The impasse featuring the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU) and the Principal of Alexandra School, Mr. Jeff Broomes can only be characterized as a comedy of errors or rather a tragedy of incompetence on the part of the Ministry of Education and the Personnel Administration Division. Before I proceed, let me state that I am firmly behind the BSTU. Nonetheless, I will endeavour to be fair to all sides.
The BSTU is one of the oldest trade unions in Barbados, with a proud history of achievements on behalf of its members. In the recent past, it has been overshadowed by the younger and more partisan political Barbados Union of Teachers whose main achievements, in its relatively short history, seems to be positioning its executive officers for higher office in the Ministry of Education and now in Government. But for its constant wrangling with Jeff Broomes, the BSTU goes about its business, almost unnoticed by the public, in a calm and dignified manner.
On the other hand, Mr. Broomes, who has been able to mount a façade of caring for the children in his charge, continues to provoke controversy whenever he is out of the limelight for any extended period. He usually catapults himself to national notice by making statements that are calculated to be controversial, and then he invites reaction by saying things like, “Bring it on!” Rather than keep quiet in order to avoid an escalation of the current episode, he allowed himself to be quoted in the Nation saying that he would do it again. He is aware of what transpired when he made the offending statement the first time. Why would he do it again if not to enflame passions and call attention to himself? However, while he is basking in all the attention that he is receiving, the children that he loves and cares so much about that should be his focus are going without instruction at this crucial juncture.
Despite my criticism of Jeff Broomes, he is not totally at fault. The saga starring Uncle Jeff has been allowed to fester for far too long while the agencies of Government that are responsible discipline sat on their hands to the detriment of the students, and also to the detriment of the teachers’ health. If the Ministry of Education and the Personnel Administration had administered a little medicine in the early stages of this problem, there would be no reason to require radical surgery to remove this gangrenous limb of the education system.
Now that the long suffering teachers have declared that they are no longer prepared to endure Broomes’ brand of management and the ministry’s lethargy, they are being abused due in part to the fact that the media refuse to fairly put their side. Teachers at Alexandra have every right to protect themselves since no one else seems to be doing it. Even the police appeared to side with Broomes and prevented the union from marching by exercising power that they do not have. Union marches, funerals and marches by the Barbados Regiment are exempted from the provisions of the Public Order Act. Put simply, the Police have no authority to prevent a union march. Teachers have opted to withdraw their labour as is their right under the provisions of the Trade Union Act. Some overzealous commentators have even called for the dismissal of the striking teachers. Would they like it if they were dismissed for standing up for their rights? They should be aware that they are calling on the authorities to commit a criminal act. Section 40A of the Trade Union Act states:
40A. An employer who –
(a) dismisses a workman or adversely affects the employment or alters the position of a workman to his prejudice because that workman –
(i) is or proposes to become an officer, delegate or member of a trade union,
(ii) being a member of a trade union which is seeking better labour conditions, is dissatisfied with his conditions.
(iii) has absented himself from work without leave after he has made an application for leave for the purpose of carrying out his duties or exercising his rights as an officer or delegate of a trade union and such leave has unreasonably been refused or withheld, or
(iv) takes part in trade union activities outside or, with the consent of the employer, within working hours: or
(b) threatens to dismiss a workman or to adversely affect the employment or alter the position of a workman to his prejudice –
(i) because that workman is or proposes to become an officer, delegate or member of a trade union or other combination which has applied to be registered as a trade union, or
(ii) with intent to dissuade or prevent that workman from becoming an officer, delegate or member of a trade union.
is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.
The normally docile teachers at Alexandra School have been extremely slow to anger but having reached that point. They are resolute in their stance and have determined, come what may, they are no longer working with Jeff Broomes. The lambs have roared.
The ball is now in the court of the Ministry of Education and the Personnel Administration Division. They have several options to bring closure to this mess, namely:
-
They can transfer all the teachers involved and send a new set to Alexandra to be demoralized;
-
They can transfer Broomes but since he is appointed as Principal of Alexandra, he would have to consent to any such transfer; or
-
Broomes could be retired from the Teaching Service in accordance with the provisions of section 8(1) of the Pensions Act where an officer can be retired, “on becoming unfit in the opinion of the Governor-General, for the discharge of the duties of his office, though not suffering from any particular illness or infirmity likely to be permanent…”
No more excuses, no more political interference in the Teaching Service. The children at Alexandra School deserve much better, and the teachers need some much deserved relief so that they can once again concentrate on teaching.

