By Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

The impasse featuring the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU) and the Principal of Alexandra School, Mr. Jeff Broomes can only be characterized as a comedy of errors or rather a tragedy of incompetence on the part of the Ministry of Education and the Personnel Administration Division. Before I proceed, let me state that I am firmly behind the BSTU. Nonetheless, I will endeavour to be fair to all sides.

The BSTU is one of the oldest trade unions in Barbados, with a proud history of achievements on behalf of its members. In the recent past, it has been overshadowed by the younger and more partisan political Barbados Union of Teachers whose main achievements, in its relatively short history, seems to be positioning its executive officers for higher office in the Ministry of Education and now in Government. But for its constant wrangling with Jeff Broomes, the BSTU goes about its business, almost unnoticed by the public, in a calm and dignified manner.

On the other hand, Mr. Broomes, who has been able to mount a façade of caring for the children in his charge, continues to provoke controversy whenever he is out of the limelight for any extended period. He usually catapults himself to national notice by making statements that are calculated to be controversial, and then he invites reaction by saying things like, “Bring it on!” Rather than keep quiet in order to avoid an escalation of the current episode, he allowed himself to be quoted in the Nation saying that he would do it again. He is aware of what transpired when he made the offending statement the first time. Why would he do it again if not to enflame passions and call attention to himself? However, while he is basking in all the attention that he is receiving, the children that he loves and cares so much about that should be his focus are going without instruction at this crucial juncture.

Despite my criticism of Jeff Broomes, he is not totally at fault. The saga starring Uncle Jeff has been allowed to fester for far too long while the agencies of Government that are responsible discipline sat on their hands to the detriment of the students, and also to the detriment of the teachers’ health. If the Ministry of Education and the Personnel Administration had administered a little medicine in the early stages of this problem, there would be no reason to require radical surgery to remove this gangrenous limb of the education system.

Now that the long suffering teachers have declared that they are no longer prepared to endure Broomes’ brand of management and the ministry’s lethargy, they are being abused due in part to the fact that the media refuse to fairly put their side. Teachers at Alexandra have every right to protect themselves since no one else seems to be doing it. Even the police appeared to side with Broomes and prevented the union from marching by exercising power that they do not have. Union marches, funerals and marches by the Barbados Regiment are exempted from the provisions of the Public Order Act. Put simply, the Police have no authority to prevent a union march. Teachers have opted to withdraw their labour as is their right under the provisions of the Trade Union Act. Some overzealous commentators have even called for the dismissal of the striking teachers. Would they like it if they were dismissed for standing up for their rights? They should be aware that they are calling on the authorities to commit a criminal act. Section 40A of the Trade Union Act states:

40A. An employer who –

(a)     dismisses a workman or adversely affects the employment or alters the position of a workman to his prejudice because that workman –

(i)     is or proposes to become an officer, delegate or member of a trade union,
(ii)     being a member of a trade union which is seeking better labour conditions, is dissatisfied with his conditions.
(iii)     has absented himself from work without leave after he has made an application for leave for the purpose of carrying out his duties or exercising his rights as an officer or delegate of a trade union and such leave has unreasonably been refused or withheld, or
(iv)     takes part in trade union activities outside or, with the consent of the employer, within working hours: or

(b)     threatens to dismiss a workman or to adversely affect the employment or alter the position of a workman to his prejudice –

(i)     because that workman is or proposes to become an officer, delegate or member of a trade union or other combination which has applied to be registered as a trade union, or
(ii)     with intent to dissuade or prevent that workman from becoming an officer, delegate or member of a trade union.
is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.

The normally docile teachers at Alexandra School have been extremely slow to anger but having reached that point. They are resolute in their stance and have determined, come what may, they are no longer working with Jeff Broomes. The lambs have roared.

The ball is now in the court of the Ministry of Education and the Personnel Administration Division. They have several options to bring closure to this mess, namely:

1. They can transfer all the teachers involved and send a new set to Alexandra to be demoralized;
  2. They can transfer Broomes but since he is appointed as Principal of Alexandra, he would have to consent to any such transfer; or
  3. Broomes could be retired from the Teaching Service in accordance with the provisions of section 8(1) of the Pensions Act where an officer can be retired, “on becoming unfit in the opinion of the Governor-General, for the discharge of the duties of his office, though not suffering from any particular illness or infirmity likely to be permanent…”

No more excuses, no more political interference in the Teaching Service. The children at Alexandra School deserve much better, and the teachers need some much deserved relief so that they can once again concentrate on teaching.

