The Hon. Prime Minister Freundel Jerome Stuart, Q.C., M.P

BU admits to being sympathetic to the platform message of the late Prime Minister David Thompson that on winning the government, he would usher in a new kind of governance in Barbados. The new dispensation would be driven by transparency legislation, a combination of Freedom of Information (FOI) and Integrity Legislation. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is approaching the end of its 5-year term and it is fair to say that nothing has changed. It is business as usual in Dodge.

Barbadians who walked the campaign trail last election should recall that one of the hot button issues was Hardwood Housing.  The late Prime Minister shouted to Barbadians who stood in the ‘dew’ that “someone will have to pay for Hardwood”. Many political pundits opine that the Hardwood Housing issue was the weight that tipped the scale for many voters and in the process destroyed Clyde Mascoll’s political aspirations.

It is strange that the Harwood Housing matter has not been pursued with the same vigour by the media as CLICO. It is a governance issue and the principle is the same. Is it fair that the DLP would promise to do a forensic audit on Harwood Housing and four years later courtesy is not extended to Barbadians by way of a status update? The question remains, was a forensic report performed on Hardwood Housing? If a report was done is it reasonable to expect that unlike the CLICO forensic report, it would have been sighted by members of the government after 4-years in the making? What is the true story to be told about Hardwood Housing? Was it a non issue which was turned into a political football because of the Mascoll factor?

Who remembers on the floor of the House when Prime Minister Thompson thundered  “Some measure of responsibility must be found. Anyone found guilty of any infelicities will be brought to justice”, He added “the fullest extent of the law will be brought to bear” whether the perpetrators were in “high office, low office or no office “What is left suggests that the taxpayers of this country will have to foot a huge bill”.

These were very serious and strong statements made by the late  Thompson and should not be left hanging. The government needs to put this matter to bed. After years of haranguing the Arthur administration about the St. Joseph Hospital Report which cost taxpayers millions was that report made public also? Why do we allow elected politicians to treat us for fools?

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who has had the office of Prime Minister foisted on him has promised to enact the Anti corruption Bill before the general election bell is rung. Nothing has been mentioned about FOI. What is scary is that the government in waiting [Barbados Labour Party] has not been strident in its call to enact transparency legislation. Prime Minister Stuart has the opportunity to do what is politically and morally right by being the Prime Minister to enact transparency legislation. He has the opportunity to deliver on what late Prime Minister promised, to delivery a forensic on Hardwoods Housing.

BU will evaluate the performance of this government on issues which are life changing for the citizenry. Promises are comfort for fools.

1. @ millertheanunnaki

The truth is that Thompson told plenty lies and half-truths even after becoming PM.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags & Enuff:

Thanks! But it would be more beneficial if the likes of your g/f “ac” and other DLP apologists were to see error of their blind ‘yardfowlist’ loyalty to a crew now steering a sinking ship the SS EWB- a once proud and seaworthy craft that even the chief petty officer OSA would be proud to have piloted. They need to start sounding the alarm and rouse the captain from his RIP van Winkle slumber before the entire ship the good old SS Barbados flounders on the reefs of incompetence and indecision.

3. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Blogger2012

Your comments are deterministic and sound so factual as to make them infallible. I believe that you should be requested by the authorities to state what you know.
    Realistically, David, BU, you and I all know that the ‘Hardwood’ was nothing but scandal, opportunity, and clever innuendo utilised by David Thompson because of desperation, greed, and selfish gains. Barbadians aided and abetted by the Nation Newspaper’s editor at or around that time, suggested that the ‘Sunday school image’ about a man who ‘would not lie, cheat or steal’ was appropriate for wetting the appetites of a gullible public.
    Thompson malicously tried to destroy Mascoll and his wife, he craftily tainted the image of Owen Arthur (with the help of people like Peter Wickham), and suggested the BLP was corrupt in its undertakings notwithstanding never a shred of evidence was ever produced then or after to support the cliam. That is, unless Hammie La’s shortcuts and indiscipline as far as the bureaucratic checks and balances are concerned is to be taken into account. The fact is Owen took away ministerial responsibility and decidedly brought back some discipline to the Ministry of Social Transformation.
    Nevertheless, as fate would have it, Thompson is gone and his wife Mara is not looking to be the rosy Queen that some wanted her to be.
    I believe that wrongs need to be made right in Barbados, that social justice must prevail, and the trampling of ordinary Barbadians need to end. What I can say is that the DLP is not the adminitration to do such; the DEMS thrive in the dismatling of social justice and fairness. By their actions they are known; if the credibility of Sincker is anything to go by, we cannot trust the DEMS. If the Prime Minister continues to speed along in his decisions to Phase 1 without realising that issues and problems have conclusions, then Barbados is far worse off than any opposition political party could attest to given the scandalising atmosphere that fills the political exchanges.
    One does not have to believe what I have written; but refer to all the in-fighting that characterised the DEMS in opposition and you could even include the scenario around the Eager 11. The DEMS are bankrupt of progressive ideas and moral fortitude. This is unfortunate since they won the last election on a mandate for change and the electorate trusted the every word from the political platforms. Shameful! No wonder Senator Critchlow could suggest that the DLP’s manifesto does not have to be followed.
    Sinner that I am, I refuse to be hypocritical to please the political class or those DEMS that have made sordid all that the founding fathers of this great nation Barbados strive to create. The sooner we rid ourselves of the DEMS, the quicker we can go about making meaningful and REALISTIC changes. No abracadabra or having to insult Bajans saying that they have barbacued pigtail mentalities, and otherwise that they complain too much. I George Brathwaite say to hell with the DEMS for they themselves have now earned the nomenclature of a Deceitfully Limp Party (DLP). I guess this is an admission that Blackett is right about the necessity for name changes because of the stigma; only thing with the DEMS, they are the ones who are totally discredited.

4. You think that If the government carry up the gas price to $5.00 a gal that they would be able to make sufficent money to stop all dey financial holes?
    Point number 2 would we need a forensic audit to tally funds?
    When dis cow dung gine stop? I mean dlp government mekking nuff mock sport of suffering barbadians. Burning holes in we pockets. Give us a BREAK MAN.

5. George C. Brathwaite | April 1, 2012 at 11:21 AM |
    But, alas, time longer that twine…

6. How can anyone serious about integrity legislation vote for Owen Arthur and Wuk fa Wuk ?
    Man that is the joke of the year- stupse!
    All the fancy talk, you will never get any integrity legislation out of Owen Arthur, Muscle Mary,Wuk Fa Wuk and this piss poor field of BLP candidates.
    It was never a priority for them and it never will be – You realise the BLP misfits talking about everything under the sun except that.
    All the talk bout election,election, election…then what?

7. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ !
    All related my friend. The DLP came to the public under a guise and they will leave disgraced. They trampled the trust of the people and the voters will have the last say. Not you, not me, not the BLP or DLP in their individual roles; but the collective will of the people. The very same that Sinckler and his cohorts attempted to remove through the cloak of constituency councils. Also remember, it was David Thompson and others in the DEMS who said that all involved in maleafsance would be brought to justice. Let us start with CLICO!

8. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    It was never a priority for them and it never will be – You realise the BLP misfits talking about everything under the sun except that.
    Hear me now…. Mr.exclamation mark…hear me talking quote……..”I will not lie, cheat or steal,”.David Thompson, like Icarus flew too close to the Sun of Truth……and guess what ..fell from grace.

9. David,

As a political party, we have been told so many things by so many people – some of which we believe to be true and some to be false, some whereby we could not tell.

During the last BLP government’s rein we were told by persons who WORKED WITH the UDC that there great corruption going on in the UDC. And we believed these persons for they were actually in the midst of such happenings.

Recently, and under this DLP Government, we were told by a gentleman how he got a contract from the UDC. We saw part of the contract for ourselves. But the thing is that this gentleman said he would have got a team of workers to build this house, even though this gentleman would have had no previous actual experience at building houses. He was neither mason, carpernter, plumber, electrician, builder, nor anything of the sort.

Could you imagine that because the party he supports came to office in 2008, he simply would have got a contract to build a house on the basis of that type of relationship???!!!

