Hal Austin

Introduction:
Chief justice Marston Gibson has recently slapped down the Barbados Bar Association, the lawyers’ trade union, for its impertinence in questioning how he does his job. It did not come a minute too soon. There is a culture of elitism in Barbados in which some professionally and socially well-connected people feel, as if by nature, they have a right to be excepted from the normal courtesies. It is an arrogance which has emerged to substitute for substance in other areas of their lives, such as the poverty of progressive ideas and of cultural understanding.

But, and it is relevant to the issues I want to raise in this blog, within the legal profession there is an absence of any significant liberal tradition in Caribbean (Barbadian) legal thought. I have raised this issue before to much disdain. Like the societies they regulate, what passes for legal thought is based on a Victorian social conservatism, which pre-dated human rights theory, and in which outdated practices such as hanging still play a central role in the legal imagination and, as a direct result, the idea of criminal justice.

Two dominant influences shape our deeply conservative criminal law tradition: the so-called Westminster model (lawmaking), based on the UK’s parliamentary tradition, and the common law model, based again on the England and Wales tradition of statute and case law. Linking both these traditions is the doctrine of the rule of law, the principles rooted in the Magna Carta, which stipulate that the state must have legitimate grounds for depriving a citizen of her/her liberty and right to property. One hybrid political position best exemplifies this tradition, that of attorney general.

Under our tradition, one that runs throughout the Commonwealth in one way or the other, the attorney general, a senior member of the ruling government’s Cabinet (in some jurisdiction s/he is not a member of the Cabinet i.e. the UK), s/he is also the leading lawyer for the government and state – two different entities. S/he is also head of a political department head and reporting head of the civil legal officers – director or public prosecution, the commissioner of police, solicitor general, chief justice and Registrar’s office. What separates out this political position from that of judicial officers is a formal protocol or, in some instances, a memorandum of understanding. The position can be summed up basically as the attorney general has responsibility for strategy while the top officers have responsibility for operational matters. But the attorney general is the politician answerable to parliament for all these positions, s/he is accountable under our parliamentary democratic system.

This technical difference can often be mistaken, even by highly skilled and knowledgeable practising lawyers, as we observed recently, on one occasion in this forum and on another in another place. In this forum one blogger chided me for not knowing that the DPP was ‘independent’ and recommended that I should call on that highly reputable attorney, Hal Gollop, for a basic lesson in what used to be called British Constitution principles.

The other instance was a reference in one of the national newspapers, this time by a named attorney, that the solicitor general [SG] had allegedly failed to inform the government of a crucial CCJ meeting in which the government was the defendant. I suggested to that attorney, privately, that I was under the impression that the attorney general was the government’s principal legal officer and, as such, he was accountable. The reply I received was: “Yes, the AG is the de jure legal adviser. However, the AG doesn’t advise himself: in civil matters he is advised by the SG and in criminal matters by the DPP.”

With great humility and respect, I beg to differ from both those opinions. In fact, I will venture to say that under the Westminster/Whitehall traditions, they are both wrong. I fully accept that in Barbados this is not the spirit, even if it is the law. Take policing: sometime ago the police announced that up to a third of the vehicles on the road in Barbados had no motor insurance. In any other jurisdiction this would have been a crisis. It would mean that about 30000 vehicles were lethal weapons on our streets since if they knocked down and seriously injured, or worse, killed, a member of the public there would be a legal battle for compensation.

I sensibly expected questions to be asked in parliament and the attorney general calling in the commissioner – and motor insurers – to have serious talks about how to sort out this mess. Nothing of the kind happened, as far as we are aware. Here was a classic example of where the AG had a legal, policy and administrative right to intervene in what was ostensibly a policing matter. Or, take the case of a gun dealer cleaning a loaded gun and, by accident or intentionally, killing his son. Since the only witness to the tragedy is dead, the first action by the police should have been to suspend the dealer’s gun dealing licence, prevent the suspect from leaving the country for medical treatment for a non-life threatening injury – as if the QE could not treat him – release him in to the community on conditional bail. But, horrors of horrors, when the case came up before magistrates for committal, the more serious charge being dropped by the DPP without any proper explanation to the public.

