Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

There is no act of treachery or meanness of which a political party is not capable; for in politics there is no honour – Benjamin Disraeli

Recent election results in St. Lucia and Jamaica suggest the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has been naughty.  The ‘gift’ to the DLP this Yuletide Season has been ‘The Letter‘.

Chatter on the underground suggest Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will issue a statement perhaps as early as this weekend. The expectation by many political pundits is  that one or more in the camp will have to pay for the widely discussed treachery exposed by the NATION newspaper. The flipside is the parallel chatter that key players have been placed on election watch in the event Prime Minister Stuart calls a ‘snap’ election. If the St. Lucia result forced a few government MPs to seek audience with the Prime Minister – Sinckler admitted to the treachery in the NATION’s Big Interview – how  will the Jamaica result have exacerbated the concerns for those  on the government bench.

Some believe Prime Minister Stuart has taken too long to act but it should be  obvious he is not the type to react in the midst of the Christmas  season. Stuart is known to be a devout Christian and would not have  contemplated interrupting a significant Christian festival by responding  to what some believe to be political chicanery in his camp.

The disquiet in the DLP camp caused by concern at Prime Minister Stuart’s leadership style has effectively ruled out an early call to arms or has it? This matter was brought to a head by a poll allegedly undertaken by pollster Peter Wickham which was not complimentary of Stuart’s leadership of the government. Here is that name again Peter Wickham!

The wind of change which blew in 2008 and swept the Thompson led DLP to power has changed  direction – made more blustery by interacting with protracted harsh global economic conditions. Logical thought makes it absolutely certain that Stuart’s options have become limited about when  he can call elections. He will need all the time which is constitutionally due to band-aid the ills of his party, unless he does a Sandie.

Prime Minister Stuart, entrusted to perform a caretaker role during the period the  late PM Thompson was sick would be acutely aware of what he has in common with former Prime Ministers of St. Lucia  and Jamaica. He should also be sensitive to a view that his unflappable and laidback style does not mesh with a majority of public perception  who have bought into the rambunctious political style practiced by Errol Barrow, Tom  Adams, Owen Arthur. The speed with which the late Bree St. John  and Erskine Sandiford – who had comparable easy going styles – were transported into the realm of political oblivion should also be top of Stuart’s mind. Despite his repertoire of philosophical knowledge, the colloquial  adage rings true, Prime Stuart finds himself between ‘a rock  and a hard place’.

It is obvious PM Stuart has to respond to the suffocating perception that there is  disorder in his camp, he must respond. The only reason he wouldn’t is  if he intends to execute a ‘Sandie’ and force all hands to negotiate  a burning deck by letting the public decide. BU believes this is not the stuff that PM  Stuart is made off. As a keen student of history, win lose or draw come the  next general election, he would want history to record that he made decisions to stand the  test of stern scrutiny.

The irony is that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart may have brought this  brouhaha upon himself by not discerning the grey clouds which have  been gathering under his watch for some time now. Perhaps it best explains  why some in the camp travelled the route of the letter.

254 responses to “Stuart Is The King, Who Are The Pawns?”

1. Come on Sargeant. If a cheque was given to Owen. Do’t you think a cheque was also given to David. Stop the blaming game and let’s deal deal with the state of the economy. 2003 done and gone let’s deal with 2012.

2. Sargeant,

The same person who dug up the old cheque and gave it to the dead king should show the public the ones made out to Families First. Would that not have been fair? But fairness and the DLP are not compatible. As DT was the owner/creator of Families First, is it not the same difference that CLICO cheques to him were in that account name? Stop splitting your political hairs.

Yes, I know that if government so desired and had the money, it could have compulsorily acquired BNB, but do you think he would have risk the political fall out with T&T?

3. @Prodigal Son

You have so much information why not state who are the signatories on Families First Account? It is difficult to imagine David Thompson being the sole signatory.

4. The trump card in all this is Mariano Browne the past CEO of CCB. Maybe, he might come out of the woodwork and state the amount DT received.

5. or the current balance of the account 🙂

6. @Bajan Truth/Prodigal Son

Nowhere in that list of accomplishments that the BLP left do I see any mention of a bloated Public Service which in words of EW Barrow is like asbestos (fireproof). In these hard times the country is still stuck with paying this bill for these extra hires. The Service Commision spent many a day altering the requirements for positions so the favoured son could qualify for some of these posts which came with gratuity and all the perks. I suspect that some of the noise emanating on these pages are the “consultants” who want to bubble in the trough once again.

