Hal Austin

What is Barbados coming to when in the early years of the 21st century a small group of teachers can walk out of a school on the grounds that they do not like the headโ€™s management style and his competence as an administrator?

What is even more scandalous is that government and trade unions are taking this rag bag of activists seriously and crippling the education of some of our brightest young people, the very future of Barbados. In the midst of all this our prime minister remains embarrassingly dumb, unable to even call a successful meeting of both sides.

Of course, the obvious action is to give the teachers a deadline to return to the classroom and start teaching the pupils, and set a date for serious discussions of their grievances. But it must be made clear in no uncertain terms that no matter what they think of the headโ€™s management style, it is not a striking issue. We cannot replace one perceived sense of bullying with another, because one side is shouting louder than the other.

The crisis at the Alexandra School also exposes the inability of the minister of education to deliver on his duties, and the street-fighting bullying tactics of a small clique of trade unions. Those of us who are big supporters of and active trade unions can only look on in amazement as a major union, not involved in the silly show of strength at the school, has now thrown its considerable weight behind its sister union.

Now is the time, if ever there was a right time, for the government and parents to back the headmaster and show the unions the door. But it should be made clear to him that he is on probation and unless improvements be made โ€“ both in management and in exam results โ€“ then he will be out of a job.

However, the crisis is just a symptom, not a cause. The real cause is the declining state of Barbadian education and the poor quality of teachers, on the one hand, and the failure of government and the administrative class, on the other. If Barbadians want to test the quality of their secondary schools they only have to travel as far as St Lucia and visit St Josephโ€™s, the most successful affiliate of the Caribbean Examination Council, for an example of how a top school in a developing nation can perform. It may also explain why St Lucia is the only English-speaking Caribbean island to have two Nobel Laureates. Apart from the economy, the educational system is in urgent need of a complete overhaul.

We can start by raising the status of teachers by making it a graduate profession for all recruits and returning all those aged 45 and under to the class room for advanced training. They should also be offered salary increases and better career prospects, along with enhanced responsibilities for heads, including control of their profit and loss, hiring and firing, reporting to a board comprised of teachers, non-teaching staff, the local community, parents and secondary school pupils, with observer status for the ministry of education.

Along with this improved responsibility at a local level, the ministry should also have the right in an emergency to send in a flying squad of experienced teachers to take over in cases of failure. This improved status for teachers should also be accompanied by certain conditions, such as non-union membership, although the formation of a professional association focusing exclusively on standards should be encouraged.

The final test, however, should be a ten-year programme to raise the educational standards in Barbados to international levels, based on approved benchmarks, such as the international baccalaureate. It should also be accompanied by a widespread overhaul of the school structure, creating specialist schools for some disciplines and fast-tracking exceptional bright pupils.

As a small and relatively poor nation, despite claims to the contrary, the long-term future of Barbados lies in the quality of its human capital. We must not only return to the days when the quality of Barbadian education was unmatched in the Caribbean, but we must raise our game and produce school-leavers and graduates who can compete in a new digital world, which is borderless for its brightest and best. There is no real reason why Barbadians should not have a berth in Silicon Valley, alongside the best of the Singaporeans, Indians and Malaysians.

There is no reason why Barbadians should not be alongside the best high-tech engineers, alongside the Germans, Japanese and Chinese. There is no real reason why young people should not be entering secondary school already equipped with a foreign language and computer competence, which they acquired at nursery and primary school.

This bright future is partly in the hands of striking, gnarling, aggressive teachers picketing Alexandra School, rather than spending their time thinking of improving classroom standards. Instead of this, we have a so-called teaching union looking for a fight with the CXC authorities because he messed up and did not get his documentation in on time.

This, in a nation where 70 per cent of secondary school-leavers leave statutory education without any formal qualifications and, which the ever-expanding university is prepared to lower universally accepted standards by accepting practically semi-literate and under-qualified students as undergraduates. You just could not make it up. And, in the middle of all this, the prime minister has chosen to remain silent while what is best in Barbados declines almost to the level of the most primitive of nations.

Prime minister Stuart, in a most bizarre decision, announced from a church service that he planned to intervene in the Alexandra School crisis with the intention of bringing it to a โ€˜swift endโ€™. If it was not so serious it would be funny. Maybe his interpretation of a swift end differs from that of all reasonable people. As prime minister he must give leadership by supporting his minister and head teacher. Rowdy trade unionism is not the way to run a nationโ€™s educational system. The victims in all this are the children.

