Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

There is no act of treachery or meanness of which a political party is not capable; for in politics there is no honour – Benjamin Disraeli

Recent election results in St. Lucia and Jamaica suggest the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has been naughty.  The ‘gift’ to the DLP this Yuletide Season has been ‘The Letter‘.

Chatter on the underground suggest Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will issue a statement perhaps as early as this weekend. The expectation by many political pundits is  that one or more in the camp will have to pay for the widely discussed treachery exposed by the NATION newspaper. The flipside is the parallel chatter that key players have been placed on election watch in the event Prime Minister Stuart calls a ‘snap’ election. If the St. Lucia result forced a few government MPs to seek audience with the Prime Minister – Sinckler admitted to the treachery in the NATION’s Big Interview – how  will the Jamaica result have exacerbated the concerns for those  on the government bench.

Some believe Prime Minister Stuart has taken too long to act but it should be  obvious he is not the type to react in the midst of the Christmas  season. Stuart is known to be a devout Christian and would not have  contemplated interrupting a significant Christian festival by responding  to what some believe to be political chicanery in his camp.

The disquiet in the DLP camp caused by concern at Prime Minister Stuart’s leadership style has effectively ruled out an early call to arms or has it? This matter was brought to a head by a poll allegedly undertaken by pollster Peter Wickham which was not complimentary of Stuart’s leadership of the government. Here is that name again Peter Wickham!

The wind of change which blew in 2008 and swept the Thompson led DLP to power has changed  direction – made more blustery by interacting with protracted harsh global economic conditions. Logical thought makes it absolutely certain that Stuart’s options have become limited about when  he can call elections. He will need all the time which is constitutionally due to band-aid the ills of his party, unless he does a Sandie.

Prime Minister Stuart, entrusted to perform a caretaker role during the period the  late PM Thompson was sick would be acutely aware of what he has in common with former Prime Ministers of St. Lucia  and Jamaica. He should also be sensitive to a view that his unflappable and laidback style does not mesh with a majority of public perception  who have bought into the rambunctious political style practiced by Errol Barrow, Tom  Adams, Owen Arthur. The speed with which the late Bree St. John  and Erskine Sandiford – who had comparable easy going styles – were transported into the realm of political oblivion should also be top of Stuart’s mind. Despite his repertoire of philosophical knowledge, the colloquial  adage rings true, Prime Stuart finds himself between ‘a rock  and a hard place’.

It is obvious PM Stuart has to respond to the suffocating perception that there is  disorder in his camp, he must respond. The only reason he wouldn’t is  if he intends to execute a ‘Sandie’ and force all hands to negotiate  a burning deck by letting the public decide. BU believes this is not the stuff that PM  Stuart is made off. As a keen student of history, win lose or draw come the  next general election, he would want history to record that he made decisions to stand the  test of stern scrutiny.

The irony is that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart may have brought this  brouhaha upon himself by not discerning the grey clouds which have  been gathering under his watch for some time now. Perhaps it best explains  why some in the camp travelled the route of the letter.

254 responses to “Stuart Is The King, Who Are The Pawns?”

1. @Bush Tea

You are a man with ear close to the ground and you know there is some chicanery at play here,

Let us see how Stuart deals with it.

It is clear if you put the Big Interview under the scope that there is a lot that was inferred..

2. Reading Dr. Neville Duncan’s take on Barbados politics in Nation today was as refeshing as the crisp December breezes its a shame BLP lapdogs George Belle ,CIA informer Peter Wickham, Saint lucian Joseph dont follow his example. Duncan with no axe to grind gives a well thought out interpration on political developments at home and abroad. I read his comments all the way thru a real change from the predictable junk served up by Sanka Price, Brand ford and George belle. Nation editor how about rehiring Duncan as a columnist in 2012 fire Sanka and Joseph give their money to Duncan.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Homeopathic | December 31, 2011 at 5:30 AM |
    “Low and behold the company cannot raise the funding for the project, either the short term or long term funding and actually had the audacity to ask borrow $5 million form the BTI. What a crock of shite and non-sense.
    I hope the new Minister of Finance, Dr. David Estwick deals with this matter immediately upon assuming the new portfolio of finance”

Are you surprised? This was a clear case of trying to swindle taxpayers of over $40 million without a commensurate return of infrastructural value to the country. DB saw an opportunity to get rich quick while the going was good given his “quisling” nature. FS should have jettisoned the dubious character long time but if it takes the pit bull to bite the leg of a crook forcing him to jump ship as in the case of the executive chairman of the Wa(l)ter(‘s) board then by all means let him loose to attack with gun and all.