340 responses to “Alexandra School Impasse: A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration”

1. @Keith Howard

I’ll keep my sincere promise made to you in an earlier comments. Fare thee well.

2. @ TeacherAX Parent

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

that had to hurt Scout..

Touche’ AXParent

3. The code of discipline in the Public Service Acts states misconduct of a serious warrants the dismissal of the offending person and in addition to the misconduct specified, include the followin

absence from duty without leave or approval
    conviction of a criminal offence punishable by term of inprisonment
    failure to report or disclose any information that ought reasonanle to be reported or disclosee where the consequence of that failure amounts to a grave injustice
    unauthorised disclosure of information pertaining to the governemt
    habitual intoxication or possession or the distribution of illegal drugs on duty
    reporting for duty or performing duities under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs
    failure to obey any laws, rules, orders governing the public service
    falsification of accounts or records either manual or electronic
    willful mutilation, alteration or destruction of property including official document or records. either manual or electronic
    the threathenng of a fellow officer or any person or threathening the destruction of nay property while on duty
    the causing of grievously bodily harm
    the unauthorise possession of a fire arm or other device that can be considered an offensive weapon
    acceptance of bribes or other inducements
    misappropiation of public funds
    major loss of or damaeto property of the employer
    negligence in the performance of duty
    sexual harassment
    failure to maintain official records where the consequence amounts to a grave injustice
    misconduct involving 3 or more matters of a minor offence.

Misconduct of a minor offencemeans misconduct that does not warrant dismissal and includes the following:

use of obscene lanuage, abusive or insulting language while on duty
    malingering on duty
    failure to maintain officail records as required
    insubordiantion
    unpunctuality without just cause
    loss of or damage to property of the crown toher than that considered as a misconduct of a serious nature
    misuse of the governemt’s internet. intranet and any other technologynetwork
    disorderly conduct

4. @Observing

To answer your question, given the bad blood which flows in the North the Speech Day comment was obviouly the straw that broke the camel’s back.

5. @A teacher AND AX parent who knows

Your comments are emotional, biased and slanted. I”ll use one example only.

“Stop talking out of your noses and only speak what you actually know.”

Tell us then what position Broomes applied for and did not get, hence making the woman’s life hell?

Also
    “why are the parents clamouring for them to come back”

I quote…
    “the school’s PTA executive…said they were only interested in having their children taught.

6. Ax teacher and AX parent who knows
    There we go again!!!!!! Mr Lett blast the children, now another teacher is now blasting the parents;come on come on , you people gone crazy? Thanks for letting the BU family know that the teacher’s husband is a senior officer at the MOE, could it be therefore that the teacher thought it was automatic that she would get the post of principal at AX. Maybe she went into the interview unprepared, feeling this was just a formality, therefore she didn’t market herself. the interviewers were obviously professional people and they gave the job to the person who marketed themselves best, i don’t know how many people were interviewed. Sometimes a person can be too positive and it can lead to the downfall, I can see this happening with her for these reasons (1) I.ve gone to school there.(2) have been teaching there all my life. ( 3) is considered a model teacher. (4) the wife of one of the senior officers at the MOE. These are ALL positives for her to be seen as the best candidate for the job, maybe someone could ask her what she did wrong or did not do at the interview that cause ALL these positives to be wiped out. She seemed to have behaved like the W.I cricket team, snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. At least she beat Mr Broomes in that area. What she has done now, is lessen her chances of elevation within the system and since she appears to be elegible for retirement, she should take it and save both her face and that of her husband.Are they still together, since he might be blamed for not squeezing the MOE ‘s hand until it breakls? I see it as her fault for being too complecent

7. In the private sector, I know of two first cousins who were called to an interview for a senior position , the one who got the job was not the one expected to succeed, but when the announcement was made the unsuccessful one congratulayed his cousin on his promotion, and even took him to Brown Sugar for lunch. Never mix business with family or friends. The irony about that case was, the one who got the job was snatched up by a larger company within the year and his cousin replaced him. Unsuccessful teacher, the motto here is ” be humble in your defeat, strife to be better next time.” Unfortunately, there wouldn’t be a next time, not after this episcode and her immaturity. Grantley Adams didn’t choose his son to replace him, he choose Bree St. John.

