Submitted by Dave Random

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur (l) Former Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r)

If there is stability in the Barbados economy and in Barbados – at a time when there is rioting in Greece; other parts of Europe, in America and in the Middle East – it is because there is stability within the ruling Democratic Labour Party.  That has as much to do with the steady-hands of the present young Minister of Finance (in extremely difficult times) as it has to do with the confident innovative leadership-style of the present Prime Minister.

In contrast, the disunited Barbados Labour Party held its Annual Conference over the weekend (October 28-30) which (based on reports) ended with the BLP even more divided than before the Conference.  If under it present leadership and given the type of politics being practiced, they cannot manage their own affairs, how can they manage the affairs of Barbados?

If you go in the supermarket, you are likely to run into someone still complaining to anyone who would listen that the atmosphere was like a funeral service in the Anglican Church and since pictures do not lie [Barbados Today Special Edition] it is mind-boggling how there could have been so many empty seats, when the delegates (who obviously stayed away in ‘loud-silent protest’) were all carefully handpicked, for a reason, leaving many to conclude that they agree with the approach taken by Mia Mottley and support her crusade to change course and the path that BLP is now on.  How can you fault people who believe that there is hope and that better is possible?  The article by Sir Roy Marshall published in the Sunday Sun of October 30th 2011 – under the caption: Strengthening Democracy [1] should be compulsory reading for all Barbadians.

If there is one thing about Barbadians, it is that they respect democracy and seriously resent seeing anybody get “unfair.”  Since everything about the BLP’s recent Conference was pre-determined, with there even being elections without voting – it was foreseeable that the only perceived excitement would have been the speech by Arthur, except that it is equally well known that he has a trademark way of repeating himself and forgetting that he said the same thing many times before.  And, judging from what I heard on VOB, Sunday was no different.

But there are a few things, which Owen Arthur said (based on newspaper reports) that can only be described as political comedy.  He made reference to a BNOC combined profit of $110 million and used that as the basis for his announcement that a future BLP government will give a $35 million ease on electricity bills.  This is pure smoke and mirrors because while he seems determined to continue his welfare politics of the past – he carefully side-stepped the real issue and that is that he left a massive BNOC debt of some $80 million, which still has to be paid.

Arthur alleges that the economy is in crisis and getting worst, yet made the announcement that on returning to government, he will ensure that persons earning $80,000 or less will pay income tax at 20%.  Does Barbados need more welfare typed Owen Arthur politics of the past or a new politics for the future?  This brings me to the main point I want to make.  Arthur said that he is in no contest with anyone for leadership.  But how could anyone in a modern Barbados, even contemplate following his model when his is the politics of the past and a style, which says that the leader must be feared?

Was it the apology of a man who (after a whole year) had nothing new or progressive to report?  After 14 years as leader of the BLP, and after wrestling power from Mia Mottley on October 18th 2010 and now in a recession where it sent home card-carrying BLP workers from its headquarters – it would seem that Owen Arthur told party members that the BLP is NOW functioning ‘better than ever.’ Unbelievable, because the BLP is divided and more so now, than any time in its history.  Then, as expected, Owen Arthur’s trademark attacked on Mia Mottley came!

It would appear that at a meeting held at the Bay Primary School (prior to the Conference) she made the patriotic called for a Joint Select Committee of both House of Parliament to discuss the matter of Transfers and Subsidies.  But Arthur shot down the idea.  The reason is simple: if Sinckler gets its right, Arthur is no longer relevant.

It is in Owen Arthur’s personal interest for Sinckler and the DLP to get it wrong or to appear to the public to be getting it wrong on the economy.  Arthur wants no talk about unity or cooperation in the national interest because his thinking seem to be that there can be no Barbados without him.  It is that divisive and tribal approach Barbadians hate most about politics and wants to rid the country of. Now is the time for national unity and shared sacrifice but Arthur wants to rule by fear and favour, even in Opposition.