4. @Random

Very good, now you should apply that same approach to the whole interview and add the variables – why a meeting by a specific date and the possible journey by some to the GG.

Also why did Sinckler feel he had to give an interview in the first place?

5. @Random

Very good, now you should apply that same approach to the whole interview and add the variables – why a meeting by a specific date and the possible journey by some to the GG.

Also why did Sinckler feel he had to give an interview in the first place?

6. I note that the PM has never married and I ask myself why? Is it because that he could never decide and so has remained a bachelor by default? And marriage is the most ordinary, ordinary rite of passage. Most adults manage to do it sometime between the age of 20 and 40. And yes our PM a man of perfectly ordinary middling education/means/class etc. Has not managed to achieve this most ordinary of ordinary rites?
    Why?

7. Of whom they speak?

Stand-in serves up surprise

BUSINESSPEOPLE WHO ATTENDED a recent meeting are singing the praises of a politico who stood in for their leader and did a commendable job.
    It seems the leader was not able to make the gathering and asked this individual to substitute. The person agreed, and gave a presentation that knocked the socks off of those who heard it.
    Some, we were told, were astounded not so much at the quality of the presentation, as they know the person has a good intellect. What had them amazed was the fact that the individual repeatedly praised their leader and showed solidarity with the team.
    Knowing that this individual and the leader have been involved in some sparring, they never expected this.
    It was to the group a clear indication that a great combination was lining up to come again.

8. Sorry Fireworks, you got it all wrong! Duncan is sitting on the fence. He is ready to retire and wants to go out without offending anyone. His commentary is very disappointing. He is operating like a doctor that would recommend aspirin for every ailment. As for Peter his response on the Jamaican election is not as fulsome as usual. Wonder why?

9. The plan was to remove PM Stuart from being leader of the party. The meeting was only the beginning, and persons who come on BU and pretend that it was just about having a dialogue with the PM are being disingenuous or simply stupid.
    You are trying to convince me that back benchers such as Hamilton Lashley, Mara Thompson and James Paul were concerned BUT other sitting MPs who are also members of the Cabinet–Dr.Suckoo, Sealy, Lowe, and Kellman–were absent from the discussions. What about the Senators that are Cabinet members, why only MPs?

10. @enuff

What is the significance of the number 11?

11. @Random Thoughts

Now you have admitted acing comprehension, give this next extract from the Big Interview a go:

I think for the benefit of the public and on the newspaper’s behalf, I should explain that after receiving the draft, we were assured by some of the architects – whose names we have agreed not to mention at this stage – that the final copy had been dispatched to the Prime Minister, which is what we reported last Sunday.

SINCKLER: Well, that might have been a piece of unfortunate and despicable mischief because that was not true; but you know people have a way of doing these things for their own benefit or for whom they feel it may be of benefit. However, you can’t blame a newspaper if a letter appears before you such as this and it is published.

The ironic thing is that if you give a careful read of the unfinished draft, which you published, it affixes no blame to anyone; it issues no ultimatum to anyone; and it does not impugn anybody’s character. It simply requests a meeting.

The letter was drafted and sent to me personally.

I looked at it and passed it on to one or two other people. I didn’t have an issue with it because fundamentally I didn’t see it as a crime. I didn’t see it as committing any act of heresy, because the language of the draft was very clear.

It said to discuss our leadership; so therefore it was not an issue of the Prime Minister and his leadership per say. It was the leadership of everybody, both in the party and Government context.

But by sequence that was Friday evening. Saturday morning early some of us had our (constituency) Christmas parties and we went off doing our stuff, and therefore the letter was not distributed to other members of the parliamentary group who may have been interested in having that meeting.

By late Saturday evening, around eight, nine o’clock, the Prime Minister had sent word to Minister Boyce that he was going to meet with a representative group and I believe that meeting took place on the Sunday.

So therefore by that time there was no need then for a letter because the meeting had taken place and our certain confidence was that those people who attended would have been able to inform us of what transpired.

12. Exactly David!! But as one columnist recently wrote they clearly did not realise that a majority of Parliament and not the Parliamentary Group was required to remove the PM.

13. @Bush Tea
    Do these people realize that this is a time when ALL OF US must observe some kind of truce and devise a plan of national survival?

