Hal Austin

Introduction:
Chief justice Marston Gibson has recently slapped down the Barbados Bar Association, the lawyers’ trade union, for its impertinence in questioning how he does his job. It did not come a minute too soon. There is a culture of elitism in Barbados in which some professionally and socially well-connected people feel, as if by nature, they have a right to be excepted from the normal courtesies. It is an arrogance which has emerged to substitute for substance in other areas of their lives, such as the poverty of progressive ideas and of cultural understanding.

But, and it is relevant to the issues I want to raise in this blog, within the legal profession there is an absence of any significant liberal tradition in Caribbean (Barbadian) legal thought. I have raised this issue before to much disdain. Like the societies they regulate, what passes for legal thought is based on a Victorian social conservatism, which pre-dated human rights theory, and in which outdated practices such as hanging still play a central role in the legal imagination and, as a direct result, the idea of criminal justice.

Two dominant influences shape our deeply conservative criminal law tradition: the so-called Westminster model (lawmaking), based on the UK’s parliamentary tradition, and the common law model, based again on the England and Wales tradition of statute and case law. Linking both these traditions is the doctrine of the rule of law, the principles rooted in the Magna Carta, which stipulate that the state must have legitimate grounds for depriving a citizen of her/her liberty and right to property. One hybrid political position best exemplifies this tradition, that of attorney general.

Under our tradition, one that runs throughout the Commonwealth in one way or the other, the attorney general, a senior member of the ruling government’s Cabinet (in some jurisdiction s/he is not a member of the Cabinet i.e. the UK), s/he is also the leading lawyer for the government and state – two different entities. S/he is also head of a political department head and reporting head of the civil legal officers – director or public prosecution, the commissioner of police, solicitor general, chief justice and Registrar’s office. What separates out this political position from that of judicial officers is a formal protocol or, in some instances, a memorandum of understanding. The position can be summed up basically as the attorney general has responsibility for strategy while the top officers have responsibility for operational matters. But the attorney general is the politician answerable to parliament for all these positions, s/he is accountable under our parliamentary democratic system.

This technical difference can often be mistaken, even by highly skilled and knowledgeable practising lawyers, as we observed recently, on one occasion in this forum and on another in another place. In this forum one blogger chided me for not knowing that the DPP was ‘independent’ and recommended that I should call on that highly reputable attorney, Hal Gollop, for a basic lesson in what used to be called British Constitution principles.

The other instance was a reference in one of the national newspapers, this time by a named attorney, that the solicitor general [SG] had allegedly failed to inform the government of a crucial CCJ meeting in which the government was the defendant. I suggested to that attorney, privately, that I was under the impression that the attorney general was the government’s principal legal officer and, as such, he was accountable. The reply I received was: “Yes, the AG is the de jure legal adviser. However, the AG doesn’t advise himself: in civil matters he is advised by the SG and in criminal matters by the DPP.”

With great humility and respect, I beg to differ from both those opinions. In fact, I will venture to say that under the Westminster/Whitehall traditions, they are both wrong. I fully accept that in Barbados this is not the spirit, even if it is the law. Take policing: sometime ago the police announced that up to a third of the vehicles on the road in Barbados had no motor insurance. In any other jurisdiction this would have been a crisis. It would mean that about 30000 vehicles were lethal weapons on our streets since if they knocked down and seriously injured, or worse, killed, a member of the public there would be a legal battle for compensation.

I sensibly expected questions to be asked in parliament and the attorney general calling in the commissioner – and motor insurers – to have serious talks about how to sort out this mess. Nothing of the kind happened, as far as we are aware. Here was a classic example of where the AG had a legal, policy and administrative right to intervene in what was ostensibly a policing matter. Or, take the case of a gun dealer cleaning a loaded gun and, by accident or intentionally, killing his son. Since the only witness to the tragedy is dead, the first action by the police should have been to suspend the dealer’s gun dealing licence, prevent the suspect from leaving the country for medical treatment for a non-life threatening injury – as if the QE could not treat him – release him in to the community on conditional bail. But, horrors of horrors, when the case came up before magistrates for committal, the more serious charge being dropped by the DPP without any proper explanation to the public.