340 responses to “Alexandra School Impasse: A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration”
Actually ac, it is like asking the pastor to stop pestering the congregation and get an outside woman like every one else… but that analogy may be too complex for you…
@ ac
Again you on the BALL..
Not only a bully but a lotta lotta bullies.
That is why Barbados in trouble …when you have a man before on sick-leave, suddenly well enough to help out his lodge buddy ( not the school) … not well enough to be at work before…..
But now them( “nasty disgusting “) teachers……watch what they go be asked….wanna aint nabody…..wanna aint in na lodge…..PLEASE GO BACK TO WORK…..and we will …if we feel like….if we got the time in future… to attend to this most …DESPERATE SITUATION….not giving you any promises like the last time.(.promises does cause we trouble) … but you can count on ME….seeing that I will be here..AFTER general elections (now due in 10 mths)….you have my word… I WILL BE HERE ,I WILL BE HERE !….count on me..
Jeff tek he medicine….besides the moon gine down.. wanna SAFE man.
Blogger 2012
Ignore Franklyn, he has an agenda and one of the items is marketing his ailing new union, like many others in this fiasco, he’s looking for attention. Some of these adults should try and remember when they too were students, could they not think for themselves? are they now trying to say that our young people are dumb? I beg to differ, our young people are more open and are pre[ared to say what’s on their minds, we’re still in this centurytrying to muzzle our youth? It is because of this that many young people have lost faith in adults. The children at AX are intelligent children like many others throughout the island, Mr Lett owe an apology, whether he returns to that school or not, for the comments he made about some fifth form students, no wonder the same students admit there are some of these teacher who abuse them daily. This behavior is unheard of at AX, you offensive teachers are lowering the standard of that GREAT school; STOP IT NOW. Principals like the late Ms Lorry, Ms Ward, Ms Straughn, Ms Titus are all saddened at the level these teachers have degraded this BEACON IN THE NORTH. I personally believe C.P and AX should NEVER have been made co-ed schools. As far as we were concerned we were already co-ed at different locations; I remember the day we, C.P, boys< walked with the AX girls from Kensington Oval to AX after that school had won athletics sports for the first time. We were there to protect our "sisters" from any danger on that long road from B'town to S'town. Kudos to the LOVE that existed among those two GREAT school, sco-ed has caused all this to disappear.
ISN’T it clear that we are a confused lot either by choice or deceit ?
THAT union leaders can disagree on this issue , is this not a serious cause for concern
WHEN will we wake up and see that Barbados is in crisis. ?
@JUST ASKING
Nothing wrong with the unions disagreeing that they would do so in public is interesting. A play for members maybe? What say you Caswell? Was that you emblazoned on the frontpage today?
DO you people know that TEACHERS in Barbados curse students using the vilest abusive language with al the F-words and C-words they can muster ??
DO you realise that they got “some” indifferent bad behaved stinking nasty TEACHERS in this country -the things they tell students ??
IS it any wonder that some children are loud aggressive and bad -haved to a degree never witnessed before in this country??
DO you know that yuh cant tell these stinking teachers anything and if you attempt to discipline them that you are the worse thing in the world for these stinking bad-behaved nasty TEACHERS ???
Crisis….. Just Askin
Boss manwoman ..um did in crisis now since ..since
BUT we won’t go into that…IS D TEACHERS..IS D TEACHERS..ok
We don’t want tis NOw seeing the ballots boxes already gettin a face lift
AGREE ?
one ting @ a time
Come on Come come on, you really expect a group of disgruntled teachers, who ignored the offer to reyurn to the classrooms, who disadvantged thousands of our young people and their parents/guardians,who behaved worse that our wayward youth, to paid for their bad behavior? I tought better of you, you too seem to be losing it. Wheel and come again.
@Just Askin
“DO you people know that TEACHERS in Barbados curse students using the vilest abusive language with al the F-words and C-words they can muster ??”
FLEE WHY U DOAN CAH U LIES BACK U THE CROTH OF THE TROJAN HORSE….you climb down from
You ent shame….I dun know nah boby so stupid to believe you
But I will make the apology for you seein you are a F
TEACHERS ARE RESPECTABLE QUALIFIED PEOPLE..
I can’t say the same for a flee
@Scoutie
Who is agreeing to anything (bushie will not like this position)?
If there is a dispute both sides will put there issues on the table and the negotiation process will agree what are the common issues for resolution.
