Tony Marshall, Chairman of the NIS Board was summoned by the Prime Minister last week to Government headquarters

The taxpayers of Barbados have risen from their slumber this morning to the report that the NIS Board – headed by retired banker and talk show host Tony Marshall –  has been ‘briefed’ on the Four Seasons project by the Cabinet of Barbados and ‘ordered’ to relook its imminent investment decision. The Four Seasons project stalled when capital markets went soft as a result of the global financial crisis. The decision to work with Professor Avinash Persaud to revitalize the project was steeped with optimism given his reputed international connections. However after many promises that the project would have restarted the government is now seen as the creditor as last resort.

It is evident from commentary on BU and on the ground that Barbadians are very weary of using social security funds to bail the Four Seasons project. The 101 reasoning by many is if the project is as viable as Minister Chris Sinckler and the IDB believe then why is it so difficult to acquire private sector investment?  It was not very long ago in response to an actuarial study the NIS adjusted its pension eligibility as a result of the state of the NIS scheme vis a vis our ageing population. Barbadians have become very sensitive of late about how decisions are being taken about at the NIS. By the way has the CBC repaid that one million dollar loan yet? Did any heads roll as a result of the cockup with mailing old age pension cheques?

Related Links:

The composition of the NIS Board is meant to convey that it should be independent in its decision making. The reality however is that the board is appointed by the minister responsible, in this case Minister Ether Byer-Suckoo, who has been unacceptably silent on NIS matters when contrasted with Ministers Sinckler and Kellman. When all is said and done Minister Sinckler has veto powers over the Board decision in this instance. The decision to summons the NIS Board to Bay Street last week to pressure them to rule favourably on a request from Persaud for 50 million NIS investment must be seen as a ploy to avoid Sinckler having to overrule the Board. It would be seen as a very unpopular decision at this time, a fact not lost on politicians who occupy marginal seats in parliament with a general election looming.

More worrying to Barbadians is the fact that our most important fund has lacked transparency over the years by not producing timely audited financial statements. This is an inefficiency which has existed under both governments and is generally accepted as endemic to the public service. Hopefully the CLICO Affair which is still spouting its mess across the Caribbean will sensitize all concerned to the importance of transparency in how we do business and the need for a robust governance system. The failed implementation of the FOIA by government and the lack of advocacy by the Opposition Party should say to Barbadians that the political directorship is happy with the status quo. Such a position reflects on us the people of Barbados who the government and the leader of the Opposition are required to serve.

The decision to summons the NIS Board to Bay Street must be seen as an intimidatory act. There is a process established for the NIS Board to make decisions. If there was a need for the Marshall led board to clarify issues contained in the proposal from Persaud then he should have been summons to the NIS board room. The act by government has set a dangerous precedent and the eagerness with which the NIS board reported to Bay Street should concern Barbadians taxpayers. The only action which should have been taken by them would have been to make their letters of resignation available to Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo. Then again why should we expect such in a system where to be a member of the NIS Board adds to the status of the individuals in a society which places a lot of credence on such things.

The NIS Fund should not be used as a bailout fund by the ‘naughty’ professor to quote the Chairman of the NIS. The reason why the high paying consultant was contracted in the first place was for him to exhaust his expertise and international network to resuscitate the Four Seasons project. To date he has failed to so and therefore his non performance should come under the microscope. The explanation by Minister Kellman that a restarted Four Seasons will employ people and their NIS contributions  justifies the restart rises to the peak of stupidity. .

1. WHY is it that this DLP government cannot get it right ??
    WHAT do they want to achive with that stupid age proposal ??
    WHATS wrong with these people though?
    WHEN is elections again?
    WHAT is Sandiford doing in China
    WHY is Freundel Stuart still Prime Minister and not Chris Sinckler ???

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Miller the “Third Eye” warned BU members about the jokey hot air spewing forth from the “firery”marshall aka Deputy Dawgg. Loads of pompous arrogant talk on talk show from the feisty man with the haughty laugh but lacking any kind of backbone in the bay street conference room.
    Man, the monthly stipend paid to the person in the chair is not worth the diminution in your national reputation. You know very well (given your professional background) that this project is no longer attractive given the “restructured” int’l economic climate. Investing in villas in the Caribbean is no longer an attractive investment option with generous tax avoidance features. If the local money barons would not touch it even with exceedingly generous tax breaks and incentives) why NIS?
    Resign forthwith and keep your dignity in tact! We will respect you for that!