Couldn’t have said it better myself.

re: “The letter”
    While the letter on its own doesn’t speak of treachery, the vociferous rebuttals by some, shaky responses by others, absolute silence by three in particular and a disingenuous almost deceitful interview by the MoF with the same salacious unapologetic editor speaks extreme volumes.

No leader in the world has many options right now. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Where action and results are impossible or difficult to materialise..clear communication, apparent empathy, compromise, understanding, integrity and visible progress in the national interest (even if small) will reassure and possibly save the day. Sadly we are not seeing this enough and definitely not collectively in any one or two persons or even parties.

14. @enuff – 10:26
    I too am curious. The plot thickens perhaps? Or should that be has thawed out?

15. The Prime Minister has indicated that his demeanour is his own and thus what former Prime Ministers were he certainly is not. What the Prime Minister does not understand is that he is not serving himself and certainly did not elect himself. He should therefore take stock that what the people desire is a leader who is visible and in touched with the realities of the people. The PM therefore should seek to take himself and his personality out of the picture and seek to ensure that those realities and what the people like about a Prime Minister are appeased as much as possible.

In most places were people discuss the current state of politics, the discussion seems to centre mostly on political corruption, the PM’s reticence and the hardships currently endured as a result of the economic conditions They attribute blame to what they consider to be – a not so prudent DLP administration. Regardless of the mentionoed global economic downturns, Barbadians are merciless in their discourses to purport that their suffering is being compounded by a ruthless merchant class in cohoots with key government officials who are doing nothing to stave the wave of high prices hurting everyone. With that in mind, the DLP should be very much in tune, now more than ever, to the say of the people; for its the people’s say that will determine if they will retain the government for another term or be kicked out only after one term.

It would be in the best interest of the Prime Minister to show himself as a leader for the people since his leadership style is in disrepute. However if he seeks to change his sully image now, the impression given would be one where on the eve of a pending election PM Stuart’s change in political behaviour is meant solely to solicit votes and that votes is the only reason for a change from his assumed laid back nature. It will be interesting in the next months to witness what the Stuart led administration will do to change public perception and scepticism

I am behoove therefore to say to you my Prime Minister that you would do well to listen to the pulse of the people. For what ever principles or moral stand guiding you to believe that you are not doing anything wrong as a Prime Minister, public opnion seems to suggest that you are. Self examination is the order of the day. Engage for the sake of yourself and your party.

16. @ Observing
    Was it Mia or Sinckler? lol

17. Bush tea wrote “Do these people realize that this is a time when ALL OF US must observe some kind of truce and devise a plan of national survival?

….the boat sinking and instead of bailing water, sailors fighting each other based on the color of their shirts…”

The sailors are fighting because party politics is a profit centre for some of them.

They refuse to accept that Barbados is in trouble primarily because the rest of the Capitalist world is in trouble.

Bushie I am sure your survival plan is in place because a bush man can survive by growing his own food and bartering with my fisherman friends.

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

I don’t get this concept that the role of PM is all powerful. Power is intrinsically linked with action – the right action. The longer Fumble continues to say and / or do nothing, the worse things will get for him.
    As the most likely successor, it’s interesting to look at what might happen to Chris Sinckler, accepting that the “letter” approach seems to have failed.
    1. He can stick with his current support for FS and he stays in post. Most likely result – DLP lose the election and FS is kicked out as leader. CS steps in.
    2. He gets sacked as Finance Minister. Result – he takes to the back benches; takes up a critical but helpful position. Again FS loses the election and CS steps in.
    In other words, if the DLP is likely to lose the election, it seems to be in Chris Sinckler’s best interests not to help Fumble.

19. @St. George’s Dragon

At last some semblance of understanding of the Kingmaker’s strategy.

20. NOw how the Hell is Stinkliar goin’ to be Prime Minister of Barbados at any time … what a load of rubbish!

21. I ain’ know how come dey still got Bushmen when all ah de women dese days shavin’ …

22. @BAFBFP

When Thompson waived that ‘IMF letter’ in Queens Park so many years ago did it stop him from going to Bay Street?

23. David

I do NOT respect the views of the simple (pun most definitely intended) majority …!

24. People in Barbados like people in Jamaica have a penchant fah Red people leading them. Look who Bruce Golding chose to replace he … I glad he get he ass cut, but my God, look who beat he, Mother twit herself …! My GOd, help Jamaica hear …!

25. Let me take this opportunity to wish all of the i’grant people pun dis blog (only the i’grant wuns, I don’ speak to the res’) all the very best fah the New Year and remember, if you are homo, bi- or heter- its okay, its fine, go for it … violence destroys, but clean sex cures!