Mr.jones and the ministry not going to touch the teachers payment with a ten foot polethey know better than that.why add fuel to an alreday towering inferno after all Jones has indicated “it is time to get back to the teaching of our chidern ” and he knows that time has almost ran out and 2013 is right around the corner too voilitle and issue to have it running into the next election and for sure he doesn,t want to a casulty
Ms. Sweetie at 11:01 a.m. “Whatever Mr Broomes faults people the public for the most part saw nothing wrong with Mr Broomes making the comments”
Sometimes the public is stupid.
Didn’t the public vote in this government which doesn’ seem to know its head from its toenails?
ya see me….
I hope Mary reads this on her blackberry
PLAY D ELECTION CARD…… Don’t forget
2000 > 1 ….last time I did check.
@andom Thoughts | January 12, 2012 at 10:25 PM |
We have heard a lot of talk about the teacher who “refused” to teach. I know her. She is a good woman. ..Is it possible that when the teacher returned from her term’s leave she discovered that the principal had sought to permanently assign her tasks to one of her juniors, had carried out a “de facto demotion”. Is it possible that the teacher quite rightly refused to accept this demotion?”
so now it is that they are certain forms that are consider to be a demotion? are u and that teacher two jackasses? if ur boss choose for u to do something u do not like – complain in writing to relevant authorities or u leave. u DO NOT refuse. if u refuse then when ur pay check comes, u return ur salary to the Ministry of Education for in effect u are a thief, u have stolen from them, u have breached ur contract with them and u should be fired.
because u know her what? ur level of characterization is that of a retard
@smooth chocolate
Do you know what the teacher did?
…don’t you mean what she “did NOT did…” LOL
@ DAVID
What did the teacher do to deserve this DEMOTION ?
Secondly, a man wid a first degree ..demoting a Msc,?
Thirdly wait he think he is God?
Listen! ALL JOKES ASIDE.
Everyone KNOWS that teaching is probably the MOST noble of ALL professions. Everyone know of some OUTSTANDING teachers whose contributions are legendary…
…but we all know that MOST of those ‘teaching’ in our schools are only there because they cant get a real real job…. and this one is for 4 hours a day, 20 hours a week and 16 has weeks holiday a year.
How many teach because THAT is what they want to do..?
ASK ANY CHILD AT ANY SCHOOL and you will get the TRUE picture of teaching in Barbados of 2012… one thing about children – they have a habit of spilling the beans…
THEREFORE, Bushies problem is this:
HOW COME ONLY BROOMES in trouble? How come we don’t hear of more teachers being reprimanded?
Know why…?
Because the inmates running the asylum.
Foolishness is sense.
The horse is out the stable.
Wrong is right and strength is might.
…the dog done dead.
@Bushie
Remember earlier we had an exchange about if a component in a system can efficiently function if it has has design defect?
NO!
You know how many exchanges we have had? ….and Bushie is an old man….
Besides, this exchange was with you or the real real David…? LOL
Flee on wall @ MOE
Hear voice raising…..
(musse islggal gettin it from Scout)
@Keith Howard
I have seen people with honours and can not construct a proper sentence or develop an argrument. Dont mine me i left schhol early.
@smooth chocolate
no public officer should refuse to carry out a legitimate instruction, thats insubordiantion and grounds for discipline. If you believe that you should not do it, you put in writing that you are doing it under protest.
@bushie
WHA kinda Dog talk you talkin bout d dog done dead…
Ya lost me dere…???
I have been following the discussions and have been researching the grievance handling procedures, for you information these are procedures that the NUPW have been using for years and the Public Service Act 2007 speaks to the procedures. The union and the govt has long accepted that the complaints be in writing and if for example, david accuse me of something, i must be given a copy of the complaint and a deadline for my response. Thereafter an investigation must be undertaken, based on the nature of the compalint a coommitte is established to deal with the matter. The chairman of the committe must be at a higher level of those complained about. This committe can summoned witnesses and a report on the findings is submitted and action can be taken based on the recommendation. But remember it must be procedural correct esle it findings can be challenged on that ground. Its decisison can alos be challenged.
I said all of that to let you know, that frost, bwu and franlyn went to BSTU defense because she had made an ass of herself by asking for the removal of the principal before any investigation was complete.
Further, i dont know if you are aware that you should not start off the negotiation by saying dont touch our money as franklyn is saying, they have not worked and should not be paid, however in the interest of compromise a decision can be reached not to deduct for those days.
David have you observed that franlyn continues to run away from questions i asked him.
@Scout
Caswell knows that i am not so dumpsy hence he sidesteps the issue with redman and the grievance handling procedures. i will forgive david.
Mary Redman was alreadywarned thatthe money of the disgruntled teachers who stay off the job will be docked, her reply was the BSTU has enough money in a strike fund to pay the teachers. When she in her arrogance can make such a statement, she would be a dog to go to a negotiating table and demand full salary, but then she’s always been very irrational, she would do with a strong man to put her in her place.