3. I’M IN AGREEMENT WITH YOU!! however……

In the end the NIS will do what Sinckler and the professor wants! The money will be put into this bottomless pit! There is no such thing as TRANSPARENCY in Barbados.

The professor will become richer, Sinckler and the other politicians will get their pieces of the pie under the table and the NIS leaders will get a few crumbs for joining the party!!

So who will be the losers…..the PEOPLE…..they’re always the loser!

….and the Government will put on quite a show, everyone will look like a winner…..just borrow a few more millions/billions to cover their asses….if Greece, Italy, Spain, the USA and others can do it…..why not Barbados!

We will all be owned by the Chinese anyway…..

4. The ‘APOLITICAL’ Dr. Justin Robinson also answered the summons?

5. David when former PM Arthur broke his silence on NIS Four Seasons he agreed with getting the funds out of the NIS he didnt agree with the cabinet meeting the NIS board. Its time you address Arthur’s comment.

6. Sounds familiar?

Gita Sakal, who took a beating in the courtroom last week on her rich pay deal with failed conglomerate CL Financial, has made a US$7.7 million (TT$ 49.2 million) contractual entitlement claim against her former employer.
    The former corporate secretary, who had an annual pay deal of US$2,480,000 in 2008 plus benefits of company car, health plan, a monthly retainer of TT$40,000 from insurance subsidiary CLICO and a US$5,000 a month board fee, has filed a claim against CL Financial for contractual benefits owed to her totaling US$7,743,650.12.
    However, people with knowledge of the situation told the Sunday Express that Sakal has made a claim for the remainder of her contract which expires on December 31 this year.
    The former corporate secretary, who admitted in testimony to drawing up her own contract, has made the US$7.7 million claim on a built-in protection clause contained in the five-year contract which provides for the payment of full termination benefits, excluding all taxes.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GITA_WANTS__49m_MORE-134189028.html#idc-container

7. If the project is so important not to allow to fail ,and if nis invest in it would it not generate employment, nis deductions and payee and woulnt the project has a resale value, this amt would not what was wasted ongem. govt should ensure that nis is the first secured creditor.

Look go ahhead and take the risk, but fire that indian guy cant spell he name.

8. The IDB report ‘Market and Operations Study of the Four Seasons Barbados Hotel Project’ mentions that “it ‘believes’ that given the strength of the Four Seasons brand in North America, the subject will derive a higher percentage of its guests from that market than Barbados as a whole.”

Is that it?

9. I think now is the time to picket the PM office on Bay St. with placards with above headline of this post.

10. A promise is apromise is a Promise. That’s the dilemna the government finds itself in. The question is this a LOAN or an investment! The pressure from the government leaves me highly suspicious that the government has not being straightforward with the public. THe moral of the story is “Don’t make promises that you can;t keep especiallly if you don;t know the end result or if you can deliver NOw the government has to deliver or else it would been seen as not being capable of delivering its promises to .potential Investors . Wuhloss!

11. But hasn’t four season Bahamas closed because of poor performance & occupancy rates? and they are a whole lot closer to the states than us ?

12. I wonder if the ‘surplus funds’ at NIS are lower than they are letting on. Normally the Govt just goes and takes the money to build Govt buildings etc., with no hope of returning the monies owed to NIS and there’s no fuss. This time there is so much fuss, hence my theory.

Businesses that NIS may have invested in maybe making a reduced profit compared to earlier times, hence a lower return on shares. Many people are out of work hence reduced NIS contributions, plus more funds going out in benefit. So the financial outlook for NIS cannot be as bright as before, hence the need for caution.

Yes in theory if the 4 Seasons is complete there should be more jobs but if the country and it’s people fall into a state of despair in the meantime, crime increases etc. Those with the money will be boycotting Barbados PDQ.

Bajans have contributed a lot of money to the NIS scheme and should be entitled to their say on the matter and need to speak out now before its too late.

Someone had said to me that they could never understand why Bajans did not protest when it was decided that on retirement they had to wait 6 months for their pension. As they rightly said L&P or Water Authority will not wait 6 months to be paid, so why should a pensioner?

You say Bajans are waking up??????