8. DOES anyone doubt that “some” TEACHERS curse students in the worse way calling them dergogatory names using expletives to describe students and their activities???
    DO you people know that some students curse them back in the same vein ???
    DO you people know what goes on in the Schools today though ????
    WHY dont any doubting Thomases ask —some–b-o-d-y IF ALL YUH DONT KNOW ?????

JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING

9. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Scout a 11:36 a.m. “I remember the day we, C.P, boys< walked with the AX girls from Kensington Oval to AX after that school had won athletics sports for the first time. We were there to protect our "sisters" from any danger on that long road from B'town to S'town"

Dear Scout: This is s lie. On the day after the 1960's AX students walked (almost rioted more like it) nosily from Kengington Oval to Speightstown they were reprimanded and disciplined by the then principal Gabrielle Thompson, because the people along the route had phoned in multiple complaints about the noise and bad behaviour and parents were upset because their daughters got home very, very late.

Protecting sisters what.

It is amazing how people like you turn from bad behaved school boy to conservative lying old fogie.

Don't try to "whitewash" the past Scouttie.
    If ya gun tell lies at least wait until I get Alzhiemers.

10. @david
    Do we hold an entire education system, country and group of students to ransom over bad blood?

I’ve said before, the BSTU has a “case”, but they have not stated it (properly) and they have not prosecuted it (at all) in the right way or at the right persons. And even if they were to win the case they have yet to properly bring or state, the, removal of Broomes would not be commensurate with the charges laid and evidence provided to date. Their action is tantamont to using a sledgehammer to kill a mosquito that’s been buzzing round your ears every night. Sun Tzu says the best general is he which wins the war without ever going into battle or firing a shot. BSTU would do well to learn this going forward.

11. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Scout “Grantley Adams didn’t choose his son to replace him, he choose Bree St. John.”

And choosing Bree was the worse decision Grantly ever made.

12. @@Keith Howard

according to the little ONES YOU WENTS TO SCHOOL? EMPHASIS ON WENTS THAT IS EXACTLY HOW YOU SOUNDS.
    NOTICE I PUTS ON THE LETTER S FOR U.

13. @Observing

You are obviously privy to information not in the public domain?

14. Random Thoughts
    It is pity when people like don’t know anything and just speak about what you heard. The Ax students were not bad behaved, Ms Thompson was annoyed because she said it was dangerous for the girls to walk at that time of the evening/night. Anyone who was part of that era at C.P would tell you the AX students were our “sisters” many of whom ended up being husband and wife including the husband and wife team at the MOE and AX. You are talking to someone who was at school in that era. today that bond between the C.P boys and girls in the era is still very strong. You obviously know NOTHING about the relationship between C.P and AX in those days. SHUT UP

15. Keith Howard
    Nothing that AX teacher said was unknown to me, I wanted one of them to admit it in public. What she didn’t say was the fact that she allegedly accused her husband for not pulling his weight when it was her who fouled up. She need to stop gripping and damaging her own career. NO JOB IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE IS AN AUTOMATIC POSITION. She’s not the first one who fouled up at an interview. Maybe her husband should have told her how to conduct herself at an interview of that magnitude. Mr Broome was not responsible for her defeat, she defeated herself, all the points were in her favor but SHE JUST FOULED UP.

16. To those discussing whether the striking teachers should be paid the following extract maybe of interest:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/wage-deductions-for-days-of-strike-action.pdf

17. Random Thoughts wrote “It is amazing how people like you turn from bad behaved school boy to conservative lying old fogie.”

A lot of us do that.

The truth is that I would have accompanied the girls to help one of them “celebrate”.

Scout may have been a virtuous fella so gih he a break.

18. Random Thoughts
    Maybe her interview was fantastic and with her experience and qualifications, she should have been successful. She should have asked where she went wrong and if the answer was not satisfactory, there was redress . No she probably thought Mr Broomes, being her cousin, would have told the MOE, he thinks she is more suited for the job. As I’ve said before, business and family and friends just don’t mix.

19. @The Scout

Don’t know if you live in Barbados but ‘business and family and friends’ mix in Barbados every single day.

20. @David
    not all that privy. Just an objective listener (in all places) and observer (when allowed). I’ll toss this in for conversation….and for those who want to see this as a black and white issue. No one has yet mentioned whether the “woman at the center of the controversy” is a member of the BSTU executive committee or not…..