Here again, I submit, was a classic intervention point for the AG on public interest grounds, any opportunity to over-rule the DPP, re-instate the original charge, leaving the decision on innocence or guilt to the jury. Again he failed to execute his full powers under the law.

One other point worth mentioning, since it was implied in Chief Justice Gibson’s dismissive email, is the chaotic administration in the registry. One of my projects I have set myself is compiling a family tree, which entails regularly applying for certificates or birth, marriage and death. Nothing spectacular about that, just routine stuff, that is, until you come to apply to the registry for copies. First, you enter the building through the metal detector, you are checked for the dress code, all right and proper. Then you join the queue for an application form, a choice of three. Why can’t it be simplified by having a single form with the three options, allowing the applicant to cross out what is not applicable and be made available in reception so the public can help themselves?

Then the person behind the desk checks the form, quite rightly, signs it then sends the applicant off 30 feet away to the cashier who takes the money and issues an A4 receipt which the applicant has to take back to the original clerk – joining the queue again – who then confirms it is correct, accepts the application and gives the applicant a return date. All this could be simplified by giving the original clerk a cash machine who would check the application, take the cash and issue a receipt. If the application for an older person, it has to go to one of the supervisors, who will then inform you that the application has to be sent to the Archive department and would take up to three weeks. In reality, all this could be done in a day, even if you had to walk to Black Rock and back to get the certificate.

More practically, the space currently being occupies by the cashier could be used to house two or three computer monitors connected to the archive department, allowing people to do research, make applications in the morning and return in the afternoon for the actual copy of the certificate. I know some people will say that is how we do things, but because we have done things since Victorian times does not mean we must not change. There is a lazy intellectual tradition based on discursive gymnastics and point scoring rather than dealing with substantive issues which passes as part of public discussion. Ordinary people are losing confidence in the entire criminal justice system, from the police, the prosecution authorities and the courts because they experience all these examples of incompetence and resent them. This is a challenge for the chief justice and the attorney general and should dominate the agenda at their meetings until a general election is called.

I want to mention one other personal experience since I think it is important. When I went to the registry to get hold of the certificates mentioned above I was rightly asked to produce proof of identity. Of course, all these documents should be public records available to all citizens. However, I produced my Barbadian passport which was rejected by the young lady at the reception desk. She asked for a Barbados ID. When I pointed out I did not have one and asked if they were compulsory, she sucked her teeth and passed me on to her line manager, a tall elegant gentleman called Mr Straughn. Sensibly he ignored her concern and authorised the application. Two things about this: first there is a note in the public area which specifically states that a passport is a legal document for identification purposes; more importantly, a passport is universally accepted as proof of identity and here we had, in the Bds$70m building, an officer of the crown declining to accept a state document (passports are owned by the state) as legitimate. This, I submit, is a case of lack of proper training.

Analysis and Conclusion:
There is an economic angle to all this in that unless foreign investors have confidence in the legal system and the competence of the courts, they will avoid investing in this jurisdiction. How many of us will gladly invest in a Russian company, or in most of Africa for precisely these doubts?

Not to put too fine a point on it, we are in danger of having our criminal and civil justice systems being compared with failed states. We can either set about improving the systems or taking a hostile position to any one who has the temerity to raise these issues. Because we are reluctant as a culture to have robust public debates on matters of central importance about our governance, cricket and politics aside, we have failed to develop a comprehensive narrative of our perception of key concepts, such as democratic accountability, and how they are expressed in policymaking.

We drift on in the nonsensical belief at our peril.

125 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Is Barbados a Failed State?”

1. @ David

I have no regret for any of my comments on this issue. I am tired of this fella’s effortless superiority and sometimes in life you have to name something for what it is.
    As you know, the Registrar was threatened with an action for defamation. Her reasons for re-Gazetting ALL the omitted attorneys are unknown to me; and I’m unclear how Amused can know either, unless he has her ‘ear’ or whatever.