13. Quoting ac “NOw the government has to deliver or else it would been seen as not being capable of delivering its promises to .potential Investors . Wuhloss!”

But ac when I started to pay into NIS in 1971 the government told me that I could retire at 65; the government broke that promise to me (because the had to?) and now I am required to work until 67. So if the government broke its promise to me I see no reason why they can’t break their promise to NIS, Four Seasons and the Professor Persaud (wait if he is a professor how come he is not teaching anybody’s youth?) .

Promises are made to be broken.

Some might even say tht promises are made to be broken.

And if as anthony says Four Seasons Bahamas has closed; and if as is well know hotel occupancy in Barbados does not approach anywhere 100% why are the authorities planning to pour OUR pension money into this bottomless black hole?

14. Can anyone accurately tell us exactly what NIS lost (or is not recoverable)
    in the Hotels and Resorts Ltd (GEMS) ‘investment’ ?

15. Interesting to note that former NIS person Gregory Hinkson carried a full-page on the merits of a young fund like the NIS investing in opportunities like Four Seasons. Interesting indeed!

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Adrian Loveridge | November 20, 2011 at 11:07 AM |

Now you see the reason for the non-availability of the NIS recent financial reports & accounts. Manpower or technical resources is not the cause of the delay. Barbados has a “dime a dozen” accountants readily available to clear up any backlog or clean up the book-keeping mess.
    Don’t listen to misleading statements coming from those who have a vested interest in keeping things “hush-hush”! Accrued interest on government securities might appear attractive to the layman in the calculation of the millions as ROI but is the actual cash being received from the government for reinvestment?

GEMS and other non-performing investment write-offs would make the fund look rather shaky enough to make the 4 Seasons very hard to justify.

17. @ Adrian Loveridge
    That is why people are so skeptical about the NIS investing in Four Seasons.

As I have said on numerous occasions, the government talks before it thinks then finds itself cornered. Who asked the government to invest money prior to announcing they will save Four Seasons? Who asked government to repay all investments in CLICO?
    By the way, whither Pickering?

18. What also for me makes it more concerning is that I would presume that Avnish Persaud already looked at breaking down contributions i.e. 1 million from one person, 2 million from another etc. and offering investment opportunities to the money people in Barbados, e.g. Simpson, Williams, Seales etc. or have they already had their fingers burned?? If you can’t get 1 person to invest 1 million why should the public of Barbados risk $50 million or more of their NIS money in this project? Surely the monies should be invested in what could be described as a ‘safer operation’.

Plus have all the contractors that had worked on the project been paid in full?

As I have said in a previous blog if your financial books are not up to date how do you really know how much ‘surplus’ money you have to play with??

The Govt may be looking at saving face but at what cost to the public of Barbados.

2nd thoughts on the potential jobs being made available on the 4 Seasons when it is complete. How many people employed will be from Barbados and how many people will be brought in under the guise that ‘no suitable applicant’ was found in Barbados and the position filled by someone from overseas??

If the Govt is head strong and goes against the advice of the experts and invest $50 million, there should be some proviso that a certain % of the people employed must be from Barbados.

19. Updated to the blog after posting.
    Related Links:

Peter Boos email in response to Gregory Hinkson’s full page in todays Nation newspaper (20/11/2011)
    Peter Boos’ article released on 13/10/2011 to give context to the discussion on NIS pending decision to invest in the Four Seasons project
    ISSISSA Study Group on the Investment of Social Security Funds – Guidelines for the investment of social security funds

20. In response to Gregory Hinkson’s article in the Nation newspaper today, BU ask the following:

Is Gregory Hinkson a PAID advisor/consutlatnt to Paradise Beach Limited (the Four Seasons project) if so the ethical thing to do would have been to declare his interest.

Is it a fact that he was appointed a Commissioner to the Fair Trade Commission by the government?

If the above is true then he has a financial interest in the Four Seasons project which should be made known publicly.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 20, 2011 at 12:45 PM |

One wonders if Bajans realise the depth of corruption hindering this country from further economic development. This crap is so endemic in the body politic as to make the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) smile as in a word of encouragement to match them in the dirty dealings!
    These are what one can describe in Bajan parlance as “bold faced high class white collar “thiefs” and crooks”!
    I am urged to present my earlier but not stated views on this cadre of educated crooked Bajans. The controlled media go to great length to highlight and expose blue collar criminals (shoplifting, copper stealing, crop and animal stealing) but avoid like the plague this whole parasitic economic millstone holding back Barbados. We can’t afford this luxury of reward for unproductive prostitution of Medicean proportions!