That great orator George Lamming has gone on record in recent time as suggesting that the BLP and DLP are the source of corruption in this country.

The BLP and the DLP must be removed from the political landscape of this country!!

10. @ PDC
    Is C.O Williams an engineer?

11. Remember all those contractors who were weeded out from the UDC under the last administration? The system stinks. When/if the BLP is returned the office the same system will be waiting and it will be business as usual.

12. Enuff,

C O Williams is so many things, but what is your point?

We need to know this against the backdrop of what we are here under this lead article stating.

David, certainly.

13. @ Old Onions
    The only apology Bushie wants to make is to you….and humbly so…the Bushman mistakenly assumed that you were intelligent… Apparently BT is wrong….

What apology? To whom? can you understand?
    The young lady has nothing but the highest regard from BT…and not surprisingly, since she was well schooled….
    This has NOTHING to do with her, it is about US;

here we are talking about our FAILED political systems, not an upright leader to be seen; all crooks and opportunists; failing courts, failing economy, failing education, failing enfranchisement….. And you get a PM appointing a (admittedly outstanding) BLIND girl to oversee our Upper House.

BT can understand if YOU don’t see the irony, but judging from the overwhelming support for FS it seems that there are many others who also fail to see the symbolism. No wonder we will always have the poor with us….

Wuh Caswell went to a good school too…. But Bushie can’t get a seconder for him because all of wanna done know that He would be down in wanna crooked throats in no time….
    Wanna people think that leadership is a joke, but THERE IS NOTHING MORE VITAL TO SUCCESS.

If we were REALLY serious about INTEGRITY, HONESTY, JUSTICE and TRANSPARENCY then we would look for examples of such virtues who have GUTS, and BEG them to take up such responsibilities…. But wanna want to “feel good” and hope for things to work out.

GOOD LUCK!

14. My point is that he is not an engineer but gets contracts to build roads and many other structures because he has a team of workers to do the technical work just as the Contractor you referred to said he would do.
    I have no problem with either government trying to build a small contractors’ class, the problem is that there is no system in place to ensure that these persons i.e. contractors are held accountable when they misuse/abuse public funds.

15. @Bush Tea

If you watch the video under this blog there is one utterance which cannot be refuted.

We need to start with the young ones if we want to stem the tide..

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

What about Hotels and Resorts Ltd (GEMS). Lots of loss figures have been mentioned, the latest in Parliament quoting $275 million.
    When did the last PAC (Public Accounts Committee) meeting take place and who attended?

Do they really think we cannot remember these things!

17. Or is there?

18. During a political campaign some years ago I heard a politician,who would be eventually turn out to be the Attorney General, state quite clearly that they knew every drug factory on the West Coast and its was only a matter of time. Sometime after winning the election, the AG was asked about the drug factories on the West Coast, his reply, ” You have to have proof.”
    Nothing changes.

19. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie

,……”There is none so blind as he who will not see.”

20. Enuff,

OK.

But remember that the context of the discussion is corruption and venality in public life in Barbados.

What we are on this thread saying is that this gentleman was corrupt in knowing that the contract for the house was one where he was a beneficiary of partisan political largesse in an environment where corrupt patron clientilist politics dominates in an ugly fashion, and where the process in which he received the contract was one where there was not any open transparent competitive bidding for such contracts.

He knew that he only got it because he supports the party and because he knew some one in that particular public office who was going to make sure that he personally gained by getting one of those house building contracts which he felt was “being given away.” And he felt proud about getting it in such circumstances.

What is even more criminal and vulgar is that the government wickedly steals PORTIONS OF OUR MEMBERS INCOMES ON A CONSTANT BASIS, and gives some of the proceeds of what it steals to its supporters for them to continue supporting it .

This is a horrendous madness that has got to stop in Barbados.

Taxation is one of the bases for such corruption in public life.

21. Over 70 responses and no one alluded to the irony that David posted this on April 1st . It has been said that the Hardwood Housing dossier was leaked by Clyde’s main rival in the BLP to short circuit his political ascendancy in the Party thus Thompson was the conduit and voila “Mission Accomplished”.

Bajans claim to love football but given their sorry history of defeats they can’t play the game, here is the first lesson which they continue to ignore “Play the ball not the man” and The Hardwood issue is a case in point.