26. Of interest…

Elite Island Resorts acquires all-inclusive resort in St. Lucia
    Thursday, 29 December 2011 10:41

DEERFIELD BEACH, FL — Elite Island Resorts, a collection of beachfront resorts in the Caribbean, including Antigua, Grenada, Tortola and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, has acquired the former Almond Morgan Bay.

St. Lucia, now renamed Morgan Bay Beach Resort, St. Lucia.

“The purchase of Morgan Bay presented a unique opportunity for us to expand our destinations and was the obvious next step for our ever-growing collection,” said Elite Island Resorts President Steven Heydt.

Morgan Bay Beach Resort is set amid 25 acres of hillside gardens tucked into a private cove on the northern coast of St. Lucia. The all-inclusive, beachfront resort features 345 guestrooms and suites, offering ocean and tropical garden views. The well-appointed accommodations span a variety of categories, including one-bedroom suites and family suites.

For information on Morgan Bay Beach Resort, visit http://www.morganbayresort.com or call 1-800-345-0356.

http://www.travelweek.ca/news/1-latest-news/1484-elite-island-resorts-acquires-all-inclusive-resort-in-st-lucia

27. “….the boat sinking and instead of bailing water, sailors fighting each other based on the color of their shirts…”

Let us hope that it is only because of the colour of their shirts they are fighting. Reminds me of crabs in a barrel syndrome.

“The sailors are fighting because party politics is a profit centre for some of them.”

Hants it is people like you who swear to support one party and one party only till yuh dead whether that party is doing wrong. If people like you cannot change or criticize their own party you have a real BIG problem on your hands. It is this mindset that hinders progress on this piece of rock.

WANTED SOME GOOD MEN AND WOMEN WITH BALLS AND GUMPTION TO LEAD!

28. BAFBPF;

You asked “How wunna is get the letters to appear in Bold or italics?”

If you wanted to get the following paragraph to appear as bold or as Italics
    “PM Stuart will not make a decision. The decision will be made for him”
    You type the following with no spaces except in the text within the italics, use B for bold:

The less than character B the greater than character”PM Stuart will not make a decision. The decision will be made for him”the less than character the forward slash character B the greater than character.

Use I for italics
    again no spaces except in the text within the italics;

The less than character I the greater than character”PM Stuart will not make a decision. The decision will be made for him”the less than character the forward slash character I the greater than character.

The less than, greater than and forward slash characters are html non printing characters. If I type them out in this post they will not show but could corrupt the post.

It should come out like the text below unless i made a mistake.

29. BAFBPF;
    The less than character is under and slightly to the right of the K on a querty keyboard. The greater than character is under and slightly to the right of the L. The forward slash character shares a key with the ? question mark character.

I’m trying this to see if it shows. Sometimes it does not with some implementations of html code. If it does it will be easier to understand.

(“text here”) Where you could replace L with B or I or b or i

30. Sorry BAFBPF. The code did’nt show. But use the longhand explantions above and they should work.

31. islandgal246 go and indulge in self stimulated gratification.

People like me will criticize my party privately. It is politically destructive to join the likes of you to criticize for entertainment.

My position has been consistent. The worldwide recession is still a problem for Barbados and there are no easy solutions.

I will support the DLP until I die or they cease to exist. That does not mean I support everything they do but that is between me an DEM.

Apologies to David if I have breached BU protocol.

32. “Checkit You is a f*cking genius”

Thnx Bro

33. Tell me Hants, if you is a “Bushman” you can’ deal wid islandchick hear …! The girl is a modern day expressive

34. As Newt Gingrich said on the campaign trail today, the US economy is one fourth of the world’s economy. Does anything believe global economies will experience significant growth as long as the US economy remains in the tank? This question has significant implications for small import led economies like Barbados.

35. @BAFBFP
    I am a “bushman’ but having lived in Canada all these years I have had to adapt to “landing strips” and “clearings” when flying into the Canadian wilderness.

36. so David, base on that, does this mean we are to do nothing as a country and a government to move Barbados forward?

37. David the american economy is still flatlining with no robust recovery in sight.

In the meanwhile Brazil and other South American countries are developing robust economic growth.

We need our BU economics gurus to enlighten us as to the implications for the future of the rest of the world including Utopia (uh mean Barbados).

38. @David (not BU)

Has the government been doing nothing?

Say you don’t agree with their strategy but nobody predicted the global economy would tank to the extent it has. Brazil and many S American countries are export flavoured economies, even Guyana which some like to use has benefited from is export led economy.