Just might explain why Redman is on record as saying she’s not interested in debating the accuracy of the Speech Day comments.
    I’ll say it again, Broomes aint nuh sweet bread, but the BSTU has mangled this issue just as much as the MEHR and sadly they seem poised to do the same with CXC and Foundation….If a thread ever starts on that issue and BSTU remains disingenuous and political I’ll be only too glad to connect some dots for those here among us who choose not to be enlightened because of emotion and bias.

21. According to press reports the 2PM meeting called by the MOE and the BSTU is still in session.

22. @David

3 .3.2 of the General Orders states that the pay of an officer or employee may be proportionately abated for any part of a day or period from the job without permission or without satisfactory explanation for such absemce.

23. NOW that the strike is over and a certain side has won out , what do you gangsters have to say now ???
    DO you know I ask the questions and you should not even try to quizz me as to how I know this ????

24. Yeah Scout disgruntled parents sand most of them might be BLP .that’s why Jones could least afford to alienate any body > HE gonna need all the help he could get in 2013and none of them parents if being BLP gonna vote for him anyway! The pendulum is swinging just as Jones and Mary speaks.

25. @DAvid
    What you really expect when the BSTU has held the position that is has held? “He MUST go or else we striking indefinitely”
    – NUPW, BAPPSS on one side
    – BSTU, BWU on the other
    – CTUSAB kinda neutral but sir Roy say he speaking fa dem too
    – BUT and APPSS on the fence
    – Students and parents fa broomes
    – Caswell for BSTU
    – de Minister’s “resolve” tested like never before
    – de PM silent
    – Broome defiant

Good God, this threatens to rip years of progress (cosmetic though it may be) to pieces
    The people who should have saved this before didn’t. The people who could have saved it now, don’t want to. The adults who should act like it given the impact on children, only allowing ego to control their actions. This is a lose (BSTU) – lose (MEHR) – lose (Alexandra) – lose (country) situation.

26. Well it look like DEADLOCK

not good not good @ all……..looks like nah school fa a lotta we,

@ Blogger2012

So wait when you did gine shool….U did has good command of de S”S
    rite….

Well gimme a change..I ent nah foggie like unna

27. @Observing

Stop theifin my thunda… dat is my book format copyrite infringement boy

28. So David, can we expect “breaking news” about the result of today’s meeting?

Do you have a mole at the meeting?

29. Anybody gots Broom cell phone #

Tell he to ask fa a $1mil now to leff and Eva ting OVA

Eva body tired and hungry…..trick da

30. Mike King who is on the spot. He family to you David ?

31. How can anyone go into a meeting saying they are going with an open mind when their mind has already been made up? There will never be a meeting of the minds because there is no room for negotiation. This is a whole lotta ignorance pon both sides. This has also exposed how impotent the MOE is and how ignorant the BSTU is.

32. @Hants
    The only breaking news is that somebody gotta accept one of these options sooner or later.

1. BSTU accepts that Broomes can’t be forced to go, and therefore make solid demands of him that must be kept. (not likely since they will lose all credibility)
    2. Broomes agrees to go (not likely even with increase in pay and position. D man stubborn as nails)
    3. they all go (not likely given reason 1. above)
    4. teachers strike indefinitely, BWU gets “called” out and eventually when the country can’t take it anymore, somebody is FORCED to accept one of the options above,

which then leads us to a wailing and gnashing of teeth, an erosion of labour practices and principles, a disillusionment among 5 year groups of students, a distrust in the union, a confusion about laws and regulations, a political fallout the likes of which we may have sensed recently, and yet another confirmation that Barbados does not have enough real leaders with big enough balls who can “broker in the interest of the country” or at the very least “call back one another when dem doing faeces.” Plain and simple.

33. @Hants

Mike King who is on the spot. He family to you David ?

Heavens forbid@

34. DID you see anyone striking today ?
    WILL you see anyone striking Tomorrow ?
    DO you think we can start the week -next week with a foolish strike to foul up EWB’s week /day?
    WOULD somebody want to say that the strike is not over ?