No wonder the unemployment rate was low, it wasn’t private industry creating jobs it was the Gov’t with their make work projects (dig a hole there and fill it the next day). An Industrial climate that at every hang nail the workers threw down their tools and the mighty OSA steps in to save the day. I shall chip in with more as the need arises.

This too is part of their legacy.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

From my experience and knowledge of the local political scene, I can assure you that campaign contributions ar not made by cheque. Contributions are paid in cash in big brown envelopes. Any time someone makes a campaign contribution by cheque, his motive would be to have evidence to use against the payee. Only inexperience, greed or arrogance or any combination of those three would cause someone to take a cheque for a campaign contribution.

8. @Prodigal Son

But fairness and the DLP are not compatible
    To paraphrase Allen Iverson, You talking about “Fairness”? We talking about “Fairness”? “Fairness”? Ask the man who was denied permission to develop his land only to see it sold at a fire sale price and then resold by the purchaser at premium price with all the approval from the TCP in place.

Yeah ask him about “Fairness”

9. II worked with a company previously who paid an equal amount to both political parties using a cheque. So Caswell, the only time a company will pay by cash is to hide transparency. That’s why I am saying the cheque to Owen was a deliberate set-up by CLICO/DT/DEMS to discredit him. But again, the DEMS could still have won the elections without such devious tactics since Bajans don’t give a Government four terms.

10. Prodigal…I in need of some cheques I betta run fuh office nuh? I ent too pleased wid Owen eider, BUT When he get in I gine keep my foot pon de gas and brakes when he get outta hand too. Dese Politicos are a bunch of highwaymen putting it mildly.

11. “That is why the people at Coverley now have to resort to having their own finance company because the houses are not selling and people cannot qualify for the loans at the commercial banks. I spoke to a loans officer and he said that his organisation is not giving loans for Coverley because they do not think that the houses are worth the money!”

Prodigal…I think that project is better suited to a senior citizen village. No new home owner wants to live like a pack of sardines in a can and costing that amount of money. Dem really feel black people foolish.

12. Tell Me Why

That’s why I am saying the cheque to Owen was a deliberate set-up by CLICO/DT/DEMS to discredit him.
    What set up? The cheque was issued in 2003, so the Dems knew that they were going to lose the May 2003 Election and put the wheels in motion to discredit Arthur five years later. Don’t mek muh laugh.

Your score for logic: Nought

13. “What set up? The cheque was issued in 2003, so the Dems knew that they were going to lose the May 2003 Election and put the wheels in motion to discredit Arthur five years later. Don’t mek muh laugh.”
    you should laugh because as i have been told by some in the know, that was the plan. DT could not lead the party into that election and lost. if he did, he would of been done as leader of the party. So, came the set up. ask yourself this, did DT do anything in that election to help Mascoll?

***************************************************************************************

“I think that project is better suited to a senior citizen village.”

would it surprise you to know that his was the plan for this project all along? what if i told you Coverley will soon be, if it has not started, marketed to North American? nobody here ain’t buying them, and they are so many… i wonder what the tourist who travel the highway on those coaches are told about “this lovely place to the right…”

14. @ Sargeant
    “Don’t try to place me in any Party”
    I see no need to try.

15. islandgal246 | January 2, 2012 at 3:03 PM |

“Prodigal…I in need of some cheques I betta run fuh office nuh … ” All women dese days got to do is go out in the street an’ raise their skirts hear …? Dah shouldn’t be too difficult

16. With the exception of Caswell (Chairman designate of the coming National Supervisory Committee), others on the blog seem to be resigned to the situation where politicians are routinely bribed by those with money and hence, rather than be committed to truth and justice, have to be beholden to their masters and benefactors.

Well Well Well!!!

Indeed one blogger ask the question “what do we expect them to do…..?”
    …How about OBEY THE LAWS!!!!

Amazingly, we also have no problem with politicians taking such monies and using it for their own personal purposes – and doing so without any transparency or accountability….. since everyone does it!! (not blaming Miller for this..LOL)

Lord have mercy!!!!

Then we lament the fact that these SAME politicians fail to enforce the law – for example with CLICO.

BUT HOW COULD THEY?

The CLICO bosses did the SAME exact thing as our political bosses do – they took money meant for the organization and put it into their own accounts…creatively of course…..so no wonder none of the politicians want to deal with the Parris issue…

How can our justice system dispense justice when it is FORCED to overlook laws like the one Caswell quotes with respect to campaign funds?

The whole situation speaks more about US as a people than it does about our politicians…even Islandgal now looking to ‘run fuh office’ so that she can collect some bribes …. sorry -cheques.

We have lost our way…..
    …and we will pay!!