Here again, I submit, was a classic intervention point for the AG on public interest grounds, any opportunity to over-rule the DPP, re-instate the original charge, leaving the decision on innocence or guilt to the jury. Again he failed to execute his full powers under the law.

One other point worth mentioning, since it was implied in Chief Justice Gibson’s dismissive email, is the chaotic administration in the registry. One of my projects I have set myself is compiling a family tree, which entails regularly applying for certificates or birth, marriage and death. Nothing spectacular about that, just routine stuff, that is, until you come to apply to the registry for copies. First, you enter the building through the metal detector, you are checked for the dress code, all right and proper. Then you join the queue for an application form, a choice of three. Why can’t it be simplified by having a single form with the three options, allowing the applicant to cross out what is not applicable and be made available in reception so the public can help themselves?

Then the person behind the desk checks the form, quite rightly, signs it then sends the applicant off 30 feet away to the cashier who takes the money and issues an A4 receipt which the applicant has to take back to the original clerk – joining the queue again – who then confirms it is correct, accepts the application and gives the applicant a return date. All this could be simplified by giving the original clerk a cash machine who would check the application, take the cash and issue a receipt. If the application for an older person, it has to go to one of the supervisors, who will then inform you that the application has to be sent to the Archive department and would take up to three weeks. In reality, all this could be done in a day, even if you had to walk to Black Rock and back to get the certificate.

More practically, the space currently being occupies by the cashier could be used to house two or three computer monitors connected to the archive department, allowing people to do research, make applications in the morning and return in the afternoon for the actual copy of the certificate. I know some people will say that is how we do things, but because we have done things since Victorian times does not mean we must not change. There is a lazy intellectual tradition based on discursive gymnastics and point scoring rather than dealing with substantive issues which passes as part of public discussion. Ordinary people are losing confidence in the entire criminal justice system, from the police, the prosecution authorities and the courts because they experience all these examples of incompetence and resent them. This is a challenge for the chief justice and the attorney general and should dominate the agenda at their meetings until a general election is called.

I want to mention one other personal experience since I think it is important. When I went to the registry to get hold of the certificates mentioned above I was rightly asked to produce proof of identity. Of course, all these documents should be public records available to all citizens. However, I produced my Barbadian passport which was rejected by the young lady at the reception desk. She asked for a Barbados ID. When I pointed out I did not have one and asked if they were compulsory, she sucked her teeth and passed me on to her line manager, a tall elegant gentleman called Mr Straughn. Sensibly he ignored her concern and authorised the application. Two things about this: first there is a note in the public area which specifically states that a passport is a legal document for identification purposes; more importantly, a passport is universally accepted as proof of identity and here we had, in the Bds$70m building, an officer of the crown declining to accept a state document (passports are owned by the state) as legitimate. This, I submit, is a case of lack of proper training.

Analysis and Conclusion:
There is an economic angle to all this in that unless foreign investors have confidence in the legal system and the competence of the courts, they will avoid investing in this jurisdiction. How many of us will gladly invest in a Russian company, or in most of Africa for precisely these doubts?

Not to put too fine a point on it, we are in danger of having our criminal and civil justice systems being compared with failed states. We can either set about improving the systems or taking a hostile position to any one who has the temerity to raise these issues. Because we are reluctant as a culture to have robust public debates on matters of central importance about our governance, cricket and politics aside, we have failed to develop a comprehensive narrative of our perception of key concepts, such as democratic accountability, and how they are expressed in policymaking.

We drift on in the nonsensical belief at our peril.

125 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Is Barbados a Failed State?”

1. Thank you

You couldn’t have said it better.

2. Well, since I’m up. Rather like the famous email, this post is all over the place, but for that reason it’s good for at least a week of blogging.