The whole issue of corruption (the missing ball) should have been under the microscope, if there was no forensic Audit of 3S or VECO why throw good money after bad when Hardwood was a “bread and fish issue”?

I will admit that I poured scorn over Clyde on that issue primarily because of his “poor black man” defense, but “fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me”.

Can’t wait for a viable Third Party not the HI FI of political Parties (One Man Band PDC).

22. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sarge
    Can’t wait for a viable Third Party not the HI FI of political Parties (One Man Band PDC).
    He is waiting for you to bring down a few worthy fellows to launch it …..what sayeth thou ?…By the way isin’t retribution a bitch….(thompson.v mascoll) ?

23. @ David
    Where would one see the video?

It is too late now to seek to address our dire state by “starting with the youth”. That approach would have been viable up to 10 or so years ago. Indeed our last outside realistic chance was after the launch of BU / BFP era. We wasted that opportunity seeking to promote our partisan preferences – all pathetic.

We now will have to use brute force to bring this monster under control, or the monster will devour us all. The most effective force that can be applied right now would be similar to Hong Kong’s Independent Curruption Body. It must be able to FORCEFULLY and ruthlessly apply the law to root out Curruption.

Can you see now why Bushie has such respect for Caswell’s characteristics?

The problem with “starting with the youth” is that the youth can only learn what they are taught … Who will teach them these GREAT virtues? Where will they learn justice? Why would they fight Curruption? (represented by their parents), who will be their role models?

We are already at the stage where we need a superhero to come and IMPOSE righteousness….. It is just that most are still looking for a third party of moral warriors to come and save us….

From Mars you think…..?

24. @ PDC
    Well you are now making a case if there was no bidding.

25. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sarge
    Man when you join, you have to tell him not to write SO HIGH…cuz a lil po boy like Onions finds it difficult to understand him…(read the above)…ee gots to makes it simple….

26. Onions

Mascoll’s injury was self inflicted, Thompson could have let him stew in his own juices but Thompson was guilty of as they say in American Football of
    “ piling on”.

There can be no joy for Mascoll as “retribution” is a pyrrhic victory for him, Thompson has gone to the great beyond and dead men tell no tales.

27. old onion bags Avatar

Ah wah …pilin on ?Explain for home crowd who knows cricket ?
    i aint follow but I kno Mascoll like the last part.

28. Health & King Avatar

Barbados Correction Corporation and Barbados Correction Maintenance Corporation, who owns them?

Where does the money paid to them every January, some 30 or 40 million dollars go?

Can someone say trace the money?

29. @Heath & King

Tell us more.

Get to it.

30. An Observer.. Avatar

@ George C. Brathwaite.
    ” Your comments are deterministic and sound so factual as to make them infallible ” .
    Good lord George how can you expect me to read further after this linguistic rubbish at the opening of your presentation ?

31. All the long talk, you will never get any integrity legislation out of Owen Arthur, Muscle Mary,Wuk Fa Wuk and this piss poor field of BLP candidates.
    It was never a priority for them and it never will be

32. None out of the dead or the E.replacements.com

33. @!

It has not been a priority with any party if we judge by the fact that such legislation does not exist as we engage.

34. Onions

Join what? This is April Fools Day but pick another person to send further and further. As someone who has seen more yesterdays than will see tomorrows (unless some latter day Ponce De Leon) comes along that would be time that I will never recover.

Piling on: Definition: “An illegal play where several players jump on the player with the ball after he’s been tackled”. Strictly speaking Thompson’s hit wasn’t illegal but Mascoll’s credibility was tottering and Thompson used the equivalent of the rabbit punch that Foreman delivered to Frazier as he was on his way down in the title bout in Jamaica.

35. Enuff,

Too, there is everything wrong anytime a public agency, such as the UDC, gives out a private contract to a private person to build a house out of stolen public money, and when it is clear that such a person do not have a track record of being a builder, a mason, a carpenter, etc. does not have a registered office, business, etc., does not have any personal professional references to support his previous efforts, hardly had any savings, any form of builder’s insurance. etc.

