Submitted by the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)
Reparations, a false debate?

In its column in the Weekend Nation edition of Friday, March 30, 2012, the PEP is seen making the case for reparations for what it calls, “the plundering of the tax revenues of Barbados by the British Monarchy between the years 1663 and 1838”.

But, while the PDC is entirely supportive of those local and international efforts aimed at making sure that many of those Western countries and corporations, which would have  taken part in, or benefitted, from the enslavement of Black Africans by White Europeans and Americans in many parts of this Western Hemisphere from the 16th to the 19th Century, pay political material financial reparations to the descendants of such African peoples, and while the PDC do  make its own calls for present day African countries to pay reparations to the said present and future generations of African peoples on account of some of their ancestors roles in helping to put many millions of Africans into European enslavement, this party does not support the call that the PEP is currently making with regard to asking for reparations for Barbados as a result of “the plundering of the TAX revenues of Barbados by the British Monarchy between the said years 1663 and 1838”.

Now, let us make it crystal clear to the BU family why we do not support such a call.

First, we do not support such a proposal for the very reason that to do so would be to implicitly validate and justify the criminal and despicable ideology and policy of that of the imposition of TAXATION on the incomes, payments and transfers of persons, businesses and others by any governments any time anywhere.

Second, for us to do so would be to be in direct and substantial conflict with our very unchallengeable and unbridgeable NO-TAXATION ideologies, philosophies and policies for Barbados.

Thirdly, the way how the PEP has been found to be writing about “the British Monarch plundering the tax revenues  of Barbados” in such an emotional and unempirical manner (What was the name of the tax and what was the King’s reason/s for the tax?, etc), in such a loose historical context (without stating a non-tax methodology/objective criteria for assessing and determining this type of reparations), is yet  another reason why we think that the PEP will fail to convince us that it has been able to  present  a strong case for this type of reparations for Barbados; and based on the possibility that some persons would today tell the PEP  that “the British Monarch was the sovereign ruler of the colony of Barbados, and that every subject  had a duty to obey the laws of the Monarch”, “that the British Parliament alone – with the British monarch as head –  had the sovereign right to legislate for the affairs of the colony of Barbados, and that therefore the colony had to comply” – we believe that that party would have a hard time responding to those points.

Alas, some would even tell the PEP that the 41/2% was reasonable having regard to the entire financial circumstances of the colony then. Anyhow, the PEP did not in its column clearly adumbrate strong counter posing evidence/arguments to show that the principle behind the 41/2% imposition was legally or politically wrong.

Fourthly, there is no way that the PDC could support such a call for that type of reparations, when in the PEP’s making of such a proposal, it, too, has not been able to avoid implicitly justifying the scandal and the barbarism associated with the British imperial government/ the local ruling classes and their supporters,  blatantly mis-categorizing our black enslaved forbears as chattel that was so-called on par with manufactured goods and crops – under the former plantation society system of Barbados;  and chattel, from which much money was supposedly derived when there was this so-called trading of these forbears along with goods, and through which there were circumstances where levies were superimposed on the incomes of the white controllers, and in the name of a  taxation system that stupidly disrespected our forbears as chattel to be beaten and bruised.

SO RATHER THAN CONDEMNING SUCH A TAXATION SYSTEM and not wanting to have anything to do with it, THE PEP seeks to defile our souls with calls for a type of reparations that focussed on what was stolen from certain others via Taxation.

SO WE WILL HAVE NONE OF THAT. OUR ENSLAVED FORBEARS WERE HUMAN BEINGS JUST LIKE THE WHITE ENSLAVERS!! AND OUR ENSLAVE FORBEARS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE BRINGING ABOUT OF SUCH A TAXATION SYSTEM, SO WHY THE YELPING FROM THE FOURTH PARTY IN BARBADOS?

Fifthly, for the PEP to make such a call will also imply the fostering of the muck up thinking that some of the present and future generations of whites who have been and will yet be the descendants of those whites who enslaved blacks in Barbados, would still be the only racial group in the country that would have to be so entitled,  to benefit from that form of reparations the PEP is calling for Barbados. For what though? For esp. those whites whose fore-parents introduced and maintained a system of TAXATION that was part and parcel of the maintenance of a very cruel and inhuman enslaving system that many of their fore-parents cruelly used in turn to help terrorize and brutalize many of our black forbears here in Barbados?