2. @RR. First An Observer is one of the big boys and now I am one of the big boys. You seem to have a fixation about size. What’s the matter? People been complaining about your size? Never mind. Take two Tylenol and call back in the morning. Maybe if you sleep on it, you will be able to understand what is so readily clear and apparent to all the rest of us. And don’t be teased about what you perceive as your lack of education – no one really cares. And I promise that no one will worry about what you perceive as being my superior education – no one is bothered by that either. Believe me, I absolutely defend your constitutional right to be stupid. But better put your gloves on or you may get frostbite, since your blood doesn’t seem to circulate as far up as your hands.

3. I have accepted that the truth on this issue is paramount and have consistently argued in essence ‘a plague on all your houses’.
    But this man has dodged and weaved and I regard him as intellectually corrupt.
    Way, way up – was it with Observer? – it was suggested that the proper course was to test all this by way of constitutional motion; but I argued that no-one was prepared to do that because th consequences of losing were too great. Meanwhile this grub continues to wriggle at the heart of the administration of justice. . Are you happy about that?

4. @ David…my last remark was to you.

@ Amused

You MAY actually be making a serious point – that no-one really cares. Meanwhile your “lifelong romance” with yourself continues. I mean gee………I think it’s called onanism.

5. The search for the facts is what most are about. Situations develop and what was theretofore held as “fact” can be revealed by the unfolding of circumstances to be “not fact”. I don’t always agree with An Observer, but, without wishing to presume, I believe he gets as much pleasure out of putting a twist in my tail and I get from putting a kink in his when we take differing positions. We both seem to observe and be amused. Despite the fact that these are serious matters being discussed (and I disagree with An Observer that Hal Austin’s submission is not clear and is all over the place). I thought it excellent. Yet despite the seriousness and need for clarity, one commentator, having repeatedly supported a view contrary to my own with respect to the BBA and the gazetted list of legal practitioners and why no breach of law has occurred on the parts of legal practitioners not being members of the BBA, which is fine – robust discussion is essence of democracy – has his shorts in a twist because he is proved wrong. In this instance, events as they unfold have provided evidence beyond the reasonable doubt of the reasonable man that my position was, for once, correct. However, there are always people in life who, instead of rejoicing that the truth is clear and unambiguous, can never be wrong, but must ignore that truth and push their personal and discredited views. And in pushing those views, resort to “taking their gloves off”, demeaning themselves by drawing attention to their lack of size by saying that others are BIG MEN and questioning the benefits of education generally, trying to suggest that somehow education is a bad thing to be discouraged (very Roman Catholic circa 1500s). Saddest of all, they draw attention to their lack of self-worth by accusing others of having self-respect. And by these tactics, they think, inexplicably, that the other person will not also take their gloves off. Sad, very sad. Hopefully, two Tylenol and a glass of warm milk and a good night’s sleep will restore their equalibrium and circulation. One can but hope, poor fellow.

6. Amused

You purport to talk on my behalf ..? Seriously bro, wah category ah idiot you should be classified as ..?

7. Ross

That’ the spirit ..

8. @ Amused

Do give over. Stop wanking.

Yes, you were right. There were people. How could I, a poor little fella as you say, possibly imagine that in the real world there were actually intellectual crooks who from an inflated sense of ego manipulate the law to suit themselves. The process of discourse teased that out. Actually, I think in your attempt to show off, you let the cat from the bag – and having done so you were left to wriggle and wriggle – and you’re still doing it.

9. @ Amused and David

I have no objection to education not at all; nor to your being educated. But I do object to people who set themselves up as being educated and using that, without more, as a validating criterion for the stuff they expect the rest of us to swallow. In all of this, you have given us NOTHING beyond assertion and superiority. And when one assertion would not work, you tried another; and when that didn’t work …and so on. And so I wrote: ‘your education is nothing more than a fart in this forum’.. Your argument was and still is: ‘I know some big people who say this…and because they’re big people they must be right…and I think they’re right…and because I think they’re right you must too….else you’re an idiot…’ Give me a break.