Will the government be able to successfully sue such a person, if they do manage to do shoddy output, refused to perform part of the contract??

Would you, if you had the chance and wanted to get business done, give a contract to a person with no reputation in building homes, no building skills in the home building sector, no building tools, etc to do business for you, when there are some others out there who have building skills and building experience and a track record of proven achievement?? Would you?

36. @David

Pardon me for going off on a tangent but two Parliamentarians from opposite side of the fence had a boxing match yesterday to settle some differences (for charity of course) Despite the charitable reference this was a real grudge match with Justin Trudeau (son of the late PM) being victorious over Patrick Brazeau. Note that Brazeau was an army vet who was said to be proficient in martial arts but Trudeau won ( ref stopped fight).

I want to promote a fight Estwick vs Dale (all in the interest of charity of course) and winner gets bragging rights.

Who said we don’t have fun in the Great White North

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/politics/article/1154858–underdog-justin-trudeau-beats-patrick-brazeau-in-thrilla-on-the-hilla?bn=1

37. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    just able to look on and ponder what could be.
    Doom’d for a certain term to walk the night,
    And for the day confined to fast in fires,
    Till the foul crimes done in my days of nature
    Are burnt and purged away. But that I am forbid

38. Observing (and waiting) Avatar
    Observing (and waiting)

@david 2:15
    He/she can’t. Everyone needs to keep their ammo til elections. The BLP’s problem though is th( they would have sat on that ammo for 4-5 years without doing anything, which is “almost” as bad as the act. Question is, whose money is being “spent” every january? Who else has similar arrangements, pre and post 2008? 6 is half dozen, belated mud slinging isn’t going to sway voters this toss.

Just observing

39. Observing (and waiting) Avatar
    Observing (and waiting)

Correction…the DLP’s problem

40. @ PDC
    Not even registered? You definitely on to something.Clearly the issue is not about whether the man is an artisan BUT that he was a mock business.

41. Sargeant | April 1, 2012 at 2:54 PM |

Pardon me for going off on a tangent but two Parliamentarians from opposite side of the fence had a boxing match yesterday to settle some differences (for charity of course) Despite the charitable reference this was a real grudge match with Justin Trudeau (son of the late PM) being victorious over Patrick Brazeau. Note that Brazeau was an army vet who was said to be proficient in martial arts but Trudeau won ( ref stopped fight).

I want to promote a fight Estwick vs Dale (all in the interest of charity of course) and winner gets bragging rights.

Who said we don’t have fun in the Great White North

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/politics/article/1154858–underdog-justin-trudeau-beats-patrick-brazeau-in-thrilla-on-the-hilla?bn=1

What about Mia vs Owen.

42. See link to Barbados Parliament to read some more about the Barbados Correction Corporation:

http://barbadosparliament.com/senate_pastorder_paper.php?pid=12

43. By the way Bush Tea, the blogs have only be around for 5-6 years.

You pay way too much credit to the blogs to cause change in such a relatively short time.

44. So the Barbados Correction Corporation paid the pricncely sum of $1.00 per annum for 25 years and a month to lease the land which it did not own to build a prison the Government wanted and would lease from it.

45. It is really sad that we were lead all over Barbados to hear David Thmpson and the DLP called everybody other than himself a crook. Now we are seeing that David Thompson was the biggest fraud and crook ever.

46. @gEORGE

you got to be kidding that there was no infelicity that wend on in hardwooed, gems, the highway project, urban under obrian trotman, the prison etc.

Remember george i am not bright like you so i cannot be pedantic and loquacious in my writings, i just heard somebody usin them words so i use them too without knowing their meanings.

But george, cooruption is the hall mark of politicians u really think they care about u or me, they will line their pockets integritly legislation or not,

I am waiting to address u as doctor george brathwaithd, or will i complete mine before u, having statred after u, but then again, the race is not for the swift, but he that endure will endureth to the end,

47. @ Blogger2012
    The former Minister responsible for urban was embraced by the DLP…I guess your party likes corruption.

48. @enuff

What happened when Obrien Trotman was fired?

49. @ david
    Where in the laws of Barbados do Ministers have the power to fire a public or civil servant?