Industrial Relations:
The row at Alexandra School also exposes the wide gaps in industrial relations policy and legislation and it tries to rush through new legislation. There is quite clearly no proper conciliation mechanism to resolve these industrial conflicts, apart from strike action by workers and capitulation by managers. And, in a panic, the government is proposing the legalisation of industrial relations in a backward-looking and reactionary way.

One problem is that in a culture dominated by lawyers we have failed as a society to develop a legal consciousness, which explains the flaw at the heart of our legal and social policymaking. Yet, trade unions are a key part of the so-called Social Partnership, which some deluded people see as the governmental structure for small jurisdictions. Arbitration and conciliation should be written in to law as an industrial relations process all parties must go through before strike action or locking out.

Can courts bring about social change, or should be look to them as institutions of social change?

Analysis and Conclusion:
The challenge of education in the 21st century, no matter where one lives, is to nurture talent and close the gap between those who are naturally gifted, those who are well-taught and those whose ambitions and skills lie elsewhere. The key to unlocking this human capital is good teachers and first-rate teaching. Teachers are the guardians of our future. The economic crisis may be temporary, but the education of future generations will be with us forever.

But, as the Alexandra School crisis has shown, there is a level of obstinacy, arrogance and aggression coming from the BSTU that is offensive for an organisation which claims to be representing professionals, when it can even refuse to meet with the opposition. How we manage this is also part of the task of good government and policy-making. First, we must attract the brightest and best in to teaching by making it a profession with the same, if not a higher, status as lawyers and doctors.

This would be reflected not only in remuneration, opportunities for further study and societal recognition, but by raising the bar to entry. For example, teaching in a secondary school should be a graduate occupation. This is the one feature shared by all the leading nations which score high on international educational benchmarks, including Singapore, Finland and South Korea. All these nations recruit top graduates, develop their careers further, and battle to give them a lifelong career in education and part of their long-term strategic plans.

The action by the Alexandra School teachers is in many ways symptomatic of the failure and post-independence decline of Barbados. The one promise of independence was progress and prosperity, driven by equal educational opportunities. This promise has been broken at every level, from nursery to university, and scandalously so with Sir Hilary Beckles and his senior team building an empire in Cave Hill at the expense of ordinary Barbadian taxpayers, many of whom would never have the chance of entering a university. But the striking Alexandraย  School teachers take the biscuit. Their selfishness negates everything about teaching as a progressive discipline.

The silence of the wider society is also worrying. Where are the still active recently retired professionals who should be passing on their knowledge to this coming generation? Where are the aspiring and ambitious law undergraduates looking for experience who should be providing pro bono legal advice to the poor and underprivileged parents?

We are a society that has lost its moral compass, adrift in a sea of materialism and amorality. I have seen enough of this in Britain, from the so-called free sex and rock โ€˜nโ€™ roll 1960s, to the greed and selfishness of the Thatcher years to the idiocy of the Blair years to the buffoonery of the Cameron years. Whereas the economic crisis will be resolve in a relatively short time, investments in our human capital, the most important of which is the coming generation, will last forever.

To allow our most precious gift is our talented young people and to waste it will be a grave sin. Ultimately, the crisis poses a number of questions about the maturity of Barbadian democracy and, in particular about the social responsibility, transformative justice, institutional limitations and the decaying Barbadian state. What those who really care about Barbados should worry about is that the so-called New Barbadians, the silent people in our midst, are quietly plotting to take control.

If they do, we will be marginalised like aboriginal peoples.

442 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: A Cautionary Tale Of An Education System In Decline, Alexandra Impasse The Symptom”

1. @Observing

The teachers will be going to work from Wednesday.

Objective 1

There will be no winners here.

There is a whole lot of hurt which has to be addressed.

2. Broomes will no longer be part of the Alexandras experience, with “dispatch”… that is as clear as dah streaker on the Kensington pitch pun Saturday …!

3. Hmm, “circus of interlopers” – perhaps someone advised the PM to check with the NUPW whether they were officially representing the principal. Or maybe he has been reading BU. LOL

Wait, what if the PM has been one of the bloggers on this topic? ROTFLOL!!

