What is Barbados coming to when in the early years of the 21st century a small group of teachers can walk out of a school on the grounds that they do not like the headโs management style and his competence as an administrator?
What is even more scandalous is that government and trade unions are taking this rag bag of activists seriously and crippling the education of some of our brightest young people, the very future of Barbados. In the midst of all this our prime minister remains embarrassingly dumb, unable to even call a successful meeting of both sides.
Of course, the obvious action is to give the teachers a deadline to return to the classroom and start teaching the pupils, and set a date for serious discussions of their grievances. But it must be made clear in no uncertain terms that no matter what they think of the headโs management style, it is not a striking issue. We cannot replace one perceived sense of bullying with another, because one side is shouting louder than the other.
The crisis at the Alexandra School also exposes the inability of the minister of education to deliver on his duties, and the street-fighting bullying tactics of a small clique of trade unions. Those of us who are big supporters of and active trade unions can only look on in amazement as a major union, not involved in the silly show of strength at the school, has now thrown its considerable weight behind its sister union.
Now is the time, if ever there was a right time, for the government and parents to back the headmaster and show the unions the door. But it should be made clear to him that he is on probation and unless improvements be made โ both in management and in exam results โ then he will be out of a job.
However, the crisis is just a symptom, not a cause. The real cause is the declining state of Barbadian education and the poor quality of teachers, on the one hand, and the failure of government and the administrative class, on the other. If Barbadians want to test the quality of their secondary schools they only have to travel as far as St Lucia and visit St Josephโs, the most successful affiliate of the Caribbean Examination Council, for an example of how a top school in a developing nation can perform. It may also explain why St Lucia is the only English-speaking Caribbean island to have two Nobel Laureates. Apart from the economy, the educational system is in urgent need of a complete overhaul.
We can start by raising the status of teachers by making it a graduate profession for all recruits and returning all those aged 45 and under to the class room for advanced training. They should also be offered salary increases and better career prospects, along with enhanced responsibilities for heads, including control of their profit and loss, hiring and firing, reporting to a board comprised of teachers, non-teaching staff, the local community, parents and secondary school pupils, with observer status for the ministry of education.
Along with this improved responsibility at a local level, the ministry should also have the right in an emergency to send in a flying squad of experienced teachers to take over in cases of failure. This improved status for teachers should also be accompanied by certain conditions, such as non-union membership, although the formation of a professional association focusing exclusively on standards should be encouraged.
The final test, however, should be a ten-year programme to raise the educational standards in Barbados to international levels, based on approved benchmarks, such as the international baccalaureate. It should also be accompanied by a widespread overhaul of the school structure, creating specialist schools for some disciplines and fast-tracking exceptional bright pupils.
As a small and relatively poor nation, despite claims to the contrary, the long-term future of Barbados lies in the quality of its human capital. We must not only return to the days when the quality of Barbadian education was unmatched in the Caribbean, but we must raise our game and produce school-leavers and graduates who can compete in a new digital world, which is borderless for its brightest and best. There is no real reason why Barbadians should not have a berth in Silicon Valley, alongside the best of the Singaporeans, Indians and Malaysians.
There is no reason why Barbadians should not be alongside the best high-tech engineers, alongside the Germans, Japanese and Chinese. There is no real reason why young people should not be entering secondary school already equipped with a foreign language and computer competence, which they acquired at nursery and primary school.
This bright future is partly in the hands of striking, gnarling, aggressive teachers picketing Alexandra School, rather than spending their time thinking of improving classroom standards. Instead of this, we have a so-called teaching union looking for a fight with the CXC authorities because he messed up and did not get his documentation in on time.
This, in a nation where 70 per cent of secondary school-leavers leave statutory education without any formal qualifications and, which the ever-expanding university is prepared to lower universally accepted standards by accepting practically semi-literate and under-qualified students as undergraduates. You just could not make it up. And, in the middle of all this, the prime minister has chosen to remain silent while what is best in Barbados declines almost to the level of the most primitive of nations.