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | January 2, 2012 at 2:45 PM |
    “Nowhere in that list of accomplishments that the BLP left do I see any mention of a bloated Public Service which in words of EW Barrow is like asbestos (fireproof). In these hard times the country is still stuck with paying this bill for these extra hires.”

If you want to discredit Bajan Truth & Prodigal Son then tell us what was the numerical size of the public sector workforce at the end of the previous administration’s term in office at what it is now. Then Sarge, we will listen to you and obey your instructions.

“No wonder the unemployment rate was low, it wasn’t private industry creating jobs it was the Gov’t with their make work projects (dig a hole there and fill it the next day).”

Hi Sarge, but more men and women on the payroll now and the roads are collapsing and the rubbish, “weed” and bush breeding mosquitoes and rats like ‘flies’. People just turn up to sign on to get a paycheque since there are no materials to work with or proper supervision to ensure efficient execution. When the Dems can get the beneficiaries of the works projects to remove the debris after weeding within a 48 hour period we would salute them!

Lets talk about 2012 and not 2007, Sarge!

18. Sargeant

Usual crap again from you. Is it that you have an aversion to facts or you just cannot accept the evidence of your eyes that the DLP are a sorry excuse for a govt and a party. Bloated civil service, you want to see bloated check the hundreds employed at NHC, NCC, hospital, school meals, mtw, BWA. The workers even Dems workers complaining that the new hires doing nothing, have no work to do because there is no money for materials, and got attitude. Ms McClean went on air claiming that no new staff hired on civl service but never check the thousands in the temporary register, tried to charge BLP as the one who bloated the civil service! Well if that 3b did not spend on salaries what the $$#%# the money went into transfers for because it certainly was not for projects.If you want to chip in more to inform the public with facts – list the Ministries and numbers of people hired for BLP and DLP period Perhaps you might get some respect then. Then tell us what 3b was spent on that was transferred to statutory corporations, explain why gov’t budget is always 500m over revenue and not for capital projects. By the way patients still buying toiletries for hospital, and AE still ain no better, NHC has no doors, windows or blocks to do work with.

19. @ millertheanunnaki
    Pay Sargeant no mind.
    The DLP ‘restructured’ UDC and the permanent staff numbers have increased to 50, so much so that the Director recently announced that the offices are moving due to lack of space.

20. @ Bush Tea
    ” …We have lost our way ..”

What “way” Bro … We start out as a Slave based economy .. The independence phenomenon get hand tah we on a platter … West Minister and Service are still the mantra of the opinion makers and Lawyers, Doctors and Undertakers are still the best paid operators …

What way you talkin’ ’bout Bro

21. @ Miller etc

Lets talk about 2012 and not 2007, Sarge!

I was just about to announce that intense discussions of Bajan politics was not my forte and I was going to take a sabbatical (just when I thought I was out they pulled me in again Michael Corleone The Godfather)

With reference to the phrase lifted from your submission, isn’t that what you are doing hoping for a pre 2007 OSA as the saviour? You should know that you can’t drive forward with you’re your eyes firmly fixed on the rear view mirror or a ditch or wall will welcome you. It just hit me why you and some others are so fixated with OSA you think it is short for Osagyefo (let Wikipedia be your friend).
    Here is another quote from the Godfather: “It is dangerous to be an honest man”, I should send that to Freundel

22. ” All women dese days got to do is go out in the street an’ raise their skirts hear …? Dah shouldn’t be too difficult”

What way you talkin’ ’bout Bro????…….Recession hitting Bush Hill so I ent gine get nuh where. LOLLL

23. BLP and DLP supporters arguing about a bloated civil service.

Lord help us.

24. It is January and Fruendel still aint saying “nuttin”. I thought Fruendel said that very soon a new Governor General would be announced. My understanding is that he chose a retired DLP judge and something came up to make him (FS) change his mind and now they are looking at a retired academic. Now even choosing a GG they cannot get right. Oh my lord!

Re the hospital, things are so bad there that a few days they ran out of guaze, patients’ families were asked to bring their own. What is the taxpayer paying the “bandit chaser”, a director and a minister for? Pray tell me!

Fruendel, dont change your mind now about the choice of GG since the name is out there in the public, cause you know once somebody gets wind of what you are doing, you change your mind.

25. David,

It is very true that this government took on thousands of their supporters and there is no work for them to do in some areas. It is true as someone said earlier that there is no material with which to work. The appointed officers will tell you that.

Maxine McClean was spinning when she “bold facedly” told David Ellis one day that they have not increased the public worker force since coming to office. Blame the BLP, I guess!