4. O Justice thou art fled to brutish beast and and men have lost their reason.
    A decision without hearing the other side ? Without even askiong a question. Can you believe this?Can any one justify this? I supported the teachers in their struggle but to this is to outbroomes broomes. The teachers acted out of the behaviour of Broomes. This is WRONG! WRONG! WRONG! The problem has not been solved. Was the PM able to give assurances which the BSTU took in good fatih? Has the PM come to a position before hearing the other side?. Justice must not only be done it must be seen to be done. I am shocked and I dont trust this decision.
    Mr Jones must out of decency give his instrument of appointment to the PM . He has been embarrassed and made to look small and incompetent. The sword of Domecles has been placed over his head. Have courage Ronald and do the right thing. Think on these things

5. Could someone tell some people to learn to accept defeat with grace and dignity.

Bushie ping pong Osbsv Blogger 2012..the humble pie gettin cold…

I cant find nabody.

6. @ true to form

“Mr Jones must out of decency give his instrument of appointment to the PM . He has been embarrassed and made to look small and incompetent. ”

… along with all of the other demon seekers … whether in “dog collars” or not!

7. @true to form

Can you advise what decision the PM announced today that would have required Broomes’s presence? Was there a final decision issued?

8. I mentioned in an earlier post ” We are all missing the fundamental problem. We are looking at the theatrics of Bromesโ€ฆHis style is to be popular. Being popular donโ€™t make you an effective manager”. This is the basic of PM Stuart sending kudos to the BSTU knowing that the report and most of all the Board of Management who have been mandated to run the school. It is how you do it that make you an effective professional manager. Aggressiveness and pigheadedness don’t work in this modern dispensation. Remember everything you do are now base on the rights of people and must not be trampled regardless who you are. Forget how popular people make you feel. Anyhow, the real test starts Wednesday since I did not see any defined decision for the way forward in the press conference.

9. Maybe Broomes will take Caswell’s advice and interdict the 30 teachers on Wednesday…lol.

10. @Tell me why

Is it that difficult to call a spade a spade

Ok let me do it for you…..he shits ok….I just left St,.Micheal ‘s you should have heard the jubilation

Why is it that EVERYBODY is wrong and a few like you is right.

You know why ..agenda

11. Who will have the last laugh in this spectacle. Will it be Bromes? Will it be Jones? Will it be Redman? Will it be BSTU? Will it be the Cabinet Ministerial Committee? Will it be the teachers?Will it be the Education Ministry? Will it be the NUPW – sorry ah mean Clarke and Maloney. Will it be the students or Will it be PM Stuart? Keep tune to the Government Soap Opera

12. On a more serious note

I think its time MOE makes it mandatory for headmasters to attend receive management training while occupying post, as these individual while been qualified to teach sometimes have very little updated management skills.

Take Broomes for instance, (and some of his lackeys on this blog) when I left cave hill some years ago ( with Mathew Farley and his $5 book bag)..the preference in management style at that time was for authoritative….since it changed to team management…I don’t even know what it is at present to support my point…times change so do people and leadership styles.

Had Broomes been updated he would have surely augmented his leadership style in the interest of all concerned.

From all readings..it seems that due to lack of these skills..he resorted to management by fear and oppression. Obviously.. it won’t work forever ..people rebelled..we have the outcome.

Let this be a warning to those OTHERS out there who believes “the school is theirs” and they have total power ( as I am made to understand they are a few)..Ship up or ship out.

You have been entrusted with custodian powers to use not ABUSE.

13. One cannot conclude that a decision has been to Mr. Broomes’ disadvantage. From the PM’s speech, one can infer that the resolving of the challenges will be a progressive process. The immediate objective of an intervention was to convince the teachers to go back to work. I imagined the whole of Barbados who had been cursing the teachers for three weeks, would all be happy about this, seems I’m wrong. Some people want their pound of flesh. The Prime Minister should be commended for achieving what all the heavy weights(NUPW, BAPPS, Ministerial Committee) could not achieve. He has proven to be a man of admirable testicular fortitude. BRING IT ON Mr. Prime Minister. ” A Daniel come to Judgement” (Merchant of Venice).

14. Will the teacher who refused to teach the fourth form students teach them now? or will she still refuse to teach them on Wednesday? Will she return to the forms she was teaching before she went on leave? If so by whose permission? After calling and abusing the teachers who didn’t strike, is it expected that the ones who remained would meet the striking teachers at the gate with a big “welcome back” hug ? Is Mr Lett taking a “peace” gift to school for those students he tried to embarrass by his leeter in the Nation newspaer? Can Mr Broomes say anything to those striking teachers? Which principal will be next on Mary Redman’s list? Mr Stuart, you have caused more problems by speaking than if you had kept quiet. Mr Ronald Jones should offer his resignation with immediate effect. No wonder the Eager 11 want to get rid of Stuart as P.M. Mr stuart didn;t speak as a Prime Minister nor as an attorney Q.C how can you deal with a problem by listening to one side and not the other? Had he spoken with both sides and then make his dicission, it would not have sounded so badly. This is now much fodder for the opposition.