Prime minister Stuart, in a most bizarre decision, announced from a church service that he planned to intervene in the Alexandra School crisis with the intention of bringing it to a โswift endโ. If it was not so serious it would be funny. Maybe his interpretation of a swift end differs from that of all reasonable people. As prime minister he must give leadership by supporting his minister and head teacher. Rowdy trade unionism is not the way to run a nationโs educational system. The victims in all this are the children.
Industrial Relations:
The row at Alexandra School also exposes the wide gaps in industrial relations policy and legislation and it tries to rush through new legislation. There is quite clearly no proper conciliation mechanism to resolve these industrial conflicts, apart from strike action by workers and capitulation by managers. And, in a panic, the government is proposing the legalisation of industrial relations in a backward-looking and reactionary way.
One problem is that in a culture dominated by lawyers we have failed as a society to develop a legal consciousness, which explains the flaw at the heart of our legal and social policymaking. Yet, trade unions are a key part of the so-called Social Partnership, which some deluded people see as the governmental structure for small jurisdictions. Arbitration and conciliation should be written in to law as an industrial relations process all parties must go through before strike action or locking out.
Can courts bring about social change, or should be look to them as institutions of social change?
Analysis and Conclusion:
The challenge of education in the 21st century, no matter where one lives, is to nurture talent and close the gap between those who are naturally gifted, those who are well-taught and those whose ambitions and skills lie elsewhere. The key to unlocking this human capital is good teachers and first-rate teaching. Teachers are the guardians of our future. The economic crisis may be temporary, but the education of future generations will be with us forever.
But, as the Alexandra School crisis has shown, there is a level of obstinacy, arrogance and aggression coming from the BSTU that is offensive for an organisation which claims to be representing professionals, when it can even refuse to meet with the opposition. How we manage this is also part of the task of good government and policy-making. First, we must attract the brightest and best in to teaching by making it a profession with the same, if not a higher, status as lawyers and doctors.
This would be reflected not only in remuneration, opportunities for further study and societal recognition, but by raising the bar to entry. For example, teaching in a secondary school should be a graduate occupation. This is the one feature shared by all the leading nations which score high on international educational benchmarks, including Singapore, Finland and South Korea. All these nations recruit top graduates, develop their careers further, and battle to give them a lifelong career in education and part of their long-term strategic plans.
The action by the Alexandra School teachers is in many ways symptomatic of the failure and post-independence decline of Barbados. The one promise of independence was progress and prosperity, driven by equal educational opportunities. This promise has been broken at every level, from nursery to university, and scandalously so with Sir Hilary Beckles and his senior team building an empire in Cave Hill at the expense of ordinary Barbadian taxpayers, many of whom would never have the chance of entering a university. But the striking Alexandraย School teachers take the biscuit. Their selfishness negates everything about teaching as a progressive discipline.
The silence of the wider society is also worrying. Where are the still active recently retired professionals who should be passing on their knowledge to this coming generation? Where are the aspiring and ambitious law undergraduates looking for experience who should be providing pro bono legal advice to the poor and underprivileged parents?
We are a society that has lost its moral compass, adrift in a sea of materialism and amorality. I have seen enough of this in Britain, from the so-called free sex and rock โnโ roll 1960s, to the greed and selfishness of the Thatcher years to the idiocy of the Blair years to the buffoonery of the Cameron years. Whereas the economic crisis will be resolve in a relatively short time, investments in our human capital, the most important of which is the coming generation, will last forever.
To allow our most precious gift is our talented young people and to waste it will be a grave sin. Ultimately, the crisis poses a number of questions about the maturity of Barbadian democracy and, in particular about the social responsibility, transformative justice, institutional limitations and the decaying Barbadian state. What those who really care about Barbados should worry about is that the so-called New Barbadians, the silent people in our midst, are quietly plotting to take control.
If they do, we will be marginalised like aboriginal peoples.