If he cannot unify the BLP, how can he unify Barbados?  How can the BLP be ready if there is such disunity, with the present leader attacking the past leader, every opportunity he gets?  In contrast, despite there being social unrest all over the globe, the Barbados economy and the the country is stable with the DLP, which is demonstrating that Barbados is a society and not just an economy.

120 responses to “Unity And Stability Is What Barbados Needs Most Now”

1. @CCC
    Owen is here and the people of Barbados will put him back at the helm. The Dems will asked what have you done while in power. It will say the recession was here . Owen left too many debts. the BLP was corrupt.Our ministers were neophytes. Our leader died. We had to change our cabinet three times. Our new leader is trying to understand things. Our people are making too many demands. We have had to tax our people harshly because we can spend the money better, But sir what have youj done,The Dems will reply with all those problems what did you expect? Away from me they wll be told you have taken the confidence and trust and you have squandered it,Move over and let those who know how to make things work continue.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

George C. Brathwaite | November 4, 2011 at 8:51 AM |

If you follow my contributions you would notice that I am no fan of the current DLP Administration. Neither do I blindly follow the Owen bandwagon harping back to the glory days of borrow and spend to make Chinese and Japanese rich.
    All that I was pointing out, mate, is that these rehashed proposals- although worthy of consideration and possible implementation with the appropriate adjustments and refinement to reflect modern variables – are just scratching the surface of the economic and financial challenges that lie ahead of us. Even you have pointed out the signs that are indicative of what lies ahead. So under this current DLP Administration we can expect a repeat of the 1991 to 1994 scenario being played out. Nothing new under the sun!! But this time around twice as intense!

“Barbados have absolutely no problems with tried and tested practices, especially, when through creativity and innovation, they are refined to specific dynamics of the day?”
    By George, I absolutely agree with that statement! But we want to hear and see the Creativity and Innovation coming to the fore in this new economic paradigm we are already painfully confronting.

I know the truth hurts and it might be electorally self destructive to tell Bajans frankly that the days of universal free social services are over. No more free university education; no more free books, free school meals and free bus rides; no more free medicines or general medical care except for the very poor and indigent!

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(may2012)

“No more free university education; no more free books, free school meals and free bus rides; no more free medicines or general medical care except for the very poor and indigent!”

You have reached the top of the ladder and now you want to kick it down.

4. Tony said: ‘Your problems will be solved Owen is here. thank God.’
    Just Asking said: ‘DO you think you can fool people with that trite ??
    DO you know that the statement that Owen is power hungry betrays your fears of OWEN and the BLP defeating the DLP in the next elections ????’

Tell me guys since Owen stands for all that is good and provided such a haven for Barbados, and was present in 2008, why did the lose the election?

In 2007 were you thanking God that Owen was here? and The ‘tripe’ explained by Clone based on JA’s description certainly could not have been the reason for the change in Government or else the BLP supporters are telling the public of Barbados that the monkeys sent overseas for research purposes voted for the BLP and they lost the Government and the sane, educated, ambitious, soundly thinking people of Barbados threw their full support behind the DLP. So there really wasn’t an election. The DLP won unanimously!!!

Yuh know people (members of the BLP), I find it baffling that we spend so much money in education and still expect our people to be unable to read, assimilate, think, make knowledgeable decisions to elect the people and party they want to lead the country of their birth and citizenship.

Give us some credit. We were here just like you and we saw, lived, tasted, handled and refused the Party BLP to lead us. Now tell us why we should change the Party DLP with substantial evidence taking into account all factors (leadership (not imagery nor figment of your imagination), worldwide financial crisis, ability of Barbadians to seize opportunities and invest, freedom of association (trade union, political party, religion), freedom of speech).

5. People voted for the DLP!!! Yes we did!!! We will do it again with knowledge and not to be bullied into doing so. We see, read, listened and yes we understand good and evil. The people of Barbados will do it again except we see a reason why we should not. We are still awake and we are here. We choose. We choose.