So why must they be favoured in this type of reparations under the relevant PEP proposal, esp. when their ancestors were part and parcel of the overall governmental apparatus  of the country then? Indeed, it is clear that the PEP has not properly thought through these questions and arguments. For the PEP cannot appear to be seeking an intercession in this day and age in this 21 century purportedly  on the behalf of Barbados – but ostensibly where whites should be the only ones putting forward a claim to benefit from such (only racial group per se that was taxed then) – in regard of  TAXATION matters that would have substantially involved the criminality of the British imperial government taxing the local whites, and too that would have equally substantially involved the savagery of the local ruling classes who TAXED, to whatever extent, portions of the incomes that were absolutely owned by whites in Barbados ( but which were primarily derived through the enslavement of Blacks), and still be on the side of the very ungrateful and exploitative local ruling classes of those times.

Oh, what a very tangled weave the PEP has placed itself in?

Its declared position (the PEP’s position) that “so onerous was this imposition on Barbados, that on no less than 10 different occasions over the life of the tax, the Barbadians (sic) ( which ones?) officially appealed to the British Monarch to relieve them of this unjust burden”, is enough to prove an attempt to intercede.

For whilst it is true that the British Monarchy and the British imperial government benefitted significantly over the years from the supposed 41/2% TAXATION policy, and true that they would also have been benefitting most corruptly  from the proceeds of other locally imposed taxes, and from actual money/wealth and assets that were taken out of Barbados from then until now, the PEP cannot be taken so seriously, in this article, when the remainder of the 4 and a half per cent – a whopping amount ninety something percent –  was left in the hands of a corrupt and parasitical and undeserving bunch at a time when no blacks were paid.
Surely, the PEP must continue to argue strongly for monetary material and political reparations for present and future generations of Blacks/Africans, from those Europeans and Americans – natural or legal entities –   the British Monarchy and the British government included – who would have enslaved our African peoples in the various parts of this Western Hemisphere many years ago,  and from those who are the inheritors of wealth and assets directly derived from the enslavement trade and the African holocaust, and must insist on present-day African states also making reparations for their role in it too.

So, the PEP must NOT get side tracked and confused by those types of earlier highlighted false arguments.

Finally, the PDC must ask, why with all the money that remained in the hands of the local planter class, would there have been such a great deficit and insufficiency of infrastructural and institutional development in Barbados since emancipation? Why was there the 1937 rebellion? Why was there mass poverty amongst our blacks after emancipation? if, as the PEP suggests, there was ninety something per cent that was still left in the  hands of the local political economic ruling classes?

1. You cannot solve a problem with the consciousness that created it. -Albert Einstein.

Don’t believe them, don’t fear them, don’t ask anything of them. – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Apply this to the British and reparations. We have a once in a lifetime opportunity to acquire for ourselves financial freedom from the old Roman Empire as manifested in her agents Washington D.C and “The City” London. Do not go begging for their fake money, soon to be worthless fiat, not good enough for toilet paper, and better to burn. Instead surrender all your fake money back into their system, their rigged casino, instead take real physical commodities and horde them away from the prying eyes of the vicous vampire squid that is the terminally ill Anglo-American Banker Elite Empire.

2. Given our Eurocentric biase which growing as each generation passes it has dulled the interest of Bajans about African matters.

What reparations what!?!

3. old onion bags Avatar

PDC …..you got me…
    Look you really feel people got time to ready all this longgggggggg ting
    Watch this I go rationalize wid you…….. the majority of people who may stumble on this either D 0r B right ? So as soon as you depart from their strain of thoughts you know what..BraM..onto another article..fa real doa what really are you saying both them BAD but you all go be the savior ?.amm we heard dat one already.I think you get more notice when you take up your placard. By the way did you march with the AX teacher…for that good cause.?

4. Surely, the PEP must continue to argue strongly for monetary material and political reparations for present and future generations of Blacks/Africans, from those Europeans and Americans – natural or legal entities – *****************************
    Boss …..you really got me……again you really believe this would happen ? People out there trying not to let the bailiff repossess their table and chairs, car and ting PEP, …..food for the table tonight, and you looking to draw them in an intellectual debate ?Then you wanna say you can relate to the people DC……hit us with some solutions and not fixations. Have you not heard the Middle Class looking like they soon going extinct ?…let us know how you plan to fix this…. in when you say…6 years when your party plan to be in contention ? By then it will be too late………..a pragmatic approach right ?

5. old onion bags Avatar

Second, for us to do so would be to be in direct and substantial conflict with our very unchallengeable and unbridgeable NO-TAXATION ideologies, philosophies and policies for Barbados.
    NO TAXATION…………wait so like we go have to do some PIRATING like in Somalia on the passing ships to raise money…..or trafficking of you know what….NO TAXATION ideology…that is what ya call it ? WACKY

6. old onion bags Avatar

Digress here..
    Minimum wage $ 250 per week……….praise God. I could not believe that at a certain well dress establishment they were paying those beautiful young ladies $850 per month in this day an age.