442 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: A Cautionary Tale Of An Education System In Decline, Alexandra Impasse The Symptom”
Checkit-out
I like your questions and I hope that you are genuinely seeking answers.
From the allegations that are being circulated about Broomes, a case can be made out that he breached paragraphs 5 (c), 6 and 24 of the Code of Conduct and Ethics. Bear in mind that you can be dismissed from the Service for breaching 5(c).
You also asked if the PM could engineer his separation from the post. As things go PMs in this country can do anything. You question should be, what is the PM’s role in this matter. The simple answer would be, NONE. One of the major problems is that we tend to glorify politicians and believe that they should be involved in all aspects of national life. As a result, most everyone seems to develop an unhealthy dependency on politicians.
The Broomes affair should have been reported to the Public Service Commission who is empowered by the Constitution to deal these matters. Broomes can ignore him and there is precious little if anything that the PM could legally do. Politicians do not hire public officers and also they cannot fire them. If they want to act within the law, the Minister of Education can order an investigation into the problems at the school. the Chief Personnel Officer could then place Broomes on special leave to facilitate the investigation.
If Broomes is retired in accordance with the Pensions Act as I suggested in an earlier comment, his appeal would be to the Privy Council, not the Courts. If he is retired there would be no pan cart of money as some people seem to suggest. Assuming that he has worked 33 and a third years, he would be entitled to 25 months pay as a gratuity and a monthly pension of half of his salary.
@BT
That is alright we are all entitled to our moments.
Checkit-Out | January 22, 2012 at 10:34 PM |
If Broomes is minded to fight any such action is it likely that there would be a long drawn out legal battle? Is there a possibility that he could win and be reinstated at Alexandra?
With my tongue firmly in my cheek ……
The DLP when in power in the early 1990’s changed the law to get rid of the then Chief Electrical Engineer at the Government Electrical Engineering Department.
He took the Attorney General to court.
Seventeen (17) years later the final decision arrived.
Mr. Broomes is now 58.
Could he win?
You sure bet!!
Could he be reinstated at Alexandra?
Add 17 to 58 and tell me what you think are his chances of reinstatement given this scenario!!
I made the 17 year comment to show that it is in everybody’s interest to find a solution.
Blogger2012 | January 22, 2012 at 11:01 PM | @Caswell
You will recognize by now, that observer and I are fully seized of the PSA.
Blogger 2012, I recognise that you have read the Public Service Act. I also recognise that you don’t understand what you read.
@Blogger you love to ask questions why have you avoided the one posed to you about how the NUPW Council regards the performance of Clarke and Maloney in this AX impasse?
Philippi awaits!!
I am assuming that it does not turn out that way for Mr. Broomes.
It should not if agreements are reached and solutions found.
Time to move on.
Hope we are not seeing ‘lodge’ positions rising to the fore on BU…lol.
@Caswell
Thank God u r the only person that understand the PSA, no wonde you have never kept a job for any lenght of time and no wonder u r scrunting to pay the concessioanry rent. U r too smart, no wonder u have been fired from every job u have held. What a shame, smart pant. U were caught with ur attempted deception.
More to come.
There was only one post of that nature in the Pulic Service and the DLP would not commit suicide at this juncture.
@Caswell
U r agruing one thing on the blog, and presenting a different argrument for nos dont u think it is disingenious to do so. A lot of people consider u to be an opportunist. No wonder u have been heard to say Mary hasnt got a clue about IR, you have not denied the stament, you continue to pontificate, but those who understand law, particularly administrative law will pick up ur deception.
I want u to read the other blog about AX and come and tell bloggers if i hadnt said clarke could not be appearing as GS of the union as he was on sick leave.
You tail is showing.
@Blogger
The question was, what do you think the NUPW Council should do in the circumstances.
@Blogger 2012.