“There is a layer of black, inappropriately educated frauds who can never get rich or acquire great material trappings by dint of hard work or business acumen or risk. They have come to convince themselves that having certain paper qualifications generated by the commercial mills of modern post graduate educational factories is the passport to lucrative consultancy contracts without having to justify the large fees for the submission of airy fairy unworkable recommendations bound up in bogus out-of-date reports. Some even see Politics as a profession befitting a white collar criminal through which the old dream story of rags to wishes fame can be fulfilled. You can make your way up the social and economic ladders by landing a political pick where contracts can be awarded with the built-in kickbacks in cost overruns with secure BOLTS to avoid transparency and naked exposure.
    Look at the fats boys running the show. No cross fertilization from the business sector. No real representatives of the people and interest groups. Just a bunch of 2×3 academics; some posing as professionals primarily from that camp which has the ability to lie and manipulate the truth as its major entry requirement. In 3 years time many of them would become “overnight millionaires with offshore bank accounts” but on a public servant salary. But all will be revealed because these materialistic covetous, “mine bigger than yours” idiots can’t help but flaunt they ill gotten gains and pleasures from raping taxpayers.”

22. @millertheanunnaki
    We love optics rather than substance.

23. @miller

Both parties through the years have been taking the people for granted. In these harsh economic times, an unbridled social media among other factors the people are beginning to wake up. Was it George Lamming who spoke of a media induced recolonization of Barbadians? We have to stay alert. Reform to governance systems is required.

24. @ David

But we suppose to be 97% literate! lmao

25. The mere fact that the four seasons owners, private individuals and companies, have come to the NIS, obviously as a lender of last resort, gives the answer you all seek.

As a private project, there should be no need to come to NIS as a lender of last resort, if it were lucative,

Secondly, if indeed the Board, supposedly an independent Board, is being pressured to act in political interests, as a collective it should maintain its stance, or resign if the pressure is deemed undue.

While from an economic viewpoint the Government and country urgently needs a couple of large projects to start, this should not come at the expense of current and future pension funds.

Tell me, if I plan to build a small hotel tomorrow, can I too come to the NIS Board?

Please let me know, if these funds are to become freely available, it would be nice to know.

26. enuff | November 20, 2011 at 2:38 PM | @ David

But we suppose to be 97% literate! lmao

—————–

Exactl, the other 3% is something we do not have i.e. ‘street smarts’.

Those things that make one wary of people bringing ‘gifts’ or their version of wisdom.

27. I support the Gov’t on making the NIS invest in the Four Seasons project. Once that Indian professor is in charge, we can’t lose! Those Indians know about business and we need to learn from them. I also believe that Gov’t should pursue that most visionary project articulated by the late PM i.e the airport in St.Lucy. Didn’t that critical thinker and economist Mr Kellman endorse this idea? The Gov’t should proceed with utmost haste on the Pierhead Redevelopment project and the cruse ship terminal. These projects must be awarded to SMI ltd headed by Mr Bannister. His track record established in building the Dodds prison has caught the attention of the DLP as far back as when they were in opposition. The Gov’t has a moral duty to loan/grant CLICO all the money necessary to bring that beacon of Black entrepreneurship out of the trouble it is in. That good, articulate and decent man Mr Parris must not be subject to public criticism particularly after his assistance in helping us to get the Gov’t we deserve. Finally the Gov’t should give the project to redevelop Empire Theatre to Jada construction (which, so I am told, is 45% owned by the estate of the late PM and by a Ms Mottley). This would show that the DLP led Gov’t is not greedy but willing to spread the wealth around. With such a bold plan of action I am sure that our position on the human development index will continue the upward motion shown in recent years i.e from 37 in 2009 to 47 in 2011. With continued effort we can reach at least 100 by 2015.

28. It seems this DLP government is doing everything they criticized the former government of doing, i.e The BOLT agreement, now the Four Seasons Project. Is this the same party that criticized GEMS, and still using it as canvassing material against the BLP?