15. @ Tell me Why
    …..or will it be the Bush Man as usual…?
    Remember it is he who laughs last….

Interesting to see those like BAFBFP catching at straws…
    All the man have done – three weeks late – is step 1 of the bushman’s 4-step solution posted some time ago…. Except instead of ordering the strikers back to work Stuart has begged and enticed them back with hollow promises.

When the investigation shows no substantial grounds to punish a committed Principal, who also has a large following of committed parents, students, teachers etc we will be back to square 1.

If wanna unfair Broomes wanna don’t think that the other side can strike too….?
    Jokers all!!

16. @David
    I did not say that Mr Broomes had to be present when the PM spoke but he had to be heard before he spoke. He should not appear to take sides in this matter so openly and then believe that people would think he is fair. Both sides must be heard , then pick a side .This is the thin edge of the wedge. The damage is already done. NO peace NO peace NO peace. lord put a hand , Think on these things

17. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@islandgal246 | January 23, 2012 at 1:17 PM |

STUPES

MR. BROOMES WINS AGAIN…GOOD BOY

18. HUSH Bush TEa

Sit down here ..a let me and Ac watch you EAT HUMBLE pie.

Why would the PM need to hear Broomes side (urgently ) ? Was it he on strike? I dun know you all got ears ( although summa wanna BLIND).

Hear the PM say…he dealing with the most important thing.GET THE TEACHERS BACK TO SCHOOL….so why should he need to talk to Broomes now.?

Hush BUSHIE..(tek annuda bite outta the humble pie while ac and onions die wid laugh).watch fa D bones. lol

19. Scout

I thought you had more S.

Learn to accept defeat with “lil dignity and eat some tis pie…loser!”

U Bloggers gone MAD ?..Everybody knows the man was a scoundrel..and although they tried , they could not cover up all his shit.. He got OUT OF CONTROL<….learn to lease ur dog MOE and lodge.

20. When the Inspection Team went to the school Broomes gave the teaching staff a glowing report saying they were committed and performed creditably. He said that the school staff was cohesive and made great sacrifice.

Unlike almost everyone else that was interviewed, he was unsure of the effectiveness of the communication structures that were in place.

Broomes was only critical of his deputy saying that she had not performed her role effectively.

One of the concerns expressed by the Board was that “in this untenable situation at the school, the Principal reported that he had no stress”.

21. @true to form
    I’ll go a lil further. I would suggest DON’T pick a side. Deal with the matter, full stop. Picking sides at that level or seeming to favor one side or the next (right or wrong) could lead to challenges later down. Intentionally or not.

@david
    Objective 1 achieved. 30 unhappy teachers, with 22 frustrated ones, in the midst of students supporting the principal, an “emboldened” bstu, everyone suspicious of each other and the same issues still obtaining….I think achieved is a bit of an incomplete word.

22. TO THE PRIME MINISTER

YOU GOT IT RIGHT…….THIS TIME YOU GOT IT RIGHT.

hint: (EAGER NXT BOSS)

23. @ Bushie
    If wanna unfair Broomes wanna donโ€™t think that the other side can strike tooโ€ฆ.?

I done got HE placard mek>> It go read.
    “@#@$&*$#@#$ all wanna & get to
    FCKU out my office, wanna kno who I name
    MOE DEMON..”

24. @Brutus

In my mind, for future competitiveness, the most import question is…

How many of our graduates understand the difference between 2, 010, 0x02, two, to and too?

25. If the desired negotiations, crucial to resolution are to continue, then the teachers have to return to work. An important IR principle is that once serious negotiations have started, the strike must be called off.
    AS for this question of picking sides; what is wrong with extending a compliment about the way the BSTU conducted itself during meetings with him? Does this automactically suggest something negative about the other union? Not necessarily, though to be honest, the Minister of Education surprised me the other night.
    He needed to meet with the strikers as a matter of urgency. He also conducted additional meetings over the weekend. Mr. Broomes will have his say as negotiations proceed. All ya like too much drama.