Bloome is your . drinking partner
The council will do nothing,MURRELL is 1st vice.president ,he will not go against his DLP member ,, remenber his wife works with the MOEHR (section) jones (Urban Board member,)Roy Greenidge(Wife DLP council member)the young girl from BCC(just got a grant to do her masters at the expense of the UNIONS(INTERNATIOALUNIONS ) NOTE this masters course was not advertise to the general public ,it was a deal worked out by Maloney and Clarke for surport given , Humphrey (BUDDY SKEETEand CECIL DRAKES, these two are my friends but they do not go against Clarke and Maloney WE WERE friends from when we were boys and i canvass form them ) the council member will do nothing -they have been brouhgt and sold -so dont expect and movement against them .
note what they did to Derick Alleyne ,betrayed him -did any of the above stand up for him NO.
Yet i read in the Press Maloney specking about respect ,yet he drank with Derick (borrowed his money -did not pay back and now going through the back door to get his job -as Deputy General Sec –does he respect the members byrepresenting Management –has he repaid the $6000 phone bill, so you see David dont expect any thing .
Wayne waldron that case that you had with the Child Care Board ,what has be come of it —-was it lost in the system —–All of the above will follow the CLOWNS —follow the leaders to the slaughter
John; Re. your 10.52 post last night. Yes! I got the mature part and it struck me that you were absent from some of Tank’s classes. There is no proof anywhere that Broomes can’t get along with Mature adults. On the contrary, the Report clearly indicates that he gets along well with roughly half of the teaching staff; that the major problems that the BOD have with him are spurious at the best; that he gets on well with the PTA (all presumably mature adults) and that he gets on well with practically all the admin / ancillary staff.
What problem with mature adults what???
The report by juxtaposing three unproven accusations, has given full rein to the supposition that he cannot get along with various groups and that has been taken up by BSTU and run with. He has apparently has conflicts with the BOD, but has it been proven that he didn’t have a case for such conflicts? Similarly has the report proven that he didn’t have a case for his conflicts with the teachers? Just juxtaposing those alleged conflicts have had many going on a possible wild goose chase. Why is it axiomatic that someone having problems with the groups that the reports mentioned constitutes evidence that the person is wrong?
I think that this conflict has the potential to blow up in the face of several of broome’s detractors.
I don’t know Broomes personally. I met him briefly on 2 occasions only. I think he is being pilloried on insufficient evidence.
Now, to read the posts that I missed last night.
@My Dear Ian Burke
WHEN you go hunting, please make sure you got the right equipment else u will end up empty handed. You know about mistaken identity, ponder on that, if u have the ability to do so.
!Ian Burke
Sounds like one big happy family, the way things are in most of Barbados anyway.
@Checkitout
I have not read the report yet, but certainly will if time allow. but i like your reasoning so far. Dont be dismayed, we must not be onsided. I dont know Broomes personally, but he seems to have flawss like all of us, but some deeitful persons on this blog want to portray him as this evil persons as sacrificial lambs.
I have always been told, that the devil is very artful as citing scripture for his own purpose.
Have a blessed week.
We keep focusing on personalities. At this point it does not matter if Broomes is a good person. What matters is that AX is a mess at the moment and there is no win win. However it will be solved will see bloodletting.
Let the agendas and the politics continue however.
the nupw has legitimise its involvement when it accepted the invitation from the minsterial sub-committee. The lawyer, Mr. Franklyn could have told u that. The Council is now placed in an akward positionn,
BY the way as Blog MASTER, WHY ARE u taking issues with certain people who have uncovered Casweell’s mask. YOU should post the questions to him that he has not answered and everyone will conclude that u r unbias.
The more I read, the more I see what a bloody mess this country is in.
I wonder what goes on at the other schools,govt departments,private enterprises,churches.. seeing the island is full of bullies and egoist that couldn’t care two hoots for fellow man.
If not for Ax and those willing to put their necks on the line, none of this would have surface…maybe others (NUPW) will be more willing to organise and come forth( depending on PM) and start a Barbados spring head.
I don’t know..we wait and see.