35. Keith Howard
    I’ve stated before Mr Broomes will be offered a golden handshake maybe bds$ 1 million, however, the problem teacher and ALL the other teachers especially from that school who participated in this strike will be doomed for life. Mr Broomes only hurt is the seperation from students he really love, but the gift, compliments of Mary Redman, would live happily ever after. The best thing the teacher( i almost called her name) is retire and draw her graturity; I know she wanted to retire at the higher pay but she fouled up.

36. IF I DID BROOMES I WUD ASK FOR $3 MILLION AND DUN UM..

PAY BRM OR PAY LOSSES BY ECONOMY NOT WORKIN FA DAT TIME

in reply to Observing)

What all ya think?

37. @ Scout

Fa REAL>>>>>one million dollars …just so fa F_ing up …chez on brothers

I WISH I DID BROOOOOOMEEESS DENNNNNN!!!

wanna lie..$1million??

38. @Observing,

There must be rules,employment standards etc. for all concerned.

The difficulty in this saga is that no one seems to be willing to enforce rules,regulations and labour laws.

Let us hope a solution is found quickly so the children can go to school.

39. The problem at AX is many of the older teachers there, went to school at AX and returned to teach there all their lives. This however, does not make it automatic for one of them to become principal when there is a vacantcy. The former principal, a male, obviously did not go to school there, but his wife did, plus he was an easy going fellow, who allowed them a free rein. However, Mr Broomes had problem from the start even though he organised overseas tours to conventions for some of these same teachers who were and still is abusing him. Mr Broomes is no angel, but he is not all bad, stop dwelling on the negatives and investigate the positives and you would realise he did and is still doing much more good than bad at the school. These teachers expected him to fail and he’s growing from strength to strength. Now because of immaturity on behalf of the BSTU, he can go home with a bitter/sweet taste in his mouth and pocket. Go spend some time with your grand MY FRIEND>

40. . Wid all the support fuh Broomes ! the odds against him in the bargaining room. 30-1 . He gonna need more than a sledge Hammer to break them Odds. Mary Queen of HEARTS . Tell dem Who needs who. Tell dem Who are they asking to teach the children. Tell dem The ball is intheir Court as to when this saga ends. TELL THEM MARY.

41. @The Scout,”however, the problem teacher and ALL the other teachers especially from that school who participated in this strike will be doomed for life.”

you and your fearmongering be again.

All tose teachers will teach until they retire. They are members of a Union.

42. correction “all those”

43. ac
    This country has really lost it, we are on the brink of anarchy, I never thought the day will come when teachers, who suppose to be guiding our youth in the right path, would use these children as pawns on a chess board. What you are indeed saying, we at the BSTU are big and bad , we must be given what we want or the country’s youth will suffer. All other principals in this country are then in deep uncertain waters. I hope these disgruntled teachers know they will grow old under these same children they are disadvantaging right now.

44. @Scout
    “All other principals in this country are then in deep uncertain waters.”

Include managers, supervisors, administrators and chiefs in that sentence. The issue has gone past the issues. Now it’s about demands and winning, using labour (BSTU) or law (Broome) to gain traction.

45. So I just read Nationnews. So should you

46. @ Smooth chocolate

Reference comment JAn. 14 .2012 @2,45pm

Listen this not an ordinary issue. This is extraordinary in that this issue has been going on for donkey YEARS! uh hear ! The teachers now tired of eating HUMBLE PIE served up to them by BROOMES and his fleet of friends O. K. Nuh hard feelings we still gal friends dats if yuh a gal.

47. If I were the TEACHER>>>> WE WANT MONEY ALSO

STRESS UNDUE HARDSHIP MENTAL DISORDERS>>>cause by BROOMES..

EVABODY WANT MONEY >> ME TWO FOR CARRYING THIS COVERAGE

48. No SCOUT! Barbados is finding its way and along comes the growing pains ! temper tantrums! . What we are seeing now is a new attitude and approach as to the way “THINGS” are going to be done in the future! Control is being taken away from those at the top with the small man wrestling from their hands. This is a good thing Scout ! This is only the beginning of better things to come. OUT WID THE OLD! In with the NEW! Change is hard and getting people to change is even harder! SMILE!

49. STOP. The NUPW is not representing Jeff Broomes. The AILING Dennis Clarke is. This situation was not brought to the council and the AILING Dennis Clarke should return the Union’s property before the police is called in.

50. MOE >>>should have tell these people

WALK wid you all pajamas and toothbrush..

Jeff ..gine have to sleep outside..lol