26. @asharte
    “If the desired negotiations, crucial to resolution are to continue, then the teachers have to return to work.”

hasn’t this applied for the past three weeks??? Isn’t this what people were begging the BSTU to do? and didn’t they tell everyone else to sod off?

27. ON A LIGHTER NOTE

PM: Mr Broomes, I intend to act, without fear or favour, in the best interest of the students.

Mr. Broomes: Fear or favour?? hic……..hic, I gine show you fear or favour when I bring out my brotherhood fa you. you know who I is tho…………hic…..hic pass that bottle by you hand over dey. Wait til next year den……fear or favour my tail.

28. Dream about the days to come
    When me and Alexandra would be done
    If I come back I’ll wear a bull nose ring
    So miss me and cry for me
    Tell me that it was not me
    Scold me like you’ll never did before
    Cause I’m leaving Alexandra
    Don’t know if I will ever see ya
    Oh dear how I hate to go

Lett Perry and Mary

29. The Hon. PM Fruendel Stuart once again showed Barbadians why he and his Gov’t is head and shoulders above that poor excuse of governance that manifested itself during the Arthur years.

No bar-b-que pig tails approach to problem solving as Owen Arthur did over and over again.

No wonder Greenland remains a prime example of why Owen Arthur MUST remain where he is !

30. @ Observing

If you would recall those meetings had reached an early deadlock, signalling a discontinuation of meaningful dialogue.The strikers remembered how they were sweet talked back to work in 2010 and still still no action from the MOE. Tiger don’t walk the same path twice.

31. @Observing

The point has been made by Caswell et al that the BSTU has no confidence in the MOEHR or MOE. The fact that PM Stuart admitted that this is the first time he was hearing about the inspections report is revealing. The BSTU wanted an audience with the big dog.

32. @asharte
    If that be the case then, can we safely assume that the MoE will have nothing to do with the investigation and implementation of action stemming from this whole impasse? It should stand to reason due to “distrust”, “inefficiency”, “lethargy” and “cronyism” that they cannot be expected to fairly adjudicate the matter in any form or fashion… But, then again, that’s assuming that there will be an “investigation” and that a decision hasn’t already been made and it’s really just a matter of going through the process, legality and renumeration….

Just observing.

33. “The Hon. PM Fruendel Stuart once again showed Barbadians why he and his Govโ€™t is head and shoulders above that poor excuse of governance that manifested itself during the Arthur years.’

@Wizard …..kindly go and tryout your spells elsewhere because dem ent wukking. Please go back to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for some more classes.

34. @Wizard

Who is this joker Wizard doa? He now come in hay and just so talking bare Sxxxxe.

Boy ga bac outside…in hay ent yard fowl lading. Choo

35. The PEN is indeed “MIGHTER THAN THE SWORD”

Thanks BU!

36. @Observing

What is means is that PM Stuart will LEAD the process going forward read each day, each week, each month… He said it in the press conference.

37. On a more serious note

I think its time MOE makes it mandatory for headmasters to attend receive management training while occupying post, as these individual while been qualified to teach sometimes have very little updated management skills.

Take Broomes for instance, (and some of his lackeys on this blog) when I left cave hill some years ago ( with Mathew Farley and his $5 book bag)..the preference in management style at that time was for authoritativeโ€ฆ.since it changed to team managementโ€ฆI donโ€™t even know what it is at present to support my pointโ€ฆtimes change so do people and leadership styles.

Had Broomes been updated he would have surely augmented his leadership style in the interest of all concerned.

From all readings..it seems that due to lack of these skills..he resorted to management by fear and oppression. Obviously.. it wonโ€™t work forever ..people rebelled..we have the outcome.

Let this be a warning to those OTHERS out there who believes โ€œthe school is theirsโ€ and they have total power ( as I am made to understand they are a few)..Ship up or ship out.

You have been entrusted with custodian powers to use not ABUSE.

38. The Minister of education has been insulted and his purpose has be called into question.

THE PM is the HERO in the Situation.

I have …………..I did this……….. I was told………..they were told to resume school on Wed by Me….

Woooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Glad the children will be taught once again

But a Precedent has been set. Is it a good or bad one?

39. Perhaps the precedent is that the public service will be forced to look at how it does business.

40. @ old onion bags
    why would I have to eat humble pie?