Give us a reason to choose party BLP. For right now it is Party DLP. Sound, articulate, understanding, decisive, crisp leadership living in 2011 preparing for the future recognizing activities of the past. That is it. We are in peace and at peace.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Home | November 4, 2011 at 11:41 AM | :
    “I find it baffling that we spend so much money in education and still expect our people to be unable to read, assimilate, think, make knowledgeable decisions to elect the people and party they want to lead the country of their birth and citizenship.”

When the DLP administration puts in place the much promised Integrity and FOI legislation we will listen to you! In the meantime our educated citizens motto is: “A promise is a comfort to fool!”
    Now don’t blame the international economic for this one!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Carson C. Cadogan | November 4, 2011 at 11:38 AM |
    “You have reached the top of the ladder and now you want to kick it down.”

Me! Wrong person! Wasn’t that fortunate to be given freebies!
    But CCC, the ladder is already broken in the middle from the weight of those parasites and fat pigs climbing over one another for the little trimmings left.

8. ccc according to wikileaks the us embassy informed their government the the dlp was creating an illusion(diplomatically correct words for telling lies)in their election campaign in trying to get the public to believe that the blp government were corrupt.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Daivd:

It seems the DLP administration is on another PR exercise. This time the Finance Boy Wonder is pushing out the public sector reform conjurer’s cart to attract the gullible fans to participate in the upcoming silly season menu of activities and attractions.
    Here we go again: Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the mother of all public sector reforms, the One and Only, Central Revenue Authority (CRA). Folks, this is not a home grown idea! Only the best will be followed even if 15 years behind our Mother Country which we just cussed and dismissed for telling us we should be able to bring home our same sex friends without opprobrium from the backward natives.

But, by golly, the CRA would result in significant cost savings! After all, the fellows at the various agencies such as Customs & Excise, VAT Division, Inland Revenue, The Treasury and the most efficient cousin Land Tax would have to come together as one smaller “nuclear” family. The question is: How would cost savings and efficiency gains be achieved if every family member still wants his or her own car, own consumer items (fridge and stove), telephone and computer. Sounds like you will have to avoid this obvious duplication of operations and support services by requesting that certain redundant members take early retirement or golden goodbyes to go and rent elsewhere privately or go to the area for the homeless and reminisce about the good old days like many of us who have been thrown out of our the private homes.
    Do this Boy Wonder and his band of circus performers who have a habit of putting “their feet in their mouths” and the main attraction have the intestinal and testicular (in some cases ovarian) fortitude to bring about this IMF requested family gathering?

10. It is amazing that the so-called educated elites on this blog are arguing over the economic policies of the two political parties in Barbados Both political parties practised basically the same economic policies.The only difference is,the Democratic Labour Party policy has more of a social component to it,wheres the Barbados Labour Party policy is more business oriented.Therefore arguing about the economic policies of either the Democratic Labour Party or the Barbados Labour Party is an effort in futility
    I support the Democratic Labour Party economic policies because of the social components behind those policies.Emphasis is place on the human resources of this country.In this regard education & health are the major beneficiaries of funding.Any government seeking to look after the education & health of the citizens of this country will always get my support.Unfortunately the Barbados Labour Party economic policies do not placed much emphasis on the human development aspect of this country.
    I also support the many social programmes carried out by this Democratic Labour Party administration.No bus fares for school children is a very noble initiative that safe many poor Black Barbadians parents thousands of dollars.As a product of a very poor Black Barbadian family,I know the struggles my mother endured in finding bus fare to send to school five (5) children.Therefore I support the free bus fare initiative.
    The other social programmes such as constituency councils and summer camps,I also endorsed.
    In these trying economic times,the Democratic Labour has done a very commendable job.This view I know is supported by many Barbadians.There is financial turbulence in all regions of this world.Countries such as England,France,Greece & even the great United States of America,there are massive demonstration as a result of the economic situation in those countries.In Barbados we have no such problems.Our economy is stable and there is no undue hardship on Barbadians.
    The Democratic Labour has done a tremendous job and it will be reflected in a massive & comfortable win for the party in the upcoming general elections.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart & his team are doing a fantastic job.