29. Ping Pong
    You forgot the Bds$ 8 million genral hospital, if you are building, why not build ONE TIME, we got a lot of NIS money knocking around, and nuff rich people living in Barbados. You have to give some work to the Chinese too or Sandie might get deported

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

It’s rather strange that except for poor Boosy, the boys and girls with the money are not commenting on this 4 Seasons profitable investment. There is a saying that money tends to follow money.
    We want to hear the movers and shakers of the economy of Barbados come out from under their parasitic “duppy” parasol and appreciate that this country is at a very serious crossroad!
    COW we want to hear you! Cattle rustling is wrong so is living in a fool’s Paradise with no private beach! The Ram goat or McDonald farm chicken in the East can compensate for the setting sun on the ex-monkey town.
    Simpson the car agency man! God is love but helping yourself is paramount to survival. Invest here and a casino will allow you to look the other way!
    Owners of the various Trinidadian buying and selling investments in Bim! Banking in this country without working people is futile resistance. C&W and BL&P reinvest some of the profits to prepare 4 a new G season of new Light technologies. In other words, invest in 4 seasons in order to get people back to work to buy your goods and services, and to earn foreign exchange in order finance your dividend commitments to shareholders and management fees cream off.

31. Scout

How could I forget the new hospital? That $800 million is easy to find especially after we sell off our shares in BNB (which is going to be renamed ” Republic Bank of Trinidad in Barbados” anyway) and the philanthropic grants of our West Coast friends who I hear can’t make up their minds whether to invest in Four seasons, the new hospital or the St.Lucy airport..

32. Now that we have this new found wealth should we pay Barrack his 70 mill? Stay tuned minister Sinckler as he did Clico has promised to have this matter resolved shortly.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Ping Pong | November 20, 2011 at 2:46 PM |
    “With such a bold plan of action I am sure that our position on the human development index will continue the upward motion shown in recent years i.e from 37 in 2009 to 47 in 2011. With continued effort we can reach at least 100 by 2015.”

I wonder how many Bajans know that Barbados was No. 20 in the World just behind Israel at No. 19 in the HDI rating in the 1991-92 period!
    We were the number one developing country!

Keep up your contributions! I like your “tongue-in-cheek” style worthy of a person of high letters!

34. Millertheetc.

How can you be so short sighted? Don’t you want Simon Cowel and the like residing in B’dos and putting us on the map? Look at the big picture man! You know what… with the experience of CLICO under their belt, BARP should have no problem “investing” in Four Seasons. It isn’t like the members got long to live anyway so if it doesn’t work out it’s not like they will suffer long.

35. @ Crusoe

“Secondly, if indeed the Board, supposedly an independent Board,…”
    ———————————————
    First Chairman, Jepter Ince now Senator, Parliamentary Secretary and DLP candidate for St. George. Succeeded by Sandra Forde, now General Manager of Transport Board; and Tony Marshall a known Dem is now at the helm.
    Independent where? Neither politically nor of the Minister/Cabinet.

36. What does Marshall and Ince have in common besides being Chairmen of the NIS?

37. St. George North interests and /or CLICO? lol

38. What is the fall out when our NIS is invested in the Four Seasons Hotel ?
    The overseas people no longer want to invest in a project which started as a very attractive project. Tell me can we go warily in the project and ask for an on going report so that Bajans would feel secure when our money is invested in this project. I am incline to take the risks so that this project would not be a white elephant . We need the economy to be jumpstarted and this money can go a long way. Think on these things

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | November 20, 2011 at 3:35 PM |
    They are both bullshit artists who have had close ties with LP & CLICO.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ true to form | November 20, 2011 at 3:45 PM |
    So why can’t the local money people step up to the plate? Is not this what free enterprise and capitalism is all about? NIS can make a 10-15% partnership confidence investment along with the granting of incentives (duty-free concessions, VAT exemption on certain inputs etc).
    But It should be a private sector driven enterprise but facilitated by the government flexible approach to the process.
    Anything wrong with that?

41. The nervousness and the pressure which the government has put on NIS to deliver the funds tells me that overall a sign commitment was made to four seasons invest in the project and four seasons is demanding the government makes good on its promise .I believe that Four Seasons started the project with that in mind however during the process the economy spirals out of control . the government is now left holding the bag and four season is standing firm on making sure that the government delivers. Sorry Folks but the government might have bitten off more than it can chew and us the poor folks might be the only hope before four seasons delivers the government head on a platter!the seasons

42. @miller

Agree with you. These local deep pockets live here and have a duty to step-up if the country requires them to do so. At least if they don’t want to invest they should let us know. They should have a vested iinterest in the success of Barbados. A Barbados economy on the skids affects us all!