3. LOL…there, you see. Cf Mello and RR.

4. Hal how dare you criticize the registry? Don’t you know that is where the best brains in Bim are working? LOLL It never amazes me that the idiots who create the “Official” forms in the government service expose their limited intelligence on the said forms. It is evident that we have many IDIOTS running Government departments and this has been happening for years under both parties. We try to give the world an impression that we are intelligent and organized. Truth is we have people with elementary skills employed in departments making the simplest process complicated.

5. @islandgal

We have a Mercedes of a building but the owner/workers who has been driving Corsairs, Hillmans and the like for so many years are having a problem at the wheel of the new machine.

We simple have to make changes to our processes to fit the demands of the market and importantly, the expectations of the customer.

n the process there is the opportunity to become more efficient.

6. old onion bags Avatar

Mr. Austin
    This Foundation Fellow reign soon coming to an end……..but like Rossi states, your post is.good for at least week.We (citizens) in the mean while have to contend daily with the frustrations you so aptly list, but distance from our problems.
    I can vouch with many…”um aint ez.”…..like your name sake in another blog….DLP got to Go Call Elections NOW ….I am sure this is the cry of the majority of us ..only to be continued in this dis -embellished state of suffering by the selfishness of ONE man whose true calling was to be a headmaster or a poet.

7. David | March 30, 2012 at 6:06 AM |

” We have a Mercedes of a building …”

… that has had converted to lawn a ridiculously large area of prime potential car park space. What a f#cking waste.

8. “Ordinary people are losing confidence in the entire criminal justice system” …

And all these years dey mek ma feel like I is somebody dat different and prone to bellyaching … I might have jus’ been sufferin’ with short fuse syndrome

9. @David…then we need to retire the Hillmans and the Corsairs to the museum since they are no longer capable of taking us to town in a timely manner. Unless we are prepared to give a complete overhaul and replace the engines with newer and faster ones. But you know these old cars are hard to drive and we will have to push them out of the garage.

10. You mean to tell me that both Amused and Ross mek phone calls and needa one a dem get a response yet …? Ha ha ha … I sticking close to this one … ha ha ha. Hope someone picks up on BA thing and put it in the papers … ha ha ha

11. old onion bags Avatar

My point..expect NO change….such requires a leader..fleet footed and sure…not a “take your TIME-ER.”whose Dispatch means no more than….. the duty of a shop assistant.

12. @ Hal Austin
    I do not know why a person of your obvious intellect cannot be more organised in the exercise of committing your thoughts to paper . I find extreme difficulty in understanding precisely what you are saying . In this regard I must support ROBERT ROSS when he says that your post is all over the place. Why cant you keep it simple ? Or is this the way higher intellectuals , like you and GEORGE BRATHWAITE write ? If you want us, lesser mortals to fully appreciate what you are thinking , pleeeeease ! be more simple and less convoluted . Peace .

13. @ BAF

LOL. Well, I did and told. Not completely sure what Amused’s up to. Last I heard he was going to in a spare moment. H’mmm. But note that the Austin post begins by asserting as fact, in a manner not dissimilar to Observer and Blogger, what has yet to be proved.

14. @Robert Ross and an Observer

I with you on this one. Pity some intllectuals cant write for the uneducated like me (lol) to easily follow as the brain aint getting nah younger.

They have to write like island girl that cussing cuitie. Island dont cuss me. cuss old rotten onion, scout and annurmurki or what yah call them. hahahah,a

15. @An Observer

Note that to write a blog is difficult because of the constraint of word length.

To be honest BU had no difficulty in grasping the thrust of Hal’s submission.

Sometimes we can be detracted by venturing into the realm of the pedantic 🙂

16. @ Old onion bags
    ” …. one man whose true calling was to be a headmaster or a poet ” .
    It would seem from all reports that he IS a SKILLED NEGOTIATOR too..The CEO of LIME Mr Alex Mc Donald reports that the recent negotiations aimed at breaking the deadlock between the BWU and LIME over which he presided ” were SKILLFULLY AND DEFTLY HANDLED “by Prime Minister Stuart . Man this is a compliment of the highest order . How do you like that one ? I notice however that you do retain a HIGH measure of respect for OUR PM ; for one you do not consider him an “errant school master ” and , given your love for verse , that suggestion of yours that OUR PM should be a POET is an endorsement of the HIGHEST POSSIBLE DEGREE . I ALWAYS knew that you are a SECRET ADMIRER . Now let me hear you….LOL ..Peace my brother .