7. Visionary,

Sorry, but there is time and place for everything under the sun.

We have produced so many partial, practical solutions for the benefit of this country on BU and many other places. We are not just into the production of partial, practical solutions either, we are into the proffering of ideologies and philosophies upon which such solutions are based.

Hence, it makes no sense telling people in Barbados that we will abolish TAXATION in Barbados whenever we become at the helm of this country, and not have a philosophic theoritic basis upon which to elaborate on such.

You need to go back to many of our previous posts and submissions on this BU Blog, and realize the many ideological and philosophical outlines and the partial practical solutions that we have as a party put forward for the betterment of our country.

Finally, the truth is that any political offerings and actions that we will render from time to time in Barbados will be significantly predicated upon the fundamental interests of the people being involved, and will never be based on helping any one of those old jackass parties win an general election in this country Barbados.

8. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

the first and second reasons are total crap. validate what? what about the Jews? they were cheated and no one said such foolishness. the black Africans were kidnapped and enslaved in a country not of their own choosing. They were considered Chattel, property. Read chapter a in ‘In Miserable Slavery’ when thomas Thistlewood an overseer, spoke about one of his favourite punishments to slaves was to make another slave stool in the victim’s month, and sealed the mouth?

the British govt lined the streets of London with the blood of our ancestors, making themselves rich, while at the same time creating Slave laws to keep the black man poor. Our ancestors were considered 2/3 human (not quite human), the 1/3 was for so they could be counted as 1 vote for their owner. They were separated at the whim of Massa, if he had to pay debt, or the young child did not want to have sex with him; or his own daughter from a slave did not want to pleasure him. They had no rights, they were not human, they were constantly reminded. u are repeating the repercussions of those actions all like today. yet u talk utter crap? u obviously do not care to know ur own history. We are all mixed here in Barbados but I identify with my black ancestors and my Indian who were indentured here.

please read these books for u and ur children’s sake” Capitalism and Slavery, From Columbus to Castro. I was Born a Slave, In Miserable Slavery, White, Black and Red (American history), the History of Mary Prince, Sugar and Slavery, Testing the Chains, Caribbean Freedom, British West Indies History, Natural Rebels, The Slave Laws and I could go on. We deserved repercussions. The bajan whites in the island are where they are today because their ancestors stole, rob and killed our ancestors. They were able to make a way for their descendants. our ancestors were not able to do such. we need to know our history and stop running from it.

9. You like you spending too much time in the sun…..ideologies wha……man you need to wake up and stop trying to fool people..Black Rock man
    … you are the sure sign of the dawn of the silly season.

10. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

CORRECTION
    “Read a chapter in ‘In Miserable Slavery’ when thomas Thistlewood an overseer, spoke about one of his favourite punishments to slaves was to make another slave stool in the victim’s mouth, and sealed the mouth for hours”

11. I dont pay Mr. Commission any mind. He wants to finish with the Queen, and still run for Parliament when the Queen is head of Barbados. If he wins a seat how will he take the office???

12. old onion bags Avatar

@PDC
    Tell me more about this no taxation ideology ?

13. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Girl you just had to come in here to find me nah…What does your submission to ! or Clone had to do with reparations ?Now you find me …go and ask them when the lady in the Sunday Sun Ms.Johanna Mayhew going to get back her pensioners money from CLICO..as was promised by the dead king?Also ask him how much all that marble that gone up in st.Johns’ Church yard cost ? I hear it specially imported in WHOLE slabs from Italy.
    I hear it cost a king’s ransom.

14. @onions you right posted on the wrong thread!

15. Reparations serve only to further ensalve, evil genius of our current paradigm is the fact that these modern slaves enthusiastically reinforce their own slavery, enrich their masters, delude themselves that they are free, and ignore those that show a way to true freedom.

Judge a man not by his answers but by the questions he asks. – Voltaire

eg. Who created this monetary system? Why? Who benefits? Why was income tax introduced? What is the greatest tax? etc. Question everything.

16. St George's Dragon Avatar

This is not meant to be callous but the debate about reparations is pointless. There is absolutely no way that any political party in Britain will engage in the discussion apart from making the odd apology.
    The UK political view is that the slave trade was abolished nearly 200 years ago because the UK Government forced it through against the wishes of the colonies, including the House of Assembly in Barbados.
    The view of the ordinary person in the UK is that while the slave trade was abhorrent, it was the work of an elite group of merchants and traders which was nothing to do with them. On the basis that 200 – 300 years ago the majority of the British population lived in the countryside, worked in agriculture and didn’t have the vote, their view is perhaps understandable.
    We can continue to debate it here but we would do better sorting out how to respond to the EU EPA – that may be a better way to extract money from the UK.

17. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@AOD | April 3, 2012 at 9:39 PM |
    Reparations serve only to further ensalve, evil genius of our current paradigm is the fact that these modern slaves enthusiastically reinforce their own slavery, enrich their masters, delude themselves that they are free, and ignore those that show a way to true freedom.”

what utter rubbish. the Jews got reparations on sept. 10, 1952 and that foolishness u just wrote never happened to them. y the h..do u think it would happen if the ancestors of slaves got reparations. it’s people like u that sometimes lead me to believe that your mentality is up in he same place where the monkey place the nuts.

18. @chocolate city hussle

You do not understand, the money is useless by the time you recieve it, it will be worth as much as weimar republic marks or zimbabwe dollars. You are still a slave to this paradigm.

19. The Jews didn’t get reparations, they gave them back to themselves to legitimize the ill gotten gains of their monetary device. You are still enslaved.

20. Why not ask the present day govts of eg Nigeria (where is all that oil wealth going?! not to the poor of Nigeria, that’s for sure) to give some reparation since they sold they own brethren into slavery?

21. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

The fight for reparations must go on. Just as the fight for the abolition of slavery had to go on for 150 years, just as the fight against apartheid had to be fought and the fight against Nazism.

Evil is evil.

Wrong is wrong.

The people who were enslaved and brought to the Americas were greatly wronged.

They suffered huge economic and social losses.

The fight may be won tomorrow or it may be won in 1,000 years.

But it is a just fight.

We may die in the fight but we will never give up until justice is done.

22. St George’s Dragon | April 3, 2012 at 9:58 PM |
    This is not meant to be callous but the debate about reparations is pointless. There is absolutely no way that any political party in Britain will engage in the discussion apart from making the odd apology.
    The UK political view is that the slave trade was abolished nearly 200 years ago because the UK Government forced it through against the wishes of the colonies, including the House of Assembly in Barbados.
    The view of the ordinary person in the UK is that while the slave trade was abhorrent, it was the work of an elite group of merchants and traders which was nothing to do with them. On the basis that 200 – 300 years ago the majority of the British population lived in the countryside, worked in agriculture and didn’t have the vote, their view is perhaps understandable.
    *******************************************************************************
    And over the other side of the Channel , many Irish people did not have the luxury of living in the countryside or even working. After the Battle of Kinsale the Irish were hunted down like rabbits, free for the taking, unlike the African slaves who were sold,and shipped off in their numbers to plantations in the West Indies. In many a British territory in the West Indies,the Irish slaves outnumbered those from Africa.
    Are the Irish calling for Reparations,(REDjet not included)? or have they moved on with their lives and have made great strides all over the world.

23. five black people shot, three fatally Avatar
    five black people shot, three fatally

Boy Blue | April 7, 2012 at 8:55 PM |… Are the Irish calling for Reparations,(REDjet not included)? or have they moved on with their lives and have made great strides all over the world.

Blacks should really get a life and stop making life easy for others…

24. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

We do so have a life.

We get up everyday, work hard, make something of our lives.

But still the call for reparations stands.

The call will end when reparations are paid.

The call may last for 1,000 years but it will not end until reparations are paid.

Reparations are due and must be paid. And if you won’t pay them, then your children, will or your grandchildren, or your great grand children.

But reparations are due.

That can’e be denied.

We don’t want your stuff.

We just want the wages denied our mothe’rs, mother’s, mother’s mother’s.

They worked like slaves. They weren’t paid.

Their wages are way, way, way overdue (with interest)

25. five black people shot, three fatally - two white men arrested Avatar
    five black people shot, three fatally – two white men arrested

26. The funny thing is that if we are paid reparations, that money in a very short while is going to end up back in the hands of the descendants of the slave owners and slave traders. Just like the Back money in days of yore.

27. @Boy Blue

Even if what you say happens the transaction would have been completed and the money theirs to do whatsoever with.

28. five black people shot, three fatally – two white men arrested | April 8, 2012 at 10:06 AM |

http://us.cnn.com/2012/04/08/us/oklahoma-shootings/index.html?hpt=hp_t1

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1377840/James-Cooper-James-Kouzaris-gunned-Florida-holiday-lifetime.html

… and the guy arrested is 16 years old …. no more than a boy.

The world is crazy.