26. on the subject of “Fruendel still aint saying “nuttin”, did the PM give a Christmas or New Years speech? i don’t reall hearing or seeing anything.

27. Sargeant. Can you state how if the DEMS campaign funds were paid by cash or cheques? Let’s reach a sensible conclusion and get on with job of governing.

28. @Prodigal Son

It is true both parties pad the civil service and this DLP government is no different.

BU remains disappointed that PM Stuart has not discern that the country is looking, pleading even for leadership from his office.

29. @Enuff

Pay Sargeant no mind
    Wouldn’t you like that! Ignoring me doesn’t diminish the truth of what I wrote, what of the agricultural land that was rezoned? Is that “an inconvenient truth”?

@TMW Can you state how if the DEMS campaign funds were paid by cash or cheques?
    A good lawyer never ask a question to which he doesn’t have the answer, if you know the answer please enlighten me and the others who are interested.

Despite what Enuff thinks I am not a member of any Party and I think I can say with absolute certainty that I will not be joining any political party

30. “The whole situation speaks more about US as a people than it does about our politicians…even Islandgal now looking to ‘run fuh office’ so that she can collect some bribes …. sorry -cheques.”

Bushy tea…..Wellll…..eff yuh cahn beat em join em I say….Stupse We are the ones to blame because we keep electing the same thiefing people again and again. When will we get some real honest men and women to put country first?

31. @ Sargeant
    What is your opinion on Coverley, Rihanna concert, Eager 11 gate, SMI, Lagan, Four Seasons, CLICO, $10m bonus contract prepared, signed and witnessed by a PM who pretended that it did not exists?

32. When will we get some real honest men and women to put country first?
    ………………………………………………………………………..
    Islandgal246. Howdy and happy New year. Well yuh see. David change evah ting to “Familiies First” and he start wid he family Lo! Nuh body ain’t care bout nuh country comin first, we building nuf houses and gettni we draw backs, givin’ way nuf houses, lettin’ yuh travel free all bout de place. So wha mo wannah lookin’ for. I hope it ain’t de campaign funds that we gettin. BUT WHO IS WE…. we is de people dat wunna give we ah “X”. Next time give we an “O”

33. David

is looking for leadership from people who have never ever led an institution of any type (other than that which people are “obligated” to patronize) to being a success. Please let me remind you that a politician is merely an opportunist, one with a very very BIG ego, and no real track record.

34. In terms of the public service we know that sandi brought it down to 21,000 or so in 1991 and it was around 28,000 when owen left office.

Mascoll has been the one claiming a bloated publci service without provining any evidence, or being asked to do so.

Maybe Miller can bring some stats as he seems to have astrong opinion.

35. Waaaait …wha happen tah de Myrie Case? A little bird told me dat she came an ID de officer dat fingered her and de officer pon leave. Not a word from de Ministry of Foreign affairs nuh! Ah hear she suing too.

36. COVERLEY – CORRUPTION OR WHAT? Went for a drive with my son, to the airport. Swung into Coverley to take a look. The saddest mess -is it a sub prime mortgage problem about to unfold. Question – the project is two years or more the avenues pitch black, light in only 30 houses, what happens if these properties are not sold. How long before the bank forecloses? With the company being forced to offer mortgages, yet sales still moving slowly the original loan would be at risk for which taxpayer’s land is the security, when will the bank foreclose? Was this supposed to alleviate housing shortages for lower income people but ended up being midddle income who want more for their dollar? Does anybody know if it is true the gov’t guaranteed the interest payment too, given the length of time the project has been underperforming, it must be pretty high? The bank that lent that money must be sweating because that project is in the toilet by now, not easy to dispose of that property.

What would prompt a govenrment to enter such an iniquitous arrangement, and risk the taxpayer’s money with little in return for the taxpayer neither economic, monetary nor social benefits? This is one of the darkest blots on DLP performance.

37. BAJAN TRUTH | January 2, 2012 at 8:33 PM |

” …What would prompt a govenrment to enter such an iniquitous arrangement …”

That should read What would prompt “members of an unregistered political party” to enter such an iniquitous arrangement … I believe the answer should now be a little more clear …!

38. @Enuff

I don’t know enough to answer your questions but if you can present some facts not speculation I’ll gladly venture my opinion.

Now may I ask you some questions? Why did the last PM not release the FBI report that was promised? Did that report meet a shredder somewhere? Why did the Gov’t build Barracks’s Folly on thin air? Who profited from that decision? Who is still likely to profit in the event of the expected big pay day?

39. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting True to Form “Funds will come from sources to run individual and party campaigns and there is an unwritten rule and understanding that money will be spent, Should candidates who spend more than the allotted money be barrred from Parliament? ”

Yes.

However the amount per constituent needs to be raised from the unrealistic $10, to maybe to $20 or $25. I bet the amount has not been raised in years, as somehow our politicians are too busy or too lazy to review the Act.

And yes all campaign donors should be publicly identified. All voters are publicly identified by name.address/gender/National Identification Number, so why are we permittiing the donors to hide?

I plan to donate to both parties this year (and maybe to the PDC as well) Since the parties can spend $10 courting my vote I plan to send each party a $10 cheque.

40. @ BAJAN TRUTH

I suspect that the Coverley problem is a massive black hole which when completely revealed will scare the living crap out of the tax paying public.

Prior to 2008 (January 15th) the senior manager at Preconco and Caribbean Homes, the beneficial developers of the Villages at Coverley, Mark Maloney owned a property on Durants golf course. By all accounts it was quite a modest property and was under renovation which was the subject of litigation regarding alleged breach of restrictive covenent(s).

Then sometime in 2010 or 2011, in the middle of the worst recession in 50 years and one driven by crashes in the financial, construction and real estate markets, Mr. Maloney seems to have bought Easy Hall plantation, the former home of Mr. Sandy Lewis in St. Joseph.

Easy Hall was at one point in time being advertised for sale for close to or upwards of US$10 million dollars. I don’t know if or what it sold for but it is a fine problem and must have cost millions to whoever bought it.

41. Listen : The best thing for Freundel Stuart to do is -RESIGN
    St. Lucia =one term government
    Jamaica =one term government
    Barbados=

The word on the ground -in the street and wherever else has been, for quite some time now, that ” we aint voting for this DLP Government again”
    People have decided a while ago that this Government is the worst Government in the history of Barbados.
    That they made a mistake in voting for this DLP government.
    Listen :These are realities and all the foolish talk being put down on this blog aint changing the people’s mind.
    The people who will make the difference dont care nothing about what is said here on this blog: They dont even read anything written here. People want results and the conclusion is clear that the DLP has not delivered.
    Freundel may or may not be the man to lead the party but whatever the case, the DLP is doomed.

42. Hear, hear, Porter!!! You are spot on. The people have made up their minds maybe even before the death of the “king”.

43. Interesting article in the context of those wanting to have a dispassionate debate.

Singapore Q4 economy contracts 4.9 percent (AP)  SINGAPORE — Singapore’s economy contracted in the fourth quarter as manufacturing plunged amid a slowdown in global trade, the government said Tuesday.
    Gross domestic product shrank 4.9 percent in the October to December period from the previous quarter, the second contraction in three quarters, the Trade and Industry Ministry said in a statement.
    Manufacturing, led by electronics and pharmaceuticals, slumped 22 percent from the previous quarter while construction fell 6.7 percent, the ministry said.
    Singapore expects the growth of its economy — which relies on manufacturing, finance and tourism — to slow to as little as 1 percent this year as a faltering global economy undermines demand for the city-state’s exports. The economy grew 4.8 percent last year, down from a 15 percent expansion in 2010.

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505245_162-57351041/singapore-q4-economy-contracts-4.9-percent/

44. Random Thoughts

Why are you going to put money behind an institution that is not a registered institution of any type. Wha dese people ain gotta disclose nuttin’ irrespective of “Section 52 of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 12 of the Laws of Barbados”, they do not legally exist for all intents and purposes. You CANNOT sue them as an entity. Keep your money and your vote until better arrives (like an independent)

Prodigal Son and Porter

Wunna could afford to finance a poll. Why not publish the official results. Who was your polster? Pussies, maybe David should consider a standard of acceptance before he publishes nincompoop comments

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP

You could at least say thank you for the for the reference to section 52. Would it hurt you to say thanks to me? In any event you are welcome.

46. Thanks man …

47. For the record was there to be a New Year’s message or was that a figment of our imagination? It would be a stretch to call it a New Years message if one came now. We have been told all that we know . A message that all is well and men are pulling their weight and there was no plot only concerns and these concerns will be met more aggressively in the near future. carry on smartly .No need to panic all is forgiven Think on these things

48. Listen : Dog Face-(BAFBFPup)
    Haul yuh st***** a********

49. Who advised Sinckler to go to Miami before Christmas on the notion that the PM cannot fire or reshuffle a mininster once he is out of the island?

Since Sinckler has been overseas (many say without Cabinet approval) who has the acting Minister of Finance?

50. David
    Maybe I missed Prime Minister Stuart’s new year message, please give us the main items of interest that was made.