The irony is that in the Arthur boom years we failed to retool our economy yet we expect this government with little wriggle room to work miracles in less than 5 years. Senator Sandiford-Garner asked Barbadians recently what are we prepared to personally sacrifice i.e what we can do for our country in these harsh economic times. Pass by a LIME or Digicel shop what do you see? Drive through any village or Terrace and what do you see parked at the front? Go to the GAIA at 7AM and what do you see.

We need to get real and to borrow John Williams’s line this is business unusual.

39. Hants

Ha ha ha … Wha’ Canadian wilderness you talking ’bout… Dey ain’ got beavers out dey too, along with all manner ah wild cats … and rabbits?

40. BU why is the AG so quiet?

41. @ millertheanunnaki

You telling me that are people in the Country, who are Barbadians and claim to love Barbados and yet would attempt to swindle $40 million dollars of taxpayers money without giving the country anything more than some drawings? I wonder if them going to get the $5 million dollars they ask to borrow, you think they will?

The chairman, deputy chairman and the rest of the board of the BTI and the senior management of the BTI should resign or should be FIRED. I don’t think big people can be this silly.

42. Homeopathic
    “The chairman, deputy chairman and the rest of the board of the BTI and the senior management of the BTI should resign or should be FIRED.”

I have never, never witnessed a more incompetent batch of nincompoops … Exhibit A: the BTI carpark ..!

43. Hants | December 31, 2011 at 4:31 PM |

The answer for Ba’bados is simple … PRODUCE ..! This upsets all of the advice givers ’bout hey because they cling to the service based idea till death. THERE ARE KILLIN” WE …! Sandra Husbands I ain’ votin’ fah yah …!

44. I am still waiting to hear if it was Mia or Sinckler referred to in today’s Flyin’ Fish.

45. ” It has been rumoured that one of the grouses of the “Eager 11″ was serious paucity of campaign finances”

The campaign money is tied up in “Families First”. If the will has not been probated, hence the DLP’s dilemma.

The AG is quiet because he does not know what FS will do. He could go, he was the worst AG in living memory. Scout said that the worst governments were FS’, Bree and then Sandi. I beg to differ, FS and Sandi are rivals for the worst title.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | December 31, 2011 at 6:23 PM |
    “The campaign money is tied up in “Families First”. If the will has not been probated, hence the DLP’s dilemma.”

Now here is an excellent opportunity for the dlp to show how they care about the suffering growing old people. Return the money tied up in the ‘families first’ account to its original source: the various Pensions Funds taken out with CLICO in “good faith”.

47. BAFBFP “The answer for Ba’bados is simple … PRODUCE”

Great idea but lets hear some ideas about what we can produce that is marketable and sustainable.

We need to train people to CONCEPTUALIZE and DESIGN.
    How about scholarships to study Industrial design ?

48. I read what Professor Neville Duncan said today and can only conclude that he is losing it. Did he not say after the St Lucia elections not to read anything into it also? There are striking similarities amongst the two losers which are that they both lack personal appeal ( I hate the word charisma), they both assumed the PM position and that things are bad in their countries.

Seeing all of the above is true in Barbados’ case, why cant people come to the same conclusion? the DEMS can talk all they want about OSA, under his leadership, there was an air of confidence and as a DEM friend of mine said to me, “admittedly, we have to change my party, under the Bees, I had money in my pocket, now I cant keep a cent in my pocket and things are bad for everybody.”

If the St Lucia election results had the Dems shaking in their boots so much they resorted to plotting against their PM, I wonder what they are doing now???

The fact remains that there is no confidence being manifested by the government to give people any hope that they are in control and that they know what they are doing. They all look incompetent. They all look as if they are still learning on the job. In the meanwhile, their supporters are fighting publicly as the feed at the trough is getting scare and being parceled out to those more favoured.

And they tell us; give the Dems another chance, to do what” burn down” Barbados????

49. @Hants

It all comes back to the discussion we have all the time i.e recalibrating our education system. less lawyers, management grads, sociologists etc and more from engineering and technical vocations. Only this week we read of another study targeting the education system.

50. If people could only see the future, then again, people don’t want to see the future. Tryanny in about the third comment above showed us the future. A future in which our Prime Minister Mr. Stuart will be history, and another one-term government ends in the Caribbean. it doesn’t matter what people, especially Barbadians, who are mostly afraid to speak the truth tell you, they feel safe and secure when they speak with that X.