11. David i just sent a post where is it

12. @Comrade Hants
    Am I right in stating that you are our Canadian news correspondent ? lol.
    How come you didn’t tell us that the Canadian manufacturing sector is in trouble? . Just heard that several thousand jobs have been shed in manufacturing and that the economy has shrunk for the second consecutive month, being the only country of the G7, apart from tsunami-hit Japan, to suffer a contraction in that period. May be you can recommend some of our brilliant Bajan economists to the Canadian Government for advice on how to halt the slide. lol

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Unable to pay bill, Mich. city turns off lights

HIGHLAND PARK, Mich. (AP) — As the sun dips below the rooftops each evening, parts of this Detroit enclave turn to pitch black, the only illumination coming from a few streetlights at the end of the block or from glowing yellow yard globes.

It wasn’t always this way. But when the debt-ridden community could no longer afford its monthly electric bill, elected officials not only turned off 1,000 streetlights. They had them ripped out — bulbs, poles and all. Now nightfall cloaks most neighborhoods in inky darkness.

I am somewhat unsure how many street lights the Democratic Labour Party Govt.has ripped out over the past year or so.

Can you help me millertheanunnaki(may2012)?

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Balance

Ask the FBI the reason why they recommended that Muscle Mary be denied a work permit.

Hint, the word starts with a “C”.

In fact let me tell you why, CORRUPTION.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | November 4, 2011 at 6:12 PM |
    “Can you help me millertheanunnaki(may2012)?”

When the forex gets real low and the guv is confronted with the dilemma?
    Food or Fuel?? Remember no body can eat sea water and sand! But smut lamps, kerosine stove and wood fire could still work! But of course you old enough to know about these things!

16. Cant believe Muscle Mary running again. Did he not he announce in the media he done with dat?!!

17. @MTA: “But smut lamps, kerosine stove and wood fire could still work!

Please correct me if I am wrong, but as I understand it Barbados produces none of these. (Except for, perhaps, Smut.)

18. @ Negroman

“Our economy is stable and there is no undue hardship on Barbadians.
    The Democratic Labour has done a tremendous job and it will be reflected in a massive & comfortable win for the party in the upcoming general elections.”

You must be living in a cocoon or got a chip implanted. Kindly tell us of this fantastic job–list some policies that worked/ing. They gave ALL school children free travel on the buses and increased bus fares for their parents not to mention the debt at the Transport Board. The constituency councils have nothing but a memorial football tournament to show. In contrast, after THREE years the BLP had established the Rural Development Commission, Urban Development Commission and amended the Tenantries Act to benefit ALL Barbadians living on non-plantation tenantries.

And what about the economies of Panama, Costa Rica, Chile, India, Brazil, China, Singapore. Poland, Germany, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Colombia, Peru, Mexico, Argentina and more?

I must remind you that the DLP won the 1991 election too despite a poor performance between 1986-1991, and by 1992-93 the bottom fell out….the rest is history, and history has a funny way of repeating itself.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ANON

Have no fear, we will wipe the floor with MUSCLE MARY.

They are are a number of FILES the contents of which will be made know much to MUSCLE MARY’S chargrin.

20. @CCC: “They are are a number of FILES the contents of which will be made know much to MUSCLE MARY’S chargrin.

Just putting this out there for consideration…

Why are not ***ALL*** government files available to the public?

By definition, the public paid for them.

21. @Chris

Perhaps another pertinent question is why use info to win an election when the more noble position would be to seek justice on behalf of the taxpayers who these politicians represent?