So the teachers salary cannot be docked because general elections are due in 10 mths, are you suggesting that Mr Jones also has to give in to the BSTU for the same reason? Don’t you think there are more disgruntled parents/guardians, relatives of students and even some of the very students, like those from the BCC and SJPP, who are entitled to vote, and far outnumber the disgruntled teachers? Mr Jones also knows this.
ask caswell to respond to the process of grievannce handling procedures which a long estblished process in ir relations until they were codified
I was wonwering why the BUT was so silent but then it dawned on me that maybe Karen would like to support the BSTU but then she remembered both Broomes and Jones were past presidents of the said union, so she didn’t want to go against them. She’s right to sit on the paling and only crow when the coast is clear.
Look I hope all ya realise that if this escalate to the point that Trottie BWU did call out the whole labour force
Jeffrey… sorry Uncle JeFF….you gone THRU THE CHUTE..cuz Trottie ent nah sweet bred
Now Scout doan talk shite,,
SIT ON PALIN ?…….Karen ass is grass now buddy..she exposed…if that executive got sense…. them gine get ridda she>>>>>> (BOP again)
WE dun know she contact you to do damage control in hay..
but you cud go bck an tell she …she um is a done deal
Blogger 2012
What you’re saying is so correct, that’s why I said Sir Roy is either losing it or fighting a battle with the NUPW. CTUSAB through it’s Gen Sect Mr De Pieza had indicated his organisation was not going to take sides. I was therefore surprise when Sir Roy came out and sided with BSTU, I thought he was doing this ONLY as the head of the BWU, then I heard him mentioned the involvement of CTUSAB, this went against what CTUSAB’s GEN SECT had said; Sir Roy as GEN SECT would do be happy if any of his union executives went against him, ask Bobby Morris. Secondly Sir Roy is known to be very rude and could bevery arrogant 9for want of a better word) as a negotiator, is this the type of person needed for a settlement between two parties, knowing he has already stated he is supporting one of the parties. Sir Roy your slip is showing, until now, I has GREAT respect for you, now I’m having second thoughts. Maybe it’s time for you to throw in the towel and allow a more rational thinking person handle the job
@Blogger2012
The point you have not accepted is that the BSTU bypassed the procedure by citing ‘may’ because of the poor IR climate which has existed at Alexandra over the years.
@Scout
Iam aware what he did to bobby, who is a distant family. I was surprised he entered the fray, but then again he could not allow mary to continue to make an ass of the union. It was to save face.
all mary Redman got to do is keep here eye on the ball and remeber she is representing all employees having abusive issues with their bosses..Mary should not allowed the man wearing the iron mask that being minister Jones into believing he has the schools best interest at heart.just a word of caution for the record let jones know that BSTU does too.
You should stay away from this one, ask any body from the NUPW and they would educate u on this, Caswell sdvised the woman not to repeat it and look like an ass. I forgive you again on this one.
@Blogger2012
Is the word ‘may’ to be found?
Was it Patrick Frost who confirmed this to be the case?
I go wait and see ….so far Mary has all my respect..doan mind these
When Mary comes out the meeting today..we will know where we stand on issues….just because some people don’t belong to the boy’s club…I don’t feel they should b treated this way…in the meantime
ROLL ON MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS!!
Karen>>>look fa holes
The unions and govt have agreed on these procedures for the handling of disputes and when the public service act was being developed grievance handling procdeures which used for donkey years have been enshinred in law.
The NUPW is the authority on this, bot fly by night persons. I will not move from this point. Wait caswell gone dumb
Island
where u is today yah gone shopping
@Scout
“Sir Roy your slip is showing”
– It showed as far back as 1993-94
“I was wondering why the BUT was so silent”
– Because it is difficult to lay out and justify a case (with documented evidence) that warrants what is being called for.
@Blogger re. grievance hadnling
The BSTU has stated that they are not following the procedures as laid out. They have chosen the option of “alternative dispute resoution” which is their right and in their opinion includes withdrawal of labour until an ultimatum is met.
@Random Thoughts
“Sometimes the public is stupid”
interesting statement from someone who’s part of the public.
“both sides will put there issues on the table and the negotiation process will agree what are the common issues for resolution.”
There is no common ground as far as the BSTU is concerned. Separation, that’s it.
@Observing
You would agree that it is a standard negotiating ploy to argue an extreme position so that if you land agreement which is close you still win?