17. @An Observer

He needs to show a similar deftness to the AX matter:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/strikers-out-of-academy/

18. @ David .
    That is why we should KEEP IT SIMPLE…LOL.

19. old onion bags Avatar

@ Blogger 2012
    I beg your pardon….? .I received confidential news last night that YOUR JEFF the pompous Broomes ….is packing …What sayeth thou you ole pirate of the Billingsgate ?

20. An Observer

Any possibility of LIME being a major contributor to the coffers of the PM’s party?

21. old onion bags Avatar

@ an Observer
    Yesterday when you proposed the elequoence your friend and confidant’s negotiating skills, I preferred to venture no more than to express positive and polite hope.My reasons though obvious,seemed not to reverberate that much importance to you.I caution you to take note of Mr.McDonald’s stance of awaiting final word from his overseas bosses.In an effort to avoid an disappointment, I hope you do the same.
    Being a lover of the classics and a loyal citizen of this fine country who believes strongly in the democratic process, the PM office is to be held in the highest esteem.

22. @ David.
    ” He needs to show a similar deftness to the AX matter .”
    David , I have no doubt that the PM is dotting his I’s and crossing his T’s . That AX matter carries great complexity with it . Don’t be misled by the trivialising that the NATION has brought to it by its constant reference to ” phase two ” . The AX matter involves the future of a PUBLIC OFFICER OF OVER THIRTY TEARS STANDING who was appointed BY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL , NOT THE PRIME MINISTER . The matter therefore has to be sorted out by the ADVISOR of the GG, THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION . Do not forget that the PM is a skillful lawyer . I am sure he is also taking everything into consideration that would avoid throwing the State into an EXPENSIVE LAWSUIT . The PM has to walk very carefully in this AX matter . The expectations of the teachers and their Union are NOT the only consideration to be taken into account .There has to be an Alexandra School long after Mr Broomes and the other protagonists have departed this scene . Peace my brother .

23. robert it is becoming so clear to me why some of us remain Amused with all that happens ’bout hey … ha ha ha

24. David

They got so called professionals ’bout hey who might very well not be answerable to any disciplinary committee or nuffin’ … You don’ think that that deserves and article man … ha ha ha

25. @ Old onion bags .
    ” Fine words and well pronounced ” !
    There can be no more noble sentiment , my friend . I need say no more other than peace , my brother .

26. @An Observer

Your elucidation on the AX matter is understood. However again (CLICO) the political dimension cannot be dismissed.

The PM was successful in getting the teachers back to work. In the process he made statements which gives opportunity to his political opponet to make mint e.g. phase 2,3 4 etc.

Why make such a statement?

It was not necessary.

All he had to say was the teachers have agreed to return to work and he will use his good office to bring weight to the matter or some vague pronouncement.

He cannot forget the political dimension to his decision making and method of communication.

It does not mean his substantive action is to be frivolous but he must be sensitive to the political dimension.

27. @ BAFBFP.
    You certainly would not get a response from me to that question . You should have noted by now that I do not engage myself in such discussion .Peace , nevertheless .

28. @ David .
    There is of course an obvious political element attached to the AX matter . But what of the other elements ? Maybe the erroneous view was held that PHASE 2 would be the removal of Broomes by whatever means . Did you ever consider that the next phase was to get the PSC activated to perform its constitutional function ? There is now a new PSC in place . You however keep referring to the political element involved in these matters ; let me suggest to you that there is ALSO A MORAL ELEMENT involved . Any good leader must see to it that , among other things , every effort is made to pass on VALUES to the society . Good leadership must not only be concerned with doing what at the time is EXPEDIENT ; it must also be concerned with doing WHAT IS JUST. This would necessarily take me into a discussion on JUSTICE to which i shall return at some future convenient time . Until then , Piece my brother .

