen in that time.

You might be right!

34. The young lawyers deciding to close makes sense on many fronts.

One big reason, its reputational capital would have taken a hit.

All the goodwill they thought they had received with the transfer has not been deflated.

35. yes the fallout from the clico debacle and the legal ramifications would indeed be detremental to the law firm and the law firm is right to dissassociate itself from the the name DT in an attempt to stop the bleeding. Many corporations do this in such highly and speculative legal matters it makes good business sense and at the same time removes itself from any of the legal costs or other legalities incurred brought about by such parterniships .

36. speaking of the one and only bonny yes she/he is surely missed i do recall the many times we did tagged on some of the men who for all and sundry reasons thought this was a male dominated blog and the woman only talked sh,,it bonny would step up to the plate and catspradlled them in a truee “bonny Style” for sure many of the men on this blog would have gotten an a..s whooping by now running and holding their dic..k and asking for no more no body in their right mind wanted to feel the full fury of a BONNY PEPPER fuh de licks were real hot! now maybe island gal can be called SCOTCH BONNETT! i do miss Bonny Tooo great fuh lots of laughs! ask GP!

37. Thompson & Associates to Close Avatar
    Thompson & Associates to Close

A partnership is not a legal person, as a corporation is, under the law. As with a sole proprietorship, the individuals involved are personally liability for the liabilities and obligations of a partnership. Presumably the law will still look to the then partners in respect of any liability that may arise. Related to CLICO, has it been determined whether the audits were completed and whether clean audit opinions were issued?

38. Expect that the FSC will take their time which will include input from a multitude of lawyers. Another public expense as a consequence of this Clico Mess.

39. old onion bags Avatar

@Check-it
    Question is; Can the Gov’t find a credible defence when it gets around to it? Hiding their collective heads for the next 12 months in the sand is not a
    credible option, lots of things can happen in that time.
    There is a reason for everything though everything not done reasonable…..CLICO debacle is heading the path of HardWood….Of more importance to strategy is the PREPARATION MODE ensued. The closure is mere sweeping under the mat for election time. What a heap .There is nothing we (the people) can do but remember ….This mess is way to big for an ostrich head….it shall be a down fall and not a fly stick.

40. Perhaps it is more accurate to state CLICO is headed towards St. Joseph Hospital?

Do you grasp the not too subtle point?

41. David; I agree, the road seems to be to St Joseph’s hospital than Hardwood. The faint noises made by OSA in the matter suggests this. But who knows, if there is a resurgence of the Mia star and if some DLP person decides that he/she will not be daubed with the DT-CLICO odour, things might change.

42. old onion bags Avatar

@ Proud New Citizen
    Hip Hip Hip…..Hooraaaay !!!!
    I wish I had an Old Onion Bag….to store my joy in !
    Did’nt see this one til late ……….Oh what a laugh ! (puN)…..study it see who laughs best……Onion bag full of holes and joy (intangible)…then onions blp….get it ?
    good one ….lol

43. Proud new Barbadian citizen Avatar

Enuff | April 12, 2012 at 5:04 PM |
    Your response says it all; you are no more a recent citizen than I am. Just another one of your many pseudonyms.

I knew the truth would have rattled you.

For 14 years you and Owen Arthur had me living here without regularising my status , despite my tireless efforts to comply with your immigration policies.

Why are you now showing your shame that the Freundel Stuart administration has put a human face to this vexing issue ?

44. Observing (and thinking) Avatar
    Observing (and thinking)

the road of St. Joseph would be a political error. St. joseph didn’t directly impact many. Hardwood clearly has gone soft. If (when) the FSC do take their time are they duty bound to give “updates?” Does the same apply to the MoF?

Were we to make a list of things the DLP said they would do, the things they printed in their manifesto to do, and then add those to the list of things that came up that they have not dealt with…how many line items would we really have?? vis a vis the list of things they have actually done?

Just wondering.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Man Proud new Citizen ( not Watch)….D body dat bring you out from Miss Thani Shop on Broad St from at work…had better take you back ya…because-n …tings ent right ………..
    Maybe you should read Caswell’s recent article…..it was a puppy show…man like you get trick…

46. @Observing

The nut to crack for the government is the fact the Clico matter is under court review. It matters what the government says if it conflicts with court direction. As An Observer has suggested the political directorate maybe hanging its hat on this matter unraveling in Coleridge Street. This is a mistake.

47. Truthman Burton Avatar

@islandgal246 | April 12, 2012 at 10:32 PM |
    “@Hamilton Hill….my hands are great after all that blows and can share more if they have to. Bonny taught me well and I miss her sooo much.She was my partner in crime and I would have liked to see her cat spradle OOB. She would have diced him up and fed him to the ducks. Thanks for showing your concern.
    BONNY GIRL WE MISS YUH COME BACK TAH WEE NUH?”
    As far as I am concerned, this blog is all the better without the putrid, dirty-mouth contributions of Bonny Peppa.

Island gal, I don’t deny you your freedom of speech, but it would be far more beneficial if you and Hamilton Hill go and join him/her!

48. @ new bajan,

“I knew the truth would have rattled you.

For 14 years you and Owen Arthur had me living here without regularising my status , despite my tireless efforts to comply with your immigration policies.

Why are you now showing your shame that the Freundel Stuart administration has put a human face to this vexing issue ?”……………
    ……………………………………….

And good for you, “ever so welcomed” you waited for your call. Go right ahead now and vote for Freundel Stuart. Tell me though, during the 14 years of Owen Arthur, did you had to pay for your meds, did you have to worry about high utility bills or food prices like we do today? Did you have a job? Was it not not easy to find a job?

Enjoy your new status, this now makes you eligible to feast on the fatted calf. But can I ask you a question? Was it not the same Immigration Officers in place today as under Owen Arthur? Was it not the same Owen Arthur who was VILLIFIED for opening up Barbados doors to all and sundry? Was it now the dead king who told you all to go back home and ever so welcomed, wait for a call?

Welcome!

49. @ !”
    One more reason to reject this piss poor field of BLP “candidates” in the next election.”

They will stack up well against the real piss poor line up of the DLP…………………….

Freundel Stuart, Dennis Kellman, Verla Depeiza, Kenny Best, Haynesley Benn, Harry Husbands, Esther Byer Suckoo, Michael and Stephen Lashley, Hammie Lashley, John Boyce, George Hutson, Chris Sinckler, Patrick Todd, Maxine McClean, Darcy Boyce, Steven Blackett, Donville Inniss, Dennis Lowe, Irene Sandiford Garner, David Estwick, Ronald Jones, Richard Sealy, Jepter Ince and the list goes on!