David; Re. your comment on agendas and politics above. This is one topic that I sense that many posters who could often be portrayed as tending towards one political party or the other, have been commenting with no regard to politics but out of a sense of fairplay or entrenched union position or adherence to authority figures, or dislike for authority figures, etc. I have not actually seen politics rearing its ugly head in this one.
What worries me is that many commenters do not seem to wish to see fairness displayed in the solution but want to see expediency adopted and use the facile argument that they are only seeing the children’s interests in this matter.
Think on these things.
@OLE onions
Good morning! in reference to your comment: to think that with all that is being revealed there are some here on BU still fighting to keep the same sh..t the way it has been!
And a good morning too ac
As we know …it is their agenda to be that way..plants..for lack of a better word..to continue the counter…to maintain the status quo…don’t forget a bring about for such radical change may delete some friends who may have been providing certain beds, breads and butter..
Not to mention…flood waters may end up at certain doorjams.
@Checkit-out
Don’t you for one minute believe there are no agendas being played out on BU.
@Blogger
Your questions no doubt we read by Caswell et al and readers are free to draw conclusions based on hope responses are given. BU has always been sympathetic to posters who use their names. They tend to get the benefit of any doubt.
“I wonder what goes on at the other schools,govt departments,private enterprises,churches.. seeing the island is full of bullies and egoist that couldnโt care two hoots for fellow man.”
i had asked that same question Ole onions……BUT this is an incestuous society when family disagree it is cat piss and peppa!
I agree also that this might be the start of the Bajan Spring
To Blogger 2012:
Your post to Caswell where you gloat about his supposed inability to pay some rent is the LOWEST piece of blogging that I have seen on this blog from the time I started here. If you can not deal with Caswell’s logic then leave him alone. He has already clearly demonstrated your lack of comprehension skills, which indicates that you come from some home with influence to have gone to that big up grammar school where you wasted all those years at. It is not Caswell’s fault that your mother’s and father’s trifles continue to haunt you with the prospect of making the light of day to be seen by all and sundry. From most of your other posts one gets the impression that you can only find comfort in throwing social and psychological mud; the act of a frustrated human being who was not loved or continue not to find love even in the nastiness which you call the “good life”.
what kind of jackass we really have running this country? i don’t subscribe to the party shite but this is disgraceful now. the PM met these people Friday, a move which i did not think was the right one but so be it, now I’m reading in the Nation Newspaper that “Both the BSTU and the NUPW are awaiting word from the Prime Minister and the Ministry of Education on the next development”
should this not have come over the weekend so you could get the teachers back in the class rooms? this guy want putting out on his ass and i don’t care who it is that do it, the 11, the BLP for the love of this country some get body remove this waste we have for a PM from office.
now turn on the radio and heard the PM is giving a press conference at 12. what a joke.
@David (not BU)
We can only surmise that to mobilize whatever solution – if there is one – requires the authority of departments/personnel who are available weekdays only.
ok. i guess this problem is not as pressing as we think. thanks for clearing that up David.
David; That’s a joke. Senior Public Officers may be required to work on weekends depending on the exigencies of the service, although normal working hours are on weekdays only. No PM would use unwillingness to call out officers on a weekend as an excuse for not getting urgent important work done. However, the mere fact that the PM is apparently calling a press conference for today suggests that he has been indeed working over the weekend and has a solution. Hope it is a fair and workable one.
Me too.
…. and I would add that when there is a departmental retreat over the weekend with meals laid on you will see how hard people can work to make it a success.
Agree that if government resources were required on a weekend it should not have been an issue if indeed it was the case.
“I have not actually seen politics rearing its ugly head in this one.”
That’s the nature of politics. 95% of the time you don’t see it.
Let’s see what the press conference says. This will be a major “all eyes on Freundel” moment. Here we go
Prime Minister Stuart speaks with the authority of Thor!
Teachers will resume work on Wednesday.
He makes no mention of Broomes but it is obvious which side the PM has taken.
BUSH TEA BUSH TEA
Ha Ha, yah get beat…! Fumble Stuart just come down on the side of the teachers … ha ha …! Fah once he do somet’ing right …!