@Blogger
says:
“Grievance handling procerures are the corner stone of industrial relations. Therefore, even if you have a good case and you do not follow them you cannot win a case.”
I think its time you understand the meaning of “MAY.”.(google to the rescue).
This is the second time I hear you with this…….
I think you are purposely trying to misinform ….ac just told you again.
Come on man.
Last NITE, I WIN Lotto , now …..
I AM GOING to invest in a book as promised
Called DEADLOCK
starring
JeFF……..D.man wid FRIEND IN HIGH PLACES
Mary…….D.tenacious pit bull..(hold on gurl)
Patrick…..D listener……(thread carefully on SATURDAY) *
Teachers of AX..D ABOUT TO B SHAFTED
Walter…..D On SICKLEAVER
Caswell….D CRIER IN THE WILDERNESS..wanna listen nah
MOE…….D BODY SHIFTERS.
BUT……..D opportunist SB..(responding on Monday. stupess.???)
Media……D mek moe money AND MOE MONEYERS
Sir L…….D General wid the KEY
Students…D pawns who got 2 weeks to catchup
Parents….D should of keep outs
PTA……….D need leadership
BU…………D facilitator
SUMA_We…Dplants to misinform.( Trojan Horses incld.).Scout,Blg2012
RESA_WE…D Trying to be informed
I leff out anybody ?…
“Jeff broomes must be separated or we aren’t going back to work”
Please tell me what “agreement” would come “close” to this that could (almost) satisfy all the involved parties?
And, food for thought to all bloggers. Suppose jeff is separated and the union “wins” as some put it….how in God’s name will these teachers relate to or teach students who (in the students minds) they “abandoned” and who clearly support (for the most part) like the principal that was forced or pushed out for reasons that they don’t or can’t understand yet? As I said earlier, this is bigger than unionism, regulations and labour relations. Again, two wrongs can never make a right, especially when children are involved.
@ac | January 14, 2012 at 2:45 PM |
all mary Redman got to do is keep here eye on the ball and remeber she is representing all employees having abusive issues with their bosses.”
anyone employee with a modicum of common sense know that that is not the best way when dealing with abusive issues with their bosses. there is a mature and sensible way. and if these same employees refused the orders of their same bosses, they would get their walking papers.
Yeah. keith yuh left out BUSH TEA de horses A……S……S
@all re Grievance
The acts says that:
“(2) An officer or employee referred to in subsection (1) may , in place of the procedure specified in subsection (1), seek the process of alternative dispute resolution.”
Further:
(b) “alternative dispute resolution” includes conciliation,
mediation or any other method of dispute resolution.
the BSTU in a statement has said that
“There is thus absolutely no compulsion in law upon the Union to follow the grievance handling procedure to which you refer.”
In essence, the BSTU has opted for “alternative dispute resolution, which is defined above rather than treat the speech day comments or any other issue as a grievance requiring a specific process. I’ll ask a question I asked earlier that has yet to be responded to.
Is the withdrawal of labour until an specific and demanded ultimatum is met considered dispute resolution? Either by tradition, definition or practice?
@Observer
When I went school …I could not care less if a teacher live or dead..while in the system…things hardly have changed with teacherstudent relations at school today.
YOU like the parents….sought to use the poor children like PRAWNS in this issue…not nice not nice
JEFF Broomes got to Go..!
next time…next time I reprint….notice certain people finding place on the star’s list ? After the meeting..we gine update
To Scout
It is not a rumour. The teacher whom Broomes lied on (I know for a fact it was a lie) is not only the wife of the acting Deputy Chief Education Officer (Planning Research and Development, a position which requires little if any contact with school supervision), but she is also Broomes’ cousin. So if you feel she is being protected by a relative, how do you explain another relative who is her boss harassing her. Why don’t you talk about the fact that Broomes applied for the same position and didn’t get it and since then has made the woman’s life hell?? Stop talking out of your noses and only speak what you actually know.
Food for thought. If the AX teachers are so lazy, badbehaved and menopausal, why are the parents clamouring for them to come back? The parents are hypocrites. They want their sugar and they don’t care how many slaves suffer under a tyrannical slave master as long as their babies are taught
Another thought. Schools routinely function with short staff – primary and secondary – and the children are taught. If 40% of Broome’s staff are so committed that they are not striking how come the children are not being taught? How does Broomes find time to be driving all over Barbados during teaching time when teachers are on strike. If he loved the children so much and he was such a boss teacher he should be teaching them rather than talking about his robot grandchild who can read at three years and perhaps will fly to Mars at 30 years old. Egotistical jackass indeed!!!