43. nis board approve the loan. i have 12 more years working before i get my pension.

the recession must end at some point in time

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | November 20, 2011 at 3:25 PM |
    “Now that we have this new found wealth should we pay Barrack his 70 mill? Stay tuned minister Sinckler as he did Clico has promised to have this matter resolved shortly.”

Sinckler is really a man living in a fool’s paradise. I like how the clown dismisses out of hand the gravamen of the financial and fiscal hole Barbados is in!
    Reminds me of the silly remark; “money is no problem, no problem!”
    The man is walking about promising to solve in a very short time problems of a financial size equivalent to a category 5 hurricane followed by a tsunami resulting from a volcanic eruption. The man is very upbeat and behaves like a financial Houdini not seen in the annals of Barbados’ government money managers. Richie Haynes you better warn this boy that the hallmark of the Finance Minister is that of prudence and care. Don’t make promises that would lead to ruin and IMF loan sharks. This is not an investment house of Goldman Sachs.

45. Enuff,
    You undiluted NEGROCRAT what has Dr. Robinson got for you ?

When Owen Arthur was pillaging the NIS funds on all sorts of dubious projects (including GEMS ) where was your voice ?

The NIS fund has in over 3 billion dollars in reserve , it also has an investment portfolio. So if government determine to invest 50 million in a local project that is deemed viable for the economy down the road, what is wrong with that ?

46. “The NIS fund has in over 3 billion dollars in reserve , it also has an investment portfolio. So if government determine to invest 50 million in a local project that is deemed viable for the economy down the road, what is wrong with that ?”

Fractured rasthole,

50 million that ent dem money and eff it fails what den? Wunna idiots feel that money is there to do as wunna like. Dat is why we need accountability from government. I agree wid Millerannuki, let de private sector fund it. We saw how Gems went so we are protecting what is ours dat we wukk long and hard fuh we ole age. Cor blind yuh!

47. David wrote “These local deep pockets live here and have a duty to step-up if the country requires them to do so.”

Fuh true? The local deep pockets did not get rich by taking risks. They got rich by taking advantage of a non competitive market.

If Four seasonings is a viable profit generating project why is it being shunned by private investors?

48. @Fractured BLP

You undiluted NEGROCRAT what has Dr. Robinson got for you ?

When Owen Arthur was pillaging the NIS funds on all sorts of dubious projects (including GEMS ) where was your voice ?

The NIS fund has in over 3 billion dollars in reserve , it also has an investment portfolio. So if government determine to invest 50 million in a local project that is deemed viable for the economy down the road, what is wrong with that ?

Until the public is privileged to view the financials of the fund we have to take the word of politicians many who have not run a rum shop in their lifes.

49. @Fractured BLP.
    More optics and no substance, small wonder your cohesive party’s record over the past 4 years rests on constituency councils, free bus fares and a football tournament
    I have no problem with Dr. Robinson, my issue is with persons who attempt to mislead the public into believing that their opinion is apolitical.
    An ‘undiluted negrocrat’, I shall remain. Thank you much.

50. Nobody has a duty tor step up to the plate and invest their money in a failed project. It is called throwing good money after bad. If the original planners/organizers/developers/ owners, did not go to the local fat cats at the beginning, why should these entrepeneurs bail out the Four Seasons now? How do you think these people got rich and stayed rich? By making wise investments with guaranteed returns.

Personally, I think the builders started too big. Hotel and villas together. Rather than building the hotel and adding villas after. Did they not import Chinese workers to do work Bajans could do?

I understand that Simon Cowell hired lawyers to recover his deposits on two adjoining villas that he had ‘purchased’.

If NIS money is used, the people now working and those coming into the workforce will see their premiums increased to pay pensions to retirees when nil returns emanate from this folly.

Look around Barbados people. There are lots of houses incomplete, working class people houses. You can tell from the amount of mould how long they were standing in the elements unfinished. How come no NIS money for the locals to complete their residences. Bajan monies for Bajans.