22. millertheanunnaki

Whichever party is in power I am still a proud Barbadian and will remain that way until death. I am sensible enough to know that our HDI position could not have been achieved by this administration only but you must admit that the data collected since 2008 would have to be in this administration favour because everything that is going wrong since 2008 you blame them for it. No politics there.

I can remember when it was it highest in 1989 when Sir Erskine Sandiford was Prime Minister.

My point was that if Barbadians are suffering so bad, then our HDI would have fallen to about 100.

23. @David: “Perhaps another pertinent question is why use info to win an election when the more noble position would be to seek justice on behalf of the taxpayers who these politicians represent?

An excellent question.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | November 4, 2011 at 7:00 PM |
    Have you heard about the “drag” effect? If you take the credit for post 2007 it is expected that you take responsibility for any slide next time around and don’t blame it on the “international’ recession since all countries (according to the DLP PR bulletins) are affected, some much more than Bim.

25. @ Clone
    Life expectancy, literacy, access to education etc don’t decline overnight.

26. Prime Minister David Thompson Ensured Stability within the BLP Avatar
    Prime Minister David Thompson Ensured Stability within the BLP

There is a very good reason why in the upcoming general election, not only BLP members and supports but the entire country should say “a big thank you” to the late Prime Minister David Thompson: It was David Thompson who ensured stability within the BLP from 2008-2010.

The facts are that there are now ‘false-tears’ about the economy, coming from Owen Arthur but no such concern was expressed by him, after his defeat in 2008. He did not wait around and even with a global financial crisis (which started in October 2008) he was travelling the region doing work for other Governments. Not what one would expect of a patriotic Barbadian, is it? That is your answer: Owen Arthur is about deals and Owen Arthur!

The same people who he refers to as “wild boy” were running the country then! And all during that time, our late leader Mr. Thompson and the DLP – kept the economy, Barbados and the BLP stable. In contrast, Owen Arthur “only” went to Parliament to prevent the Speaker from declaring his seat vacant.

It was only when our late leader Mr. Thompson took seriously ill, that Owen Arthur’s greed and his politics of “opportunism” went into over-drive. He and four others immediately hatched a treacherous plot (in the dead of the night) to destabilise our government and take-over our country. It is not about service to Barbados but about the “DEAL’” which Owen Arthur and four others, hatched ‘in the dead of the night,’ to take-over Barbados for themselves. Anybody who tries to stop them will be targeted as a threat to be persecuted and destroyed.

Owen Arthur feels that this is his last chance to take over Barbados at any cost. He feels it will be a walk-in-the-park because, once the price is right anybody can be bought. He also feels that bajans like too much money and if you flash it in their face – they will fall for his gimmick.

That is why through one corner of his mouth, Owen Arthur says that the economy is in “perilous crisis” but through the other corner – he is already promising the sky and the moon. He feels Bajans will fall for it: just promise them and because of greed, they will take the bait and he will achieve his plot to take-over the country.

If anybody is making Barbados unstable by undermining everyone and everything, it is Owen Arthur. For him, it has nothing to do with Barbados! For Owen Arthur, it is about “revenge;” getting back at bajans; making good on his “Prior Park Accord” and taking over Barbados. It is plain for all to see that Owen Arthur is willing to cut deals for himself. But, what other “DEALS” will he cut (in his interest) if you allow him to take over Barbados?

As his defense, he wants you to feel that you need saving; that he is the good guy and that people within the BLP are undermining him. This is why he is dangerous: he likes sympathy! But, isn’t it true that Owen Arthur is about Owen Arthur? Who else in this country ever put $75,000 intended as campaign contribution into their personal bank account? I am telling you that Owen Arthur is about Owen Arthur!

Barbadians must say “NO” to secret deals made in the dead of the night. As patriotic Barbadians, we must wrap ourselves in the flag as encouraged by our former leader and practice “one love and unity” Let us keep our country stable and united and away from Owen Arthur and his gang of five. Future generations will thank us.