The teachers return to work Wednesday. They were wiling to return today, but the PM decided on Wednesday.
The teachers have promised to make up for every last minute of teaching time that has been lost.
The PM commended the BSTU for its maturity, insight, cooperation, respect and sensitivity…the union did itself proud.
The PM stated that he only became aware of the Alexandra School report since this issue broke recently.
My question is since the Ministry had the report in hand since November why wasn’t it brought to the attention of Cabinet and thePM?
What the PM is trying to do as Caswell and others are trying to say, is exactly what a number of people in the public sector are paid to do. All dem want firing with immediate effect …!
This is the most incomplete solution to the problem I have ever seen. The teachers have gone back on to pretext that other things would be done. What conditions did he give them to reassure them? Is Broomes going to be separated ? I think it is going to be worse for the problem would nopt be solved . I feel cheated with this response. Think on these things
The PM stated that “the Alexandra school has for many years the Alexandra school has enjoyed a peace and tranquillity unmatched in the educational system in Barbados.”
As an Alexandra old girl I can vouch for this.
He also stated that “it is a cause for concern that children have been drawn into this”
AC; I listened to the PM’s statement. The mountain has laboured and brought forth a mouse. The man is a menace. He didn’t even have the foresight to thank his MOE and the Cabinet committee for the work they have done in his long speech. It was all his work, Freundel all the way. Glad he has taken ownership of it. He might yet regret it.
Think on these things
Quoting BAFBFP “BUSH TEA BUSH TEA Ha Ha, yah get beatโฆStuart just come down on the side of the teachers”
I second that.
Generalities and vagueness. Uncertainties and undecideds.
An ideal return to a realistically unstable environment.
BSTU goes back, despite not having their ultimatum granted. Broomes remains. No “addressing” of the obvious issues that the past three weeks have created on top of what was there already from years past
A “glancing” comment about the Minister of Education’s way of doing things…An interesting reference to the circus of unions and photo opportunists.
As I have continually said, the real war now begins.
It is clear the hammer will descend on Broomes.
It is clear MOEHR handling of the matter has been flagged by the PM. What disciplinary action will be taken is left to be seen.
@Observing
How can the PM not speak without being vague and general? It is obvious his reference to stage 12345 and legal steps suggest Broome will be removed from the school.
All my bags are packed I’m ready to go
I’m standing here outside the door
I hate to shake you up to say goodbye
The dawn is breaking
It’s Wednesday morn
The taxi is waiting it’s blowing it’s horn
Already I so lonesome I could die
I’m leaving Alexandra
Don’t know if I will ever see ya
Oh dear how I hate to go
Now the time has come to leave you
One more time let me buse you
Hold my hand before I slam the door
Cause I’m leaving Alexandra
With an old friend from
the Constitution river
Oh dear how I hate to go
@ all
A Daniel .. a second Daniel….where is ac.
PM worth his salt…The Board say the same thing, the King Report says the same thing, the Teachers say the say thing, Mary Redman say the same thing, NOW I go say it..
BROOMES GOOOOOOOONNNNNEEEEEEE
There could be no other decision.This was not a popularity contest.Facts speak for themselves…not lies and red shirts.
I luv it ..where my ac..
Bushie ,ping pon..bring D humble pie boy!
Nuff people go be happy nuff Blog blogs so sad…I notice sum changing the tune they were singing too..
Whatever, whatever……Broomey..if ya got sense tek de million quiks
time running out boy..D deeper them dig the more you losing dawg.
If you’re going to “praise” one side, decide not to meet with any of the others, label one side as “a circus of interlopers”, there should be some communication of what a resolution means or what the next step is. Even if that next step is simply to investigate.
The report is not conclusive on what should be done and we’re now not sure about who is supposed to do what moving forward. This was a public spectacle for 3+ weeks. Alexandra is the same mess today as it was yesterday is the same it will be on Wednesday.
Getting teachers back to work does little. There’s lots more to be told.