29. @ David.
    LOL..LOL..
    Certainly NOT ” PIECE ” but PEACE my brother..LOL ! LOL >

30. An Observer..

U were right the first time … The current Bridgetown rate is $60.00 per “piece” ($20.00/piece Garrison)… Nothing wrong with wishing Piece fah a friend now is there

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Bogger2012 | March 30, 2012 at 7:08 AM |

Blogger 2012, you can refer to me as “Miller the Nuksie” to make it easy on your brain.

Now this is intellectually up your street. What Hal wrote is totally untrue and only submitted to embarrass PM Stuart and his exceedingly competent and effective administration. In fact, Barbados has one of the greatest legal systems; even better than that of Great Britain. Our lawyers are the best trained in the world and the administration of justice is in a class of its own.
    Just like our Victorian-age educational system we have produced some of the greatest administrators and legal minds in the world.
    Barbados has one of the best economies in the world and that 20% living below the poverty line, the abandoned old people and abused children deserve what they get since they refused to work, make adequate provisions for their old age and in the case of the children go to Sunday school and know their places. All of this took place under the BLP and the DLP is not to blame. As a matter of fact when the DLP came to office in January 2008 they found that 40% of the population was living below the poverty line. But thanks to the imaginative and socially aware policies of the DLP it has been reduced to 20%. It’s all OSA fault, right “ac”?

Sound good enough for you, Blogger 2012?

32. Whoooooooooooo…’satire the kill punch of kings’

33. @ an Observer
    What’s with all these … peacepieces.. in here anyway ? Has some one got wind of a new tax to the world’s oldest profession ? We know that you have an inside track ya know ?

34. BAFBFP Wha happen? wite chick dump yuh an black chick mekkin yuh wait til cropova?

be carefull wid de low budget offererss who now have increased users and increased risks.lol

35. Hants

I hear U … But these operators are far more aware of health risks than the rest of us, after-all it is their business to stay healthy and generate “confidence”. Ha ha ha. De cropover still dey, in waiting, and de White chick miserable as eva …

36. @ Old onion bags .
    Man why don’ t you behave yourself ? Do not allow your thoughts to wander into the morass of perversion . ” PIECE ” was a slip of the pen . I am in no position to wish or grant that for / to anybody ..LOL ..but I can certainly extend a wish for PEACE…..PEACE….you rascal . Now please behave yourself .

37. @ BAFBFP
    As an observer, I could not help but remember Mighty Sparrow’s song “Sell the Pussy and bring all the cash for Me”……Seems like your feline friends getting too fat from all the Pedigree can food you are indulging them in ..and not letting them go outside and catch some big rats ! We got a lot in Barbados ya know…..

38. The media can get people to do foolish things by publishing a part of the story and sitting on the other part.

… or maybe people are just prone to do foolish things anyway.

What is interesting is that things have a way of getting out and having people do foolish things is a way of letting them out.

While people can do foolish things it does not mean that people are fools!!

Maybe a better word for foolish is unexpected ….. but while people may not be fools, they sure are unpredictable.

Makes life interesting and the times ahead worth waiting for expectantly.

39. old onion bags

As far as I can tell Sparrow was talking about a cat that his girlfriend had and he needed the money. My girls like cats too much to sell theirs but I really wish that they could agree with you on the pedigree of food that I though I was providing …

Onion if you get the chance, go out there and see wha’ gettin’ offer man … sssweeeeet man, top drawer.