27. @enuff: “Life expectancy, literacy, access to education etc don’t decline overnight.

At least two out of your above three could.

Possibly three.

Close all the schools and hospitals.

Kill all those who can read.

Job done.

28. enuff

Those components will not change overnight but there was improvement in access to education under the DLP because since 2008 as two nursery schools and one primary school have been built and opened.

You are a smart person as you neglected the indicator of standard of living and that could have fallen during the past four years. The decent standard of living component is measured by Gross National Income per capita. The HDI may have found that it had not fallen that much and so your mouthing’s that Barbadians are suffering does not hold water.

The late PM was also right when he said Barbados was a society first and an economy second this is revealed in how the HDI works. The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone.

29. @Prime Minister David Thompson Ensured Stability within the BLP…

Please correct me if I am wrong, but did not the late (great) David Thompson promise the People of Barbados a Freedom of Information Act within 100 days of his election?

Was this promise fulfilled?

30. @ David…. I for one concur with that thought that it is time to bring elected law breakers to justice…….ANOTHER AREA THAT CONCERNS ME.Journalism 101….neutrality breeds objectivity.How then does anyone read Albert Branford? As always I am Just Asking.

31. david i am pleased that your comments of nov 4th ,5.47 am seems to mirror my previous comments. didn’t know you used to take me seriously. but on another matter, the bitterness spewing forth on the blog against politicians and the parties they represent seem to suggest that that persons are fed up with the form of governance in place even if they ar4e afraid to admit it..

32. ccc your comment of nov4th , 9.16pm so did mr thompson and so did mr barrow after the 1976 elections. no wonder the dlp’s analytical base is so inept if a decision maker like you are not seized with certain basic facts. you always introduce points which come back to haunt you. you must spend a little time in the library doing research if you want to be a serious comentator ssking to attract the non-partisan vote.

33. cccyour 11.38 comments- kicking it down surreptiously and clandestinely is exactly what the dlp to their credit has been doing since they find themselves unable to manage the economy. are you too blind to see or is it a case that you are out of your depth?

34. home i would admit that i had seriousconcerns with certain aspectsof the the blp policies when they were in power but i had more peace during their 14 year stewardship than i am having in the last three years. the fuel subsidy charge which goes to the govt is nothing short of diabolical and tyrannical.

35. negroman, i have news for you. unfortunately, if you do your research, you will learn that the blp has introduced more social legislation to this country than the dlp.i am not saying that the dlp did not do anythind. let me make myself clear.

36. JUST ASKING who would believe that this LIE FACTORY called the DLP want to come and fool bajans again ??
    JUST ASKING if there is any truth in the following statement -which was posted above ??

| November 4, 2011 at 1:59 PM | ccc according to wikileaks the us embassy informed their government the the dlp was creating an illusion(diplomatically correct words for telling lies)in their election campaign in trying to get the public to believe that the blp government were corrupt

37. @Just Asking…

At the end of the day, what the Voters of Barbados should be most concerned about is a functional “Freedom Of Information Act” (FoIA).

Which, of the two parties, will be willing to sign a contract for this?

38. ISNT it true that everytime the DLP run this country that we end up in dog stool ???
    JUST ASKING -ISNT it true that the BLP always perform a rescue act and Barbados end ups in gold ???
    JUST ASKING -ARENT the facts not there to bear out this reality ?
    JUST ASKING -DIDNT the BLP not rescue Barbados in 1976 -1986 ; 1994 -2008 ; 2012 -2512 ??????

JUST ASKING

39. @ Clone
    You sounding desperate.The new primary school replaced South District and St.David’s. Such a statement would leave one to believe that children were being deprived of a primary education due to the lack of access. Furthermore, two new nursery schools with 40 children each is negligible an unlikely to make any significant change.However, owing UWI $108m and eventually withdrawing financial support could negatively impact access in the future, as well as the continued failure to establish a facility to offer applied and technical HE opportunities in Barbados.