41. @Lemuel

your diatibe leaves a lot to be desired. I though that Caswell was clever and does not need a neophyte to reasoning like you to defend him. People in glass houses should not throw stones. For your information, if I am stupid how do u expect me to understand things, hence u should ignore me Mr, intelligent.

I only went to 7th standard and by the way I do not have an identity crisis and my self is as high as the sky. U have a wonderful evening. Monkey say, dont trouble trouble when trouble aint trouble you.

42. @Islandgirl 246-1.17pm today and later —you are wasting your God given TALENT –you must do some comercial songs —from what i have seen you have the ability to so far —- or is it that Broome and the two union clowns (sorry three unoin clowns Roslyn Smith has join the other two ) has brought out your singing ability and also your song writing ability — what ever it is you must keep it up -u song -or has written well
    @Brutus the Prime Minister has been reading BU–THATs how he know of the NUPW -THREE CLOWNS ——-well it has only begun
    note -it seems to me that the PM call JONES a LIAR about the composition of the committee —-it was JONES committee —-he knew that the Teachers had no faith in him so he call it the PM committee
    Last but not lease BROOME,JONES MALONEY ,CLARKE go to NUPW and do have a good of BLOODED MARY, you may find a one-foot pirate –who dont pay the BAR BILL-and if INNISS there -the phone man can use the room but he got to watch out for the WATCHMAN—president and watchman fighting over a woman –haha nupw clowns now the labour movement doormats —lies lies and more lies
    Mr. PM PLEASE TELL US AND BARBADOS AT LARGE IF YOUR GOVERNMENT (DAVID ESTWICK ) HAS BEEN INVOLVE IN THE NUPW MEDICAL HOSPITAL AND THE BUYING CLUB —-WELL THE PRESIDENT HAS BEEN TELLL COUNCIL AND ANNUAL CONFERENCE THAT ESTWICK HAS BEEN ARRANGING TO HAVE A MIAMI LOAN SHARKE TO GET FUNDS FOR NUPW HELP US —YOU CAN ASK CASWELL OR ANY MEMBER

43. “selfesteem”

44. old onion bags
    You’re smelly!!!!!! This has now started a war that P.M Stuart cannot handle with or without the fact that elections are due within a year. There is so much more to come out of this and you and the other laughers will cry soon. this matter will go as far as the CCJ. Information received,states that many DLP supporters plus MP’s and even cabinet ministers are surprised by and very angry by the performance of the P.M today. All that he has succeeded in doing is really replying to the EAGER 11 by highlighting himself as the big man in charge. That reminds me of the fellow who was getting blows from his wife and ran under the bed. When she ordered him out, his reply was, he is the man in this house and if he say he isn’t coming out he isn’t coming out. Struar is saying I’m the BIG BOSS and I don’t have to discuss anything with the minister of education or indeed his cabinet. TODAY STUART STOOD TALL AND MADE HIS FIRST SPEECH AS A MAN, I HOPE HE CAN HANDLE THE HEAT THAT WILL COME WITH IT. This reminds me of Sandie’s ” you can take it, or lump it.” Stuart is going to do a Sandie just now.

45. I ain’t know bout wunna, but I all I heard today was a chihuahua puppy pretending to be a pit bull.
    Stuart should seek to hire a better adviser with dispatch.

Jeff, boy things ain’t looking suh gud. You better start packing yuh Georgie Bundle, but don’t worry yourself, Freundel will soon be packing his too.

46. I have said over and over that you cannot negotiate by placing oneside under duress and the BSTU, didnt it accept that the principal cannot be removed at its whims and fancy?

47. The governing board of the NUPW was given an opportunity to move forward and sanction CLARKE and Maloney as alluded by PM STuart there voices was not needed on this matter. I hope the governing board and its members would use all laws forcefully and apply them to CLarke and MAloney so that these two mcguyffy won’t try something of this nature again.

48. “That reminds me of the fellow who was getting blows from his wife and ran under the bed. When she ordered him out, his reply was, he is the man in this house and if he say he isnโ€™t coming out he isnโ€™t coming out.”

Reminds us of someone name SCOUT nuh? Yuh letting out yuh secrets SCOUT Hush nuh?

49. @the scout
    Now we really getting to the meat of the matter. Start the trail, starting with the attorney. All the discussion on this issue as been peripheral to the real war.

Picture this, the same Ministry that can’t be trusted is supposed to oversee the “transition” process….only bout hey.

50. Ian Burke … Wow thank you but I jes having some fun on BU. I love laugh and it is the best medicine and we all can do with some laughter!