40. DONT you know that I ask the questions around here Mr. Notes From a Native Son ????

SO is Barbados a Failed State?
    IS Freundel Stuart a good Prime Minister ?
    WHY is the Pitbull not barking nor biting or shooting from the hip ???
    IS Freundel Stuart a relative of Sir Leroy Trotman ?
    ISNT there some resemblance when they were shown in a picture together recently ???
    HOW Long is too Long if it is Bad ??
    WILL the DLP win at least one seat in the next general elections ???
    WILL the Eager 11 sit back and allow the DLP ship to run aground ??
    IS it that you have not heard from them because they have given up on winning the next election???
    WILL Freundel Stuart bow out of politics after the next election ?
    WILL Freundel ever call elections??
    IF he is so slow with most things, can we expect that he WONT take his time in calling an election and might carry it right down to the baller??
    DIDNT Somebody say that time longer than twine ???
    WHO said those words and to whom were those words spoken ???
    PLEASE , will someone answer some or all of these questions please ???

JUST ASKING

along with
    JUST SNOOZING (GRANDDAD) and
    JUST OBSERVING–*(GRANNY)

41. Wanna REALLY want answers fuh truth??!!

What failed state what?!?!
    Barbados isn’t a FAILED state…..it is just a foolish state where folly is blis.
    It is TRULY amazing that allegedly intelligent bloggers are so consistently able to reduce ANY subject to party politics…. And here was Bushie thinking that this was a special skill reserved for rumshops and those that imbibe therein.

The author points out clear examples of idiocy in our society and rather than a serious analysis of how and why such things appear to be endemic here…. Bloggers talking jobbie.

Of course the basic problem lies in our willingness to accept mediocrity…..and in 99% of instances, to give it too.
    Even as we blog, a GIS advertisement about the pending new traffic regulations repeat over and over, that ATVs “will no longer be allowed on the road AND in the Scotland District”

Now if THAT is what the regulation says then we can see why the Courts are so messed up. Simple Boolean logic tells us that she means “on the road OR in the Scotland District” else a driver using ONLY the road OR the Scotland Area would be permitted. Perhaps the rule is intended to stop those who drive with two wheels in the road and two on the Scotland District… 🙂

….if she fails to see the difference maybe she is just a typical Bajan.

Wanna can’t see that the whole shebang falling apart at the seams? ….that BOTH the Bs and the Ds are out of their depth? …and that the PDC fellows seem to be almost viable? ….. Wanna going have to feel the cold sea water to recognize that the Titanic gone….?

42. Was I wrong? Is this post ‘dead’ in less than 24 hours? Or are we resting before the week- end fix? Meanwhile Hants has just blogged on the CJ email post so it still has some breath.

Meanwhile I gather the ‘THIRD FORCE’ has just manifested as the BARBADOS FREEDOM PARTY.

43. Mr austin your commentary is spot on and much understood by those who have no political axe to grind.

44. @ PD

Forgive me……
    I should have said the BARBADOS FREE PARTY

45. Mr Austin, your post is utterly incoherent and no-one, not even the politically unaligned, can find anything sensible to say about it.

Oh – and the Barbados Bar Association is not a trades union.

@ Balance…that should have stirred the pot a little.

46. Mr Ross , we are all entitled to errors and an inaccuracy by Mr Austin should not be allowed to detract or taint the overall worthy substance of his comments especially from an erudite commentator like you. Mr Austin used some very poignant examples of inefficiency endemic throughout the public service system and to a lesse extent the private sector where employees are not prepared to think outsided the box. It would have been instrctive to hear your views and Mr Observer’s views on these things rather than trying to pick holes in Mr Austin’s comments. Anyone like myself who has been remotely associated with the court ssystem over the years knows that service is fuelled by a culture of indifference and most or all of systems in use for the dispensing of justice are anachronistic.

47. @ Balance
    Have you lost your sense of humour? Don’t you get it?

48. @ Balance..on the culture of indifference
    Have we become indifferent to the plight of Raul Garcia?

49. @robert

What is the latest?

When last there was an update by David Commissong he indicated government was securing a site and Garcia was on board.

Are you suggesting Garcia’s matter is not being dealt?

50. @ Balance

Can’t stop. Being nagged. BUT consider Harold Wilson’s ‘a week is a long time in politics’; and the fact that a week is just about the time and memory span for any post on the free underground presses. Is that a statement about the human condition? To persist is either to make oneself a nuisance, or a drag, or a crazy or, ultimately, a martyr.