@ Prime Minister David Thompson Ensured Stability within the BLP

You mean secret deals like CLICO $10m ‘gift’, loan to NIS to purchase CLICO Mortgage, travel on CLICO jet, JADA, SMI and the $10m bonus for Parris?

And a society (Barbados) is MORE than supporters and members of the DLP, unfortunately the late PM Thompson didn’t think so.

40. @ JUST ASKING…

To be fair…

We’d be a devalued lower Third World country like Zimbabwe if Sandiford hadn’t kicked the IMF out when they came knocking!

As it is, we are still a higher grade Third World country that has fancy trimmings! If anybody wants to contest this, consider…we don’t have the land mass to be called First World! EVER! And we’re not communist, so we can’t be called Second World either!

Instead of quibbling, we have to look for the simple things in life and work with & live with them for a while! Who knows, we might even come out a happier…and wealthier…nation because of it!

41. How then does anyone read Albert Branford?

Good question the man like he drunk on BLP piss, Sanka Price is another you dont need to read you know precisely he will cuss the DLP irregardless of the subject and accuse them of starting and prolonging the world recession. Two embarassments to the fourth estate

42. WHERE have these JUST people like Just saying 2 and the rest of the Just (es) come from ???
    DONT you know that you need my permission to use my name (JUST) ???
    DO you know that I am chinese and JUST is what you call a family name and that it comes first unlike English names ???

43. @ negroman

“Countries such as England, France, Greece & even the great United States of America, there are massive demonstration as a result of the economic situation in those countries.”

You must also be aware that there are countries in the world that are not experiencing the effects of the current economic crisis.

What you have failed to tell us is what economic policies were being pursued by those countries prior to the onset of the current economic recession. We must also analyse macro and micro economic policies that were implemented during the global economic crisis to determine if the governments’ response was inadequate and may have made the recession worse. Failure to do so will make your arguments somewhat flawed.

Your analysis that a government is doing a fantastic job is based on “free bus fares”, constituency councils, and free summer camps, nonsense. Need I remind you that this administration pursued a tax policy at the height of the recession that was counterproductive for the island. Many of the policies articulated in the budgets were not implemented or had to be retracted. This is proof that they are still feeling their way in dealing with the Barbados economy. It is these variables that I would examine to determine if a government is doing a fantastic job or not.

44. @Artaxerxes

Can we analyze these countries which grew in the recession?

Are they economies that depend on services, manufacturing, agriculture…?

What are some of key indicators for these countries?

45. @ David
    Did the policies of the DLP improved, stabilised or exacerbated the situation?

46. @ David

What exactly is your point; care to elaborate???

47. @Artaxerxes

Simply trying to establish points of difference in those economies doing well when compared to Barbados.

48. seeker – that mr sandiford kicked the imf out is another myth that needs to be exposed . all of the imf recommendations including the 8% salary cut on public sector wages were implemented by me sandiford in exchange for non-devaluation of the bds dollar.well, if you see that as kickinout the obviously you are seeing it through your political blinkers. up to this day, the effects of the kicking out policies are still wreaking havoc on certain barbadian households.

49. @balance

Didn’t the IMF call for a devaluation?

50. i am happy to observe that no less an emminent person than sir roy marshall is concerned about the issuie of governance in barbados and the use of the system by both parties to push their own agendas to the detriment of good governance. he makes specific reference to the negative impact of 1974 constitutional amendments which i have blamed time after time on this forum for the emasculation of the public service; that all important arm of administrative governance in barbados. i note too his reference to the abolishing of local governmwent and the establishment of statutory boards.his article in todays sunday sun is required reading for party apologists and operatives. this article from such an eminent scholar and legal luminary strengthens my view that the political party system has outlived its usefulness.oh’ for more sir roy marshall’s to speak out.