10. @BAFBFP | April 4, 2012 at 2:45 PM. Trust me, I would never, ever, ever either speak for you or wish to be confused with or mistaken for, you. I do not recall aywhere that I could have possibly given such a false (and to me, detrimental) impression. Do please point me to where you think I did such an unaccountable thing.

@RR. “How could I, a poor little fella as you say…..”. No, sir, as YOU say! And I, of course, defer to your stated opinion of yourself.

11. @ Amused…for your last one

C=/F

Come on, you can do better than that.

12. @Ross

I think your academic grade is far too generous.

Now that Amused has crashed I think he should get out before he burns.

13. “… apparent to all the rest of us”
    “… no one really cares. And I promise that no one will worry about …”
    ” … no one is bothered by that either …”

Now how the hell would you know these things? Why you don’ ask EVERYONE first before you mek dem kind of statements? Soun’ like David Ellis now …

14. And I am detrimental to you … oh give me a break … You would neva be detrimental to me, no no I would never be da mean to you, after all, you jus’ mental …!

15. An Observer.. Avatar

@ David .
    Re : Amused and robert ross ;
    I have been caught in a crossfire between my two associates on this blog and lest I be innocently shot , I appeal to them to HOLD FIRE ! It is clear that they will never agree on the point of contention i.e. the status of the BBA . However I should like to suggest that inspite of their unwillingness to concede to the other , as men who are obviously blessed with an intellect above average ,they should avoid descending into a mudslinging match characterised by name calling . Let us have a robust debate without the invective gentemen . I have decided to take a ringside seat where it is safer …LOL.. Peace my brethren .

16. @ Observer through David

Spoken like a true general. As BAF would say….

‘Observer for Prime Minister’

Besides I think you’re very wise. Too much blood spilled already. I wonder if Amused’s ‘She who must be…’ is beating him for spending too much time on this during his holiday. Mine is threatening cruel and unusual punishments. So maybe there’s one thing we have in common.

17. …. losing our sovereignty be classified the characteristic a failed state ?.

18. @ David

On the CJ email post, you asked me a ‘final’ question which I’ve only just seen. I tried to answer there but the system is jumping about so I’m going to try to answer here. As you may know, I raised the same order of questions with BFP who published the email also. They said they’d received it anonymously by way of an anonymous server through Italy. My view of it all is that the email was clearly sent and distributed by an ‘insider’ whose object was to cause maximum damage to CJ/BA relationships while at the same time manifesting the CJ in the best light possible. In short, it was thoroughly mischievous – but judging by all the commentary entirely successful. There are so many hidden agendas that novices like me don’t always know the nuances of this and that. So, eg, when it was published, here wasn’t it, that the lawyers were proposing to sue the Registrar there was much adverse comment. Taking the ‘straight bat’ approach I defended the proposed course of action, and not least because I had had clear and honest reports from someone I trust completely that one significant cause of delay was the apparent incompetence of Registry (not necessarily the Registrar). But then the CJ email appeared and the Hal Austin post and, well, you know the rest. As I said to you somewhere, it’s a learning experience and I’m really very glad to have been part of it.

19. @robert

Alot is left to speculation. You should consider that someone could have copied the email from BU and sent to others. When a person uses a remailer or proxy the email will appear as if originating in a foreign country even if sent from Barbados.

BTW if the page is jumping it means it is still loading because of the large number of comments.

20. @ David

I don’t have the jargon and am not very good at computering – but I understand what you are saying. BFP said they received the email on the day it was posted here – the 25th wasn’t it? – and posted it the day after.

Yes, I thought it a question of volume.

21. Six years and still relevant.

22. Is Barbados a failed state?

23. “Six years and still relevant.”

It appears that my reference to “Groundhog Day” was not understood by everyone. It is a movie where “a TV weatherman who, during an assignment covering the annual Groundhog Day event, is caught in a time loop, repeatedly reliving the same day”

Six more years from now you will make the same statement.

(If, by then, we have not already failed).
    Not failed, but failing,

24. @ Theo,

Unless there is a radical transformation in the way our society is managed there may not be an independent Barbados in six years. We are not failing, that is optimistic; we have failed.

25. More of the same.